DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Silverstein (US 20190237051 A1, August 1, 2019), hereinafter Silverstein, in view of Yoichiro (JP H01310397 A, December 14, 1989), hereinafter Yoichiro.
Regarding claim 1, Silverstein teaches an automatic music playing control device, comprising; a storage; and at least one hardware processor which, under control of a program stored in the storage, is configured to execute processes (Silverstein ¶0062: "Another object of the present invention is to provide such an Automated Music Composition and Generation System supporting virtual-instrument music synthesis driven by graphical-icon based musical experience descriptors selected by the system user with a real or virtual keyboard interface, showing its various components, such as multi-core CPU, multi-core GPU, program memory (DRAM), video memory (VRAM), hard drive, LCD/touch-screen display panel, microphone/speaker, keyboard, WIFI/Bluetooth network adapters, pitch recognition module/board, and power supply and distribution circuitry, integrated around a system bus architecture.") comprising: probabilistically selecting one timing type, from among a plurality of timing types that defines a number of sound emissions to be performed within a given time period (Silverstein ¶0686; "For example, a piece with an input descriptor of “Happy,” a length of thirty seconds, a tempo of sixty beats per minute, and a meter of 4/4 might have a one third probability of a form of ABA (or alternatively described as Verse Chorus Verse)"; Silverstein ¶0694: "For example, as shown in the Sub-Phrase Length Generation Subsystem (B15), the sub-phrase length tables are loaded, and for each sub-phrase in the selected song form, the subsystem B15, in parallel manner, selects length measures for each sub-phrase and then creates a sub-phrase length (i.e. rhythmic length) table as output from the subsystem"; Silverstein ¶0705: "Another object of the present invention is to provide such an Automated Music Composition and Generation System supporting virtual-instrument music synthesis driven by graphical-icon based musical experience descriptors selected by the system user with a real or virtual keyboard interface, showing its various components, such as multi-core CPU, multi-core GPU, program memory (DRAM), video memory (VRAM), hard drive, LCD/touch-screen display panel, microphone/speaker, keyboard, WIFI/Bluetooth network adapters, pitch recognition module/board, and power supply and distribution circuitry, integrated around a system bus architecture.") in response to playing performance operations input by a user during a performance (Silverstein ¶0060: "(ii) prior to the session, the system is then is interfaced with a group of musical instruments played by a group of musicians in a creative environment during a musical session, (iii) during the session, the system receives audio and/or MIDI data signals produced from the group of instruments during the session, and analyzes these signals for pitch and rhythmic data and melodic structure, (iv) during the session, the system automatically generates musical descriptors from abstracted pitch, rhythmic and melody data, and uses the musical experience descriptors to compose music for each session on a real-time basis, and (v) in the event that the PERFORM mode has been selected, the system automatically generates music composed for the session"); and probabilistically selecting one note timing table, from among a plurality of note timing tables (Silverstein ¶0556: "As shown in FIG. 28H, for each emotion-type musical experience descriptor supported by the system and selected by the system user, a probability measure is provided for each initial chord length and second chord lengths supported by the system, and these probability-based parameter tables are used during the automated music composition and generation process of the present invention."; Silverstein ¶0557: "The initial chord length table is used by loading a proper set of parameters as determined by B1, B37, B40, and B41 and, through a guided stochastic process, the subsystem makes a determination(s) as to what value (s) and/or parameter(s) in the table to use.") that corresponds to the selected timing type (Silverstein ¶0558: "The second chord length table is used by loading a proper set of parameters into the various subsystems determined by subsystems B1, B37, B40, and B41 and, through a guided stochastic process illustrated in FIGS. 2801, 2802 and 2803, the subsystem B11 makes a determination(s) as to what value(s) and/or parameter(s) to select from the parameter table and use during the automated music composition and generation process of the present invention."; Silverstein ¶0700: "the chord length tables shown in FIGS. 28H are loaded from subsystem B51, and in a parallel manner, the initial chord length for the first sub-phrase a is determined using the initial chord length table, and the second chord length for the first sub-phrase a is determined using both the initial chord length table and the second chord length table, as shown."), the selected note timing table defining timings of the sound emissions to be performed within the given time period as defined by the selected timing type to which it corresponds (Silverstein ¶0699: "For example, a chord in a 4/4 measure might last for two beats, and based on this information the next chord might last for 1 beat, and based on this information the final chord in the measure might last for 1 beat."; Silverstein ¶0933: "Further, the length of each chord is dependent upon the lengths of all previous chords; the lengths of the other chords in the same measure, phrase, and sub-phrase; and the lengths of the chords that might occur in the future.").
