Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-18 and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third composite layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel in view of US 20160353523 A1 – Jarvinen and US 20140366974 A1 – Etscheid.
Regarding claims 1,10, and 18, Patel is directed towards a three-phase generator. Patel does teach a stationary magnet ([0002] the magnets or electromagnets are installed in the stator); a first solenoid to rotate around the stationary magnet ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor.); the rotation of the first solenoid around the stationary magnet to generate electricity ([0002] In a system with an electromagnet an excitation system is required to energize the electromagnet.); wherein the first solenoid provides a first current ([0055] The exciter 24 includes exciter rotor windings 26 configured to have three phases for generating a three-phase AC voltage).
Patel does not expressly teach a second solenoid to rotate around the stationary magnet, the rotation of the second solenoid around the stationary magnet to generate electricity, a first heating element embedded in a first location inside a rotor blade, to the first heating element as part of a first heating circuit, the first heating element to increase a first temperature in the first location using the electricity, the second heating circuit electrically isolated from the first heating circuit, the second heating element to increase a second temperature in the second location using the electricity, and a second heating element embedded in a second location inside the rotor blade, the second location separate from the first location, wherein the second solenoid provides a second current to the second heating element as a part of a second heating circuit.
Jarvinen is directed towards a turbofan deicer. Jarvinen does teach a first heating element embedded in a first location inside a rotor blade, the first heating element as part of a first heating circuit, the first heating element to increase a first temperature in the first location using the electricity ([0015] The heating elements are in several forms including electrically resistive wires, resistive pads, resistive coatings, and resistive films which are surface mounted or embedded in the engine part and used to heat them:),
The combination of the embedded heater in the fan and heating circuit of Jarvinen with the generator of Patel allows for the heating of the rotor blade to stop the forming of ice on said blade.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel to include a first heating element embedded in a first location inside a rotor blade, the first heating element as part of a first heating circuit, the first heating element to increase a first temperature in the first location using the electricity because the embedded heater in the fan and heating circuit of Jarvinen with the generator of Patel allows for the heating of the rotor blade to stop the forming of ice on said blade.
Etscheid is directed to a heating circuit. Etscheid does teach the second heating circuit electrically isolated from the first heating circuit, the second heating element to increase a second temperature in the second location using the electricity. ([0046] In the embodiment of the heatable media pipeline 1 according to FIGS. 7 and 8, separate circuits are formed, wherein the first connection end or the first pipeline connector 2 in each case comprises a first circuit 15, formed from the heating strand 12, and the second circuit 16 [lacuna] the two heating strands 10, 11, which extend along at least a part of the media pipeline 7 and the heating strand 13).
The combination of the heating circuit of Etscheid with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allow for multiple heating element to have their own independent power path letting the multiple heating elements function even if another element malfunctions or is damaged.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include the second heating circuit electrically isolated from the first heating circuit, the second heating element to increase a second temperature in the second location using the electricity because the heating circuit of Etscheid with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allow for multiple heating element to have their own independent power path letting the multiple heating elements function even if another element malfunctions or is damaged.
Although Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach a second and third solenoid to rotate around the stationary magnet, the rotation of the second and third solenoid around the stationary magnet to generate electricity, and a second and third heating element embedded in a second and third location inside the rotor blade, the second and third location separate from the first location, wherein the second and third solenoid provides a second and third current to the second and third heating element as a part of a second and third heating circuit, these limitations are the same structure and function as the rejection above.
therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a second and third solenoid to rotate around the stationary magnet, the rotation of the second solenoid and third around the stationary magnet to generate electricity, and a second and third heating element embedded in a second location inside the rotor blade, the second and third location separate from the first location, wherein the second and third solenoid provides a second and third current to the second heating element as a part of a second and third heating circuit since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 18, respectfully. Patel does teach the first solenoid, and the stationary magnet are components of a brushless generator ([0003] A conventional brushless, wound field synchronous machines (WFSM) is ideal for such an electromechanical power transfer system wherein it may serve as both a starter and a generator.), wherein the electricity generated by the brushless generator is direct current ([0006] During generate mode, the GCU rectifies the AC power from the PMG to DC power for use in the GCU control circuits and provides the primary machine excitation via a DC to DC converter.).
