DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on January 06, 2026 for the application filed November 04, 2022. Claims 1, 6, 7, 15, and 65 have been amended. Claims 66-70 have been added. Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 65-70 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 12-14, 65, 67, 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US2024/0107450A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US2022/0070775A1), Wang et al. (US2020/0252858A1), Sharma et al. (US2022/0408407A1), Cao et al. (US2024/0349087A1), Liang et al. (US2022/0015134A1), Dhanda et al. (US2021/0112526A1), and Kim et al. (US2020/0389906A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (Paragraph [0185]: Techniques discussed herein can be implemented using a computer program product, comprising for example computer-readable instructions stored on a computer readable medium which can be executed by a computer, for carrying out a method according to the present disclosure. Such a computer readable medium may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with an executable program stored thereon, wherein the program instructs a microprocessor to perform said method. Additionally, or alternatively, the techniques discussed herein may be realised at least in part by a computer readable communication medium that carries or communicates code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed, read, and/or executed by a computer.)
storing a latest received system information related to a network element (Paragraph [0125]: Also, in some case the wake-up signal configuration (if provided by the base station) may be provided on a regular basis (e.g. in system information or other broadcasted signalling) rather than on an on-demand basis as illustrated in FIG. 6. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0163]: It should also be noted that while the terminal can send a wake-up signal on an on-demand basis when it determines that it should start a base station search, a periodicity criterion may also be combined with the on-demand transmission of the signal. For example, the terminal may transmit the signal on-demand and, if a period has expired since the signal was last sent, the terminal may send another signal. Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
receiving a wake-up signal configuration from a network that includes information on how to provide assistance to the network, wherein the sending the message to the network element is performed based on the received wake-up signal configuration (Paragraph [0078]: In some examples, the second infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit wake-up signal configuration information to the terminal, the wake-up signal configuration information identifying one or more time and/or frequency resources for transmitting the wake-up signal. The terminal may then be configured to transmit the wake-up signal based on the received wake-up signal configuration information and wherein the first infrastructure equipment may then be configured to detect the wake-up signal from the terminal based on the wake-up signal configuration information. For example, the wake-up signal configuration information might have been previously communicated by the first infrastructure equipment to the second infrastructure equipment. Paragraph [0120]: It is also conceivable that the serving base station may determine the wake-up signal resources and/or configuration and notify both the terminal and one or more candidate base stations of the signals to use. Paragraph [0122]: Using the obtained configuration, the UE can send a UL wake-up signal. Paragraph [0125]: Also, in some case the wake-up signal configuration (if provided by the base station) may be provided on a regular basis (e.g. in system information or other broadcasted signalling) rather than on an on-demand basis as illustrated in FIG. 6. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
the wake-up signal configuration includinq at least one of: time resources, frequency resources, or wake-up signal sequences (Paragraph [0119]: FIG. 6 illustrates an example call flow in accordance with techniques of the present disclosure. In some cases, the UE can send an UL wake-up signal configuration request to its serving cell. The base station can respond with configuration information of this signal, e.g. information identifying one or more of: time-frequency resources, power, periodicity, etc. Paragraph [0120]: It is also conceivable that the serving base station may determine the wake-up signal resources and/or configuration and notify both the terminal and one or more candidate base stations of the signals to use.)
and a need for complete synchronization signal block instead of a discovery reference signal (Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station.)
sending, to the network element, a message comprising assistance information associated with system information stored at the apparatus (Paragraph [0125]: Also, in some case the wake-up signal configuration (if provided by the base station) may be provided on a regular basis (e.g. in system information or other broadcasted signalling) rather than on an on-demand basis as illustrated in FIG. 6. Paragraph [0138]: The terminal sends a wake-up uplink which is received by the candidate base station, such as a UAV or other type of base station. If identifiers and/or configuration have been previously received from the base station, these may be used to enable a successful receipt of the wake-up signal by the candidate base station. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
wherein the assistance information is indicative of the stored latest received system information Paragraph [0163]: It should also be noted that while the terminal can send a wake-up signal on an on-demand basis when it determines that it should start a base station search, a periodicity criterion may also be combined with the on-demand transmission of the signal. For example, the terminal may transmit the signal on-demand and, if a period has expired since the signal was last sent, the terminal may send another signal. Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
and receiving a response to the message from the network element (Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface.)
Wei does not explicitly teach at least: a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information, and an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information.
However, Elkotby teaches a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information (Paragraph [0236]: In an embodiment, the WTRU may determine that it has a valid version of system information set if the WTRU has been less than some preconfigured (R) minutes/hours since the stored system information sets have been last verified. In another embodiment, the WTRU may determine that it has a valid version of system information set if one or more of the following parameters' values, detected in the BSSI, matches the one of the stored system information sets: (1) an area identifier that marks/identifies BSs/cells that are part of a specific area deployment and/or have the same SI configurations; (2) a cell identifier that differentiate between different/incremental changes in system information among cells within a specific area; (3) a system information version identifier that marks/identifies the latest version considered by a BS/cell within a specified area. Paragraph [0239]: In an embodiment, the system information version identifier may be used for determining how to update the stored system information. For example, at 1010, the processor may calculate the difference between the system information version identifier in the BSSI and the system information version identifier in the first system information set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information, as taught by Elkotby in the system of Wei, so that the UE can determine if it has a valid version of system information (Elkotby: Paragraphs [0236], [0239]).
The combination of Wei and Elkotby does not explicitly teach an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information; wherein the assistance information indicates the following: a valid system information block one (SIB1) stored based on a SIB1 validity timer, when configured; a stored SIB1 without ensuring its validity if the SIB1validity timer is not configured; an SIB1 time and SIB1 version of the stored SIB1.
