DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-10 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumback et al (WO2019178372).
Baumback teaches a method comprising
providing a grilling appliance (par. 0039, 0051), the grilling appliance comprising a control system (par. 0042; par. 0071) operable to control a plurality of functions of the appliance (par. 0043; par. 0071), the appliance also including a communications interface (par. 0045) operatively associated with the control system (par. 0045), comprising:
connecting the communications interface of the appliance with a first server (par. 0045 last 2 lines; par. 0047) comprising an edge computing platform (par. 0047 last 7 lines) and
operating a mobile application (par. 0037, 0025) provided on a mobile device (par. 0035, 0025) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (par. 0079 user selection; par. 0065, par 0042), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 25 lines 2-5; par. 0045 last 2 lines), the mobile device transmitting the signal in a native language format (par. 0071 obtaining digital recipe and content; prior to server “parsing”), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0066 natural language processing engine) formatted to operate the control system of said appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025;machine instructions), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the appliance (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025), the control system of the appliance operating the appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0040; par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device).
With respect to Independent claim 29, Baumback teaches a method comprising
providing a grilling appliance (par. 0039, 0051), the grilling appliance comprising a control system (par. 0042; par. 0071) operable to control a plurality of functions of the appliance (par. 0043; par. 0071), the appliance also including a communications interface (par. 0045) operatively associated with the control system (par. 0045), comprising:
connecting the communications interface of the appliance with a first server (par. 0045 last 2 lines; par. 0047) comprising an edge computing platform (par. 0047 last 7 lines), the first server being in operative communication with a mobile API server (par. 0038 last 3 lines), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (par. 0046 separate; par. 0038 app part of user device, communicate with server; par. 0047) and
operating a mobile application (par. 0037, 0025) provided on a mobile device (par. 0035, 0025) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (par. 0079 user selection; par. 0065, par 0042), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 25 lines 2-5; par. 0045 last 2 lines), the mobile device transmitting the signal in a native language format (par. 0071 obtaining digital recipe and content; prior to server “parsing”), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0066 natural language processing engine) formatted to operate the control system of said appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025;machine instructions), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the appliance (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025), the control system of the appliance operating the appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0040; par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device).
establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance (par. 0035 cooking device system; par. 0042) and the mobile API server (par. 0042 user device) before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (par. 0037 authenticate prior to accepting; par. 0043 relative subsequent individual steps).
establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (par. 0038 last 3 lines; par. 0051), and wherein the mobile application transmits to the control system, via the mobile API server and the first server (par. 0047 connected), data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (par. 0043; par. 0051) in the absence of polling (without requiring user confirmation) the mobile API server (par. 0051 provide information, real time measurements).
With respect to Independent claim 30, Baumback teaches a method of operating a grilling appliance (par. 0039, 0051), comprising a control system (par. 0042; par. 0071) operable to control a plurality of functions of the appliance (par. 0043; par. 0071), the grilling appliance also including a communications interface (par. 0045) operatively associated with the control system (par. 0045), comprising:
connecting the communications interface of the appliance with a first server (par. 0045 last 2 lines; par. 0047) comprising an edge computing platform (par. 0047 last 7 lines), the first server being in operative communication with a mobile API server (par. 0038 last 3 lines), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (par. 0046 separate; par. 0038 app part of user device, communicate with server; par. 0047)
operating a mobile application (par. 0037, 0025) provided on a mobile device (par. 0035, 0025) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (par. 0079 user selection; par. 0065, par 0042), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 25 lines 2-5; par. 0045 last 2 lines), the mobile device transmitting the signal in a native language format (par. 0071 obtaining digital recipe and content; prior to server “parsing”), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0066 natural language processing engine) formatted to operate the control system of said appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025;machine instructions), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the appliance (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025), the control system of the appliance operating the appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0040; par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device).
establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance (par. 0035 cooking device system; par. 0042) and the mobile API server (par. 0042 user device) before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (par. 0037 authenticate prior to accepting; par. 0043 relative subsequent individual steps).
establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (par. 0038 last 3 lines; par. 0051), and wherein the mobile application transmits to the control system, via the mobile API server and the first server (par. 0047 connected), data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (par. 0043; par. 0051) in the absence of polling (without requiring user confirmation) the mobile API server (par. 0051 provide information, real time measurements).
