DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 04/08/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-17 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]) comprising: a silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]); an anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]); and an anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]), wherein the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]) comprises (a) a main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023]) comprising an aqueous binder (aqueous binder, see [0023], the main binder is an aqueous binder) and (b) a secondary binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023]) comprising a rubber-containing binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023], the secondary binder is a rubber-based binder), but fails to teach the anode contains 89 parts by weight or more and 99 parts by weight or less of the main binder and 1 part by weight or more and 11 parts by weight or less of the secondary binder containing on 100 parts by weight of the anode binder, and wherein the secondary binder comprises 80 parts by weight or more of butadiene (BD) units based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder, and the rubber-containing binder comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of styrene butadiene rubber (SBR), hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber (HNBR), butyl rubber, and fluororubber.
However, Kim teaches wherein the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]) contains 88 parts by weight of the main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023] the ratio of aqueous binder to rubber binder is 88:12 therefore 88 parts by weight) and 12 parts by weight of the secondary binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023] the ratio of aqueous binder to rubber binder 88:12, therefore 12 parts by weight) containing on 100 parts by weight of the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023] the anode binder entirely comprises the aqueous and rubber binders, therefore 100 parts by weight), and the rubber-containing binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023], the secondary binder is a rubber-based binder) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (styrene butadiene rubber, see [0046]), hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber (HNBR), butyl rubber, and fluororubber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim such that the negative electrode binder contains 88 parts by weight of aqueous binder and 12 parts by weight of rubber binder, and wherein the rubber-based binder comprises styrene butadiene rubber as Kim teaches it is known in the art to do so and because Applicant has not disclosed that 89 parts by weight of an aqueous binder and 11 parts by weight of a rubber based binder provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore would have expected Kim's anode binder and applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either aqueous binder and rubber binder in a weight ratio of 88:12 as taught by Kim or the claimed weight ratio of 89:11 because both would suppress volume expansion according to the charge and discharge of the silicon-based active material (see [0025] of Kim). Further it has been held that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05) therefore it is the Examiner’s position that the ratio aqueous binder to the rubber-based binder as taught by Kim creates a prima facie case of obviousness and obviates the claimed range. Further Kim teaches that modifications can be made(see [0096] of Kim).
Kim fails to teach wherein the secondary binder comprises 80 parts by weight or more of butadiene (BD) units based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder.
However, Sono teaches wherein the secondary binder (polymer, see [0036]) comprises 80 parts by weight or more (60 mass% or more and 90 mass % or less, see [0065]) of butadiene (BD) units (1,3-butadiene units, see [0064] where the aliphatic conjugated diene monomer is 1,3-butadiene) based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder (polymer, see [0036], see [0065] for 100 mass% of the polymer, see [0036] wherein the polymer also includes aromatic vinyl monomer units, see [0053] where the aromatic vinyl monomer units are styrene).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim to such that the rubber-based binder contains 60% by mass or more and 90% by mass or less of 1.3-butadiene as taught by Sono to ensure flexibility of the polymer and improving peel strength and heat resistance (see [0065] of Sono) and further it would have been obvious to modify the range to be between 80 mass% to 90 mass% as Sono teaches the mass% is a result effective variable of ensuring flexibility, peel strength, and heat resistance of the polymer (see [0065] of Sono). Further Sono teaches the polymer includes styrene butadiene units (see [0036] wherein the polymer also includes aromatic vinyl monomer units, see [0053] where the aromatic vinyl monomer units are styrene). Further Kim teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) is present in an amount of 60 parts by weight or more (60 wt % to 90 wt %, see [0035]) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein x=0 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]), SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein 0<x<2 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]), SiC, and an Si alloy.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein x=0 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]) and SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein 0<x<2 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]), but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein SiO.sub.x, wherein x=0 is present in an amount of 70 parts by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) wherein SiO.sub.x wherein x=0 is present in 100 parts by weight (see [0097], Example 1 the silicon-based active material is entirely Si which is the same as SiO.sub.x wherein x=0) based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Sono such that the silicon-containing active material comprises 100 parts by weight of SiO.sub.x wherein x=0 as Kim teaches it is known in the art to do so (see [0097] of Kim), and SiO.sub.x wherein x=0 has a higher capacity than SiO.sub.x wherein (0<x<2) (see [0032] of Kim). Further Kim in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material is present in an amount of 10 parts by weight or more and 40 parts by weight or less based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]) is included in a range of 5 wt % to 20 wt % (5 to 20 wt %, see [0060]) which overlaps the claimed range in the range of 10 wt % to 20 wt %, and Kim teaches a specific example wherein the anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]) is included in 10 wt % (negative electrode conductive material, weight ratio 10, see Example 1, see [0097]), which lies within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Sono to such that the anode conductive material is included in a range between 10 to 20 wt % as taught by Kim as a prima facie case of obviousness exists “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I), and further Kim discloses a specific example which lies inside the claimed range. Further Kim in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material comprises one or more of a planar conductive material, or a linear conductive material.