Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalev et al. US 20170187496 A1 (Domestic Priority December 29, 2015) in view of Kim et al. US 20190159238 A1 (Foreign Priority November 21, 2017).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Shalev discloses a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor (fig. 16, service provider computer(s) may include at least one memory and one or more processing units (or processor(s), section 0273); and a memory that stores executable instructions (fig. 16, processor(s) may be implemented in hardware, computer-executable instructions, firmware, or combinations thereof, section 0273) that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (fig. 16, the memory may include an operating system that support a service provider computer's basic functions, sections 0275-0276), the operations comprising: obtaining a first identification (see, pre-generated packet header that includes addressing/routing information which helps identify which user application should be executed on a certain device such as the host device, sections 0101-0104) of a first application (fig. 6B, host device that executes user applications, section 0104) executed by a first user equipment (fig. 6B, host device that executes user applications, section 0104) as part of the first user equipment obtaining a first communication service (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130) in a cellular network (fig. 1, a network of nodes and switches within a cluster, section 0026-0030; noted, network can be one or may different types of networks such as cellular networks, section 0266), wherein the first application relates to activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (fig. 16, one or more users 1602 may use user computing devices 1604(1)-(N) to access an application 1606 (e.g., a web browser or mobile device application), via one or more networks, section 0265; noted, user device(s) 1604 may be a computing device such as for example a mobile phone, a smart phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a netbook computer, a desktop computer, a thin-client device, a tablet computer, an electronic book (e-book) reader, a gaming console, section 0268; noted, application is shown to have online support, section 0267), determining, based on the obtaining of the first identification of the first application, a first requirement pertaining to latency associated with data transfer operations (see, the impact of latency as a contributor to the delay to the communication of data between nodes, sections 0036-0046) as part of the first communication service (see, transport service being affected by latency by affecting the quality of the message transfer across the network in a computing cluster, sections 0079-0080); determining, based on the obtaining of the first identification of the first application (see, pre-generated packet header that includes addressing/routing information which helps identify which user application should be executed on a certain device such as the host device, sections 0101-0104), a second requirement pertaining to reliability associated with the data transfer operations (fig. 3, the transport service type determines how packets are transmitted between systems where they can categorized as reliable or unreliable, section 0059; noted, the network adapter device determining if packets have been dropped to quickly generate new request for aid packets to be retransmitted, section 0023) as part of the first communication service (see, transport service being affected by latency by affecting the quality of the message transfer across the network in a computing cluster, sections 0079-0080); processing at least the first requirement and the second requirement to select a first value for a first parameter (fig. 17, the selection of a combination of components in a client device to dictate communication over a network, section 0286) pertaining to a number of retransmissions that are to be associated with the data transfer operations (fig. 8, the number of retransmissions needed correlates with the amount of dropped packets during transmission in the network, sections 0165-0167); and configuring the first user equipment in accordance with the first value (fig. 6, the assignment of numbers to packets to indicate whether a packet is dropped, section 0165) as part of provisioning the first communication service to the first user equipment (fig. 7A, the first user application may place the message, along with information (e.g., an address handle) identifying the destination system for the message using its first communication endpoint, section 0130).
Shalev discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the first application relates to activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (fig. 16, one or more users 1602 may use user computing devices 1604(1)-(N) to access an application 1606 (e.g., a web browser or mobile device application), via one or more networks, section 0265; noted, user device(s) 1604 may be a computing device such as for example a mobile phone, a smart phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a netbook computer, a desktop computer, a thin-client device, a tablet computer, an electronic book (e-book) reader, a gaming console, section 0268; noted, application is shown to have online support, section 0267), determining, based on the obtaining of the first identification of the first application, a first requirement pertaining to latency associated with data transfer operations (see, the impact of latency as a contributor to the delay to the communication of data between nodes, sections 0036-0046) as part of the first communication service (see, transport service being affected by latency by affecting the quality of the message transfer across the network in a computing cluster, sections 0079-0080); determining, based on the obtaining of the first identification of the first application (see, pre-generated packet header that includes addressing/routing information which helps identify which user application should be executed on a certain device such as the host device, sections 0101-0104), a second requirement pertaining to reliability associated with the data transfer operations (fig. 3, the transport service type determines how packets are transmitted between systems where they can categorized as reliable or unreliable, section 0059; noted, the network adapter device determining if packets have been dropped to quickly generate new request for aid packets to be retransmitted, section 0023) as part of the first communication service (see, transport service being affected by latency by affecting the quality of the message transfer across the network in a computing cluster, sections 0079-0080); processing at least the first requirement and the second requirement to select a first value for a first parameter (fig. 17, the selection of a combination of components in a client device to dictate communication over a network, section 0286) pertaining to a number of retransmissions that are to be associated with the data transfer operations (fig. 8, the number of retransmissions needed correlates with the amount of dropped packets during transmission in the network, sections 0165-0167); and configuring the first user equipment in accordance with the first value (fig. 6, the assignment of numbers to packets to indicate whether a packet is dropped, section 0165) as part of provisioning the first communication service to the first user equipment (fig. 7A, the first user application may place the message, along with information (e.g., an address handle) identifying the destination system for the message using its first communication endpoint, section 0130).
