DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is responsive to the amendment and remarks filed on September 28, 2026. Claims 1, 12, 14, 21, 22, and 25 are amended, and claims 23 and 24 are canceled. Claims 3 and 16–20 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 2, 4–15, 21, 22, and 25 are pending.
Claims 12–15, 21, 22, and 25 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 2, and 4–11 are under examination and are rejected below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a heating system in one of the first or second cryogenic tanks to regulate the vapor pressure of the system” in claim 5. The corresponding structure is the heater 710 powered by the battery cell 712 of heating system 704 (Spec. ¶¶ 0137, 0140, 0147; fig. 7), and equivalents thereof.
“a second pressure safety system coupled to the second group of cryogenic tanks via a plurality of second GH2 extraction flowlines” in claim 8. The corresponding structure is the second pressure safety system 602b, which, like pressure safety system 602, comprises a switch valve 604, first and second pressure safety valves 606a, 606b, and first and second burst discs 608a, 608b (Spec. ¶¶ 0130–0135, 0151; figs. 6, 9), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Interpretation for the Preamble and statements of intended use
The preamble of claim 1 recites “[a] system to integrate multiple cryogenic tanks on an aircraft.” The body of claim 1 sets out a structurally complete system and never refers back to the aircraft, so the phrase “on an aircraft” states an intended use or environment of the claimed system and does not limit the claim. See MPEP § 2111.02(II).
Claim 1 further recites that the LH2 and GH2 transfer flowlines are “to maintain a fuel level and a vapor pressure across the system” and that the LH2 extraction flowline is “to supply the cryogenic liquid to a fuel management system.” The fuel management system is not positively recited as an element of the claimed system; it names the destination of the extracted liquid. These recitations are given weight to the extent they require flowlines capable of performing the stated functions. A prior art structure capable of performing the recited use meets the claim. See MPEP §§ 2111.02(II), 2114.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites that the controlling device, which includes “processor circuitry and pressure sensors,” is configured to: detect rupture of the first burst disc or the second burst disc; and in response to detecting rupture of the first burst disc, actuate the switch valve to divert hydrogen vapor to the second pressure safety valve and the second burst disc, and, in response to detecting rupture of the second burst disc, actuate the switch valve to divert hydrogen vapor to the first pressure safety valve and the first burst disc. Applicant identifies support for the amendment at Spec. ¶¶ 0130–0135, 0141–0144, and 0148–0149 and figs. 6 and 8 (Reply, Remarks). The only description of the controlling device detecting rupture of a burst disc is a single sentence in ¶ 0149:
In some examples, the isolation controller circuitry 808 can also detect whether the first burst disc 608a and/or the second burst disc 608b has/have ruptured. In response to detecting that one of the first or second burst discs 608a, 608b has ruptured, the isolation controller circuitry 808 can switch the direction of the switch valve 604 to an intact valve/burst disc side.
The remaining cited passages state only that the switch valve 604 “can be actuated by example control systems” (Spec. ¶ 0133) and that the controlling device 804 can “change the directed flow of the switch valve 604” (Spec. ¶ 0144). None of the cited passages, and nothing elsewhere in the specification, describes how the controlling device detects a rupture.
The detecting function is a computer-implemented function performed by the recited processor circuitry. For such a function, the written description requirement is met only if the specification describes the computer and the algorithm or steps by which the function is achieved in sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter. See MPEP §§ 2161.01(I), 2163.03(V). It is not enough that one of ordinary skill could devise a way to achieve the claimed result. The specification itself must explain how the inventor intends to achieve it. Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 682–83 (Fed. Cir. 2015); Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349–51 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The specification here falls short in four respects.
First, the specification discloses no structure that responds to a burst disc rupture. It discloses no burst sensor, rupture indicator, flow, temperature, or continuity sensor, and no pressure measurement downstream of either burst disc. Figure 6 shows the pressure safety system 602 as only the switch valve 604, the pressure safety valves 606a, 606b, and the burst discs 608a, 608b. Figure 8 shows the controlling device 804 as circuitry 806, 808, storage devices 810, and interface circuitry 812, with no input from the burst discs. The only sensors disclosed as inputs to the controlling device are pressure sensors that measure the vapor pressure in the tanks (Spec. ¶¶ 0145, 0147, 0149, 0165).
