DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application papers filed on 7 November 2022.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 7 November 2022 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality(ies):
(A) At paragraph 0017: “”upper face 11”,” is suggested to be: “upper face 11,”
The disclosure may have more informalities not identified above. Please review the specification for any further appropriate correction(s).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
(A) At line 2: “the battery cells” is suggested to be: the multiple battery cells. Appropriate correction is required.
(B) At line 9: “the other one” is suggested to be: the another one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 2 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
(A) At line 2: “laser” is suggested to be: a laser. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
(A) At line 2: “laser” is suggested to be: a laser. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 4 is/are objected to because of the following informality(ies):
(A) At line 2: “the battery cells” is suggested to be: the multiple battery cells. Appropriate correction is required.
(B) At line 4: “comprising” is suggested to be: comprising:. Appropriate correction is required.
(C) At line 5: “laser” is suggested to be: a laser. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017168340 to Kumazawa et al. (hereinafter “KUMAZAWA”).
(A) Regarding Claim 1:
KUMAZAWA discloses:
A manufacturing method of a battery pack in which multiple battery cells are stacked (not shown in the figures, see “technical field” section of English translation: a battery system in which a plurality of battery cells are connected in series or parallel), and electrodes of adjacent battery cells of the battery cells are connected by a bus bar (1, Fig. 8A), the bus bar having two holes (5) that are smaller than the electrodes (3, 4), and the bus bar being disposed such that the holes overlap the electrodes respectively (Fig. 8A), the manufacturing method comprising:
welding the bus bar and one of the electrodes (see “Fourth embodiment” section of the English translation: The welding plate portion 2a where the negative electrode terminal 3 and the aluminum bus bar 1 overlap is irradiated with laser light to form the first first welding portion 6a and the first welding portion 13a by through welding);
welding the bus bar and another one of the electrodes in an intermediate region between the two holes of the bus bar (see “Fourth embodiment” section of the English translation: Similarly, a laser beam is applied to the weld plate portion 2b where the positive electrode terminal 4 and the aluminum bus bar 1 are overlapped to form the first second weld portion 6b); and
welding the bus bar and the other one of the electrodes in an end region adjacent to the intermediate region of the bus bar (see “Fourth embodiment” section of the English translation: Similarly, a laser beam is applied to the weld plate portion 2b…to form…the second weld portion 13b by through welding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAZAWA, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7718274 to Ertl et al. (hereinafter “ERTL”).
(A) Regarding Claim 2:
KUMAZAWA teaches:
The bus bar (1, Fig. 8A) is irradiated by a laser (see the “Technical Field” section of the English translation: laser welded part) at a position away from an edge of one of the holes (see Fig. 8A at welds 6a, 13a, 6b, and/or 13b).
However, the difference between KUMAZAWA and the claimed invention is that KUMAZAWA does not explicitly teach irradiation by the laser is stopped when the bus bar melts up to the edge.
ERTL teaches:
Irradiation by a laser (5, Fig. 2a) is stopped when the bus bar melts up to the edge (Fig. 2b: see the part 1 at bevel surface 7 is now fillet weld 11 at the edge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of KUMAZAWA by forming the bus bar with a bevel surface around the hole and stopping irradiation by the laser when the bus bar melts up to the edge, as taught by ERTL, in order to form a fillet weld between the bus bar and the electrode and thereby achieve the predictable result of reducing damage to the electrode by suppling the welding energy exclusively to the bus bar surface at a predetermined distance away from the edge (col. 2, ll. 18-24, 33-40, 44-51).
(B) Regarding Claim 3:
KUMAZAWA teaches:
The bus bar (1, Fig. 8A), in the intermediate region (6b, Fig. 8A), is irradiated by a laser (see the “Technical Field” section of the English translation: laser welded part) at a position away from an edge of one of the holes (see Fig. 8A at welds 6a, 13a, 6b, and/or 13b).
However, the difference between KUMAZAWA and the claimed invention is that KUMAZAWA does not explicitly teach irradiation by the laser is stopped when the bus bar melts up to the edge.
ERTL teaches:
Irradiation by a laser (5, Fig. 2a) is stopped when the bus bar melts up to the edge (Fig. 2b: see the part 1 at bevel surface 7 is now fillet weld 11 at the edge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of KUMAZAWA by forming the bus bar with a bevel surface around the hole and stopping irradiation by the laser when the bus bar melts up to the edge, as taught by ERTL, in order to form a fillet weld between the bus bar and the electrode and thereby achieve the predictable result of reducing damage to the electrode by suppling the welding energy exclusively to the bus bar surface at a predetermined distance away from the edge (col. 2, ll. 18-24, 33-40, 44-51).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAZAWA in view of ERTL.
(A) Regarding Claim 4:
KUMAZAWA teaches:
A manufacturing method of a battery pack in which multiple battery cells are stacked (not shown in the figures, see “technical field” section of English translation: a battery system in which a plurality of battery cells are connected in series or parallel), and electrodes of adjacent battery cells of the battery cells are connected by a bus bar (1, Fig. 8A), the bus bar having two holes (5) that are smaller than the electrodes (3, 4), and the bus bar being disposed such that the holes overlap the electrodes respectively (Fig. 8A), the manufacturing method comprising: irradiating by a laser (see the “Technical Field” section of the English translation: laser welded part) at a position away from an edge of one of the holes (see Fig. 8A at welds 6a, 13a, 6b, and/or 13b).
However, the difference between KUMAZAWA and the claimed invention is that KUMAZAWA does not explicitly teach irradiation by the laser is stopped when the bus bar melts up to the edge.
ERTL teaches:
Irradiation by a laser (5, Fig. 2a) is stopped when the bus bar melts up to the edge (Fig. 2b: see the part 1 at bevel surface 7 is now fillet weld 11 at the edge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of KUMAZAWA by forming the bus bar with a bevel surface around the hole and stopping irradiation by the laser when the bus bar melts up to the edge, as taught by ERTL, in order to form a fillet weld between the bus bar and the electrode and thereby achieve the predictable result of reducing damage to the electrode by suppling the welding energy exclusively to the bus bar surface at a predetermined distance away from the edge (col. 2, ll. 18-24, 33-40, 44-51).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150243947 to Seto et al. teaches a bus bar with joining surfaces by laser welding pattern in a thinned area around the electrode terminal. US 20160114429 to Shioga et al., US 20190288264 to Fujita, and CN 111146397 to Guo et al. teach joining parts by laser welding away from an edge.
Conclusion
KAYLA M. MCCAFFREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/Kayla McCaffrey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745