DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 13 and 15 are amended
Claim 14 is cancelled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20200294712 A1) in view of Yoon (US 20150048915 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kim teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body having first (103, Fig. 1; para 0060-0063) and second surfaces (104)
opposing each other in a thickness direction (i.e. Z direction in Fig. 1); and
a coil portion (42, 44) embedded within the body,
wherein the coil portion includes
first (42) and second coil (44) patterns,
a first lead-out portion (62) and a first dummy lead-out portion (63) extending from the first coil pattern in the thickness direction, and respectively exposed to the first and second surfaces (claim does not require that lead-out portions directly expose to the first and second surfaces. Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim interpretation, Kim reads the limitations) of the body, while being spaced apart (construed from Fig. 1) from each other, and
a second lead-out portion (64) and a second dummy lead-out portion (65) extending from the second coil pattern in the thickness direction, and respectively exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body, while being spaced apart from each other.
Kim teaches a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion except a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body.
It is very well known in industry that lead-out portion directly exposed to the surfaces of the body. A search in the specification does not reveal any criticality of the amended claim limitation “directly”. So, this limitation should not be an “inventive” step. A general ordinary skill can easily meet the claim limitation by rearranging parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first surfaces of the body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body as claimed to meet design requirements for certain application.
Furthermore, Yoon teaches that a first lead-out portion (left part 60, Fig. 3), portion, a second lead-out portion (right part 60, Fig. 3) directly exposed to the first (left side surface in Fig. 3) and second surfaces (right side surface in Fig. 3) of the body
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body to provide a chip electronic component having improved performance, in terms of an inductance (L), a quality factor (see para 0008).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Kim teaches that the body further has third (101) and fourth surfaces (102) connecting the first and second surfaces of the body to each other and opposing each other in a length direction (i.e. X direction in Fig. 1) , and the first lead-out portion and the second dummy lead-out portion are exposed to the third surface, while being spaced apart from each other (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Kim teaches that the second lead-out portion and the first dummy lead-out portion are exposed to the fourth surface, while being spaced apart from each other (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 3, Kim teaches that further comprising an internal insulating layer (23, Fig. 1; para 0044) embedded within the body between the first and second coil patterns, wherein the first and second coil patterns are respectively disposed on one surface and other surface of the internal insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 5:
As applied to claim 4, Kim teaches that the body further has fifth (105) and sixth surfaces (106) connecting the first to fourth surfaces of the body to each other and opposing each other in a width direction (i.e. Y direction) , the one surface of the internal insulating layer faces toward the fifth surface of the body, and the other surface of the internal insulating layer faces to the sixth surface of the body (construed form Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 5, Kim teaches that the internal insulating layer includes a support portion (24) and a plurality of protrusions (31, 32, Fig. 2) extending from the main portion in the thickness direction and respectively supporting the first and second lead-out portions and the first and second dummy lead-out portions and respectively exposed to the first to fourth surfaces of the body.
Regarding Claim 7:
As applied to claim 6, Kim teaches that the plurality of protrusions include the first to fourth protrusions (31a, 31b, 32a, 32b; see Fig. 2; para 0065) , the first protrusion is exposed to the surface to which the first lead-out portion of the body is exposed, the second protrusion is exposed to the surface to which the first dummy lead-out portion of the body is exposed, the third protrusion is exposed to the surface to which the second lead-out portion of the body is exposed, and the fourth protrusion is exposed to the surface to which the second dummy lead-out portion of the body is exposed (construed from Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 4, Kim teaches that the coil portion further includes a via passing through (46, Fig. 1) the internal insulating layer and connecting the first and second coil patterns to each other, and a direction in which the via passes through the internal insulating layer is substantially parallel to the first to fourth surfaces of the body.
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 4, Kim teaches that first (851) and second external electrodes (852) disposed on the first surface of the body, while being spaced apart from each other, and respectively connected to the first and second lead-out portions.
Regarding Claim 13:
Kim teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body having first (103, Fig. 1; para 0060-0063) and second surfaces (104)
opposing each other in a thickness direction (i.e. Z direction in Fig. 1); and
third (101) and fourth surfaces (102) connecting the first and second surfaces of the body to each other and opposing each other in a length direction (i.e. X direction in Fig. 1) ,
a coil portion (42, 44) embedded within the body,
wherein the coil portion includes
first (42) and second coil (44) patterns,
a first lead-out portion (62) extending from the first coil pattern in the thickness
direction, and exposed to each of the first and third surfaces of the body
a second lead-out portion (64) extending from the second coil pattern in the thickness direction, and exposed to each of the first and fourth surfaces of the body,
a first dummy lead-out portion (63) extending from the first coil pattern in the thickness direction and exposed to each of the second and fourth surfaces of the body, and
a second dummy lead-out portion (65) extending from the second coil pattern in the thickness direction and exposed to each of the second and third surfaces of the body.
Kim teaches a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion except a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body.
It is very well known in industry that lead-out portion directly exposed to the surfaces of the body. A search in the specification does not reveal any criticality of the amended claim limitation “directly”. So, this limitation should not be an “inventive” step. A general ordinary skill can easily meet the claim limitation by rearranging parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first surfaces of the body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body as claimed to meet design requirements for certain application.
Furthermore, Yoon teaches that a first lead-out portion (left part 60, Fig. 3), portion, a second lead-out portion (right part 60, Fig. 3) directly exposed to the first (left side surface in Fig. 3) and second surfaces (right side surface in Fig. 3) of the body
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first lead-out portion, a first dummy lead-out portion, a second lead-out portion and a second dummy lead-out portion directly exposed to the first and second surfaces of the body to provide a chip electronic component having improved performance, in terms of an inductance (L), a quality factor (see para 0008).
Regarding Claim 15:
As applied to claim 13, Kim teaches that further comprising an internal insulating layer (23, Fig. 1; para 0044) embedded within the body between the first and second coil patterns, wherein the first and second coil patterns are respectively disposed on one surface and the other surface of the internal insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 16:
As applied to claim 15, Kim teaches that first (851) and second external electrodes (852) disposed on any one the first to fourth surfaces of the body, while being spaced apart from each other, and respectively connected to the first and second lead-out portions.
Regarding Claim 17:
As applied to claim 4, Kim teaches that the one surface (i.e. upper surface of 24 in Fig. 1) of the internal insulating layer is parallel to the fifth surface of the body, and the other surface (i.e. lower surface of 24 in Fig. 1) of the internal insulating layer is parallel to the sixth surface of the body (construed from Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 18:
As applied to claim 5, Kim teaches that the coil portion has an axis (i.e. center axis of coil in Fig. 1) parallel to a width direction (i.e. Z direction) of the body.
Regarding Claim 19:
As applied to claim 1, Kim teaches that the first and the second coil patterns have a flat spiral shape (see para 0058).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied reference, and/or newly found prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837