Second, the specification identifies the flowchart of FIG. 11 as the operations performed by the isolation controller circuitry 808 (Spec. ¶ 0148). That flowchart (Spec. ¶¶ 0164–0170; blocks 1102–1114) opens the isolation valves, obtains the tank vapor pressures, compares them with the safety and operational thresholds, closes isolation valves, and activates the thermosiphon loop or heater. It contains no step of detecting a burst disc rupture and no step of actuating the switch valve 604.
Third, the disclosed tank pressure measurements do not on their face distinguish a ruptured burst disc from an opened pressure safety valve. According to the specification, the pressure safety valves open fully and irreversibly at the safety threshold (Spec. ¶ 0132), and the burst discs rupture at a slightly higher threshold (Spec. ¶ 0135). Both events vent the tank and lower its vapor pressure. The specification does not describe how the controlling device tells one event from the other. Nor does it describe how the controlling device determines whether it is the first or the second burst disc that has ruptured, which claim 1 requires in order to select the opposite branch in each direction.
Fourth, ¶ 0149 states only the desired result, that the circuitry “can also detect” a rupture and “can switch” the switch valve. That is a restatement of the claimed function rather than a description of how it is performed. A description that merely states the result, without the means of achieving it, does not show possession of the claimed function. MPEP § 2161.01(I).
Accordingly, the specification does not reasonably convey that the inventors possessed a controlling device configured to detect rupture of the first or second burst disc and to actuate the switch valve in response, as recited in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 4–11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, L 2 calls for the limitation of “a first group of cryogenic tanks” which claims plurals while a single cryogenic tank has been previously claimed. For clarity improvement, claim 1 should instead recite --at least a first cryogenic tank-- and claim 7 should instead recites --a first group of said cryogenic tank--.
Claim 7 L 3 calls for the limitation of “a second group of cryogenic tanks” which claims plurals while a single cryogenic tank has been previously claimed. For clarity improvement, claim 1 should instead recite --at least a second cryogenic tank-- and claim 7 should instead recites --a second group of said cryogenic tank--.
Claim 9, calls for the limitations of “two or more cryogenic tanks” which is confusing as it claims plurals while a first and a second cryogenic tank has been previously cited in claim 1.
Claims 8 and 10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt (US 2023/0349513 A1) in view of Platz (US 5,762,119 A), Ragosta (EP 1 803 991 A2), and Lohmann (US 8,671,998 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Bernhardt teaches a system to integrate multiple cryogenic tanks (installation 1 for storing and dispensing pressurized liquefied hydrogen, having liquefied gas stores 3, 4 formed as modular basic containers) (¶ 0003, 0042, 0074; fig. 9) comprising:
a first cryogenic tank (second liquefied gas store 4) coupled to a second cryogenic tank (first liquefied gas store 3) via an LH2 transfer flowline (the branch of liquid transfer pipe 40 of store 4 ending at fitting 120, joined to the branch of liquid transfer pipe 40 of store 3 ending at fitting 100) and a GH2 transfer flowline (the branch of vapor transfer pipe 30 of store 4 ending at fitting 110, joined to the branch of vapor transfer pipe 30 of store 3 ending at fitting 90), the LH2 transfer flowline and the GH2 transfer flowline to maintain a fuel level and a vapor pressure across the system (the joined pipes 40, 30 transfer liquid and vapor between the connected stores 3, 4), the fuel level corresponding to a cryogenic liquid (liquefied hydrogen) (¶ 0003, 0074, 0077–0078, 0084–0085; fig. 9);
an inlet port (connection fittings 110, 120 at the free ends of pipes 30, 40 of store 3, connected to mobile supply tank 20) connected to one of the first cryogenic tank or the second cryogenic tank (¶ 0080–0082; fig. 9);
an LH2 extraction flowline (the free branch of liquid transfer pipe 40 of store 4, ending at fitting 100) connected to at least one of the first or second cryogenic tanks to supply the cryogenic liquid to a fuel management system (receiver or user attached at fitting 100) (¶ 0079, 0084–0085; fig. 9); and
wherein the LH2 transfer flowline includes a first isolation valve (valve 60 at the first end of liquid transfer pipe 40) and the GH2 transfer flowline includes a second isolation valve (valve 50 at the first end of vapor transfer pipe 30) (¶ 0074–0075, 0081–0085; fig. 9).
