DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites a thermal conductivity with units of “W/mk” and should be corrected to “W/(m⋅K)” to conform to SI units. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites several values without a space between the number and the unit. A space should be placed between the number and the unit to conform to SI units. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiangsu (CN 107059161A), machine translation provided, in view of Otto et al. (US 2014/0363669 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jiangsu teaches a method for manufacturing carbon composite fiber, (a method for preparing polyimide-based graphite fibers, para. [10]) comprising: preparing a spinning dope by dispersing polyamic acid (polyamic acid solution is prepared, para. [12]); obtaining preliminary fibers by spinning the spinning dope; (polyamic acid fiber is obtained by a wet spinning technique, para. [12]) and imidizing the preliminary fiber to obtain polyimide composite fibers; (subjected to gradient thermal imidization, para. [12])
Jiangsu is silent on the spinning dope comprising carbon nanomaterials in super acid and wherein the spinning dope comprises the carbon nanomaterial and the polyimide precursor in a mass ratio of 90:10 to 20:80.
Otto teaches the spinning dope comprising carbon nanomaterials in super acid (Otto teaches the spin-dope may comprise polymer and the spin-dope can be formed by dissolving carbon nanotubes in a suitable solvent, preferably a super acid, most preferably chlorosulfonic acid [0028]) and wherein the spinning dope comprises the carbon nanomaterial and the polyimide precursor in a mass ratio of 90:10 to 20:80. (The spin-dope preferably comprises 02 wt. % to 25 wt. % carbon nanotubes, [0029]. Examiner notes that this overlaps the claimed range and Otto teaches ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the carbon nanotubes in a mass ratio of 90:10 to 20:80 and super acid of Otto with the spin dope solution of Jiangsu because carbon nanotubes fibers having low resistivity have a high electrical conductivity, [0018] and the super-acid ensures each single carbon nanotube is fully surrounded by the solvent, see [0063].
Regarding claim 2, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, wherein: the carbon nanomaterial comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon nanotubes (CNT), (The spin-dope preferably comprises 02 wt. % to 25 wt. % carbon nanotubes, [0029]) graphene, graphene nanoribbons, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, wherein: the polyamic acid is manufactured by reacting a diamine and a dianhydride compound, (polyamic acid solution is prepared by copolymerizing a certain proportion of dianhydride and a diamine monomer, para. [12]) wherein the diamine is an aromatic ring compound and comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of p-phenyl diamine(PDA), (p-phenylenediamine (p-PDA) para [15]) 4,4'- oxydianiline(ODA), p-methylenedianiline(MDA), 3,3'-dihydroxy-4,4'- diaminobiphenyl(HAB) and combinations thereof, wherein the dianhydride compound is characterized in that it is an aromatic ring compound and comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of pyromellitic dianhydride(PMDA),(pyromellitic dianhydride (PMDA), para. [15]) biphenyltertracarboxylic dianhydride(BPDA), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, wherein: the super acid comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of chlorosulfonic acid, (Otto taches [0028] super acid, most preferably chlorosulfonic acid) sulfuric acid, fuming sulfuric acid, fluorosulfonic acid, trifluoroacetic acid, trifluoromethanesulfonic acid, fluoroantimonic acid, carboranic acid, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, comprising: spinning the spinning dope in a coagulation solvent to obtain a preliminary fiber, wherein the coagulation solvent comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of acetone, (coagulation bath may be acetone, para. [16]) diethyl ether, dichloromethane, dimethyl sulfoxide, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Jiangsu as modified by Otto does not meet the claimed method of Claim 1, wherein: the preliminary fiber is imidized by heat treatment at 200C to 450C.
Jiangsu teaches thermal imidization is performed at a temperature gradient of 80-450 ° C., and the heat drawing ratio at 300-450 ° C. is 1-4 times, para [17], a final graphitization temperature of 2000-3300 ° C, para [18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the heat treatment of Jiangsu to meet the claimed 200C to 450C to provide a polyimide-based graphite fiber having different graphite structures and transport properties, see para. [19].
Regarding claim 8, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, further comprising: the step of carbonizing the polyimide composite fiber by heat treatment at an inert gas atmosphere. (the temperature is increased under the protection of nitrogen gas, para. [14]).
Jiangsu is silent on 500C to 1700C.
Jiangsu teaches thermal imidization is performed at a temperature gradient of 80-450 ° C., and the heat drawing ratio at 300-450 ° C. is 1-4 times, para [17], a final graphitization temperature of 2000-3300 ° C, para [18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the heat treatment of Jiangsu to meet the claimed 500C to 1700C to provide a polyimide-based graphite fiber having different graphite structures and transport properties, see para. [19].
