Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 29th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, and 9-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder in view of Hill (United States Patent Application Publication 20070064240 A1), hereinafter Hill, and further in view of Duan et al. (CN 108871278 A), hereinafter Duan.
Regarding claim 1, Binder teaches a dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference ([0812] An example of an angle meter #1 55 is shown in an arrangement 50 in FIG. 5. The meter 55 comprises two active non-contact distance meters ‘A’ 40a and ‘B’ 40b.; [0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection. Alternatively or in addition, the distance meter A 40a may use TOF while the distance meter B 40b may use Heterodyne or Homodyne-based phase detection. Similarly, the distance meter A 40a may use Heterodyne-based phase detection while the distance meter B 40b may use TOF or Homodyne-based phase detection.), comprising:
a laser light source module, configured to generate a laser signal ([0823] The parameters of characteristics of the emitted waves, such as the frequency or the spectrum, or the modulation scheme may be identical, similar, or different from each other.);
an integrated sensing module, connected to the laser light source module, and configured to receive the laser signal and generate a wavefront interference signal based on the laser signal ([Fig. 7]; [0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection.; [0837] Similarly, a single transducer may be used, combining the functionalities of both the emitter 11b and the sensor 13b); and
a signal processing module, connected to the integrated sensing module, and configured to perform a decoupling operation on the wavefront interference signal to obtain a horizontal inclination angle measurement result ([0820] The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.)
wherein the integrated sensing module comprises an optical fiber collimator, a polarization beam splitter, a polarizer, and an array detector ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor. [0883] A polarizing beam splitter may consist of, comprise, or be based on Wollaston prism that use birefringent materials for splitting light into beams of differing polarization. [0871] In the case of using light, polarizers may be added in front of the sensors, where a polarizer filtering and passing only one type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11a) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13a, while a polarizer filtering and passing only another distinct type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11b) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13b. [0513] Any apparatus or device herein may further comprise a digital still or video camera for capturing images along of, or centered at, an optical axis, and the digital camera may comprise an optical lens for focusing received light, the lens being mechanically oriented to guide the captured images; a photosensitive image sensor array disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the optical lens for capturing the image and producing an analog signal representing the image)
the optical fiber collimator is configured to receive linearly polarized light from the laser light source module and output a linearly polarized collimated laser to the polarization beam splitter ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.); and
the array detector is configured to detect the wavefront interference signal formed by interference between the first signal light and the second signal light after the first signal light and the second signal light pass through the polarizer ([0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection.; [0837] Similarly, a single transducer may be used, combining the functionalities of both the emitter 11b and the sensor 13b).
Binder fails to teach the other components of the integrated sensing module, and the polarization beam splitter is configured to divide the linearly polarized collimated laser from the optical fiber collimator into first transmitted light and first reflected light, transmit the first transmitted light to the reflector through the first quarter-wave plate, and transmit the first reflected light to the liquid unit through the second quarter-wave plate; the reflector is configured to reflect the first transmitted light from the polarization beam splitter after the first transmitted light passes through the first quarter-wave plate, to make the first transmitted light pass back through the first quarter-wave plate to form first signal light; the liquid unit is contained in the liquid container, and is configured to reflect the first reflected light after the first reflected light passes through the second quarter-wave plate, to make the first reflected light pass back through the second quarter-wave plate to form second signal light; and a liquid surface of the liquid unit is configured to be a reference datum plane for horizontal inclination angle;
However, Hill teaches a reflector, a first quarter-wave plate, a second quarter-wave plate ([0063] a retroreflector 240; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path; [0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path)
the polarization beam splitter is configured to divide the linearly polarized collimated laser from the optical fiber collimator into first transmitted light and first reflected light, transmit the first transmitted light to the reflector through the first quarter-wave plate, and transmit the first reflected light through the second quarter-wave plate ([Fig.1B]; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate 220 to polarizing beam splitter 214; [0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232, which reflects the reference beam back through wave plate 222 to polarizing beam splitter 214);
the reflector is configured to reflect the first transmitted light from the polarization beam splitter after the first transmitted light passes through the first quarter-wave plate, to make the first transmitted light pass back through the first quarter-wave plate to form first signal light ([0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate); and
the liquid unit is contained in the liquid container, and is configured to reflect the first reflected light after the first reflected light passes through the second quarter-wave plate, to make the first reflected light pass back through the second quarter-wave plate to form second signal light ([0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the reflector and quarter wave plate as disclosed similar to Hill, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of polarizing the beams in a specifically desired configuration to maintain the overall homodyne system continuity.
