DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 November 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Acknowledgment
Response filed on 12 November 2025 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, 16-18, 20, 22, 23, and 28 and added claims 29-30. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 27 February 2025 have been considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Moon does not disclose an anode electrode or a pattern in which the anode electrode contacts a source or drain electrode of the transistor. While the anode electrode is not identified by name, Moon does disclose the pixel electrode 221 as made from materials such as ITO common in anodes and does identify the opposite electrode 223 as a cathode. Further, the pixel electrode 221 makes contact in a pattern with the drain electrode DE. Applicant further discloses additional limitations on the number and arrangement of insulating and encapsulating layers. These arrangements are likewise disclosed by Moon. As Moon does not explicitly disclose the pixel electrode as an anode, the rejection under has been updated using the same reference under USC § 103 as the inclusion of the anode in the pixel transistor would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 20-25, and 28-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. US PGPUB No. 20210217992 (hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses (figs. 1-31) a display device that includes a display panel formed on a substrate, comprising:
an open area (OA ¶102-103) where at least a portion of the substrate of the display panel has been removed (100H ¶207);
a display area (DA ¶102) in which images are displayed and the open area is positioned (fig. 1 ¶102),
wherein one or more subpixels in the display area each include a light emitting element (OLED ¶122), and at least one transistor (T1) that is configured to drive the light emitting element positioned on the substrate (¶123-124) and includes source and drain electrodes (SE and DE ¶141);
an electrode pattern for electrically connecting the electrode (221 ¶145) and any one of the source and drain electrodes (SE/DE) to each other (fig. 7, where the pattern connecting drain electrode DE to anode 221 is shown) one or more encapsulation layers (300 made of 310, 320, and 330, ¶155) covering the light emitting element and including a first encapsulation layer (310), a second encapsulation layer (320), and a third encapsulation layer (330) a protection layer (where the protection layer includes multiple layers, 401, 403, 405, 710, 740, 750, 760 at various points along display DA and bezel MA areas, fig. 12 ¶155, 164-165, 206) positioned on the one or more encapsulation layers (fig. 12);
a bezel area (MA ¶103 including SMA1 and SMA2 ¶179-182) bordering at least one edge of the open area; and
an inner pattern (fig. 12, where the inner pattern includes SMA2 and the portion of SMA1 to the left of the continuity break) and an inner dam (510 ¶192) positioned in the bezel area, wherein the second encapsulation layer (320) extends between the inner pattern and the inner dam (fig. 12).
Moon does not explicitly disclose the pixel electrode (221) is an anode electrode. However, the pixel electrode (221 ¶145) can be formed with ITO, a common anode material, and the opposite electrode (233 ¶124) is identified as a cathode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the pixel circuit disclosed by Moon to act as an anode, improving device power efficiency device performance by allowing independent voltage regulation for different color pixels.
Regarding claim 2, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the light emitting element (OLED ¶122) includes a light emitting layer including an organic material,
wherein the light emitting element (OLED) includes a light emitting layer (222, including emission layer 222b and functional layers 222a and 222c ¶147) including an organic material (¶122),
wherein at least a portion of the light emitting layer (222b ¶147) extends up to the bezel area (SMA2 ¶179-182) and is separated from the bezel area by the inner pattern (fig. 12), and
wherein a remaining light emitting layer is positioned in a valley of the inner pattern (222′ is shown in SMA2 to only include 222a and 222c, fig. 13 ¶188).
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses the display device of claim 2,
wherein the one or more encapsulation layers (230 ¶152) include an inorganic encapsulation layer contacting the light emitting layer (222' ¶188) in the bezel area, and
wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer covers the remaining light emitting layer (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, Moon discloses the display device of claim 2,
wherein the inner dam (510 ¶192) includes at least one dam structure is positioned in the bezel area (MA fig. 12 ¶103, 179-182).
Regarding claim 5, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4,
wherein at least one pattern disposed in the bezel area includes the inner pattern (fig. 12 at the end of SMA1/start of SMA2) and an outer pattern (fig. 12, where the outer pattern is filled with 320A and not in contact with layer 710), and wherein the inner dam (510/520) is positioned between the inner pattern and the outer pattern (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 6, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4,
wherein the inner dam (510 ¶192) is positioned between the inner pattern (fig. 12 at the end of SMA1/start of SMA2) and the open area (OA ¶102-103).
Regarding claim 7, Moon discloses the display device of claim 6,
wherein one or more inorganic insulation films (205 and 207 ¶142-143) in the display area are positioned on the substrate and under the at least one organic insulation film layer (209), and
wherein the one or more inorganic insulation films are removed from an area between the inner dam and the open area (figs. 12-13, where layers 205 and 207 do not extend into SMA2 or OA).
