DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 17, the metes and bounds of the recitation “the protrusion rib including an edge opposite the support plate” is unclear to examiner as it is also claimed “a support plate including a protrusion rib”. If the protrusion rib is a subset of the support plate, as claimed, how can any edge of the support plate be opposite to itself? For the sake of compact prosecution and for use in this office action, examiner is interpreting “the protrusion rib including an edge opposite the support plate” to be --the protrusion rib including an edge--.
Claims 2-4, 6-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (JP2019088947), attached as a PDF.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses a dust collection device, comprising: a support plate (Fig. 7a element 23, not including elements 23e-h) including a protrusion rib (Fig. 7a element 23b, which includes the cylindrical inner portion which forms a shoulder as shown in annotated Fig. 7A’ below)) formed to extend from one surface of the support plate (Fig. 7a, where the surface shown at 23a corresponds to one surface), and an opening (Fig. 7a element 23c), the protrusion rib including an edge (see annotated Fig. 7a’ below); and
an opening/closing cover (Fig. 7a element 23e) including an upper surface (Fig. 7a, where the surface opposite to the surface shown in Fig. 7a corresponds to an upper surface) and being configured to open or close the opening of the support plate while one side of the opening/closing cover is fixed to the support plate (Fig. 7a, 0045, where the side corresponding to element 23f corresponds to one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate), the upper surface of the opening/closing cover being configured to be spaced apart from the edge of the protrusion rib to open the opening and to be in contact with the edge of the protrusion rib to close the opening (0045),
wherein the protrusion rib extends more at a first point that is further from the one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate than a second point closer to the one side of the opening/closing cover (see annotated Fig. 7a below, where the second point is in the same plane as the upper surface of the opening/closing cover and the first point is in the same plane as the lower surface of the opening/closing cover (i.e. the surface shown in Fig. 7a)), and
wherein an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib such that the upper surface of the opening/closing cover covers the edge of the protrusion rib (see annotated Figs. 7a and 7a’ below, 0045, where the upper surface of the opening/closing cover resting on the shoulder shown in annotated Fig. 7a’ below and also contacting the contact area shown in annotated Fig. 7a below means that an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the protrusion rib comprises an inclined portion formed to connect the first point and the second point (see annotated Fig. 7a and 7a’ above, where the combination of the surface connecting the first and second points in the inclined portion direction along with the shoulder corresponds to an inclined portion), and
wherein the opening is closed while the inclined portion is in contact with the upper surface of the opening/closing cover (0045, where "When negative pressure is not generated inside the vacuum cleaner 1, the check valve 23 e is in contact with the tip of the paper pack holder 23" corresponds to the inclined portion being in contact with the upper surface of the opening/closing cover).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses a shape of a portion of the opening/closing cover is formed to correspond to a shape of the inclined portion (0045, where the "dust collected inside the paper pack P does not return to the paper pack holder 23 side" means that a shape of a portion of the opening/closing cover corresponds to a shape of the inclined portion in order to provide a seal).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses a portion of the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material and the portion of the opening/closing cover is in contact with the inclined portion to close the opening of the support plate (see annotated Fig. 7a above; 0045, where the opening/closing cover being a "rubber check valve 23e" means the entirety of the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material and therefore the portion of the opening/closing cover which contacts the inclined portion is also made of an elastic material).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the opening/closing cover opens the opening of the support plate upon pressure being applied along a protruding direction of the protrusion rib (see annotated Fig. 7a above, 0045).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the opening/closing cover closes the opening of the support plate upon pressure being applied along a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the protrusion rib (see annotated Fig. 7a above, 0045, where the opening/closing cover closes the opening of the support plate in a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the protrusion rib, and therefore, if there we a pressure applied in the direction opposite to a protruding direction of the protrusion rib this would also cause the opening/closing cover to close the opening of the support plate).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material (0045, where the opening/closing cover being a "rubber check valve 23e" means the entirety of the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the opening has a circular shape (Fig. 7a).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the dust collection device is configured to enable a dust bag to be coupleable to and decoupleable from the dust collection device (Fig. 7b shows the dust bag coupled and Fig. 7a shows the dust bag decoupled), and
a direction in which the protrusion rib extends is along a direction facing the dust bag while the dust bag is coupled to the dust collection device (see annotated Fig. 7a above and Fig. 7b, where the protruding direction shown in annotated Fig. 7a also corresponds to a direction in which the protrusion rib extends and a direction facing the dust bag while the dust bag is coupled to the dust collection device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP2019088947), attached as a PDF, in view of Park et al. (JP11244206), attached as a PDF and hereinafter referred to as Park.
