DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 10-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2018/0276636 A1) in view of Kakino (US 2018/0365666 A1), further in view of Sasaki (WO 2021/024996 A1) as interpreted by Sasaki (US 2022/0284756 A1) and further in view of Bethke et al (DE 102016212099 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a reading device, i.e., self service POS (point of sales) terminal/self service checkout system (1) as mentioned at paragraphs 3 and 24 and as illustrated in figures 2 and 3, comprising:
a first support member, i.e., second casing (24), extending vertically as illustrated in figure 2 and as mentioned at paragraph 24; a scanner (241) attached to the first support member (24) and including a window (243) facing a first direction and through which an item can be scanned by an operator, as mentioned at paragraph 24; an extension member attached to an upper portion of the first support member and extending in the first direction above the scanner ;
a camera, i.e., image capturing unit (26), as illustrated in figure 2 and as mentioned at paragraph 27, attached to an end of the extension member in the first direction and configured to capture an image of the operator; and
a controller, i.e., control unit (201), as illustrated in figure 3, configured to control the display to display information about an item scanned by the scanner, i.e., noting the price display field, for example, as mentioned at paragraphs 19, 24-26 and 41, which states as follows.
[0019] The self-service POS terminal 2 includes a first loading stand 21 provided on a front right side, a second loading stand 22 provided on a front left side, and a first casing 23 provided at the front center. An operator such as a customer places a basket containing collected commodities on the first loading stand 21. The operator places a bag in which the commodities subjected to sales registration are placed, on the second loading stand 22. The operator performs sales registration for the commodity taken out of the basket by using a device placed on the first casing 23. The operator puts the commodity subjected to sales registration into the bag placed on the second loading stand 22. The operator performs the sales registration for each commodity collected in the basket. In a case where sales registration of all the commodities is completed, the operator performs accounting processing of the commodities subjected to sales registration and the like using a device included in the first casing 23. According to the procedure described above, the operator performs sales registration processing and accounting processing.
[0024] The second casing 24 includes a reading window 243 used for reading a commodity code or the like of a commodity by the scanner 241. The reading window 243 transmits laser light emitted from the scanner 241 to the outside of the second casing 24 and transmits reflected light of the laser light to the inside of the second casing 24. The scanner 241 may capture an image of the commodity to read the commodity code or the like from the captured image.
[0025] The second casing 24 includes a receipt issuing port 244 for ejecting a receipt or the like output by the printer 242. The printer 242 ejects the receipt in which the sales information of the commodity subjected to transaction processing is printed on paper from the receipt issuing port 244.
[0026] The display unit 25 is, for example, a liquid crystal display. The display unit 25 displays commodity information or the like of the commodity subjected to sales registration. Further, the display unit 25 includes a touch panel 251 (see FIG. 3) for operating the self-service POS terminal 2. The touch panel 251 detects a position where an operation is performed (e.g., touched) on the display unit 25 and determines that an operation corresponding to a display element displayed by the display unit 25 is input. With this, the touch panel 251 receives an operation of a key (assuming that the key displayed by the display unit 25 is operated). The display unit 25 supports the image-capturing unit 26 provided on the upper part of the display unit 25.
