DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/31/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed on 07/31/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-3 and 6-11 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a processing unit” in claim 10. This limitation invokes 112(f) based on the three-prong analysis:
(A) “a processing unit for” is a generic placeholder for “means”
(B) The functional language that modifies “ a processing unit for” is the step of “processing the ECG signal based on a deep learning network”
(C) “a processing unit for” is not modified by a sufficient structure for performing the claimed inventions, therefore 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked.
The corresponding structure for “a processing unit” in claim 10 configured to process signals using a deep learning network requires disclosure of an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function. In other words, for a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the structure required is more than simply a general-purposes computer or processor and the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. Paragraphs [0074]-[0081] disclose the algorithm used to create the network, and therefore will be interpreted as the requisite structure of the processing unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a neck” in line 12. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the neck from claim 1, line 8, or a different neck. If it is meant to refer to the neck from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different neck, it needs to be distinguished from the neck from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the neck from claim 1. Claim 3 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 2.
Further regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a neck” in line 17. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the neck from claim 1 line 8, the neck from claim 2, line 12, or a different neck. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced necks, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different neck, it needs to be distinguished from all the previously introduced necks. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the neck from claim 1. Claim 3 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 2.
Further regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a chest” in line 22. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the chest from claim 1, line 8, or a different chest. If it is meant to refer to the chest from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different chest, it needs to be distinguished from the chest from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the chest from claim 1. Claim 3 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 2.
Further regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a wrist” in line 22. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the wrist from claim 1, line 8, or a different wrist. If it is meant to refer to the wrist from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different wrist, it needs to be distinguished from the wrist from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the wrist from claim 1. Claim 3 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 2.
Further regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “an ankle” in line 23. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the wrist from claim 1, line 9, or a different ankle. If it is meant to refer to the ankle from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different ankle, it needs to be distinguished from the ankle from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the ankle from claim 1. Claim 3 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 2.
Further regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a back” in line 27-28. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the back from claim 1, line 8, or a different back. If it is meant to refer to the back from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different back, it needs to be distinguished from the back from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the back from claim 1. Claim 3 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare (US 20240252051) in view of Saleh (US 20210236039), Yang (US 20140343392), Wariar (US 20230337988), Liu (US 20240203599), and George (US 20200121544).
Regarding independent claim 1, Khare teaches a deep learning-based wearable electro-tonoarteriography (ETAG) processing method for the automatic detection of cardiac diseases, comprising:
acquiring at least one lead electrocardiogram (ECG) signal collected from a clothing worn by a subject of detection wherein the clothing is integrated with ECG electrodes configured to acquire the at least one lead ECG signal ([0067]: “Animal data can be derived from (e.g., collected from) a targeted individual or multiple targeted individuals (e.g., including a targeted group of multiple targeted individuals, multiple targeted groups of multiple targeted individuals). In the case of sensors, the animal data can be obtained from a single sensor 18 gathering information from each targeted individual”; [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0069]: “Examples include, but are not limited to, … a sensor integrated or embedded into clothing (e.g., shirt, jersey, shorts, wristband, socks, compression gear)” The one sensor embedded into clothing is used to measure ECG signals of the subject.).
However, Khare does not teach the location of the electrode relative to the user’s body.
Saleh discloses an ECG monitoring device. Specifically, Saleh teaches wherein the ECG signal is collected at or near one or more regions of a hand, a neck, a chest, a back, a wrist and an ankle of the subject ([0046]: “The controller may comprise a set of electrodes including electrodes to contact the user's hands and perform a single lead ECG”). Khare and Saleh are analogous arts as they are both related to the same field of endeavor of devices that measure and ECG signal of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the position of the ECG sensor from Saleh into the method from Khare as Khare is silent on the location of the ECG sensor, and Saleh discloses a suitable location in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh combination teaches acquiring a low-frequency signal related to blood pressure from the collected at least one lead ECG signal ([0070]: “HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The ultra-low frequency, very-low-frequency, and low-frequency bands are the low-frequency signals.), wherein the low frequency signal is obtained by passing the collected at least one lead ECG signal through filter ([0149]: “sensors enters the system is in one of the following structures: raw (no manipulation of the data) or processed (manipulated). The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy data noise filtering/cleaning techniques”).
However, the Khare/Saleh combination does not teach the filter specifically being a low-pass filter.
Yang discloses a method and system for detecting heartbeat through ECG electrodes. Specifically, Yang teaches passing the collected at least one lead ECG signal through a low-pass filter ([0277]: “The low-pass filter is connected on the front end of the instrument amplifier, the low-frequency ECG signal (lower than 40 Hz) can be transmitted to the instrument amplifier”). Khare, Saleh, and Yang are analogous arts as they are all related to the same field of endeavor of methods that measure ECG signals and detect the condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the low-pass filter from Yang into the Khare/Saleh combination as the combination is silent on the type of filter used, and Yang discloses a suitable filter in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang combination teaches processing both the collected at least one lead ECG signal and the acquired low-frequency signal as inputs by a deep learning network; wherein the deep learning network comprises a frequency domain-based deep neural network and a time-domain-based neural network (Khare, [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0183]: “one or more Artificial Intelligence techniques can be utilized as part of the one or more methods or systems to create, modify, or enhance one or more reference insights, primary insights, or predictive indicators, as well as to execute any one of the steps required in the one or more methods to collection, transform, and distribute data (e.g., derive R-R intervals, calculate one or more heart rate variability values, calculating one or more heart rate variability baselines, and the like). For definition purposes, Artificial Intelligence includes, but is not limited to, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Statistical Learning, and the like”; [0070]: “Heart rate variability (HRV) is the variation between each heartbeat and can be computed based upon (e.g., from) the Interbeat Intervals (IBI). HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The ECG measurements are used to determine IBIs and the heart rate variability, as shown in Fig. 2, which includes the low frequency signals, and determines the time-domain feature information and frequency-domain feature information. Additionally, deep learning networks are utilized as part of the methods, which can include the determination of heart rate variability.).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang combination does not teach wherein each of which is adapted to perform parallel processing of the inputs to determine a frequency domain feature information and a time domain feature information, respectively.
