DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 1-4, filed October 27, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-47 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Applicant argues on pg. 1, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented in the previous office action, that:
“Klicpera does not disclose that when the one or more flow rate sensors detect the initiation of a water flow, the at least one of the CPU, the microprocessor or the microcontroller, or any combination thereof, is configured to instruct the one or more water flow rate sensors to adjust a sampling rate to define one or more water flow events.”
In response, the examiner finds the argument not persuasive and respectfully disagrees. Klicpera discloses in para. [0057] that the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) connected in series to the water supply lines in an appropriate location for local water monitoring (42) and for monitoring water use and leak detection within a private or public property(ies). The water use and leak detection apparatus (10) can update, upload or download water and energy use on various frequencies, e.g., once per minute, once per hour, once per day, once per any frequency or preferably can send information upon sensing the initiation of water flow until the water flow is stopped (defined herein as an “water event use” or “water event use basis”). The examiner construes various frequency updates of water data usage as necessarily describing adjusting a sampling rate, which is cited below. However, upon further consideration of the amended limitations, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Klicpera (WO 2020/154384 A1) in view of Indurkar (US 11,190,985 B1).
Applicant argues on pg. 2, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented in the previous office action, that:
“Regarding independent claim 21 Klicpera in view of Li does not disclose or claim that the power over ethernet (“POE”) transfers water data to one or more remote computers or a cloud service company.”
In response, the examiner finds the argument persuasive and agrees. Klicpera in view of Li may not be relied upon as explicitly disclosing amended subject matter. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented in the previous office action is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Klicpera (WO 2020/154384 A1) in view of Fang (US 11,284,230 B1).
Applicant argues on pg. 3, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented in the previous office action, that:
“Kaag relates to applications that control electronic networks e.g., electronic lighting control networks. It is beyond dispute that the Office may only rely on analogous art to support an obviousness rejection.”
Applicant continues arguments directed at Kaag on pg. 4, disclosing
“the applicant contends that Kaag electrical prior art patent is not analogous and not a proper relevant art as electricity and water (water meter) don’t mix in the physical world.”
In response, the examiner finds the argument not persuasive and respectfully disagrees. Kaag discloses in para. [0001] that “in particular the invention relates to the efficient use of the network components in dependence of application requirements as well as network topologies.” This is juxtaposed with the applicant’s disclosure at para. [0051] disclosing M-Bus technology, wherein a wireless M-bus network is based on a star topology network with master and slave devices described in the EN 13757 standard which comprises a number of different operating modes. Furthermore, applicant’s disclosure discloses 167 instances of limitations relating to network and 285 instances of limitations relating to wireless/wired communication involving networking systems. The applicant utilizes the network extensively throughout the disclosure, and is therefore not construed as non-analogous. By the logic presented in this argument, no electrical component should work with the involvement of water; e.g., a network, a communication hub, any sensors reliant on electricity, etc. However, it is well known in the art to utilize electrical components with fluid. Furthermore, as argued by applicant that “an art citation that is not from the same field of endeavor as a claimed invention MUST be “reasonably pertinent” to the problem addressed by the inventor.” This is correct. The applicant is collecting data and transmitting data, heavily relying on limitations directed towards a network topology for control. Kaag, performs the functions of collecting data of sensors and actuators and utilizes a network topology for control.
Examiner notes that the Applicant has not made any remarks or comments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections presented in the previous office action. Furthermore, the amendments filed do not reflect agreement, disagreement, or remedy to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections presented in the previous office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 21 includes bullet points a-c, skips d and lists again at bullet point e. The examiner recommends to amend to replace bullet point e with bullet point d. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20, 23, 27, 29, 37, 39, and 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Claim 1, line 48 discloses a period after the word code, however, the claim continues after the period ends the claim. Therefore the scope of the claim is unclear. For the purposes of the present examination, the period will be construed as a semicolon. However, further clarification is required.
Claim 1 contains the trademark/trade name 3GPP. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a communication standard and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. 3GPP is a trademark registered by the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) and other Organizational Partners on a regional basis for the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP).
