DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/17/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0457] of instant publication application recites “the irradiation area R1 in the conveyance direction At is set to be 120 mm or more”. It is unclear as to how the area can be 120 mm. As best understood, it should be 120 mm2 or more.
[0463] of instant publication application recites “the dimension of the irradiation area R1 is set to 120 mm or more”. It is unclear as to how the area can be 120 mm. As best understood, it should be 120 mm2 or more.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a laser light deflection section that deflects the laser light” in claim 1.
“a laser light deflection section” (claim 1) is interpreted as “a first scanner 51 that drives a first mirror 51a such that the laser light generated by the solid-state laser crystal 41 is emitted toward a desired position in the irradiation area R1, and a first control board 53 that controls the first scanner 51.” [0118] of instant publication application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a dimension of the irradiation area in the conveyance direction is 120 mm or more”. It is unclear as to how an area can be 120 mm or more. As best understood, the irradiation area is defined to be R1 referred to herein is an area set on the surface of the workpiece W according to para.0065 of instant publication application. For examining purpose, examiner has interpreted that “a dimension of the irradiation area in the conveyance direction is 120 mm2 or more”. (this is not proposed amendment, only for examining purpose).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Nehashi et al. (US 20200209523).
Regarding claim 1, Nehashi et al. discloses “a laser processing apparatus” (1) “that is attached to an attachment target position” (intended use) and “irradiates an irradiation area with laser light” ([0142], i.e., it is possible to emit a laser with a short pulse width to suppress thermal damage to the workpiece W) to process “a workpiece” (item W), “the laser processing apparatus” (1) comprising:
“a laser light deflection section” (3) that deflects the laser light to be emitted toward “the irradiation area” (toward workpiece W) in accordance with “a predetermined processing setting” (3 has a predetermined processing setting such as positions of optical elements); and
“a housing” (10) that accommodates “the laser light deflection section” (3),
wherein “the housing” (10) includes:
“an exit window” (19) transmitting “the laser light” (Pd(P)) emitted toward “the irradiation area” (toward workpiece W) via “the laser light deflection section” (3); and
“an attachment surface” (figs.3-5, 10 pointed at a structure having a surface facing the exit window 19) arranged to face the exit window and “attached to the attachment target position” (functional language and the attachment target position is based on intended use in the preamble and is not part of the apparatus. In this case, the attachment surface is at the target position (i.e., user defined position)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehashi et al. (US 20200209523) in view of Takigawa et al. (US 2017/0270434) and Idaka et al. (US 2019/0184491).
Regarding claim 2, Nehashi et al. discloses the housing accommodates:
“a support plate” (12) extending along a direction from “the attachment surface” (figs.3-5, 10 pointed at a structure having a surface. Figs.5-6 shows 11 and 12 having the same height and 12 extending along a direction from the attachment surface (i.e., fig.5, 10 pointed at a structure having a surface)) toward “the exit window” (19) and supporting “laser oscillator
Nehashi et al. is silent regarding “a solid-state laser crystal generating the laser light based on excitation light” ([0053] The laser machining system 1 includes at least one laser apparatus 2, and the laser apparatus 2 includes at least one laser oscillator. There are no restrictions on types of laser oscillators. A carbon dioxide laser, a solid-state laser using a YAG crystal or the like as an excitation medium); laser oscillator comprising the solid state laser crystal; the support plate is attached to the housing in a state of not being integrated with the attachment surface.
Takigawa et al. teaches “a solid-state laser crystal generating the laser light based on excitation light; laser oscillator comprising the solid state laser crystal;” ([0053] The laser machining system 1 includes at least one laser apparatus 2, and the laser apparatus 2 includes at least one laser oscillator. There are no restrictions on types of laser oscillators. A carbon dioxide laser, a solid-state laser using a YAG crystal or the like as an excitation medium). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Takigawa et al., by replacing Nehashi et al.’s laser source with Takigawa et al.’s laser oscillator, to provide desired type of laser source. One skilled in the art would have found it obivous to substitute Nehashi et al.’s laser source with Takigawa et al.’s laser source are both recognized by the art for the same purpose of irradiate a laser beam. MPEP 2144.06.