[0041] The setting content information is information indicating setting contents of the user interface. The setting content information includes screen setting, character size, arrangement setting, color arrangement setting, and voice setting. The screen setting provides the setting of a theme of a screen displayed on the display unit 25 of the self-service POS terminal 2. For example, in a case where a game character is set as the screen setting, the self-service POS terminal 2 causes the display unit 25 to display a screen on which the set character is displayed on a background image. The screen setting is not limited to the character of the game, but may be any content such as a comic book, a movie, a sport, a singer, and the like. The character size is setting of the size of the character to be displayed on the display unit 25 of the self-service POS terminal 2. The arrangement setting is setting for selecting a screen template displayed on the display unit 25 of the self-service POS terminal 2. In the template, arrangement of respective components included in the screen is defined. For example, in the template, arrangement for displaying an operation button, a list, and a price display field is defined. The color arrangement setting allows selection of a color of the screen displayed on the display unit 25 of the self-service POS terminal 2. The voice setting is setting of the sound or uttered words output through the voice output unit of the self-service POS terminal 2. For example, the voice setting corresponds to a voice notifying that the sales registration is made in a case where the handy scanner 27 reads the commodity code, a voice notifying that various operations are received, and the like.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi further teaches wherein when viewed from the first direction, the scanner, i.e., reading window (243) which covers scanner (241), as mentioned at paragraph 24, and the camera, i.e., image-capturing unit (26), as mentioned at paragraph 26, are disposed along a first vertical axis defined by the first support member, i.e., second casing (24), as illustrated in annotated figure 2, as shown as follows.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a second vertical axis represented by patrol lamp (29) as mentioned at paragraph 22.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi further teaches a second vertical axis represented by patrol lamp (29) as mentioned at paragraph 22 and as seen in figure 2.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi does not expressly teach an extension member attached to an upper portion of the first support member and extending in the first direction above the scanner;
a camera attached to an end of the extension member in the first direction and facing downward to capture an image of the operator; and
a controller configured to:
issue a notification signal when detecting from the captured image that the operator is carrying out a predetermined operation,
and the display is disposed along a second vertical axis defined by the second support member.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Kakino teaches an extension member, as seen in figure 1, attached to an upper portion of the first support member, i.e., main body (10), and extending in the first direction above the scanner (25) as seen in figure 1;
a camera (28), as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at paragraphs 16, 17, 29 and 30, attached to an end of the extension member in the first direction and facing downward, as illustrated in figure 1, to capture an image of the operator, as mentioned at paragraph 29, for example; and
a controller, i.e., processors (40, 60) as illustrated in figure 2, configured to issue a notification signal when detecting from the captured image that the operator is carrying out a predetermined operation, as mentioned in paragraphs 14, 15, 21, 29 and 30, for example as seen as follows.
[0014] The checkout apparatus 1 shown in FIG. 1 is a self-service register operated by a user (customer) who purchases a commodity to execute a commodity registration process and a checkout process. The checkout apparatus described in the following embodiment may be applied to a commodity registration apparatus in a POS system.
[0015] The checkout apparatus 1 shown in FIG. 1 and a server 2 described later (refer to FIG. 2) are provided in a checkout system. The server 2 is a computer that communicates with the checkout apparatus 1. For example, the server 2 manages information about a customer who uses the checkout apparatus 1 and information such as process results at the checkout apparatus 1. The checkout system is assumed to include a plurality of the checkout apparatuses 1 in communication with the server 2, although the quantity of the checkout apparatuses 1 is not limited.
[0016] As shown in FIG. 1, the checkout apparatus 1 includes a main body 10, a first commodity placement table 11 and a second commodity placement table 12 which are arranged on the left and right sides of the main body 10. A commodity to be subjected to the registration process is placed on the first commodity placement table 11, and a commodity already subjected to the registration process is placed on the second commodity placement table 12. However, the commodity to be subjected to the registration process may be placed in a shopping basket. In this case, the shopping basket containing the commodity to be subjected to the registration process may be located any position as long as it is within an image capturing range of a camera 28 (to be described later).
[0017] The first commodity placement table 11 is arranged on the right side of the main body 10. For example, a shopping basket (container) containing a commodity that the customer wants to purchase (the commodity to be subjected to the registration process) is placed on the first commodity placement table 11. The commodity that the customer wants to purchase may also be directly placed on the first commodity placement table 11. The first commodity placement table 11 may be arranged at any position as long as at least the commodity placed thereon is within an image capturing range of the camera 28.
[0021] For example, the display device 21a displays a GUI (Graphical User Interface) for inputting selection instructions such as a payment method (by cash, by card) and various kinds of information through a touch operation by the customer. The display device 21a displays a guide screen, an information input screen, a commodity registration screen, a settlement screen, and the like. The guide screen displays a guide (message) for notifying the customer of an operation method. The information input screen is used, for example, for inputting information corresponding to a commodity with no barcode attached thereto. The commodity registration screen displays information about a registered commodity. For example, information about a commodity identified by the scanner 25 or the hand-held scanner 26 reading a barcode attached to the commodity, and information about a commodity designated by the key operation are displayed on the commodity registration screen. The settlement screen displays a total amount of purchased commodities (i.e., registered commodities), a deposit amount, and a change amount with respect to a checkout process in which a customer pays for the commodities.
[0029] The camera 28 may be arranged so as to capture an operation state for the commodity registration process and the checkout process by a customer. In this case, the camera 28 is arranged so that the first commodity placement table 11 and the second commodity placement table 12 are included within an image capturing range thereof. According to this arrangement, the camera 28 can capture images while the commodity placed on the first commodity placement table 11 is moved to the second commodity placement table 12. The images captured by the camera 28 are stored in a storage device, and the images can thereby be used to confirm a situation when an error occurs.