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the first application relates to activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (see, communication system may provide a real-time interaction based convergence service (e.g., low latency services or ultra-low latency services). For example, the real-time interaction based convergence service may include a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication service, a drone communication service, a remote medical service, an industrial Internet of Things (IoT) service, an augmented reality (AR) service, and a virtual reality (VR) service, section 0220 Kim), determining, based on the obtaining of the first identification of the first application, a first requirement pertaining to latency associated with data transfer operations as part of the first communication service (see, low-latency data may be ultra-low latency data (i.e., ultra-reliable and low-latency communication (URLLC) data), section 0602 Kim; noted, Data according to the low-latency service (hereinafter referred to as ‘low-latency data’) may be generated intermittently. The size of the low-latency data may be relatively small, and the low-latency data may be transmitted in accordance with low-latency (e.g., retransmission low-latency) requirements, section 0601 Kim); determining, based on the obtaining of the first identification of the first application, a second requirement pertaining to reliability associated with the data transfer operations as part of the first communication service (see, one-way end-to-end radio transmission latency may be a time from when data is received from an application layer (APP) at a transmitting end to when the data is transferred to an application layer (APP) at a receiving end, section 0230 Kim); processing at least the first requirement and the second requirement to select a first value for a first parameter pertaining to a number of retransmissions that are to be associated with the data transfer operations; and configuring the first user equipment in accordance with the first value as part of provisioning the first communication service to the first user equipment.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the processing system of Shalev with the communication system service as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve methods and apparatuses for providing low-latency services in a communication system.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first value is equal to zero such that no retransmissions are associated with the data transfer operations (see, it is implied that if there is no unacknowledged packet then there is no packet sequence number that needs retransmission, section 0192) (see, a NACK status indicating a packet is not received, section 0195).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first value is greater than zero and less than eleven (see, counter with maximum value of 32 and minimum value of 1 that is assigned to packet as a packet sequence number and the lack of the number being received meaning not accepted by the receiving end, section 0194) (see, an ACK status indicating a packet is not received, section 0194).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining feedback from the first user equipment in respect of the first communication service (see, transmit-side transport context may take some actions after no response for a long period as decided by a timer, section 0196) subsequent to the configuring of the first user equipment in accordance with the first value (see, it is implied that the existence of a packet sequence number indicates no need for retransmission of a packet and the lack of a packet sequence number necessitates retransmission, sections 0192-0194).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting, based on the obtaining of the feedback, a second value for the first parameter (see, a second transmission of the packet after NACK status could be resent to retransmit or removed to stop transmission, section 0195) (see, the existence of a packet sequence number indicates no need for retransmission of a packet, sections 0192-0194), the second value being different from the first value (see, the second value could result in retransmission, stop of retransmission, or indication of a successful transmission, sections 0192-0194); and configuring the first user equipment in accordance with the second value such that the first user equipment replaces the first value with the second value in conjunction with the first communication service (see, the second value could result in retransmission, stop of retransmission, or indication of a successful transmission, sections 0192-0194).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the feedback is based on a measurement performed by the first user equipment (see, a network adapter device determining if packets have been dropped to quickly generate new request for aid packets to be retransmitted, section 0023).