Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "wherein upper surfaces of the at least two ridges" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein upper surfaces of at least two ridges”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 20-24, and 28-33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. US PGPUB No. 20210217992 (hereinafter Moon) in view of Peng et al. (US 20240040857 A1; hereinafter “Peng”).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses (figs. 1-31) a display device that includes a display panel (10) including a substrate (100) (¶121), comprising:
an open area (OA ¶102-103) where at least a portion of the substrate of the display panel is removed (100H ¶207);
a display area (DA ¶102) in which images are displayed and the open area is positioned (fig. 1 ¶102),
wherein one or more subpixels in the display area each include a light emitting element (OLED ¶122) including an anode electrode (the pixel electrode 221 is functionally indistinguishable to a anode electrode; ¶135, 145), and
at least one transistor (T1) that is configured to drive the light emitting element positioned on the substrate (¶123-124) and includes source and drain electrodes (SE and DE ¶141);
one or more encapsulation layers (320, 330, 710; ¶155, 197) covering the light emitting element and including a first encapsulation layer (320), a second encapsulation layer (330), and a third encapsulation layer (710);
a protection layer (where the protection layer includes multiple layers, 401, 403, 405, 740, 750, 760 at various points along display DA and bezel MA areas, fig. 12 ¶155, 164-165, 206) positioned on the one or more encapsulation layers (fig. 12);
a bezel area (MA ¶103 including SMA1 and SMA2 ¶179-182) bordering at least one edge of the open area; and
an inner pattern (510; fig. 12; ¶192) and an inner dam (520 ¶194) positioned in the bezel area (MA),
wherein the inner dam (520) is disposed adjacent to an outer edge of the display area (DA), and
the inner pattern (510) is positioned between the inner dam (520) and the outer edge of the display area (DA),
wherein the second encapsulation layer (330) extends between the inner pattern (510) and the inner dam (520; fig. 12), and
wherein an upper surface of the inner pattern (510) is further away from an upper surface of the substrate (100) than a portion of the second encapsulation (330) contacting a lowest point of a side surface of the inner dam (520) facing the outer edge of the display area (DA).
Moon does not explicitly disclose an electrode pattern for electrically connecting the anode electrode and any one of the source and drain electrodes to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Peng discloses in fig. 1, a display device, comprising an electrode pattern 105, 110 for electrically connecting the anode electrode 106/1062 and any one of the source and drain electrodes 1028 to each other (¶34).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Peng into the display device of Moon and form an electrode pattern for electrically connecting the anode electrode and any one of the source and drain electrodes to each other in order to reduce resistance to the source/drain metal layer. Furthermore, Peng teaches the wiring layers could comprise a plurality of transparent wires and increase the layout space without affecting the transparency (¶46-50 of Peng).
Regarding claim 2, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the light emitting element (OLED ¶122) includes a light emitting layer including an organic material,
wherein the light emitting element (OLED) includes a light emitting layer (222, including emission layer 222b and functional layers 222a and 222c ¶147) including an organic material (¶122),
wherein at least a portion of the light emitting layer (222b ¶147) extends up to the bezel area (SMA1) and is separated from the bezel area (MA) by the inner pattern (510; fig. 12), and
wherein a remaining light emitting layer is positioned in a valley of the inner pattern (510) (222′ is shown in SMA2 to only include 222a and 222c, fig. 13 ¶188).
Regarding claim 3, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 2.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the one or more encapsulation layers (230 ¶152) include an inorganic encapsulation layer contacting the light emitting layer (222' ¶188) in the bezel area, and
wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer covers the remaining light emitting layer (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 2.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the inner dam (520) includes at least one dam structure is positioned in the bezel area (MA fig. 12 ¶103, 179-182).
Regarding claim 5, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 4.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein at least one pattern disposed in the bezel area (MA) includes the inner pattern (510, fig. 12) and an outer pattern (fig. 12, where the outer pattern is filled with 320A and not in contact with layer 710; hereinafter “Outer_Pattern”), and
wherein the inner dam (520) is positioned between the inner pattern (510) and the outer pattern (“Outer_Pattern”).
Regarding claim 6, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 4.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31,
wherein the inner dam (510 ¶192) is positioned between the inner pattern (fig. 12 at the end of SMA1/start of SMA2) and the open area (OA ¶102-103).
Regarding claim 7, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 6.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein one or more inorganic insulation films (205 and 207 ¶142-143) in the display area are positioned on the substrate and under the at least one organic insulation film layer (209), and
wherein the one or more inorganic insulation films are removed from an area between the inner dam and the open area (figs. 12-13, where layers 205 and 207 do not extend into SMA2 or OA).
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4,
wherein an end of the protection layer is positioned to abut the inner dam (where 401, 403 and 405 end in the display area, fig. 12, and 320 extends to 320E ending at 510, fig. 12, ¶192).