Silverstein does not explicitly disclose outputting an instruction to a sound source to emit a chord, the instruction being output at each of the timings of the sound emissions defined by the selected note timing table.
However, Yoichiro suggests: outputting an instruction to a sound source to emit a chord, the instruction being output at each of the timings of the sound emissions defined by the selected note timing table (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 5: "The CPU 1 instructs the accompaniment sound generating section 10 to generate and emit scale notes based on the timing data obtained from the timing control section 9, the scale note data stored in the scale note register (OR), and the chord pattern in the pattern memory section 4.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic music playing control device of Silverstein by adding the sound emission of Yoichiro to produce a probability-based automated music composition and generation engine (Silverstein ¶0126).
Regarding claim 2, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further suggests that the plurality of timing types differ from each other in terms of the number of chord emissions to be performed within a given time period (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 3: "04 is a pattern memory section which stores various performance patterns such as chord patterns, rhythm patterns, and bass patterns. As shown in Figure 4, one code pattern is divided into 16 steps, with each step having one bit of on flag (NF) and one bit of up stroke flag (UF), for a total of two bits of data. Therefore, it is composed of 2 bits x 16 steps. If a plurality of sets of such patterns are to be stored, an area for the plurality of sets may be reserved in the pattern memory section 4.").
Regarding claim 6, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further suggests a case where an upbeat is specified as a sound emission timing (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 3: "As shown in Figure 4, one code pattern is divided into 16 steps, with each step having one bit of on flag (NF) and one bit of up stroke flag (UF), for a total of two bits of data.").
Silverstein further suggests that if a chord change is present on a next beat immediately following the upbeat in the selected note timing table (Silverstein ¶0945: "Next, the position in time and space of a chord is considered, as this factor has a strong relationship with which chord root notes are selected. Based on the upcoming beat in the measure for which a chord will be selected, the chord root note table parameters are further modified. This cycle replays again and again until all chords have been selected for a piece of music."), the at least one processor instructs the sound source to emit the chord be emitted on the next beat at the sound emission timing of the upbeat (Silverstein ¶0910: "For example, if a piece of music a certain tempo needs to accent a moment in the piece that would otherwise occur on halfway between the fourth beat of a 4/4 measure and the first beat of the next 4/4 measure, an change in the meter of a single measure preceding the desired accent to ⅞ would cause the accent to occur squarely on the first beat of the measure instead, which would then lend itself to a more musical accent in line with the downbeat of the measure.").
Regarding claim 7, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further teaches or suggests a communication unit for transmitting and receiving music sound information, wherein the at least one processor instructs the sound source to emit the chord via the communication unit (Yoichiro ¶0001: "Each musical note in the scale consists of a 3-bit octave chord (OC) and a 4-bit key chord (KC). The CPU 1 instructs the accompaniment sound generation unit 10 to generate and emit musical notes based on the timing data obtained from the timing control unit 9, the musical note data recorded in the musical note register (OR), and the code patterns in the pattern memory unit 4.").
Regarding claim 8, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further teaches or suggests that the sound source is included in the electronic musical instrument and performs an automatic chord accompaniment in response to the instruction of the chord emission at the sound emission timings (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 5: "The CPU 1 instructs the accompaniment sound generating section 10 to generate and emit scale notes based on the timing data obtained from the timing control section 9, the scale note data stored in the scale note register (OR), and the chord pattern in the pattern memory section 4.").