Binder, as modified, still fails to teach the liquid container and liquid unit used for reflecting the reflected light.
However, Duan teaches liquid container, and liquid unit ([n0035] 5-reflective liquid)
Transmit the first reflected light to the liquid unit ([n0035] 5-reflective liquid); and
A liquid surface of the liquid unit configured to be a reference datum plane for horizontal inclination angle ([n0041] After beam expansion, the laser beam is reflected after illuminating the reflective liquid 5.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the liquid container and unit similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a fluid as a second reflective surface for scanning and testing.
Regarding claim 2, Binder teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 1, wherein the laser light source module comprises a single-frequency laser and a polarization maintaining single mode patch cable ([0823] The parameters of characteristics of the emitted waves, such as the frequency or the spectrum, or the modulation scheme may be identical, similar, or different from each other.; [0871] When the distance meters are based on light or electromagnetic waves (such as microwave radar), one emitter may use one type of polarization);
the single-frequency laser is configured to provide the linearly polarized light, and the linearly polarized light is the laser signal; ([0871] In the case of using light, polarizers may be added in front of the sensors, where a polarizer filtering and passing only one type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11a) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13a, while a polarizer filtering and passing only another distinct type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11b) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13b.);
the polarization maintaining single mode patch cable is connected to the single-frequency laser and is configured to transmit the linearly polarized light to the optical fiber collimator ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.).
Regarding claim 3, Binder teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 1,
Binder fails to teach the polarization beam splitter is configured to reflect the first transmitted light having a polarization state converted to S to obtain the first signal light, and transmit the first reflected light having a polarization state converted to P to obtain the second signal light; the first quarter-wave plate and the reflector are configured to convert the first transmitted light having a polarization state P into the first transmitted light having the polarization state S; the second quarter-wave plate and the liquid unit are configured to convert the first reflected light having a polarization state S into the first reflected light having the polarization state P; and the polarizer is configured to select components of the first signal light and the second signal light in a same polarization direction to make the first signal light and the second signal light form an interference.
However, Hill teaches an inclinometer comprising the polarization beam splitter is configured to reflect the first transmitted light having a polarization state converted to S to obtain the first signal light, and transmit the first reflected light having a polarization state converted to P to obtain the second signal light; ([Fig.1B]; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate 220 to polarizing beam splitter 214; [0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232, which reflects the reference beam back through wave plate 222 to polarizing beam splitter 214);
the first quarter-wave plate and the reflector are configured to convert the first transmitted light having a polarization state P into the first transmitted light having the polarization state S ([0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate);
the second quarter-wave plate configured to convert the first reflected light having a polarization state S into the first reflected light having the polarization state P; ([0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232);
the polarizer is configured to select components of the first signal light and the second signal light in a same polarization direction to make the first signal light and the second signal light form an interference
([0066] A beam splitter 290 is positioned in the path of output beam 250, and generates a second beam 292 with polarization components that are similar to those of output beam 250. Beam 292 enters an angle interferometer 294)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the reflector and quarter wave plate as disclosed similar to Hill, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of polarizing the beams in a specifically desired configuration to maintain the overall homodyne system continuity.
