DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 8/7/2025, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 8/7/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
DiVerdi in view of CUI
Claims 1-6, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVerdi et al.(USPubN 2018/0121069; hereinafter DiVerdi) in view of CUI et al.(USPubN 2020/0336804; hereinafter CUI).
As per claim 1, DiVerdi teaches a method for creating an interactive video, the method comprising:
displaying an interactive video creation interface, the interactive video creation interface including a video editing preview region and a component editing region(“FIG. 3 illustrates a displayed portion of a virtual-reality display 202 and an editing interface 302 displayed over the displayed portion. As shown in FIG. 3 (and as further shown in FIGS. 4A-8B), the editing interface 302 includes a number of controls for implementing and previewing edits to the virtual-reality video” in Para.[0040]);
adding a first interactive clip to the video editing preview region, the first interactive clip including a display scene(Para.[0040], Fig. 3);
adding an information viewing component to a target position in the display scene of the first interactive clip based on selection of an information viewing option that is included in the component editing region and a drag operation being performed on the selected information viewing option to the targe to the position in the display scene(“the editing control interface 302 shown in FIG. 3 includes a control panel 308 of editing control icons 312a-f representative of a number of editing controls available for editing virtual-reality content while wearing the virtual-reality device 104. Examples of the editing control icons 312a-f include a trim icon 310a, a rotational alignment icon 310b, a vignetting icon 310c, a graphic icon 310d, a bookmark icon 310e, and a top view icon 310f. As will be described in further detail below, each of the editing control icons 310a-f correspond to different controls for implementing and previewing edits to the virtual-reality video within a virtual-reality environment. In one or more embodiments, one or more of the editing control icons 310a-f are selectable buttons that activate different editing controls and previews described herein. Alternatively, one or more of the editing control icons 310a-f simply serve to illustrate various features and functionality provided by the virtual-reality editing system 108.” In Para.[0041], “the editing control interface 302 includes a scroll bar 304 and position icon 306 that enables scrolling or scrubbing through the virtual-reality video. For example, the user 106 can select the position icon 306 to manually scrub through the virtual-reality video at a speed corresponding to movement of the position icon 306 relative to the length of the scroll bar 304. In one or more embodiments, the virtual-reality display changes based on the current position of the position icon 306 along the scroll bar 304 and in accordance with a direction of the virtual-reality device 104. Thus, in addition to selecting the position icon 306 and scrolling through the virtual-reality video, the user 106 can also change a direction of the virtual-reality device 104 (e.g., by moving the user's head) to further modify the virtual-reality display 202 while scrolling through the virtual-reality video.” in para.[0042], Para.[0081], [0082], [0085] The graphic can be interpreted as selected information viewing option which can be dragged from a first location to a second location in the virtual-reality display and it can includes a video or other visual display that plays over the portion of the virtual-reality display); and
generating, by processing circuitry, the interactive video according to the information viewing component added to the first interactive clip and a plurality of video clips that includes the first interactive clip (“the method 1000 includes an act 1050 of receiving a confirmation of an edit to perform to the virtual-reality content item. For example, in one or more embodiments, receiving a confirmation includes receiving one or more user inputs via the virtual-reality device 104 or other input device (e.g., keyboard, mouse) to confirm an edit to apply to the virtual-reality content item. In addition, in one or more embodiments, the method 1000 includes an act 1060 of generating a revised virtual-reality content item in response to receiving the confirmation. In one or more embodiments, the method 1000 further includes providing a preview of the revised virtual-reality content item via the virtual-reality device 104” in Para.[0110]).
DiVerdi is silent about a story line of the interactive video is selectable from at least two candidate plot options by a plurality of viewers, and an ending of the selected story line of the interactive video is determined from a plurality of candidate endings based on the selected story line and a selection result of the plurality of viewers.
CUI teaches a story line of the interactive video is selectable from at least two candidate plot options by a plurality of viewers, and an ending of the selected story line of the interactive video is determined from a plurality of candidate endings based on the selected story line and a selection result of the plurality of viewers(“the interactive short video and a story branch selection are combined, and the user may select different story branch controls, to handle plot developments, to guide the user to watch different endings obtained through different plot developments” in Para.[0178])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Diverdi with the above teachings of CUI in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 2, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi teaches wherein the first interactive clip is a virtual reality clip, the display scene is a three-dimensional virtual scene in the virtual reality clip, and the target position in the display scene is a three-dimensional position in the three-dimensional virtual scene(“a “virtual-reality display” or “display within a virtual-reality environment” refers to displaying virtual-reality content via a virtual-reality device. In other words, “virtual-reality display” or “display within a virtual-reality environment” refers to a three-dimensional display of virtual-reality content rather than a two-dimensional display of virtual-reality content. For example, a virtual-reality display includes both a portion of the virtual-reality content within an immediate field of view (e.g., a displayed portion) and any portion of the virtual-reality content outside the immediate field of view (e.g., a peripheral portion). In other words, a virtual-reality display includes both portions that are currently visible and in front of the user as well as those portions of the virtual-reality content to the side and behind the user that are not currently within the field of view provided by the virtual-reality device” in Para.[0029]).
As per claim 3, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi teaches wherein the adding the information viewing component comprises: adding the information viewing component to a preset position in the display scene of the first interactive clip; and determining the target position of the information viewing component in the display scene of the first interactive clip according to the drag operation(Para.[0059], [0060], [0081], [0082], [0085]).
As per claim 4, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 3.
