Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §35 U.S.C 112(a) of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-18 and 20 under §35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20160353523 A1 - Jarvinen. Jarvinen does teach an embedded heater in a turbofan. See updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel in view of US 20160353523 A1 - Jarvinen.
Regarding claim 1, Patel is directed towards a three phase flux switching electric machine with orthogonally oriented magnets. Patel does teach a stationary magnet ([0002] the magnets or electromagnets are installed in the stator), a solenoid to rotate around the stationary magnet ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor.), the rotation to generate electricity using the solenoid ([0002] In a system with an electromagnet an excitation system is required to energize the electromagnet.).
Patel does not expressly teach a heating element embedded inside rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity.
Jarvinen is directed towards an embedded turbofan deicer. Jarvinen does teach a heating element embedded inside a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity (Figure 73 and [0029] such fibers may be combined together to form conductive carbon cables and/or resistive heating pads which are embedded in the composite fan blades and attached between the two electrodes. Resistance heating is generated in the embedded resistive cables and/or resistive heating pads with electric power from the ETDS heating the fan blade and melting any ice on its surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity by Jarvinen in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity of Jarvinen could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably heat a blade of a turbofan to remove ice. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity of Jarvinen with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 2, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 1. Patel does teach the solenoid and the stationary magnet are components of a brushless generator ([0003] A conventional brushless, wound field synchronous machines (WFSM) is ideal for such an electromechanical power transfer system wherein it may serve as both a starter and a generator.) and wherein the electricity generated by the brushless generator is direct current ([0006] During generate mode, the GCU rectifies the AC power from the PMG to DC power for use in the GCU control circuits and provides the primary machine excitation via a DC to DC converter.).
Regarding claim 3, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 1. Patel does teach the solenoid is attached to a rotor ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor), an engine is to rotate the rotor ([0005] The rotor may be turned by an engine or a gear box or a gear train.), and the rotor is a fan rotor, an open rotor, a propeller shaft or a compressor rotor associated with the engine ([0010] a ferromagnetic salient pole rotor assembly operably coupled to the rotary drive shaft having a plurality of rotor teeth defining a circumferential outer periphery of the rotor assembly,).
Regarding claim 10, Patel is directed towards a three phase flux switching electric machine with orthogonally oriented magnets. Patel does teach a stationary magnet ([0002] the magnets or electromagnets are installed in the stator), a solenoid to rotate around the stationary magnet ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor.), the rotation to generate electricity using the solenoid ([0002] In a system with an electromagnet an excitation system is required to energize the electromagnet.).
Patel does not expressly teach a heating element embedded inside rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turbofan engine
Jarvinen is directed towards an embedded turbofan deicer. Jarvinen does teach a heating element embedded inside a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turbofan engine (Figure 73 and [0029] such fibers may be combined together to form conductive carbon cables and/or resistive heating pads which are embedded in the composite fan blades and attached between the two electrodes. Resistance heating is generated in the embedded resistive cables and/or resistive heating pads with electric power from the ETDS heating the fan blade and melting any ice on its surface and [Abstract] An embedded turbofan deicer system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turbofan engine by Jarvinen in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turbofan engine of Jarvinen could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably heat a blade of a turbofan to remove ice. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turbofan engine of Jarvinen with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 11, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 10. Patel does teach the solenoid and the stationary magnet are components of a brushless generator ([0003] A conventional brushless, wound field synchronous machines (WFSM) is ideal for such an electromechanical power transfer system wherein it may serve as both a starter and a generator.) and wherein the electricity generated by the brushless generator is direct current ([0006] During generate mode, the GCU rectifies the AC power from the PMG to DC power for use in the GCU control circuits and provides the primary machine excitation via a DC to DC converter.).
Regarding claim 12, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 10. Patel does teach the solenoid is attached to a rotor ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor), an engine is to rotate the rotor ([0005] The rotor may be turned by an engine or a gear box or a gear train.), and the rotor is a fan rotor, an open rotor, a propeller shaft or a compressor rotor associated with the engine ([0010] a ferromagnetic salient pole rotor assembly operably coupled to the rotary drive shaft having a plurality of rotor teeth defining a circumferential outer periphery of the rotor assembly,).