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to disclose the support plate comprises a transparent portion configured to allow light to pass therethrough.
Park is also concerned with dust collection and teaches the support plate (all elements shown in Fig. 4 with the exception of elements 390, 391, 392, 392a, and 900) comprises a transparent portion (Fig. 4 element Q, 0018) configured to allow light to pass therethrough (0018 and 0020). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection device of Takahashi to include a transparent portion on the support plate which allows light to pass therethrough, as taught by Park because Park teaches that having a transparent portion on a support plate allows for an ultraviolet lamp to shine into a dust collecting portion, such as a vacuum bag, which then sterilizes the dust collecting portion (0018 and 0020).
Claims 12-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US20220218168), hereinafter Shi, in view of Takahashi (JP2019088947), attached as a PDF.
Regarding claim 12, Shi discloses a dust collection station, comprising:
a seating portion (Fig. 1 element A1) to receive a dust collecting container (Fig. 1 element B1) of a vacuum cleaner (Fig. 1 element B);
a dust collection (Fig. 1 element A2) device below the seating portion (Fig. 1), the dust collection device being configured to allow a dust bag (Fig. 2 element A23) to be mounted (0182-0183); and
a suction device (Fig. 3 element A3) below the dust collection device (Fig. 3), the suction device being configured to generate a suction airflow in a direction from the seating portion toward the dust collection device (Fig. 3, 0111 and 0112), wherein the dust collection device comprises:
a support plate (Fig. 2 element A221, 0182).
Shi fails to disclose the support plate includes a protrusion rib formed to extend from one surface of the support plate, and an opening through which the dust collecting container is connectable, the protrusion rib including an edge; and
an opening/closing cover including an upper surface and being configured to open or close the opening of the support plate while one side of the opening/closing cover is fixed to the support plate, the upper surface of the opening/closing cover being configured to be spaced apart from the edge of the protrusion rib to open the opening and to be in contact with the edge of the protrusion rib to close the opening,
wherein the protrusion rib extends more at a first point that is further from the one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate than a second point closer to the one side of the opening/closing cover, and
wherein an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib such that the upper surface of the opening/closing cover covers the edge of the protrusion rib.
Takahashi is also concerned with dust collection and solving the problem of providing a sealed connection between a support plate and a dust bag and teaches the support plate (Fig. 7a element 23, not including elements 23e-h) including a protrusion rib (Fig. 7a element 23b) formed to extend from one surface of the support plate (Fig. 7a, where the surface shown at 23a corresponds to one surface), and an opening (Fig. 7a element 23c) through which the dust collecting container (Fig. 7a element P) is connectable (Fig. 7b, where the dust collecting container is connected fluidically through the opening), the protrusion rib including an edge (see annotated Fig. 7a’ above); and
an opening/closing cover (Fig. 7a element 23e) including an upper surface (Fig. 7a, where the surface opposite to the surface shown in Fig. 7a corresponds to an upper surface) and being configured to open or close the opening of the support plate while one side of the opening/closing cover is fixed to the support plate (Fig. 7a, 0045, where the side corresponding to element 23f corresponds to one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate), the upper surface of the opening/closing cover being configured to be spaced apart from the edge of the protrusion rib to open the opening and to be in contact with the edge of the protrusion rib to close the opening (0045),
wherein the protrusion rib extends more at a first point that is further from the one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate than a second point closer to the one side of the opening/closing cover (see annotated Fig. 7a above, where the second point is in the same plane as the upper surface of the opening/closing cover and the first point is in the same plane as the lower surface of the opening/closing cover (i.e. the surface shown in Fig. 7a)), and
wherein an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib such that the upper surface of the opening/closing cover covers the edge of the protrusion rib (see annotated Figs. 7a and 7a’ below, 0045, where the upper surface of the opening/closing cover resting on the shoulder shown in annotated Fig. 7a’ below and also contacting the contact area shown in annotated Fig. 7a below means that an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection station of Shi to replace the support plate of Shi with the support plate and opening/closing cover of Takahashi, as described above, and to replace the connection between the dust bag and support plate of Shi with the connection between the dust bag and support plate (shown in Figs. 7a and 7b, where element P corresponds to a dust bag) of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that the support plate and opening/closing cover, as described above, and the connection between the dust bag and the support plate allows for dust to enter the dust bag while suction is applied while preventing dust from exiting the dust bag when suction is not applied (0045).