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4,
wherein an end of the protection layer is positioned to abut the inner dam (where 401, 403 and 405 end in the display area, fig. 12, and 320 extends to 320E ending at 510, fig. 12, ¶192).
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4,
wherein the one or more encapsulation layers (300) include an organic encapsulation layer including an organic material, and
wherein the inner dam (510 ¶192) is disposed in the bezel area to prevent overflow of the organic encapsulation layer (¶192).
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses the display device of claim 2,
wherein the light emitting layer (222' ¶188) contacts the substrate (100, ¶121) in an area between an area where the inner pattern (fig. 12, end of SMA1/start of SMA2) is positioned and the open area (OA, fig. 13, ¶102-103).
Regarding claim 11, Moon discloses the display device of claim 2,
wherein an inorganic encapsulation layer (where the first, 310, and third encapsulation layer, 330, are inorganic ¶207) contacting the light emitting layer extends up to the open area (fig. 12-13, where 310 and 330 extend from the display area and terminates at the OA) (alternatively, layer 740 is an additional encapsulation layer extending from DA to OA and can be inorganic ¶199).
Regarding claim 12, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
further comprising an electro-optical device (20) positioned to overlap at least a portion of the open area (where component 20 may include a sensor or camera ¶116-117).
Regarding claim 13, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of touch sensors (40) positioned on the substrate and positioned between the one or more encapsulation layers and the protection layer (figs. 8-9C, 19, ¶157-164, where touch sensor layer 40 includes sensing electrodes SP1 and SP2 below the outer protection layers 403 and 405, and above the encapsulation layers 300);
one or more touch lines (R1-R5 and C1-C4) positioned on the substrate and configured to transfer a touch driving signal to at least one touch sensor among the plurality of touch sensors (fig. 19, ¶216-219); and
a touch sensing circuit (440) configured to sense touch from the touch driving signal (¶218-219).
Regarding claim 14, Moon discloses the display device of claim 13,
wherein the at least one touch sensor among the plurality of touch sensors is positioned in the bezel area (fig. 2, where sensors with layer 40 extend into area MA, fig. 12 ¶102, 108, 110-111, 179-182).
Regarding claim 15, Moon discloses the display device of claim 13,
wherein the protection layer covers the one or more touch lines (sensing electrodes SP1 are connected through contact hole CNT, with protection layer 405 intact, ¶164).
Regarding claim 16, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the inner pattern includes an inter-layer insulation film for forming the at least one transistor (fig. 12, where the start of the inner pattern at the end of SMA1 includes insulating layer 205, ¶142).
Regarding claim 17, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the inner pattern includes a planarization layer (209, ¶144) covering the at least one transistor (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein an end of the protection layer (720E1 ¶196) is positioned on the inner pattern (the end of SMA1, fig. 12).
Regarding claim 20, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the bezel area includes a first sub area (inner portion of SMA1 up to the continuity break in fig. 12) and a second sub area (outer portion of SMA1 and SMA2, ¶179-182) positioned from the first sub area to the open area (OA, ¶102-103),
wherein at least one touch sensor is positioned in the first sub area (fig. 2, where touch sensor layer 40 extend into area MA, fig. 12 ¶102, 108, 110-111, 179-182), and
the at least one touch sensor is covered with the protection layer (figs. 8-9C, 19, ¶157-164, where touch sensor layer 40 includes sensing electrodes SP1 and SP2 below the outer protection layers 403 and 405, and above the encapsulation layers 300 and an additional protection layer 80 ¶181), and
wherein the inner pattern (fig. 12 end of SMA1/start of SMA2) and an inner dam (510, ¶192) are disposed in the second sub area (SMA2), and the protection layer extends from the first sub area to at least a portion of the second sub area (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 21, Moon discloses the display device of claim 20,
wherein an end of the protection layer is positioned in the first sub area (fig. 12, where a portion of the protection layer 80 ends at the inside of SMA1 at the edge of bezel region).
Regarding claim 22, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the inner pattern comprises periodic local maxima regions and periodic local minima regions (fig. 12, where marked region XIII shows minima and maxima).
Regarding claim 23, Moon discloses the display device of claim 22,
wherein the local maxima regions of the inner pattern includes at least one organic insulation layer (222a or 222c, fig. 13, ¶188).
Regarding claim 24, Moon discloses the display device of claim 23,
wherein the local maxima regions includes an inter- layer insulation film and/or a planarization layer containing an organic material (222a or 222c, fig. 13, ¶188).