With respect to claim 2, wherein the first server is in operative communication with a mobile API server (par. 0045 last 2 lines; par. 0047), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (par. 0046 separate networks; par. 0047), said method further comprising establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance (par. 0035 cooking device system; par. 0042) and the mobile API server (par. 0042 user device) before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (par. 0037 authenticate prior to accepting; par. 0043 relative subsequent individual steps).
Claim 8, establishing a direct communication link between the mobile device and the control system of the grilling appliance (par. 0035, 0079); and
operating the mobile application to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (par. 0079 user selection; par 0042), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit directly to the control system of the grilling appliance a signal relating to the selected function, the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0079).
Claim 9, wherein said establishing a direct communication link between the mobile device and the control system of the grilling appliance comprises establishing a short-range wireless communication link between the mobile device and the control system of the grilling appliance (par. 0035).
Claim 10, wherein the short- range wireless communication link comprises a wireless communications link compliant with a Bluetooth short-range wireless communications standard (par. 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumback et al. (WO2019178372) in view of Reul et. al. (WO2021110263)
With respect to Independent claim 30, Baumback teaches a method of operating a grilling appliance (par. 0039, 0051), comprising a control system (par. 0042; par. 0071) operable to control a plurality of functions of the appliance (par. 0043; par. 0071), the grilling appliance also including a communications interface (par. 0045) operatively associated with the control system (par. 0045), comprising:
connecting the communications interface of the appliance with a first server (par. 0045 last 2 lines; par. 0047) comprising an edge computing platform (par. 0047 last 7 lines), the first server being in operative communication with a mobile API server (par. 0038 last 3 lines), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (par. 0046 separate; par. 0038 app part of user device, communicate with server; par. 0047)
operating a mobile application (par. 0037, 0025) provided on a mobile device (par. 0035, 0025) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (par. 0079 user selection; par. 0065, par 0042), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 25 lines 2-5; par. 0045 last 2 lines), the mobile device transmitting the signal in a native language format (par. 0071 obtaining digital recipe and content; prior to server “parsing”), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0066 natural language processing engine) formatted to operate the control system of said appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025;machine instructions), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the appliance (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025), the control system of the appliance operating the appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0040; par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device).
establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance (par. 0035 cooking device system; par. 0042) and the mobile API server (par. 0042 user device) before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (par. 0037 authenticate prior to accepting; par. 0043 relative subsequent individual steps).
establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (par. 0038 last 3 lines; par. 0051), and wherein the mobile application transmits to the control system, via the mobile API server and the first server (par. 0047 connected), data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (par. 0043; par. 0051) in the absence of polling (without requiring user confirmation) the mobile API server (par. 0051 provide information, real time measurements).
Baumback teaches wireless communication between predetermined appliance control servers and a home appliance and mobile device for receiving and transmitting control commands by established communication by known mobile communication networks including Edge and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of the mobile communication of food processing appliances for controlling operation as taught by Reul.
Reul teaches operating a mobile application provided on a mobile device (pg. 16 lines 36-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 lines 22-23, lines 27-29), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), the mobile devices transmitting the signal in a native language format (pg. 18 lines 15-18), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10).
Thus since Baumback teaches the mobile device transmitting the signal in a native language format (par. 0071 obtaining digital recipe and content; prior to server “parsing”) obtained from a website URL including recipe text found at the URL (pg. 41 lines 1-5), and since Reul teaches a same transmission of data, in particular of the control commands, between the control command supply server and the home appliance control server may be based on the https protocol (pg. 6 lines 12-14) and control command supply server to translate control commands received in the JSON format (pg. 6 lines 27-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention teach a known format relative the broadly taught recipe text obtained as taught by Baumback, such as in the instant case in a native language comprising java script as taught by Reul (pg. 6 lines 27-33) for its art recognized purpose of providing a user obtained recipe in a format such as java script and achieving a same translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10) as taught by both and the advantage of translating into a format understood by the home appliance, such as a proprietary format used by the manufacturer of the home appliance and formatted to operate the control system of said appliance to implement the selected function (par. 0071 providing the digital files including machine instruction sets to cooking device; par. 0025;machine instructions).