However, Wang teaches an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information (Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated. Paragraph [0146]: Note that the MIB indication is a systemInfoValueTag-indication in the sense that if any of the content of SIB1-BR is changed systemInfoValueTag is updated. However, in yet another embodiment the UE could still skip acquiring SIB1-BR although systemInfoValueTag has been updated. That is, a first bit is, as above, used to specify if the UE needs to acquire SIB1-BR or can skip it, whereas the additional bits specify what has changed in SIB1-BR.)
wherein the assistance information indicates the following: a valid system information block one (SIB1) stored based on a SIB1 validity timer, when configured; a stored SIB1 without ensuring its validity if the SIB1validity timer is not configured (Paragraph [0031]: 1) Signal the MIB/SIB validity interval or expiration time in a new system information block (SIB). Paragraph [0065]: Since most of MIB and SI rarely changes, one way to allow the UE to skip reacquiring MIB(-NB) and SI that will remain unchanged is to have eNB indicate the validity interval or the expiration time of MIB(-NB) and SI information beforehand. Paragraph [0070]: A new system information type can be defined to indicate MI/SI validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0120]: FIG. 2 illustrates a method 200, which may be implemented on UE 102. UE 102 receives a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) (step 202). UE 102 receives an indication of validity of at least a portion of the received MIB and/or SIB (step 204). Paragraph [0160]: In some embodiments, the method also includes the network node performing the following steps: updating the certain SI; setting an SI change flag to a first value to indicate that the certain SI has changed; activating a timer that will expire when the MIB indication time period (e.g., 24 hours) has elapsed since the timer was activated; if the timer expires, setting the SI change flag to a second value to indicate that the certain SI has not changed within the MIB indication time period (e.g., within the past 24 hours); and if the certain SI is further updated while the timer is still running, resetting the timer so that timer will expire when the MIB indication time period has elapsed since the timer was reset. In this embodiment, the one bit flag included in the MIB is set equal to the value of the SI change flag.)
an SIB1 time and SIB1 version of the stored SIB1 (Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated. Paragraph [0146]: Note that the MIB indication is a systemInfoValueTag-indication in the sense that if any of the content of SIB1-BR is changed systemInfoValueTag is updated. However, in yet another embodiment the UE could still skip acquiring SIB1-BR although systemInfoValueTag has been updated. That is, a first bit is, as above, used to specify if the UE needs to acquire SIB1-BR or can skip it, whereas the additional bits specify what has changed in SIB1-BR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information; ; wherein the assistance information indicates the following: a valid system information block one (SIB1) stored based on a SIB1 validity timer, when configured; a stored SIB1 without ensuring its validity if the SIB1validity timer is not configured; an SIB1 time and SIB1 version of the stored SIB1, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei and Elkotby, so that depending on whether the time stamp has changed, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated, and based on the validity timer, and SIB time and SIB version, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs: [0031], [0065], [0070], [0091], [0120], [0127], [0131], [0146], [0160]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: determine validity of a wake-up signal confiquration independently of SIB1 validity, not send a wake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, send awake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtain a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated.
However, Sharma teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: determine validity of a wake-up signal confiquration independently of SIB1 validity, not send a wake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, send awake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtain a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated (Paragraph [0089]: The WUS configuration for the neighbouring cells may, for example, include an indication of a WUS sequence, radio resources (in time and frequency) used for WUS signalling,…… and potentially a WUS validity timer (i.e. a duration for which the associated WUS configuration is considered to remain valid, and after which the UE should seek new/updated WUS configuration information). Paragraph [0090]: the network may not be aware when a UE has moved cells and hence providing the UE with the WUS configuration for a neighbouring cell can help enable the UE to detect the WUS used by a cell without the need to read the SIB of the cell and be reconfigured, which can in some cases consume a relatively large amount of battery power. This approach can thus help a UE to save power (by not reading the SIB in the new cell)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: determine validity of a wake-up signal confiquration independently of SIB1 validity, not send a wake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, send awake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtain a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, as taught by Sharma in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, and Wang, so that the apparatus can send a wake-up signal based on the validity of the wake-up signal configuration, independent of the SIB1 validity, which can help save power and resources (Sharma: Paragraphs [0089], [0090]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, and Sharma does not explicitly teach and wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to include, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources.
However, Cao teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to include, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources (Paragraph [0003]: In an uplink transmission process, when user equipment (user equipment, UE) needs to transmit uplink data, the UE needs to request, by using an uplink scheduling request (scheduling request, SR), a base station to perform uplink resource scheduling, and report, by using a buffer status report (buffer status report, BSR), a data amount of to-be-transmitted uplink data in a logical channel group (logical channel group, LCG), so that the base station allocates sufficient uplink resources to each LCG for uplink data transmission. Paragraph [0112]: Further, the terminal sends the BSR to the access network device, to request the access network device to configure a corresponding uplink transmission resource for the to-be-sent uplink data, and the terminal sends the uplink data to the access network device based on the uplink transmission resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to include, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources, as taught by Cao in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, and Sharma, so that the base station can configure for the terminal based on the BSR, the uplink transmission resource for transmitting the uplink data (Cao: Paragraphs [0076], [0112]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, and Cao does not explicitly teach an indication to activate a configured grant.
However, Liang teaches an indication to activate a configured grant (Paragraph [0048]: Case 2: The MAC CE transmitted by the terminal is an activation or deactivation request, and the terminal can perform final confirmation only after the network-side device performs confirmation. The network-side device may approve the activation or deactivation request of the terminal, or may reject the activation or deactivation request of the terminal. In this case, the MAC CE is used to request to activate or deactivate the configured grant resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication to activate a configured grant, as taught by Liang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, and Cao, so that a resource collision problem can be avoided between the terminal and the network (Liang: Paragraphs [0048], [0049]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, and Liang does not explicitly teach a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the apparatus.
However, Dhanda teaches a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the apparatus (Paragraph [0089]: As shown, the UE 120 may transmit a first UE identifier (shown as UE-ID1) to the base station 110. The base station 110 may store the first UE identifier for the UE 120 in memory of the base station 110, such as in association with a UE context and/or a PUR context associated with the UE 120. Thus, the first UE identifier may be used for PUR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the apparatus, as taught by Dhanda in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, and Liang, in order to synchronize the UE equipment for configuring uplink resources (Dhanda: Paragraphs [0002], [0089]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, and Dhanda does not explicitly teach the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type.