Idaka et al. teaches “the support plate” (figs.4-5, the Q-switch housing section 2 includes 2A and 20b) is attached to “the housing” (10) in a state of not being integrated with “the attachment surface” (fig.4, 10 pointed at the attachment surface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Idaka et al., by adding Idaka et al.’s support plate 20A to Nehashi et al.’s laser head, to properly seal the edge of the housing section 2A [0120] as taught by Idaka et al.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehashi et al. (US 20200209523) in view of Takigawa et al. (US 2017/0270434) and Mitsuo (JP 2015122416).
Regarding claim 3, Nehashi et al. discloses the attachment surface.
Nehashi et al. is silent regarding the attachment surface is provided with an attachment capable of attaching the attachment surface to the attachment target position.
Mitsuo teaches “the attachment surface” (12) is provided with “an attachment” (13) capable of attaching “the attachment surface” (12) to “the attachment target position” (both 12 and 13 is at the target position or user defined position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Mitsuo, by modifying Nehashi et al.’s attachment surface according to Mitsuo’s attachment surface having the lid with screw, to provide a cover to allow user to access the interior of the laser head.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehashi et al. (US 20200209523) in view of Okabe (US 20140312009), Zhang (US 2016/0250714), Tanaka (US 20040155019).
Regarding claim 6, Nehashi et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the workpiece is conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction, the irradiation area has a constant dimension in the conveyance direction, and a spot diameter of the laser light on the workpiece is set such that a depth of focus of the laser light corresponds to a portion of the irradiation area where an optical path length of the laser light is longest and a portion of the irradiation area where the optical path length is shortest.
Okabe teaches “the workpiece is conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction” (MPEP 2115, the workpiece and movement of workpiece is not part of the laser processing apparatus. fig.2A, workpiece S in feed direction), “the irradiation area has a constant dimension in the conveyance direction” (fig.2B shows the irradiation area of workpiece S has a constant dimension in the conveyance direction), and “a spot diameter of the laser light on the workpiece is set” ([0049], i.e., the irradiated beam spot diameter of 0.1 mm to 0.6 mm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Okabe, by modifying Nehashi et al.’s spot diameter of the laser light according to Okabe’s spot diameter of the laser light, to optimize power density, precision and processing speed for specific applications.
Zhang teaches “a depth of focus of the laser light corresponds to a portion of the irradiation area” ([0014] adjusting the depth of focus of the laser beam with respect the surface of the workpiece). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Zhang, by modifying Okabe’s depth of focus of laser light according to Zhang’s depth of focus of laser light, for optimizing the beam’s focal spot size and power density relative to the material being processed.
Tanaka teaches “an optical path length of the laser light is longest” (Abstract, i.e., it is necessary for the optical path length of the optical system to be on the order of 10 m). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Tanaka, by modifying Nehashi et al.’s optical path length of laser light of laser system according to Tanaka’s optical path length of laser light of laser system, to minimize aberrations by ensuring all light rays travel the same optical distance.
Okabe teaches “a portion of the irradiation area where the optical path length is shortest” ([0045] In either mechanism, the optical path length between the scanning mirror and the steel sheet at the beam spot is preferably defined to be 300 mm or more with a view to ensuring equal energy density across the entire scanning region of the laser beam. Therefore, the optical path length is preferably defined to be 300 mm or more. [0046] On the other hand, the optical path length is preferably defined to be 1200 mm or shorter for the purpose of preventing the irradiation portion from being displaced due to vibration or the like, and of implementing the installation of a cover that contributes to ensuring safety and cleanliness). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Okabe, by modifying Tanaka’s optical path length between optical element and workpiece according to Okabe’s optical path length between optical element and workpiece, to minimize aberrations by ensuring all light rays travel the same optical distance.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehashi et al. (US 20200209523) in view of Okabe (US 20140312009), Zhang (US 2016/0250714), Tanaka (US 20040155019) as applied in claims 6 above, and further in view of Miyazaki (WO 2012140797).
