DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 02/10/2023. Claim(s) 37–72 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 46–71 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim at this time. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/28/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are
“a heating device configured to heat the cremation chamber” in claim 1, which has been interpreted to mean “a plurality of burner nozzles and corresponding burner sleeves comprised of high temperature resistant steel, a ceramic material, a composite material, or combination thereof”;
“an air supply device configured to feed supply air to the cremation chamber,” which has been interpreted to mean “a supply blower connected to the cremation chamber and/or an exhaust air blower connected to the first exhaust gas manifold”
“an exhaust air processing device” in claim 1, which has been interpreted to mean “a separator connected downstream of the post-combustion chamber; a dust gas filter connected downstream of the separator; an absorption device connected to the separator or the dust gas filter; and a heat exchanger.”
Claim Objections
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “the gas-tight radiant tube” lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37, 40, & 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,202,318 to DePodesta et al. in view of US 6,457,424 to März and US 2012/0070347 to Bacon et al.
With regard to claims 37 & 72, DePodesta discloses a thermal processing apparatus (abstract) comprising: a cremation chamber (74) (Fig. 2; Col. 2, lines 18–25; Col. 4, lines 7–11); a heating device (90) configured to heat the cremation chamber (74) (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 12–22); an air supply device (92) configured to feed supply air to the cremation chamber (74) (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 12–22); a first exhaust gas manifold (96) configured to discharge an exhaust air from the cremation chamber (74) (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 22–34).
DePodesta fails to disclose the first exhaust gas manifold comprising an exhaust air processing device; a post-combustion chamber arranged downstream of the cremation chamber. März teaches the exhaust gas conduit (31) comprising an exhaust air processing device (40, 45) (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 48–57); a post-combustion chamber (1C) arranged downstream of the cremation chamber (1) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 42–49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the thermal processing device of DePodesta with the exhaust gas processing device of because such a combination would have had the added benefit of März because providing cleaner exhaust gas which reduces pollutants/contaminants from being released into the atmosphere.
DePodesta also fails to disclose wherein the heating device is configured to burn hydrogen. Bacon teaches a heating device is configured to burn hydrogen (¶¶ 0444–0448). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the thermal processing device of DePodesta with the hydrogen burner of Bacon because such a combination would have had the added benefit of producing thermal energy with little or no pollutant emissions.
With regard to claim 40, DePodesta further discloses the heating device (90) is arranged outside of the cremation chamber (74) (Fig. 2).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DePodesta in view of März and Bacon, as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of US 2019/0072273 to Hirata et al.
DePodesta fails to disclose the heating device is operatively connected to a gas-tight radiant tube, wherein a gas-tight radiant tube is arranged in an interior of the cremation chamber and wherein the heating device heats the gas-tight radiant tube. Hirata teaches a gas-tight radiant tube (1) (Fig. 2; ¶ 0034), wherein the heating device (2) heats the gas-tight radiant tube (1) (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0033–0034). If the radiant tube of Hirata was added to the burner already in place in DePodesta, the result would be a radiant tube that extended into the interior of the cremation chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the thermal processing device of DePodesta with the radiant tube of Hirata because such a combination would have had the added benefit of providing thermal energy to the cremation chamber without introducing exhaust gases.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38 & 41–45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
December 22, 2025