Binder, as modified by Hill, fails to teach a liquid container, a liquid unit, and the liquid unit are configured to convert the first reflected light having a polarization state S into the first reflected light having the polarization state P
However, Duan teaches a liquid container, a liquid unit ([n0035] 5-reflective liquid), and
the liquid unit are configured to convert the first reflected light having a polarization state S into the first reflected light having the polarization state P ([n0041] After beam expansion, the laser beam is reflected after illuminating the reflective liquid 5.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the liquid container and unit similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a fluid as a second reflective surface for scanning and testing.
Regarding claim 4, Binder, as modified, teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 3,
Binder fails to teach the inclinometer wherein the reflector is not perpendicular to the first transmitted light.
However, Hill teaches the inclinometer wherein the reflector is not perpendicular to the first transmitted light ([Fig. 1B]; [0063] a retroreflector 240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the non-perpendicular reflector similar to Hill, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating an offset in the returned signals for easier beam detection.
Regarding claim 5, Binder teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 1, wherein the signal processing module comprises a master computer and a signal processing board ([0820] A schematic block diagram of the angle meter #1 55 is shown in FIG. 6. Two distance meters 40a and 40b that respectively measuring distances d1 and d2 configured for respectively measuring distances along the lines of sight 51a and 51b, are controlled by a control block 61. The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17. The angle meter 55 may be control by a user via a user interface block 62 that may comprise various user interface components.);
the signal processing board is configured to perform the decoupling operation on the wavefront interference signal through a dual-axis horizontal inclination angle decoupling algorithm, and upload the horizontal inclination angle measurement result to the master computer ([0928] Two angle meters 55 and 55a respectively estimate or calculate angles α 202a and β 202b, based on respectively measuring distances along the respective lines pair of sight 51a and 51b and the lines pair 51c and 51d, and are controlled by the control block 61. The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two angle meters 55 and 55a. The measured or calculated distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angles α 202a and β 202b, and the actual distances dact #1 51f and dact #2 51g, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.); and
the master computer is configured to receive, display and store the horizontal inclination angle measurement result ([0820] The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17. The angle meter 55 may be control by a user via a user interface block 62 that may comprise various user interface components.).
Regarding claim 6, Binder teaches a measuring method of a dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference ([0812] An example of an angle meter #1 55 is shown in an arrangement 50 in FIG. 5. The meter 55 comprises two active non-contact distance meters ‘A’ 40a and ‘B’ 40b.; [0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection. Alternatively or in addition, the distance meter A 40a may use TOF while the distance meter B 40b may use Heterodyne or Homodyne-based phase detection. Similarly, the distance meter A 40a may use Heterodyne-based phase detection while the distance meter B 40b may use TOF or Homodyne-based phase detection.), comprising:
obtaining a laser signal through a laser light source module, transmitting the laser signal to an integrated sensing module, and generating a wavefront interference signal based on the integrated sensing module ([Fig. 7]; [0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection.; [0837] Similarly, a single transducer may be used, combining the functionalities of both the emitter 11b and the sensor 13b; [0823] The parameters of characteristics of the emitted waves, such as the frequency or the spectrum, or the modulation scheme may be identical, similar, or different from each other.); and
inputting the wavefront interference signal into a signal processing module to perform a decoupling operation to obtain a horizontal inclination angle measurement result ([0820] The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.)
wherein the integrated sensing module comprises an optical fiber collimator, a polarization beam splitter, a polarizer, and an array detector ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor. [0883] A polarizing beam splitter may consist of, comprise, or be based on Wollaston prism that use birefringent materials for splitting light into beams of differing polarization. [0871] In the case of using light, polarizers may be added in front of the sensors, where a polarizer filtering and passing only one type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11a) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13a, while a polarizer filtering and passing only another distinct type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11b) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13b. [0513] Any apparatus or device herein may further comprise a digital still or video camera for capturing images along of, or centered at, an optical axis, and the digital camera may comprise an optical lens for focusing received light, the lens being mechanically oriented to guide the captured images; a photosensitive image sensor array disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the optical lens for capturing the image and producing an analog signal representing the image)
wherein the generating a wavefront interference signal based on the integrated sensing module specifically comprises: receiving linearly polarized light through an optical fiber collimator from the laser light source module and outputting linearly polarized collimated laser to the polarization beam splitter; ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.); and
transmitting the first signal light and the second signal light to the array detector after the first signal light and the second signal light pass through the polarizer, and making the first signal light and the second signal light form an interference at a detection surface of the array detector to obtain the wavefront interference signal ([0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection.; [0837] Similarly, a single transducer may be used, combining the functionalities of both the emitter 11b and the sensor 13b).