Wariar discloses an AI-based detection method of physiological events using electrograms. Specifically, Wariar teaches wherein each of which is adapted to perform parallel processing of the inputs to determine a frequency domain feature information and a time domain feature information, respectively ([0050]: “One or more of the external device 106 or the remote device 108 can estimate physiological parameters, detect a physiological event, or detect an operating status of the IMD 102 or the wearable medical device 103 using information collected from the IMD 102 or the wearable medical device 103, such as ambulatory EGMs or ambulatory ECGs collected from the patient 101. In various examples, artificial intelligence (AI) or machine learning (ML) can be used to assist in estimating physiological parameters, or detecting physiological events or device operating status. For example, one or more of the external device 106 or the remote device 108 can include an ML engine that uses a trained ML model to assess and identify different physiological events or physiological parameters. In some examples, one or more of the external device 106 or the remote device 108 can include a computing platform utilizing a parallel processing with interconnected processing nodes and queues that form a workflow for estimating multiple physiological parameters or detecting multiple physiological events substantially concurrently.”). Khare, Saleh, Yang, and Wariar are analogous arts as they are all related to inventions that analyze heart signals to determine health parameters of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the parallel processing from Wariar into the Khare/Saleh/Yang combination as the combination is silent on the order of the processing steps, and including parallel processing allows for speedier, more efficient processing of the physiological parameters.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar combination teaches wherein the processing steps comprise: performing a feature extraction on the collected at least one ECG signal and the acquired low-frequency signal by the frequency-domain based deep neural network to obtain the frequency domain feature information (Khare, [0149]: “The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy … extraction or prediction techniques to extract the relevant “good” sensor data from all the sensor data”; [0324]: “To execute the prediction system, the computing subsystem can be configured to operate in a multi-dimensional space (e.g., spatial and temporal dimensions) with one or more inputs from gathered data that include animal data, its associated contextual data, event data (i.e., which includes event outcome data), or a combination thereof. Characteristically, at least a portion of the one or more inputs is orthogonal data (e.g., environmental data). The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks), PCA (Principal Component Analysis), or other linear and non-linear dimensionality reduction techniques or processes (or a combination thereof) to identify and extract the most important factors (e.g., derived features or representative features of the data set derived from the one or more inputs) contributing towards a prediction”. The artificial intelligence (which includes the deep learning network) extracts important features, which includes the frequency domain feature information.), and performing a feature extraction on the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by the time-domain based deep neural network to obtain the time domain feature information (Khare, [0149]: “The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy … extraction or prediction techniques to extract the relevant “good” sensor data from all the sensor data”; [0324]: “To execute the prediction system, the computing subsystem can be configured to operate in a multi-dimensional space (e.g., spatial and temporal dimensions) with one or more inputs from gathered data that include animal data, its associated contextual data, event data (i.e., which includes event outcome data), or a combination thereof. Characteristically, at least a portion of the one or more inputs is orthogonal data (e.g., environmental data). The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks), PCA (Principal Component Analysis), or other linear and non-linear dimensionality reduction techniques or processes (or a combination thereof) to identify and extract the most important factors (e.g., derived features or representative features of the data set derived from the one or more inputs) contributing towards a prediction”. The artificial intelligence (which includes the deep learning network) extracts important features, which includes the time domain feature information.).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar combination is silent on the processing steps included in the determination steps.
Liu discloses a method and system for predicting disease risk. Specifically, Liu teaches performing a pooling operation on the frequency domain feature information and the time domain feature information to obtain a pooled feature information ([0088]: “For the feature fusion module, as shown in FIG. 3, a connection layer connects the structured data features and the unstructured data features in parallel along the specified dimension, adopts the SMOTE to reduce the imbalance rate by analyzing the minority class sample data and newly generating the sample of the class, and extracts the important information of the data with different structures respectively according to the different data types by adding the piecewise pooling operation.”); performing a feature fusion classification processing against the pooled feature information by a fully connected network ([0049]-[0050]: “a feature fusion module, being used to fuse the unstructured data features and the structured data features to extract and obtain fusion features; and a classification module, being used to obtain a disease risk prediction result using the fusion features as an input”). Khare, Saleh, Yang, Wariar, and Liu are analogous arts as they are all related to methods that measure physiological parameters such as ECG signals and determining a health condition of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the processing steps from Liu into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar combination as the combination is silent on the processing steps and Liu discloses suitable steps in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu combination teaches based on the determined frequency domain feature information and the time domain feature information, determining and outputting a signal processing result (Khare, [0066]: “a schematic of a method and system for generating dynamic real-time predictions using heart rate variability is provided”; A system can be one or more sets of one or more interrelated or interacting components which work together towards achieving one or more common goals or producing one or more desired outputs. The one or more components of a system can include one or more applications, frameworks, platforms or other subsystems, which can be integral to the system or separate from the system but part of a network or multiple networks linked with the system and operable to achieve the one or more common goals or produce the one or more desired outputs”).