Patel does not expressly teach the association with a turboprop or turbofan engine.
Jarvinen does teach the association with a turboprop or turbofan engine ([0002] In particular to methods and devices used to prevent the build-up of ice internal to an aircraft's turbofan engine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the association with a turboprop or turbofan engine by Jarvinen in the system of REF A, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the association with a turboprop or turbofan engine of Jarvinen could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably remove ice from the blades while in high altitudes. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the association with a turboprop or turbofan engine of Jarvinen with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 18, Patel does teach a rotor to rotate around a stationary magnet ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor.), a first solenoid attached to the rotor, a second solenoid attached to the rotor, and the rotation to generate electricity using the first solenoid and the second solenoid ([0055] output terminals E and F each connect to one phase of exciter rotor winding 26).
Patel does not expressly teach a heating element embedded inside a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turboprop engine or a turbofan engine.
Jarvinen is directed towards an embedded turbofan deicer. Jarvinen does teach a heating element embedded inside a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turboprop engine or a turbofan engine. (Figure 73 and [0029] such fibers may be combined together to form conductive carbon cables and/or resistive heating pads which are embedded in the composite fan blades and attached between the two electrodes. Resistance heating is generated in the embedded resistive cables and/or resistive heating pads with electric power from the ETDS heating the fan blade and melting any ice on its surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turboprop engine or a turbofan engine by Jarvinen in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turboprop engine or a turbofan engine of Jarvinen could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably heat a blade of a turbofan to remove ice. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a heating element embedded in a rotor blade and the heating element to increase a temperature of the rotor blade using the electricity, the rotor blade implemented in an aircraft and associated with a turboprop engine or a turbofan engine of Jarvinen with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 20, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 18, respectfully. Patel does teach the solenoid and the stationary magnet are components of a brushless generator ([0003] A conventional brushless, wound field synchronous machines (WFSM) is ideal for such an electromechanical power transfer system wherein it may serve as both a starter and a generator.) and wherein the electricity generated by the brushless generator is direct current ([0006] During generate mode, the GCU rectifies the AC power from the PMG to DC power for use in the GCU control circuits and provides the primary machine excitation via a DC to DC converter.).
Claims 4-7, 9, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel and US 20160353523 A1 - Jarvinen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210246883 A1 - Kratmann.
Regarding claim 4, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 1. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed.
Kratmann does teach a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed. ([0017] The controller can be a PID-controller configured for regulating the temperature of the heatable structure or the heating blanket, respectively. It is also possible that a microprocessor-based controller is used, which allows for instance a heating of the heatable structure according to a predetermined temporal temperature characteristic, so that over time, different temperatures and/or different temperature gradients can be created by the heatable structure or the heating blanket, respectively.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably allow the unit to ask for power for the heating device or not. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 5, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 4. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal.
Kratmann does teach the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably control the heaters based on the temperature sensors. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 6, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 4. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach including a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade.
Kratmann does teach a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably to use the sensors to control the heat applied to the blade. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 7, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 6. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value.
Kratmann does teach the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably adjust the heat applied to the blades via sensors by setting predetermined values. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 9, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 1. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element.
Kratmann does teach the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element (Figure 2 and [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably ingulf the heater with multiple layers for protection from the outdoor elements and to protect the blade itself. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 13, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 1. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed.
Kratmann does teach a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed. ([0017] The controller can be a PID-controller configured for regulating the temperature of the heatable structure or the heating blanket, respectively. It is also possible that a microprocessor-based controller is used, which allows for instance a heating of the heatable structure according to a predetermined temporal temperature characteristic, so that over time, different temperatures and/or different temperature gradients can be created by the heatable structure or the heating blanket, respectively.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably allow the unit to ask for power for the heating device or not. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a switch between the solenoid and the heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 14, Patel, Jarvinen, and Kratmann does teach the limitations of claim 13. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal.