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]) comprises carbon nanotubes (carbon nanotube, see [0058]) which is known in the art as a linear conductive material as evidenced by the instant specification (see [0075] of instant specification publication).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Sono such that the anode conductive material comprises a linear conductive material such as carbon nanotubes as Kim teaches it is known in the art to do so (see [0058] of Kim). Further Kim in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023]) has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 g/mol or more and 1,000,000 g/mol or less (weight average molecular weight of 250,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol, see [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Sono teaches a lithium secondary battery anode (negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery, see [0022]) comprising: an anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023]); and an anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) comprising the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]) according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 above) on one or both surfaces of the anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023] where the negative electrode active material is formed on the negative electrode current collector meaning it is formed on at least one side of the current collector).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Sono is silent in regards to wherein a surface of the anode active material layer in contact with the anode current collector layer satisfies an adhesive force of 300 gf/5 mm or more and 500 gf/5 mm or less under atmospheric pressure condition at 25° C.
However, Kim in view of Sono teach a lithium secondary battery anode (negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery, see [0022]) and anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) with the same structure and obviates the composition therefore if the adhesive force of the anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) in contact with the anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) was measured the same way under the same conditions, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect it to have the same adhesive force as claimed above. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that Kim in view of Sono teach the limitation of wherein a surface of the anode active material layer in contact with the anode current collector layer satisfies an adhesive force of 300 gf/5 mm or more and 500 gf/5 mm or less under atmospheric pressure condition at 25° C.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Sono teach wherein the anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) has a thickness of 1 μm or more and 100 μm or less (3 μm to 100 μm, see [0027]), and the anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) has a thickness of 20 μm or more and 500 μm or less (20 μm to 30 μm, see [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Sono teach a lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0069]) comprising: a cathode (positive electrode, see [0070]); the lithium secondary battery anode according to claim 10 (negative electrode described above, see [0070], further see modifications of claim 1 above); a separator (separator, see [0070]) provided between the cathode (positive electrode, see [0070]) and the anode (negative electrode described above, see [0070], further see modifications of claim 1 above, see separator interposed between [0070]); and an electrolyte (electrolyte, see [0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the aqueous binder (aqueous binder, see [0023], the main binder is an aqueous binder) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohol (polyvinyl alcohol, see [0023]), polyacrylic acid (polyacrylic acid, see [0023]), polyethylene glycol (polyethylene glycol, see [0023]), polyacrylonitrile (polyacrylonitrile, see [0023]), and polyacrylamide (polyacrylamide, see [0023]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023]) comprises polyacrylamide (polyacryl amide, see [0023] wherein the aqueous binder comprises polyacryl amide).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Sono teaches wherein the rubber-containing binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023], the secondary binder is a rubber-based binder) comprises styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (styrene butadiene rubber, see [0046], see modification above).
6. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (Pub. No. CN 112614976 A).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material comprises 80 parts by weight or more and 99.9 parts by weight or less of the planar conductive material and 0.1 parts by weight or more and 20 parts by weight or less of the linear conductive material based on 100 parts by weight of the anode conductive material.
However, Guo teaches an anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode), comprising a planar conductive material (conductive agent A, see [18] where conductive agent A is a planar conductive agent) and a linear conductive material (conductive agent B, see [21] comprises carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers which are known in the art as linear conductive materials) wherein the anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode) comprises 83 parts by weight of the planar conductive material (conductive agent A, see [18] where conductive agent A is a planar conductive agent, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below) and 17 parts by weight of the linear conductive material (conductive agent B, see [21] comprises carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers which are known in the art as linear conductive materials, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below).
