Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a roller having a central axis and a hollow core along the central axis”; “a plurality of electrical heating elements integrated inside the hollow core, wherein each zone comprises one or more heating elements which do not overlap into other zones”; ”one or more electrical contacts” (claim 1); “a unique electrical interface to the control unit” (claim 3); “one or more active components, wherein the one or more active components comprise at least one of a fan, blower, pump, or compressor, wherein the one or more active components are interfaced to the control circuit, and wherein the one or more active components are configured to move at least one of a gas or liquid through the one or more air channels” (claims 8 and 18); “a unique electrical contact” (claim 12); “electrically interface the plurality of electrically heating elements and the at least one electrical contact” (claim 11); and “electrically interfacing the at least one temperature sensor and the at least one electrical contact” (claim 14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “A roller comprising” recites in line 2 should be changed to “a roller comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the term ”one or more heating elements” recited in line 5 and “the heating elements“ recited in line 6 and 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether they are the same plurality of electrical heating elements. Note: for the purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same “one or more heating elements”. It is suggested to change to “one or more heating elements”.
In claim 11, the term ”one or more heating elements” recited in line 5 and “respective electrical heating elements“ recited in line 8 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether they are the same one or more heating elements. Note: for the purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same “one or more heating elements”. It is suggested to change to “one or more heating elements”
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the control circuit" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the one or more air channels" in line 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imaizumi et al. (EP 2559538) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Imaizumi et al. discloses a system comprising: a roller (5a, Fig. 5) comprising: a roller body (Fig. 5) configured as a single inductive heating element (25, Fig. 5; Par. 40, “The induction heating coil 25 is provided inside of the rolling roll 5a”), wherein the roller body generates heat when subjected to an alternating magnetic field (Par. 40); one or more air channels (37, 39; Fig. 5; Par. 43-44) internal to the roller body; and a control circuit (31, Fig. 5) configured to control the heating of the roller body (Par. 55).
Regarding claim 18, Imaizumi et al. discloses one or more active components, wherein the one or more active components comprise at least one of a fan, blower, pump, or compressor, wherein the one or more active components are interfaced to the control circuit (31), and wherein the one or more active components are configured to move at least one of a gas or liquid through the one or more air channels (Par. 44, “In the example of Fig. 5, the cooling medium supply device 27 includes an air source 27a, a cooling medium source 27b, and a nozzle portion 27c. The air source 27a supplies pressurized air (gas) to the nozzle portion 27c. The cooling medium source 27b supplies the cooling medium which is liquid (preferably, water) to the nozzle portion 27c. The nozzle portion 27c sprays the supplied cooling medium using the supplied pressurized air to the cooling medium flow channel 37 side (to a communication passage 36 in the example of Fig. 5), and therefore, the mist-like cooling medium is supplied to the cooling medium flow channel 37. In the example of Fig. 5, the nozzle portion 27c supplies the mist-like cooling medium to the cooling medium flow channel 37 through the communication passage 36 which is formed inside of the extension portion 35”; Par. 46, “The pressurized air is supplied from the air source 27a to the nozzle portion 27c through an air supply tube 41, an air supply passage 43, and an air introduction passage 45”; and Par.55, “The control device 31 may perform the supply control of the cooling medium to the cooling medium flow channel 37 by the cooling medium supply device 27 by controlling an opening of flow controlling valves 57 and 59. The flow controlling valve 57 is provided on the cooling medium supply tube 49, and the flow controlling valve 59 is provided on the air supply tube 41”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rea et al. (US Pub. 2011/0063374) (new cited) in view of Eskey (US Pub. 2004/0228667).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Rea et al. discloses a system comprising: a roller (118, Fig. 2) having a central axis and a hollow core (120) along the central axis, a plurality of electrical heating elements (122, Fig. 2) integrated inside the hollow core (Par. 32, “the core 120 may be hollow and include one or more heating elements 122 disposed therein for generating the required thermal energy in the roller”) (Fig. 2; Par. 31-32). Rea et al. does not discloses the roller being divided lengthwise into a series of zones, wherein each zone comprises one or more heating elements which do not overlap into other zones, wherein the plurality of electrical heating elements are configured to be individually adjustable during operation by an external control circuit that interfaces with the heating elements via one or more electrical contacts. Eskey discloses a roller (40, Fig. 1) being divided lengthwise into a series of zones (60, 70, 62, Fig. 1A), wherein each zone comprises the one or more electrical heating elements (44, 45, Fig. 1A) which do not overlap into other zones, wherein the one or more heating elements (44, 45) are configured to be individually adjustable during operation by an external control circuit (132) that interfaces with the plurality of the one or more heating elements (44, 45) via one or more electrical contacts (Fig. 1A, wiring contacts terminals 57, 58, 59) (Fig. 1-1A and 8; Abstract; Par.22-23 and 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Rea et al., the roller being divided lengthwise into a series of zones, wherein each zone comprises one or more heating elements which do not overlap into other zones, wherein the plurality of electrical heating elements are configured to be individually adjustable during operation by an external control circuit that interfaces with the heating elements via one or more electrical contacts, as taught by Eskey, for the purpose of permitting variable controllable heat application to a medium.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Eskey discloses the respective electrical heating elements of the plurality of electrical hearing elements (44, 45) are provided with a unique electrical interface to the control circuit (Fig. 7-9).