Although Patel does not expressly teach that the second and third solenoid is a component of a brushless generator this limitation is functionally and structurally the same as the above rejection.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the second and third solenoid is a component of a brushless generator since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectfully. Patel does teach the first solenoid is attached to a rotor ([0002] the multi-phase winding is installed in the rotor); an engine is to rotate the rotor ([0005] The rotor may be turned by an engine or a gear box or a gear train.); and the rotor is a fan rotor, an open rotor, a propeller shaft, or a compressor rotor associated with the engine ([0010] a ferromagnetic salient pole rotor assembly operably coupled to the rotary drive shaft having a plurality of rotor teeth defining a circumferential outer periphery of the rotor assembly,).
Although Patel does not expressly teach that the second solenoid is attached to a rotor this limitation is functionally and structurally the same as the above rejection.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the second solenoid is attached to a rotor since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 1. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element are located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer.
Since the rotor blade has not been positively recited it holds no patentable weight, therefore It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to the rotor blade includes a first composite layer and a second composite layer, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element are located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer, since it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 21, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 9. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach the rotor blade includes a third composite layer located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer, wherein the first heating element is located between the first composite layer and the third composite layer, and the second heating element is located between the second composite layer and the third composite layer.
Since the rotor blade has not been positively recited it holds no patentable weight, therefore It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made the rotor blade includes a third composite layer located above the first composite layer and below the second composite layer, wherein the first heating element is located between the first composite layer and the third composite layer, and the second heating element is located between the second composite layer and the third composite layer, since it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claims 4-7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel, US 20160353523 A1 – Jarvinen and US 20140366974 A1 – Etscheid as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of US 20210246883 A1 – Kratmann.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectfully. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach a first switch between the first solenoid and the first heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the first switch, wherein the first heating element receives the electricity when the first switch is closed.
Kratmann is directed towards a heating device. Kratmann does teach a first switch between the first solenoid and the first heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the first switch, wherein the first heating element receives the electricity when the first switch is closed ([0017] The controller can be a PID-controller configured for regulating the temperature of the heatable structure or the heating blanket, respectively. It is also possible that a micro processor-based controller is used, which allows for instance a heating of the heatable structure according to a predetermined temporal temperature characteristic, so that over time, different temperatures and/or different temperature gradients can be created by the heatable structure or the heating blanket, respectively.).
The combination of the controller of the heating element of Kratmann and the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allowing the operation of switching on and off of the heating elements when need for deicing.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include a first switch between the first solenoid and the first heating element and controller circuitry to open or close the first switch, wherein the first heating element receives the electricity when the first switch is closed because the controller of Kratmann the heating element and the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allowing the operation of switching on and off of the heating elements when need for deicing.
Although Kratmann does not expressly teach a second switch between the second solenoid and the second heating element; and the second heating element receives the electricity when the second switch is closed, these limitations are functionally and structurally the same as the above rejection.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a second switch between the second solenoid and the second heating element; and the second heating element receives the electricity when the second switch is closed since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 4 and 13, respectfully. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach the first switch in response to receiving an enable signal; and open the first switch in response to receiving a disable signal.
Kratmann does teach close the first switch in response to receiving an enable signal; and open the first switch in response to receiving a disable signal ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realized for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
The combination of the controller for heating elements of Kratmann with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allows the heating circuits to be opened and closed based on need in each zone.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include close the first switch in response to receiving an enable signal; and open the first switch in response to receiving a disable signal because the controller for heating elements of Kratmann with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allows the heating circuits to be opened and closed based on need in each zone.
Although Kratmann does not expressly teach close the second switch in response to receiving an enable signal; and open the second switch in response to receiving a disable signal, these limitations are functionally and structurally the same as the above rejection.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made close the second switch in response to receiving an enable signal; and open the second switch in response to receiving a disable signal, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 4 and 13, respectfully. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach including a temperature sensor to measure the first temperature of the rotor blade of the rotor blade.
