DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20240365273 A1) in view of Yeoh et al. (US 20190059048 A1) . Regarding claim 1, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising: a wireless local area network (WLAN) communications interface (Paragraph 36, 44, 102, These passages disclose a device (UE) including a wireless communication interface supporting IEEE 802.11/WLAN communications enabling communication with other wireless devices) ; a data storage device; and a control system configured to: establish a WLAN network connection with one or more other UAVs via the WLAN communications interface (Paragraph 36, 69, 96, These passages disclose a device establishing WLAN connections/associations with other devices via a WLAN interface) ; store the uploaded operations reporting data in the data storage device (Paragraph 108, This passage discloses storing operational data and program information in device memory) ; establish, via the WLAN communications interface, a WLAN network connection with a data backhaul device having a network interface to a data backhaul network communicatively connected with one or more data servers (Paragraph 29, 44, 48, These passages disclose a device connecting through a WLAN access point to a broader network infrastructure that interfaces with core networks and servers) ; and upload the stored operations reporting data from the data storage device to the one or more data servers over the data backhaul network via the WLAN network connection with the backhaul device (Paragraph 29, 44, These passages disclose transmitting information from the device to remote servers through a WLAN-connected network infrastructure). BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. does not explicitly teach upload operations reporting data from each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection. However, Yeoh et al. teaches upload operations reporting data from each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection (Paragraph 30, 38, These passages disclose that the UE collects operational performance data from multiple WLAN-connected nodes (APs identified by BSSID), generates structured reporting data regarding their operational characteristics (bandwidth, utilization, capacity, connectivity status), and transmits that reporting data over its WLAN connectivity, corresponding to uploading operations reporting data from multiple other wireless nodes over a WLAN network connection) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide upload operations reporting data from each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection as taught by Yeoh et al. in the system of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al., so that it would enable the UAV system to aggregate and transmit operational performance information from multiple WLAN-connected nodes through the established WLAN infrastructure to remote servers, thereby improving network monitoring, coordination, and management of distributed UAV or wireless nodes. Regarding claim 2, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the UAV and the one or more other UAVs are each in a non-flying stationary state at a first cluster of UAV charging stations at a first cluster location while the operations reporting data are uploaded (Paragraph 27, 36, 38, These passages teach multiple devices that can be static/non-moving and co-located within a system environment) , wherein the first cluster location lacks the backhaul data device (Paragraph 26, 27, 29, These passages teach that communication and data exchange can occur without a direct connection to a network/backhaul device at a given location) , and wherein the control system is further configured to: prior to uploading the stored operations reporting data, cause the UAV to fly to a backhaul location at which the backhaul data device is located (Paragraph 29, 36, 46, These passages teach a mobile device moving between locations and interacting with network infrastructure located at different points) . Regarding claim 3, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the control system is further configured to: prior to causing the UAV to fly to the backhaul location, cause the UAV to fly to a different, second cluster of UAV charging stations at a second cluster location at which one or more further UAVs are located, each in a non-flying stationary state; at the second cluster location, establish a further WLAN network connection with one or more further UAVs via the WLAN communications interface; at the second cluster location, upload further operations reporting data from each of the further UAVs over the WLAN network connection; at the second cluster location, store the uploaded further operations reporting data in the data storage device with the uploaded operations reporting data; and at the backhaul location, upload the stored further operations reporting data in addition to the stored operations reporting data (Paragraph 27, 36, 57, 69, 77, 108, 111, 112, These passages collectively teach multiple devices at locations (including stationary ones), establishing WLAN connections with multiple devices, exchanging and uploading data between devices and to a network, and storing such data for later transmission, corresponding to visiting a location with multiple devices, collecting data via WLAN, storing it, and later uploading it to a network) . Regarding claim 4, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches at least one of the one or more other UAVs comprises a further data storage device storing further operations reporting data previously uploaded from at least one or more further UAVs, and wherein uploading the operations reporting data from each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection comprises uploading the further operations reporting data from the at least one or more further UAVs (Paragraph 77, 79-80, These passages collectively teach that intermediary devices (assistance UEs) store and relay previously received data from other devices and that such relayed data is further uploaded/shared over WLAN connections to other devices) . Regarding claim 5, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the WLAN is a WIFI network, and wherein the control system is further configured to: prior to establishing the WLAN network connection with the one or more other UAVs, cause the WLAN communications interface to operate as a WIFI access point (Paragraph 28, 48, 62, 73, 78, 84, These passages teach that WLAN corresponds to Wi-Fi/802.11 and that a device is configured to operate its WLAN interface as an access point prior to association/connection with other devices) . Regarding claim 6, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches access to the WLAN is restricted to authorized devices, and wherein the UAV and the one or more other UAVs are all authorized devices (Paragraph 73, 77, 84, 96, These passages teach that WLAN access requires authentication/association procedures before communication, thereby restricting access to devices that are authorized (i.e., authenticated/associated), and all participating devices (target UE and assistance UEs) are those authorized devices) . Regarding claim 7, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches among the UAV and the one or more other UAVs, at least the UAV is a candidate for selection to carry out data transport operations