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu combination teaches outputting a HRV value, however the combination does not teach the signal processing result being related to a tonoarteriogram information comprising a blood pressure variation information, and/or related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result.
George teaches systems and methods to treat neurological disorders. Specifically, George teaches the signal processing result being related to a tonoarteriogram information comprising a blood pressure variation information, and/or related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result ([0324]: “Decreased heart rate variability can signify decreased parasympathetic response and/or increased sympathetic response, which can be evidence of … myocardial infarction”. The heart rate variability from the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu combination is the signal processing result, which is related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result, as a decrease in heart rate variability can be evidence of myocardial infarction, which can be used as a test to determine possible myocardial infarction.). Khare, Saleh, Yang, Wariar, Liu and George are analogous arts as they are all related to inventions that analyze heart signals to determine health parameters of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the signal processing result being related to a myocardial infarction result as it allows the method to determine more health parameters with the measured values, which can provide the user with more information about their health.
Regarding claim 2, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of acquiring the at least one lead ECG signal comprises at least one of the following: acquiring a lead ECG signal I of a limb collected when the clothing is worn at a right hand and the ECG electrodes of the clothing are in contact with a left hand of the subject of detection (Saleh, [0046]: “The controller may comprise a set of electrodes including electrodes to contact the user's hands and perform a single lead ECG”); acquiring a lead ECG signal II of the limb collected when the clothing is worn at the right hand and the clothing is in contact with a left side of a neck or a region above the left side of the neck of the subject of detection; acquiring a lead ECG signal I, II, or III collected when the clothing worn at the right hand and the ECG electrodes od the clothing are in contact with the left hand and the left side of a neck, or the region above the left side of the neck of the subject of detection; acquiring at least one lead from twelve-lead ECG signals collected from the clothing and the ECG electrodes of the clothing are separately arranged at a chest portion, a wrist, and an ankle; acquiring at least one lead from a fifteen-lead ECG signals collected from the clothing and the ECG electrodes of the clothing are separately arranged on the chest portion, a back, the wrist, and the ankle; acquiring a lead ECG signal VI of the chest portion collected from the clothing and the ECG electrodes of the clothing are arranged at the chest portion.
Regarding claim 3, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches the method according to claim 2.
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination does not teach wherein the ECG electrode comprises at least one of a dry electrode, a wet electrode, a flexible electrode, a hydrogel ion electrode, an electronic fabric electrode and contactless electronics.
Yang teaches wherein the ECG electrode comprises at least one of a dry electrode, a wet electrode, a flexible electrode, a hydrogel ion electrode, an electronic fabric electrode and contactless electronics ([0016]: “The other purpose of the invention is to provide an object, a method and a system for detecting heartbeat or whether an electrode is in good contact; the technical solution to be solved is that ECG signals can be picked up by dry electrode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the specific type of ECG electrode from Yang into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination as the combination is silent on the specific type of electrode used, and Yang discloses a suitable electrode in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 8, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the signal processing result related to the tonoarteriogram information further comprises at least one of a tonoarteriogram signal, a systolic blood pressure information, a diastolic blood pressure information and a high blood pressure information (Khare, [0190]: “one or more biological parameters (e.g., heart rate, HRV, diastolic blood pressure, systolic blood pressure, perspiration rate, distance run, etc.) for a specified targeted individual can be, as a function of time while engaged in an activity, functionally modeled (e.g., fit to polynomials)”); the signal processing result related to the cardiac information further comprises at least one of an electrocardiogram and an arrhythmia test result (Khare, [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”).
Regarding claim 9, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of the following: transmitting the signal processing result to a user apparatus to display the signal processing result to a user; the user apparatus comprises at least one of a mobile phone, a watch and glasses (Khare, [0177]: “Computing device 42 can also include systems located on the one or more targeted individuals (e.g., another wearable with a display such as a smartwatch, smart glasses, or virtual reality/augmented reality headset) or other individuals interested in accessing the targeted individual's data”; [0182]: “the display can be operating as part of, or displaying receiving animal data or animal data-related information”); uploading the signal processing result to a cloud database and/or a medical platform (Khare, [0043]: “any reference to the collection or gathering of animal data from one or more source sensors from a subject includes gathering the animal data from one or more computing devices associated with the one or more source sensors (e.g., a cloud server or other computing device associated with the one or more source sensors where the data is stored or accessible)”; [0134]: “the on-body transceiver can be operable to communicate with one or more computing devices (e.g., computing subsystem 22, cloud 40)”).
Regarding independent claim 10, Khare teaches a deep learning-based wearable electro-arteriography (ETAG) apparatus for the automatic detection of cardiac diseases, comprising:
an acquiring unit for acquiring at least one lead electrocardiogram (ECG) signal collected from a clothing worn by a subject of detection wherein the clothing is integrated with ECG electrodes configured to acquire the at least one lead ECG signal ([0067]: “Animal data can be derived from (e.g., collected from) a targeted individual or multiple targeted individuals (e.g., including a targeted group of multiple targeted individuals, multiple targeted groups of multiple targeted individuals). In the case of sensors, the animal data can be obtained from a single sensor 18 gathering information from each targeted individual”; [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0069]: “Examples include, but are not limited to, … a sensor integrated or embedded into clothing (e.g., shirt, jersey, shorts, wristband, socks, compression gear)” The one sensor embedded into clothing is used to measure ECG signals of the subject and is the acquiring unit.).