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the feedback is based on a user-generated input (see, processor receives a message from the user application that is divided into packets that are submitted individually for transmission, sections 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a second identification of a second application executed by the first user equipment as part of obtaining a second communication service in the cellular network; determining, based on the obtaining of the second identification of the second application, a third requirement pertaining to latency associated with data transfer operations (see, the impact of latency as a contributor to the delay to the communication of data between nodes, sections 0036-0046) as part of the second communication service (see, the second flowlet transmitting the selective-ACK (SACK) response to packets being successfully received or not, sections 0202-0203); determining, based on the obtaining of the second identification of the second application, a fourth requirement pertaining to reliability associated with the data transfer operations (fig. 3, the transport service type determines how packets are transmitted between systems where they can categorized as reliable or unreliable, section 0059; noted, the network adapter device determining if packets have been dropped to quickly generate new request for aid packets to be retransmitted, section 0023) as part of the second communication service (see, the second flowlet transmitting the selective-ACK (SACK) response to packets being successfully received or not, sections 0202-0203); processing at least the third requirement and the fourth requirement to select a second value for a second parameter (fig. 17, the selection of a combination of components in a client device to dictate communication over a network, section 0286) pertaining to a number of retransmissions (fig. 8, the number of retransmissions needed correlates with the amount of dropped packets during transmission in the network, sections 0165-0167) that are to be associated with the data transfer operations as part of the second communication service (see, the second flowlet transmitting the selective-ACK (SACK) response to packets being successfully received or not, sections 0202-0203); and configuring the first user equipment in accordance (see, the network adapter device can be used to handle the protocol operation from each packet, section 0045)(see, the network adapter device can handle the reliable delivery of packets based on previous inherent variables, section 0079) with the second value as part of provisioning the second communication service to the first user equipment (fig. 6, the assignment of numbers to packets to indicate whether a packet is dropped, section 0165).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the second value is different from the first value (see, the second value could result in retransmission, stop of retransmission, or indication of a successful transmission, sections 0192-0194).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a second identification of the first application executed by a second user equipment as part of the second user equipment obtaining the first communication service in the cellular network (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130); determining, based on the obtaining of the second identification of the first application, a third requirement pertaining to latency associated with data transfer operations (see, the impact of latency as a contributor to the delay to the communication of data between nodes, sections 0036-0046) as part of the first communication service provided to the second user equipment (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130); determining, based on the obtaining of the second identification of the first application, a fourth requirement pertaining to reliability associated with the data transfer operations (fig. 3, the transport service type determines how packets are transmitted between systems where they can categorized as reliable or unreliable, section 0059; noted, the network adapter device determining if packets have been dropped to quickly generate new request for aid packets to be retransmitted, section 0023) as part of the first communication service provided to the second user equipment (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130); processing at least the third requirement and the fourth requirement to select a second value for the first parameter pertaining to a number of retransmissions (fig. 8, the number of retransmissions needed correlates with the amount of dropped packets during transmission in the network, sections 0165-0167)that are to be associated with the data transfer operations as part of the first communication service provided to the second user equipment (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130); and configuring the second user equipment in accordance (see, the network adapter device can be used to handle the protocol operation from each packet, section 0045)(see, the network adapter device can handle the reliable delivery of packets based on previous inherent variables, section 0079) with the second value as part of provisioning the first communication service to the second user equipment (fig. 6, the assignment of numbers to packets to indicate whether a packet is dropped, section 0165).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the second value is different from the first value (see, the second value could result in retransmission, stop of retransmission, or indication of a successful transmission, sections 0192-0194).
Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), Shalev discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the third requirement is different from the first requirement (see, the requirements of latency can be different due to the measurement of latency fluctuating from within an approximate 100 microseconds to even milliseconds due to variable delays, section 0036), and wherein the fourth requirement is different from the second requirement (see, flowlet with four different packets with different transport context, sections 0179-180).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: identifying a parameter of at least one resource of the cellular network that is used to provide the first communication service to the first user equipment (fig. 9A, the status information for a first flowlet of a first packet being ACK where it traverses a network, section 0180; noted, a networks can include a cellular network, section 0266).
