DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 11 and 15-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/29/25.
Species elected:
A: coating
B: APTAC
C: ammonium hydroxide.
Claim Objections
The use of “quaternary amine groups” in claim 1 is objected to. The correct phrase should be quaternary ammonium group. [It is noted that applicant has not made any special definition for “quaternary amine groups” in the specification.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 12-14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jaber et al (US 2020/0206691), with evidence from Zhang, et al, cited in rejection 2 or Scheurman III (US 6,059,974).
Jaber teaches, in examples 2 and 4, the claimed membrane. Applicant discloses that Jaber membrane is the same applicant used: spec. at [0061]. The resulting membrane has a positive charge from the ammonium group of APTAC. This is the same as in claims 8 and 14, the ultimate/narrowest membrane structure claimed in this series of claims. In [0161], Jaber also teaches several quaternary ammonium cations associated with hydroxyl cations, which anticipates the claims.
Claim 1 also recites ionizable nitrogen functional groups as associated with hydroxyl groups. The specification discloses in example 1 that the membrane is subjected to “1 % NH4OH 30-minute soak, 16-hour 50°C DIW soak, followed by 1 % NH4QH 30 minute flush, then a 30 minute DIW flush.” While Jaber does not tach converting the associated anions to -OH, this is well-known in the art for regenerating the anion exchange resins and membranes for the purpose of exchanging anions, and is not a patentable invention. (Evidence, Scheurman III)
Also see further evidence that the membrane is converted to -OH form as shown in rejection 2, for the implied purpose of making it -OH conducting membrane. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to convert the membrane to -OH for use as anion exchange membrane or as a -OH conducting membrane.
Additionally, converting an ion exchange resin from one form to another, like a cation of its association with one form of anion to another, is well-known and is commonly used (like regenerating). Therefore, any associated hydroxyl ions would have been obvious. Also see [0161] (explanation below.)
Claim 9: Jaber clause 39 at [0161]. This also would provide the hydroxide association. Claims 12 and 13 only recite process steps.
Claims 2, 25 and 3 recite only the capability of the membrane or its intended use, which they are inherently capable.
Arguments are not persuasive. They are addressed in the rejection.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 12-13 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhang et al, Alkaline anion-exchange polymer membrane with grid–plug microstructure for hydrogen fuel cell application, Journal of Power Sources 196 (2011) 5494–5498
Zhang teaches a porous anion exchange membrane having a base polymer membrane onto which is coated APTAC (by soaking a in solution as disclosed in spec) and crosslinked using N,N_-methylenebisacrylamide. The chloride form is converted to hydroxyl form by treating with dilute KOH. Applicant discloses in [0047] that the “surface” include inner pore surfaces. Use of ammonium hydroxides as in claims to convert to -OH form is only a process detail. This anticipates the claims. Regarding the pore size range in claim 2 of 1 nm to 10 microns, this is a very wide range. The actual pore size required can be optimized based on the intended use.
Arguments are not persuasive. The argument that Zeng membrane is not porous is not supported by evidence. The abstract explicitly teaches a porous membrane, filled with the quaternary ammonium compound, same as claimed. Nowhere in this reference does it teach that the resultant membrane in Zeng is not porous. The evidence suggests the contrary: Table 1 shows optimizing of the PTAC loading in the membrane and the result that increasing the concentration increases the filling extent. Therefore, even at maximum filling, there would be open pores in the polysulfone membrane. This is further conformed from the teaching Zeng, “the strong PSU grid guarantees negligible dimensional expansion.”
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777