Binder fails to teach the other components of the integrated sensing module components of a reflector, first quarter-wave plate, a second quarter-wave, and dividing the linearly polarized collimated laser into first transmitted light and first reflected light after the linearly polarized collimated laser passes through the polarization beam splitter, transmitting the first transmitted light to the reflector, and transmitting the first reflected light to the liquid unit; reflecting the first transmitted light through the reflector after the first transmitted light passes through the first quarter-wave plate, to make the first transmitted light pass back through the first quarter-wave plate to form first signal light; reflecting the first reflected light through the liquid unit after the first reflected light passes through the second quarter-wave plate, to make the first reflected light pass back through the second quarter-wave plate to form second signal light;
However, Hill teaches a reflector, a first quarter-wave plate, a second quarter-wave plate ([0063] a retroreflector 240; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path; [0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path)
dividing the linearly polarized collimated laser into first transmitted light and first reflected light after the linearly polarized collimated laser passes through the polarization beam splitter, transmitting the first transmitted light to the reflector, and transmitting the first reflected light; ([Fig.1B]; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate 220 to polarizing beam splitter 214; [0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232, which reflects the reference beam back through wave plate 222 to polarizing beam splitter 214);
reflecting the first transmitted light through the reflector after the first transmitted light passes through the first quarter-wave plate, to make the first transmitted light pass back through the first quarter-wave plate to form first signal light; ([0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate); and
reflecting the first reflected light through the liquid unit after the first reflected light passes through the second quarter-wave plate, to make the first reflected light pass back through the second quarter-wave plate to form second signal light; ([0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the reflector and quarter wave plate as disclosed similar to Hill, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of polarizing the beams in a specifically desired configuration to maintain the overall homodyne system continuity.
Binder, as modified, still fails to teach the liquid container and liquid unit used for reflecting the reflected light.
However, Duan teaches liquid container, and liquid unit ([n0035] 5-reflective liquid)
Transmit the first reflected light to the liquid unit ([n0035] 5-reflective liquid); and
reflecting the first reflected light through the liquid unit ([n0041] After beam expansion, the laser beam is reflected after illuminating the reflective liquid 5.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the liquid container and unit similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a fluid as a second reflective surface for scanning and testing.
Regarding claim 7, Binder teaches the measuring method of the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 6, wherein a process of the obtaining a laser signal through a laser light source module and the transmitting the laser signal to an integrated sensing module ([Fig. 7]; [0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection.; [0837] Similarly, a single transducer may be used, combining the functionalities of both the emitter 11b and the sensor 13b), comprises:
generating the laser signal through a single-frequency laser, and transmitting the generated laser signal to the optical fiber collimator through a polarization maintaining single mode patch cable ([0871] In the case of using light, polarizers may be added in front of the sensors, where a polarizer filtering and passing only one type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11a) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13a, while a polarizer filtering and passing only another distinct type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11b) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13b; [0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.).
Regarding claim 9, Binder teaches the measuring method of the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 6, wherein a process of the inputting the wavefront interference signal into a signal processing module to perform a decoupling operation to obtain a horizontal inclination angle measurement result ([0820] The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.), comprises:
sending the wavefront interference signal to a signal processing board ([0820] The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.);
performing, by the signal processing board, the decoupling operation on the wavefront interference signal through a dual-axis horizontal inclination angle decoupling algorithm to obtain the horizontal inclination angle measurement result, and uploading the horizontal inclination angle measurement result to a master computer ([0928] Two angle meters 55 and 55a respectively estimate or calculate angles α 202a and β 202b, based on respectively measuring distances along the respective lines pair of sight 51a and 51b and the lines pair 51c and 51d, and are controlled by the control block 61. The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two angle meters 55 and 55a. The measured or calculated distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angles α 202a and β 202b, and the actual distances dact #1 51f and dact #2 51g, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.).