Kratmann does teach a temperature sensor to measure the first temperature of the rotor blade of the rotor blade ([0048] The heatable structure 10 of the heating blanket 9 comprises a plurality of temperature sensors 21).
The combination of the temperature sensor of Kratmann with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allow for automatic sensing and operation of the heating elements.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include a temperature sensor to measure the first temperature of the rotor blade of the rotor blade because the temperature sensor of Kratmann with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allow for automatic sensing and operation of the heating elements.
Although Kratmann does not expressly teach include a second temperature sensor to measure the second temperature of the rotor blade of the rotor blade, these limitations are functionally and structurally the same as the above rejection.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made include a second temperature sensor to measure the second temperature of the rotor blade of the rotor blade, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claims 6 and 15, respectfully. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach close the first switch in response to a determination that the first temperature is below a first threshold value; open the first switch in response to a determination that the first temperature is above a second threshold value; close the second switch in response to a determination that the second temperature is below the first threshold value; and open the second switch in response to a determination that the second temperature is above the second threshold value.
Kratmann does teach close the first switch in response to a determination that the first temperature is below a first threshold value; open the first switch in response to a determination that the first temperature is above a second threshold value; close the second switch in response to a determination that the second temperature is below the first threshold value; and open the second switch in response to a determination that the second temperature is above the second threshold value. ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realized for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
The combination of the temperature senser and the controller of Kratmann with the generator and heating element of Patel and Jarvinen allow for allow for automatic sensing and operation of the heating elements.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include the first temperature is below a first threshold value; open the first switch in response to a determination that the first temperature is above a second threshold value; close the second switch in response to a determination that the second temperature is below the first threshold value; and open the second switch in response to a determination that the second temperature is above the second threshold value because the temperature sensor of Kratmann with the generator and heating elements of Patel and Jarvinen allow for automatic sensing and operation of the heating elements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180358877 A1 – Patel, US 20160353523 A1 – Jarvinen, US 20140366974 A1 – Etscheid, and as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of US 20210246883 A1 – Kratmann and US 20020043523 A1 - Fujita.
Regarding claim 8, Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does teach the limitations of claim 1. Patel, Jarvinen and Etscheid does not expressly teach the stationary magnet is an electromagnet, further including: a switch between an auxiliary power source and the electromagnet and controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed.
Fujita is directed toward a heating device. Fujita does teach a switch between an auxiliary power source and the electromagnet ([0023] A switch selectively causes the auxiliary power source to be charged or to feed power to the auxiliary heating element. A controller adjusts the power to be fed from the auxiliary power source to the auxiliary heating element.).
The combination of the ability to switch power sources of Fujita with the generator and heating element of Patel and Jarvinen allow for the power source to be changed in order to an aux power source for the purpose of redundancy so the blades will not frost over.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include a switch between an auxiliary power source and the electromagnet because of the ability to switch power sources of Fujita with the generator and heating element of Patel and Jarvinen allow for the power source to be changed in order to a aux power source for the purpose of redundancy so the blades will not frost over.
Kratmann does teach a controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed ([0018] In an embodiment, the heatable structure comprises a plurality of individually heatable zones, wherein at least one temperature sensor of the heatable structure is assigned to each zone, wherein the temperature of each zone is individually controllable and/or wherein each zone is heatable according to an individual predetermined temporal temperature characteristic. The individually heatable zones can be realized for instance by providing separately heatable filaments and/or separately heatable grids to each zone, so that they can be heated separately and independently from each other by the controller.).
The combination of the controller of Kratmann with the generator and heating element of Patel and Jarvinen allows the switching on and off of multiple heating elements as needed based on the parameters the controller is set to.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel and Jarvinen to include a controller circuitry to open or close the switch, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element receives the electricity when the switch is closed because the controller of Kratmann with the generator and heating element of Patel and Jarvinen allows the switching on and off of multiple heating elements as needed based on the parameters the controller is set to.
Conclusion
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761