However, Khare does not teach the location of the electrode relative to the user’s body.
Saleh discloses an ECG monitoring device. Specifically, Saleh teaches wherein the ECG signal is collected at or near one or more regions of a hand, a neck, a chest, a back, a wrist and an ankle of the subject ([0046]: “The controller may comprise a set of electrodes including electrodes to contact the user's hands and perform a single lead ECG”). Khare and Saleh are analogous arts as they are both related to the same field of endeavor of devices that measure and ECG signal of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the position of the ECG sensor from Saleh into the device from Khare as Khare is silent on the location of the ECG sensor, and Saleh discloses a suitable location in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh combination teaches acquiring a low-frequency signal related to blood pressure from the collected at least one lead ECG signal ([0070]: “HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The ultra-low frequency, very-low-frequency, and low-frequency bands are the low-frequency signals.), wherein the low frequency signal is obtained by passing the collected at least one lead ECG signal through filter ([0149]: “sensors enters the system is in one of the following structures: raw (no manipulation of the data) or processed (manipulated). The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy data noise filtering/cleaning techniques”).
However, the Khare/Saleh combination does not teach the filter specifically being a low-pass filter.
Yang discloses a method and system for detecting heartbeat through ECG electrodes. Specifically, Yang teaches passing the collected at least one lead ECG signal through a low-pass filter ([0277]: “The low-pass filter is connected on the front end of the instrument amplifier, the low-frequency ECG signal (lower than 40 Hz) can be transmitted to the instrument amplifier”). Khare, Saleh, and Yang are analogous arts as they are all related to the same field of endeavor of methods that measure ECG signals and detect the condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the low-pass filter from Yang into the Khare/Saleh combination as the combination is silent on the type of filter used, and Yang discloses a suitable filter in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang combination teaches a processing unit for processing both the collected at least one lead ECG signal and the acquired low-frequency signal as inputs by a deep learning network; wherein the deep learning network comprises a frequency domain-based deep neural network and a time-domain-based neural network (Khare, [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0183]: “one or more Artificial Intelligence techniques can be utilized as part of the one or more methods or systems to create, modify, or enhance one or more reference insights, primary insights, or predictive indicators, as well as to execute any one of the steps required in the one or more methods to collection, transform, and distribute data (e.g., derive R-R intervals, calculate one or more heart rate variability values, calculating one or more heart rate variability baselines, and the like). For definition purposes, Artificial Intelligence includes, but is not limited to, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Statistical Learning, and the like”; [0070]: “Heart rate variability (HRV) is the variation between each heartbeat and can be computed based upon (e.g., from) the Interbeat Intervals (IBI). HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The artificial intelligence techniques are the processing unit. The ECG measurements are used to determine IBIs and the heart rate variability, as shown in Fig. 2, which includes the low frequency signals, and determines the time-domain feature information and frequency-domain feature information. Additionally, deep learning networks are utilized as part of the methods, which can include the determination of heart rate variability.).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang combination does not teach wherein each of which is adapted to perform parallel processing of the inputs to determine a frequency domain feature information and a time domain feature information, respectively.
Wariar discloses an AI-based detection method of physiological events using electrograms. Specifically, Wariar teaches wherein each of which is adapted to perform parallel processing of the inputs to determine a frequency domain feature information and a time domain feature information, respectively ([0050]: “One or more of the external device 106 or the remote device 108 can estimate physiological parameters, detect a physiological event, or detect an operating status of the IMD 102 or the wearable medical device 103 using information collected from the IMD 102 or the wearable medical device 103, such as ambulatory EGMs or ambulatory ECGs collected from the patient 101. In various examples, artificial intelligence (AI) or machine learning (ML) can be used to assist in estimating physiological parameters, or detecting physiological events or device operating status. For example, one or more of the external device 106 or the remote device 108 can include an ML engine that uses a trained ML model to assess and identify different physiological events or physiological parameters. In some examples, one or more of the external device 106 or the remote device 108 can include a computing platform utilizing a parallel processing with interconnected processing nodes and queues that form a workflow for estimating multiple physiological parameters or detecting multiple physiological events substantially concurrently.”). Khare, Saleh, Yang, and Wariar are analogous arts as they are all related to inventions that analyze heart signals to determine health parameters of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the parallel processing from Wariar into the Khare/Saleh/Yang combination as the combination is silent on the order of the processing steps, and including parallel processing allows for speedier, more efficient processing of the physiological parameters.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar combination teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to perform a feature extraction on the collected at least one ECG signal and the acquired low-frequency signal by the frequency-domain based deep neural network to obtain the frequency domain feature information (Khare, [0149]: “The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy … extraction or prediction techniques to extract the relevant “good” sensor data from all the sensor data”; [0324]: “To execute the prediction system, the computing subsystem can be configured to operate in a multi-dimensional space (e.g., spatial and temporal dimensions) with one or more inputs from gathered data that include animal data, its associated contextual data, event data (i.e., which includes event outcome data), or a combination thereof. Characteristically, at least a portion of the one or more inputs is orthogonal data (e.g., environmental data). The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks), PCA (Principal Component Analysis), or other linear and non-linear dimensionality reduction techniques or processes (or a combination thereof) to identify and extract the most important factors (e.g., derived features or representative features of the data set derived from the one or more inputs) contributing towards a prediction”. The artificial intelligence (which includes the deep learning network) extracts important features, which includes the frequency domain feature information.), and perform a feature extraction on the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by the time-domain based deep neural network to obtain the time domain feature information (Khare, [0149]: “The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy … extraction or prediction techniques to extract the relevant “good” sensor data from all the sensor data”; [0324]: “To execute the prediction system, the computing subsystem can be configured to operate in a multi-dimensional space (e.g., spatial and temporal dimensions) with one or more inputs from gathered data that include animal data, its associated contextual data, event data (i.e., which includes event outcome data), or a combination thereof. Characteristically, at least a portion of the one or more inputs is orthogonal data (e.g., environmental data). The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks), PCA (Principal Component Analysis), or other linear and non-linear dimensionality reduction techniques or processes (or a combination thereof) to identify and extract the most important factors (e.g., derived features or representative features of the data set derived from the one or more inputs) contributing towards a prediction”. The artificial intelligence (which includes the deep learning network) extracts important features, which includes the time domain feature information.).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar combination is silent on the processing steps included in the determination steps.