Regarding claim 11, Binder, as modified, teaches the measuring method of the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim1, wherein the integrated sensing module further comprises an integrated base ([0464] The preferred embodiment is implemented using two laser-based pointer devices connected on a common housing through a shaft encoder.);
The sensing module with the integrated base comprising the optical fiber collimator, the polarization beam splitter, and the array detector ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor; [0883] A polarizing beam splitter may consist of, comprise, or be based on Wollaston prism that use birefringent materials for splitting light into beams of differing polarization; [0513] Any apparatus or device herein may further comprise a digital still or video camera for capturing images along of, or centered at, an optical axis, and the digital camera may comprise an optical lens for focusing received light, the lens being mechanically oriented to guide the captured images; a photosensitive image sensor array disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the optical lens for capturing the image and producing an analog signal representing the image)
Binder fails to teach the sensing module comprising an integrated base in which the module contains the reflector, the liquid container
However, Hill teaches the reflector with an integrated base ([0063] a retroreflector 240)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the reflector disclosed similar to Hill, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of polarizing the beams in a specifically desired configuration to maintain the overall homodyne system continuity.
Binder, as modified by Hill, fails to teach the base with a liquid unit,
However, Duan teaches the liquid unit with the integrated base ([n0035] 5-reflective liquid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the liquid container and unit similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a fluid as a second reflective surface for scanning and testing.
Regarding claim 12, Binder teaches a dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference ([0812] An example of an angle meter #1 55 is shown in an arrangement 50 in FIG. 5. The meter 55 comprises two active non-contact distance meters ‘A’ 40a and ‘B’ 40b.; [0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection. Alternatively or in addition, the distance meter A 40a may use TOF while the distance meter B 40b may use Heterodyne or Homodyne-based phase detection. Similarly, the distance meter A 40a may use Heterodyne-based phase detection while the distance meter B 40b may use TOF or Homodyne-based phase detection.), comprising:
a laser light source module ([0823] The parameters of characteristics of the emitted waves, such as the frequency or the spectrum, or the modulation scheme may be identical, similar, or different from each other.), comprising:
a single-frequency laser, configured to provide linearly polarized light ([0871] In the case of using light, polarizers may be added in front of the sensors, where a polarizer filtering and passing only one type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11a) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13a, while a polarizer filtering and passing only another distinct type of light (that is emitted by the light emitter 11b) may be used to filter light entering the sensor 13b.; [0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.); and
a polarization maintaining single mode patch cable, connected to the single-frequency laser, and configured to transmit the linearly polarized light to an optical fiber collimator ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.);
an integrated sensing module, comprising: an optical fiber collimator, connected to the polarization maintaining single mode patch cable, and configured to receive the linearly polarized light from the polarization maintaining single mode patch cable and output a linearly polarized collimated laser to a polarization beam splitter ([0886] In the case where the wave signal used is light, each of the waveguides 143a and 143b may consist of, comprise, use, or be based on, an optical waveguide, that may be planar, strip, or fiber waveguide structure, may be associated with step or gradient index as refractive index distribution, and may be made of glass, polymer, semiconductor.);
an array detector, configured to detect a wavefront interference signal formed by interference between the first signal light and the second signal light ([0822] For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use TOF, Heterodyne-based phase detection, or Homodyne-based phase detection.; [0837] Similarly, a single transducer may be used, combining the functionalities of both the emitter 11b and the sensor 13b); and
a signal processing module, connected to the array detector, and configured to perform a decoupling operation on the wavefront interference signal to obtain a horizontal inclination angle measurement result ([0820] The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.).