Bernhardt does not teach a pressure safety system coupled to at least one of the first or second cryogenic tanks via a GH2 extraction flowline, the pressure safety system including a switch valve, a first pressure safety valve, a second pressure safety valve, a first burst disc, and a second burst disc, the switch valve configured to divert hydrogen vapor to either the first pressure safety valve and the first burst disc or the second pressure safety valve and the second burst disc, each of the first and second pressure safety valves configured to release hydrogen vapor from the at least one tank when a vapor pressure in that tank does not satisfy a safety threshold, the first burst disc configured to rupture when the first pressure safety valve malfunctions, and the second burst disc configured to rupture when the second pressure safety valve malfunctions.
However, Platz teaches a cryogenic storage vessel (delivery vessel 14, a vacuum-jacketed inner tank 24 holding a liquefied cryogenic gas, including hydrogen, in a liquid section 34 beneath a vapor section 36) having a pressure safety system (relief manifold 110) coupled to the vessel via a GH2 extraction flowline (vapor section line 94, connected to vapor section 36). The pressure safety system includes a switch valve (relief selector valve 124), a first pressure safety valve (first relief valve 116), a second pressure safety valve (second relief valve 120), a first burst disc (first burst disc 118), and a second burst disc (second burst disc 122). The switch valve is configured to divert hydrogen vapor to either the first pressure safety valve and the first burst disc or the second pressure safety valve and the second burst disc: selector valve 124 connects either first branch 112, carrying relief valve 116 and burst disc 118, or second branch 114, carrying relief valve 120 and burst disc 122, to vapor section line 94 while closing off the other branch. Each of the first and second pressure safety valves is configured to release hydrogen vapor from the vessel when its vapor pressure does not satisfy a safety threshold (relief valves 116, 120 provide pressure relief when inner tank 24 becomes over pressurized). The first and second burst discs are configured to rupture when the first and second pressure safety valves, respectively, malfunction: each burst disc 118, 122 lies in the same relief branch as its relief valve 116, 120 and also provides pressure relief when the vessel becomes over pressurized, so that if the relief valve in the branch in service fails to relieve the overpressure, the pressure in that branch continues to rise until its burst disc ruptures (col. 1, ll. 50–58; col. 3, ll. 1–4, 11–15, 26–29; col. 4, ll. 2–5, 14–36; figs. 1–2). A burst disc so arranged is capable of performing the recited function, which is all the claim requires. See MPEP § 2114.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt to include, on at least one of the stores, a relief manifold connected to the vapor section of the store through a vapor line and having two relief branches, each carrying a relief valve and a burst disc, together with a relief selector valve that connects one branch to the vapor line while closing off the other, as taught by Platz, in order to relieve the vessel when it becomes over pressurized while allowing one set of relief valve and burst disc to protect the vessel as the other set is installed, repaired, or replaced (Platz col. 4, ll. 30–36).
Bernhardt as modified by Platz teaches a relief selector valve 124 is switched by an operator (Platz col. 4, ll. 22–28), but does not teach that the system further comprises a controlling device configured to detect rupture of the first burst disc or the second burst disc and, in response to detecting rupture of the first burst disc, actuate the switch valve to divert hydrogen vapor to the second pressure safety valve and the second burst disc, and, in response to detecting rupture of the second burst disc, actuate the switch valve to divert hydrogen vapor to the first pressure safety valve and the first burst disc.