However, Kim teaches the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type (Paragraph [0069]: The traffic information of a terminal may include predetermined traffic ID information. For example, if the user terminal 200 is a terminal capable only of voice communication, the user terminal 200 may transmit a traffic ID concerning voice communication to the base station 100. In another example, if the user terminal 200 is a terminal capable of voice communication, data communication, and VR communication, an ID regarding all three traffic types may be transmitted to the base station 100. Paragraph [0070]: Information regarding the QoS, reliability, delay time, packet capacity, and packet generation probability can be predefined for each traffic type. Paragraph [0071]: As described later on, the scheduling of the present disclosure may be performed according to traffic type, and to this end, the user terminal 200 may transmit the traffic information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, and Dhanda, so that scheduling information transmitted to the user terminal by the base station may include communication resource information (time information and frequency information) for each traffic type that will be used by the terminal (Kim: Paragraphs [0069], [0070], [0071], [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the instructions stored in the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the message comprises a wake-up signal, and perform storing a configuration for wake up signal transmission (Paragraph [0138]: The terminal sends a wake-up uplink which is received by the candidate base station. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
receiving the system information from a dormant/capacity cell, before it goes dormant, or from a neighbor/coverage cell (Paragraph [0129]: Additionally or alternatively, after the serving gNB receives a UL wake-up signal configuration request from a connected UE, the serving gNB can send a wake-up signal to a candidate base station, instead of UE. From one perspective, when the UE is in a connected mode with a serving base station (e.g. RRC connected), the serving base station is often expected to have sufficient information to notify nearby candidate base station(s) on behalf of the UE. Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. Paragraph [0168]: According to some implementation, when base station (or relay, infrastructure equipment, etc.) is about to go to sleep, it may check whether one or more terminals (e.g. idle terminals) within coverage plan to use the base station. The base station can send a notification that the base station intends to transition to a dormant or sleeping state, for example by paging or using system information. Idle UEs receiving the notification may in return send a “keep awake” signal in order to stop the base station from transitioning to a sleep mode, for example to request the base station to extend the operation in case the UE plans to use the service(s) it provides.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches he apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the network element comprises a dormant network element, wherein the apparatus is configured to send the wake up signal directly to the dormant network element or send a message to another network element, which in turn may wake up the dormant network element (Paragraph [0063]: For example the first infrastructure equipment may be configured to transition to the active state from a dormant state, the dormant state being state in which the first infrastructure equipment does not provide the air interface and in which the first infrastructure equipment monitors uplink signals for wake-up signals. Alternatively or additionally, the first infrastructure equipment may be configured to transition to the active state from a dormant state, the dormant state being state in which the transmitter of the first infrastructure equipment is inactive. Paragraph [0074]: In some cases, the second infrastructure equipment may notify the terminal of one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal, and optionally of further wake-up signal configuration information. In some cases, the one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal can be previously notified by the first infrastructure equipment to the second infrastructure equipment. In some cases, the terminal is configured to transmit a wake-up signal configuration request; and the second infrastructure equipment is configured to notify the terminal of one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal in response to the wake-up signal configuration request. Paragraph [0123]: In cases where the configuration is provided by the base station, the wake-up signal configuration can be shared by the candidate base stations. This may be done via direct transmission from the candidate base station and/or via other means, e.g. by retrieving a suitable configuration manually or using a node storing wake-up signal configuration for a plurality of base stations of the network. Accordingly, candidate base stations may determine one or more time periods and/or frequency resources for listening to wake-up signals and notify the neighbouring base stations of the wake-up signal configuration. Paragraph [0128]: In implementations such as the one illustrated in FIG. 6 , after the serving base station receives the request from the UE, the serving gNB can in some cases forward its cell ID together with the ID of the requesting UE to nearby candidate base stations. This may for example be helpful to notify the nearby base stations when the terminal is configured to request the wake-up signal configuration prior to sending the wake-up signal (e.g. because it has determined that it will send or is likely to send a wake-up signal). This can allow the candidate gNB to discover the corresponding UL wake-up signal once sent by the terminal. Paragraph [0129]: Additionally or alternatively, after the serving gNB receives a UL wake-up signal configuration request from a connected UE, the serving gNB can send a wake-up signal to a candidate base station, instead of UE. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches he apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the assistance information is signaled explicitly or implicitly (Paragraph [0078]: In some examples, the second infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit wake-up signal configuration information to the terminal, the wake-up signal configuration information identifying one or more time and/or frequency resources for transmitting the wake-up signal. The terminal may then be configured to transmit the wake-up signal based on the received wake-up signal configuration information and wherein the first infrastructure equipment may then be configured to detect the wake-up signal from the terminal based on the wake-up signal configuration information. For example, the wake-up signal configuration information might have been previously communicated by the first infrastructure equipment to the second infrastructure equipment. Paragraph [0120]: It is also conceivable that the serving base station may determine the wake-up signal resources and/or configuration and notify both the terminal and one or more candidate base stations of the signals to use. Paragraph [0122]: Using the obtained configuration, the UE can send a UL wake-up signal. Paragraph [0138]: The terminal sends a wake-up uplink which is received by the candidate base station, such as a UAV or other type of base station. If identifiers and/or configuration have been previously received from the base station, these may be used to enable a successful receipt of the wake-up signal by the candidate base station. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the wake-up signal configuration is indicative of what information to provide as at least part of the assistance information and wherein the wake-up signal configuration is further indicative of how the information is to be conveyed (Paragraph [0078]: In some examples, the second infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit wake-up signal configuration information to the terminal, the wake-up signal configuration information identifying one or more time and/or frequency resources for transmitting the wake-up signal. The terminal may then be configured to transmit the wake-up signal based on the received wake-up signal configuration information and wherein the first infrastructure equipment may then be configured to detect the wake-up signal from the terminal based on the wake-up signal configuration information. For example, the wake-up signal configuration information might have been previously communicated by the first infrastructure equipment to the second infrastructure equipment. Paragraph [0120]: It is also conceivable that the serving base station may determine the wake-up signal resources and/or configuration and notify both the terminal and one or more candidate base stations of the signals to use. Paragraph [0122]: Using the obtained configuration, the UE can send a UL wake-up signal. Paragraph [0138]: The terminal sends a wake-up uplink which is received by the candidate base station, such as a UAV or other type of base station. If identifiers and/or configuration have been previously received from the base station, these may be used to enable a successful receipt of the wake-up signal by the candidate base station. Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 7 (see rejection for claim 7);
Wei further teaches wherein the assistance information is provided explicitly through additional information elements included in the wake up signal payload, wherein the wake up signal contains sequences and payload sent in specific time and frequency resources (Paragraph [0119]: FIG. 6 illustrates an example call flow in accordance with techniques of the present disclosure. In some cases, the UE can send an UL wake-up signal configuration request to its serving cell. The base station can respond with configuration information of this signal, e.g. information identifying one or more of: time-frequency resources, power, periodicity, etc. Paragraph [0120]: It is also conceivable that the serving base station may determine the wake-up signal resources and/or configuration and notify both the terminal and one or more candidate base stations of the signals to use.)
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach that the apparatus provides additional information including the last SIB1 time and the latest SIB1 version being stored.