Regarding claim 9, Silverstein teaches a method of playing an automatic music playing device, the method being executed by at least one hardware processor of the music playing device (Silverstein ¶0062: "Another object of the present invention is to provide such an Automated Music Composition and Generation System supporting virtual-instrument music synthesis driven by graphical-icon based musical experience descriptors selected by the system user with a real or virtual keyboard interface, showing its various components, such as multi-core CPU, multi-core GPU, program memory (DRAM), video memory (VRAM), hard drive, LCD/touch-screen display panel, microphone/speaker, keyboard, WIFI/Bluetooth network adapters, pitch recognition module/board, and power supply and distribution circuitry, integrated around a system bus architecture."), and the method comprising probabilistically selecting one timing type, from among of a plurality of timing types that defines a number of sound emissions to be performed within a given time period (Silverstein ¶0686; "For example, a piece with an input descriptor of “Happy,” a length of thirty seconds, a tempo of sixty beats per minute, and a meter of 4/4 might have a one third probability of a form of ABA (or alternatively described as Verse Chorus Verse)"; Silverstein ¶0694: "For example, as shown in the Sub-Phrase Length Generation Subsystem (B15), the sub-phrase length tables are loaded, and for each sub-phrase in the selected song form, the subsystem B15, in parallel manner, selects length measures for each sub-phrase and then creates a sub-phrase length (i.e. rhythmic length) table as output from the subsystem"; Silverstein ¶0705: "Another object of the present invention is to provide such an Automated Music Composition and Generation System supporting virtual-instrument music synthesis driven by graphical-icon based musical experience descriptors selected by the system user with a real or virtual keyboard interface, showing its various components, such as multi-core CPU, multi-core GPU, program memory (DRAM), video memory (VRAM), hard drive, LCD/touch-screen display panel, microphone/speaker, keyboard, WIFI/Bluetooth network adapters, pitch recognition module/board, and power supply and distribution circuitry, integrated around a system bus architecture.") in response to playing performance operations input by a user during a performance (Silverstein ¶0060: "(ii) prior to the session, the system is then is interfaced with a group of musical instruments played by a group of musicians in a creative environment during a musical session, (iii) during the session, the system receives audio and/or MIDI data signals produced from the group of instruments during the session, and analyzes these signals for pitch and rhythmic data and melodic structure, (iv) during the session, the system automatically generates musical descriptors from abstracted pitch, rhythmic and melody data, and uses the musical experience descriptors to compose music for each session on a real-time basis, and (v) in the event that the PERFORM mode has been selected, the system automatically generates music composed for the session"); probabilistically selecting one note timing table, from among a plurality of note timing tables (Silverstein ¶0556: "As shown in FIG. 28H, for each emotion-type musical experience descriptor supported by the system and selected by the system user, a probability measure is provided for each initial chord length and second chord lengths supported by the system, and these probability-based parameter tables are used during the automated music composition and generation process of the present invention."; Silverstein ¶0557: "The initial chord length table is used by loading a proper set of parameters as determined by B1, B37, B40, and B41 and, through a guided stochastic process, the subsystem makes a determination(s) as to what value (s) and/or parameter(s) in the table to use.") that corresponds to the selected timing type (Silverstein ¶0558: "The second chord length table is used by loading a proper set of parameters into the various subsystems determined by subsystems B1, B37, B40, and B41 and, through a guided stochastic process illustrated in FIGS. 2801, 2802 and 2803, the subsystem B11 makes a determination(s) as to what value(s) and/or parameter(s) to select from the parameter table and use during the automated music composition and generation process of the present invention."; Silverstein ¶0700: "the chord length tables shown in FIGS. 28H are loaded from subsystem B51, and in a parallel manner, the initial chord length for the first sub-phrase a is determined using the initial chord length table, and the second chord length for the first sub-phrase a is determined using both the initial chord length table and the second chord length table, as shown."), the selected note timing table defining timings of the sound emissions to be performed within the given time period as defined by the selected timing type to which it corresponds (Silverstein ¶0699: "For example, a chord in a 4/4 measure might last for two beats, and based on this information the next chord might last for 1 beat, and based on this information the final chord in the measure might last for 1 beat."; Silverstein ¶0933: "Further, the length of each chord is dependent upon the lengths of all previous chords; the lengths of the other chords in the same measure, phrase, and sub-phrase; and the lengths of the chords that might occur in the future.").
Silverstein does not explicitly disclose outputting an instruction to a sound source to emit a chord, the instruction being output at each of the timings of the sound emissions defined by the selected note timing table.
However, Yoichiro suggests: outputting an instruction to a sound source to emit a chord, the instruction being output at each of the timings of the sound emissions defined by the selected note timing table (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 5: "The CPU 1 instructs the accompaniment sound generating section 10 to generate and emit scale notes based on the timing data obtained from the timing control section 9, the scale note data stored in the scale note register (OR), and the chord pattern in the pattern memory section 4.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of playing an automatic music playing device of Silverstein by adding the sound emission of Yoichiro to produce a probability-based automated music composition and generation engine (Silverstein ¶0126).
Regarding claim 10, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a method comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further suggests that the plurality of timing types differ from each other in terms of the number of chord emissions to be performed within a given time period (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 3: "04 is a pattern memory section which stores various performance patterns such as chord patterns, rhythm patterns, and bass patterns. As shown in Figure 4, one code pattern is divided into 16 steps, with each step having one bit of on flag (NF) and one bit of up stroke flag (UF), for a total of two bits of data. Therefore, it is composed of 2 bits x 16 steps. If a plurality of sets of such patterns are to be stored, an area for the plurality of sets may be reserved in the pattern memory section 4.").