DiVerdi teaches wherein the component editing region further includes a component editing control interface corresponding to the information viewing component; and after the adding the information viewing component, the method further comprises: displaying an information editing region based on a trigger operation on the component editing control interface, the information editing region including an information title editing region and an information content editing region, receiving a title input in the information title editing region, generating a title corresponding to the information viewing component based on the input title, receiving a content input in the information content editing region, and generating the information corresponding to the information viewing component based on the input content(Para.[0081], [0082], [0085]).
As per claim 5, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi teaches wherein the component editing region further includes a result selection option; and the method further comprises: adding a second interactive video clip of the plurality of video clips to the video editing preview region; and adding a result selection component in correspondence to the second interactive video clip based on selection of the result selection option in the component editing region, the result selection component being configured to provide a user interface for the viewer of the interactive video to select an ending of the interactive video(Para.[0021], [0047]).
As per claim 6, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 5.
DiVerdi teaches wherein the result selection component includes at least two candidates; and the method further comprises: receiving a result video setting operation on a target candidate in the at least two candidates; and setting a target result video in association with the target candidate according to the result video setting operation(Para.[0021], [0047]).
As per claim 11, the limitations in the claim 11 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 12, the limitations in the claim 12 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the limitations in the claim 13 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the limitations in the claim 14 has been discussed in the rejection claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, the limitations in the claim 15 has been discussed in the rejection claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the limitations in the claim 16 has been discussed in the rejection claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, DiVerdi teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor(Para.[0123], [0124]) and the other limitations in the claim 20 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
DiVerdi in view of CUI and Herring
Claims 7, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVerdi et al.(USPubN 2018/0121069; hereinafter DiVerdi) in view of CUI et al.(USPubN 2020/0336804; hereinafter CUI) further in view of Herring et al.(USPubN 2017/0333793; hereinafter Herring).
As per claim 7, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi teaches the method further comprises: adding a background video clip to the video editing preview region, the background video clip including a story background of the interactive video(Para.[0049], [0069]).
DiVerdi and CUI are silent about wherein the component editing region further includes a character selection option; and adding a character selection component after the background video clip based on selection of the character selection option in the component editing region, the character selection component being configured to provide a user interface for the viewer of the interactive video to select a role to be played in the interactive video.
Herring teaches wherein the component editing region further includes a character selection option; and adding a character selection component after the background video clip based on selection of the character selection option in the component editing region, the character selection component being configured to provide a user interface for the viewer of the interactive video to select a role to be played in the interactive video (Para.[0194], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings DiVerdi and CUI with the above teachings of Herring in order to improve interactive experience to editors and producers of virtual-reality videos.
As per claim 8, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi and CUI are silent about wherein the component editing region further includes an interaction spectator option; and the adding the character selection component comprises: adding a spectator component and a participant component after the background video clip based on selection of the interaction spectator option in the component editing region, and setting the character selection component in association with the participant component based on the selection of the character selection option in the component editing region.
Herring teaches wherein the component editing region further includes an interaction spectator option; and the adding the character selection component comprises: adding a spectator component and a participant component after the background video clip based on selection of the interaction spectator option in the component editing region, and setting the character selection component in association with the participant component based on the selection of the character selection option in the component editing region (Para.[0194], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings DiVerdi and CUI with the above teachings of Herring in order to improve interactive experience to editors and producers of virtual-reality videos.
As per claim 17, the limitations in the claim 17 has been discussed in the rejection claim 7 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the limitations in the claim 18 has been discussed in the rejection claim 8 and rejected under the same rationale.
DiVerdi in view of CUI and Silverman
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVerdi et al.(USPubN 2018/0121069; hereinafter DiVerdi) in view of CUI et al.(USPubN 2020/0336804; hereinafter CUI) further in view of Silverman et al.(USPubN 2015/0063781; hereinafter Silverman).
As per claim 9, DiVerdi and CUI teach all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi and CUI are silent about wherein the adding the first interactive clip comprises: setting the first interactive clip in association with a first character selection option and a second interactive clip of the plurality of video clip in association with a second character selection option.
Silverman teaches wherein the adding the first interactive clip comprises: setting the first interactive clip in association with a first character selection option and a second interactive clip of the plurality of video clip in association with a second character selection option(Para.[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings DiVerdi, Gagner and McCarty with the above teachings of Silverman in order to improve interactive experience to editors and producers of virtual-reality videos.
As per claim 19, the limitations in the claim 19 has been discussed in the rejection claim 9 and rejected under the same rationale.
DiVerdi in view of CUI and Styles
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVerdi et al.(USPubN 2018/0121069; hereinafter DiVerdi) in view of CUI et al.(USPubN 2020/0336804; hereinafter CUI) further in view of Styles(USPubN 2017/0337841).
As per claim 10, DiVerdi and CUI teaches all of limitation of claim 1.
DiVerdi and CUI are silent about wherein the component editing region further includes a plot selection option; and the method further comprises: adding a plot selection component to the video editing preview region in response to selection of the plot selection option in the component editing region, the plot selection component including at least two candidate plot options and being configured to present the at least two candidate plot options for selection by the viewer of the interactive video, and setting different plot video clips in association with the at least two candidate plot options.
Styles teaches wherein the component editing region further includes a plot selection option; and the method further comprises: adding a plot selection component to the video editing preview region in response to selection of the plot selection option in the component editing region, the plot selection component including at least two candidate plot options and being configured to present the at least two candidate plot options for selection by the viewer of the interactive video, and setting different plot video clips in association with the at least two candidate plot options (Para.[0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings DiVerdi and CUI with the above teachings of Styles in order to improve interactive experience to editors and producers of virtual-reality videos.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484