Regarding claim 9, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, further comprising: the step of graphitizing the polyimide fibers by heat treatment at 1700C to 3300C in an inert gas atmosphere. (Jiangsu teaches a final graphitization temperature of 2000-3300 ° C, para [18]. The temperature is increased under the protection of nitrogen gas, para. [14]).
Regarding claim 10, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 1, wherein: the carbon composite fiber has a density of 1.0 g/cm3 to 2.2 g/cm3, a specific tensile strength is 0.5 N/Tex to 5 N/Tex, a specific tensile modulus is 100 N/Tex to 600 N/Tex, and a thermal conductivity of 100 W/mk to 1,000 W/mk.
Jiangsu teaches excellent electrical and thermal conductivity and high temperature stability para [23].
Otto teaches a density of 0.3 to 2.2 g/cm3 [0079], tensile strength of at least 0.3 GPa, [0090], examples with a density thermal conductivity of 200 and 635 W/(m⋅K), see [0104] and [0106]. Examiner notes that 0.3 GPa is equal to 0.3 N/Tex.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the specific tensile strength and specific tensile modulus of the fiber of Jiangsu as modified by Otto to meet the claimed is 0.5 N/Tex to 5 N/Tex, and 100 N/Tex to 600 N/Tex in order to meet the needs of light weight cables for electrical power transmission and for data transmission, see [0008].
Regarding claim 11, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method for manufacturing carbon composite fiber, (a method for preparing polyimide-based graphite fibers, para. [10]) comprising: preparing a spinning dope and the base substrate; obtaining preliminary fibers by spinning the spinning dope; (polyamic acid fiber is obtained by a wet spinning technique, para. [12]) and carbonizing the preliminary fiber by heat treatment; (graphite fibers with different carbon contents, densities and conductivities were prepared by controlling the temperature of graphitization, para. [18]) wherein the base substrate is a polymer-based substrate; (polyamic acid solution is prepared, para. [12]) or a petroleum- based or coal-based base material.
Jiangsu is silent by dispersing the carbon nanomaterial in super acid.
Otto teaches dispersing the carbon nanomaterial in super acid. ([0028] the spin-dope can be formed by dissolving carbon nanotubes in a suitable solvent, preferably a super acid, most preferably chlorosulfonic acid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the carbon nanotubes and super acid of Otto with the spin dope solution of Jiangsu because carbon nanotubes fibers having low resistivity have a high electrical conductivity, [0018] and the super-acid ensures each single carbon nanotube is fully surrounded by the solvent, see [0063].
Regarding claim 12, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: in the polymer-based substrate, the polymer is polyamic acid, (polyamic acid solution is prepared, para. [12]); thermoplastic polyimide, polyetherimide(PEI), polyacrylonitrile(PAN), polyphenylene sulfide(PPS), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Jiangsu as modified by Otto does not meet the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: the elastic modulus of the manufactured carbon composite fiber is 100 GPa or more, and the tensile strength is 1.5 GPa or more.
Otto teaches a fiber has a modulus of at least 150 GPa [0013], tensile strength of at least 1.5 GPa, [0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the specific tensile strength and specific tensile modulus of the fiber of Jiangsu as modified by Otto to meet the elastic modulus of the manufactured carbon composite fiber is 100 GPa or more, and the tensile strength is 1.5 GPa or more in order to meet the needs of light weight cables for electrical power transmission and for data transmission, see [0008].
Regarding claim 15, Jiangsu as modified by Otto does not meet the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: the manufactured carbon composite fiber satisfies Equation 1 below. 280 ≤ a ≤ 600 a = {Specific Tensile Modulus (N/tex) * Specific Tensile Strength (N/tex)} / Density (g/cm3).
Otto teaches a fiber has a modulus of at least 150 GPa [0013], tensile strength of at least 1.5 GPa, [0090], and a density of 0.3 to 2.2 g/cm3 [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the specific tensile strength and specific tensile modulus of the fiber of Jiangsu as modified by Otto to vary the tensile modulus to meet the claimed Equation 1 more in order to meet the needs of light weight cables for electrical power transmission and for data transmission, see [0008].
Regarding claim 17, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: the polymer-based substrate is polyimide, wherein the content of polyimide is 10 to 30% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope.
