DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-23 are presented for examination, with Claims 1, 10, and 17 being in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0095601 (“Abraham”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0181630 (“Taipale”) and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,036,948 (“Wyatt”).
Regarding Claim 1, Abraham discloses an electrical load control system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of sensors (daylight sensor 154; [0065]; and occupancy sensor 152; [0065], both included in each of the one or more control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]) that includes:
a plurality of ambient light sensors (a plurality of ambient light sensors 154 included in the plurality of control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]), and
at least one occupancy sensor (152);
one or more illuminated electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]), each of the one or more illuminated electrical load control devices couplable to at least one electrical load device (126, 130+132, or 140+142);
wherein each of the one or more illuminated control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]) includes:
a user actuatable element (114; [0058]);
a light source to illuminate at least a portion of the user actuatable element (light source 112 illuminates user interface 114, as broadly claimed); and
control circuitry operatively coupled to the plurality of sensors, the user actuatable element and the light source (control circuitry 110 is operatively coupled to 152, 154, 114 and 112), the control circuitry to, responsive to receipt of a signal indicative of an occupancy condition in the space from the at least one occupancy sensor ([0065]-[0066]), wherein each of the plurality of ambient light sensors is disposed external to the control device (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074], are disposed externally to their respective control devices).
Abraham fails to specifically teach that the control circuitry adjusts the intensity of the light source to correspond to “aggregated ambient light data” determined using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors.
However, Taipale, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the control circuitry adjusts the intensity of the light source to correspond to “aggregated ambient light data” determined using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors ([0094], lines 17-24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the plurality of sensors as taught by Abraham, and have aggregated the data provided by them as taught by Taipale, in order to reduce the total power consumed by the load control system, as evidenced by Taipale ([0094], lines 16-17).
Although the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale teaches the one or more illuminated electrical load devices, the combination fails to teach or suggest that the devices are backlit and that they are insertable into a wallbox.
However, Wyatt, teaches backlit controllable devices insertable into a wallbox (see, Fig. 5, controllable light source 11 backlighting user actuable element 12; col. 10, lines 16-33; Fig. 11; col. 13, lines 39-55; see also, wall plate 14; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the control devices as taught by the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale with the backlight as taught by Wyatt, in order to aid a user in detecting a switch position in a dimly lit room, as evidenced by Wyatt (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein each of the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a wallbox mountable control device (see Abraham, a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074], as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a plurality of communicatively coupled backlit electrical load control devices (see Abraham, a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074], as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein to adjust the intensity of the light source correspond to the aggregated ambient light data, the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to further:
adjust the intensity of the light source in each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt) in unison with the adjustment of the intensity of the light sources in the remaining backlit electrical load control devices ([0056]; [0058] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale, as applied to Claim1, further teaches wherein to adjust the intensity of the light source to correspond to the aggregated data, the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to further: receive the output data from each of the plurality of ambient light sensors (daylight sensors 154; [0065] in Abraham); and combine the received output data using an algorithm to provide the aggregated ambient light data ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein to combine the received data using the algorithm to provide the aggregated data, the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to further: combine the received ambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) using at least one of: an arithmetic mean of the received ambient light sensor output signals; or a weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein to combine the received ambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) using the weighted average of the received senor output signals, the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to further: combine the received sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065]; occupancy sensor 152; [0065] in Abraham) using weighted values based on the distance between the respective ambient light sensor and the respective backlit electrical load control device ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale, as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein to adjust the intensity of the light source to correspond to the aggregated ambient light data, the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to further: receive the aggregated ambient light data from a communicatively coupled system controller (150 in Abraham; {0056]; [0074]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a plurality of ganged, communicatively coupled, backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt); and wherein to adjust the intensity of the light source to correspond to the aggregated data, the control circuit (110 in Abraham) in each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices to further: receive output data from each of the plurality of ambient light sensors external to the backlit electrical load control device (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham); and combine the received ambient light sensor output data to provide the aggregated data using at least one of: an arithmetic mean of the received ambient light sensor output signals; or a weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 10, Abraham discloses a method of illuminating one or more electrical load control devices (Fig. 1; a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]), comprising:
for each of one or more illuminated electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]):
illuminating at least a portion of a user actuatable element (114; [0058]) via a light source (112) operatively coupled to a control circuit (110) disposed in the respective illuminated electrical load control device (light source 112 illuminates user interface 114, as broadly claimed);
receiving, by the control circuit (110), a signal indicative of an occupancy condition in a space from at least one occupancy sensor (152; [0065]-[0066])
receiving, by the control circuit, output data provided by each of a plurality of ambient light sensors in the space (a plurality of ambient light sensors 154 included in the plurality of control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]); and
adjusting, by the control circuit (110), an intensity of the light source in the illuminated electrical load control device to correspond to the generated ambient light data ([0065]-[0066]).