including: establishing the WLAN network connection with the one or more other UAVs, uploading and storing the operations reporting data, establishing the WLAN network connection with the data backhaul device, and uploading the stored operations reporting data, wherein selection of a candidate is based on selection criteria, and wherein the control system is further configured to determine that the UAV has been selected to carry out the data transport operations (Paragraph 73, 74, 77, 84, 88, 90, The passage teaches selecting a device candidate based on criteria (QoS, signal strength, location) and directing it to establish WLAN connections with other devices and communicate/report data to the network) . Regarding claim 8, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the network interface to the data backhaul network is at least one of a broadband air interface to a radio access network of a wide area cellular network, or a landline interface connection to a data communications network (Paragraph 28, The passage teaches a network interface supporting both wireless broadband cellular connections (e.g., LTE/5G WWAN to a radio access network) and wired connections) . Regarding claim 9, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the operations reporting data comprise respective flight and/or mission operations logs of each of the one or more UAVs (Paragraph 77, 90, 98, The passage teaches multiple devices generating and reporting operational data (positioning outcomes/results) to a network, which corresponds to device-specific operational reporting) . Regarding claim 10, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the control system is further configured to: download previously-stored operations configuration data from the storage device to at least one of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection (Paragraph 66, 77, The passage teaches transferring previously obtained/held configuration or assistance data between devices over WLAN/D2D links) . Regarding claim 11, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising: a wireless local area network (WLAN) communications interface (Paragraph 36, 44, 102, These passages disclose a device (UE) including a wireless communication interface supporting IEEE 802.11/WLAN communications enabling communication with other wireless devices) ; a data storage device; and a control system configured to: establish a WLAN network connection with one or more other UAVs via the WLAN communications interface (Paragraph 36, 69, 96, These passages disclose a device establishing WLAN connections/associations with other devices via a WLAN interface) . BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. does not explicitly teach download operations configuration data from the storage device to each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection. However, Yeoh et al. teaches download operations configuration data from the storage device to each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection (Paragraph 32, 36, 39-40, These passages teach transmitting configuration and operational management data (including WLAN configuration identifiers and management variables describing system status and configuration) from a network-side entity through WLAN-based connectivity (including tunneled Ethernet over WLAN infrastructure) to another device) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide download operations configuration data from the storage device to each of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection as taught by Yeoh et al. in the system of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al., so that it would enable UAVs already communicating over WLAN links to exchange configuration and operational management information to coordinate system operation and maintain consistent configuration among the cooperating devices. Regarding claim 12, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the UAV and the one or more other UAVs are each in a non-flying stationary state at a cluster of UAV charging stations at a cluster location while the operations configuration data are downloaded, and wherein the control system is further configured to: prior to downloading the operations configuration data to each of the other UAVs, cause the UAV to fly to a backhaul location at which a data backhaul device having a network interface to a data backhaul network communicatively connected with one or more data servers is located; establish, via the WLAN communications interface, a WLAN network connection with a data backhaul device having a network interface to a data backhaul network communicatively connected with one or more data servers; and download the operations configuration data to the data storage device from the one or more data servers over the data backhaul network via the WLAN network connection with the backhaul device (Paragraph 28, 29, 33, 48, 65, These passages collectively teach establishing a WLAN connection to network/backhaul infrastructure that connects to servers and receiving/downloading data from those servers over that WLAN-connected network) . Regarding claim 13, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the WLAN is a WIFI network, and wherein the control system is further configured to: prior to establishing the WLAN network connection with the one or more other UAVs, cause the WLAN communications interface to operate as a WIFI access point (Paragraph 73, 78, 84, These passages teach configuring a device’s WLAN interface to operate as a Wi-Fi access point prior to association/connection with other devices) . Regarding claim 14, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches access to the WLAN is restricted to authorized devices, and wherein the UAV and the one or more other UAVs are all authorized devices (Paragraph 73-74, 77, 96, These passages teach that WLAN access/communication requires authentication and association before devices can connect, which corresponds to restricting WLAN access to authorized (authenticated/associated) devices) . Regarding claim 15, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the operations configuration data are at least one of software updates, machine learning models, navigational data updates, or mission specifications (Paragraph 64, 65, 73, These passages teach that configuration/operational data includes various types of system-operational information (e.g., capabilities, identifiers, signal data, and assistance/configuration data) that guide device operation) . Regarding claim 16, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the control system is further configured to: upload operations reporting data from at least one of the one or more other UAVs over the WLAN network connection; store the uploaded operations reporting data in the data storage device; establish, via the WLAN communications interface, a WLAN network connection with a data backhaul device having a network interface to a data backhaul network communicatively connected with one or more data servers; and upload the stored operations reporting data from the data storage device to the one or more data servers over the data backhaul network via the WLAN network connection with the backhaul device (Paragraph 28-29, 48, 65, 77, 107, 111-112, These passages collectively teach exchanging data between devices over WLAN, storing that