DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species I in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 35-39, 41, 56-64 read on the claims and are now examined. Non-elected claims 40, 42-55, 65-68 are withdrawn from examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heating device configured to heat the cremation chamber, in claim 35.
air supply device configured to feed supply air to the cremation chamber, in claim 35
interface for pollutant measurement, in claim 64
The corresponding structures described in the specification is/are (see pgpub for citations):
heating device [Wingdings font/0xE0] electrical heater, burner (para. 11)
air supply device [Wingdings font/0xE0] air supply channel (para. 94)
interface [Wingdings font/0xE0] a flange (para. 68)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202303399 U) in view of Matsukuma (JP 2003056814 A).
Regarding claim 35, Li discloses a combustion apparatus comprising:
a cremation chamber (6);
a heating device (power supply plug 13 + wires extending from the plug; see para. 6) configured to heat the cremation chamber;
an air supply device (fresh air pipe 10) configured to feed supply air to the cremation chamber;
a first exhaust gas manifold (8) configured to discharge an exhaust air from the cremation chamber;
a post-combustion chamber (7) arranged downstream of the cremation chamber;
a radiant wire (12) arranged in an interior of the cremation chamber and operatively connected to the heating device so as to be heated by the heating device.
Li fails to disclose:
the first exhaust gas manifold comprising an exhaust air processing device, and
wherein the radiant wire is a gas-tight radiant tube.
Matsukuma teaches an incinerator comprising: a first exhaust gas manifold comprising an exhaust air processing device (4, 7), and a gas-tight radiant tube (2) connected to the heating device (burner 3) so as to be heated by the heating device.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Li wherein the first exhaust gas manifold comprising an exhaust air processing device, and wherein the radiant wire is a gas-tight radiant tube. The motivation to replace the radiant wire and heating device of Li with a radiant tube connected to a heating device, is to eliminate electrical energy costs. If electrical energy is higher than gas costs, then it would be more economical to use a gas-powered radiant tube. The motivation to include an exhaust air processing device is to clean the exhaust gases emanating from the cremation chamber and radiant tube.
With the modification made, the exhaust from the exhaust air processing device would enter an exhaust stack (Matsukuma, 50), and then to an environment outside the cremation chamber (and not recirculated back).
Regarding claim 36, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, wherein the heating device (3) is arranged outside of the cremation chamber (see Figures).
Regarding claim 37, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, wherein the heating device (burner 3 of Matsukuma) is configured to combust a gaseous or liquid fuel (Matsukuma; pg. 3: “The dry distillation chamber is a simple…kerosene burner..”), wherein a second exhaust gas manifold (Matsukuma, 50) is connected (fluidly connected) to the heating device and is configured to discharge an exhaust gas produced by combusting the gaseous or liquid fuel into an environment by bypassing the cremation chamber (the exhaust stack 50 releases exhaust to an environment outside the chamber 1, and is not recirculated back into the chamber).
Regarding claim 38, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, wherein the gas-tight radiant tube is designed for an operating temperature above 900° C. and is comprised of a material selected from the group consisting of a high temperature-resistant steel, a ceramic material, and a composite material, and combinations thereof (see pg. 3 of Matsukuma: “The radiation tube can be easily…heat resistant steel tube…”; see also pg. 4 of Matsukuma discussing where the burner can reach temperatures up to 900 deg. C).
Moreover, if the burner can reach 900 deg. C then a person skilled in the art would have been motivated to design the radiant tube to tolerate even higher temperatures in order to create a margin of safety.
Claim(s) 39, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202303399 U) in view of Matsukuma (JP 2003056814 A), as applied to claim 35, and further in view of Paskowski (US 2829610 A).
Regarding claim 39, Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, wherein the cremation chamber comprises walls (see Figure), except wherein at least one of the walls of the cremation chamber is configured as a double wall comprising a first wall and a second wall and an intermediate space between the first wall and the second wall, wherein the first wall is facing the cremation chamber and the second wall is facing away from the cremation chamber, wherein the intermediate space is an air guiding channel for supply of the supply air into the cremation chamber or for discharge of the exhaust air from the cremation chamber.