Liu discloses a method and system for predicting disease risk. Specifically, Liu teaches perform a pooling operation on the frequency domain feature information and the time domain feature information to obtain a pooled feature information ([0088]: “For the feature fusion module, as shown in FIG. 3, a connection layer connects the structured data features and the unstructured data features in parallel along the specified dimension, adopts the SMOTE to reduce the imbalance rate by analyzing the minority class sample data and newly generating the sample of the class, and extracts the important information of the data with different structures respectively according to the different data types by adding the piecewise pooling operation.”); performing a feature fusion classification processing against the pooled feature information by a fully connected network ([0049]-[0050]: “a feature fusion module, being used to fuse the unstructured data features and the structured data features to extract and obtain fusion features; and a classification module, being used to obtain a disease risk prediction result using the fusion features as an input”). Khare, Saleh, Yang, Wariar, and Liu are analogous arts as they are all related to methods that measure physiological parameters such as ECG signals and determining a health condition of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the processing steps from Liu into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar combination as the combination is silent on the processing steps and Liu discloses suitable steps in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu combination teaches based on the determined frequency domain feature information and the time domain feature information, determine a signal processing result (Khare, [0066]: “a schematic of a method and system for generating dynamic real-time predictions using heart rate variability is provided”; A system can be one or more sets of one or more interrelated or interacting components which work together towards achieving one or more common goals or producing one or more desired outputs. The one or more components of a system can include one or more applications, frameworks, platforms or other subsystems, which can be integral to the system or separate from the system but part of a network or multiple networks linked with the system and operable to achieve the one or more common goals or produce the one or more desired outputs”).
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu combination teaches outputting a HRV value, however the combination does not teach the signal processing result being related to a tonoarteriogram information comprising a blood pressure variation information, and/or related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result.
George teaches systems and methods to treat neurological disorders. Specifically, George teaches the signal processing result being related to a tonoarteriogram information comprising a blood pressure variation information, and/or related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result ([0324]: “Decreased heart rate variability can signify decreased parasympathetic response and/or increased sympathetic response, which can be evidence of … myocardial infarction”. The heart rate variability from the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu combination is the signal processing result, which is related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result, as a decrease in heart rate variability can be evidence of myocardial infarction, which can be used as a test to determine possible myocardial infarction.). Khare, Saleh, Yang, Wariar, Liu and George are analogous arts as they are all related to inventions that analyze heart signals to determine health parameters of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the signal processing result being related to a myocardial infarction result as it allows the method to determine more health parameters with the measured values, which can provide the user with more information about their health.
Regarding claim 11, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches a system for a deep learning-based electro-tonoarteriography for the automatic detection of cardiac diseases, comprising an electronic apparatus and the clothing for the subject of detection (Khare, [0134]: “the on-body transceiver is affixed to, integrated with, or in contact with, a subject's body, skin, hair, vital organ, muscle, skeletal system, eyeball, clothing, object, or other apparatus on a subject”); the clothing collects the at least one lead ECG signal of the subject for detection (Khare, [0067]: “Animal data can be derived from (e.g., collected from) a targeted individual or multiple targeted individuals (e.g., including a targeted group of multiple targeted individuals, multiple targeted groups of multiple targeted individuals). In the case of sensors, the animal data can be obtained from a single sensor 18 gathering information from each targeted individual”; [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0069]: “Examples include, but are not limited to, … a sensor integrated or embedded into clothing (e.g., shirt, jersey, shorts, wristband, socks, compression gear)” The one sensor embedded into clothing is used to measure ECG signals of the subject.); and transmits the collected ECG signal to the electronic apparatus via a wireless unit (Khare, [0131]: “computing subsystem 22 can gather animal data 14 from source 12 via one or more communication links either wirelessly, via one or more wired connections, or a combination thereof”; [0132]: “the transmission subsystem enables the one or more sensors 18 to transmit data wirelessly for real-time or near real-time communication”); the electronic apparatus implements the steps of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hao (US 20240312638).
Regarding claim 6, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the time-domain based deep neural network comprises a sequentially connected convolutional neural network (Khare, [0234]: “The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks)”).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination does not teach wherein the time-domain based deep neural network comprises a sequentially connected convolutional neural network and at least one layer of long short-term memory neural network.