Claims 1-2, 8-10 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reul et. al. (WO2021110263) in view of Baumback et al. (WO2019178372)
Reul teaches a method comprising
providing a grilling appliance (pg. 10 lines 34; pg. 9 lines 31-33), the grilling appliance comprising a control system (pg. 14 lines 5-11) operable to control a plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 line 35, 16 lines 29-34), the grilling appliance also including a communications interface (pg. 16 lines 4-5) operatively associated with the control system (pg. 14 lines 5-11), comprising:
connecting the communications interface of the grilling appliance with a first server (pg. 17 line 1, pg. 17 line 25; pg. 21 lines 35-36; fig. 5 ref. 262) and
operating a mobile application provided on a mobile device (pg. 16 lines 36-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 lines 22-23, lines 27-29), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), the mobile devices transmitting the signal in a native language format (pg. 18 lines 15-18), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10).
Reul teaches wireless communication between predetermined appliance control servers and a home appliance and mobile device for receiving and transmitting control commands by established communication by known mobile communication networks including Edge and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of the mobile communication of food processing appliances for controlling operation as taught by Baumback.
More specifically, Baumback teaches wireless communication networks comprising servers utilized to perform the various operations and functions as requested by applications executing on the user device (par. 0047). Baumback teaches the servers are not limited and include edge devices or any other suitable computing devices (par. 0047 last 8 lines).
Thus since both teach a same servers for controlling operation of the appliance, since Reul teaches established mobile communication using any known mobile telecommunication standard including Edge and since Baumback teaches the servers may be edge devices or any other suitable computing devices (par. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach a known type of server computing device, such as in the instant case a server comprising an edge computing platform as taught by Baumback, relative the broadly taught “servers” of Reul for its art recognized purpose of translating signals from a mobile device and transmitting control commands to be executed by the appliance as taught by both via wireless communication and at the same time provide control of the appliance with limited access and operational safety ensured as further desired by Reul (pg. 27 lines 24-32).
With respect to claim 2, the first server is in operative communication with a mobile API server (pg. 6 lines 6-7; pg. 18 lines 7-10; lines 15-18), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (pg. 17 lines 11-15 home appliance control server; separate), said method further comprising establishing a data communications link between the control system of the grilling appliance (pg. 17 lines 11-15; home appliance control server) and the mobile API server (pg. 17 lines 11-15; associate with user account) before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (pg. 17 lines 29-37 authenticate prior to accepting; pg. 24 lines 7-11 authenticate prior to selection; pg. 15 lines 34-36; link relative configured to accept command, i.e. before accepting).
Claim 8, further comprising: establishing a direct communication link between the mobile device and the control system of the grilling appliance (pg. 9 lines 35-36; pg. 10 lines 10-16; pg. 16 lines 35-37) and
operating the mobile application (pg. 16 lines 35-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 9 lines 31-36), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit directly to the control system of the grilling appliance a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 17 lines 29-36; pg. 4 lines 29-34), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 36- pg. 21 lines 1-7; pg. 4 lines 29-34).
Claim 9, wherein said establishing a direct communication link between the mobile device and the control system of the grilling appliance comprises establishing a short-range wireless communication link between the mobile device and the control system of the grilling appliances (pg. 4 lines 5-14).
Claim 10, wherein the short-range wireless communication link comprises a wireless communications link compliant with a Bluetooth short-range wireless communications standard (pg. 4 lines 11-12).
With respect to Independent claim 29,
Reul teaches a method comprising
Providing a grilling appliance (pg. 10 line 34; pg. 9 lines 31-33), the grilling appliance comprising a control system (pg. 14 lines 5-11) operable to control a plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 line 35, 16 lines 29-34), the grilling appliance also including a communications interface (pg. 16 lines 4-5) operatively associated with the control system (pg. 14 lines 5-11),
connecting the communications interface of the grilling appliance with a first server (pg. 17 line 1, pg. 17 line 25; pg. 21 lines 35-36; fig. 5 ref. 262), the first server being in operative communication with a mobile API server (pg. 6 lines 6-7; pg. 18 lines 7-10; lines 15-18), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (pg. 17 lines 11-15 home appliance control server; separate) and
operating a mobile application provided on a mobile device (pg. 16 lines 36-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 lines 22-23, lines 27-29), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), the mobile devices transmitting the signal in a native language format (pg. 18 lines 15-18), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10),
establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance and the mobile API server before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (pg. 17 lines 29-37 authenticate prior to accepting; pg. 24 lines 7-11 authenticate prior to selection; pg. 15 lines 34-36; link relative configured to accept command, i.e. before accepting).
establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), and wherein the mobile application transmits to the control system (pg. 22 lines 6-10), via the mobile API server and the first server (pg. 23 lines 34-36), data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (pg. 25 lines 1-4; pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36) in the absence of polling (without requiring user confirmation) the mobile API server (pg. 25 line 1-5 forward to appliance directly not user, mobile device; pg. 25 line 12; display information without confirmation required; pg. 19 lines 36-37 display to user; pg. 20 lines 5-6; pg. 24 lines 24-26).
Reul teaches wireless communication between predetermined appliance control servers and a home appliance and mobile device for receiving and transmitting control commands by established communication by known mobile communication networks including Edge and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of the mobile communication of food processing appliances for controlling operation as taught by Baumback.
More specifically, Baumback teaches wireless communication networks comprising servers utilized to perform the various operations and functions as requested by applications executing on the user device (par. 0047). Baumback teaches the servers are not limited and include edge devices or any other suitable computing devices (par. 0047 last 8 lines).
Thus since both teach a same servers for controlling operation of the appliance, since Reul teaches established mobile communication using any known mobile telecommunication standard including Edge and since Baumback teaches the servers may be edge devices or any other suitable computing devices (par. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach a known type of server computing device, such as in the instant case a server comprising an edge computing platform as taught by Baumback, relative the broadly taught “servers” of Reul for its art recognized purpose of translating signals from a mobile device and transmitting control commands to be executed by the appliance as taught by both via wireless communication and at the same time provide control of the appliance with limited access and operational safety ensured as further desired by Reul (pg. 27 lines 24-32).
With respect to Independent claim 30,
Reul teaches a method of operating a grilling appliance (pg. 10 line 34; pg. 9 lines 31-33), the grilling appliance comprising a control system (pg. 14 lines 5-11) operable to control a plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 line 35, 16 lines 29-34), the grilling appliance also including a communications interface (pg. 16 lines 4-5) operatively associated with the control system (pg. 14 lines 5-11),
connecting the communications interface of the grilling appliance with a first server (pg. 17 line 1, pg. 17 line 25; pg. 21 lines 35-36; fig. 5 ref. 262), the first server being in operative communication with a mobile API server (pg. 6 lines 6-7; pg. 18 lines 7-10; lines 15-18), the mobile API server not comprising a part of the edge computing platform (pg. 17 lines 11-15 home appliance control server; separate) and
operating a mobile application provided on a mobile device (pg. 16 lines 36-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 lines 22-23, lines 27-29), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), the mobile devices transmitting the signal in a native language format (pg. 18 lines 15-18), the native language format comprising Java Script (pg. 6 lines 30-33), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35; pg. 6 lines 27-33), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10),
establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance and the mobile API server before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (pg. 17 lines 29-37 authenticate prior to accepting; pg. 24 lines 7-11 authenticate prior to selection; pg. 15 lines 34-36; link relative configured to accept command, i.e. before accepting).
establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), and wherein the mobile application transmits to the control system (pg. 22 lines 6-10), via the mobile API server and the first server (pg. 23 lines 34-36), data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (pg. 25 lines 1-4; pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36) in the absence of polling (without requiring user confirmation) the mobile API server (pg. 25 line 1-5 forward to appliance directly not user, mobile device; pg. 25 line 12; display information without confirmation required; pg. 19 lines 36-37 display to user; pg. 20 lines 5-6; pg. 24 lines 24-26).
Reul teaches wireless communication between predetermined appliance control servers and a home appliance and mobile device for receiving and transmitting control commands by established communication by known mobile communication networks including Edge and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of the mobile communication of food processing appliances for controlling operation as taught by Baumback.
More specifically, Baumback teaches wireless communication networks comprising servers utilized to perform the various operations and functions as requested by applications executing on the user device (par. 0047). Baumback teaches the servers are not limited and include edge devices or any other suitable computing devices (par. 0047 last 8 lines).
