DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seme et al. (US 2013/0231703 A1).
Claim 1. Seme discloses a system, comprising:
a tensioning element (adjustment assembly 32), comprising:
a connection element (tether 250 and connector head 252) that is configured to be coupled to a fixation element, and
an anchoring element (housing 210 and drive gear 216 of tensioner 208) that is configured to be coupled to an external fixation point (the external fixation point being a surgical instrument acting on actuation head 218 of drive gear 216),
wherein the tensioning element is operable to apply a tension between the connection element and the anchoring element (see para. 0077),
wherein the anchoring element comprises a hook, a clamp (see para. 0070, which indicates that housing 210 acts as a clamp), a ring, or a threaded anchor, and
wherein the anchoring element is configured to be coupled to the external fixation point that is a fixed location in a surgical environment, a point on an operating table, a point on an object in proximity to an operating table (a surgical instrument, during use, would be an object in proximity to an operating table, wherein the patient is presumably located on the operating table), or appoint on a surgical drape; and
a fixation element (transverse anchor 28 and fastener 36), comprising:
a first portion (transverse anchor 28) that is configured to be coupled to the tensioning element, and
a second portion (fastener 36) that is configured to be coupled to bony tissue in a bone of a patient (see para. 0062, which states that fastener 36 is a pedicle screw);
wherein the tensioning element and the fixation element are configured to cooperate with one another so as to apply a tension between (a) bony tissue to in a bone of a patient and (b) an external fixation point, when the anchoring element of the tensioning element is coupled to the external fixation point, the second portion of the fixation element is coupled to the bony tissue in the bone of the patient, and the tensioning element is operated to apply the tension, thereby to retain the bony tissue in the bone of the patient in a fixed position with respect to the external fixation point (see paras. 0077 and 0085) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Claim 4. Seme discloses wherein an angle is formed between the first portion of the fixation element and the second portion of the fixation element (fastener 36 extends through slot 184 in transverse anchor 28, thereby creating an angle between the shaft of fastener 36 and the plane of transverse anchor 28) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Claim 5. Seme discloses wherein the angle is in a range of between 0 degrees and 180 degrees (the angle as defined above would necessarily be in the range of between 0 degrees and 180 degrees as fastener 36 would extend roughly into the page when extending through slot 184 of transverse anchor 28 as shown in Fig. 18) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Claim 12. Seme discloses a kit, comprising:
at least one tensioning element (adjustment assemblies 32 and 34), wherein each of the at least one tensioning element comprises:
a connection element (tether 250 and connector head 252) that is configured to be coupled to a fixation element, and
an anchoring element (housing 210 and drive gear 216 of tensioner 208) that is configured to be coupled to an external fixation point (the external fixation point being a surgical instrument acting on actuation head 218 of drive gear 216),
wherein the anchoring element comprises a hook, a clamp (see para. 0070, which indicates that housing 210 acts as a clamp), a ring, or a threaded anchor, and
wherein the anchoring element is configured to be coupled to the external fixation point that is a fixed location in a surgical environment, a point on an operating table, a point on an object in proximity to an operating table (a surgical instrument, during use, would be an object in proximity to an operating table, wherein the patient is presumably located on the operating table), or appoint on a surgical drape;
wherein each of the at least one tensioning element is operable to apply a tension between the connection element and the anchoring element (see para. 0077); and
a plurality of fixation elements (transverse anchors 28 and 30), wherein each of the plurality of fixation elements comprises:
a first portion (arm portion 176) that is configured to be selectively coupled to the tensioning element, and
a second portion (connection portion 174) that is configured to be coupled to bony tissue in a bone of a patient (via fastener 36 extending through slot 184; see para. 0062, which states that fastener 36 is a pedicle screw);
wherein the tensioning element and a selected one of the plurality of fixation elements are configured to cooperate with one another so as to apply a tension between (a) bony tissue in a bone of a patient and (b) an external fixation point, when the anchoring element of the tensioning element is coupled to the external fixation point, the second portion of the selected one of the plurality of fixation elements is coupled to the bony tissue in the bone of the patient, and the tensioning element is operated to apply the tension, thereby to retain the bony tissue in a fixed position with respect to the external fixation point (see paras. 0077 and 0085) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Claim 14. Seme discloses wherein an angle is formed between the first portion of each of the plurality of fixation elements and the second portion of each of the plurality of fixation elements (angle defined between direction R1 and direction R2), wherein the plurality of fixation elements comprises at least a first fixation element (transverse anchor 28) and a second fixation element (transverse anchor 30), wherein the angle of the first fixation element is different than the angle of the second fixation element (see para. 0064, which states that the angle between direction R1 and direction R2 can be about 45 degrees, or from about 30 degrees to about 60 degrees, or at no angle) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seme et al. (US 2013/0231703 A1).