Regarding claim 13, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the opening/closing cover opens the opening of the support plate upon pressure being applied along a protruding direction of the protrusion rib (Takahashi, see annotated Fig. 7a above, 0045).
Regarding claim 14, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the protrusion rib comprises an inclined portion formed to connect the first point and the second point (Takahashi, see annotated Fig. 7a and 7a’ above, where the combination of the surface connecting the first and second points in the inclined portion direction along with the shoulder corresponds to an inclined portion), and
wherein the opening is closed while the inclined portion is in contact with the upper surface of the opening/closing cover (Takahashi, 0045, where "When negative pressure is not generated inside the vacuum cleaner 1, the check valve 23 e is in contact with the tip of the paper pack holder 23" corresponds to the inclined portion being in contact with the upper surface of the opening/closing cover).
Regarding claim 15, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material (Takahashi, 0045, where the opening/closing cover being a "rubber check valve 23e" means the entirety of the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material).
Regarding claim 17, Shi discloses a cleaning device comprising:
a vacuum cleaner (Fig. 1 element B) including a dust collecting container (Fig. 1 element B1) in which a foreign substance is to be collected (0189, where "the dust accumulation base A is configured to support the cleaning apparatus B and suck dust from the dust cup component B1" means that the dust collecting container is capable of collecting a foreign substance (i.e. dust)); and
a dust collecting station (Fig. 2 element A) connectable to the dust collecting container of the vacuum cleaner so as to allow the foreign substance collected in the dust collecting container to be removed (Fig. 1, 0189),
wherein the dust collection station comprises:
a seating portion (Fig. 1 element A1) to receive a dust collecting container (Fig. 1 element B1) of a vacuum cleaner (Fig. 1 element B);
a dust collection (Fig. 1 element A2) device below the seating portion (Fig. 1), the dust collection device being configured to allow a dust bag (Fig. 2 element A23) to be mounted (0182-0183); and
a suction device (Fig. 3 element A3) below the dust collection device (Fig. 3), the suction device being configured to generate a suction airflow in a direction from the seating portion toward the dust collection device (Fig. 3, 0111 and 0112),
wherein the dust collection device comprises:
a support plate (Fig. 2 element A221, 0182).
Shi fails to disclose the support plate includes a protrusion rib formed to extend from one surface of the support plate, and an opening through which the dust collecting container is connectable, the protrusion rib including an edge; and
an opening/closing cover including an upper surface and being configured to open or close the opening of the support plate while one side of the opening/closing cover is fixed to the support plate, the upper surface of the opening/closing cover being configured to be spaced apart from the edge of the protrusion rib to open the opening and to be in contact with the edge of the protrusion rib to close the opening,
wherein the protrusion rib extends more at a first point that is further from the one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate than a second point closer to the one side of the opening/closing cover, and
wherein an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib such that the upper surface of the opening/closing cover covers the edge of the protrusion rib.