Claims 2-9, 13, 23, 37, 42, and 45 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Claim 3, line 7 discloses “APPs.” It is unclear to what APPs refers. For the purposes of the present examination, APPs is construed as applications. However, further clarification is required.
Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name “JavaScript.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a programming language and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. “JavaScript” is a trademark owned by Oracle Corporation in the United States.
Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name Java. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a program and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. The “Java” trademark is owned by Oracle. Oracle uses the Java trademark to identify its Java platform and related products and services.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Claim 10, line 49 discloses a period after the word code, however, the claim continues after the period ends the claim. Therefore the scope of the claim is unclear. For the purposes of the present examination, the period will be construed as a semicolon. However, further clarification is required.
Claim 10 contains the trademark/trade name 3GPP. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a communication standard and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. 3GPP is a trademark registered by the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) and other Organizational Partners on a regional basis for the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP).
Claims 11-12, 14-20, 43-44, and 46 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 10.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Claim 12, line 6 discloses “APPs.” It is unclear to what APPs refers. For the purposes of the present examination, APPs is construed as applications. However, further clarification is required.
Claim 12 contains the trademark/trade name “JavaScript.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a programming language and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. “JavaScript” is a trademark owned by Oracle Corporation in the United States.
Claim 12 contains the trademark/trade name Java. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a program and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. The “Java” trademark is owned by Oracle. Oracle uses the Java trademark to identify its Java platform and related products and services.
Claim 27 contains the trademark/trade name 3GPP. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a communication standard and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. 3GPP is a trademark registered by the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) and other Organizational Partners on a regional basis for the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP).
Claim 39 is rejected by virtue of its dependence from claim 27.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Claim 29, line 6 discloses “APPs.” It is unclear to what APPs refers. For the purposes of the present examination, APPs is construed as applications. However, further clarification is required.
Claim 29 contains the trademark/trade name “JavaScript.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a programming language and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. “JavaScript” is a trademark owned by Oracle Corporation in the United States.
Claim 29 contains the trademark/trade name Java. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a program and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. The “Java” trademark is owned by Oracle. Oracle uses the Java trademark to identify its Java platform and related products and services.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20, 23, 37, and 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klicpera (WO 2020/154384 A1), hereinafter Klicpera, in view of Indurkar (US 11,190,985 B1), hereinafter Indurkar.
Regarding claim 1, Klicpera discloses: A water meter system comprising:
a base station configured to be installed between a main water supply line for one or more buildings or structures and a water supply from a water source provider; (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating a Water Meter and Leak Detection System connected in series to the water supply piping to monitor water use and detect leak(s) for an example property, a residential structure; see also para. [0013]; see also para. [0057] disclosing figure 1 shown is an illustrative view of the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) ((126) shown in fig. 6 and (200) shown in fig. 7) connected in series to the water supply lines in an appropriate location for local water monitoring (42) and for monitoring water use and leak detection within a private or public property(ies) (40). For accurate measurements of water use, the present invention can be installed in the standard water meter location or installed between the pressure reducing valve and the civil, commercial, governmental, or municipal supply water source(s) and before any distribution lines).
the base station further comprising:
an electrical circuitry including at least one of a CPU, a microprocessor, or a microcontroller, or any combination thereof; (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 3 illustrating CPU (84) which also includes communication and control lines (98) and display control and data lines (89), display (80), wireless communication means (101), (56), and (102), optional temperature sensor (93), Main power (98), water energy generator (95), and clock IC (88); see also para. [0015] disclosing fig. 3 is an electrical schematic showing the main power, CPU or microcontroller, the analog or digital optional display means, the clock circuit, one or more flow sensors, optional temperature sensor, optional pressure sensor and/or water quality sensor(s), and optional water energy generator, and a first, second and/or third wireless communication technology for data transfer through either a private or public network system and/or the optional collection hub to an internet router).
a power source configured to be electrically connected to the electrical circuitry; (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 3 illustrating main power (98) with battery (87), power line (85), and grounding wire (86); see also para. [0121] disclosing main power (98) produces a power line (85) and a ground line (86); see also para. [0150] disclosing the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10), (126), (200) with control valve mechanism (210) can be battery operated and utilize re-chargeable batteries or super capacitors that can be charged with a water turbine electric generator or have typical batteries that are replaceable. The water Meter and Leak Detection System (10), (126), (200) with control valve mechanism (310) can also be AC or DC powered).