Regarding claim 7, Nehashi et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a path corresponding to the irradiation area out of a movement path of the workpiece includes a site having a different distance from the exit window.
Miyazaki teaches “a path” (workpiece W along a path on the conveyor) corresponding to “the irradiation area out of a movement path of the workpiece includes a site” (can be an area (i.e., fig.1 shows the workpiece label ABCD at the area or 9 pointed at the area) outside a region Amax (see fig.1, Amax)) having “a different distance from the exit window” (the distance from the area (9 pointed at the area or a site) having a different distance from the exit window) having a different distance from the exit window with respect to the irradiation area Amax). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Miyazaki, by modifying Nehashi et al.’s laser processing area according to Miyazaki’s irradiation area, to ensure safety, prevent equipment damage and maintains product quality.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehashi et al. (US 20200209523) in view of Miyazaki (WO 2012140797), Yajima (US 10,213,974), Kogel-Hollache (US 20160059347) and Asami et al. (US 2015/0145241).
Regarding claim 8, Nehashi et al. discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the workpiece is conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction, a dimension of the irradiation area in the conveyance direction is 120 mm or more, the laser light deflection section includes a first mirror which deflects the laser light to irradiate the irradiation area, the first mirror is arranged to face the workpiece across the exit window, a relative position of the workpiece with respect to the housing is set such that a distance from the first mirror to the workpiece is 150 mm or less, and a spot diameter of the laser light on the workpiece at the relative position is 60 um or more.
Miyazaki teaches “the workpiece” (W) “is conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction” (processing object W conveyed by the conveying belt 9), “a dimension of the irradiation area in the conveyance direction is an area” (fig.1, Amax) the laser light deflection section 25 includes a first mirror 43a which deflects the laser light to irradiate the irradiation area Amax), “the first mirror is arranged to face the workpiece across the exit window” (the first mirror 43a face the workpiece W across the exit window 22a), “a relative position of the workpiece with respect to the housing is set such that a distance from the first mirror to the workpiece is at a distance” (workpiece W with respect to the housing 22 is set such that a distance from the first mirror 43a to the workpiece W) has a diameter” (On page 4, i.e., The laser beam L that has passed through the condenser lens 37 is condensed and irradiated onto the processing surface Wa of the workpiece W with a small spot diameter)
Yajima teaches “the irradiation area is 120 mm2 or more” (As stated in 35 USC 112 b, the area 120 mm is treated as 120 mm2 for examination purpose. Yajima, col.8 at lines 30-35, i.e., a 70 mm x 14 mm irradiation area = 980 mm2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Yajima, by modifying Nehashi et al.’s irradiation area according to Yajima’s irradiation area, to enable handling of oversized materials for high production efficiency.
Kogel-Hollache teaches “a distance from the first mirror to the workpiece is 150 mm or less” ([0057] The laser processing device 10 is provided for a remote laser processing of workpieces. The distance between the focal spot 22 and the processing head 14 is therefore about 30 cm to 100 cm … the processing head 14 includes a scanning device, [0060] In the beam path downstream of the focusing optics 34, the scanning device, already mentioned and designated by 44, is arranged. This device includes one or more galvanically suspended mirrors. Examiner noted that the processing head includes the scanning device comprises mirror). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Kogel-Hollache, by adjust the Nehashi et al.’s laser head position according to Kogel-Hollache’s laser head position, to positioning the focal point precisely on or within the material surface and ensuring maximum power density for high precision laser processing.
Asami et al. teaches “a spot diameter of 60 um or more” ([0101], i.e., the spot diameter of the laser beam L2 on the surface of the melted solidification section 4a is Ø0.2 mm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Nehashi et al. with Asami et al., by modifying Nehashi et al.’s laser spot diameter according to Asami et al.’s laser beam spot diameter, for adjust power density and controlling precision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761