Weight Ratio Explanation: See Example 1, [74] the conductive agent A is represented by carbon black and 25g are added, conductive agent B is carbon nanotubes and 5g are added. The total weight of conductive agent is 30g. (25/30)*100 = 83% or 83 parts by weight, (5/30)*100 = 17% or 17 parts by weight, and although carbon black, which is not known as a planar material is used in this example, as seen in [18] the conductive agent A can be a planar conductive material such as graphene (see [19]) therefore it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a planar conductive material for the carbon black in Example 1 as combining embodiments disclosed adjacent to one another in a prior art reference requires only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Sono to substitute the anode conductive material as taught by Kim in view of Sono for the anode conductive material comprising planar and linear conductive materials in a weight ratio of 83:17 as taught by Guo as an art effective equivalent anode conductive material to prevent destruction of conductive network inside the electrode (see [22] of Guo) and improve long term cycle performance (see [22] of Guo). Further Kim in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Sono and further in view of Guo teaches wherein the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]) is present in an amount of 5 parts by weight or more and 30 parts by weight or less (10 wt % to 30 wt %, see [0048]) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]).
1st Alternative Rejection Under 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Matsuo et al. (Pub. No. US 20210344043 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]) comprising: a silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]); an anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]); and an anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]), wherein the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]) comprises (a) a main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023]) comprising an aqueous binder (aqueous binder, see [0023], the main binder is an aqueous binder) and (b) a secondary binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023]) comprising a rubber-containing binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023], the secondary binder is a rubber-based binder), but fails to teach the anode contains 89 parts by weight or more and 99 parts by weight or less of the main binder and 1 part by weight or more and 11 parts by weight or less of the secondary binder containing on 100 parts by weight of the anode binder, and wherein the secondary binder comprises 80 parts by weight or more of butadiene (BD) units based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder, and the rubber-containing binder comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of styrene butadiene rubber (SBR), hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber (HNBR), butyl rubber, and fluororubber.
However, Kim teaches wherein the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]) contains 88 parts by weight of the main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023] the ratio of aqueous binder to rubber binder is 88:12 therefore 88 parts by weight) and 12 parts by weight of the secondary binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023] the ratio of aqueous binder to rubber binder 88:12, therefore 12 parts by weight) containing on 100 parts by weight of the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023] the anode binder entirely comprises the aqueous and rubber binders, therefore 100 parts by weight), and the rubber-containing binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023], the secondary binder is a rubber-based binder) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of styrene butadiene rubber (SBR), hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber (HNBR) (hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber, see [0046]), butyl rubber, and fluororubber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim such that the negative electrode binder contains 88 parts by weight of aqueous binder and 12 parts by weight of rubber binder, and wherein the rubber-based binder comprises hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber as Kim teaches it is known in the art to do so and because Applicant has not disclosed that 89 parts by weight of an aqueous binder and 11 parts by weight of a rubber based binder provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore would have expected Kim's anode binder and applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either aqueous binder and rubber binder in a weight ratio of 88:12 as taught by Kim or the claimed weight ratio of 89:11 because both would suppress volume expansion according to the charge and discharge of the silicon-based active material (see [0025] of Kim). Further it has been held that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05) therefore it is the Examiner’s position that the ratio aqueous binder to the rubber-based binder as taught by Kim creates a prima facie case of obviousness and obviates the claimed range. Further Kim teaches that modifications can be made(see [0096] of Kim).
Kim fails to teach wherein the secondary binder comprises 80 parts by weight or more of butadiene (BD) units based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder.