Hao discloses a system that gathers data such as ECG data to determine a condition of a user. Specifically, Hao teaches wherein the deep neural network comprises a sequentially connected convolutional neural network ([0088]: “Taking the trained LSTM model as an example, the estimation model may include a plurality of sequentially connected trained neural networks each of which includes an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer”) and at least one layer of long short-term memory neural network ([0087]: “The trained sequence model may include a trained recurrent neural network (RNN) (e.g., a trained Long Short-Term Memory (LSTM) model)”). Khare, Saleh, Yang, Wariar, Liu, George, and Hao are analogous arts as they are all related to methods that measure physiological parameters such as ECG signals and determining a health condition of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the structure of the neural network from Hao into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination as the combination is silent on the specific structure of the neural network and Hao discloses a suitable structure in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/Hao combination teaches the step of performing the feature extraction on the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by the time-domain based deep neural network to obtain the time domain feature information comprises: performing the feature extraction on the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by the convolutional neural network to obtain a convolutional feature information (Khare, [0149]: “The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy … extraction or prediction techniques to extract the relevant “good” sensor data from all the sensor data”; [0324]: “To execute the prediction system, the computing subsystem can be configured to operate in a multi-dimensional space (e.g., spatial and temporal dimensions) with one or more inputs from gathered data that include animal data, its associated contextual data, event data (i.e., which includes event outcome data), or a combination thereof. Characteristically, at least a portion of the one or more inputs is orthogonal data (e.g., environmental data). The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks), PCA (Principal Component Analysis), or other linear and non-linear dimensionality reduction techniques or processes (or a combination thereof) to identify and extract the most important factors (e.g., derived features or representative features of the data set derived from the one or more inputs) contributing towards a prediction”. The convolutional neural network extracts important features, which includes the convolutional feature information.); processing the convolutional feature information by the long short-term memory neural network to obtain the time domain feature information (Khare, [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0183]: “one or more Artificial Intelligence techniques can be utilized as part of the one or more methods or systems to create, modify, or enhance one or more reference insights, primary insights, or predictive indicators, as well as to execute any one of the steps required in the one or more methods to collection, transform, and distribute data (e.g., derive R-R intervals, calculate one or more heart rate variability values, calculating one or more heart rate variability baselines, and the like). For definition purposes, Artificial Intelligence includes, but is not limited to, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Statistical Learning, and the like”; [0070]: “Heart rate variability (HRV) is the variation between each heartbeat and can be computed based upon (e.g., from) the Interbeat Intervals (IBI). HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The ECG measurements are used to determine IBIs and the heart rate variability, as shown in Fig. 2, which includes the low frequency signals, and determines the time-domain feature information.); the time domain feature information comprises dependent information of blood pressure dynamic to time (Khare, [0190]: “one or more biological parameters (e.g., heart rate, HRV, diastolic blood pressure, systolic blood pressure, perspiration rate, distance run, etc.) for a specified targeted individual can be, as a function of time while engaged in an activity, functionally modeled (e.g., fit to polynomials)”. The diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure being a function of time is the blood pressure dynamic over time that can be the time-domain feature information.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hao and Gao (CN 110575141). Citations to CN 110575141 will refer to the English Machine Translation that accompanies this Office Action.
Regarding claim 7, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination teaches the method according to claim 1.
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination does not teach wherein the time-domain based deep neural network is a time-domain based interpretable deep learning network; steps of constructing the network comprises: re-structuring the input ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by an input layer; extracting a re-structured feature information of the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by a convolutional layer; performing a pooling process on the feature information obtained from convolution by a pool layer; processing, sequentially, the feature information obtained from pooling by a previous pooling layer by adding any number of the convolutional layer and the pooling layer; performing, by a fully connected layer, a classification on the feature information obtained from the pooling by a last pooling layer, the fully connected layer is provided with a regularization parameter; calculating a deviation of a result of the classification and evaluating accuracy of a current network.
Hao teaches wherein the time-domain based deep neural network is a time-domain based interpretable deep learning network; steps of constructing the network comprises: re-structuring the input ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by an input layer ([0088]: “the estimation model may include a plurality of sequentially connected trained neural networks each of which includes an input layer”; [0123]: “The heart rate curve may be input to an input layer of the updated first machine learning model 700. For example, the heart rate curve may include a plurality of heart rates over a sequence including different time points. The plurality of heart rates may be input to input layers of the plurality of neural networks of the updated first machine learning model 700 sequentially according to the sequence”. The plurality of heart rates include the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal, and inputting the plurality of heart rates into the machine learning model sequentially according to the sequence is the restructuring of the data.); extracting a re-structured feature information of the ECG signal and the low-frequency signal by a convolutional layer ([0134]: “exemplary model parameters of the first machine learning model 700 may include the number (count) of the plurality of sequentially connected neural networks”; [0134]: “The multiple hidden layers 920 may include one or more convolutional layers, one or more Rectified Linear Units layers (ReLU layers), one or more pooling layers, one or more fully connected layers, or the like, or a combination thereof. For example, the multiple hidden layers 920 may include a layer 1, a layer 2, . . . , a layer L. L is an integer greater than 1. Different layers of the second machine learning model 900 may perform different kinds of processing on their respective input. A successive layer may use an output from a previous layer of the successive hidden layer as an input. In some embodiments, each layer of the second machine learning model 900 may include one or more nodes (e.g., neural units). In some embodiments, each node may be connected to one or more nodes in a previous layer and/or a next layer. The number (or count) of nodes in each layer may be the same or different. In some embodiments, each node may correspond to an activation function”; Khare, [0149]: “The system may house one or more algorithms or other logic that deploy … extraction or prediction techniques to extract the relevant “good” sensor data from all the sensor data”; [0324]: “To execute the prediction system, the computing subsystem can be configured to operate in a multi-dimensional space (e.g., spatial and temporal dimensions) with one or more inputs from gathered data that include animal data, its associated contextual data, event data (i.e., which includes event outcome data), or a combination thereof. Characteristically, at least a portion of the one or more inputs is orthogonal data (e.g., environmental data). The dimensionality of the gathered data can be reduced using one or more Artificial Intelligence or Statistical techniques like CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks), PCA (Principal Component Analysis), or other linear and non-linear dimensionality reduction techniques or processes (or a combination thereof) to identify and extract the most important factors (e.g., derived features or representative features of the data set derived from the one or more inputs) contributing towards a prediction”. The artificial intelligence (which includes the convolutional layer) extracts important features, which includes the feature information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the processing steps from Hao into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George combination as the combination is silent on the processing steps and Hao discloses suitable steps in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George/Hao combination teaches performing a pooling process on the feature information obtained from convolution by a pool layer (Hao, Khare/Yang/Wariar/George/Liu combination; Liu, [0088]: “For the feature fusion module, as shown in FIG. 3, a connection layer connects the structured data features and the unstructured data features in parallel along the specified dimension, adopts the SMOTE to reduce the imbalance rate by analyzing the minority class sample data and newly generating the sample of the class, and extracts the important information of the data with different structures respectively according to the different data types by adding the piecewise pooling operation.”).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George/Hao combination does not teach processing, sequentially, the feature information obtained from pooling by a previous pooling layer by adding any number of the convolutional layer and the pooling layer.