one or more water flow rate sensors or one or more positive displacement water meters or sensors configured to sensor and monitor a flow of water through the main water supply line; (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also para. [0134] disclosing flow meters can use a displacement piston, pushing it against a calibrated spring is a qualitative method and can only be used to show if the flow is on or off; see also para. [0140] disclosing multi-jet meters, positive displacement meter, single jet meters, pressure sensors, magnetic, ultrasound and Coriolis flow meters can all be utilized with the present invention to function as the flow sensor; see also para. [0138] disclosing the ultrasonic flow meters can measure water flow using two methods; transit time and 2) doppler shift. The speed of the transmission is affected by the movement of water in the pipe and by comparing the time taken to complete the cycle upstream versus downstream the flow of water through the pipe can be measured).
a memory including instructions that, when executed by at least one of the CPU, the microprocessor, or the microcontroller, or any combination thereof, monitor water data of the one or more buildings or structures, the water data comprising one or more of water flow rates, water flow durations, total water volumes, or water energy uses, or any combination thereof; (Klicpera, e.g., see paras. [0071]-[0072] disclosing the CPU (84) that processes the information supplied by the flow sensor (105), the optional temperature sensor (93), the optional pressure sensor (65), and the timing circuit (88) uses internal instructions to control the information projected on a display, transferring water use data by wired or wireless communication, and for processing leak detection alarm states. The microprocessor can include an EEPROM or any type of memory section that allows for specific programming to be incorporated as processing instructions; see also para. [0109] disclosing the water meter and leak detection system (10) will communicate with the private or public property(ies) using a remote display at a specifically determined frequency. The preferred method of data transfer will be on a water event basis; construed by the examiner as a schedule; which monitors the initiation of water use, its initial water flow rate, intermediate water flow rates, and when the water ceases to flow (turned off) the water use duration and total water used is calculated).
one or more wireless communication transceivers, at least one of the one or more wireless communication transceivers is configured to communicate via: a wireless network protocol based on IEEE 802.11 standards; an infrared light transmission scheme; a low power and long-range chirp spread modulation technology; a network that uses the low power and long-range chirp spread modulation technology; a wireless technology that transmits over an ultra narrow band; an Internet Protocol (IPv6) that uses a sub-1 GHz frequency; a network, based on a star, ring, or bus topology network with master and slave devices and specified standards, that uses operating modes S, T, R, C (868 MHz), F (433 MHz), or N (169 MHz); a narrowband internet of things (IoT) protocol that uses a low-power wide-area network technology standard by 3GPP for cellular network devices and services; a network protocol that uses a differential binary phase-shift keying and a Gaussian frequency shift keying over an ultra narrow band;
a wireless communication technology based on IEEE 802.16 standards; a wireless network that uses a low-bandwidth and long-range connectivity, the wireless network is configured to provide cloud connectivity for one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices, smart speakers, or bridge devices, or any combination thereof; a third-generation wireless mobile telecommunications technology; a fourth-generation wireless mobile telecommunications technology; or a fifth-generation wireless mobile telecommunications technology; or any combination thereof; (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also para. [0062] disclosing the wireless communication (46) can consist of two-way transmission, commonly known as duplex transceiver technology, such that the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) can transmit and receive electronic signals with a remote station, cell or smart phone, computer, or other electronic apparatus (400). The wireless communication (46) can also comprise a Radio Frequency (RF) mesh-enabled or point-to-point device (meters, relays) technology that is connected to several other mesh-enabled or point-to-point devices, which function as signal repeaters, relaying the data to an access point. The access point device aggregates, encrypts, and eventually transmits the data back to a municipal or government agency over a secure third-party private or commercial network. If the Water Meter and Leak Detection System or optional communication hub transmitter drops out of the network, its neighboring Water Meter and Leak Detection System or optional communication hub will find another route; see also para. [0163] disclosing the use of Wi-Fi (IEEE 802.11 family of wireless local area network) and upcoming Wi-Fi3 wireless technology (420b) is commonly a feature found on many cell phones, smart phones and similar apparatus (400) and wireless routers/servers); see also paras. [0041]-[0046]).
