DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/16/25 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 14-20 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 16 recites means for releasably attaching a sample portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 & a2 as being anticipated by CASTILLO (WO 2019/175442).
Regarding claim 1, CASTILLO discloses a bioreactor comprising:
housing 12 having a port 22 (housing including sampling port),
a fixed bed 18 inside the housing, and
a sampler 10, extending through the port 22, the sampler having a removable/detachable sample portion 16 (releasably attached sample portion) positioned within the fixed bed (Fig 1-1a, 0055-59, 0087),
the sample portion 16 may be attached by a frangible connector (0106) or that the sample portion 16 can be connected to a cap (positioner) that it can be detached from with enough force (frangible connection) (0070-0072, fig 1e, 1f),
the connecting portion comprising three integrally formed projections 14a (at least one) that can fracture upon bending (breakaway) to detach the sample portion (Fig 1d, 0070-71).
Regarding claim 2, CASTILLO discloses the sample portion 16 may comprise a substrate which is adapted to promote cell growth (0057).
Regarding claim 3, CASTILLO discloses sampler 10 has a positioner 20 to facilitate holding the sample portion in an appropriate position in or adjacent the fixed bed (adapted for positioning the sample portion) (0057-59, Fig 1a).
Regarding claim 5, CASTILLO discloses the positioner 20 is associated with the port 22 (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, CASTILLO discloses a cap 14 for sealing the port 22 (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, CASTILLO discloses the sampler is releasable from a grip 14a/b located external to the bioreactor (Fig 1D, 1E, 1F, 0070-72)
Regarding claim 8, CASTILLO discloses a locking pin (locking engagement) on the housing for retaining the sampler (0079-80).
Regarding claim 9, CASTILLO discloses the bioreactor has a lid 24 that comprises the port 22 (Fig 1, 0058).
Regarding claim 10, CASTILLO discloses the fixed bed can have a plurality of layers with the sample portion positioned between the layers (0059, Fix 1a).
Regarding claim 11, CASTILLO discloses a sampler for sampling a cell culture associated with a fixed bed 18 in a bioreactor 12 having a port 22 (fig 1), comprising a sampler 10 including a grip 14a or 14b connected to a positioner 20, the positioner connected to a sample portion 16 for positioning the sample portion in the bioreactor adjacent the fixed bed (0106, Fig 1-1e, 0055-59, 0087), the sample portion may be removably attached to the positioner in a variety of ways including with a frame (0087-0089, Figs 10-20) and the sample portion 16 may comprise a substrate which is adapted to promote cell growth (0057).
Regarding claim 14, CASTILLO discloses a locking pin (locking engagement) on the housing for retaining the sampler (0079-80).
Regarding claim 15, CASTILLO discloses frame 50 can be releasably attached to the positioner 48 by a toothed wedge and clamp (frangible connection) (0087, Fig 15, 19-20).
Regarding claim 16, means for releasably detaching has been interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be a frangible connection [Spec 0009] and functional equivalents thereof.
CASTILLO discloses a sampler (kit) for sampling a fixed bed of a bioreactor comprising a sampler (fig 20) including a releasably attached sample portion 16 and an outer part (container) adapted to release the sample portion (0087-88, Fig 20), the releasably attaching means being a frangible connection (0106, 0070-72).
Regarding claim 17, CASTILLO discloses the outer part (container) comprises an inner part (insert) that facilitates the detaching (0088, Fig 20).
Regarding claim 18, CASTILLO discloses the sample portion 16 may comprise a substrate which is adapted to promote cell growth (0057).
Regarding claim 19, CASTILLO discloses a method of sampling a fixed bed bioreactor 12 including a sample portion (releasably attached portion) at least partially positioned in or adjacent the fixed bed to promote growth of cells on the sample portion of the sampler comprising:
providing a sampler 10, extending through the port 22, the sampler having a removable/detachable sample portion 16 (releasably attached sample portion) extending into the bioreactor (Fig 1-1a, 0055-59, 0087), the sample portion 16 may be attached by a frangible connector (0106) or that the sample portion 16 can be connected to a cap (positioner) that it can be detached from with enough force (frangible connection) (0070-0072, fig 1e, 1f),
the connecting portion comprising three integrally formed projections 14a (at least two) that can fracture upon bending (breakaway) to detach the sample portion (Fig 1d, 0070-71),
initiating a culture, allowing enough time to permit cell growth in the fixed bed and sample portion, removing the sample portion from the fixed bed (withdrawing) causing a releasing of the connection of the sample portion (detaching) (0033, 0057, 0073, 0087-0089, Claim 71).
Regarding claim 20, CASTILLO discloses detaching comprises the sample portion (releasably attached portion) inserted into an opening of an inner part 60 (insert) in an outer part 58 (container) and that releasing the connection is by flexing the inner part (using insert to break portion from sampler) (0088, Fig 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the amended limitations are not taught by the cited prior art, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended features are addressed in the above rejections as being taught by CASTILLO. Therefore the examiner maintains the rejection as it is noted that Applicant s present no clear arguments why the cited portions of the reference does not teach these features.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799