Abraham fails to specifically teach that the control circuitry adjusts the intensity of the light source to correspond to “aggregated ambient light data” determined using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors.
However, Taipale, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the control circuitry adjusts the intensity of the light source to correspond to “aggregated ambient light data” determined using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors ([0094], lines 17-24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the plurality of sensors as taught by Abraham, and have aggregated the data provided by them as taught by Taipale, in order to reduce the total power consumed by the load control system, as evidenced by Taipale ([0094], lines 16-17).
Although the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale teaches the one or more illuminated electrical load devices, the combination fails to teach or suggest that the devices are backlit and that they are insertable into a wallbox.
However, Wyatt, teaches backlit controllable devices insertable into a wallbox (see, Fig. 5, controllable light source 11 backlighting user actuable element 12; col. 10, lines 16-33; Fig. 11; col. 13, lines 39-55; see also, wall plate 14; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the control devices as taught by the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale with the backlight as taught by Wyatt, in order to aid a user in detecting a switch position in a dimly lit room, as evidenced by Wyatt (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 10, further teaches wherein the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a plurality of communicatively coupled backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt); and
wherein adjusting the intensity of the light source in each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices to correspond to the aggregated ambient light data further comprises:
for each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
adjusting, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), the intensity of the light source in the backlit electrical load control device in unison with the adjustment of the intensity of the light sources in the remaining plurality of backlit electrical load control devices corresponding to the generated aggregate ambient light data determined using the ambient light data received from each of the ambient light sensors ([0056]; [0058] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 10, further teaches wherein receiving the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) further comprises:
for each of the one or more backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
receiving, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), the output data from each of the plurality of ambient light sensors (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham); and
aggregating, by the control circuit, the received output data using an algorithm to provide the aggregated ambient light data ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 10, further teaches wherein combining the received output data using an algorithm to provide the aggregated data further comprises:
for each of the one or more backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
combining, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), the receivedambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) using at least one of:
an arithmetic mean of the received ambient light sensor output signals; or
a weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 10, further teaches wherein combining the received ambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) using the weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale) further comprises:
combining, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), the received ambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) using weighted values based on the distance between the respective ambient light sensor and the respective backlit electrical load control device ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale, as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale, as applied to Claim 10, further teaches wherein adjusting the intensity of the light source to correspond to the generated aggregated ambient light data further comprises: receiving, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), the aggregated ambient light data from a communicatively coupled system controller (150 in Abraham; [0056]; [0074]).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 10, further teaches wherein the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a plurality of ganged, communicatively coupled, backlit, electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt); and
wherein adjusting the intensity of the light source to correspond to the aggregated data further comprises:
for each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
receiving, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), output data from each of the plurality of ambient light sensors external to the backlit control device (daylight sensor 154; [0065]; occupancy sensor 152; [0065] in Abraham); and
combining, by the control circuit (110 in Abraham), the received ambient light sensor output data to provide the aggregated ambient light data using at least one of:
an arithmetic mean of the received ambient light sensor output signals; or
a weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 17, Abraham discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device that includes instructions that, when executed by a control circuit (110) disposed in each of one or more electrical load control devices (Fig. 1; a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]), causes the control circuitry to:
cause an operatively coupled light source (112) to illuminate at least a portion of a user actuatable element (114; [0058]) via a light source operatively coupled to the control circuit (110) disposed in the respective illuminated electrical load control device (light source 112 illuminates user interface 114, as broadly claimed);
receive output data provided by each of a plurality of ambient light sensors (a plurality of ambient light sensors 154 included in the plurality of control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074]);
receive a signal indicative of an occupancy condition in a space from at least one occupancy sensor (152; [0065]-[0066]) and
adjust an intensity of the light source in the illuminated electrical load control device to correspond to the generated ambient light data ([0065]-[0066]).
Abraham fails to specifically teach that the control circuitry adjusts the intensity of the light source to correspond to “aggregated ambient light data” determined using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors.
However, Taipale, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the control circuitry adjusts the intensity of the light source to correspond to “aggregated ambient light data” determined using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors ([0094], lines 17-24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the plurality of sensors as taught by Abraham, and have aggregated the data provided by them as taught by Taipale, in order to reduce the total power consumed by the load control system, as evidenced by Taipale ([0094], lines 16-17).
Although the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale teaches the one or more illuminated electrical load devices, the combination fails to teach or suggest that the devices are backlit and that they are insertable into a wallbox.
