DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, embodiment directed to Figure(s) 1, in the reply filed on 10/28/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Further, and in the interest of advancing compact prosecution, the examiner respectfully notes that although Applicant’s 10/28/25 response appears non-responsive to the election of Species requirements, lacking any indication of which claims corresponded to only the elected species, examination on the merits will nonetheless be completed as set forth hereinbelow.
Claims 4, 5, 7-9, 17, 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Given Applicant’s lack of species-claim indication, the Examiner respectfully notes claims 4 and 17 are drawn to nonelected Species D (Figs 4A-4D), claims 5 and 18 are drawn to nonelected Species E (Figs 5A-D), and claims 7-9 are drawn to nonelected Species B (Fig 2). Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/28/25.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “a distance” should apparently read “the distance”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “multiple wave cut segments” should apparently read “the multiple wave cut segments”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “of the wave cut segment” should apparently read “each of the multiple wave cut segments”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 positively recites inter alia “a pitch (distance between wave cuts) and/or an angle (direction of the wave cut)”. The scope of the claim is indeterminate in the presence of the parenthetical language. It is unclear if the clarifying parenthetical phrases may explicitly, inherently, implicitly, and/or inferentially be required or excluded by the recitation from the scope of invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the scope of the invention and whether or not the parenthetical language is or is not included in the scope of invention. For the purposes of examination and consistent with the instant Specification, the examiner is treating the terms on the merits as required by the claim. Depending claims 11-16 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cottone et al. (US 2019/0160259 A1, hereinafter Cottone).
For claim 1, Cottone discloses a flexible hypotube comprising: an elongated body (1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]); multiple wave cut segments (zones 1-7) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) cut in the elongated body, each wave cut segment having a continuous wave cut around the elongated body forming a pattern of wave cuts configured to vary the flexibility of the elongated body by varying a distance between wave cuts and changing an angle direction between wave cut sets (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 2, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 1, wherein varying the distance between wave cuts incudes varying a pitch between wave cuts (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 3, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 1, wherein changing a direction between wave cuts includes wave cut sets angled proximally and wave cut sets angled distally (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 6, Cottone discloses the hypotube of claim 1, wherein the multiple wave cut segments include a distal wave cut segment (zone 7), a middle wave cut segment (zone 4) and a proximal wave cut segment (zone 1) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 10, Cottone discloses a flexible hypotube comprising: an elongated body 1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]); and a continuous wave (any of zones 1-7) 1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) cut around the elongated body forming a wave cut pattern having a pitch as a distance between wave cuts and/or an angle as a direction of the wave cut between wave cuts to provide flexibility to the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 11, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 10, wherein varying the pitch varies the flexibility along the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 12, XX Cottone X discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 10, wherein varying the angle varies the flexibility along the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 13, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 10, wherein the elongated body includes multiple wave cut segments (zones 1-7) with each wave cut segment having a wave cut pattern (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 14, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 13, wherein flexibility of each of the wave cut segment depends on the pitch of the wave cut and/or the angle of wave cut (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 15, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 14, wherein the multiple wave cut segments have the same wave cut pattern with the same flexibility to provide constant flexibility to the hypotube body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 16, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 14, wherein the multiple wave cut segments have a different wave cut pattern with a different flexibility to provide varied flexibility to the hypotube body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 19, Cottone discloses a flexible hypotube comprising: an elongated body (1005) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]) having multiple segments (zones 1-7) (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119]); and each segment having a continuous wave cut around the elongated body forming multiple segment wave cut patterns with each segment wave cut pattern having a different flexibility to provide varied flexibility to the elongated body (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
For claim 20, Cottone discloses the flexible hypotube of claim 13, wherein the different flexibility includes varying a distance and/or an angle direction between wave cuts (Figs 8a-8c) ([0109-0119, especially 0115-0117]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including means for configuring varying flexibility along the length of an elongate tube for traversing a patient’s vasculature.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791