Takahashi is also concerned with dust collection and solving the problem of providing a sealed connection between a support plate and a dust bag and teaches the support plate (Fig. 7a element 23, not including elements 23e-h) including a protrusion rib (Fig. 7a element 23b) formed to extend from one surface of the support plate (Fig. 7a, where the surface shown at 23a corresponds to one surface), and an opening (Fig. 7a element 23c) through which the dust collecting container (Fig. 7a element P) is connectable (Fig. 7b, where the dust collecting container is connected fluidically through the opening), the protrusion rib including an edge (see annotated Fig. 7a’ above); and
an opening/closing cover (Fig. 7a element 23e) including an upper surface (Fig. 7a, where the surface opposite to the surface shown in Fig. 7a corresponds to an upper surface) and being configured to open or close the opening of the support plate while one side of the opening/closing cover is fixed to the support plate (Fig. 7a, 0045, where the side corresponding to element 23f corresponds to one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate), the upper surface of the opening/closing cover being configured to be spaced apart from the edge of the protrusion rib to open the opening and to be in contact with the edge of the protrusion rib to close the opening (0045),
wherein the protrusion rib extends more at a first point that is further from the one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate than a second point closer to the one side of the opening/closing cover (see annotated Fig. 7a above, where the second point is in the same plane as the upper surface of the opening/closing cover and the first point is in the same plane as the lower surface of the opening/closing cover (i.e. the surface shown in Fig. 7a)), and
wherein an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib such that the upper surface of the opening/closing cover covers the edge of the protrusion rib (see annotated Figs. 7a and 7a’ below, 0045, where the upper surface of the opening/closing cover resting on the shoulder shown in annotated Fig. 7a’ below and also contacting the contact area shown in annotated Fig. 7a below means that an area of the opening/closing cover is larger than an area defined by the edge of the protrusion rib).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection station of Shi to replace the support plate of Shi with the support plate and opening/closing cover of Takahashi, as described above, and to replace the connection between the dust bag and support plate of Shi with the connection between the dust bag and support plate (shown in Figs. 7a and 7b, where element P corresponds to a dust bag) of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that the support plate and opening/closing cover, as described above, and the connection between the dust bag and the support plate allows for dust to enter the dust bag while suction is applied while preventing dust from exiting the dust bag when suction is not applied (0045).
Regarding claim 18, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and further discloses the protrusion rib extends more at the first point that is further from the one side of the opening/closing cover fixed to the support plate than a second point closer to the one side of the opening/closing cover (Takahashi, see annotated Fig. 7a above, where the second point is in the same plane as the lower surface of the opening/closing cover (i.e. the surface opposite to the surface shown in Fig. 7a) and the first point is in the same plane as the upper surface of the opening/closing cover (i.e. the surface shown in Fig. 7a))
Regarding claim 20, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and further discloses the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material (Takahashi, 0045, where the opening/closing cover being a "rubber check valve 23e" means the entirety of the opening/closing cover is made of an elastic material).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US20220218168), hereinafter Shi, in view of Takahashi (JP2019088947), attached as a PDF, and in further view of Park et al. (JP11244206), attached as a PDF and hereinafter referred to as Park.
Regarding claim 16, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, but fails to disclose the support plate comprises a transparent portion configured to allow light to pass therethrough.
Park is also concerned with dust collection and teaches the support plate (all elements shown in Fig. 4 with the exception of elements 390, 391, 392, 392a, and 900) comprises a transparent portion (Fig. 4 element Q, 0018) configured to allow light to pass therethrough (0018 and 0020). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the dust collection station of Shi, as modified, to include a transparent portion on the support plate which allows light to pass therethrough, as taught by Park because Park teaches that having a transparent portion on a support plate allows for an ultraviolet lamp to shine into a dust collecting portion, such as a vacuum bag, which then sterilizes the dust collecting portion (0018 and 0020).
Regarding claim 19, Shi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, but fails to disclose the support plate comprises a transparent portion configured to allow light to pass therethrough.
Park is also concerned with dust collection and teaches the support plate (all elements shown in Fig. 4 with the exception of elements 390, 391, 392, 392a, and 900) comprises a transparent portion (Fig. 4 element Q, 0018) configured to allow light to pass therethrough (0018 and 0020). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the cleaning device of Shi, as modified, to include a transparent portion on the support plate which allows light to pass therethrough, as taught by Park because Park teaches that having a transparent portion on a support plate allows for an ultraviolet lamp to shine into a dust collecting portion, such as a vacuum bag, which then sterilizes the dust collecting portion (0018 and 0020).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 12 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Takahashi (JP2019088947) for claim 1 and Shi et al. (US20220218168) in view of Takahashi (JP2019088947) for claims 12 and 17.
Examiner notes that the new ground(s) of rejection is in view of a new interpretation of Takahashi, where the shoulder shown in annotated Fig. 7a’ above is now considered part of the protrusion rib.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723