DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 filed on 03/09/2026 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 have been amended.
Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amended claims have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/03/2026, regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered. Examiner respectfully disagrees that Mason does not disclose any sort of actuator. See [0083]: “master device 126 may include… one or more master motors 132” and [0064]: “treatment device 106 may include… one or more motors 112.” Applicant’s argument regarding position information and force output is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kanaoka.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason et al. (US 2021/0134458 A1), in view of Kanaoka et al. (US 2016/0279788 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mason teaches a position/force control system comprising:
a primary apparatus that receives an input of a treatment operation ([0080]: “The master device 126 may be an examination device configured for control by a healthcare provider… The joystick may be configured to be used by a healthcare provider to provide manipulation instructions”), wherein the primary apparatus includes a primary actuator ([0083]: “The master device 126 may include at least one or more master controllers 138 and one or more master motors 132, such as an electric motor”);
a secondary apparatus that outputs the treatment operation ([0060]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a brace 202 (e.g., a knee brace) configured to fit on the patient's body part”; [0064]: “the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”), wherein the secondary apparatus includes a secondary actuator ([0064]: “The treatment device 106 may include at least one or more motor controllers 118 and one or more motors 112, such as an electric motor”); and
a controller that controls the primary apparatus and the secondary apparatus ([0169]: “the control system comprising one or more processing devices 1002 (e.g., the master processing device, the slave processing device) operatively coupled to the input devices 1016. For example, the master processing device may be operatively coupled to the master console 124 and the slave processing device may be operatively coupled to the treatment device 106”),
wherein the controller transmits a first control parameter for causing the secondary apparatus to output a force tactile sensation that corresponds to the treatment operation ([0109-0111]: “At step 508, the master processing device can generate a manipulation instruction… At step 510, the master processing device transmits the manipulation instruction. The master processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the manipulation instruction to the slave computing device 10. At step 512, the master processing device causes the slave pressure system to activate… responsive to the manipulation instruction (e.g., to increase and/or decrease one or more measured levels of force in one or more sections of the treatment device), the slave pressure system 110 can cause the slave controller 118 to activate the slave motor 112”; [0089]: “the patient can feel the healthcare provider virtually touching his or her body part (e.g., from the pressure exerted by the treatment device 106)”),
wherein the controller transmits a second control parameter for causing the primary apparatus to output a reaction force received from a user in response to the treatment operation that is outputted by the secondary apparatus (FIG. 5 and [0112-0113]: “At step 514, the master processing device receives slave force measurements. The slave force measurements can include one or more measurements associated with one or more measured levels of force that the patient's body is applying to the treatment device 106. At step 516, the master processing device uses the pressure slave measurements to activate the master pressure system 130. For example, the master pressure system 130 can cause the master device 126 to inflate and/or deflate one or more sections 310 of the master device 126 such that the measured levels of force of the one or more sections 310 directly correlate with the one or more measured levels of force that the patient's body is applying to the one or more sections 210 of the treatment device 106”).
While Mason teaches detecting position information associated with the secondary actuator ([0091]: “The goniometer 702 may detect angles of extension and/or bend of body parts of the patient and transmit the measured angles to the slave computing device 102 and/or the treatment device 106. The slave computing device 102 can transmit the measured angles to the master computing device 122”), Mason does not explicitly teach “wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator, wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation.”
Kanaoka further teaches wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator ([0121]: “the master actuators Am1, Am2, and Am3 are provided at the joints of the master arm M, and generate a master driving force τm on the basis of the master displacements qm and xm and the master target displacements, whereby the master arm M is position-controlled”; [0120]: “The master target displacement calculating device 2 calculates master target displacements, which are target values for the master displacements qm and xm, on the basis of the measured slave displacements qs and xs”), wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation ([0104]: “the slave actuator is adapted to generate the slave driving force on the basis of the slave target driving force, whereas the master actuator is adapted to generate the master driving force on the basis of the master target displacement and the master displacement,” where master target displacement is based on position information and slave driving force corresponds to a force output of the second actuator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control system of Mason to incorporate the teachings of Kanaoka so as to include the output of the force tactile sensation being based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator and the output of the force tactile sensation causing positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation. Doing so would allow position information to be used in the output of force tactile sensation with the aim of improving performance (Kanaoka, [0067]: “In the case of the force-projecting bilateral control where the slave robot is controlled in terms of driving force, it is possible to simply superimpose control laws on each other, and vast knowledge on driving force control accumulated over a long history of robot control engineering can be utilized for backing up the operator's skill”).