data, establishing WLAN connections to network-connected infrastructure, and transmitting the stored data over the WLAN-connected network to remote servers) . Regarding claim 17, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches a method carried out by an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV), the method comprising: establishing a wireless local area network (WLAN) network connection with one or more other UAVs via a WLAN communications interface of the UAV (Paragraph 36, 69, 96, These passages disclose a device establishing WLAN connections/associations with other devices via a WLAN interface) ; establishing, via the WLAN communications interface, a WLAN network connection with a data backhaul device having a network interface to a data backhaul network communicatively connected with one or more data servers (Paragraph 28, 29, 48, These passages teach establishing a WLAN connection via an interface (AP/WLAN) that functions as a backhaul device connecting the UE to a broader network (Internet/5G core) and servers) ; and exchanging the operational data between the data storage device and the one or more data servers over the data backhaul network via the WLAN network connection with the backhaul device (Paragraph 29, 34, 102, These passages teach that data stored/processed at the UE is exchanged with remote servers over a network through a WLAN-connected access point) . BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. does not explicitly teach exchanging operational data between a data storage device of the UAV and at least one of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection. However, Yeoh et al. teaches exchanging operational data between a data storage device of the UAV and at least one of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection (Paragraph 32, 39, These passages teach bidirectional data transmission over a WLAN link with aggregation and tunneling of Ethernet frames across connected wireless nodes) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide exchanging operational data between a data storage device of the UAV and at least one of the other UAVs over the WLAN network connection as taught by Yeoh et al. in the system of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al., so that it would enable the UAV network to support direct peer-to-peer operational data sharing between UAV nodes over established WLAN links while maintaining connectivity to backhaul networks and servers, thereby improving coordination, data distribution efficiency, and overall network functionality among cooperating UAVs. Regarding claim 18, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the operational data comprise operations reporting data of the at least one of the one or more other UAVs, wherein exchanging the operational data between the data storage device of the UAV and the at least one of the other UAVs comprises: uploading the operations reporting data from the at least one of the other UAVs to the UAV; and storing the uploaded operations reporting data in the data storage device, and wherein exchanging the operational data between the data storage device and the one or more data servers over the data backhaul network comprises uploading the stored operations reporting data from the data storage device to the one or more data servers (Paragraph 77, 79, 98, 107, 111, These passages teach that other devices generate operational data, transmit it to another device (via network/relay), the receiving device stores the data, and subsequently uploads the stored data to a server over a network) . Regarding claim 19, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches the operational data comprise operations configuration data for the at least one of the one or more other UAVs, and wherein exchanging the operational data between the data storage device of the UAV and the at least one of the other UAVs comprises downloading the operations configuration data from the storage device to the at least one of the one or more other UAVs (Paragraph 65, 77, The passage teaches exchanging configuration-type operational data between devices where such data is distributed from a source entity and relayed/downloaded to other devices) . Regarding claim 20, BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. teaches exchanging the operational data between the data storage device of the UAV and the at least one of the other UAVs is carried out while the UAV and the at least one of the one or more other UAVs are each in a non-flying stationary state at a cluster of UAV charging stations at a cluster location, and wherein the method further comprises: the UAV flying to the cluster location prior to establishing the WLAN network connection with one or more other UAVs; and the UAV flying to a backhaul location at which the data backhaul device is located prior to establishing the WLAN network connection with the data backhaul device (Paragraph 28, 29, 36, 37, 77, These passages collectively teach exchanging operational data between multiple devices via WLAN/D2D links and communicating with network/backhaul infrastructure via WLAN) . Allowable Subject Matter Based on the specification, the applicant could strengthen the claim by adding concepts that more clearly emphasize the specialized “data ferry” role of the UAV within a fleet, such as reciting that the UAV is selectively designated from among a fleet of UAVs to implement specialized data aggregation and distribution functionality to reduce broadband infrastructure costs. The claim could incorporate that the WLAN connections with other UAVs are opportunistic, temporary, or ad hoc connections formed during maintenance events such as battery charging at distributed charging stations. The applicant could further add that the UAV is configured not only to upload operations reporting data but also to download operations configuration data to other UAVs, including software updates, machine learning models, navigation updates, or mission specifications. Additional concepts could include that the UAV aggregates data from multiple fleet UAVs before communicating with a limited number of broadband-enabled backhaul stations, thereby reducing overall communication costs, or that the UAV operates in coordination with fleet management operations involving maintenance, recharging, or task scheduling. The claim could also reflect that the UAV operates in autonomous, remote-controlled, or hybrid modes while performing the data ferry functionality, or that the backhaul communication occurs at selectively deployed stations having broadband interfaces distinct from more widely deployed low-cost charging stations. Incorporating these concepts would better capture the fleet-level cost-reduction architecture and the specialized intermediary role described in the specification rather than merely reciting generic WLAN data transfer functionality. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kanamarlapudi et al. (US 20220330146 A1) Stauffer et al. ( US 20200045612 A1 ) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1878 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8am-4pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ricky Ngo can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3139 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2464 /IQBAL ZAIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464