However, Ragosta teaches a pressure safety system (rupture disk switchover system 10) for a pressure vessel (11) having a switch valve (valve body 22 with valving member 47) that connects the vessel outlet (opening 15, outlet fitting 17) to either a first relief branch (secondary flow channel 64, closed by rupture disk 35) or a second relief branch (secondary flow channel 65, closed by rupture disk 40) (¶ 0008–0009, 0014–0016, 0021–0023; figs. 1–4). Ragosta further teaches a controlling device (control box 43, a programmable logic controller, with burst sensors 36, 66, including pressure sensor 66, and valve actuator 46) configured to detect rupture of a burst disc (the burst sensors determine whether a rupture disk has ruptured, e.g., by sensing pressure downstream of the disk) and, in response to detecting the rupture, actuate the switch valve to close the branch having the ruptured disc and divert flow to the branch having the intact disc, the valving member being moved to close whichever secondary flow channel has the ruptured disk (¶ 0005–0006, 0009–0010, 0018–0020, 0023; claims 1, 6, 8; figs. 3–4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, to include burst sensors on the relief branches and a controller and valve actuator that, upon detecting rupture of the burst disc in the branch in service, actuate the relief selector valve to close that branch and divert flow to the other branch with its intact burst disc, as taught by Ragosta, in order that the vessel remains protected and in operation after a burst disc ruptures, without shutting down to replace the disc (Ragosta ¶ 0003–0004, 0006–0007). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Platz’s selector valve is switched by hand (Platz col. 4, ll. 22–25), so after a burst disc in the active branch ruptures, the store would continue venting hydrogen through the ruptured branch until an operator intervenes, which is the condition Ragosta’s automatic switchover addresses (Ragosta ¶ 0003–0004, 0006). Providing an automatic means to replace a manual activity that accomplishes the same result is within the ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(III) and MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
The modified Bernhardt does not teach that the controlling device includes pressure sensors and is configured to monitor a first vapor pressure in the first cryogenic tank and a second vapor pressure in the second cryogenic tank, compare each of the first vapor pressure and the second vapor pressure with the safety threshold, and, in response to determining that at least one of the first vapor pressure or the second vapor pressure does not satisfy the safety threshold, simultaneously close the first isolation valve and the second isolation valve to isolate both the LH2 transfer flowline and the GH2 transfer flowline between the first and second cryogenic tanks.
However, Lohmann teaches an aircraft tank system arrangement having a first isolation valve (22) in a fuel supply line (18) and a second isolation valve (36) in a fuel transfer line (26), the two lines together forming the path through which fluid flows into the tank system, and a controlling device (electronic control unit ECU) including processor circuitry and pressure sensors (a plurality of pressure sensors 48 that sense the pressure within the individual tanks of the aircraft tank system, i.e., the wing tanks, center tank, and auxiliary center tanks, each providing a signal indicative of that pressure to the ECU). The controlling device is configured to compare the sensed pressure with a predetermined limit and, when the pressure sensed by the pressure sensors exceeds the limit, to simultaneously control the first and second isolation valves to close, interrupting flow through both lines into the tank system (col. 2, ll. 3–29, 64–67; col. 3, ll. 1–20; col. 5, ll. 3–33, 47–55; col. 6, ll. 1–3, 50–61; claim 1; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz and Ragosta, to include a pressure sensor for each store reporting to the controller, with controller logic that compares each sensed store pressure with a predetermined limit and, when any sensed pressure exceeds the limit, simultaneously closes the isolation valves on every line through which fluid flows into the over-pressured store, as taught by Lohmann, using as the predetermined limit the overpressure condition at which the relief valves relieve the store. In Bernhardt those lines are the liquid pipe 40 