Regarding claim 5, Rea et al. discloses one or more temperature sensors (124, Fig. 2; Par. 33).
Regarding claim 6, Rea et al. discloses at least one of the one or more temperature sensors (124, Fig. 2) are external to the roller (118, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 7-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rea et al. (US Pub. 2011/0063374) (new cited) in view of Eskey (US Pub. 2004/0228667) and further view of Imaizumi et al. (EP 2559538).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Rea/Eskey disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including rom Rea, at least one or more temperature sensors (124, Fig. 2) are external to the roller (118, Fig. 2) except at least one or more of the one or more temperature sensors are integrated internally in the roller. Imaizumi discloses one temperature sensor (29) is integrated internally in the roller (5a) (Fig. 5; Par. 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Rea/Eskey, at least one or more of the one or more temperature sensors are integrated internally in the roller, as taught by Imaizumi, for the purpose of detecting the temperature of the roller.
Regarding claim 8, Imaizumi et al. discloses one or more active components, wherein the one or more active components comprise at least one of a fan, blower, pump, or compressor, wherein the one or more active components are interfaced to the control circuit (31), and wherein the one or more active components are configured to move at least one of a gas or liquid through the one or more air channels (Par. 44, “In the example of Fig. 5, the cooling medium supply device 27 includes an air source 27a, a cooling medium source 27b, and a nozzle portion 27c. The air source 27a supplies pressurized air (gas) to the nozzle portion 27c. The cooling medium source 27b supplies the cooling medium which is liquid (preferably, water) to the nozzle portion 27c. The nozzle portion 27c sprays the supplied cooling medium using the supplied pressurized air to the cooling medium flow channel 37 side (to a communication passage 36 in the example of Fig. 5), and therefore, the mist-like cooling medium is supplied to the cooling medium flow channel 37. In the example of Fig. 5, the nozzle portion 27c supplies the mist-like cooling medium to the cooling medium flow channel 37 through the communication passage 36 which is formed inside of the extension portion 35”; Par. 46, “The pressurized air is supplied from the air source 27a to the nozzle portion 27c through an air supply tube 41, an air supply passage 43, and an air introduction passage 45”; and Par.55, “The control device 31 may perform the supply control of the cooling medium to the cooling medium flow channel 37 by the cooling medium supply device 27 by controlling an opening of flow controlling valves 57 and 59. The flow controlling valve 57 is provided on the cooling medium supply tube 49, and the flow controlling valve 59 is provided on the air supply tube 41”).
Regarding claim 9, Eskey discloses the plurality of electrical heating elements (Fig. 1A, 44, 45) are resistive (Fig. 7, Par. 23).
Regarding claim 10, Imaizumi et al. discloses electrical heating element (25) is inductive (Par. 39, “an induction heating coil 25”).
Regarding claim 14, Imaizumi et al. discloses electrically interface the at least one temperature sensor (29) and the at least one electrical contact (Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (EP 2559538) in view of Eskey (US Pub. 2004/0228667).
Regarding claim 17, Imaizumi et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the roller body is divided into a series of zones (Fig. 5; Par. 42, “the induction heating coil 25 may be disposed inside the rolling roll 5a as follows. The rolling roll 5a is divided in divided surfaces P of the end thereof. The induction heating coil 25 is disposed in the annular internal space S of the divided surfaces P. Thereafter, the divided surfaces P of the divided portions of the rolling roll are connected to each other by appropriate means”) except wherein each zone is configured to be heated independently of each of the other zones except wherein each zone is configured to be heated independently of each of the other zones. Eskey discloses wherein each zone (zone 50, 70, 62) is configured to be heated independently of each of the other zones (via control unit 132 configured to control the plurality of electrical heating elements 44, 45) (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Par. 22-23 and 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Imaizumi et al., wherein each zone is configured to be heated independently of each of the other zones, as taught by Eskey, for the purpose of permitting variable controllable heat application to a medium.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (EP 2559538) in view of Rea et al. (US Pub. 2011/0063374).
Regarding claim 19, Imaizumi et al. discloses at least one temperature sensor (29) (Fig. 5; Par. 39 and 50) except at least one temperature sensor are external to the roller body. Rea et al. discloses the temperature sensor (124) are external to the roller body (118) (Fig. 2; Par. 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Imaizumi et al., at least one temperature sensor are external to the roller body, as taught by Rea et al., for the purpose of detecting/sensing the temperature of the roller.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761