Otto teaches the spin-dope may comprise polymers [0028] and 02 wt. % to 25 wt. % carbon nanotubes, [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the amount of polymer Otto with the spin dope solution of Jiangsu to achieve 10 to 30% weight polyimide to achieve carbon nanotubes fibers having low resistivity have a high electrical conductivity, [0018].
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiangsu (CN 107059161A), machine translation provided, in view of Otto et al. (US 20140/363669 A1) and in further view of Muramatsu (US 2017/0081788 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jiangsu as modified by Otto is silent on the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: the petroleum-based or coal-derived base material is, pitch, coal tar, carbon black, or a combination thereof.
Muramatsu meets the claimed the petroleum-based or coal-derived base material is, pitch, coal tar, carbon black, or a combination thereof. (a method for producing a carbon fiber having an outermost surface composed of edges of graphene [0025] where the organic compound is petroleum pitch or coal pitch [0032]. 0.001 to 50% by weight carbon fibers based on weight of solvent [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the coal pitch of Muramatsu with the carbon fiber spinning method of Jiangsu as modified by Otto because it results in conductive materials for forming transparent flexible conductive films; high heat-release and heat-transfer material [0002].
Regarding claim 20, Jiangsu as modified by Otto meets the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: the petroleum-based or coal-derived substrate is pitch, wherein the pitch content is 5 to 30% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope.
Muramatsu teaches the petroleum-based or coal-derived substrate is pitch, wherein the pitch content is 5 to 30% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope. (a method for producing a carbon fiber having an outermost surface composed of edges of graphene [0025] where the organic compound is petroleum pitch or coal pitch [0032]. 0.001 to 50% by weight carbon fibers based on weight of solvent [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the coal pitch of Muramatsu with the carbon fiber spinning method of Jiangsu as modified by Otto because it results in conductive materials for forming transparent flexible conductive films; high heat-release and heat-transfer material [0002].
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiangsu (CN 107059161A), machine translation provided, in view of Otto et al. (US 20140/363669 A1) and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0030009 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Jiangsu as modified by Otto is silent on the claimed method of Claim 11, wherein: the polymer-based substrate is polyetherimide (PEI), wherein the content of polyetherimide is 10 to 40% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope.
Kim meets the claimed the polymer-based substrate is polyetherimide (PEI), wherein the content of polyetherimide is 10 to 40% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope. (Kim teaches a nanofiber may include a polyimide nanofiber [0023] and carbon nanotubes [0078] and monomers for forming nanofibers is preferably present in an amount of 5 to 20% by weight with respect to the total weight of the spinning solution [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the polyetherimide of Kim in place of the polyimide of Jiangsu because it results in excellent durability, heat resistance and chemical resistance, see [0010].
Regarding claim 18, Jiangsu as modified by Otto is silent method of Claim 11, wherein: the polymer-based substrate is polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), wherein the content of polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) is 10 to 30% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope.
Kim meets the claimed the polymer-based substrate is polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), wherein the content of polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) is 10 to 30% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope. (Kim teaches a nanofiber may include a polyimide nanofiber [0023] and carbon nanotubes [0078] and monomers for forming nanofibers is preferably present in an amount of 5 to 20% by weight with respect to the total weight of the spinning solution [0097]. Kim teaches polyphenylenesulfide [0130].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the polyphenylenesulfide of Kim in place of the polyimide of Jiangsu because it results in excellent durability, heat resistance and chemical resistance, see [0010].
Regarding claim 19, Jiangsu as modified by Otto is silent on the method of Claim 11, wherein: the polymer-based substrate is polyacrylonitrile(PAN), wherein the content of polyacrylonitrile(PAN) is 5 to 20% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope.
Kim meets the claimed the polymer-based substrate is polyacrylonitrile(PAN), wherein the content of polyacrylonitrile(PAN) is 5 to 20% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total spinning dope. (Kim teaches a nanofiber may include a polyimide nanofiber [0023] and carbon nanotubes [0078] and monomers for forming nanofibers is preferably present in an amount of 5 to 20% by weight with respect to the total weight of the spinning solution [0097]. Kim teaches polyacrylonitrile [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the polyacrylonitrile of Kim in place of the polyimide of Jiangsu because it results in excellent durability, heat resistance and chemical resistance, see [0010].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not meet the claimed method of Claim 1, wherein: the carbon nanomaterial is oxidized by heat treatment at 400C to 700C in an oxygen atmosphere.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dzenis (US 2014/0162063 A1) teaches [0158] As-spun nanofibers were converted to carbon nanofibers using known protocols 38. Nanofiber mats were stabilized in oxygen atmosphere at 270 degree C for 1 hr.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744