Regarding claim 28, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
further comprising etching (¶189) at least a portion of an organic insulation film layer (103 ¶176) to form the inner pattern (fig. 12).
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Bang US PGPUB No. 20210149524 (hereinafter Bang).
Regarding claim 29, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
further comprising two or more insulation film layers (201, 203,205, 207, 209, 211 ¶137-146) disposed between the one or more encapsulation layers and the substrate (100, ¶121) (fig. 12),
wherein the inner pattern (fig. 12, end of SMA1/start of SMA2) includes at least a portion of at least one first insulation film layer (211) among the two or more insulation film layers, and a second insulation film layer (209) disposed between the first insulation film layer and the substrate among the two or more insulation film layers is removed in an area where the inner pattern is disposed (fig. 13, where the substrate is removed within W2 inside the inner pattern).
Regarding claim 30, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the anode electrode (221 ¶145) is electrically connected to the electrode pattern through holes of first and second insulating layers (fig. 7 ¶146 where 221 is located in a hole in 211 and extends down through a hole in 209 to contact DE), and
wherein the second insulating layer (209 ¶144-145) contacts the anode electrode (221) and the first insulating layer (211 ¶146) covers side surfaces and an upper surface of the electrode pattern (fig. 7, 12, where 209 contacts the bottom of 221 and 211 contacts the sides and top of 221 included within the electrode pattern).
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Bang US PGPUB No. 20210149524 (hereinafter Bang).
Regarding claim 19, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1,
Moon discloses display 1' (figs. 30-31) where the MA would overlap a peripheral area and the end of substrate, Moon does not disclose a detailed cross-section. Therefore, Moon does not explicitly disclose wherein the display panel further comprises a left bezel positioned on a left side of the display area and a right bezel positioned on a right side of the display area, and wherein, in the left bezel and/or the right bezel, an end of the protection layer is aligned with an end of the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses (figs. 4, 7, 12) wherein the display panel further comprises a left bezel positioned on a left side of the display area and a right bezel positioned on a right side of the display area (where the display area DA has a bezel non-display area NDA including the left and right edges of the device), and wherein, in the left bezel and/or the right bezel, an end of the protection layer is aligned with an end of the substrate (Bang fig. 12, where protection layers TS-IL1 and TS-IL2 end at the edge of the substrate SUB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the protection layers to extend to the substrate edge as disclosed by Bang for edges of the display area where the bezel extends into the peripheral area, improving device reliability by limiting moisture intrusion pathways within the device.
Claims 25-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Gwon et al. US PGPUB No. 20190131572 (hereinafter Gwon).
Regarding claim 25, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1.
Moon does not disclose wherein the display panel further comprises a bottom bezel positioned below the display area and a bending area positioned under the bottom bezel,
wherein an inorganic insulation film layer is positioned on the substrate in at least a portion of the bottom bezel, and wherein the inorganic insulation film layer is disposed not to overlap the bending area.
In the same field of endeavor, Gwon discloses (fig. 4-6) wherein the display panel further comprises a bottom bezel positioned below the display area (DA) and a bending area (BA) positioned under the bottom bezel (Gwon ¶55),
wherein an inorganic insulation film layer (310) is positioned on the substrate in at least a portion of the bottom bezel, and wherein the inorganic insulation film layer is disposed not to overlap the bending area (BA) (Gwon ¶67, where film is removed from bending area in OH shown in fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the insulating film layers to be removed from the bending area, improving device robustness by mitigating crack propagation in when the bending area is bent (Gwon ¶67).
Regarding claim 26, Moon in view of Gwon discloses the display device of claim 25.
Gwon discloses wherein an outer dam (DAM Gwon ¶79-82) is positioned in the bottom bezel (Gwon fig. 4-6), and the outer dam includes one or more dam structures (DAM includes D1 and D2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for a dam structure to be present in a bottom bezel disclosed by Gwon, providing improved consistency of organic film deposition by preventing flow during hardening in the same way dam structures 510 and 520 of Moon found in other bezel regions.
Regarding claim 27, Moon in view of Gwon discloses the display device of claim 26,
wherein a dam structure (510 Moon ¶192-194) constituting the outer dam has a triple-layer structure including a planarization layer, a bank and a spacer (“510 has a stacked structure including layers including the same materials as those of the gate insulating layer 203, the first interlayer insulating layer 205, and the second interlayer insulating layer 207, and layers including the same materials as those of the planarization insulating layer 209 and the pixel-defining layer 211. In an embodiment, the number of layers constituting the first partition wall 510 may be greater or less than the number of layers shown in FIG. 12.” Moon ¶193).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth D Lawson/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893