However, Wang teaches that the apparatus provides additional information including the last SIB1 time and the latest SIB1 version being stored (Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated. Paragraph [0146]: Note that the MIB indication is a systemInfoValueTag-indication in the sense that if any of the content of SIB1-BR is changed systemInfoValueTag is updated. However, in yet another embodiment the UE could still skip acquiring SIB1-BR although systemInfoValueTag has been updated. That is, a first bit is, as above, used to specify if the UE needs to acquire SIB1-BR or can skip it, whereas the additional bits specify what has changed in SIB1-BR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that the apparatus provides additional information including the last SIB1 time and the latest SIB1 version being stored, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that based on the last SIB time and latest SIB version, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs [0091], [0127], [0131], [0146]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the response comprises at least one of: at least one reference signal or system information based on the message (Paragraph [0083]: In some cases, upon receipt of the wake-up signal from the terminal, the first infrastructure equipment can transition to a broadcasting state wherein, in the broadcasting state, the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit a reference signal. The terminal can then detect the reference signal and based on the reference signal (and possibly on reference signals from other infrastructure equipment) and determine whether to connect to the first infrastructure equipment (or another one, if appropriate). Paragraph [0089]: The first infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit, once transitioned to the active state, one or more of: a reference signal, system information and synchronisation information. Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface.)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the assistance information is provided to the network element to be used at the network element, or wherein the assistance information is provided to the network element to be used at a neighbor network element of the network element (Paragraph [0125]: Also, in some case the wake-up signal configuration (if provided by the base station) may be provided on a regular basis (e.g. in system information or other broadcasted signalling) rather than on an on-demand basis as illustrated in FIG. 6. Paragraph [0148]: In accordance to some techniques discussed herein, connected UEs that have determine that they will initiate a base station (or other infrastructure equipment) search and which will thus want the neighbouring base station(s) to receive a wake-up signal identifying them as the source, it can send UL wake-up signal request to its serving gNB. The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request) or the request may prompt the serving base station to send the wake-up signal on behalf of the terminal. Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the response comprises an acknowledgment without updated information of system information block one (Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface.)
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach updated information of system information block one based on a validity verification indicating that the stored system information is still valid.
However, Wang teaches updated information of system information block one based on a validity verification indicating that the stored system information is still valid (Paragraph [0031]: 1) Signal the MIB/SIB validity interval or expiration time in a new system information block (SIB). Paragraph [0065]: Since most of MIB and SI rarely changes, one way to allow the UE to skip reacquiring MIB(-NB) and SI that will remain unchanged is to have eNB indicate the validity interval or the expiration time of MIB(-NB) and SI information beforehand. Paragraph [0070]: A new system information type can be defined to indicate MI/SI validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0120]: FIG. 2 illustrates a method 200, which may be implemented on UE 102. UE 102 receives a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) (step 202). UE 102 receives an indication of validity of at least a portion of the received MIB and/or SIB (step 204). [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated. Paragraph [0146]: Note that the MIB indication is a systemInfoValueTag-indication in the sense that if any of the content of SIB1-BR is changed systemInfoValueTag is updated. However, in yet another embodiment the UE could still skip acquiring SIB1-BR although systemInfoValueTag has been updated. That is, a first bit is, as above, used to specify if the UE needs to acquire SIB1-BR or can skip it, whereas the additional bits specify what has changed in SIB1-BR. Paragraph [0160]: In some embodiments, the method also includes the network node performing the following steps: updating the certain SI; setting an SI change flag to a first value to indicate that the certain SI has changed; activating a timer that will expire when the MIB indication time period (e.g., 24 hours) has elapsed since the timer was activated; if the timer expires, setting the SI change flag to a second value to indicate that the certain SI has not changed within the MIB indication time period (e.g., within the past 24 hours); and if the certain SI is further updated while the timer is still running, resetting the timer so that timer will expire when the MIB indication time period has elapsed since the timer was reset. In this embodiment, the one bit flag included in the MIB is set equal to the value of the SI change flag.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to updated information of system information block one based on a validity verification indicating that the stored system information is still valid, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that so that based on the validity timer, and SIB time and SIB version, it can be determined whether the stored system information is still valid (Wang: Paragraphs [0031], [0065], [0091], [0120], [0127], [0131], [0146], [0160]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei further teaches wherein the response comprises an acknowledgement that a wake-up request associated with the wake-up signal is received (Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0148]: In accordance to some techniques discussed herein, connected UEs that have determine that they will initiate a base station (or other infrastructure equipment) search and which will thus want the neighbouring base station(s) to receive a wake-up signal identifying them as the source, it can send UL wake-up signal request to its serving gNB. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface.)
Regarding claim 65, Wei teaches a method, comprising: storing, at a user equipment, a latest received system information related to a network element; receivinq a wake-up signal configuration from a network that includes information on how to provide assistance to the network, wherein the sending the message to the network element is performed based on the received wake-up signal configuration; and a need for complete synchronization signal block instead of a discovery reference signal; sending, to the network element, a message comprising assistance information associated with system information stored at the user equipment, wherein the assistance information is indicative of the stored latest received system information; and receiving a response to the message from the network element (see rejection for claim 1);
Wei does not explicitly teach at least: a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information, and an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information.
However, Elkotby teaches a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information, as taught by Elkotby in the system of Wei, so that the UE can determine if it has a valid version of system information (Elkotby: Paragraphs [0236], [0239]).
The combination of Wei and Elkotby does not explicitly teach an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information; wherein the assistance information indicates the following: a valid system information block one (SIB1) stored based on a SIB1 validity timer, when configured; a stored SIB1 without ensuring its validity if the SIB1 validity timer is not configured; anSIB1 time and SIB1 version of the stored SIB1.
However, Wang teaches an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information; wherein the assistance information indicates the following: a valid system information block one (SIB1) stored based on a SIB1 validity timer, when configured; a stored SIB1 without ensuring its validity if the SIB1 validity timer is not configured; anSIB1 time and SIB1 version of the stored SIB1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information; wherein the assistance information indicates the following: a valid system information block one (SIB1) stored based on a SIB1 validity timer, when configured; a stored SIB1 without ensuring its validity if the SIB1 validity timer is not configured; anSIB1 time and SIB1 version of the stored SIB1, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei and Elkotby, so that depending on whether the time stamp has changed, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated, and based on the validity timer, and SIB time and SIB version, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs: [0031], [0065], [0070], [0091], [0120], [0127], [0131], [0146], [0160]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: determininq validity of a wake-up signal configuration independently of SIB1 validity, not sendinq a wake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, sendinq a wake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtaininq a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated.