However, Matsuo teaches wherein the secondary binder (second polymer (A), see [0090]) comprises 80 parts by weight or more (74 mass% or more and 95 mass% or less, see [0092]) of butadiene (BD) units (hydrogenated aliphatic conjugated diene monomer units, see [0092], see [0091] wherein the hydrogenated aliphatic conjugated diene monomer units are butadiene) based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder (second polymer (A), see [0090], see [0092] for 100 mass% of polymer).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim such that the rubber-based binder and therefore the hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber comprises 74 mass% to 95 mass% of hydrogenated butadiene units as taught by Matsuo to ensure strength of the polymer (see [0092] of Matsuo). It would have further been obvious to modify the mass% to be between 80 mass% and 95 mass% as Matsuo teaches it is a result effective variable of ensuring strength of the polymer (see [0092] of Matsuo). Further Kim teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) is present in an amount of 60 parts by weight or more (60 wt % to 90 wt %, see [0035]) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein x=0 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]), SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein 0<x<2 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]), SiC, and an Si alloy.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein x=0 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]) and SiO.sub.x (SiO.sub.x, see [0031]), wherein 0<x<2 ((0≤x<2), see [0031]), but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein SiO.sub.x, wherein x=0 is present in an amount of 70 parts by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]) wherein SiO.sub.x wherein x=0 is present in 100 parts by weight (see [0097], Example 1 the silicon-based active material is entirely Si which is the same as SiO.sub.x wherein x=0) based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material (silicon-based active material, see [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Matsuo such that the silicon-containing active material comprises 100 parts by weight of SiO.sub.x wherein x=0 as Kim teaches it is known in the art to do so (see [0097] of Kim), and SiO.sub.x wherein x=0 has a higher capacity than SiO.sub.x wherein (0<x<2) (see [0032] of Kim). Further Kim in view of Matsuo teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Matsuo fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material is present in an amount of 10 parts by weight or more and 40 parts by weight or less based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]) is included in a range of 5 wt % to 20 wt % (5 to 20 wt %, see [0060]) which overlaps the claimed range in the range of 10 wt % to 20 wt %, and Kim teaches a specific example wherein the anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]) is included in 10 wt % (negative electrode conductive material, weight ratio 10, see Example 1, see [0097]), which lies within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Matsuo to such that the anode conductive material is included in a range between 10 to 20 wt % as taught by Kim as a prima facie case of obviousness exists “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I), and further Kim discloses a specific example which lies inside the claimed range. Further Kim in view of Matsuo teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Matsuo fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material comprises one or more of a planar conductive material, or a linear conductive material.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the anode conductive material (negative electrode conductive material, see [0057]) comprises carbon nanotubes (carbon nanotube, see [0058]) which is known in the art as a linear conductive material as evidenced by the instant specification (see [0075] of instant specification publication).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Matsuo such that the anode conductive material comprises a linear conductive material such as carbon nanotubes as Kim teaches it is known in the art to do so (see [0058] of Kim). Further Kim in view of Matsuo teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023]) has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 g/mol or more and 1,000,000 g/mol or less (weight average molecular weight of 250,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol, see [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches a lithium secondary battery anode (negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery, see [0022]) comprising: an anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023]); and an anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) comprising the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]) according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 above) on one or both surfaces of the anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023] where the negative electrode active material is formed on the negative electrode current collector meaning it is formed on at least one side of the current collector).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Matsuo is silent in regards to wherein a surface of the anode active material layer in contact with the anode current collector layer satisfies an adhesive force of 300 gf/5 mm or more and 500 gf/5 mm or less under atmospheric pressure condition at 25° C.
However, Kim in view of Matsuo teach a lithium secondary battery anode (negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery, see [0022]) and anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) with the same structure and obviates the composition therefore if the adhesive force of the anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) in contact with the anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) was measured the same way under the same conditions, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect it to have the same adhesive force as claimed above. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that Kim in view of Matsuo teach the limitation of wherein a surface of the anode active material layer in contact with the anode current collector layer satisfies an adhesive force of 300 gf/5 mm or more and 500 gf/5 mm or less under atmospheric pressure condition at 25° C.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Matsuo teach wherein the anode current collector layer (negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) has a thickness of 1 μm or more and 100 μm or less (3 μm to 100 μm, see [0027]), and the anode active material layer (negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector, see [0023]) has a thickness of 20 μm or more and 500 μm or less (20 μm to 30 μm, see [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Matsuo teach a lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0069]) comprising: a cathode (positive electrode, see [0070]); the lithium secondary battery anode according to claim 10 (negative electrode described above, see [0070], further see modifications of claim 1 above); a separator (separator, see [0070]) provided between the cathode (positive electrode, see [0070]) and the anode (negative electrode described above, see [0070], further see modifications of claim 1 above, see separator interposed between [0070]); and an electrolyte (electrolyte, see [0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the aqueous binder (aqueous binder, see [0023], the main binder is an aqueous binder) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohol (polyvinyl alcohol, see [0023]), polyacrylic acid (polyacrylic acid, see [0023]), polyethylene glycol (polyethylene glycol, see [0023]), polyacrylonitrile (polyacrylonitrile, see [0023]), and polyacrylamide (polyacrylamide, see [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the rubber-containing binder (rubber-based binder, see [0023], the secondary binder is a rubber-based binder) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of, hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber (hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber, see [0046], see modifications above), butyl rubber, and fluororubber.