However, Paskowski teaches an incinerator, wherein the incineration chamber comprises walls, wherein at least one of the walls of the chamber is configured as a double wall comprising a first wall and a second wall and an intermediate space (Fig. 1, 15) between the first wall and the second wall, wherein the first wall is facing the chamber and the second wall is facing away from the cremation chamber, wherein the intermediate space is an air guiding channel for supply of the supply air into the chamber or for discharge of the exhaust air from the cremation chamber (col. 2, lines 24-31). Paskowski teaches this double wall structure for preheating the air used to combust the garbage.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Li wherein at least one of the walls of the chamber is configured as a double wall comprising a first wall and a second wall and an intermediate space between the first wall and the second wall, wherein the first wall is facing the chamber and the second wall is facing away from the cremation chamber, wherein the intermediate space is an air guiding channel for supply of the supply air into the chamber or for discharge of the exhaust air from the cremation chamber. The motivation to combine is to improve thermal efficiency by using the waste heat for preheating the combustion air.
Regarding claim 41, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 39, wherein the intermediate space is utilized for heating the supply air (see rejection of claim 39) or the intermediate space provides the post-combustion chamber for the exhaust air (the intermediate space that provides the post-combustion chamber for the exhaust air is examined to be optional), wherein a first double wall volume of the intermediate space for heating the supply air is larger than a second double wall volume of the intermediate space utilized as the post-combustion chamber.
Claim(s) 56, 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202303399 U) in view of Matsukuma (JP 2003056814 A), as applied to claim 35, and further in view of Walsh (US 20220213815 A1)
Regarding claims 56, 57, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, except further comprising a heat exchanger connected to the post-combustion chamber and further comprising an energy recovery device, wherein heat from an exhaust air flow is transferred to a heat medium circulating between the heat exchanger and the energy recovery device in a loop (as recited in claim 56), and
wherein the heat medium is a phase-changing liquid and the energy recovery device is a steam turbine driven by the phase-changing liquid, wherein the steam turbine has arranged downstream thereof a current generator driven by the steam turbine, and wherein the current generator converts a rotation energy of the steam turbine into electric current (as recited in claim 57).
However, Walsh teaches a heat exchanger (Fig. 3, 31) connected to a post-combustion chamber (chamber containing the heat exchanger 31), an energy recovery device (Fig. 4, 50), wherein heat from an exhaust air flow is transferred to a heat medium (water) circulating between the heat exchanger and the energy recovery device in a loop, and
wherein the heat medium is a phase-changing liquid (water) and the energy recovery device is a steam turbine (50) driven by the phase-changing liquid, wherein the steam turbine has arranged downstream thereof a current generator driven by the steam turbine (para. 18) ( note: the location of the current generator is not shown in the figures; however, Official Notice is taken that it is well known and common knowledge that the current generator is located downstream the turbine), and wherein the current generator converts a rotation energy of the steam turbine into electric current (para. 18).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Li to include a heat exchanger connected to the post-combustion chamber and further comprising an energy recovery device, wherein heat from an exhaust air flow is transferred to a heat medium circulating between the heat exchanger and the energy recovery device in a loop, and wherein the heat medium is a phase-changing liquid and the energy recovery device is a steam turbine driven by the phase-changing liquid, wherein the steam turbine has arranged downstream thereof a current generator driven by the steam turbine, and wherein the current generator converts a rotation energy of the steam turbine into electric current. The motivation to combine is so that the generated heat can be used to create useful energy.
Claim(s) 58-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202303399 U) in view of Matsukuma (JP 2003056814 A), as applied to claim 35, and further in view of Anatolevich (RU 2772396 C1).
Regarding claim 58, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, except wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber.
However, Anatolevich teaches a household waste disposal system, comprising an exhaust air processing device connected to a downstream end of a combustion chamber (Fig. 1, 102), wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator (Fig. 2, 118) for separation of solids from the exhaust air.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to further modify Li wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber. The motivation to combine is so dust in the exhaust can be collected and then disposed. Note: for the rejection of this claim and its dependent claims, Anatolevich is used to teach the exhaust air processing device and not Matsukuma.
Regarding claim 59, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 58, except further comprising a collection container connected to the separator and further comprising a cycle lock arranged between the collection container and the separator.
However, Anatolevich teaches a collection container (Fig. 2, 44) connected to the separator (Fig. 2, 118) and further comprising a cycle lock (Fig. 2, 121) arranged between the collection container and the separator.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to further modify Li to include a collection container connected to the separator and further comprising a cycle lock arranged between the collection container and the separator. The motivation to combine is so that the separated dust can be collected and disposed.
