DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV (claims 13 – 25) in the reply filed on 27 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 March 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 29 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13 – 25 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cao et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0285341 – previously cited) in view of Wu (US PGPUB 2017/0128132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0285341 – previously cited) in view of Wu (US PGPUB 2017/0128132).
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses a medical treatment apparatus (e.g. ABSTRACT), comprising:
a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device, (e.g. 101), configured for imaging of a specific region comprising a target object and generating a magnetic resonance image (e.g. ¶ 59);
a laser interstitial thermal therapy (LITT) device, (e.g. ¶ 54; a multi-wavelength LITT device wish is used for ablation therapy), comprising: an LITT probe, the LITT probe being positioned close to the target object based on the magnetic resonance image, and configured to treat the target object by emitting laser (e.g. ¶ 60); and
a temperature measurement element (e.g. 8), the temperature measurement element and the LITT probe being integrated as an integrated probe (e.g. ¶ 86), and the temperature measurement element being configured to obtain a temperature of the target object (e.g. ¶ 87), wherein the LITT probe comprises an LITT lateral ablation probe or an LITT circumferential ablation probe (e.g. ¶ 60 – 61). Cao fails to teach that the integrated probe includes the temperature measurement element and the LITT probe positioned side by side in a longitudinal direction of the integrated probe.
Yu teaches it is known to use an integrated fiber-optic probe for image guided LITT, the probe including a temperature sensor (e.g. 18) and a sensor fiber (e.g. 20) positioned side by side in a longitudinal direction (e.g. ¶ 64 – 69; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify he invention as taught by Cao with the arrangement as taught by Yu, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using one integrated probe having a smaller insertion profile.
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses the LITT lateral ablation probe comprises: a probe main body; and a coating layer covered on an end surface of the probe main body, wherein the end surface of the probe main body and an axis of the probe main body form a first angle, the probe main body comprises a probe core and a hard cladding structure located at an outer peripheral of the probe core, and the coating layer comprises noble metal (e.g. ¶ 60 – 61).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Cao discloses the coating layer has a dual-layer structure, a layer of the dual-layer structure which is close to the end surface of the probe main body comprises pure silver, and the other layer of the dual-layer structure which is away from the end surface of the probe main body comprises silicon monoxide (e.g. ¶ 60 – 61).
Claim(s) 17 – 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. in view Yu, and further in view of Capote et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0386478 – previously cited).
Regarding claims 17 – 19, Cao in view Yu discloses the claimed invention except for a lens connected to the end surface.
Capote teaches it is known that the LITT lateral ablation probe comprises: a probe main body; and a lens connected to an end surface of the probe main body, wherein the end surface of the probe main body is perpendicular to an axis of the probe main body, the lens has a first vertex angle, the probe main body comprises a probe core and a hard cladding structure located at an outer peripheral of the probe core, and the lens is a sapphire lens (e.g. ¶ 38 – 42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Cao in view Yu with the lens as taught by Capote in order to better treat the patient.
Regarding claims 20 – 25, Cao in view Yu discloses the claimed invention except for a cone-shaped surface.
Capote teaches it is known to use the LITT circumferential ablation probe comprises: a probe main body, the main body of the probe comprising a cone-shaped surface, one or more grooves being set on the cone-shaped surface, the one or more grooves being evenly distributed on the cone-shaped surface in an arabesquitic pattern, wherein the LITT circumferential ablation probe emits laser out of the one or more groove (e.g. Fig 3B) and to use the claimed wavelengths (e.g. ¶ 57 – 58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Cao in view Yu with the limitations as taught by Capote since such a modification would provide the predictable results of better treating the patient.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796