and vapor pipe 30 joining the stores, with their isolation valves 60, 50. The modification reliably ensures that the pressure in the tanks does not exceed the predetermined limit, avoids damage to the tank system from excess pressure, and enhances overall safety by closing both isolation valves together (Lohmann col. 2, ll. 19–29; col. 3, ll. 7–20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because, in Bernhardt, liquid and vapor flow into each store from the other store through those two valved pipes (Bernhardt ¶ 0074–0078), and Bernhardt drives that flow by pressure difference and gravity (Bernhardt ¶ 0049, 0064–0069), so an over-pressured store remains open to the other store unless both valves close. The pressure of each Bernhardt store is the pressure of its vapor space, which Bernhardt equalizes and adjusts between the stores through the vapor pipes (Bernhardt ¶ 0046, 0065–0066), and Lohmann’s limit and Platz’s relief valves both respond to the same event, an excess of tank pressure (Lohmann col. 3, ll. 7–20; Platz col. 4, ll. 30–33). Keying the isolation logic to the overpressure condition at which the store is relieved therefore applies a single, known design limit of the tank to both safeguards. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding the recitation that, responsive to the simultaneous closure of the first isolation valve and the second isolation valve, the pressure safety system remains fluidly coupled to the at least one of the first or second cryogenic tanks via the GH2 extraction flowline to permit release of hydrogen vapor independent of the LH2 transfer flowline and the GH2 transfer flowline, Bernhardt as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann necessarily provides this arrangement. In the modified system, the pressure safety system is connected to the store through its own vapor line (Platz vapor section line 94), a connection separate from Bernhardt’s transfer pipes 30, 40 and their isolation valves 50, 60. In addition, the relief selector valve always connects one relief branch to the vapor line while closing the other (Platz col. 4, ll. 22–28; fig. 2; Ragosta ¶ 0021–0023; figs. 1, 4). Closing valves 50, 60 therefore leaves the pressure safety system in communication with the store to release hydrogen vapor independently of the transfer pipes (Bernhardt ¶ 0074–0075).
In regard to claim 2, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 1, including the LH2 transfer flowline (joined branches of liquid transfer pipes 40), the GH2 transfer flowline (joined branches of vapor transfer pipes 30), and the LH2 extraction flowline (free branch of liquid transfer pipe 40 of store 4, ending at fitting 100) (Bernhardt ¶ 0074, 0078–0079, 0085; fig. 9).
The modified Bernhardt does not teach wherein the LH2 transfer flowline, the GH2 transfer flowline, and the LH2 extraction flowline are vacuum jacketed flowlines.
However, Platz teaches that the liquid lines (fill line 40 with fill line jacket 44; vaporizer inlet line 62 with inlet line jacket 68) and the vapor line (vapor section line 94 with vapor section line jacket 96) connected to a cryogenic vessel (delivery vessel 14) are vacuum jacketed flowlines, and that vacuum-jacketed piping is necessary when the cryogenic gas is hydrogen (col. 1, ll. 50–58; col. 3, ll. 24–31, 46–51; col. 4, ll. 2–5; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include vacuum jacketing on the liquid and vapor lines that connect the stores and on the liquid line that draws liquid from them, as taught by Platz, in order to provide the insulation that Platz identifies as necessary for piping that carries cryogenic hydrogen.
In regard to claim 6, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Bernhardt further teaches wherein the cryogenic liquid is liquid hydrogen (liquefied hydrogen); the first isolation valve (valve 60) in the LH2 transfer flowline (liquid transfer pipes 40) is configured to enable or inhibit flow of the liquid hydrogen between the first cryogenic tank (store 4) and the second cryogenic tank (store 3) (opening or closing valve 60 connects or isolates the lower ends of the stores); and the second isolation valve (valve 50) in the GH2 transfer flowline (vapor transfer pipes 30) is configured to enable or inhibit flow of hydrogen vapor between the first cryogenic tank and the second cryogenic tank (opening or closing valve 50 connects or isolates the upper ends of the stores) (¶ 0003, 0074–0075, 0081–0085; fig. 9).