Regarding claim 2, Mason in view of Kanaoka teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 1.
Mason further teaches wherein the controller establishes a communication link between the primary apparatus and the secondary apparatus in response to a request from the secondary apparatus ([0057]: “The slave computing device 102 may include a display capable of presenting a user interface, such as a patient portal 114… The patient portal 114 may present various screens to a patient that enable the patient … to initiate a remote examination session; to control parameters of the treatment device 106,” where the patient initiating a remote examination session corresponds to the secondary apparatus making a request to establish a communication link between a primary and secondary apparatus) and causes the secondary apparatus to output the force tactile sensation that corresponds to the treatment operation that is inputted into the primary apparatus ([0067]: “as the healthcare provider moves a master device 126, the movement is provided in a manipulation instruction for the motor 112 to drive the pump to inflate one or more sections of the treatment device 106”).
Regarding claim 7, Mason in view of Kanaoka teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 1.
Mason further teaches wherein at least in a case where a physical quantity that is represented by the first control parameter or the second control parameter exceeds a predetermined upper limit, or in a case where a communication state in which the first control parameter or the second control parameter is received from the controller is reduced below a predetermined state, the secondary apparatus implements a predetermined control for inhibiting an action on the user ([0069]: “the control system may modify a parameter of operating the slave motor 112 using the measured force. Further, the control system may perform one or more preventative actions (e.g., locking the slave motor 112 to stop the pump from activating, slowing down the slave motor 112”; [0151]: “The controlling of the at least one operation of the device can include causing the device to modify at least one of a volume, a pressure, a resistance, an angle, a speed, an angular or rotational velocity, and a time period. The modification may include not just a value but also a constraint, limitation, maximum, minimum, etc... if the measured level of volume exceeds the volume parameter, the excess pressure that the treatment device 106 may be exerting on the patient may cause the patient pain or discomfort, and thus, the processing device is configured to adjust the volume (e.g., decrease the volume) to decrease the pressure exerted on the patient”).
Regarding claim 8, Mason in view of Kanaoka teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 1.
Mason further teaches wherein the secondary apparatus outputs the force tactile sensation that corresponds to the treatment operation by reproducing the first control parameter, wherein the first control parameter is stored in memory ([0079]: “The treatment device 106 can be activated to perform the manipulations in accordance with the pre-determined manipulation instructions. The healthcare provider may observe the remote examination in real-time and make modifications to the pre-determined manipulation instructions during the remote examination”).
Regarding claim 9, Mason in view of Kanaoka teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 1.
Mason further teaches wherein the secondary apparatus includes a pressing member that presses the user and outputs the force tactile sensation of that is associated with a pressing operation that is inputted into the primary apparatus by using the pressing member ([0064]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a haptic system, a pneumatic system, any other suitable system, or combination thereof. For example, the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”).
Regarding claim 10, Mason in view of Kanaoka teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 1.
Mason further teaches wherein the secondary apparatus includes a rubbing member that rubs the user and outputs a secondary rubbing operation by using the rubbing member in response to a primary rubbing operation that is inputted into the primary apparatus ([0064]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a haptic system, a pneumatic system, any other suitable system, or combination thereof. For example, the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”).