However, Sharma teaches wherein the method further comprises: determininq validity of a wake-up signal configuration independently of SIB1 validity, not sendinq a wake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, sendinq a wake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtaininq a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the method further comprises: determininq validity of a wake-up signal configuration independently of SIB1 validity, not sendinq a wake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, sendinq a wake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtaininq a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, as taught by Sharma in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, and Wang, so that the apparatus can send a wake-up signal based on the validity of the wake-up signal configuration, independent of the SIB1 validity, which can help save power and resources (Sharma: Paragraphs [0089], [0090]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, and Sharma does not explicitly teach including, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources.
However, Cao teaches including, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide including, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources, as taught by Cao in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, and Sharma, so that the base station can configure for the terminal based on the BSR, the uplink transmission resource for transmitting the uplink data (Cao: Paragraphs [0076], [0112]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, and Cao does not explicitly teach an indication to activate a configured grant.
However, Liang teaches an indication to activate a configured grant (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication to activate a configured grant, as taught by Liang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, and Cao, so that a resource collision problem can be avoided between the terminal and the network (Liang: Paragraphs [0048], [0049]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, and Liang does not explicitly teach a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the user equipment.
However, Dhanda teaches a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the user equipment (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the user equipment, as taught by Dhanda in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, and Liang, in order to synchronize the UE equipment for configuring uplink resources (Dhanda: Paragraphs [0002], [0089]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, and Dhanda does not explicitly teach the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type.
However, Kim teaches the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, and Dhanda, so that scheduling information transmitted to the user terminal by the base station may include communication resource information (time information and frequency information) for each traffic type that will be used by the terminal (Kim: Paragraphs [0069], [0070], [0071], [0088]).
Regarding claim 67, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the method of claim 65 (see rejection for claim 65);
Wei further teaches wherein the assistance information is provided explicitly by including, in the wake-up signal payload (Paragraph [0119]: FIG. 6 illustrates an example call flow in accordance with techniques of the present disclosure. In some cases, the UE can send an UL wake-up signal configuration request to its serving cell. The base station can respond with configuration information of this signal, e.g. information identifying one or more of: time-frequency resources, power, periodicity, etc. Paragraph [0120]: It is also conceivable that the serving base station may determine the wake-up signal resources and/or configuration and notify both the terminal and one or more candidate base stations of the signals to use.)
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach a last SIB1 time and a latest SIB1 version of the stored SIB1.
However, Wang teaches a last SIB1 time and a latest SIB1 version of the stored SIB1 (Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated. Paragraph [0146]: Note that the MIB indication is a systemInfoValueTag-indication in the sense that if any of the content of SIB1-BR is changed systemInfoValueTag is updated. However, in yet another embodiment the UE could still skip acquiring SIB1-BR although systemInfoValueTag has been updated. That is, a first bit is, as above, used to specify if the UE needs to acquire SIB1-BR or can skip it, whereas the additional bits specify what has changed in SIB1-BR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a last SIB1 time and a latest SIB1 version of the stored SIB1, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that based on the last SIB time and latest SIB version, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs [0091], [0127], [0131], [0146]).
Regarding claim 69, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the method of claim 65, further comprising (see rejection for claim 65);
Wei further teaches that a complete synchronization signal block is needed, receiving a response comprising a complete synchronization signal block and SIB1 (Paragraph [0122]: Using the obtained configuration, the UE can send a UL wake-up signal. Paragraph [0125]: Also, in some case the wake-up signal configuration (if provided by the base station) may be provided on a regular basis (e.g. in system information or other broadcasted signalling) rather than on an on-demand basis as illustrated in FIG. 6. Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach
when the user equipment has indicated that there is no stored SIB1.
However, Wang teaches when the user equipment has indicated that there is no stored SIB1 (Paragraph [0031]: 1) Signal the MIB/SIB validity interval or expiration time in a new system information block (SIB). Paragraph [0065]: Since most of MIB and SI rarely changes, one way to allow the UE to skip reacquiring MIB(-NB) and SI that will remain unchanged is to have eNB indicate the validity interval or the expiration time of MIB(-NB) and SI information beforehand. Paragraph [0070]: A new system information type can be defined to indicate MI/SI validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0120]: FIG. 2 illustrates a method 200, which may be implemented on UE 102. UE 102 receives a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) (step 202). UE 102 receives an indication of validity of at least a portion of the received MIB and/or SIB (step 204). Paragraph [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the user equipment has indicated that there is no stored SIB1, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs [0031], [0065], [0070], [0091], [0120], [0127], [0131]).
Claims 6, 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US2024/0107450A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US2022/0070775A1), Wang et al. (US2020/0252858A1), Sharma et al. (US2022/0408407A1), Cao et al. (US2024/0349087A1), Liang et al. (US2022/0015134A1), Dhanda et al. (US2021/0112526A1), Kim et al. (US2020/0389906A1), and further in view of Tran et al. (US2023/0362796A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions stored in the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach after the expiry of the SIB1 validity timer, keeping the stored SIB1 until receivinq an updated version and merging the stored SIB1 with updated information by receivinq changes relative to the stored SIB1.
However, Tran teaches after the expiry of the SIB1 validity timer, keeping the stored SIB1 until receivinq an updated version and merging the stored SIB1 with updated information by receivinq changes relative to the stored SIB1 (Paragraph [0135]: This acquisition of SI by the UE might just be unnecessary if SI has not been changed, i.e., re-acquisition of SI. It is therefore reasonable to allow UE to skip SI acquisition in these cases, such that the UE does not need to acquire SI (for example, SIB1) at low SNR region, since the UE can simply rely on a stored SIB1 i.e. a SIB1 which is previously acquired by the UE and then stored in the UE, and is still valid since SI is unchanged. Advantageously, this reduces efforts of measurement and acquisition of SIB1 from UEs which result in power saving. Paragraph [0136]: Acquisition of SIB1 can be skipped based on certain conditions. The conditions could be based on one or a combination of (1) an explicit indication or (2) a validity duration or a timer. Paragraph [0139]: According to various embodiments, instead of skipping the acquisition of SIB1, the acquisition of at least a part of SIB1 (i.e. a part of information specified in SIB1) can be skipped based on certain conditions. These conditions could be based on one or a combination of (1) an explicit indication, or (2) a validity duration or a timer. It will be appreciated that the various embodiments and examples for skipping acquisition of SIB1 as discussed above are similarly applicable here. Advantageously, this enables a UE to flexibly keep up--to--date regarding a change of a part of SIB1, if any. This is because, based on the certain indication, if there is any small change in SIB1, the UE only updates this change and skips the acquisition of the remaining information in SIB1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide after the expiry of the SIB1 validity timer, keeping the stored SIB1 until receiving an updated version and merging the stored SIB1 with updated information by receiving changes relative to the stored SIB1, as taught by Tran in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that power saving can be achieved (Tran: Paragraphs [0135], [0136], [0139]).