wherein one or more wireless communication technologies are configured to communicate via one or more wireless mobile telecommunication technologies that utilize a cellular transceiver configured to download water parameter data. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also fig. 8; see also paras. [0062]-[0063] disclosing signals and/or data can also be transferred by standard cellular format, 3GPPP or LTE-M and 5G cellular technology from cellular towers to remote servers and then over the internet to a local router/server in a private or public property(ies). The wireless communications (52), (54) and (46) are preferred to transmit, upload or download water parameter data or information via a secure wireless communication network).
wherein the one or more wireless communication transceivers are configured to utilize an authentication technology or an encryption technology, or any combination thereof, when: transmitting the water data; or receiving a signal or a command; or any combination thereof; (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also fig. 8 illustrating transceiver; see also para. [0159] disclosing the transfer to data can use authentication, encryption, integrity and non-repudiation technology to ensure that data or information is communicated securely).
wherein the one or more wireless communication transceivers are configured to communicate with an Internet Connection, one or more remote computers, a private network, a public network, a corporate network, or a cloud service company, or any combination thereof; (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 8 disclosing transceiver (320); see also para. [0062] disclosing the wireless communication (46) can consist of two-way transmission, commonly known as duplex transceiver technology, such that the Water meter and Leak Detection System (10) ((126) shown in Fig. 6 and (200) shown in fig. 7) can transmit and receive electronic signals with a remote station, cell or smart phone, computer, or other electronic apparatus (400). When the wireless communication (46) is being used, the water use data can be routed through Bluetooth, Bluetooth low energy (BLE), Wi-Fi/Wi-Fi3, Zigbee, Z-wave, LoRa, 6LoWPAN, WiMAX, Ultra Narrow band (UNB) or other wireless technology using a local router/server or private or commercial network that transfers the water use data over the internet and remote servers (cloud technology)).
wherein when the one or more water flow rate sensors detect an initiation of the flow of water, wherein at least one of the CPU, the microprocessor, or the microcontroller, or any combination thereof, is configured to instruct the one or more water flow rate sensors to adjust a sampling rate to monitor one or more water flow events; and (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above in view of fig. 3 and CPU (84) in combination with optional flow rate sensor; see also para. [0057] disclosing figure 1 is an illustrative view of the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) connected in series to the water supply lines in an appropriate location for local water monitoring (42) and for monitoring water use and leak detection within a private or public property(ies). The water use and leak detection apparatus (10) can update, upload or download water and energy use on various frequencies, e.g., once per minute, once per hour, once per day, once per any frequency or preferably can send information upon sensing the initiation of water flow until the water flow is stopped (defined herein as an “water event use” or “water event use basis”); see also para. [0032] disclosing water event use or water even use basis is defined as monitoring and sensing the initiation of water flow until the water flow is stopped, whereby the water flow rate, the duration of water flow, and the total water volume can be calculated and recorded. The water event use will inherently save wireless transmission energy by causing the CPU to go into a sleep mode between each water event using and allowing a superior analysis of water signatures and patterns for reliable discernment of leak and leak locations).
wherein the water data is transmitted, utilizing an application programming interface (API), to the one or more remote computers or the cloud service company. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also paras. [0083]-[0084] disclosing the use of an API, wherein the RestAPI has a uniform interface which serves between devices with mobile APPs or stations with computer programs and remotely located computer servers. The uniform interface simplifies and decouples the REST architecture, which enables the device APPs or station computer programs and remotely located computer servers to evolve independently; see also para. [0184] disclosing there are large cloud-computing companies with several computer server farms around the world that supplant the independent comprehensive internet infrastructure and communication network).
Klicpera is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing: an embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) code.
However, Indurkar further discloses: download an embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) code (Indurkar, e.g., see col. 6, lines 45-63 disclosing the IoT device (102) may need to activate a different eSIM profile (120) stored in its eUICC (108) and/or download a different eSIM profile (120), store it in the eUICC (108), and make that downloaded eSIM profile (120) active).