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Matsuo teaches wherein the main binder (aqueous binder, see [0023]) comprises polyacrylamide (polyacryl amide, see [0023] wherein the aqueous binder comprises polyacryl amide).
8. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Matsuo et al. (Pub. No. US 20210344043 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (Pub. No. CN 112614976 A).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Matsuo fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material comprises 80 parts by weight or more and 99.9 parts by weight or less of the planar conductive material and 0.1 parts by weight or more and 20 parts by weight or less of the linear conductive material based on 100 parts by weight of the anode conductive material.
However, Guo teaches an anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode), comprising a planar conductive material (conductive agent A, see [18] where conductive agent A is a planar conductive agent) and a linear conductive material (conductive agent B, see [21] comprises carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers which are known in the art as linear conductive materials) wherein the anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode) comprises 83 parts by weight of the planar conductive material (conductive agent A, see [18] where conductive agent A is a planar conductive agent, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below) and 17 parts by weight of the linear conductive material (conductive agent B, see [21] comprises carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers which are known in the art as linear conductive materials, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below).
Weight Ratio Explanation: See Example 1, [74] the conductive agent A is represented by carbon black and 25g are added, conductive agent B is carbon nanotubes and 5g are added. The total weight of conductive agent is 30g. (25/30)*100 = 83% or 83 parts by weight, (5/30)*100 = 17% or 17 parts by weight, and although carbon black, which is not known as a planar material is used in this example, as seen in [18] the conductive agent A can be a planar conductive material such as graphene (see [19]) therefore it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a planar conductive material for the carbon black in Example 1 as combining embodiments disclosed adjacent to one another in a prior art reference requires only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim in view of Matsuo to substitute the anode conductive material as taught by Kim in view of Matsuo for the anode conductive material comprising planar and linear conductive materials in a weight ratio of 83:17 as taught by Guo as an art effective equivalent anode conductive material to prevent destruction of conductive network inside the electrode (see [22] of Guo) and improve long term cycle performance (see [22] of Guo). Further Kim in view of Matsuo teaches that modifications can be made (see [0096] of Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Matsuo and further in view of Guo teaches wherein the anode binder (negative electrode binder, see [0023]) is present in an amount of 5 parts by weight or more and 30 parts by weight or less (10 wt % to 30 wt %, see [0048]) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]).