Binder fails to teach the polarization beam splitter, configured to divide the linearly polarized collimated laser from the optical fiber collimator into first transmitted light and first reflected light; wherein the first transmitted light passes through a first quarter-wave plate, is reflected by a reflector, and returns through the first quarter-wave plate, to thereby convert a polarization state of the first transmitted light from P to S, and the polarization beam splitter is further configured to reflect the first transmitted light having the polarization state S to obtain first signal light; and the first reflected light passes through a second quarter-wave plate, is reflected by a liquid surface of a liquid unit, and returns through the second quarter-wave plate, to thereby convert a polarization state of the first reflected light from S to P, and the polarization beam splitter is further configured to transmit the first reflected light having the polarization state P to obtain second signal light; a polarizer, configured to select components of the first signal light and the second signal light in a same polarization direction to make the first signal light and the second signal light form an interference;
However, Hill teaches the polarization beam splitter, configured to divide the linearly polarized collimated laser from the optical fiber collimator into first transmitted light and first reflected light; wherein the first transmitted light passes through a first quarter-wave plate, is reflected by a reflector, and returns through the first quarter-wave plate, to thereby convert a polarization state of the first transmitted light from P to S, and the polarization beam splitter is further configured to reflect the first transmitted light having the polarization state S to obtain first signal light ([Fig.1B]; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate 220 to polarizing beam splitter 214; [0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232, which reflects the reference beam back through wave plate 222 to polarizing beam splitter 214; [0063] The measurement beam passes through a measurement quarter wave plate 220 and travels along a measurement path to contact a plane mirror measurement object 230, which reflects the measurement beam back through the wave plate); and
the first reflected light passes through a second quarter-wave plate, and returns through the second quarter-wave plate, to thereby convert a polarization state of the first reflected light from S to P, and the polarization beam splitter is further configured to transmit the first reflected light having the polarization state P to obtain second signal light ([0064] The reference beam, on the other hand, passes through a reference quarter wave plate 222 and travels along a reference path to contact a plane mirror reference object 232);
a polarizer, configured to select components of the first signal light and the second signal light in a same polarization direction to make the first signal light and the second signal light form an interference ([0066] A beam splitter 290 is positioned in the path of output beam 250, and generates a second beam 292 with polarization components that are similar to those of output beam 250. Beam 292 enters an angle interferometer 294);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the reflector disclosed similar to Hill, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of polarizing the beams in a specifically desired configuration to maintain the overall homodyne system continuity.
Binder, as modified, still fails to teach the reflected light reflected by a liquid surface of a liquid unit
However, Duan teaches the reflected light reflected by a liquid surface of a liquid unit ([n0041] After beam expansion, the laser beam is reflected after illuminating the reflective liquid 5.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the liquid container and unit similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a fluid as a second reflective surface for scanning and testing.
Regarding claim 13, Binder, as modified, teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference as claimed in claim 12, wherein the signal processing module comprises a master computer and a signal processing board ([0820] A schematic block diagram of the angle meter #1 55 is shown in FIG. 6. Two distance meters 40a and 40b that respectively measuring distances d1 and d2 configured for respectively measuring distances along the lines of sight 51a and 51b, are controlled by a control block 61. The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17. The angle meter 55 may be control by a user via a user interface block 62 that may comprise various user interface components.);
the signal processing board is configured to perform the decoupling operation on the wavefront interference signal through a dual-axis horizontal inclination angle decoupling algorithm, and upload the horizontal inclination angle measurement result to the master computer ([0928] Two angle meters 55 and 55a respectively estimate or calculate angles α 202a and β 202b, based on respectively measuring distances along the respective lines pair of sight 51a and 51b and the lines pair 51c and 51d, and are controlled by the control block 61. The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two angle meters 55 and 55a. The measured or calculated distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angles α 202a and β 202b, and the actual distances dact #1 51f and dact #2 51g, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.); and
the master computer is configured to receive, display and store the horizontal inclination angle measurement result ([0820] The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17. The angle meter 55 may be control by a user via a user interface block 62 that may comprise various user interface components.).