Kratmann does teach the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably control the heaters based on the temperature sensors. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the controller circuitry is further to: close the switch in response to receiving an enable signal and open the switch in response to receiving a disable signal of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 15, Patel, Jarvinen, and Kratmann does teach the limitations of claim 13. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach including a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade.
Kratmann does teach a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably to use the sensors to control the heat applied to the blade. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the rotor blade of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 16, Patel, Jarvinen, and Kratmann does teach the limitations of claim 15. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value.
Kratmann does teach the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably adjust the heat applied to the blades via sensors by setting predetermined values. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the controller circuitry is to: close the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is below a first threshold value and open the switch in response to a determination that the measured temperature is above a second threshold value of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Regarding claim 17, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 10. Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element.
Kratmann does teach the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element (Figure 2 and [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably ingulf the heater with multiple layers for protection from the outdoor elements and to protect the blade itself. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the heating element is located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer such that one or more aerodynamic properties of the rotor blade is unaltered by the heating element of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel and US 20160353523 A1 - Jarvinen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210246883 A1 - Kratmann and US 20020043523 A1 - Fujita.
Regarding claim 8, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claims 1. Patel does teach the stationary magnet is an electromagnet ([0002] the magnets or electromagnets are installed in the stator).
Patel and Jarvinen does not expressly teach a switch between an auxiliary power source and the electromagnet and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed.
Kratmann does teach controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realised for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed by Kratmann in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed of Kratmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably use the switch to control the heat applied to the blade. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed of Kratmann with the well-known system of Patel.
Fujita is directed towards Heating Device And Fixing Device And Image Forming Apparatus. Fujita does teach a switch for changing power sources ([0023] A switch selectively causes the auxiliary power source to be charged or to feed power to the auxiliary heating element. A controller adjusts the power to be fed from the auxiliary power source to the auxiliary heating element.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to a switch for changing power sources by Fujita in the system of Patel and Kratmann, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that a switch for changing power sources of Fujita could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel and Kratmann in a manner which would have predictably allow for multiple power sources to be used when one or more power sources go off line. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using a switch for changing power sources of Fujita with the well-known system of Patel and Kratmann.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel and US 20160353523 A1 - Jarvinen as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 20160307690 A1 - Madsen.
Regarding claim 19, Patel and Jarvinen does teach the limitations of claim 18. Patel does not expressly teach the first solenoid provides a first current to the first heating element as part of a first circuit; the second solenoid provides a second current to the second heating element as a part of a second circuit; and the first circuit is electrically isolated from the second circuit.
Madsen is directed towards an transformer for power conversion. Madsen does teach the first solenoid provides a first current to the first element as part of a first circuit; the second solenoid provides a second current to the second element as a part of a second circuit; and the first circuit is electrically isolated from the second circuit ([0001] The present invention relates in one aspect to a transformer for radio frequency operation comprising a printed circuit board defining a horizontal plane, the printed circuit board comprising at least two horizontal conductive layers separated by an isolating layer, a first solenoid forming a primary winding of the transformer and a second solenoid being arranged parallel to the first solenoid and forming a secondary winding of the transformer. And [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the first solenoid provides a first current to the first element as part of a first circuit; the second solenoid provides a second current to the second element as a part of a second circuit; and the first circuit is electrically isolated from the second circuit by Madsen in the system of Patel, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the first solenoid provides a first current to the first element as part of a first circuit; the second solenoid provides a second current to the second element as a part of a second circuit; and the first circuit is electrically isolated from the second circuit of Madsen could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Patel in a manner which would have predictably allow the elements to be controlled separately as needed. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the first solenoid provides a first current to the first element as part of a first circuit; the second solenoid provides a second current to the second element as a part of a second circuit; and the first circuit is electrically isolated from the second circuit of Madsen with the well-known system of Patel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761