Regarding claim 60, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 58, except wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises a dust gas filter connected to the separator downstream of the separator in a flow direction of the exhaust air and configured to filter the exhaust air.
However, Anatolevich teaches wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises a dust gas filter (Fig. 2, 125) connected to the separator (Fig. 2, 118) downstream of the separator in a flow direction of the exhaust air and configured to filter the exhaust air.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to further modify Li wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises a dust gas filter connected to the separator downstream of the separator in a flow direction of the exhaust air and configured to filter the exhaust air. The motivation to combine is so that the fine dust from the exhaust can be collected and disposed.
Regarding claim 61, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 61, except wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises an absorption device connected to the separator or connected to the dust gas filter and configured to filter the exhaust air.
However, Anatolevich teaches wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises an absorption device (Fig. 2, 106) connected to the separator (Fig. 2, 118) or connected to the dust gas filter (125) and configured to filter the exhaust air (see pg. 16, paragraphs starting with: “When the conical grate 78…” and “Under the action of the vacuum…adsorbent…”).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to further modify Li wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises an absorption device connected to the separator or connected to the dust gas filter and configured to filter the exhaust air. The motivation to combine is to absorb pollutants in the exhaust gas.
Regarding claim 62, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 61, except further comprising a heat exchanger arranged between the separator, the dust gas filter and/or the absorption device.
However, Anatolevich teaches a heat exchanger (Fig. 2, 123) arranged between the separator (118), the dust gas filter (125) and/or the absorption device.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to further modify Li to include a heat exchanger arranged between the separator, the dust gas filter and/or the absorption device. The motivation to combine is to recover useful heat for a downstream process (e.g., heat for a building).
Claim(s) 58, 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202303399 U) in view of Matsukuma (JP 2003056814 A), as applied to claim 35, and further in view of Mcllroy (US 6077490 A).
Regarding claims 58, 63, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, except wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber (as recited in claim 58), and
wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises at least two dust gas filters for filtering the exhaust gas, connected in parallel and alternately operable, arranged downstream of the separator in a flow direction of the exhaust air, wherein a respective inactive dust gas filter of the at least two dust gas filters is operable in a cleaning mode (as recited in claim 63).
However, Mcllroy teaches a exhaust air processing device comprising a separator (Fig. 4 shows a separator zone 56 beneath the filters) for separation of solids from the exhaust air, and wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises at least two dust gas filters (64, 66) for filtering the exhaust gas, connected in parallel and alternately operable (abstract and Fig. 4), arranged downstream of the separator in a flow direction of the exhaust air, wherein a respective inactive dust gas filter of the at least two dust gas filters is operable in a cleaning mode (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Li wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber, and wherein the exhaust air processing device further comprises at least two dust gas filters for filtering the exhaust gas, connected in parallel and alternately operable, arranged downstream of the separator in a flow direction of the exhaust air, wherein a respective inactive dust gas filter of the at least two dust gas filters is operable in a cleaning mode. The motivation to combine is so that the dust from the exhaust can be collected and disposed. Note: for the rejection of this claim, Mcllroy is used to teach the exhaust air processing device and not Matsukuma.
Claim(s) 58, 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202303399 U) in view of Matsukuma (JP 2003056814 A), as applied to claim 35, and further in view of Masayoshi (JP 2014240806 A).
Regarding claims 58, 64, modified Li discloses the combustion apparatus according to claim 35, except wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber (as recited in claim 58), and
an interface for pollutant measurement arranged at the first exhaust gas manifold at a location between the separator and a blow-out end of the first exhaust gas manifold (as recited in claim 64).
However, Masayoshi teaches a waste treatment furnace, comprising an exhaust air processing device having a separator (Fig. 1, 102) for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the combustion chamber (101), and
an interface (1+11) for pollutant measurement arranged at the first exhaust gas manifold (Fig. 1, L1) at a location between the separator and a blow-out end of the first exhaust gas manifold.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Li wherein the exhaust air processing device comprises a separator for separation of solids from the exhaust air, wherein the separator is connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber, and an interface for pollutant measurement arranged at the first exhaust gas manifold at a location between the separator and a blow-out end of the first exhaust gas manifold. The motivation to combine is so that the components of the exhaust gas can be analyzed. The result is that the process can be monitored and controlled. For example, if excess toxic contaminants are detected, then the cremation process can be stopped. Note: for the rejection of this claim, Masayoshi is used to teach the exhaust air processing device and not Matsukuma.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762