Accordingly, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to have modified Klicpera with Indurkar’s embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) for at least the reasons that an eSIM enables association of coverage areas, which is reprogrammable upon a new coverage area association, as taught by Indurkar; e.g., see col. 6, lines 45-63.
Regarding claim 2, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter as recited in Claim 1, further comprising a water control valve mechanism, the water control valve mechanism including at least one of a ball valve, a so9lenoid valve, a piston valve, a variable open design water control valve, a gate valve or a three-way water control valve, (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 9 illustrating a valve; see also para. [0139] disclosing the water supply line from the water main (208) can optionally include a manual shut off valve (300) with handle (302). the manual shut off valve (300) can be a ball valve, a solenoid valve, gate value type, piston valve, or other known technology).
said water control valve mechanism connected to the electrical circuitry. (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 8 explicitly illustrating water control valve (300) connected to the control circuit (314); see also para. [0155] disclosing the configuration of fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter as recited in Claim 1, wherein the application programming interface (API) comprises at least one of (i) a direct internet message encapsulation (ii) a simple object access protocol, (iii) a representational state transfer and an architectural style for distributed hypermedia systems, (iv) a platform that uses a Java development kit to facilitate communication between APPs and external services over HTTP, (v) a document object module that is written in JavaScript that uses Java to handle operations of a web document, (vi) a simple event-driven algorithm for parsing XML documents (vii) a bidirectional read/write event-based method for parsing XML documents, (viii) an extensible markup language application programming interface and other application programming interface protocols that provides at least one of a control system architecture, or any combination thereof. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 1; see also para. [0083] disclosing many newer internet protocols have been developed commonly known as an application programming interface (API). The API defines the well organized and resourceful way for a programmer or developer to write software instructions in the program separate from an operating system or other application. One such API is the RestAPI system which aims for fast performance, reliability, and the ability to grow, by re-using components that can be managed and updated without affecting the commercial system. With cloud-company services on the rise, APIs are being developed to facilitate communication with web services mobile APPs. REST is a logical choice for building APIs that allow users to connect and interact with Cloud services; see also para. [0085] disclosing using resources for identified uniform resource identifiers (URIs) as resource identifiers. The identifiers are separated from the representations that are returned to the client. The commercial or private server does not transfer data directly from the database, but rather, utilizes HTML, XML or JSON code that is designed to represent database records expressed in variable width character encoding, depending on the details of the structured query language (SQL) request and the server implementation; examiner notes the cited paragraph is describing lexing; see also para. [0173] disclosing the large cloud-computer companies can temporarily extend or customize the functionality for a client by transferring logic to it that it can execute. Examples of this may include compiled components such as Java applets and client-side scripts such as JavaScript. Complying with these constraints, and thus conforming to the REST architectural style (REST an acronym for Representational State Transfer), which will enable any kind of distributed hypermedia system to have desirable emergent properties, such as performance, scalability, simplicity, modifiability, visibility, portability, and reliability (Rest API)).
Regarding claim 4, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter system as recited in Claim 2, further comprising a pressure sensor, the memory further including instructions that, when executed by at least one of the CPU, the microprocessor, or the microcontroller, or any combination thereof, perform, based on pressure data from the pressure sensor: (i) monitoring pressure patterns and establishing pressure signatures; (ii) detect a leak condition; or (iii) monitoring pressure changes when the base station closes the water control valve mechanism; or any combination thereof. (Klicpera, e.g., see figs. 10-13 and para. [0069] disclosing figures 10-13 show a cell or smart phone, computer, or other electronic apparatus (400) running an “APP” or a sequence of “APP” pages that show, in a pie chart, bar chart, or other format. The Water Meter and Leak Detection System’s flow rate sensor(s) and software calculate of the using the water flow rate, water use duration, and total volume of water to differentiate water use devices or appliances. The addition of an acoustic sensor, can observe movement, vibration, and noise patterns (sound and pressure patterns) which can sense water valve position or movement, with the Water Meter and Leak Detection System can provide more specific differentiation of water use devices. Using AI software technologies, the acoustic sensor can be calibrated to monitor water flow and water pressure; see also figs. 15a-15c; see also paras. [0132]-[0133] disclosing the pressure sensor can then measure the decay in pressure reads to observe and indicate small leaks. Like a flow rate sensor, the acoustic sensor with programming software can also monitor the flow rate, the duration and the total water volume to determine water signature patterns).