Regarding claim 14, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a method comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further suggests a case where an upbeat is specified as a sound emission timing (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 3: "As shown in Figure 4, one code pattern is divided into 16 steps, with each step having one bit of on flag (NF) and one bit of up stroke flag (UF), for a total of two bits of data.").
Silverstein further suggests that if a chord change is present on a next beat immediately following the upbeat in the selected note timing table (Silverstein ¶0945: "Next, the position in time and space of a chord is considered, as this factor has a strong relationship with which chord root notes are selected. Based on the upcoming beat in the measure for which a chord will be selected, the chord root note table parameters are further modified. This cycle replays again and again until all chords have been selected for a piece of music."), the at least one processor instructs the sound source to emit the chord be emitted on the next beat at the sound emission timing of the upbeat (Silverstein ¶0910: "For example, if a piece of music a certain tempo needs to accent a moment in the piece that would otherwise occur on halfway between the fourth beat of a 4/4 measure and the first beat of the next 4/4 measure, an change in the meter of a single measure preceding the desired accent to ⅞ would cause the accent to occur squarely on the first beat of the measure instead, which would then lend itself to a more musical accent in line with the downbeat of the measure.").
Regarding claim 15, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a method comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Yoichiro further teaches or suggests that there is further provided a communication unit for transmitting and receiving music sound information, wherein the at least one processor instructs the sound source to emit the chord via the communication unit (Yoichiro ¶0001: "Each musical note in the scale consists of a 3-bit octave chord (OC) and a 4-bit key chord (KC). The CPU 1 instructs the accompaniment sound generation unit 10 to generate and emit musical notes based on the timing data obtained from the timing control unit 9, the musical note data recorded in the musical note register (OR), and the code patterns in the pattern memory unit 4.").
Regarding claim 16, Silverstein teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program of a system thereon, the program being executable by a computer of an automatic music playing control device to control the automatic music playing control device to execute processes (Silverstein ¶0062: "Another object of the present invention is to provide such an Automated Music Composition and Generation System supporting virtual-instrument music synthesis driven by graphical-icon based musical experience descriptors selected by the system user with a real or virtual keyboard interface, showing its various components, such as multi-core CPU, multi-core GPU, program memory (DRAM), video memory (VRAM), hard drive, LCD/touch-screen display panel, microphone/speaker, keyboard, WIFI/Bluetooth network adapters, pitch recognition module/board, and power supply and distribution circuitry, integrated around a system bus architecture.") comprising: probabilistically selecting one timing type, from among a plurality of timing types that defines a number of sound emissions to be performed within a given time period (Silverstein ¶0686; "For example, a piece with an input descriptor of “Happy,” a length of thirty seconds, a tempo of sixty beats per minute, and a meter of 4/4 might have a one third probability of a form of ABA (or alternatively described as Verse Chorus Verse)"; Silverstein ¶0694: "For example, as shown in the Sub-Phrase Length Generation Subsystem (B15), the sub-phrase length tables are loaded, and for each sub-phrase in the selected song form, the subsystem B15, in parallel manner, selects length measures for each sub-phrase and then creates a sub-phrase length (i.e. rhythmic length) table as output from the subsystem"; Silverstein ¶0705: "Another object of the present invention is to provide such an Automated Music Composition and Generation System supporting virtual-instrument music synthesis driven by graphical-icon based musical experience descriptors selected by the system user with a real or virtual keyboard interface, showing its various components, such as multi-core CPU, multi-core GPU, program memory (DRAM), video memory (VRAM), hard drive, LCD/touch-screen display panel, microphone/speaker, keyboard, WIFI/Bluetooth network adapters, pitch recognition module/board, and power supply and distribution circuitry, integrated around a system bus architecture.") in response to playing performance operations input by a user during a performance (Silverstein ¶0060: "(ii) prior to the session, the system is then is interfaced with a group of musical instruments played by a group of musicians in a creative environment during a musical session, (iii) during the session, the system receives audio and/or MIDI data signals produced from the group of instruments during the session, and analyzes these signals for pitch and rhythmic data and melodic structure, (iv) during the session, the system automatically generates