Gao discloses a network-based seizure detection method. Specifically, Gao teaches processing, sequentially, the feature information obtained from pooling by a previous pooling layer by adding any number of the convolutional layer and the pooling layer (Claim 1: “pooling layer (pooling layer): merging operation reduces the size of the output neuron from a convolution layer, reduce the computational intensity and prevent over-fitting, using the Max-Pooling operation in the present invention”. The pooling layer merges the convolution layer through the merging operation, which includes adding and merging the layers.). Khare, Yang, Wariar, and Gao are analogous arts as they are all devices that use neural networks to detect health conditions of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the processing steps from Gao into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George/Hao combination as the combination is silent on the processing steps of the pooling operation, and Gao discloses suitable processing steps in an analogous device.
The Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George/Hao/Gao combination teaches performing, by a fully connected layer, a classification on the feature information obtained from the pooling by a last pooling layer (Hao, [0134]: “The multiple hidden layers 920 may include … one or more fully connected layers”; [0102]: “The trained CNN model may be configured to determine the at least one scan parameter as a classification problem”; [0134]: “the multiple hidden layers 920 may include a layer 1, a layer 2, . . . , a layer L. L is an integer greater than 1. Different layers of the second machine learning model 900 may perform different kinds of processing on their respective input. A successive layer may use an output from a previous layer of the successive hidden layer as an input. In some embodiments, each layer of the second machine learning model 900 may include one or more nodes (e.g., neural units). In some embodiments, each node may be connected to one or more nodes in a previous layer and/or a next layer”. The layers gather information from the previous layers, therefore the fully connected layer uses information obtained from the pooling by the last pooling layer.).
However, the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George/Hao/Gao combination does not teach the fully connected layer is provided with a regularization parameter; calculating a deviation of a result of the classification and evaluating accuracy of a current network.
Gao teaches the fully connected layer is provided with a regularization parameter (Claim 1: “the final output decision of CNN model depends on the previous weight and deviation of the layer in the network structure, we use the following formula (7), formula (8) to set the weights and bias: wherein, W, B, l, λ, x, n, m, t, and C respectively represents weight, the deviation, the number of layers, the regularization parameter”); calculating a deviation of a result of the classification and evaluating accuracy of a current network ([0037]: “input the test set into the network for testing and calculate the detection accuracy”. The accuracy of detection shows the deviation of the current network.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the regularization parameter and evaluating accuracy of the network from Gao into the Khare/Saleh/Yang/Wariar/Liu/George/Hao/Gao combination as the combination is silent on the processing steps in the fully connected layer, and Gao provides suitable processing steps in an analogous device. Additionally, including an evaluation of accuracy of a current network can provide the user with a result that informs them how accurate the results of the analysis are, which can further inform them of their health condition and how likely the provided analysis is.
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s argument regarding the rejections and objections previously set forth have been fully considered and are persuasive unless directly addressed subsequently.
Applicant has amended their claims to overcome the 112(b) rejections, however the amendments have introduced new 112(b) rejections.
Applicant's arguments with regards to the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Khare does not teach the claimed low frequency signal. However, the claimed limitation requires the method to acquire a low-frequency signal related to blood pressure from the ECG signal, which is taught by Khare. Khare states that HRV can be measured in a low frequency domain, which is acquired by filtering the data. This data is a low-frequency data, and is additionally related to blood pressure, since heart rate variability is closely related to blood pressure, therefore this argument is not persuasive (Khare, [0070]: “HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The ultra-low frequency, very-low-frequency, and low-frequency bands are the low-frequency signals.).