Regarding claim 70, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches The method of claim 65, further comprising (see rejection for claim 65);
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach when only a part of the stored SIB1 is outdated, receiving a response comprising updated SIB1 information based on differences relative to the stored SIB1.
However, Tran teaches when only a part of the stored SIB1 is outdated, receiving a response comprising updated SIB1 information based on differences relative to the stored SIB1 (Paragraph [0135]: This acquisition of SI by the UE might just be unnecessary if SI has not been changed, i.e., re-acquisition of SI. It is therefore reasonable to allow UE to skip SI acquisition in these cases, such that the UE does not need to acquire SI (for example, SIB1) at low SNR region, since the UE can simply rely on a stored SIB1 i.e. a SIB1 which is previously acquired by the UE and then stored in the UE, and is still valid since SI is unchanged. Advantageously, this reduces efforts of measurement and acquisition of SIB1 from UEs which result in power saving. Paragraph [0136]: Acquisition of SIB1 can be skipped based on certain conditions. The conditions could be based on one or a combination of (1) an explicit indication or (2) a validity duration or a timer. Paragraph [0139]: According to various embodiments, instead of skipping the acquisition of SIB1, the acquisition of at least a part of SIB1 (i.e. a part of information specified in SIB1) can be skipped based on certain conditions. These conditions could be based on one or a combination of (1) an explicit indication, or (2) a validity duration or a timer. It will be appreciated that the various embodiments and examples for skipping acquisition of SIB1 as discussed above are similarly applicable here. Advantageously, this enables a UE to flexibly keep up--to--date regarding a change of a part of SIB1, if any. This is because, based on the certain indication, if there is any small change in SIB1, the UE only updates this change and skips the acquisition of the remaining information in SIB1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when only a part of the stored SIB1 is outdated, receiving a response comprising updated SIB1 information based on differences relative to the stored SIB1, as taught by Tran in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that power saving can be achieved (Tran: Paragraphs [0135], [0136], [0139]).
Claims 10, 11, 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US20240107450A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US20220070775A1), and Wang et al. (US20200252858A1), Sharma et al. (US2022/0408407A1), Cao et al. (US2024/0349087A1), Liang et al. (US2022/0015134A1), Dhanda et al. (US2021/0112526A1), and Kim et al. (US2020/0389906A1), and further in view of Babaei (US2024/0098636A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one reference signal comprises at least: a tracking reference signal, and a synchronization signal block (Paragraph [0089]: The first infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit, once transitioned to the active state, one or more of: a reference signal, system information and synchronisation information. Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface. Paragraph [0150]: In some cases, the use of the wake-up signal may be employed to assist the system in tracking or following the terminal, for example with a view to providing better QoS for the UE.)
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach channel state information reference signal.
However, Babaei teaches channel state information reference signal (Paragraph [0286]: FIG. 19 shows an example flow diagram in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present disclosure. At 1910, a wireless device may receive a signal or a channel indicating that an exit or a wake up from an energy saving state (e.g., a network energy saving (NES) state). Paragraph [0292]: In an example, the signal/channel may be an activation DCI. In an example, the activation DCI may be for activation of semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reference signal (SP CSI-RS) transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide channel state information reference signal, as taught by Babaei in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that the wireless device can get an indication of a wake up signal (Babaei: Paragraphs [0286], [0292]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the system information comprises system information block one.
However, Babaei teaches wherein the system information comprises system information block one (Paragraph [0229]: In an example, with on-demand SSB/SIB1, the transmission of SSB/SIB1 may be triggered by an uplink signal, e.g., a wakeup request/wakeup signal (WUS). In an example, the SSB/SIB1 may be transmitted by the base station in response to receiving the wakeup request/wakeup signal (e.g., for a per-configured/configurable duration starting from a timing of receiving the wakeup request or starting from an offset after the timing of receiving the wakeup request) and may not be transmitted when the uplink trigger signals is not detected by the base station. In an example, the UE may achieve time-frequency synchronization with gNB before uplink trigger signal transmission. In an example, for on-demand SSB scheme, necessary synchronization signal may be needed. In an example, a light/relaxed SSB, e.g., discovery reference signal (DRS) may be used a as synchronization signal. Paragraph [0230]: Upon receiving WUS in a WUS occasion by the base station, the base station may start to broadcast SSBs and/or SIB1 according to a pre-configured/configured periodicity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the system information comprises system information block one, as taught by Babaei in the system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that the information in the System Information Block 1 (SIB1) can be used by the wireless device to access the cell (Babaei: Paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 66, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the method of claim 65 (see rejection for claim 65);
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information is provided implicitly by selecting a random access preamble sequence and time/frequency resources that are mapped to UE-verified conditions.
However, Babaei teaches wherein the assistance information is provided implicitly by selecting a random access preamble sequence and time/frequency resources that are mapped to UE-verified conditions (Paragraph [0083]: The random access parameters may indicate radio resources (e.g., time-frequency resources) for transmission of the random access preamble (e.g., Msg1), configuration index, …..and UE specific random access parameters. Paragraph [0256]: In an example, the wakeup request/WUS may be based on a random access message (e.g., a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA) in a random access process. For example, the wireless device may receive random access configuration parameters indicating one or more random access preambles and/or one or more random access occasions, wherein the one or more random access preambles/the one or more random access occasions, used by the wireless device in a random access process, indicate a request for change from a dormant/power saving/NES state to the non-NES/normal state. For example, the wireless device may multiplex data associated with the wakeup request/WUS (e.g., a MAC CE associated with the wakeup request) in a random access message. In an example, the one or more random access preambles/the one or more random access occasions, used by the wireless device in the random access process, or the data associated with the wakeup request that is multiplexed in the random access message (e.g., in a Msg3 in response to receiving an uplink grant via RAR or in Msg A) may indicate one or more first cells that the wakeup request is for/associated with/directed to.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information is provided implicitly by selecting a random access preamble sequence and time/frequency resources that are mapped to UE-verified conditions, as taught by Babaei in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that the assistance information for the wake-up signal can be provided based on the time/frequency resources indicated in the random access parameters (Babaei: Paragraphs [0083], [0256]).