Regarding claim 14, Binder, as modified, teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference as claimed in claim 12,
Binder fails to teach the inclinometer wherein the liquid unit has a viscosity value in an order of 100 centi Stokes (cSt), a reflectivity of more than 1%, and a liquid surface height in an order of millimeters, and the liquid surface of the liquid unit is configured to be a reference datum plane for horizontal inclination angles.
However, Duan teaches the inclinometer wherein the liquid unit has a viscosity value in an order of 100 centi Stokes (cSt), a reflectivity of more than 1%, and a liquid surface height in an order of millimeters, and the liquid surface of the liquid unit is configured to be a reference datum plane for horizontal inclination angles ([n0011] Furthermore, the reflective liquid is a white, opaque silicone oil emulsion with a viscosity of 150 centistokes, which can increase the intensity of reflected light under a certain laser power, thereby improving the signal-to-noise ratio; [n0040] The reflective liquid 5 is a white, opaque silicone oil emulsion with high reflectivity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the specific viscosity and reflectivity of the testing liquid similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of having a known order of thickness for reference in processing the returned light signal.
Regarding claim 15, Binder, as modified, teaches the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference as claimed in claim 14,
Binder fails to teach the inclinometer wherein the liquid unit is silicone oil with a viscosity of 350 cSt, and a reflectivity of 3%, and a liquid surface height of the liquid unit is 2 millimeters (mm).
However, Duan teaches the inclinometer wherein the liquid unit is silicone oil with a viscosity of 350 cSt, and a reflectivity of 3%, and a liquid surface height of the liquid unit is 2 millimeters (mm) ([n0011] Furthermore, the reflective liquid is a white, opaque silicone oil emulsion with a viscosity of 150 centistokes, which can increase the intensity of reflected light under a certain laser power, thereby improving the signal-to-noise ratio; [n0040] The reflective liquid 5 is a white, opaque silicone oil emulsion with high reflectivity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified by Hill, to comprise the specific viscosity and reflectivity of the testing liquid similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of having a known order of thickness for reference in processing the returned light signal and the slight alteration to the viscosity of the same liquid and same order of viscosity would not change this outcome.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder in view of Duan in view of Hill, Duan, and further in view of Kreitinger et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20210293960 A1), hereinafter Kreitinger.
Regarding claim 10, Binder teaches the measuring method of the dual-axis laser inclinometer based on wavefront homodyne interference according to claim 9, wherein a process of the performing, by the signal processing board, the decoupling operation on the wavefront interference signal through a dual-axis horizontal inclination angle decoupling algorithm ([0820] The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two meters 40a and 40b. The measured distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angle α and the actual distance dact, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.), comprises:
obtaining, according to an X component and a Y component of the fitted accurate frequency coordinates, included angles between a surface and the reflector in a X direction and a Y direction respectively, according to formulas of linear relationships between an included angle of the liquid surface relative to the reflector and frequency of the wavefront interference signal ([0928] Two angle meters 55 and 55a respectively estimate or calculate angles α 202a and β 202b, based on respectively measuring distances along the respective lines pair of sight 51a and 51b and the lines pair 51c and 51d, and are controlled by the control block 61. The control block 61 may include a processor, and control the activation of the two angle meters 55 and 55a. The measured or calculated distances are provided to the control block 61, which calculates the tilting angles α 202a and β 202b, and the actual distances dact #1 51f and dact #2 51g, and provides the estimated results for displaying to a user by a display 63, serving as the output functionality (or circuit) 17.).
Binder fails to teach the surface as a liquid surface.
However, Duan teaches the surface as a liquid surface ([n0041] After beam expansion, the laser beam is reflected after illuminating the reflective liquid 5.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder to comprise the liquid container and unit similar to Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a fluid as a second reflective surface for scanning and testing.