Applicant also argues that Yang does not teach a low-frequency signal related to blood pressure from the ECG. However, Yang is not solely relied upon to teach this limitation. Khare discloses the low-frequency signal related to blood pressure acquired through a filtering technique. Yang is simply used to teach a low-pass filter, since Khare is silent on the specific type of filter used. Additionally, filtering ECG data below a threshold will produce low-frequency signals related to blood pressure, as all ECG signals are related to blood pressure as they measure heart electrical activity, which is related to blood pressure, therefore this argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that Khare does not teach the method using both a frequency domain neural network and a time domain neural network. However, as stated in the 103 rejection above, Khare teaches using one or more artificial intelligence techniques to as part of the methods, and includes both frequency domain neural networks and time domain neural networks, therefore teaching on the use of both types of networks in the same processing step (Khare, [0071]: “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary output of the ECG measurements from which heart rate variability can be derived.”; [0183]: “one or more Artificial Intelligence techniques can be utilized as part of the one or more methods or systems to create, modify, or enhance one or more reference insights, primary insights, or predictive indicators, as well as to execute any one of the steps required in the one or more methods to collection, transform, and distribute data (e.g., derive R-R intervals, calculate one or more heart rate variability values, calculating one or more heart rate variability baselines, and the like). For definition purposes, Artificial Intelligence includes, but is not limited to, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Statistical Learning, and the like”; [0070]: “Heart rate variability (HRV) is the variation between each heartbeat and can be computed based upon (e.g., from) the Interbeat Intervals (IBI). HRV can be measured using a variety of methods and techniques including time-domain (e.g. AVNN, SDNN, pNN50, RMSSD), frequency domain (e.g., ultra-low-frequency (ULF), very-low-frequency (VLF), low-frequency (LF), and high-frequency (HF) bands)”. The ECG measurements are used to determine IBIs and the heart rate variability, as shown in Fig. 2, which includes the low frequency signals, and determines the time-domain feature information and frequency-domain feature information. Additionally, deep learning networks are utilized as part of the methods, which can include the determination of heart rate variability.). Applicant also argues that Khare does not teach the networks operating in parallel, however Khare is not relied upon to teach this limitation, therefore this argument is not persuasive.
Additionally, Applicant argues that Wariar does not teach parallel processing a frequency domain network and a time domain network. This limitation is not completely taught by Wariar. The use of the two different networks is taught by Khare (as evidenced above), and Wariar is only being used to teach the limitation of processing the networks in parallel. Khare is silent on how multiple networks are processed at the same time, so it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to another similar reference (i.e., another reference that analyzes heart signals to determine health parameters of a user) to determine how to process two different networks at the same time. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant also argues that Saleh does not teach a clothing-worn ETAG system integrated with ECG electrodes configured relative to the claimed body regions. However, Saleh is not relied on completely to teach this limitation. Khare discloses the electrodes being integrated into a clothing-worn object (Khare, [0069]: “Examples include, but are not limited to, … a sensor integrated or embedded into clothing (e.g., shirt, jersey, shorts, wristband, socks, compression gear)), and Saleh is simply used to teach the limitation of the electrodes coming into contact with the hands as a suitable location for ECG electrode placement. Khare is silent on the specific connection points of the electrodes, so it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to another device containing ECG electrode contact points to identify a specific location for the ECG electrodes to contact the user through the clothing item from Khare (Saleh, [0046]: “The controller may comprise a set of electrodes including electrodes to contact the user's hands and perform a single lead ECG”). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant also argues that Liu does not teach the pooling and feature-fusion steps in the claimed context. Again, Liu is not relied on entirely to teach this limitation. Khare discloses the frequency domain and time domain neural networks, but is silent on how the multiple models are aggregated in the analysis step, therefore it would have been obvious to a person to look to another similar reference (i.e., a reference that processes ECG data to determine a health condition of a user), to determine these processing steps. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Additionally, Applicant also argues that George does not teach ETAG processing, tonoarteriogram information, blood pressure information, or determining and outputting a myocardial infarction test result. In regard to the limitations of ETAG processing, tonoarteriogram information, and blood pressure information, the claim only requires either tonoarteriogram information comprising blood pressure information or cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result, not both. Therefore, the argument against George for not including the ETAG processing, tonoarteriogram information, and blood pressure information is not persuasive, as these limitations are not required to be taught by George. In regard to the limitation for determining and outputting a myocardial infarction test result, George is not entirely relied upon to teach this limitation. Khare is relied upon for determining and outputting a signal processing result (Khare, [0066]: “a schematic of a method and system for generating dynamic real-time predictions using heart rate variability is provided”; A system can be one or more sets of one or more interrelated or interacting components which work together towards achieving one or more common goals or producing one or more desired outputs. The one or more components of a system can include one or more applications, frameworks, platforms or other subsystems, which can be integral to the system or separate from the system but part of a network or multiple networks linked with the system and operable to achieve the one or more common goals or produce the one or more desired outputs”). George is simply relied upon to show that HRV values (which are the values determined in Khare), can be used as evidence of myocardial infarction, therefore the HRV values can be used to determine myocardial infarction (George, [0324]: “Decreased heart rate variability can signify decreased parasympathetic response and/or increased sympathetic response, which can be evidence of … myocardial infarction”. The heart rate variability from the Khare/Yang/Wariar combination is the signal processing result, which is related to a cardiac disease information comprising a myocardial infarction test result, as a decrease in heart rate variability can be evidence of myocardial infarction, which can be used as a test to determine possible myocardial infarction.), therefore this argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In regard to the Applicant’s arguments against the motivation to combine the references, as stated above, each reference is in a similar area (i.e., use of ECG electrodes, processing of ECG signals, operating multiple models at the same time, etc.), and share CPC categories, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably look to these references to cure the deficiencies in Khare.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791