However, Wyatt, teaches backlit controllable devices insertable into a wallbox (see, Fig. 5, controllable light source 11 backlighting user actuable element 12; col. 10, lines 16-33; Fig. 11; col. 13, lines 39-55; see also, wall plate 14; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the control devices as taught by the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale with the backlight as taught by Wyatt, in order to aid a user in detecting a switch position in a dimly lit room, as evidenced by Wyatt (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 17, further teaches wherein the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a plurality of communicatively coupled backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt); and
wherein the instructions that cause the control circuit to adjust the intensity of the light source in the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices to correspond to the aggregated ambient light data further cause the control circuitry to:
for each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
adjust the intensity of the light source in the backlit electrical load control devices in unison with the adjustment of the intensity of the light sources in the remaining plurality of backlit electrical load control devices ([0056]; [0058] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 17, further teaches wherein the instructions that cause the control circuit to receive the aggregated ambient light data generated using the output data provided by each of the plurality of ambient light sensors (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) further cause the control circuit to:
for each of the one or more backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
receive the output data from each of the plurality of ambient light sensors (daylight sensor 154; [0065]; occupancy sensor 152; [0065] in Abraham); and
combine the received output data using an algorithm to provide the aggregated ambient light data ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 17, further teaches wherein the instructions that cause the control circuit to the received output data using an algorithm to provide the aggregated ambient light data further cause the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to:
for each of the one or more backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
combine the received ambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065]; occupancy sensor 152; [0065]) using at least one of:
an arithmetic mean of the received ambient light sensor output signals; or
a weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 17, further teaches wherein the instructions that cause the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to combine the received sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065]; occupancy sensor 152; [0065] in Abraham) using the weighted average of the received sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale) further cause the control circuit to:
combine the received ambient light sensor output data (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham) using weighted values based on the distance between the respective ambient light sensor and the respective backlit electrical load control device ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale, as applied to Claim 17, further teaches wherein the instructions that cause the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to adjust the intensity of the light source to correspond to the determined aggregated ambient light data further cause the control circuit to:
receive the aggregated ambient light data from a communicatively coupled system controller (150 in Abraham; [0056]; [0074]).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as applied to Claim 17, further teaches wherein the one or more backlit electrical load control devices comprises a plurality of ganged, communicatively coupled, control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt); and
wherein the non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device that includes the instructions to adjust the intensity of the light source to correspond to the aggregated ambient light data further cause the control circuit (110 in Abraham) to:
for each of the plurality of backlit electrical load control devices (a plurality of load control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham, as modified by Wyatt):
receive output data from each of the plurality of ambient light sensors external to the backlit control device (daylight sensor 154; [0065] in Abraham); and
combine the received ambient light sensor output data to provide the aggregated ambient light data using at least one of:
an arithmetic mean of the received ambient light sensor output signals; or
a weighted average of the received ambient light sensor output signals ([0193]-[0194] in Taipale).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ arguments, as set forth in pages 11 and 12 of their response, in essence state that:
“Independent claims 1, 10, and 17 each recite a wallbox mountable, backlit, electrical load control device that receives signals from at least one occupancy sensor and each of a plurality of ambient light sensors. Responsive to an occupancy detection, the control device aggregates the signals provided by the plurality of ambient light sensors and uses the aggregated ambient light data to adjust the level of illumination provided by the backlight to correspond to the determined aggregated ambient light level. The proposed combination of Abraham, Taipale, and Wyatt fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of a backlit control device that aggregates a plurality of output signals received from each of a plurality of ambient light sensors to determine aggregated ambient light data and uses the aggregated ambient light data to adjust the illumination level of the backlight to correspond to the aggregated ambient light data responsive to receipt of a signal indicative of an occupancy in the space. At best, the proposed combination would teach adjusting lighting in the space based on a detected ambient light level (per Abraham and Taipale) and turning ON or OFF the illumination of a switch or outlet based on the ambient light level.” (Emphasis added)
The examiner cannot concur with Applicants’ arguments because, the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale and further in view of Wyatt, as stated above, clearly teaches that responsive to an occupancy detection (via occupancy sensor 152 of Abraham), the control device (110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] of Abraham) aggregates the signals (as taught by Taipale in [0094], lines 17-24, in particular) provided by the plurality of ambient light sensors (a plurality of ambient light sensors 154 included in the plurality of control devices 110+112+114 (only one shown in Fig. 1); [0056]; [0074] in Abraham) and uses the aggregated ambient light data to adjust the level of illumination provided by the backlight (as taught by Wyatt in Fig. 5, light source 11 backlighting the device) to correspond to the determined aggregated ambient light level (as taught by Taipale in [0094], lines 17-24, in particular).
The motivation to combine Abraham, Taipale, and Wyatt is that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the plurality of sensors as taught by Abraham, and have aggregated the data provided by them as taught by Taipale, in order to reduce the total power consumed by the load control system, as evidenced by Taipale ([0094], lines 16-17); and that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the control devices as taught by the combination of Abraham in view of Taipale with the backlight as taught by Wyatt, in order to aid a user in detecting a switch position in a dimly lit room, as evidenced by Wyatt (Abstract).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For at least the reasons stated above, the rejections of Claims 1-23, as amended herein, are maintained.
Conclusion
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844