Regarding claim 9, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 4.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the one or more encapsulation layers (300) include an organic encapsulation layer 320 including an organic material (¶155), and
wherein the inner dam (510 ¶192) is disposed in the bezel area to prevent overflow of the organic encapsulation layer (¶192).
Regarding claim 10, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 2.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the light emitting layer (222' ¶188) contacts the substrate (100, ¶121) in an area between an area where the inner pattern (fig. 12, 510) is positioned and the open area (OA, fig. 13, ¶102-103).
Regarding claim 11, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 2.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein an inorganic encapsulation layer (where the first, 310, and third encapsulation layer, 330, are inorganic ¶207) contacting the light emitting layer extends up to the open area (fig. 12-13, where 310 and 330 extend from the display area and terminates at the OA) (alternatively, layer 740 is an additional encapsulation layer extending from DA to OA and can be inorganic ¶199).
Regarding claim 12, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, further comprising an electro-optical device (20) positioned to overlap at least a portion of the open area (where component 20 may include a sensor or camera ¶116-117).
Regarding claim 13, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, further comprising:
a plurality of touch sensors (40) positioned on the substrate and positioned between the one or more encapsulation layers and the protection layer (figs. 8-9C, 19, ¶157-164, where touch sensor layer 40 includes sensing electrodes SP1 and SP2 below the outer protection layers 403 and 405, and above the encapsulation layers 300);
one or more touch lines (R1-R5 and C1-C4) positioned on the substrate and configured to transfer a touch driving signal to at least one touch sensor among the plurality of touch sensors (fig. 19, ¶216-219); and
a touch sensing circuit (440) configured to sense touch from the touch driving signal (¶218-219).
Regarding claim 14, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 13.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31,
wherein the at least one touch sensor among the plurality of touch sensors is positioned in the bezel area (fig. 2, where sensors with layer 40 extend into area MA, fig. 12 ¶102, 108, 110-111, 179-182).
Regarding claim 15, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 13.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the protection layer covers the one or more touch lines (sensing electrodes SP1 are connected through contact hole CNT, with protection layer 405 intact, ¶164).
Regarding claim 16, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the inner pattern includes an inter-layer insulation film for forming the at least one transistor (fig. 12, where the start of the inner pattern at the end of SMA1 includes insulating layer 205, ¶142).
Regarding claim 17, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the inner pattern includes a planarization layer (209, ¶144) covering the at least one transistor (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31,
wherein an end of the protection layer (720E1 ¶196) is positioned on the inner pattern (the end of SMA1, fig. 12).
Regarding claim 20, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the bezel area includes a first sub area (inner portion of SMA1 up to the continuity break in fig. 12) and a second sub area (outer portion of SMA1 and SMA2, ¶179-182) positioned from the first sub area to the open area (OA, ¶102-103),
wherein at least one touch sensor is positioned in the first sub area (fig. 2, where touch sensor layer 40 extend into area MA, fig. 12 ¶102, 108, 110-111, 179-182), and
the at least one touch sensor is covered with the protection layer (figs. 8-9C, 19, ¶157-164, where touch sensor layer 40 includes sensing electrodes SP1 and SP2 below the outer protection layers 403 and 405, and above the encapsulation layers 300 and an additional protection layer 80 ¶181), and
wherein the inner pattern (510) and an inner dam (520) are disposed in the second sub area (SMA2), and the protection layer extends from the first sub area to at least a portion of the second sub area (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 21, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 20.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein an end of the protection layer is positioned in the first sub area (fig. 12, where a portion of the protection layer 80 ends at the inside of SMA1 at the edge of bezel region).
Regarding claim 22, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31,
wherein the inner pattern comprises periodic local maxima regions and periodic local minima regions (fig. 12, where marked region XIII shows minima and maxima).
Regarding claim 23, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 22.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the local maxima regions of the inner pattern includes at least one organic insulation layer (222a or 222c, fig. 13, ¶188).
Regarding claim 24, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 23.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the local maxima regions include an inter- layer insulation film and/or a planarization layer containing an organic material (222a or 222c, fig. 13, ¶188).
Regarding claim 28, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, further comprising etching (¶189) at least a portion of an organic insulation film layer (103 ¶176) to form the inner pattern (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 29, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, the display device further comprising two or more insulation film layers (201, 203,205, 207, 209, 211 ¶137-146) disposed between the one or more encapsulation layers and the substrate (100, ¶121) (fig. 12),
wherein the inner pattern (fig. 12, end of SMA1/start of SMA2) includes at least a portion of at least one first insulation film layer (211) among the two or more insulation film layers, and a second insulation film layer (209) disposed between the first insulation film layer and the substrate among the two or more insulation film layers is removed in an area where the inner pattern is disposed (fig. 13, where the substrate is removed within W2 inside the inner pattern).