Thus since both teach a same servers for controlling operation of the appliance, since Reul teaches established mobile communication using any known mobile telecommunication standard including Edge and since Baumback teaches the servers may be edge devices or any other suitable computing devices (par. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach a known type of server computing device, such as in the instant case a server comprising an edge computing platform as taught by Baumback, relative the broadly taught “servers” of Reul for its art recognized purpose of translating signals from a mobile device and transmitting control commands to be executed by the appliance as taught by both via wireless communication and at the same time provide control of the appliance with limited access and operational safety ensured as further desired by Reul (pg. 27 lines 24-32).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumback et al (WO2019178372) in view of Roman et al. (20180213037).
Baumback teaches teaches mobile control through commands and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of the mobile communication of home processing appliances for controlling operation thereof as taught by Roman.
Roman teaches home appliance interface for operation of home appliance (par. 0005) comprising WebSockets as the communication protocol among components. The WebSocketGateway can be used to implement asynchronous messaging. Asynchronous messaging can include communication between two applications or devices; the communication can include a message being transmitted and not waiting for a reply to continue and/or the WebSocketGateway can be used to implement synchronous messaging (par. 0034).
Thus since Baumback teaches data exchange between the cooking device, the server and mobile device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a same data exchange which has the advantage of data exchange which can include communication between two applications or devices as taught by Baumback and Roman such as Websocket Gateway and the further advantage of an advanced technology that makes it possible to open a two-way interactive communication session between the user's browser and a server such that you can send data to a server and receive event-driven responses without having to poll the server for a reply, i.e. not waiting for a reply to continue as taught by Roman (par. 0034).
Claim 4, establishing a data communications link between the mobile device and the mobile API server before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select at the least one function (par. 0037 authenticate prior to accepting; par. 0043 relative subsequent individual steps).
With respect to claim 5, since Baumback teaches using the API to establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (par. 0045 last 2 lines; par. 0047), and wherein the mobile application provided on the mobile device transmits to the control system of the grilling appliance via the mobile API server and the first server data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36) in the absence of polling the mobile API server (pg. 17 lines 29-37 authenticate prior to accepting; pg. 24 lines 7-11 authenticate prior to selection; pg. 15 lines 34-36; link relative configured to accept command, i.e. before accepting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a same data exchange which has the advantage of data exchange which can include communication between two applications or devices as taught by Baumback and Roman such as Websocket Gateway and the further advantage of an advanced technology that makes it possible to open a two-way interactive communication session between the user's browser and a server such that you can send data to a server and receive event-driven responses without having to poll the server for a reply, i.e. not waiting for a reply to continue as taught by Roman (par. 0034).
Claim 6, Baumback teaches the control system of the grilling appliance to send to the first server a signal relating to a functional error (par. 0079 relative original recipe), wherein the first server translates the signal relating to the functional error into a message relating to the functional error (par. 0079 side by side) and the first server transmits to the mobile application provided on the mobile device a message relating to the functional error (par. 0079 revised vs original).
Claim 7, operating the mobile application to request a recipe (pg. 24 lines 13-18), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit the recipe request to the mobile API server (par. 0028).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reul et al. (WO2021110263) in view of Roman et al. (20180213037).
Reul is taken as above.
Reul teaches mobile control through commands of any food processing or preparation machine and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of the mobile communication of home processing appliances for controlling operation thereof as taught by Roman.
Roman teaches home appliance interface for operation of home appliance (par. 0005) comprising WebSockets as the communication protocol among components. The WebSocketGateway can be used to implement asynchronous messaging. Asynchronous messaging can include communication between two applications or devices; the communication can include a message being transmitted and not waiting for a reply to continue and/or the WebSocketGateway can be used to implement synchronous messaging (par. 0034).
Thus since Reul teaches the first server is provided with a gateway API (pg. 6-10), wherein said establishing the data communications link comprises using the API to establish a two-way data communications link between the control system of the grilling appliance and the mobile API server (pg. 24 lines 35-37- pg. 25 lines 1-5), and wherein the control system of the grilling appliance transmits to the mobile device via the mobile API server data relating to the grilling appliance in the absence of polling the mobile API server (pg. 25 line 12; display information without user confirmation required; pg. 20 lines 31-33; direct access to as opposed to supply server; pg. 23 lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a same data exchange which has the advantage of data exchange which can include communication between two applications or devices such as in the instant case Websocket API as taught by Roman with respect to API as taught by Reul for its art recognized advantage of an advanced technology that makes it possible to open a two-way interactive communication session between the user's browser and a server such that you can send data to a server and receive event-driven responses without having to poll the server for a reply, i.e. not waiting for a reply to continue as taught by Roman (par. 0034).