Claim 12. Seme discloses a kit, comprising:
at least one tensioning element (adjustment assemblies 32 and 34), wherein each of the at least one tensioning element comprises:
a connection element (tether 250 and connector head 252) that is configured to be coupled to a fixation element, and
an anchoring element (housing 210 and drive gear 216 of tensioner 208) that is configured to be coupled to an external fixation point (the external fixation point being a surgical instrument acting on actuation head 218 of drive gear 216),
wherein the anchoring element comprises a hook, a clamp (see para. 0070, which indicates that housing 210 acts as a clamp), a ring, or a threaded anchor, and
wherein the anchoring element is configured to be coupled to the external fixation point that is a fixed location in a surgical environment, a point on an operating table, a point on an object in proximity to an operating table (a surgical instrument, during use, would be an object in proximity to an operating table, wherein the patient is presumably located on the operating table), or appoint on a surgical drape;
wherein each of the at least one tensioning element is operable to apply a tension between the connection element and the anchoring element (see para. 0077); and
a plurality of fixation elements (transverse anchor 28 and fastener 36 is one fixation element; transverse anchor 30 and fastener 36 is another fixation element), wherein each of the plurality of fixation elements comprises:
a first portion (transverse anchor 28 or 30) that is configured to be selectively coupled to the tensioning element, and
a second portion (fastener 36) that is configured to be coupled to bony tissue in a bone of a patient (see para. 0062, which states that fastener 36 is a pedicle screw);
wherein the tensioning element and a selected one of the plurality of fixation elements are configured to cooperate with one another so as to apply a tension between (a) bony tissue in a bone of a patient and (b) an external fixation point, when the anchoring element of the tensioning element is coupled to the external fixation point, the second portion of the selected one of the plurality of fixation elements is coupled to the bony tissue in the bone of the patient, and the tensioning element is operated to apply the tension, thereby to retain the bony tissue in a fixed position with respect to the external fixation point (see paras. 0077 and 0085) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seme et al. (US 2013/0231703 A1) in view of Jacob et al. (US 2012/0041490 A1). For this rejection, see the rejection of claim 12 on pgs. 6-8 above).
Claim 13. Seme discloses wherein the plurality of fixation elements comprises at least a first fixation element (transverse anchor 28 and fastener 36) and a second fixation element (transverse anchor 28 and fastener 36) (Figs. 11-18; paras. 0062-0085).
Seme fails to disclose wherein the first fixation element has a different length than the second fixation element (claim 13).
However, as noted in the rejection of claim 12, Seme discloses that fasteners 36 are pedicle screws.
Jacob teaches that pedicle screws (anchors 110A, 110B, 110C) can have different lengths (see para. 0023) (Fig. 2; para. 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify fasteners 36 of Seme such that they have different lengths, as suggested by Jacob, as doing so would allow the surgeon to choose an appropriate fastener for each vertebra of a patient. In view of such a modification, because fasteners 36 have different lengths, the first fixation element would have a different length than the second fixation element (claim 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Seme have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Note that the Examiner has interpreted Seme wherein housing 210 and drive gear 216 of tensioner 208 are the anchoring element (see the rejections above) as opposed to lumen 220 of tensioner 208 being the anchoring element (see the Non-Final Rejection mailed on October 10, 2025). Furthermore, per this new interpretation of Seme, the Examiner has identified the external fixation point as a surgical instrument acting on actuation head 218 of drive gear 216 and noted that a surgical instrument, during use, would be an object in proximity to an operating table, wherein the patient is presumably located on the operating table.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773