[0030] Further, the camera 28 may capture an image in an image capturing range including an area in which an unregistered commodity to be subjected the registration process is placed. For example, if a shopping basket containing the commodity to be subjected to the registration process is placed on the first commodity placement table 11, the image capturing range of the camera 28 is set so as to photograph the entire inside of the shopping basket. If the commodity to be subjected to the registration process is directly placed on the first commodity placement table 11, the image capturing range of the camera 28 is set so as to photograph the entire top surface of the first commodity placement table 11. The shopping basket containing the commodity to be subjected to the registration process may be arranged at a predetermined position such as near the first commodity placement table 11. In this case, the image capturing range of the camera 28 is set so as to photograph the inside of the shopping basket at the predetermined position.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided an extension member attached to an upper portion of the first support member and extending in the first direction above the scanner;
a camera attached to an end of the extension member in the first direction and configured to capture an image of the operator; and
a controller configured to issue a notification signal when the controller detects from the captured image that the operator is carrying out a predetermined operation, as taught by Kakino, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of extending the camera to a distance far enough above the POS terminal so that all aspects of the transaction are captured for surveillance purposes.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi does not expressly teach
a second support member extending vertically;
a display attached to the second support member.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Bethke teaches
a second support member, i.e., mast supports (5) attached to mast (M) as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, extending vertically.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a second support member extending vertically, as taught by Bethke, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of attaching a display to the post/mast at a position a distance far enough above the POS terminal so that information displayed such as notifications including advertisements, for example, are visible to customers and users.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Sasaki teaches
a display, i.e., warning lamp (41), as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at paragraph 35, attached to the second support member, i.e., noting the lamp post as seen in figure 1.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a display attached to the second support member, as taught by Sasaki, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of imparting information displayed such as notifications including notifications such as indications of cash shortages are visible to customers and users.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a second vertical axis represented by patrol lamp (29) as mentioned at paragraph 22.
Regarding Claim 1, it is noted that Kakino teaches two supports, one for camera (28) and one for an indicator lamp directly parallel to it, as seen in figure 1.
Regarding Claim 1, Sasaki teaches a display, i.e., warning lamp (41) that is located on an indicator lamp, as seen in figure 1.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the display is disposed along a second vertical axis defined by a second support member, as taught by Sasaki, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of placing the display device in such a position as to enable it to be sufficiently viewed by customers and users.
Note also that Applicant does not provide criticality as to location of the display on either the first or the second vertical axis. It would have been well within the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan to have located the display, as taught by Sasaki, along Kobayashi’s second support for patrol lamp (29) representing a second vertical axis of a second support member, since both Sasaki and Kobayashi's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi teaches further comprising:
a lamp attached to the first support member at a height lower than the camera, wherein the controller is configured to control the lamp to emit light when detecting a malfunction or unauthorized operation by the operator from the captured image.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi teaches further comprising: a lamp, i.e., patrol lamp, as illustrated in figure 2, attached to the first support member (24), i.e., via first casing (23), as illustrated in figure 2, as mentioned at paragraphs 22 and 30, for example.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi does not expressly teach the lamp is attached at a height lower than the camera wherein the controller is configured to control the lamp to emit light when detecting a malfunction or unauthorized operation by the operator from the captured image.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Sasaki teaches a lamp to emit a light when detecting a malfunction, as mentioned at paragraph 35, last sentence, mentioning warning lamp 41 for notifying shortage of cash and the like” and as illustrated in figure 1, for example, as previously mentioned in the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Kakino teaches wherein the controller, i.e., processor (40) is configured to control the lamp to emit light when detecting a malfunction or unauthorized operation by the operator from the captured image, as mentioned at paragraphs 29, 30, 33, 38, 39 and 46, which state as follows.
[0029] The camera 28 may be arranged so as to capture an operation state for the commodity registration process and the checkout process by a customer. In this case, the camera 28 is arranged so that the first commodity placement table 11 and the second commodity placement table 12 are included within an image capturing range thereof. According to this arrangement, the camera 28 can capture images while the commodity placed on the first commodity placement table 11 is moved to the second commodity placement table 12. The images captured by the camera 28 are stored in a storage device, and the images can thereby be used to confirm a situation when an error occurs.