Regarding claim 30, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the anode electrode (221 ¶145) is electrically connected to the electrode pattern through holes of first and second insulating layers (fig. 7 ¶146 where 221 is located in a hole in 211 and extends down through a hole in 209 to contact DE), and
wherein the second insulating layer (209 ¶144-145) contacts the anode electrode (221) and the first insulating layer (211 ¶146) covers side surfaces and an upper surface of the electrode pattern (fig. 7, 12, where 209 contacts the bottom of 221 and 211 contacts the sides and top of 221 included within the electrode pattern).
In re claim 31, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein upper surfaces of the at least two ridges (209, 211) are further away from an upper surface of the substrate (100) than a lower surface of the inner dam (520).
In re claim 32, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
In an alternative interpretation of inner pattern and inner dam in fig. 12: Moon discloses inner dam as 320A at boundary of OA and SMA2, inner pattern as combination of 510 and 520.
In this interpretation, Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the inner pattern (510, 520) includes at least two ridges (510, 520).
wherein the second encapsulation layer (330) is disposed between at least two ridges (510, 520) and between any one of the at least two ridges (520) and the side edge of the inner dam (320A) such that a lower surface of the second encapsulation layer (330) is lower than upper surfaces of the at least two ridges (510, 520).
In re claim 33, Moon, as modified by Peng, discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon further discloses in figs. 1-31, wherein the side surface of the inner dam (520) continually extends from a top surface of the inner dam to the lowest point.
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon, as modified by Peng and further in view of Bang US PGPUB No. 20210149524 (hereinafter Bang).
Regarding claim 19, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
Moon discloses display 1' (figs. 30-31) where the MA would overlap a peripheral area and the end of substrate, Moon does not disclose a detailed cross-section. Therefore, Moon does not explicitly disclose wherein the display panel further comprises a left bezel positioned on a left side of the display area and a right bezel positioned on a right side of the display area, and wherein, in the left bezel and/or the right bezel, an end of the protection layer is aligned with an end of the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses (figs. 4, 7, 12) wherein the display panel further comprises a left bezel positioned on a left side of the display area and a right bezel positioned on a right side of the display area (where the display area DA has a bezel non-display area NDA including the left and right edges of the device), and wherein, in the left bezel and/or the right bezel, an end of the protection layer is aligned with an end of the substrate (Bang fig. 12, where protection layers TS-IL1 and TS-IL2 end at the edge of the substrate SUB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the protection layers to extend to the substrate edge as disclosed by Bang for edges of the display area where the bezel extends into the peripheral area, improving device reliability by limiting moisture intrusion pathways within the device.
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Peng and further in view of Gwon et al. US PGPUB No. 20190131572 (hereinafter Gwon).
Regarding claim 25, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon does not disclose wherein the display panel further comprises a bottom bezel positioned below the display area and a bending area positioned under the bottom bezel,
wherein an inorganic insulation film layer is positioned on the substrate in at least a portion of the bottom bezel, and wherein the inorganic insulation film layer is disposed not to overlap the bending area.
In the same field of endeavor, Gwon discloses (fig. 4-6) wherein the display panel further comprises a bottom bezel positioned below the display area (DA) and a bending area (BA) positioned under the bottom bezel (Gwon ¶55),
wherein an inorganic insulation film layer (310) is positioned on the substrate in at least a portion of the bottom bezel, and wherein the inorganic insulation film layer is disposed not to overlap the bending area (BA) (Gwon ¶67, where film is removed from bending area in OH shown in fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the insulating film layers to be removed from the bending area, improving device robustness by mitigating crack propagation in when the bending area is bent (Gwon ¶67).
Regarding claim 26, Moon in view of Gwon discloses the display device of claim 25.
Gwon discloses wherein an outer dam (DAM Gwon ¶79-82) is positioned in the bottom bezel (Gwon fig. 4-6), and the outer dam includes one or more dam structures (DAM includes D1 and D2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for a dam structure to be present in a bottom bezel disclosed by Gwon, providing improved consistency of organic film deposition by preventing flow during hardening in the same way dam structures 510 and 520 of Moon found in other bezel regions.
Regarding claim 27, Moon in view of Gwon discloses the display device of claim 26,
wherein a dam structure (510 Moon ¶192-194) constituting the outer dam has a triple-layer structure including a planarization layer, a bank and a spacer (“510 has a stacked structure including layers including the same materials as those of the gate insulating layer 203, the first interlayer insulating layer 205, and the second interlayer insulating layer 207, and layers including the same materials as those of the planarization insulating layer 209 and the pixel-defining layer 211. In an embodiment, the number of layers constituting the first partition wall 510 may be greater or less than the number of layers shown in FIG. 12.” Moon ¶193).
Conclusion
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893