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the processing of the at least the first requirement and the second requirement comprises processing the parameter of the at least one resource (see, datagram/packets have parameters that need to be address and identified to decide communication endpoints, sections 0123-0124).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Shalev discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the parameter of the at least one resource pertains to: a count of resources included in the at least one resource (fig. 9A, a counter assigned to packet sequence number, section 0194), a type of the at least one resource (see, packets can be reliable or unreliable, section 0059), or a combination thereof (see, packets are given sequence numbers to check if they have been dropped thus either reliable or unreliable, section 0185).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Shalev discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor (fig. 16, service provider computer(s) may include at least one memory and one or more processing units (or processor(s), section 0273), facilitate performance of operations (fig. 16, the memory may include an operating system that support a service provider computer's basic functions, sections 0275-0276), the operations comprising: identifying a type of a communication service provided to a first communication device (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130), resulting in a first identification (see, pre-generated packet header that includes addressing/routing information which helps identify which user application should be executed on a certain device such as the host device, sections 0101-0104), wherein the type of the communication service relates activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (fig. 16, one or more users 1602 may use user computing devices 1604(1)-(N) to access an application 1606 (e.g., a web browser or mobile device application), via one or more networks, section 0265; noted, user device(s) 1604 may be a computing device such as for example a mobile phone, a smart phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a netbook computer, a desktop computer, a thin-client device, a tablet computer, an electronic book (e-book) reader, a gaming console, section 0268; noted, application is shown to have online support, section 0267); based on the first identification, identifying a maximum latency that is tolerable as part of the provisioning of the communication service (see, the protocol decides the latency that can be tolerated before packet drops, sections 0036-0037), resulting in a second identification (see, the user application being directed to a second transport context, section 0132); based on the first identification, identifying a minimum reliability that is tolerable as part of the provisioning of the communication service (see, the network adapter device may be configured such to help with the reliable delivery of packets in order to minimize the latency inherent in transferring packets across the network, section 0079), resulting in a third identification (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130); based on the second identification and the third identification, determining whether data transfer operations associated with the communication service are to utilize one or more retransmissions in an event of an unsuccessful reception or decoding of data (see, the network adapter device may be able to quickly determine when packets have been dropped, and can just as quickly generate requests for those packets to be retransmitted, section 0023), resulting in a first determination; and configuring the first communication device, a second communication device, or a combination thereof, in accordance with the first determination (see, the network adapter device can be used to handle the protocol operation from each packet, section 0045)(see, the network adapter device can handle the reliable delivery of packets based on previous inherent variables, section 0079).
Shalev discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the type of the communication service relates activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (fig. 16, one or more users 1602 may use user computing devices 1604(1)-(N) to access an application 1606 (e.g., a web browser or mobile device application), via one or more networks, section 0265; noted, user device(s) 1604 may be a computing device such as for example a mobile phone, a smart phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a netbook computer, a desktop computer, a thin-client device, a tablet computer, an electronic book (e-book) reader, a gaming console, section 0268; noted, application is shown to have online support, section 0267); based on the first identification, identifying a maximum latency that is tolerable as part of the provisioning of the communication service (see, the protocol decides the latency that can be tolerated before packet drops, sections 0036-0037), resulting in a second identification (see, the user application being directed to a second transport context, section 0132); based on the first identification, identifying a minimum reliability that is tolerable as part of the provisioning of the communication service (see, the network adapter device may be configured such to help with the reliable delivery of packets in order to minimize the latency inherent in transferring packets across the network, section 0079), resulting in a third identification (fig. 2, the use of a communication stack to implement communication services in an order, sections 0050-0051) (see, first user application may identify the destination system, section 0130); based on the second identification and the third identification, determining whether data transfer operations associated with the communication service are to utilize one or more retransmissions in an event of an unsuccessful reception or decoding of data (see, the network adapter device may be able to quickly determine when packets have been dropped, and can just as quickly generate requests for those packets to be retransmitted, section 0023), resulting in a first determination; and configuring the first communication device, a second communication device, or a combination thereof, in accordance with the first determination (see, the network adapter device can be used to handle the protocol operation from each packet, section 0045)(see, the network adapter device can handle the reliable delivery of packets based on previous inherent variables, section 0079).
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the type of the communication service relates activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (see, communication system may provide a real-time interaction based convergence service (e.g., low latency services or ultra-low latency services). For example, the real-time interaction based convergence service may include a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication service, a drone communication service, a remote medical service, an industrial Internet of Things (IoT) service, an augmented reality (AR) service, and a virtual reality (VR) service, section 0220 Kim); based on the first identification, identifying a maximum latency that is tolerable as part of the provisioning of the communication; based on the first identification (see, formulas relating to the maximum value of UL radio retransmission latency, sections 0283-0288 Kim), identifying a minimum reliability that is tolerable as part of the provisioning of the communication service, resulting in a third identification; based on the second identification and the third identification, determining whether data transfer operations (see, one-way end-to-end radio transmission latency may be a time from when data is received from an application layer (APP) at a transmitting end to when the data is transferred to an application layer (APP) at a receiving end, section 0230 Kim) associated with the communication service are to utilize one or more retransmissions in an event of an unsuccessful reception or decoding of data, resulting in a first determination; and configuring the first communication device, a second communication device, or a combination thereof, in accordance with the first determination.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the processing system of Shalev with the communication system service as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve methods and apparatuses for providing low-latency services in a communication system.