In regard to claim 7, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Bernhardt further teaches that its stores are modular basic containers, each having a vapor transfer pipe (30) and a liquid transfer pipe (40) carrying isolation valves (50, 70; 60, 80) and paired connection fittings (90, 110; 100, 120), so that the containers can be fluidically attached to one another in series or in parallel (¶ 0074–0079; fig. 9).
The modified Bernhardt does not teach that the first cryogenic tank is included in a first group of cryogenic tanks and the second cryogenic tank is included in a second group of cryogenic tanks, with a first set of LH2 transfer flowlines and GH2 transfer flowlines to couple the first group of cryogenic tanks in series, a second set of LH2 transfer flowlines and GH2 transfer flowlines to couple the second group of cryogenic tanks in series, a third set of LH2 transfer flowlines and GH2 transfer flowlines to couple the first group and the second group in parallel, and a plurality of isolation valves in the first, second, and third sets to enable or inhibit flow between the first group of cryogenic tanks and the second group of tanks.
However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Applicant’s disclosure attributes no new or unexpected result to arranging the tanks in groups. Each group is formed from the same tanks, joined by the same paired LH2 and GH2 transfer flowlines and isolation valves that join two tanks (Spec. ¶ 0151; fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, to include additional modular basic containers arranged as a first group connected in series, a second group connected in series, and the two groups connected to one another in parallel, each connection made by paired vapor and liquid transfer pipes carrying isolation valves, in order to increase the quantity of liquefied hydrogen the installation can store and supply, with store capacities selected according to their uses (Bernhardt ¶ 0050).
In regard to claim 8, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the pressure safety system (Platz relief manifold 110 with relief selector valve 124, relief valves 116, 120, and burst discs 118, 122) is coupled to a tank through its GH2 extraction flowline (Platz vapor section line 94) (Platz col. 4, ll. 2–5, 14–28; fig. 2).
The modified Bernhardt does not teach that the pressure safety system is a first pressure safety system coupled to the first group of cryogenic tanks via a plurality of first GH2 extraction flowlines, together with a second pressure safety system coupled to the second group of cryogenic tanks via a plurality of second GH2 extraction flowlines.
However, mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 549 F.2d 833, 193 USPQ 8 (7th Cir. 1977); In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include a second relief manifold, a duplicate of the selector valve with its two relief-valve and burst-disc branches. The first group of tanks would then be served by a first relief manifold connected through the vapor lines of the tanks of the first group, and the second group by a second relief manifold connected through the vapor lines of the tanks of the second group, in order that each group retains its own overpressure relief whenever the isolation valves between the groups are closed (Lohmann col. 2, ll. 19–29; col. 3, ll. 7–20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because, once the controller closes the isolation valves between the groups, a group cut off from the only pressure safety system would be left without any relief path while its liquefied hydrogen continues to evaporate and build pressure (Bernhardt ¶ 0005–0007). Duplicating the pressure safety system for the second group involves only routine skill. See St. Regis Paper Co., 193 USPQ 8; MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
In regard to claim 9, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 7, but does not teach wherein the first group of cryogenic tanks includes two or more cryogenic tanks and the second group of cryogenic tanks includes two or more cryogenic tanks.
However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Applicant’s disclosure attributes no new or unexpected result to the number of tanks in each group (Spec. ¶ 0151; fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include two or more of the modular basic containers in each of the first and second groups, each joined to the next by paired vapor and liquid transfer pipes carrying isolation valves, in order to increase the quantity of liquefied hydrogen the installation can store and supply, with store capacities selected according to their uses (Bernhardt ¶ 0050). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Bernhardt’s basic containers are expressly built with paired, valved, quick-connect transfer pipes so that they can be attached to one another in series or in parallel (Bernhardt ¶ 0074, 0077, 0079). Providing two or more such containers in each group is a duplication of those parts producing only the expected increase in capacity. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378; MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
In regard to claim 10, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 9, including first and second groups of cryogenic tanks each including two or more tanks connected by LH2 and GH2 transfer flowlines.