Regarding claim 5, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter system as recited in Claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor. (Klicpera, e.g., see para. [0072] disclosing a single set of localized sensors (flow rate sensor (105), optional pressure sensor (65), optional acoustic sensor, and/or optional temperature sensor) can be utilized and incorporated into the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10)).
Regarding claim 6, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter system as recited in Claim 1, wherein at least one of the CPU, the microprocessor, or the microcontroller, or any combination thereof, includes a software program that performs a water use device calibration mode, the water use device calibration mode informs a user to activate a water use device, fixture, or appliance, monitors and records the one or more water flow events, and utilizes at least one of a software calculation, an algorithm, or an artificial intelligence, or any combination thereof, to monitor a water pattern and establish a water signature to identify the water use device, fixture, or appliance. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also para. [0032] disclosing the water event use will inherently save wireless transmission energy by causing the CPU to go into a sleep mode between each water event use and allowing a superior analysis of water signatures and patterns for reliable discernment of leak and leak conditions; see paras. [0073]-[0074] disclosing the automatic sensor learning mode utilizes artificial intelligence (AI) and other software to perform this operation. A user can enter into a programmed “Automatic Sensor Learning Mode” by pressing a specific hard or soft button on the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) or touch screen display (80) or by sending an electronic signal from a display and/or recording apparatus (50), (110) and/or other electronic apparatus (400). Such operation initiates the software to monitor the water use that occurs during the next days, weeks and/or months and, during this period, the learning AI software enters an aggressive learning phase. The AI software observes and monitors the main water supply, irrigation system, and water use devices (e.g., washing machine, water heater, showers, dishwasher, kitchen and bathroom faucets); see also paras. [0167]-[0168] disclosing the display of water used by the water use devices utilizes water flow rate, water use duration, total water volume data and optional pressure and acoustic technology in software calculations that generates water and use patterns or water signatures for leak detection and/or displaying water use and/or water quality information or data on a cell phone, smart phone, mobile phone, computer or similar electronic apparatus. The program (or setting) buttons can be used to program a “sensor calibration stage” or an “Automatic Sensor Learning Mode.” In the “sensor calibration stage” example, an owner-user can enter into a programmed “sensor calibration stage” by pressing a specific hard or soft button on the water meter and leak detection system (10), (126), (200) or touch screen display (80), or make a verbal or annunciation command or communication with the central audio hub having intelligent listening and speaker capabilities and/or another remote device such as a cell phone (400)).
Regarding claim 7, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter system as recited in Claim 1, wherein at least one of the CPU, the microprocessor, or the microcontroller, or any combination thereof, includes a software program that performs an automatic learning mode, the automatic learning mode executes a period of self-learning, monitors and records the one or more water flow events, and utilizes at least one of a software calculation, an algorithm, or an artificial intelligence, or any combination thereof, to monitor water patterns and establish water signatures to identify water use devices, fixtures, or appliances, or any combination thereof. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 1; see also para. [0032] disclosing the water event use will inherently save wireless transmission energy by causing the CPU to go into a sleep mode between each water event use and allowing a superior analysis of water signatures and patterns for reliable discernment of leak and leak conditions; see also paras. [0167]-[0169] disclosing fig. 13 shows another example of a cell phone, smart phone or similar apparatus (400) having an “APP” or programmed application, or another page of an “APP” or programmed application to display the soft buttons or control activators to turn on/off the water system, schedule the water control mechanism, or receive a text message that utilizes the technology and functionality as previously described. This display of water used by the water use devices utilizes water flow rate, water use duration, total water volume data and optional pressure and acoustic technology in software calculations that generates water use patterns or water signatures for leak detection and/or displaying water use patterns or water signatures for leak detection and/or displaying water use and/or water quality information or data on a cell phone, smart phone, mobile phone, computer or similar electronic apparatus. The program (or setting) buttons can be used to program a “sensor calibration stage” or an “Automatic Sensor Learning Mode.” In the “sensor calibration stage” example, an owner/user can enter into a programmed “sensor calibration stage” by pressing a specific hard or soft button on the water meter and leak detection system (10), (126), (200) or touch screen display (80), or make a verbal or annunciation command or communication with the central audio hub having intelligent listening and speaker capabilities. In the “automatic sensor learning mode,” the software learns about a family’s or corporation’s water use with or without the calibration steps. The automatic learning software could analyze, record, and store actual independent flow rates, variation of flow rate over time, typical durations, variations in pressure patterns (e.g. rate of flow at onset of water flow and rate of flow when turned off, and any variations during water flow duration, and optional acoustic/sound frequency) to assign the pattern of water use for the toilet and bathroom faucet).