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US2024/0107450A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US2022/0070775A1), Wang et al. (US2020/0252858A1), Sharma et al. (US2022/0408407A1), Cao et al. (US2024/0349087A1), Liang et al. (US2022/0015134A1), Dhanda et al. (US2021/0112526A1), Kim et al. (US2020/0389906A1), and further in view of Kwak et al. (US2023/0199649A1).
Regarding claim 68, the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim teaches the method of claim 65, further comprising (see rejection for claim 65);
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach starting a SIB1 validity timer upon storing SIB1 and verifying validity of the stored SIB1 based on the SIB1 validity timer; and when the stored SIB1 is not valid, receiving a response comprising a complete SIB1 and starting a SIB1 validity timer for the received SIB1.
However, Wang teaches starting a SIB1 validity timer upon storing SIB1 and verifying validity of the stored SIB1 based on the SIB1 validity timer; and when the stored SIB1 is not valid, receiving a response comprising a complete SIB1 and starting a SIB1 validity timer for the received SIB1 (Paragraph [0031]: 1) Signal the MIB/SIB validity interval or expiration time in a new system information block (SIB). Paragraph [0065]: Since most of MIB and SI rarely changes, one way to allow the UE to skip reacquiring MIB(-NB) and SI that will remain unchanged is to have eNB indicate the validity interval or the expiration time of MIB(-NB) and SI information beforehand. Paragraph [0070]: A new system information type can be defined to indicate MI/SI validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0091]: In the “go-to-sleep” signal and/or the “wake-up” signal we can further include indications to the UE when was the previous time the MIB has changed, e.g., using a time stamp or a version number of other mechanisms. Paragraph [0120]: FIG. 2 illustrates a method 200, which may be implemented on UE 102. UE 102 receives a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) (step 202). UE 102 receives an indication of validity of at least a portion of the received MIB and/or SIB (step 204). [0127]: Network node 104 transmits a SIB on the PDSCH (step 404). Network node 104 transmits an indication of validity of at least a portion of the transmitted MIB and/or SIB. The validity indication indicates a validity interval or expiration time. Paragraph [0131]: Because SIB1-BR (and the systemInfoValueTag therein) is rarely updated, it is advantageous to have a MIB indication (e.g., flag) that is set to 1 to indicate that SIB1-BR/systemInfoValueTag has been updated at some point during a certain period of time (e.g., during a current period of time or the period of time immediately preceding the current period), and set the MIB indication to 0 to indicate otherwise (i.e., UE may skip reading SIB1-BR when the MIB indication is set to 0, otherwise UE should not skip reading SIB1-BR). Note that since the system valueTag and the scheduling information of the SI-messages are located in SIB1-BR, SIB1-BR will be updated if any of the SI messages are updated. Paragraph [0146]: Note that the MIB indication is a systemInfoValueTag-indication in the sense that if any of the content of SIB1-BR is changed systemInfoValueTag is updated. However, in yet another embodiment the UE could still skip acquiring SIB1-BR although systemInfoValueTag has been updated. That is, a first bit is, as above, used to specify if the UE needs to acquire SIB1-BR or can skip it, whereas the additional bits specify what has changed in SIB1-BR. Paragraph [0160]: In some embodiments, the method also includes the network node performing the following steps: updating the certain SI; setting an SI change flag to a first value to indicate that the certain SI has changed; activating a timer that will expire when the MIB indication time period (e.g., 24 hours) has elapsed since the timer was activated; if the timer expires, setting the SI change flag to a second value to indicate that the certain SI has not changed within the MIB indication time period (e.g., within the past 24 hours); and if the certain SI is further updated while the timer is still running, resetting the timer so that timer will expire when the MIB indication time period has elapsed since the timer was reset. In this embodiment, the one bit flag included in the MIB is set equal to the value of the SI change flag.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide starting a SIB1 validity timer upon storing SIB1 and verifying validity of the stored SIB1 based on the SIB1 validity timer; and when the stored SIB1 is not valid, receiving a response comprising a complete SIB1 and starting a SIB1 validity timer for the received SIB1, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that depending on whether the time stamp has changed, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated, and based on the validity timer, and SIB time and SIB version, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs: [0031], [0065], [0070], [0091], [0120], [0127], [0131], [0146], [0160]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim does not explicitly teach wherein receiving the response comprises receiving an acknowledgment or system information in the same beam in which the network received the wake-up signal, including a synchronization signal block having the same SSB ID and the SIB1 transmitted only on that beam.
However, Kwak teaches wherein receiving the response comprises receiving an acknowledgment or system information in the same beam in which the network received the wake-up signal, including a synchronization signal block having the same SSB ID and the SIB1 transmitted only on that beam (Paragraph [0105]: The UE 115-a may transmit a cell wake-up signal 210 to the base station 105-a, and in response the base station 105-a may transmit an SSB 205 and an SIB1 215 to the UE 115-a, which the UE 115-a may use to establish communications between the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a. Paragraph [0129]: The base station 105-d may monitor for the cell wake-up signal using the pre-configured resources. In some examples, the cell wake-up signal resource is associated with the SSB on a per SSB basis. Paragraph [0130]: At 620, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal using the identified cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal over one transmission and reception occasion. Paragraph [0131]: At 625, the base station 105-d may transmit, to the UE 115-c, an SIB (e.g., SIB1) indicating a random access transmission resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein receiving the response comprises receiving an acknowledgment or system information in the same beam in which the network received the wake-up signal, including a synchronization signal block having the same SSB ID and the SIB1 transmitted only on that beam, as taught by Kwak in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim, so that the wake up signal resource can be associated with the SSB on a per beam basis (Kwak: Paragraphs [0105], [0129], [0130], [0131]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US2024/0107450A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US2022/0070775A1), Wang et al. (US2020/0252858A1), and Babaei (US2024/0098636A1).