Regarding claim 11, Mason teaches a position/force control apparatus that serves as an apparatus of a position/force control system that includes
a primary apparatus that receives an input of a treatment operation ([0080]: “The master device 126 may be an examination device configured for control by a healthcare provider… The joystick may be configured to be used by a healthcare provider to provide manipulation instructions”),
a secondary apparatus that outputs the treatment operation ([0060]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a brace 202 (e.g., a knee brace) configured to fit on the patient's body part”; [0064]: “the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”), and
a controller that controls the primary apparatus and the secondary apparatus ([0169]: “the control system comprising one or more processing devices 1002 (e.g., the master processing device, the slave processing device) operatively coupled to the input devices 1016. For example, the master processing device may be operatively coupled to the master console 124 and the slave processing device may be operatively coupled to the treatment device 106”),
wherein the primary apparatus includes a primary actuator ([0083]: “The master device 126 may include at least one or more master controllers 138 and one or more master motors 132, such as an electric motor”),
wherein the secondary apparatus includes a secondary actuator ([0064]: “The treatment device 106 may include at least one or more motor controllers 118 and one or more motors 112, such as an electric motor”), and
wherein force tactile sensation that corresponds to the treatment operation is outputted in response to a control parameter ([0109-0111]: “At step 508, the master processing device can generate a manipulation instruction… At step 510, the master processing device transmits the manipulation instruction. The master processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the manipulation instruction to the slave computing device 10. At step 512, the master processing device causes the slave pressure system to activate… responsive to the manipulation instruction (e.g., to increase and/or decrease one or more measured levels of force in one or more sections of the treatment device), the slave pressure system 110 can cause the slave controller 118 to activate the slave motor 112”; [0089]: “the patient can feel the healthcare provider virtually touching his or her body part (e.g., from the pressure exerted by the treatment device 106)”).
While Mason teaches detecting position information associated with the secondary actuator ([0091]: “The goniometer 702 may detect angles of extension and/or bend of body parts of the patient and transmit the measured angles to the slave computing device 102 and/or the treatment device 106. The slave computing device 102 can transmit the measured angles to the master computing device 122”), Mason does not explicitly teach “wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator, wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation.”
Kanaoka further teaches wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator ([0121]: “the master actuators Am1, Am2, and Am3 are provided at the joints of the master arm M, and generate a master driving force τm on the basis of the master displacements qm and xm and the master target displacements, whereby the master arm M is position-controlled”; [0120]: “The master target displacement calculating device 2 calculates master target displacements, which are target values for the master displacements qm and xm, on the basis of the measured slave displacements qs and xs”),
wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation ([0104]: “the slave actuator is adapted to generate the slave driving force on the basis of the slave target driving force, whereas the master actuator is adapted to generate the master driving force on the basis of the master target displacement and the master displacement,” where master target displacement is based on position information and slave driving force corresponds to a force output of the second actuator).
The reasons to combine Kanaoka into Mason are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, Mason teaches a position/force control method that includes:
providing a primary treatment tool that receives an input of a treatment operation ([0080]: “The master device 126 may be an examination device configured for control by a healthcare provider… The joystick may be configured to be used by a healthcare provider to provide manipulation instructions”), wherein the primary treatment tool includes a primary actuator ([0083]: “The master device 126 may include at least one or more master controllers 138 and one or more master motors 132, such as an electric motor”);
providing a secondary treatment tool that outputs the treatment operation ([0060]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a brace 202 (e.g., a knee brace) configured to fit on the patient's body part”; [0064]: “the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”), wherein the secondary treatment tool includes a secondary actuator ([0064]: “The treatment device 106 may include at least one or more motor controllers 118 and one or more motors 112, such as an electric motor”); and
providing a controller that controls the primary treatment tool and the secondary treatment tool ([0169]: “the control system comprising one or more processing devices 1002 (e.g., the master processing device, the slave processing device) operatively coupled to the input devices 1016. For example, the master processing device may be operatively coupled to the master console 124 and the slave processing device may be operatively coupled to the treatment device 106”);
the method further comprising: transmitting, with the controller, a first control parameter for causing the secondary treatment tool to output a force tactile sensation that corresponds to the treatment operation ([0109-0111]: “At step 508, the master processing device can generate a manipulation instruction… At step 510, the master processing device transmits the manipulation instruction. The master processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the manipulation instruction to the slave computing device 10. At step 512, the master processing device causes the slave pressure system to activate… responsive to the manipulation instruction (e.g., to increase and/or decrease one or more measured levels of force in one or more sections of the treatment device), the slave pressure system 110 can cause the slave controller 118 to activate the slave motor 112”; [0089]: “the patient can feel the healthcare provider virtually touching his or her body part (e.g., from the pressure exerted by the treatment device 106)”),
transmitting, with the controller, a second control parameter for causing the primary treatment tool to output a reaction force received from a user in response to the treatment operation that is outputted by the secondary treatment tool (FIG. 5 and [0112-0113]: “At step 514, the master processing device receives slave force measurements. The slave force measurements can include one or more measurements associated with one or more measured levels of force that the patient's body is applying to the treatment device 106. At step 516, the master processing device uses the pressure slave measurements to activate the master pressure system 130. For example, the master pressure system 130 can cause the master device 126 to inflate and/or deflate one or more sections 310 of the master device 126 such that the measured levels of force of the one or more sections 310 directly correlate with the one or more measured levels of force that the patient's body is applying to the one or more sections 210 of the treatment device 106”).