Regarding claim 8, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter system as recited in Claim 2, wherein the base station is configured to receive the signal or the command, from the one or more remote computers or one or more electronic communication devices, to transmit the water data, close or open the water control valve mechanism, or perform a leak detection analysis, or any combination thereof. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 2; see also para. [0061] disclosing the wireless communication (46) can transmit information to a remote database, which communicates with a registered cell or smart phone, computer, or other electronic apparatus (400) for displaying water use and leak detection data. The wireless communication can also send information upon sensing the observation of a leak condition, e.g., alarm situation, to the registered cell or smart phone, computer, or other electronic apparatus (400); see also paras. [0177]-[0179] disclosing the application (410) can have to interface with the Bluetooth (420a), Wi-Fi (420b), or cellular (420c) wireless communication means, and send instructions to a specific “paired” Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10), (126), (200) with water control valve mechanism. Various pairing methods between the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10), (126), (200) with water control valve mechanism (310) and the cell phone, smart phone or other electronic apparatus (400) are contemplated to be necessary to ensure that proper communication is established between a single and unique Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10), (126), (200) in addition to one or more unique cell phone, smart phone or other electronic apparatus (400). A quick Response Code (QR code) unit address located on Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10), (126), (200) can communicate with a cell phone, smart phone or other electronic apparatus (400) having a camera to read QR and establish link to the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (200)).
Regarding claim 9, Klicpera in view of Indurkar discloses The water meter system as recited in Claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more wireless communication transceivers is configured to utilize a blockchain technology to transmit the water data and receive the signal or the command. (Klicpera, e.g., see rejection as applied above; see also para. [0108] disclosing when a Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) receives or uploads data and information such as a control command signal to send or transmit data and information it is critical that the device can authenticate the sender and be sure of the integrity of the data and information. Non-repudiation can be provided by signing, electronic witnessing and technologies that assert a document was read before it was signed. One of the main advantages of the Block-Chain technology is that non-repudiation is nearly immutable and can be used for security applications).
Regarding claim 10, Klicpera discloses A water meter system comprising:
a collection node configured to be installed between a main water supply line for one or more buildings or structures and a water supply from a water source provider; (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating a Water Meter and Leak Detection System; construed by the examiner as a collection node; connected in series to the water supply piping to monitor water use and detect leak(s) for an example property, a residential structure; see also para. [0013]; see also para. [0057] disclosing figure 1 shown is an illustrative view of the Water Meter and Leak Detection System (10) ((126) shown in fig. 6 and (200) shown in fig. 7) connected in series to the water supply lines in an appropriate location for local water monitoring (42) and for monitoring water use and leak detection within a private or public property(ies) (40). For accurate measurements of water use, the present invention can be installed in the standard water meter location or installed between the pressure reducing valve and the civil, commercial, governmental, or municipal supply water source(s) and before any distribution lines).
the collection node further comprising;
an electrical circuitry including at least one of a CPU, a microprocessor, or a microcontroller, or any combination thereof; (Klicpera, e.g., see fig. 3 illustrating CPU (84) which also includes communication and control lines (98) and display control and data lines (89), display (80), wireless communication means (101), (56), and (102), optional temperature sensor (93), Main power (98), water energy generator (95), and clock IC (88); see also para. [0015] disclosing fig. 3 is an electrical schemat