With respect to claim 4, further comprising establishing a data communications link between the control system of the appliance and the mobile API server before said operating the mobile application provided on the mobile device to select the at least one function (pg. 17 lines 29-37 authenticate prior to accepting; pg. 24 lines 7-11 authenticate prior to selection; pg. 15 lines 34-36; link relative configured to accept command, i.e. before accepting).
With respect to claim 5, since Reul teaches using the API to establish a two-way data communications link between the mobile application provided on the mobile device and the mobile API server (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), and wherein the mobile application provided on the mobile device transmits to the control system of the grilling appliance via the mobile API server and the first server data relating to the operation of the grilling appliance (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36) in the absence of polling the mobile API server (pg. 25 line 12; display information without confirmation required; pg. 20 lines 31-33; direct access to as opposed to supply server; pg. 23 lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a same data exchange which has the advantage of data exchange which can include communication between two applications or devices such as in the instant case Websocket API as taught by Roman with respect to API as taught by Reul for its art recognized advantage of an advanced technology that makes it possible to open a two-way interactive communication session between the user's browser and a server such that you can send data to a server and receive event-driven responses without having to poll the server for a reply, i.e. not waiting for a reply to continue as taught by Roman (par. 0034).
Claim 6, Reul teaches the control system of the grilling appliance to send to the first server a signal relating to a functional error, wherein the first server translates the signal relating to the functional error into a message relating to the functional error, as taught by Reul (pg. 25 lines 24-27) and the first server transmits to the mobile application provided on the mobile device a message relating to the functional error (pg. 25 lines 24-27).
Claim 7, operating the mobile application to request a recipe (pg. 24 lines 13-18), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit the recipe request to the mobile API server (pg. 24 lines 20-23).
Response to Arguments
Applicants urging and claim amendments overcome the 101 rejection particularly with respect to the particularity of the machine, in the instant case specifically to methods of operating a grilling appliance via a communications interface of the grilling appliance and a mobile application operatively connected to a mobile device. The claimed process is the tool that improves the operation of the grilling appliance control system, thereby integrating the claimed method into a practical application.
With respect to applicants urging directed to Baumback and claim 1, Baumback teaches a user obtaining a recipe comprising recipe text to be ported into an application of the first user device, mobile phone. Baumback teaches the obtained text is subsequently parsed (pg. 41 lines 1-10). Baumback teaches the server obtains the digital recipe and parsing for identifying recipe specific (par. 0071). Baumback subsequently provides the reformatted digital recipes from the server to the cooking devices which including machine instruction sets for the cooking stages (par. 0071).
Thus Baumback teaches the communication network for linking the mobile device, server and cooking devices (par. 0045).
Thus Baumback teaches operating a mobile application provided on a mobile device (pg. 16 lines 36-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 lines 22-23, lines 27-29), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), the mobile devices transmitting the signal in a native language format (pg. 18 lines 15-18), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10),
With respect to applicants urging directed to Reul. Reul teaches operating a mobile application provided on a mobile device (pg. 16 lines 36-37) to select at least one function from among the plurality of functions of the grilling appliance (pg. 14 lines 22-23, lines 27-29), the mobile application operating the mobile device to transmit to the first server a signal relating to the selected function (pg. 18 lines 5-9; pg. 21 lines 35-36), the mobile devices transmitting the signal in a native language format (pg. 18 lines 15-18), the native language format comprising Java Script (pg. 6 lines 30-33), the first server translating the native language format signal into a translated data signal formatted to operate the control system of said grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 18 lines 31-35; pg. 6 lines 27-33), the first server transmitting the translated data signal to the communication interface of the grilling appliance (pg. 19 lines 35-37), the control system of the grilling appliance operating the grilling appliance to implement the selected function (pg. 20 lines 1-10).
Baumback is relied upon to teach the claimed type of server being “edge computing platform”.
With respect to applicants urging directed to Roman, Roman is not relied upon with respect to the native language format as Baumback and Reul teach such.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20200069103, 10444715 and 20190171342 directed to mobile controlled cooking devices.
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792