While Mason teaches detecting position information associated with the secondary actuator ([0091]: “The goniometer 702 may detect angles of extension and/or bend of body parts of the patient and transmit the measured angles to the slave computing device 102 and/or the treatment device 106. The slave computing device 102 can transmit the measured angles to the master computing device 122”), Mason does not explicitly teach “wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator, wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation.”
Kanaoka further teaches wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator ([0121]: “the master actuators Am1, Am2, and Am3 are provided at the joints of the master arm M, and generate a master driving force τm on the basis of the master displacements qm and xm and the master target displacements, whereby the master arm M is position-controlled”; [0120]: “The master target displacement calculating device 2 calculates master target displacements, which are target values for the master displacements qm and xm, on the basis of the measured slave displacements qs and xs”), wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation ([0104]: “the slave actuator is adapted to generate the slave driving force on the basis of the slave target driving force, whereas the master actuator is adapted to generate the master driving force on the basis of the master target displacement and the master displacement,” where master target displacement is based on position information and slave driving force corresponds to a force output of the second actuator).
The reasons to combine Kanaoka into Mason are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Mason teaches a position/force control method that includes:
providing a primary treatment tool that receives an input of a treatment operation ([0080]: “The master device 126 may be an examination device configured for control by a healthcare provider… The joystick may be configured to be used by a healthcare provider to provide manipulation instructions”),
wherein the primary treatment tool includes a primary actuator ([0083]: “The master device 126 may include at least one or more master controllers 138 and one or more master motors 132, such as an electric motor”);
providing a secondary treatment tool that outputs the treatment operation ([0060]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a brace 202 (e.g., a knee brace) configured to fit on the patient's body part”; [0064]: “the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”), wherein the secondary treatment tool includes a secondary actuator ([0064]: “The treatment device 106 may include at least one or more motor controllers 118 and one or more motors 112, such as an electric motor”); and
providing a controller that controls the primary treatment tool and the secondary treatment tool ([0169]: “the control system comprising one or more processing devices 1002 (e.g., the master processing device, the slave processing device) operatively coupled to the input devices 1016. For example, the master processing device may be operatively coupled to the master console 124 and the slave processing device may be operatively coupled to the treatment device 106”);
the method further comprising: outputting a force tactile sensation output that corresponds to the treatment operation, in response to a control parameter ([0109-0111]: “At step 508, the master processing device can generate a manipulation instruction… At step 510, the master processing device transmits the manipulation instruction. The master processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the manipulation instruction to the slave computing device 10. At step 512, the master processing device causes the slave pressure system to activate… responsive to the manipulation instruction (e.g., to increase and/or decrease one or more measured levels of force in one or more sections of the treatment device), the slave pressure system 110 can cause the slave controller 118 to activate the slave motor 112”; [0089]: “the patient can feel the healthcare provider virtually touching his or her body part (e.g., from the pressure exerted by the treatment device 106)”).
