DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Reply
This communication is responsive to the amendment(s) and/or argument(s) filed 7/4/26. The previous ground(s) of objection and/or rejection is/are withdrawn. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “the hyotube body” should apparently read “the elongate body” for antecedent clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 positively recites inter alia “a pitch (distance between wave cuts) and an angle (direction of the wave cut)”. The scope of the claim is indeterminate in the presence of the parenthetical language. It is unclear if the clarifying parenthetical phrases (those in parentheses) may explicitly, inherently, implicitly, and/or inferentially be required or excluded by the recitation from the scope of invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the scope of the invention and whether or not the parenthetical language is or is not included in the scope of invention. For the purposes of examination and consistent with the instant Specification, the examiner is treating the terms on the merits as required by the claim. Depending claims 11-16 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cottone et al. (US 2019/0160259 A1, hereinafter Cottone).
For claim 1, Cottone discloses a flexible hypotube comprising: an elongated body (1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]); three multiple wave cut segments (zones 1-7) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) including a distal wave cut segment (zone 7), a middle wave cut segment (zone 4) and a proximal wave cut segment (zone 1) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]) cut in the elongated body, each wave cut segment having a continuous wave cut around the elongated body forming a pattern of wave cuts configured to vary the flexibility of the elongated body by varying a distance between wave cuts and changing an angle direction between wave cut sets (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 2, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 1, wherein varying the distance between wave cuts incudes varying a pitch between wave cuts (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 3, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 1, wherein changing a direction between wave cuts includes wave cut sets angled proximally and wave cut sets angled distally (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 10, Cottone discloses a flexible hypotube comprising: an elongated body 1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]); and a continuous wave (any of zones 1-7) 1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) cut around the elongated body forming three wave cut segments including a distal wave cut segment (zone 7), a middle wave cut segment (zone 4) and a proximal wave cut segment (zone 1) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]) having a pitch as a distance between wave cuts and an angle as a direction of the wave cut between wave cuts to provide flexibility to the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 11, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 10, wherein varying the pitch varies the flexibility along the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 12, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 10, wherein varying the angle varies the flexibility along the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 13, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 10, wherein the elongated body includes multiple wave cut segments (zones 1-7) with each wave cut segment having a wave cut pattern (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 14, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 13, wherein flexibility of each of the multiple wave cut segments depends on the pitch of the wave cut and the angle of wave cut (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 15, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 14, wherein the multiple wave cut segments have the same wave cut pattern with the same flexibility to provide constant flexibility to the hypotube body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 16, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 14, wherein the multiple wave cut segments have a different wave cut pattern with a different flexibility to provide varied flexibility to the hypotube body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 19, Cottone discloses a flexible hypotube comprising: an elongated body (1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) having three wave cut segments (zones 1-7) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) including a distal wave cut segment (zone 7), a middle wave cut segment (zone 4) and a proximal wave cut segment (zone 1) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]); and each segment having a continuous wave cut around the elongated body forming multiple segment wave cut patterns with each segment wave cut pattern having a different flexibility to provide varied flexibility to the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 20, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 13, wherein the different flexibility includes varying a distance and an angle direction between wave cuts (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments , see pages 6-9, filed 7/4/26, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the 112 rejections of claims 10-16, the examiner respectfully notes that the claims are indefinite because of the language enclosed in the parenthesis and not because of the now amended recitation of “and/or” to “and”. The claims remain indefinite in the presence of the language enclosed in the parenthesis and whether it is part of the claimed invention or not, as set forth and reiterated hereinabove.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the 102 rejections of the claims as being anticipated by Cottone, wherein Cottone fails to disclose "each wave cut segment having a continuous wave cut around the elongated body forming a pattern of wave cuts configured to vary the flexibility of the elongated body by varying a distance between wave cuts and changing an angle direction between wave cut sets", the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the following:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the wave cutes are designed to wrap around the hypotube and vary in pitch and direction between sets of wave cuts”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in the claim(s). When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a flexible hypotube” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The claim(s) does not require the continuous wave cut or extending around the “entire circumference” of the elongate body as apparently argued by Applicant.
Cottone clearly discloses multiple varied segments with what may than fairly and reasonably be considered to be at least “continuous wave cuts” disposed around the elongate body that also form varying patterns of wave cuts that alter the flexibility based on varied distances and angels therebetween.
Cottone evidentiarily demonstrates the claimed multiple wave cut segments of the invention while reciting inter alia the following (emphasis added):
[0115] One tube frame 1005 may contain multiple, different zones. For example, the tube can be provided with 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 or 15 (higher numbers are also possible, e.g. 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000 to n different zones). If a tube frame 5 contains multiple zones, then across different zones there may be a change in open surface area and cut-pattern perimeter length. For example, if the cutout segment is formed in the shape of a hexagon and there are seven zones, a first zone, a second zone, a third zone, a fourth zone, a fifth zone, a sixth zone and a seventh zone, then the rank order for the open surface area and cut-pattern perimeter length is: unit of first zone <unit of second zone <unit of third zone <unit of fourth zone <unit of fifth zone <unit sixth zone. If there are equal number of units per zone, then the rank order applies to zones as well. The change in either open surface area or cut-pattern perimeter length across multiple different zones can be linear, exponential or assume a step-wise or square wave function and be increasing, decreasing, constant, continuous or discontinuous.
[0116] In embodiments formed from other cutout segments, e.g., circles or n-sided polygons, the width across any uncut portion, may be varied, i.e., the width may be reduced. This reduction in width will result in an increase in the open surface area 1004. By increasing the open surface area, the uncut surface area within unit in any one zone, the flexibility of that portion composed of such units with increased open surface area of the cutout segments will increase.
[0117] The flexibility of the tube frame 1005 may be controlled at any position along the tube frame 1005 by combining one or more zones at various positions along the length of the tube. Flexibility of the tube frame 1005 is positively correlated with the open surface area. In other words, as the open surface area of a cutout segment increases the flexibility of a zone composed of units having the larger cutout segments increases. Conversely, flexibility is inversely correlated with the uncut area; as the uncut surface area increases, flexibility decreases.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791