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Shalev discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the first communication device comprises a client device (fig. 2, client process initiates a queue pair when establishing a communication channel with the remote process, section 0051) and the second communication device comprises a network resource of a cellular network (fig. 2, queue pair includes a send and receive queue for traffic headed for the network fabric, section 0051), and wherein the configuring comprises configuring the client device and the network resource (fig. 2, a transport layer, which manages communication with the network fabric and the client process, section 0054; noted, the transport layer supports operations such as supporting RDMA-write to write directly into a memory of a remote system, section 0057).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalev et al. US 20170187496 A1 (Domestic Priority December 29, 2015) in view of Kim et al. US 20190159238 A1 (Foreign Priority November 21, 2017), and in further view of Li et al. US 20190229837 A1 (Domestic Priority January 23, 2018).
The combination of Shalev and Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the device of claim 4, wherein the obtaining of the feedback is based on a handover of the first communication service for the first user equipment from a first cell of the cellular network to a second cell of the cellular network.
However Li from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the device of claim 4, wherein the obtaining of the feedback is based on a handover (see, UE may determine New Radio Base Stations (NR BS)s to consider for cell selection, access, handover , and/or measurement based at least in part on the indicated cell type, section 0079 Li) of the first communication service for the first user equipment from a first cell (fig. 13, a first base station 1302 may be associated with a first cell 1304 where the first base station 1302 may be a serving base station for one or more UEs 1306, section 0139 Li) of the cellular network (see, the UEs are dispersed throughout a wireless network such as a cellular network, section 0051 Li) to a second cell of the cellular network (fig. 13, a second base station 1308 may be associated with a second cell 1310, section 0139 Li).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Shalev and Kim with the handover between cells as taught by Li. The motivation would have been to create a more efficient communication system by providing low latency feedback message (see paragraph 6).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalev et al. US 20170187496 A1 (Domestic Priority December 29, 2015) in view of Kim et al. US 20190159238 A1 (Foreign Priority November 21, 2017), and in further view of Kato et al. US 20180077602 A1 (Foreign Priority May 15, 2015).
Shalev discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), a method, comprising: obtaining, by a processing system including a processor, a first data packet as part of a first communication service; determining, by the processing system, that content of the first data packet is corrupted, resulting in a first determination; transmitting, by the processing system and based on the first determination, a request for a retransmission of the first data packet; obtaining, by the processing system, a second data packet as part of a second communication service that is different from the first communication service, wherein the second communication service relates to activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof; determining, by the processing system, that content of the second data packet is corrupted, resulting in a second determination; determining, by the processing system and based on the second determination, that retransmissions are disabled as part of the second communication service, resulting in a third determination; and recovering, by the processing system and based on the third determination, the content of the second data packet based on an analysis of a third data packet that is included as part of the second communication service.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a method, comprising: obtaining, by a processing system including a processor, a first data packet as part of a first communication service; determining, by the processing system, that content of the first data packet is corrupted, resulting in a first determination; transmitting, by the processing system and based on the first determination, a request for a retransmission of the first data packet; obtaining, by the processing system, a second data packet as part of a second communication service that is different from the first communication service, wherein the second communication service relates to activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (see, communication system may provide a real-time interaction based convergence service (e.g., low latency services or ultra-low latency services). For example, the real-time interaction based convergence service may include a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication service, a drone communication service, a remote medical service, an industrial Internet of Things (IoT) service, an augmented reality (AR) service, and a virtual reality (VR) service, section 0220 Kim); determining, by the processing system, that content of the second data packet is corrupted, resulting in a second determination; determining, by the processing system and based on the second determination, that retransmissions are disabled as part of the second communication service, resulting in a third determination; and recovering, by the processing system and based on the third determination, the content of the second data packet based on an analysis of a third data packet that is included as part of the second communication service.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the processing system of Shalev with the communication system service as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve methods and apparatuses for providing low-latency services in a communication system.
