DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/08/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13-15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 2022/0104198 A1; hereafter BALA).
With respect to claim 1, BALA discloses a method (Abstract; Title) by a base station (BS) (110a, 110c, 110c in FIG. 1), comprising:
configuring (paragraph [0152], when the base station is a scheduling entity and the user equipment is the subordinate entity) a user equipment (UE) (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) with a legacy (paragraphs [0034] and [0149]) uplink (UL) (paragraph [0046]) bandwidth part (BWP) or legacy downlink (DL) (paragraph [0045]) BWP (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see the sub-band full-duplex and SBFD);
and providing (paragraph [0152], when the base station is a scheduling entity and the user equipment is the subordinate entity), by the BS, the UE (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) with a UL subband or a DL subband in a full duplex operation (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see the sub-band full-duplex and SBFD).
With respect to claim 2, BALA further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a frequency domain location of the UL subband or the DL subband provided by the BS (110a, 110c, 110c in FIG. 1) to the UE (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) is defined in a frequency domain as a set of a contiguous (paragraphs [0050] and [0076]) number of resource blocks (RBs) semi-statically (paragraphs [0058] and [0077]) indicated by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0081]).
With respect to claim 3, BALA further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the frequency domain location of the UL subband or the DL subband (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see the sub-band full-duplex and SBFD) provided by the BS to the UE (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) is determined based on an offset (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see frequency offset) from the associated legacy UL BWP or the associated legacy DL BWP, respectively, or from another reference point.
With respect to claim 5, BALA further discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the subband and the legacy BWP are associated either by assigning a same identifier (ID) for the subband and the legacy BWP or based on confinement where the subband is fully contained in the associated BWP (paragraph [0097]).
With respect to claim 6, BALA further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein parameters of the frequency domain are configured to be semi-statically or dynamically changed (paragraph [0077]), and
wherein the parameters include a starting point, an ending point (paragraph [0088]), or a length of the UL subband or the DL subband.
With respect to claim 7, BALA further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a time domain location of the UL subband or the DL subband is provided by a legacy slot format indication and an indication of whether a region is the UL subband, the DL subband, no subband or is flexible (paragraph [0051]).
With respect to claim 13, BALA discloses a base station (BS) (110a, 110c, 110c in FIG. 1), comprising:
at least one processor (240 in FIG. 2); and at least one memory (242 in FIG. 2) operatively connected with the at least one processor (240 in FIG. 2), the at least one memory (242 in FIG. 2) storing instructions (paragraph [0047]), which when executed, instruct the at least one processor (240 in FIG. 2) to perform a method by:
configuring (paragraph [0152], when the base station is a scheduling entity and the user equipment is the subordinate entity) a user equipment (UE) (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) with a legacy (paragraphs [0034] and [0149]) uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) or legacy downlink (DL) BWP (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see the sub-band full-duplex and SBFD);
and
providing (paragraph [0152], when the base station is a scheduling entity and the user equipment is the subordinate entity), by the BS, the UE (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) with a UL subband (paragraph [0046]) or a DL subband (paragraph [0045]) in a full duplex operation (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see the sub-band full-duplex and SBFD).
With respect to claim 14, BALA further discloses the BS of claim 13, wherein a frequency domain location of the UL subband or the DL subband provided by the BS to the UE (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) is defined in a frequency domain as a set of a contiguous (paragraphs [0050] and [0076]) number of resource blocks (RBs) semi-statically (paragraphs [0058] and [0077]) indicated by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0081]).
With respect to claim 15, BALA further discloses the BS of claim 14, wherein the frequency domain location of the UL subband or the DL subband provided by the BS to the UE (120, 120 , 120 in FIG. 1) is determined based on an offset (paragraphs [0057] and [0058], see frequency offset) from the associated legacy UL BWP or the associated legacy DL BWP, respectively, or from another reference point.
With respect to claim 17, BALA further discloses the BS of claim 14, wherein the contiguous number of RBs (paragraphs [0050] and [0076]) is indicated by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0081]).
With respect to claim 19, BALA further discloses the BS of claim 14,
wherein parameters of the frequency domain are configured to be semi-statically (paragraphs [0058] and [0077]) or dynamically changed, and
wherein the parameters include a starting point, an ending point, and a length of the UL subband or the DL subband (paragraph [0088] and [0097).
With respect to claim 20, BALA further discloses the BS of claim 13, wherein a time domain location of the UL subband or the DL subband is provided by a legacy slot format indication and an indication of whether a region is the UL subband, the DL subband, or is flexible (paragraph [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALA in view of Hosseini et al. (US 2022/0159659 A1; hereafter HOSSEINI).
With respect to claim 4, BALA does not disclose wherein the offset is based on a numerology of the legacy UL BWP or the legacy DL BWP.
HOSSEINI discloses wherein the offset is based on a numerology of the legacy UL BWP or the legacy DL BWP (paragraphs [0075] and [0104]).
HOSSEINI teaches the benefit of increased efficiency by using dynamic time-slot configuration (paragraphs [0006] and [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dynamic offset as taught by HOSSEINI with the method and base station of BALA to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 16, BALA does not disclose wherein the offset is based on a numerology of the legacy UL BWP or the legacy DL BWP.
HOSSEINI discloses wherein the offset is based on a numerology of the legacy UL BWP or the legacy DL BWP (paragraphs [0075] and [0104]).
HOSSEINI teaches the benefit of increased efficiency by using dynamic time-slot configuration (paragraphs [0006] and [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dynamic offset as taught by HOSSEINI with the method and base station of BALA to produce an expected result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under SU and BALASUBRAMANIAN have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN and HOSSEINI.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 January 20, 2026