Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status
The amendments filed 10/17/25 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, 16-20 are currently pending. Accordingly, claims 11, 16, 18 have been amended and claims 12 and 15 cancelled. Applicants’ canceling of claim 2 and amendment of claims 1, 3, 6-8, and 9 of withdrawn claims is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0243778) in view of Haghdoost et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0186035), and Bao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0159786).
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi teaches a heat exchanger (Fig. 10), comprising: a pair of collecting pipes (elements 17 fig. 10) being spaced from each other, each collecting pipe defining an inner cavity (per fig. 10 and inherent in term “pipe”); a plurality of flat tubes (elements 202) arranged along an axial direction of the pair of collecting pipes (per fig. 10), each flat tube comprising two opposite ends retained to a corresponding one of the collecting pipes (per fig. 10), respectively; the plurality of flat tubes defining a row of channels for refrigerants to flow (per fig. 10), the channels being disposed along a width direction of the plurality of flat tubes (per fig. 10); the channels being in fluid communication with the inner cavities of each of the collecting pipes (per fig. 10); a plurality of fins (elements 16) each being sandwiched between two adjacent flat tubes (per fig. 10) with a coating (on element 202f para. 0113)
Yamaguchi does not teach, a first matching coating being indirectly contacted with at least one outer surface of one of the plurality of flat tubes, or the plurality of fins, and a second matching coating in contact with at least one outer surface of the pair of collecting pipes, the plurality of flat tubes, and the plurality of fins, wherein the second matching coating is placed between the first matching coating and at least one of the pair of collecting pipes, the plurality of flat tubes, and the plurality of fins:, wherein the first matching coating comprises a hydrophobic material and a filler of nanoparticle type, a weight per unit area of the first matching coating is in a range of 0.1g/m2~1g/m2, and the second matching coating comprises a compound containing rare earth elements.
Haghdoost teaches a heat exchanger with fins (para. 0077) including second coating layer (para. 0011) comprises a hydrophobic material (para. 0189, 0203, 0205, 0288) and a filler of nanoparticle type (para. 0015, 0203, 0216, 0292, 0298). Haghdoost further teaches this second matching coating in contact with at least one outer surface of the pair of collecting pipes, the plurality of flat tubes, or the plurality of fins; wherein at least part of the first matching coating is coated on a surface of the second matching coating (para. 0011, first and second layer read on this), and the second matching coating comprises a compound containing rare earth elements (para. 0007). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Yamaguchi to include the coating features of Haghdoost as claimed, the motivation would be self-healing property and protecting the substrate against corrosion.
Bao teaches a top coating layer is in a range of 0.1g/m2~1 g/m2 (para. 0157). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Yamaguchi include the top coating layer with the claimed weight ratio, the motivation would be to maintain heat transfer while providing resistance (para. 0004).
Regarding claim 16, Yamaguchi teaches the pair of collecting pipes, the plurality of flat tubes, and the plurality of fins are retained by brazing (abstract), the plurality of flat tubes are arranged along a length direction of the pair of collecting pipes (fig. 10), a width of each flat tube is greater than a thickness of each flat tube (fig. 20), and a width direction of the plurality of flat tubes is perpendicular to the length direction of the pair of collecting pipes (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 18, Yamaguchi teaches that least one outer surface of the plurality of flat tubes comprises a rough surface and a roughness (Ra) of the rough surface satisfies 0.5µm≤Ra≤10µm (para. 0056); and the first matching coating is at least partially coated on the rough surface (per fig. this is coated section). Yamaguchi does not expressly teach this is formed by sandblasting but this isa product-by-process limitation and “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0243778) in view of Haghdoost et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0186035), and Bao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0159786), and in further view of Hashiura et al. (U.S. Patent 5,148,862).
Regarding claim 17, Yamaguchi does not expressly teach each fin of the plurality of fins is corrugated along a length direction of the plurality of flat tubes, and each fin comprises a wave crest and a wave trough connecting with two side walls of two adjacent flat tubes, respectively (note the corrugated fin is generically taught in para. 0009). The application of fins as claimed between the tubes is well known in the art (As shown by Hashiura et al. U.S. Patent 5,148,862), thus it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to applies the claimed fins to a heat exchanger as claimed, the motivoant would be to use a well-known and available fin design.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0243778) in view of Haghdoost et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0186035), and Bao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0159786), and in further view of Wood et al. (U.S. PGPub 20019/0144683).
Regarding claim 19, Yamaguchi does not teach the hydrophobic material corresponding to the first matching coating comprises an organosilane-based modified material with low surface energy or a sol gel of silane system, and nanoparticles comprise hydrophobic gaseous silicon dioxide. Wood teaches hydrophobic (para. 0117) material corresponding to the first matching coating comprises an organosilane-based modified material with low surface energy (para. 0091). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Yamaguchi and Haghdoost to include the claimed materials taught by Wood, the motivation would be improved hardness and dirt resistance (para. 0056).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0243778) in view of Haghdoost et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0186035), and Bao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0159786), and in further view of Wood et al. (U.S. PGPub 20019/0144683) and Albert et al. (U.S. PGPub 2007/0054056).
Regarding claim 20, Yamaguchi does not teach the organosilane-based modified material with low surface energy comprises one or more of 1H,1H,2H,2H- Perfluorodecyltriethoxysilane, 1H,1H,2H,2H-Perfluorodecyltrimethoxysilane, 1H,1H,2H,2H- Perfluorooctyltriethoxysilane, octadecyltrimethoxysilane and hexadecyltrimethoxysilane. Albert teaches organosilane-based modified material (para. 0002) comprises one or more of octadecyltrimethoxysilane and hexadecyltrimethoxysilane (para. 0042). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Yamaguchi and Haghdoost to include the claimed materials taught by Albert, the motivation would be improved protection form corrosion (abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 15 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,313,354.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/7/25, with respect to the “low surface energy” 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn; the term will be considered to require lower than 30mN/m2.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Individual arguments are responded to below.
Applicant argues that the range taught by Bao does not make the claimed range obvious, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicants smaller range does not change the fact the values claimed are taught, applicants narrow range is fully covered by the prior art. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage or optimum range does not change that the range is taught by prior art and thus is obvious (and taught) from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability.
Applicant argues that the rare earth elements taught by Haghdoost are not applicable and do not make their application obvious as used in the rejection, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage (or not the specific type of benefit) which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Applicants assertion that the use of such should be ignored in the prior art is not supported.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (specifically that Haghdoost does not teach limitations b and c argued), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., pitting) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The double patenting is still applicable as the claims are obvious as shown above, thus the differences between the claims and the cited patent are still obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3763