Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 16, line 3, “a brake disc” is claimed, it should be “the brake disc”. Brake disc was previously claim in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
There is no elevator, escalator, moving walkway, traction machine or hoist machine shown in drawings. The drawings only show a single braking device centered around part of a braking disc. Detailed drawings would be necessary to understand if multiple braking devices were operated in each unit of system stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being taught by Fargo (PGPUB 2009/0194370).
With respect to claim 1, Fargo teaches an elevator braking device, for performing braking operations on an elevator driving device comprising a brake disc having opposite first and second sides, wherein the elevator braking device has a first state and a second state, and comprises:
a body (fig. 2, 18), with its interior accommodating at least a part of the brake disc (fig. 2, 22), and a support member (fig. 2, 36) axially fixed relative to the brake disc;
a guide member (fig. 2, 46) connected to the support member, wherein the body is movable relative to the brake disc along the guide member;
a first friction member (fig. 2, 24 right side) and a control portion (fig. 2, 50) which are arranged inside the body and adjacent to the first side, wherein a part of the control portion is connected to the body, and the first friction member moves along the guide member under control of the control portion to be in contact with the first side to perform a braking operation in the first state, and to be out of contact with the first side in the second state (paragraph 003; contacts while engage/first state, disengage/releases contact/second state); and
a second friction member (fig. 2, 24 left side) arranged inside the body and adjacent to the second side, wherein the second friction member is connected to the body and is in contact with the second side to perform a braking operation in the first state, and is out of contact with the second side when the body is moved along the guide member as the first friction member is out of contact with the first side (paragraph 003; contacts while engage/first state, disengage/releases contact/second state) in the second state. Prior Art is structurally the same and therefore brake operating method/movements are the same.
With respect to claim 2, Fargo teaches wherein the control portion comprises a first force supply member (fig. 2, 42), an electromagnetic member (fig. 2, 38), a fixed member (fig. 2, 34) and a moving member (fig. 2, 26), the first force supply member and the electromagnetic member are installed on the fixed member, the fixed member is connected with the body and fixed relative thereto, the moving member is connected with the first friction member and is movably arranged between the fixed member and the brake disc along the guide member (fig. 2, spring push plate w pad against disc), and
the guide member is provided with a limiting portion (fig 2, 44) for restricting a moving distance of the moving member, and wherein in the first state, the first force supply member provides an acting force to the moving member to move it towards (paragraph 0022;rod and spring are both inherently limiting) the first side, so that the first friction member is in contact with the first side and provides a reaction force to move the body towards the second side, and then the second friction member is brought to be in contact with the second side, and in the second state, the electromagnetic member provides an electromagnetic force to overcome the acting force and move the moving member towards the fixed member, so that the first friction member is out of contact with the first side, and then when the moving member moves and is restricted from moving by the limiting portion, the body is pushed in an opposite direction by the first force supply member and then the second friction member is brought out of contact with the second side (paragraph 003; springs push pad against disc, braking on shaft disc with one side compression).
With respect to claim 3, Fargo teaches wherein the fixed member is detachably connected to an inner wall (fig. 2, 20) of the body, the electromagnetic member comprises one or more electromagnetic coils (fig. 2, 40), and the first force supply member comprises one or more elastic members, the elastic member including a spring (fig. 2, 42).
With respect to claim 8, Fargo teaches wherein the elevator braking device further comprises a second force supply member (paragraph 0033; 42) arranged between the guide member and the body, for providing an acting force such that the body is capable of moving relative to the brake disc along the guide member.
With respect to claim 9, Fargo teaches wherein the second force supply member comprises one or more elastic members that abut against the guide member and the body respectively, the elastic member including a spring (paragraph 0033; 42).
With respect to claim 10, Fargo teaches wherein the body is provided with a through hole (fig. 2, 48), the guide member is arranged inside the body by passing through the through hole, and a part of the guide member and the elastic member are arranged in the through hole, and wherein an outer side (fig. 2, 32) of the body is provided with a closure member (paragraph 0033; 38) for closing the through hole and detachably connected with the body, and the elastic member abuts against the guide member, and abuts against the body via the closure member.
With respect to claim 11, Fargo teaches wherein at least two guide members (fig. 2, 46, two above shaft and two below) are provided, which are evenly arranged along the circumferential direction of the first friction member.
With respect to claim 12, Fargo teaches wherein a friction portion of the first friction member in contact with the first side, and a friction portion of the second friction member in contact with the second side are symmetrically arranged (fig. 2) with respect to the brake disc.
With respect to claim 13, Fargo teaches wherein the second friction member is detachably connected to an inner wall (fig. 2, 20) of the body.
With respect to claim 15, Fargo teaches wherein the body is integrally formed (fig. 4. 34/61 integral), and/or the support member is a support portion on the elevator driving device.
With respect to claim 16, Fargo teaches elevator system, comprising: an elevator driving device (fig. 2, 16) for supplying power to drive the elevator system to operate, wherein the elevator driving device comprises a brake disc (fig. 2, 22); and
an elevator braking device according to claim 1, provided to operate by being in contact or out of contact with the brake disc, so that (paragraph 003; contacts while engage-first/disengage-second) the elevator driving device is prevented from supplying power to the elevator system in the first state, and is allowed to supply power to the elevator system in the second state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fargo (PGPUB 2009/0194370).
With respect to claim 4, Fargo does not teach wherein the fixed member is connected to the inner wall of the body through a threaded connection, and/or the electromagnetic coil is wound on an outer wall of the fixed member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a threaded body for easy part replacement, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 5, Fargo does not teach wherein the guide member is provided with a connecting portion located at one end of the guide member for correspondingly matching and connecting with a matching portion on the support member, the limiting portion is located between two ends of the guide member, and the moving member is restricted to move between the limiting portion and the connecting portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to where guide contains connection portion, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 6, Fargo does not teach wherein the connecting portion and the matching portion adopt a threaded connection, and the limiting portion comprises a step provided on the guide member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a threaded body for easy part replacement, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 7, Fargo does not teach wherein the guide member is detachably connected to the support member, and/or a bushing is provided between the guide member and the body, and/or a bushing is provided between the guide member and the moving member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to guide member being detachable/having bushing, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
With respect to claim 14, Fargo does not teach wherein the second friction member is connected to the inner wall of the body through a threaded connection.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a threaded body for easy part replacement, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 17, Fargo teaches wherein the elevator system includes an elevator (paragraph 002), and the elevator driving device includes a traction machine (fig. 2, 16).
Fargo does not teach an escalator, moving walkway or hoisting machine.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Conclusion
/ERICK D GLASS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846