2nd Alternative Rejection Under 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-10, 13-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (Pub. No. KR 20090110133 A) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu teaches an anode composition (anode active material layer, see [0014]) comprising: a silicon-containing active material (Si/SiOx where (0<x<2)/silicon alloy, see [0025], see [0056] where the anode active material comprises silicon oxide active material); an anode conductive material (conductive agent, see [0027]); and an anode binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder/rubber based binder, see [0027]), wherein the anode binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder/rubber based binder, see [0027]) comprises (a) a main binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder, see [0027]) comprising an aqueous binder (second polymer, see [0023] wherein second polymer is water soluble) and (b) a secondary binder (rubber based binder, see [0027]) comprising a rubber-containing binder (see [0024] where various binders of the third binder which is the rubber based binder are rubber materials, further see Table 1, 2, and 3 give specific examples wherein the 3rd binder is SBR which is a rubber based binder), the anode binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder/rubber based binder, see [0027]) contains 89 parts by weight or more and 99 parts by weight or less (90 parts by weight, see Table 1-3, Examples 6, 12, and 18 show a ratio of first/second polymeric binder to rubber-based binder of 9:1 which is 90 parts by weight of first/second polymeric binder) of the main binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder, see [0027]) and 1 part by weight or more and 11 parts by weight or less (10 parts by weight, see Table 1-3, Examples 6, 12, and 18 show a ratio of first/second polymeric binder to rubber-based binder of 9:1 which is 10 parts by weight of the rubber-based binder) of the secondary binder (rubber based binder, see [0027]) containing on 100 parts by weight (see Table 1-3, Examples 6, 12, and 18 show a ratio of first/second polymeric binder to rubber-based binder of 9:1, therefore total weight is 10 or 100 parts) of the anode binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder/rubber based binder, see [0027]), and the rubber-containing binder (see [0024] where various binders of the third binder which is the rubber based binder are rubber materials, further see Table 1, 2, and 3 give specific examples wherein the 3rd binder is SBR which is a rubber based binder) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (SBR, see Tables 1-3 give specific examples wherein the 3rd binder is SBR), hydrogenated nitrile-butadiene rubber (HNBR), butyl rubber, and fluororubber, but fails to teach wherein the secondary binder comprises 80 parts by weight or more of butadiene (BD) units based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder.
However, Sono teaches wherein the secondary binder (polymer, see [0036]) comprises 80 parts by weight or more (60 mass% or more and 90 mass % or less, see [0065]) of butadiene (BD) units (1,3-butadiene units, see [0064] where the aliphatic conjugated diene monomer is 1,3-butadiene) based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary binder (polymer, see [0036], see [0065] for 100 mass% of the polymer, see [0036] wherein the polymer also includes aromatic vinyl monomer units, see [0053] where the aromatic vinyl monomer units are styrene).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ryu such that the SBR third binder contains 60% by mass or more and 90% by mass or less of 1,3-butadiene as taught by Sono to ensure flexibility of the polymer and improving peel strength and heat resistance (see [0065] of Sono) and further it would have been obvious to modify the range to be between 80 mass% to 90 mass% as Sono teaches the mass% is a result effective variable of ensuring flexibility, peel strength, and heat resistance of the polymer (see [0065] of Sono). Further Sono teaches the polymer is styrene butadiene (see [0036] wherein the polymer also includes aromatic vinyl monomer units, see [0053] where the aromatic vinyl monomer units are styrene). Further Ryu teaches that modifications can be made (see [0056] of Ryu).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu in view of Sono teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (Si/SiOx where (0<x<2)/silicon alloy, see [0025], see [0056] where the anode active material comprises silicon oxide active material) is present in an amount of 60 parts by weight or more (80 to 96% by weight, see [0026] wherein the active material is in this weight range, see [0056] wherein Example 1 the only active material is silicon oxide therefore it consumes the entire weight percentage) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (anode active material layer, see [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu in view of Sono teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (Si/SiOx where (0<x<2)/silicon alloy, see [0025], see [0056] where the anode active material comprises silicon oxide active material) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiO.sub.x, wherein x=0, SiO.sub.x, wherein 0<x<2 (SiOx where (0<x<2), see [0025], see [0056] where the anode active material comprises silicon oxide active material), SiC, and an Si alloy (silicon containing metal alloy, see [0026], see [0058] in Example 7 the active material is silicon aluminum alloy).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu in view of Sono teaches wherein the anode conductive material (conductive agent, see [0027]) comprises one or more of a planar conductive material, or a linear conductive material (carbon fiber, see [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the main binder has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 g/mol or more and 1,000,000 g/mol or less.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the main binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder, see [0027]) has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 g/mol or more and 1,000,000 g/mol or less (1,000 g/mol or more and 1,000,000 g/mol or less, see [0021] and [0023] wherein the first and second binder have a molecular weight of 1,000 to 1,000,000).