The combination of Shalev and Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: a method, comprising: obtaining, by a processing system including a processor, a first data packet as part of a first communication service; determining, by the processing system, that content of the first data packet is corrupted, resulting in a first determination; transmitting, by the processing system and based on the first determination, a request for a retransmission of the first data packet; obtaining, by the processing system, a second data packet as part of a second communication service that is different from the first communication service, wherein the second communication service relates to activities in augmented reality worlds, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, social media, or a combination thereof (see, communication system may provide a real-time interaction based convergence service (e.g., low latency services or ultra-low latency services). For example, the real-time interaction based convergence service may include a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication service, a drone communication service, a remote medical service, an industrial Internet of Things (IoT) service, an augmented reality (AR) service, and a virtual reality (VR) service, section 0220 Kim); determining, by the processing system, that content of the second data packet is corrupted, resulting in a second determination; determining, by the processing system and based on the second determination, that retransmissions are disabled as part of the second communication service, resulting in a third determination; and recovering, by the processing system and based on the third determination, the content of the second data packet based on an analysis of a third data packet that is included as part of the second communication service.
However Kato from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a method, comprising: obtaining, by a processing system including a processor (fig. 2, processor 250A cooperates with memory 260A to perform various processes and controls to implement functions of units such as a first transmission processing unit 202 and first reception processing unit 207, section 0042 Kato), a first data packet as part of a first communication service (fig. 2, First packet classification unit 208 generates a packet (first transmission packet), section 0046 Kato); determining, by the processing system, that content of the first data packet is corrupted (see, reducing the error rate of the TCP layer packet between two terminals implying error thus corruption of a first packet, section 0050 Kato), resulting in a first determination (see, the need for retransmission after error is detected regarding the first transmission packet, section 0050 Kato); transmitting, by the processing system and based on the first determination, a request for a retransmission of the first data packet (see, the retransmission of a first transmission packet after an error with a retransmission control process, sections 0050-0052 Kato); obtaining, by the processing system, a second data packet (see, second received packet with second decoded data, section 0059 Kato) as part of a second communication service that is different from the first communication service (see, each unit has a transmission processing unit, wireless transmission unit, wireless reception unit, reception processing unit, and packet classification unit, sections 0042, 0062 Kato), wherein the second communication service relates to online video gaming, activities in augmented reality worlds, or a combination thereof; determining, by the processing system, that content of the second data packet is corrupted (see, reducing the error rate of the TCP layer packet between two terminals implying error thus corruption of a second packet, section 0069 Kato), resulting in a second determination (see, the need for retransmission after error is detected regarding the second transmission packet, section 0069 Kato); determining, by the processing system and based on the second determination, that retransmissions are disabled as part of the second communication service (see, second transmission processing unit determines whether or not retransmission for a received packet is necessary based on the determined automatic retransmission control scheme, section 0089 Kato), resulting in a third determination (see, the generation of a retransmission request that does not determine retransmission for a received packet is necessary, section 0089 Kato); and recovering, by the processing system and based on the third determination, the content of the second data packet (see, third decoded data includes data (control data or user data) from terminal, section 0065 Kato; noted, the second transmission packet includes data of uplink including data from the terminal, section 0066 Kato) based on an analysis of a third data packet (see, third packet decoding unit performs a reception process on the third received packet, section 0065 Kato) that is included as part of the second communication service (see, second packet classification unit can include a third packet decoding unit, section 0066 Kato).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Shalev and Kim with the corruption of packets as taught by Kato. The motivation would have been to improve communication quality and reduce communication time delay among the plurality of wireless communication apparatuses (see, paragraph 9).
Shalev discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Claim 21 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 20, wherein the second communication service further relates to videoconferencing, streaming audio, streaming video, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, and social media.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 20, wherein the second communication service further relates to videoconferencing, streaming audio, streaming video, asset trading, robotic surgeries, vehicular controls, and social media (see, communication system may provide a real-time interaction based convergence service (e.g., low latency services or ultra-low latency services). For example, the real-time interaction based convergence service may include a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication service, a drone communication service, a remote medical service, an industrial Internet of Things (IoT) service, an augmented reality (AR) service, and a virtual reality (VR) service, section 0220 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the processing system of Shalev with the communication system service as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve methods and apparatuses for providing low-latency services in a communication system.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473