While Mason teaches detecting position information associated with the secondary actuator ([0091]: “The goniometer 702 may detect angles of extension and/or bend of body parts of the patient and transmit the measured angles to the slave computing device 102 and/or the treatment device 106. The slave computing device 102 can transmit the measured angles to the master computing device 122”), Mason does not explicitly teach “wherein the force tactile sensation output is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator, and wherein the force tactile sensation output causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation.”
Kanaoka further teaches wherein the force tactile sensation output is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator ([0121]: “the master actuators Am1, Am2, and Am3 are provided at the joints of the master arm M, and generate a master driving force τm on the basis of the master displacements qm and xm and the master target displacements, whereby the master arm M is position-controlled”; [0120]: “The master target displacement calculating device 2 calculates master target displacements, which are target values for the master displacements qm and xm, on the basis of the measured slave displacements qs and xs”), and wherein the force tactile sensation output causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation ([0104]: “the slave actuator is adapted to generate the slave driving force on the basis of the slave target driving force, whereas the master actuator is adapted to generate the master driving force on the basis of the master target displacement and the master displacement,” where master target displacement is based on position information and slave driving force corresponds to a force output of the second actuator).
The reasons to combine Kanaoka into Mason are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Mason teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for facilitating position/force control, the storage medium comprising executable code which, when executed by a computer causes the computer to operate a position/force control system ([0161]: “The data storage device 1008 may include a computer-readable medium 1020 on which the instructions 1022 (e.g., implementing the control system, the patient portal 114, the clinical portal 134, and/or any functions performed by any device and/or component depicted in the FIGS. and described herein) embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein are stored”) that includes:
a primary apparatus that receives an input of a treatment operation ([0080]: “The master device 126 may be an examination device configured for control by a healthcare provider… The joystick may be configured to be used by a healthcare provider to provide manipulation instructions”), wherein the primary apparatus includes a primary actuator ([0083]: “The master device 126 may include at least one or more master controllers 138 and one or more master motors 132, such as an electric motor”);
a secondary apparatus that outputs the treatment operation ([0060]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a brace 202 (e.g., a knee brace) configured to fit on the patient's body part”; [0064]: “the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”), wherein the secondary apparatus includes a secondary actuator ([0064]: “The treatment device 106 may include at least one or more motor controllers 118 and one or more motors 112, such as an electric motor”); and
a controller that controls the primary apparatus and the secondary apparatus ([0169]: “the control system comprising one or more processing devices 1002 (e.g., the master processing device, the slave processing device) operatively coupled to the input devices 1016. For example, the master processing device may be operatively coupled to the master console 124 and the slave processing device may be operatively coupled to the treatment device 106”) to fulfill a control function of transmitting a first control parameter for causing the secondary apparatus to output force tactile sensation that corresponds to the treatment operation ([0109-0111]: “At step 508, the master processing device can generate a manipulation instruction… At step 510, the master processing device transmits the manipulation instruction. The master processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the manipulation instruction to the slave computing device 10. At step 512, the master processing device causes the slave pressure system to activate… responsive to the manipulation instruction (e.g., to increase and/or decrease one or more measured levels of force in one or more sections of the treatment device), the slave pressure system 110 can cause the slave controller 118 to activate the slave motor 112”; [0089]: “the patient can feel the healthcare provider virtually touching his or her body part (e.g., from the pressure exerted by the treatment device 106)”),
wherein the fulfilling of the control function further includes transmitting a second control parameter for causing the primary apparatus to output a reaction force received from a user in response to the treatment operation that is outputted by the secondary apparatus (FIG. 6 and [0120-0122]: “At step 612, the slave processing device receives slave force measurements. The slave force measurements can include one or more measured levels of force exerted by the patient's body to the treatment device 106. At step 614, the slave processing device transmits the slave force measurements, such as to the master processing device. At step 616, using the slave force measurements, the slave processing device causes a master pressure system 130 to activate. For example, the master pressure system 130 can cause the master device 126 to inflate and/or deflate one or more sections 310 of the master device 126 such that the measured levels of force of the one or more sections 310 correlate with the one or more measured levels of force that the patient's body is applying to the one or more sections 210 of the treatment device 106”).