[0030] Further, the camera 28 may capture an image in an image capturing range including an area in which an unregistered commodity to be subjected the registration process is placed. For example, if a shopping basket containing the commodity to be subjected to the registration process is placed on the first commodity placement table 11, the image capturing range of the camera 28 is set so as to photograph the entire inside of the shopping basket. If the commodity to be subjected to the registration process is directly placed on the first commodity placement table 11, the image capturing range of the camera 28 is set so as to photograph the entire top surface of the first commodity placement table 11. The shopping basket containing the commodity to be subjected to the registration process may be arranged at a predetermined position such as near the first commodity placement table 11. In this case, the image capturing range of the camera 28 is set so as to photograph the inside of the shopping basket at the predetermined position.
[0033] In FIG. 2, the main body 10 of the checkout apparatus 1 includes the controller 30. The controller 30 is realized by, for example, a computer. The display 21, the card reader/writer 22, the printer 23, the speaker 24, the scanner 25, the hand-held scanner 26, the cash processing device 27, and the camera 28 are electrically connected to the controller 30. The controller 30 includes a processor 40, a ROM (Read-Only Memory) 41, a RAM (Random-Access Memory) 42, a data memory 43, a communication section (first communication section) 44, various interfaces (IFs) 45 to 52.
[0038] Further, the RAM 42 or the data memory 43 stores information about a commodity registered in the registration process (registered commodity), a calculated score, a result of the settlement process, and the like. For example, the RAM 42 or the data memory 43 may record information about the registered commodity as data in a list format (registered commodity list). The RAM 42 or the data memory 43 may store an image captured by the camera 28. For example, the data memory 43 stores image data obtained by adding time stamp data indicating an image capturing time to the image captured by the camera 28.
[0039] The communication interface 44 is an interface for communicating with the server 2. The communication interface 44 communicates with a computer such as the server 2 via a network such as a LAN (Local Area Network). The checkout apparatus 1 communicates with the server 2 and other checkout apparatuses via the communication interface 44. In the checkout system, the checkout apparatus 1 may acquire information about the commodity from the server 2 through the communication interface 44. The communication section 44 may transfer, to the server 2, information about the registered commodity stored in the RAM 42 or the data memory 43 or a settlement result for the commodity. The communication section 44 may transfer, to the server 2, the image captured by the camera 28 stored in the RAM 42 or the data memory 43.
[0046] The processor 40 is connected to the camera 28 via a camera IF 52. The processor 40 acquires the image captured by the camera 28 through the camera IF 52. For example, the processor 40 acquires an image obtained by the camera 28 photographing the inside of the shopping basket (container) on the first commodity placement table 11 when shifting to the checkout process. The processor 40 acquires the captured images including images obtained by the camera 28 continuously (for example, at predetermined intervals) photographing the inside of the shopping basket (container) on the first commodity placement table 11 in the registration process.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the controller is configured to control the lamp to emit light when detecting a malfunction or unauthorized operation by the operator from the captured image, as taught by Kakino, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of processing images to determine malfunction/error conditions for use by the system controller.
Note that it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have adjusted the height of the camera versus the lamp so that the lamp is attached at a height lower than the camera in Kobayashi’s POS terminal as a matter of design choice for the purpose of ensuring that all of the transaction area is captured by the camera for image processing and analysis. Note also that it would have been well within the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan to have adjusted the balance between the height of the camera and the lamp so that the lamp is located at a lower level than the lamp to ensure the camera captures the desired transaction area versus the interference of the light from the lamp with the image capturing device/camera.
Regarding Claim 7, Kobayashi teaches further comprising: a first table, i.e., first loading stand (21), as illustrated in figure 2, on which an item to be scanned by the scanner (24) can be placed; and a second table, i.e., pedestal (221) as mentioned at paragraph 20, on which an item that has been scanned by the scanner (24) can be placed.
Regarding Claim 8, Kobayashi teaches wherein the camera (26) is between the first and second tables (21, 221) when viewed from above, as illustrated in figure 2.
Regarding Claim 11, see the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 12, see the rejection of Claim 2, above.
Regarding Claim 17, see the rejection of Claim 7, above.
Regarding Claim 18, Kobayashi teaches further comprising: a pair of extension bars, i.e., bagging hooks (221), from which a shopping bag is hung, as mentioned at paragraph 20,
Regarding Claim 18, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Kakino teaches wherein the camera (28) is configured to capture an image of the customer, the first and second tables, i.e., first and second placement tables (11, 12) as mentioned at paragraph 16, and the shopping bag, i.e., the bags hung from bagging hooks (12b), as illustrated in figure 1, noting that it would have been obvious to have captured all of these elements for the purpose of capturing the entire transaction.
Regarding Claim 18, Kobayashi teaches further comprising: a pair of extension bars, i.e., bagging hooks (221), from which a shopping bag is hung, as mentioned at paragraph 20, wherein the camera is configured to capture an image of the customer, the first and second tables, and the shopping bag.