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ryu in view of Sono to modify the molecular weight of the first polymeric binder and the second polymeric binder such that the molecular weight of each one is between 100,000 to 1,000,000 g/mol as Ryu teaches an overlapping range and a prima facie case of obviousness exists “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I) and Ryu teaches the molecular weight of the first and second polymeric binder is a result effective variable of viscosity of electrode slurry, solubility in a solvent (see [0021] and [0023] of Ryu). Further Ryu in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0056] of Ryu).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu in view of Sono teaches a lithium secondary battery anode (112, Fig. 1, see [0041] where 112 is the same as the anodes described above) comprising: an anode current collector layer (current collector, see [0014] wherein an anode comprises a current collector); and an anode active material layer (anode active material layer, see [0014] this layer has a composition therefore it represents the layer and the composition which makes it up) comprising the anode composition (anode active material layer, see [0014] this layer has a composition therefore it represents the layer and the composition which makes it up) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) on one (formed on the current collector, see [0014], although it does not specify one or both sides, being formed on the collector is at least coating on one side) or both surfaces of the anode current collector layer (current collector, see [0014] wherein an anode comprises a current collector).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu in view of Sono teaches a lithium secondary battery (100, Fig. 1, see [0041]) comprising: a cathode (114, Fig. 1, see [0041]); the lithium secondary battery anode (112, Fig. 1, see [0041] where 112 is the same as the anodes described above) according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above); a separator (113, Fig. 1, see [0041]) provided between the cathode (114, Fig. 1, see [0041]) and the lithium secondary battery anode (112, Fig. 1, see [0041] where 112 is the same as the anodes described above, see [0041] and Fig. 1 where 113 is between 112 and 114); and an electrolyte (electrolyte, see [0041]).
Regarding claim 14, Ryu in view of Sono teaches wherein the aqueous binder (second polymer, see [0023] wherein the second polymer is water soluble) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid (polyacrylic acid (PAA), see [0056], [0058], and [0061] and Table 1-3 wherein every example given includes polyacrylic acid as the second polymeric binder), polyethylene glycol, polyacrylonitrile, and polyacrylamide.
Regarding claim 17, Ryu in view of Sono teaches wherein the rubber-containing binder (see [0024] where various binders of the third binder which is the rubber based binder are rubber materials, further see Table 1, 2, and 3 give specific examples wherein the 3rd binder is SBR which is a rubber based binder) comprises styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (SBR, see Tables 1-3 give specific examples wherein the 3rd binder is SBR).
10. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim ‘932 et al. (Pub. No. US 20230197932 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu in view of Sono teaches wherein the silicon-containing active material (Si/SiOx where (0<x<2)/Silicon alloy, see [0025], see [0056] where the anode active material comprises silicon oxide active material) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiO.sub.x, wherein x=0 and SiO.sub.x, wherein 0<x<2 (SiOx where (0<x<2), see [0025], see [0056] where the anode active material comprises silicon oxide active material), but fails to teach wherein SiO.sub.x, wherein x=0 is present in an amount of 70 parts by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material.
However, Kim ‘932 teaches wherein SiO.sub.x, wherein x=0 (porous silicon, see [0030]) is present in an amount of 70 parts by weight or more (50-95 wt%, see [0030], see [0087] specific example of 75:25, see [0091] specific example of 80:20 ratio) based on 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material (negative active material, see [0030]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ryu in view of Sono such that the active material is porous silicon in an amount of 50-95% by weight as taught by Kim ‘932 so side reactions may be suppressed (see [0024] of Kim ‘932]) and further modify the range to stay within the claimed range of 70-95% by weight as Kim ‘932 teaches weight ratio of porous silicon in the active material is a result effective variable to maintain macropore structure (see [0033] of Kim ‘932). Further Ryu in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0056] of Ryu).
11. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanelt et al. (Pub. No. US 20160126538 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material is present in an amount of 10 parts by weight or more and 40 parts by weight or less based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition.
However, Hanelt teaches wherein the anode conductive material (electrically conductive component, see [0078]) is present in an amount of 10 parts by weight or more and 40 parts by weight or less (0-40%, see [0078]) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (electrode material, see [0078], see [0090] wherein a negative electrode contains the electrode material).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ryu in view of Sono such that the conductive agent is present in an amount of 0-40% by weight as taught by Hanelt to reduce transition resistances within the electrode (see [0078] of Hanelt) and further obvious to modify the range to be within the claimed range of 10-40% by weight as Hanelt teaches the electrically conductive component weight percent is a result effective variable of reducing the transition resistances within the electrode (see [0078] of Hanelt). Further Ryu in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0056] of Ryu).
12. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (Pub. No. CN 112614976 A).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the anode conductive material comprises 80 parts by weight or more and 99.9 parts by weight or less of the planar conductive material and 0.1 parts by weight or more and 20 parts by weight or less of the linear conductive material based on 100 parts by weight of the anode conductive material.
However, Guo teaches an anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode), comprising a planar conductive material (conductive agent A, see [18] where conductive agent A is a planar conductive agent) and a linear conductive material (conductive agent B, see [21] comprises carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers which are known in the art as linear conductive materials) wherein the anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode) comprises 83 parts by weight of the planar conductive material (conductive agent A, see [18] where conductive agent A is a planar conductive agent, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below) and 17 parts by weight of the linear conductive material (conductive agent B, see [21] comprises carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers which are known in the art as linear conductive materials, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode conductive material (composite conductive agent, see [17], further see [11] where the composite conductive agent is part of a negative electrode, see detailed explanation of weight ratio below).
Weight Ratio Explanation: See Example 1, [74] the conductive agent A is represented by carbon black and 25g are added, conductive agent B is carbon nanotubes and 5g are added. The total weight of conductive agent is 30g. (25/30)*100 = 83% or 83 parts by weight, (5/30)*100 = 17% or 17 parts by weight, and although carbon black, which is not known as a planar material is used in this example, as seen in [18] the conductive agent A can be a planar conductive material such as graphene (see [19]) therefore it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a planar conductive material for the carbon black in Example 1 as combining embodiments disclosed adjacent to one another in a prior art reference requires only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ryu in view of Sono to substitute the conductive agent as taught by Ryu in view of Sono for the anode conductive material comprising planar and linear conductive materials in a weight ratio of 83:17 as taught by Guo as an art effective equivalent anode conductive material to prevent destruction of conductive network inside the electrode (see [22] of Guo) and improve long term cycle performance (see [22] of Guo). Further Ryu in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0056] of Ryu).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu in view of Sono and further in view of Guo teaches wherein the anode binder (first polymeric binder/second polymeric binder/rubber based binder, see [0027]) is present in an amount of 5 parts by weight or more and 30 parts by weight or less (7%/10%/20%, see [0056], [0058], and [0061] respectively for specific examples of binder composition added in weight percentages within the claimed range) based on 100 parts by weight of the anode composition (negative electrode active material layer, see [0023]).
13. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220013784 A1) in view of Sono et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223875 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 20230155132 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu in view of Sono fails to teach wherein the anode current collector layer has a thickness of 1 μm or more and 100 μm or less, and the anode active material layer has a thickness of 20 μm or more and 500 μm or less.
However, Wang teaches wherein the anode current collector layer (anode current collector, see [0155]) has a thickness of 1 μm or more and 100 μm or less (greater than 3 μm and less than 2500 μm, see [0155] wherein the ratio of the thickness of anode current collector to anode active material layer is greater than 0.1 and less than 10, therefore the limits equate to (thickness of collector/thickness of anode active material layer) = ratio, thickness of collector = ratio * thickness of anode active material layer, thickness of collector = 0.1*30 = 3, and thickness of collector = 10*250 = 2500, further see [0285] gives specific example of current collector thickness of 12 μm), and the anode active material layer (anode active material layer, see [0147]) has a thickness of 20 μm or more and 500 μm or less (30 μm or more and 250 μm or less, see [0147]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ryu in view of Sono such that the thickness of the anode active material layer is between 30 and 250 μm and the thickness of the anode current collector is greater than 3 μm and less than 2500 μm as taught by Wang to ensure the capacity of the electrochemical device, and suppress heat release (see [0155] of Wang). Further it would have been obvious to modify the range of the thickness of the anode current collector to be within the claimed range as Wang teaches the thickness of the anode current collector is a result effective variable of suppression of heat release of the anode current collector (see [0155] of Wang) and further teaches an example of the anode current collector within the claimed range (12 μm, see [0285] of Wang). Further Ryu in view of Sono teaches that modifications can be made (see [0056] of Ryu).
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination or interpretation of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723