musical descriptors from abstracted pitch, rhythmic and melody data, and uses the musical experience descriptors to compose music for each session on a real-time basis, and (v) in the event that the PERFORM mode has been selected, the system automatically generates music composed for the session"); probabilistically selecting one not timing table, from among a plurality of note timing tables (Silverstein ¶0556: "As shown in FIG. 28H, for each emotion-type musical experience descriptor supported by the system and selected by the system user, a probability measure is provided for each initial chord length and second chord lengths supported by the system, and these probability-based parameter tables are used during the automated music composition and generation process of the present invention."; Silverstein ¶0557: "The initial chord length table is used by loading a proper set of parameters as determined by B1, B37, B40, and B41 and, through a guided stochastic process, the subsystem makes a determination(s) as to what value (s) and/or parameter(s) in the table to use.") that corresponds to the selected timing type (Silverstein ¶0558: "The second chord length table is used by loading a proper set of parameters into the various subsystems determined by subsystems B1, B37, B40, and B41 and, through a guided stochastic process illustrated in FIGS. 2801, 2802 and 2803, the subsystem B11 makes a determination(s) as to what value(s) and/or parameter(s) to select from the parameter table and use during the automated music composition and generation process of the present invention."; Silverstein ¶0700: "the chord length tables shown in FIGS. 28H are loaded from subsystem B51, and in a parallel manner, the initial chord length for the first sub-phrase a is determined using the initial chord length table, and the second chord length for the first sub-phrase a is determined using both the initial chord length table and the second chord length table, as shown."), the selected note timing table defining timings of the sound emissions to be performed within the given time period as defined by the selected timing type to which it corresponds (Silverstein ¶0699: "For example, a chord in a 4/4 measure might last for two beats, and based on this information the next chord might last for 1 beat, and based on this information the final chord in the measure might last for 1 beat."; Silverstein ¶0933: "Further, the length of each chord is dependent upon the lengths of all previous chords; the lengths of the other chords in the same measure, phrase, and sub-phrase; and the lengths of the chords that might occur in the future.").
Silverstein does not explicitly disclose outputting an instruction to a sound source to emit a chord, the instruction being output at each of the timings of the sound emissions defined by the selected note timing table.
However, Yoichiro suggests: outputting an instruction to a sound source to emit a chord, the instruction being output at each of the timings of the sound emissions defined by the selected note timing table (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 5: "The CPU 1 instructs the accompaniment sound generating section 10 to generate and emit scale notes based on the timing data obtained from the timing control section 9, the scale note data stored in the scale note register (OR), and the chord pattern in the pattern memory section 4.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Silverstein by adding the sound emission of Yoichiro to produce a probability-based automated music composition and generation engine (Silverstein ¶0126).
Regarding claim 19, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 16 as discussed above. Yoichiro further suggests a case where an upbeat is specified as a sound emission timing (Yoichiro ¶0001, page 3: "As shown in Figure 4, one code pattern is divided into 16 steps, with each step having one bit of on flag (NF) and one bit of up stroke flag (UF), for a total of two bits of data.").
Silverstein further suggests that if a chord change is present on a next beat immediately following the upbeat in the selected note timing table (Silverstein ¶0945: "Next, the position in time and space of a chord is considered, as this factor has a strong relationship with which chord root notes are selected. Based on the upcoming beat in the measure for which a chord will be selected, the chord root note table parameters are further modified. This cycle replays again and again until all chords have been selected for a piece of music."), the at least one processor instructs the sound source to emit the chord be emitted on the next beat at the sound emission timing of the upbeat (Silverstein ¶0910: "For example, if a piece of music a certain tempo needs to accent a moment in the piece that would otherwise occur on halfway between the fourth beat of a 4/4 measure and the first beat of the next 4/4 measure, an change in the meter of a single measure preceding the desired accent to ⅞ would cause the accent to occur squarely on the first beat of the measure instead, which would then lend itself to a more musical accent in line with the downbeat of the measure.").
Claims 3-5, 11-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Silverstein in view of Yoichiro, and further in view of Meier et al. (US 5496962 A, March 5, 1996), hereinafter Meier.