Regarding claim 15, Wei teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform receiving, from a user equipment while the apparatus is dormant, a message comprising assistance information associated with system information stored at the user equipment; wherein the latest received system information stored at the user equipment is related to the apparatus; and wherein the assistance information is indicative of a latest received system information stored at the user equipment; and sending a response to the message to the user equipment; wherein the instructions stored in the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform sendinq a wake-up signal configuration to the user equipment, wherein the message is based on the wake-up signal configuration, wherein the wake-up signal configuration is indicative of what information to provide as at least part of the assistance information, (see rejection for claim 1).
wherein the sending the response comprises sendinq at least one reference signal and system information based on the message Paragraph [0083]: In some cases, upon receipt of the wake-up signal from the terminal, the first infrastructure equipment can transition to a broadcasting state wherein, in the broadcasting state, the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit a reference signal. The terminal can then detect the reference signal and based on the reference signal (and possibly on reference signals from other infrastructure equipment) and determine whether to connect to the first infrastructure equipment (or another one, if appropriate). Paragraph [0089]: The first infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit, once transitioned to the active state, one or more of: a reference signal, system information and synchronisation information. Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface.)
wherein the message comprises awake-up signal (Paragraph [0138]: The terminal sends a wake-up uplink which is received by the candidate base station. Paragraph [0148]: The terminal can transmit an UL wake-up signal (e.g. according to any configuration received in response to the request). Paragraph [0164]: In cases where the UE needs additional configuration for sending the wake-up signal, the UE can sometimes obtain wake-up signal configuration information from signalling broadcasted by a base station. For example, the UE may receive system information such as System Information Block “SIB” which may include wake-up signal configuration for at least one neighbouring possibly dormant base station. As discussed above in respect of connected UEs, not all configurations may be obtained from a nearby base station. For example, one or more wake-up signal configurations may be pre-configured in advance in the terminal and candidate base station. This can be beneficial for case where the UE moves out of coverage of al neighbouring base stations. It is also conceivable that the two or more configurations can be used in parallel. For example, candidate base stations may monitor for wake-up signals based on a configuration shared with neighbouring base station (which might have been shared with terminals in the area) and may also monitor for wake-up signals based on a pre-configured configuration which can be used by terminals, for example by terminals unable to (or not configured to) obtain other configuration information from the network.)
wherein the at least one reference signal comprises: a tracking reference signal, and a
synchronization signal block (Paragraph [0089]: The first infrastructure equipment may be configured to transmit, once transitioned to the active state, one or more of: a reference signal, system information and synchronisation information. Paragraph [0135]: Once active or activated, the candidate base station can start transmitting downlink information, e.g. one or more of: synchronisation signals, Synchronization Signal Blocks “SSBs”, system information, etc. The terminal may then be able to detect the activated base station and communicate with the base station. Paragraph [0136]: In some implementations, the candidate base station can send a wake-up signal acknowledgement to the terminal. Paragraph [0149]: Once the candidate base station receives UL wake-up signal, it can transition out of the dormant state and start operate to provide an air interface to the terminal. For example, in some cases it can start transmitting reference signals for synchronization, system information, etc. In the case where synchronization is not required, the candidate base station—once it has been activated—can communicate with the terminal directly. For example, it may send a wake-up acknowledgement signal to UE and the can start using the air interface. Paragraph [0150]: In some cases, the use of the wake-up signal may be employed to assist the system in tracking or following the terminal, for example with a view to providing better QoS for the UE.)
Wei does not explicitly teach at least: a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest
received system information, and an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information.
However, Elkotby teaches a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a/the version identifier corresponding to the latest received system information, as taught by Elkotby in the system of Wei, so that the UE can determine if it has a valid version of system information (Elkotby: Paragraphs [0236], [0239]).
The combination of Wei and Elkotby does not explicitly teach an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information.
However, Wang teaches an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an/the acquisition time corresponding to the latest received system information, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Wei and Elkotby, so that depending on whether the time stamp has changed, it can be determined whether the SI-message was updated (Wang: Paragraphs: [0091], [0127], [0131], [0146]).
The combination of Wei, Elkotby, and Wang does not explicitly teach channel state information reference signal.
However, Babaei teaches channel state information reference signal (Paragraph [0286]: FIG. 19 shows an example flow diagram in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present disclosure. At 1910, a wireless device may receive a signal or a channel indicating that an exit or a wake up from an energy saving state (e.g., a network energy saving (NES) state). Paragraph [0292]: In an example, the signal/channel may be an activation DCI. In an example, the activation DCI may be for activation of semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reference signal (SP CSI-RS) transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide channel state information reference signal, as taught by Babaei in the combined system of Wei, Elkotby, and Wang, so that the wireless device can get an indication of a wake up signal (Babaei: Paragraphs [0286], [0292]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 06, 2026 regarding claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-19 and 65 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US2024/0107450A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US2022/0070775A1), and Wang et al. (US2020/0252858A1); claims 10, 11, 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US2024/0107450A1), in view of Elkotby et al. (US2022/0070775A1), Wang et al. (US2020/0252858A1), and further in view of Babaei (US2024/0098636) have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the combination of the cited references Wei, Elkotby, Wang, and Babaei does not disclose or suggest all the features of amended independent claims 1 which recites in part “determine validity of a wake-up signal confiquration independently of SIB1 validity, not send awake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, send awake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtain a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated; and wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to include, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report or an indication to activate a configured grant, and a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the apparatus, the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type and required uplink resources.” However, Sharma et al. (US2022/0408407A1) teaches to “determine validity of a wake-up signal confiquration independently of SIB1 validity, not send awake-up signal when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated, send awake-up signal when SIB1 is outdated and the wake-up signal configuration remains valid, and obtain a new wake-up signal configuration when the wake-up signal configuration is outdated.” Sharma teaches that the WUS configuration for the neighbouring cells may, for example, include a WUS validity timer such as a duration for which the associated WUS configuration is considered to remain valid, and after which the UE should seek new/updated WUS configuration information. Cao et al. (US2024/0349087A1) teaches to include, in the message, uplink resource requirement information comprisinq a buffer status report, and required uplink resources, Liang et al. (US2022/0015134A1) teaches an indication to activate a configured grant, Dhanda et al. (US2021/0112526A1) teaches a user equipment-specific identifier that enables association of a schedulinq grant with the apparatus, and Kim et al. (US20200389906A1) teaches the uplink resource requirement information further indicatinq a traffic type. Amended independent claim 65 also recites similar features, and is taught by the combination of the cited references. Amended independent claim 15 is taught by the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, and Babaei.
Dependent claims 2-4, 7-9, 12-14, 67, and 69 are taught by the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, and Kim. Dependent claims 6 and 70 are taught by the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, Kim, and Tran et al. (US2023/0362796A1); dependent claims 10, 11, and 66 are taught by the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, Kim, and Babaei; dependent claim 68 is taught by the combination of Wei, Elkotby, Wang, Sharma, Cao, Liang, Dhanda, Kim, and Kwak et al (US2023/0199649A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461