The modified Bernhardt does not teach a first pump in the first group of cryogenic tanks and a second pump in the second group of cryogenic tanks, the first pump and the second pump to trim liquid hydrogen between one or more cryogenic tanks of the system.
However, Lohmann further teaches a pump (fuel pump 24) disposed in a liquid line (fuel supply line 18) that delivers liquid from one tank (fuel reservoir 16) to another (aircraft tank system 12) (col. 5, ll. 3–11; col. 6, ll. 39–44; fig. 1). In addition, mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 549 F.2d 833, 193 USPQ 8 (7th Cir. 1977); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include, in the liquid line between the tanks of each of the first and second groups, a pump that delivers liquid hydrogen from one tank to another, as taught by Lohmann, in order to deliver liquid from one tank to the other (Lohmann col. 5, ll. 3–11). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Bernhardt itself identifies a pump as the alternative to moving liquid between stores by pressure difference (Bernhardt ¶ 0058), and Bernhardt’s pressure-difference transfers require building pressure by evaporation and heating, which adds energy to the stores and causes the losses Bernhardt seeks to limit (Bernhardt ¶ 0008–0010, 0047, 0059, 0068). Providing such a pump in each of the two groups is a duplication of a known part.
In regard to claim 11, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 1, including an LH2 extraction flowline (free branch of liquid transfer pipe 40 of store 4, ending at fitting 100) connected to the first cryogenic tank (store 4) to supply liquid to the user (Bernhardt ¶ 0079, 0084–0085; fig. 9).
The modified Bernhardt does not teach a second LH2 extraction flowline connected to the second cryogenic tank.
However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Applicant’s disclosure attributes no new or unexpected result to providing a second LH2 extraction flowline; each tank simply has its own extraction flowline drawing liquid from its lower portion in the same manner (Spec. ¶¶ 0121, 0143; figs. 4, 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include on store 3 a second liquid line, a duplicate of the liquid line of store 4, leading to the user, in order that either or both stores can supply liquid to the user (Bernhardt ¶ 0085). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Bernhardt’s basic containers are expressly built so that their stores can be attached in parallel to a receiver, each through its own valved liquid pipe (Bernhardt ¶ 0074, 0077, 0079). Providing the second store with its own extraction line is a duplication of a known part producing only the expected result. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt, Platz, Ragosta and Lohmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gustafson et al. (US 2014/0096539 A1).
In regard to claim 4, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach a thermosiphon loop integrated into one of the first or second cryogenic tanks to regulate the vapor pressure of the system.
However, Gustafson teaches a thermosiphon loop (a pressure building circuit, common on stationary cryogenic cylinders, in which gravity feeds liquid cryogen from the tank into a vaporizer and the evolved gas is routed back to the vapor space above the liquid) integrated into a cryogenic tank to regulate the vapor pressure of the system (building a head of vapor pressure above the liquid phase in the tank) (¶ 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include on one of the stores a gravity-fed pressure building circuit that feeds liquid from the store into a vaporizer and returns the evolved gas to the vapor space of the store, as taught by Gustafson, in order to build a head of vapor pressure above the liquid phase in the tank.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt, Platz, Ragosta and Lohmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clarke et al. (US 2022/0136656 A1).
In regard to claim 5, the modified Bernhardt teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach a heating system in one of the first or second cryogenic tanks to regulate the vapor pressure of the system.
However, Clarke teaches a liquid hydrogen storage tank (100, pressure vessel 125) having a heating system (primary electric heater 320, within the interior volume of the tank and energized through electrical feedthrough 431) in the tank to regulate the vapor pressure of the system (heater 320 heats the liquid hydrogen within the tank and indirectly controls the tank pressure by adjusting the temperature of the hydrogen) (¶ 0019, 0088, 0094; figs. 10, 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen installation of Bernhardt, as modified by Platz, Ragosta, and Lohmann, to include within one of the stores an electric heater that heats the liquid hydrogen in the store, as taught by Clarke, in order to control the pressure of the tank by adjusting the temperature of the hydrogen within it.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763