Regarding claim 3, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which the number of chord emissions within the given time period is zero.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which the number of chord emissions within the given time period is zero (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19: "However, the random selection process described above still allows the selection of a less frequently used pattern. Effectively, the above-described random selection process is executed by the computer controller 31 to generate the chunk rhythm patterns by selecting the size of and the number of chunks or beats 23 in each line or voice 21, and to determine which data slots 22 in each beat or chunk 23 will be filled with note data or be left empty.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic music playing control device of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 4, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which a chord is emitted at a timing when the chord changes within the given time period.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which a chord is emitted at a timing when the chord changes within the given time period (Meier col. 10, lines 46-61: "After the chunk rhythm pattern is selected, chord data is selected designating the chord to be used in the current beat or chunk 23 (Step 210). Chord data C for the current beat or chunk 23 designates the chord in which the notes in the beat or chunk are to be played, and is indicative of each note's specific membership in the chord. The range of chords from which the computer controller 31 makes the selection in executing the current section generation element is stored in the music data library 3 and is based on the musical genre being implemented. In one example, the music data library 3 may contain a table of twelve major and twelve minor chords with parameters associated with each chord defining which chord can or cannot follow or precede other chords, as well as parameters for which chords are appropriate for a particular section or form.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic music playing control device of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 5, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches an automatic music playing control device comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the timing type is present for each tempo range in each of a plurality of regions into which a music piece is divided.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the timing type is present for each tempo range (Meier col. 14, lines 26-27: "The tempo data T designates the tempo for the current beat or chunk 23.") in each of a plurality of regions into which a music piece is divided (Meier col. 14, lines 29-31: "The section beginning/ending data S designates the beginning and ending of a section relative to other sections either preceding or following it.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic music playing control device of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 11, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a method comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which the number of chord emissions within the given time period is zero.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which the number of chord emissions within the given time period is zero (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19: "However, the random selection process described above still allows the selection of a less frequently used pattern. Effectively, the above-described random selection process is executed by the computer controller 31 to generate the chunk rhythm patterns by selecting the size of and the number of chunks or beats 23 in each line or voice 21, and to determine which data slots 22 in each beat or chunk 23 will be filled with note data or be left empty.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 12, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a method comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which a chord is emitted at a timing when the chord changes within the given time period.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which a chord is emitted at a timing when the chord changes within the given time period (Meier col. 10, lines 46-61: "After the chunk rhythm pattern is selected, chord data is selected designating the chord to be used in the current beat or chunk 23 (Step 210). Chord data C for the current beat or chunk 23 designates the chord in which the notes in the beat or chunk are to be played, and is indicative of each note's specific membership in the chord. The range of chords from which the computer controller 31 makes the selection in executing the current section generation element is stored in the music data library 3 and is based on the musical genre being implemented. In one example, the music data library 3 may contain a table of twelve major and twelve minor chords with parameters associated with each chord defining which chord can or cannot follow or precede other chords, as well as parameters for which chords are appropriate for a particular section or form.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 13, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a method comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the timing type is present for each tempo range in each of a plurality of regions into which a music piece is divided.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the timing type is present for each tempo range (Meier col. 14, lines 26-27: "The tempo data T designates the tempo for the current beat or chunk 23.") in each of a plurality of regions into which a music piece is divided (Meier col. 14, lines 29-31: "The section beginning/ending data S designates the beginning and ending of a section relative to other sections either preceding or following it.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 17, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 16 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which a chord is emitted at a timing when the chord changes within the given time period.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the plurality of timing types include a timing type in which a chord is emitted at a timing when the chord changes within the given time period (Meier col. 10, lines 46-61: "After the chunk rhythm pattern is selected, chord data is selected designating the chord to be used in the current beat or chunk 23 (Step 210). Chord data C for the current beat or chunk 23 designates the chord in which the notes in the beat or chunk are to be played, and is indicative of each note's specific membership in the chord. The range of chords from which the computer controller 31 makes the selection in executing the current section generation element is stored in the music data library 3 and is based on the musical genre being implemented. In one example, the music data library 3 may contain a table of twelve major and twelve minor chords with parameters associated with each chord defining which chord can or cannot follow or precede other chords, as well as parameters for which chords are appropriate for a particular section or form.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 18, Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 16 as discussed above.
Silverstein (in view of Yoichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the timing type is present for each tempo range in each of a plurality of regions into which a music piece is divided.
However, Meier teaches or suggests that the timing type is present for each tempo range (Meier col. 14, lines 26-27: "The tempo data T designates the tempo for the current beat or chunk 23.") in each of a plurality of regions into which a music piece is divided (Meier col. 14, lines 29-31: "The section beginning/ending data S designates the beginning and ending of a section relative to other sections either preceding or following it.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Silverstein (as modified by Yoichiro) by adding the timing types of Meier to generate varied chunk rhythm patterns (Meier col. 10, lines 12-19).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP G SCOLES/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837