Binder, as modified, fails to teach the method of converting the wavefront interference signal into a two-dimensional light intensity matrix, performing a butterfly operation-based two-dimensional discrete Fourier transform on the two-dimensional light intensity matrix to obtain a frequency space matrix of the wavefront interference signal, and calculating different spatial frequency components in an amplitude space of a spectrum of the wavefront interference signal; obtaining an amplitude maximum value point and a corresponding position thereof in the frequency space matrix based on the amplitude space of the spectrum of the wavefront interference signal, and performing two-dimensional curve peak fitting by using amplitude information of the amplitude maximum value point and an adjacent matrix point to obtain fitted accurate frequency coordinates;
However, Kreitinger teaches converting the wavefront interference signal into a two-dimensional light intensity matrix, performing a butterfly operation-based two-dimensional discrete Fourier transform on the two-dimensional light intensity matrix to obtain a frequency space matrix of the wavefront interference signal, and calculating different spatial frequency components in an amplitude space of a spectrum of the wavefront interference signal ([0066] the detected interference signal may have multiple oscillating components (e.g. each component corresponding to an object), and the Fourier transform (or Hilbert or related transform) of the interference signal, referred to hereafter as the range peak spectrum or range profile, may thus exhibit multiple range peaks.); and
obtaining an amplitude maximum value point and a corresponding position thereof in the frequency space matrix based on the amplitude space of the spectrum of the wavefront interference signal, and performing two-dimensional curve peak fitting by using amplitude information of the amplitude maximum value point and an adjacent matrix point to obtain fitted accurate frequency coordinates ([0078] In some embodiments, once the locations of the range peaks 402 and 403 have been identified, window functions, such as 405 and 406 shown in FIG. 4, may be defined for further peak processing. For example, windows functions may be used to define the region where zeros are applied after a peak is identified, for fitting the peak shape and center frequency may be determined. Other processing functions, such as computing a Hilbert or related transform for phase reconstruction of one or more FMCW signal(s) may also be performed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Binder, as modified, to comprise the Fourier transformation and peak fitting similar to Kreitinger, and to specifically use the butterfly operation-based Fourier transformation as an obvious variation to try, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of filtering and translating the data to generate clear and clean information regarding the angle and configuration of the detected object.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument made that the prior art of Binder is non-interferometric by nature, lacks internal optical references, and requires an external target, the argument is not found to be persuasive. To start, Binder is pointed to the field of interferometric, as mentioned in the cited references and specifically also mentioned in several paragraphs, including [0010] and [0143], the goal of the prior art is pointed towards an interferometric design. Further, the argument that the prior art lacks the internal reference is not persuasive as the previous limitations, as written, did not limit the invention to just one comprising an internal reference used for the inclinometer. Dependent claims that included such limitations were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, and are brought into the independent claim rejection above with correlated reasons for obviousness to combine given.
Regarding the argument that Hill does not contain a liquid unit and therefore does not teach the claim as written above, the replacement of a second target object with a liquid unit is not distinct enough to the immediate application that the inclusion of the one taught by Duan would be a patentable step. As such, the structure of Hill would be obvious to combine with the inclinometer for reasons previously cited and maintained in the above rejection.
The argument that Duan fails to teach a wave-optic interference approach is likewise not-persuasive as the approach taken is not distinct enough to render the combination non-obvious to one of reasonable skill in the art. The system of Duan teaches a similar inclinometer, save for a component already spoken on in the other prior arts of record. The inventive step to replace an external object with a liquid unit for a known reference has already been taken by Duan and as such the rejection previously set forth is maintained here.
Finally, the argument that Kreitinger fails to include components of the inclinometer of the independent claim is also not persuasive as the claim Kreitinger reads on is dependent on, but not written to outline, those components. As a combination of prior art, Kreitinger is brought in to make up for the processing limitations not specifically outlined in the prior art of Binder and as such outline the method that is spoken to in that claim such as the maximum value detection and Fourier transform. The inclusion of a specific processing method that is not outlined in the prior art of Binder is one that would obvious to try to one of reasonable skill in the art and the reasons to do so have been provided above. As such, the rejections made previously have been maintained, amended by necessity of the amended application, in this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645