Regarding Claim 19, Kobayashi teaches further comprising: a third table, i.e., temporary stand (223), above the second table (221) on which an item that has been scanned by scanner (24) can be placed, wherein the extension bars (222) extend from the third table (223) in the first direction, as illustrated in figure 2.
Regarding Claim 20, Kobayashi teaches further comprising:
a printer (242), as illustrated in figure 3, configured (to) print a receipt, i.e., via receipt issuing port (244), as illustrated in figure 2 and as mentioned at paragraph 25, on which information about the registered item is printed, wherein the third table (223) is between the scanner (243) and the printer (244) as illustrated in figure 2.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 13, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2018/0276636 A1) in view of Kakino (US 2018/0365666 A1), further in view of Sasaki (WO 2021/024996 A1) as interpreted by Sasaki (US 2022/0284756 A1), further in view of Bethke et al (DE 102016212099 A1) and further in view of Konishi et al (US 2015/0112825 A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 4, 6, 13, 14 and 16, Kobayashi teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, Kobayashi does not expressly teach wherein the camera, the lamp, and the scanner are arranged in a straight line when viewed from the first direction.
Regarding Claim 3, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Konishi teaches wherein the camera (7) as mentioned at paragraph 25, the lamp, i.e., sign unit (8) as mentioned at paragraph 21, and the scanner, i.e., scanner device (5) as mentioned in paragraph 22, are arranged in a straight line when viewed from the first direction as seen in annotated figure 1, for example, as follows.
Regarding Claim 3, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the camera, the lamp, and the scanner are arranged in a straight line when viewed from the first direction, as taught by Konishi, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of maintaining compactness of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi does not expressly teach further comprising: a display device attached to the first support member between the lamp and the scanner and configured to display identification information of the reading device.
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Konishi teaches further comprising: a display device (6) attached to the first support member, i.e., casing (3), between the lamp (8) and the scanner (5) and configured to display identification information of the reading device (5), noting that Kobayashi teaches that display (25) is mentioned in paragraph 26, second sentence, that “[t]he display unit 25 displays commodity information or the like of the commodity subjected to sales registration”.
Regarding Claim 6, Kobayashi does not expressly teach wherein the camera is configured to capture an image of the operator, the lamp, and the display device.
Regarding Claim 6, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Kakino teaches wherein the camera (28) is configured to capture an image of the operator, the lamp, and the display device (21) as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at paragraphs 29 and 30, noting that it would have been obvious to have captured the lamp, display and operator together as they are all construed as being part of the transaction, for example.
Regarding Claim 13, see the rejection of Claim 3, above.
Regarding Claim 14, see the rejection of Claim 4, above.
Regarding Claim 16, see the rejection of Claim 6, above.
Claim(s) 5, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 2018/0276636 A1) in view of Kakino (US 2018/0365666 A1), further in view of Sasaki (WO 2021/024996 A1) as interpreted by Sasaki (US 2022/0284756 A1), further in view of Bethke et al (DE 102016212099 A1), further in view of Konishi et al (US 2015/0112825 A1) and further in view of Kerber (US 2002/0189502 A1).
Regarding Claims 5, 9 and 15, Kobayashi teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi does not expressly teach wherein the first support member has an opening into which a part of the second support member can be inserted.
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Kerber teaches wherein the first support member, i.e., leg (32) as mentioned in paragraphs 30 and 32, has an opening into which a part of the second support member, i.e., support structure (42) and leg (44) which fits into each other, as illustrated in figures 3-5, for example, can be inserted.
Regarding Claim 5, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the first support member has an opening into which a part of the second support member can be inserted, as taught by Kerber, in the reading device/POS terminal of Kobayashi for the purpose of assembling portions of the POS terminal as needed using typical structural components.
Regarding Claim 9, Kobayashi does not expressly teach wherein the first support member includes a pedestal to which a lower end of the extension member is attached by a screw.
Regarding Claim 9, Kobayashi does not expressly teach, but Kerber teaches wherein the first support member includes a pedestal, i.e., topper (28), to which a lower end of the extension member, i.e., support structure (30, 42), is attached by a screw, as mentioned at paragraphs 30 and 32.
Regarding Claim 15, see the rejection of Claim 5, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim ‘416 is cited as another example of a display (20), as illustrated in figure 2, with a support (10, 22, 28) as illustrated in figure 3, for example.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
January 23, 2026