While Mason teaches detecting position information associated with the secondary actuator ([0091]: “The goniometer 702 may detect angles of extension and/or bend of body parts of the patient and transmit the measured angles to the slave computing device 102 and/or the treatment device 106. The slave computing device 102 can transmit the measured angles to the master computing device 122”), Mason does not explicitly teach “wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator, wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation.”
Kanaoka further teaches wherein the output of the force tactile sensation is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator ([0121]: “the master actuators Am1, Am2, and Am3 are provided at the joints of the master arm M, and generate a master driving force τm on the basis of the master displacements qm and xm and the master target displacements, whereby the master arm M is position-controlled”; [0120]: “The master target displacement calculating device 2 calculates master target displacements, which are target values for the master displacements qm and xm, on the basis of the measured slave displacements qs and xs”), wherein the output of the force tactile sensation causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation ([0104]: “the slave actuator is adapted to generate the slave driving force on the basis of the slave target driving force, whereas the master actuator is adapted to generate the master driving force on the basis of the master target displacement and the master displacement,” where master target displacement is based on position information and slave driving force corresponds to a force output of the second actuator).
The reasons to combine Kanaoka into Mason are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Mason teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for facilitating position/force control, the storage medium comprising executable code which, when executed by a computer causes the computer to operate a position/force control system ([0161]: “The data storage device 1008 may include a computer-readable medium 1020 on which the instructions 1022 (e.g., implementing the control system, the patient portal 114, the clinical portal 134, and/or any functions performed by any device and/or component depicted in the FIGS. and described herein) embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein are stored”) that includes:
a primary apparatus that receives an input of a treatment operation ([0080]: “The master device 126 may be an examination device configured for control by a healthcare provider… The joystick may be configured to be used by a healthcare provider to provide manipulation instructions”), wherein the primary apparatus includes a primary actuator ([0083]: “The master device 126 may include at least one or more master controllers 138 and one or more master motors 132, such as an electric motor”);
a secondary apparatus that outputs the treatment operation ([0060]: “the treatment device 106 may comprise a brace 202 (e.g., a knee brace) configured to fit on the patient's body part”; [0064]: “the haptic system can include a virtual touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions to the patient through the treatment device 106”), wherein the secondary apparatus includes a secondary actuator ([0064]: “The treatment device 106 may include at least one or more motor controllers 118 and one or more motors 112, such as an electric motor”); and
a controller that controls the primary apparatus and the secondary apparatus ([0169]: “the control system comprising one or more processing devices 1002 (e.g., the master processing device, the slave processing device) operatively coupled to the input devices 1016. For example, the master processing device may be operatively coupled to the master console 124 and the slave processing device may be operatively coupled to the treatment device 106”) to fulfill a force tactile sensation control function of outputting a force tactile sensation output that corresponds to the treatment operation, in response to a control parameter ([0109-0111]: “At step 508, the master processing device can generate a manipulation instruction… At step 510, the master processing device transmits the manipulation instruction. The master processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the manipulation instruction to the slave computing device 10. At step 512, the master processing device causes the slave pressure system to activate… responsive to the manipulation instruction (e.g., to increase and/or decrease one or more measured levels of force in one or more sections of the treatment device), the slave pressure system 110 can cause the slave controller 118 to activate the slave motor 112”; [0089]: “the patient can feel the healthcare provider virtually touching his or her body part (e.g., from the pressure exerted by the treatment device 106)”).
While Mason teaches detecting position information associated with the secondary actuator ([0091]: “The goniometer 702 may detect angles of extension and/or bend of body parts of the patient and transmit the measured angles to the slave computing device 102 and/or the treatment device 106. The slave computing device 102 can transmit the measured angles to the master computing device 122”), Mason does not explicitly teach “ wherein the force tactile sensation output is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator, and wherein the force tactile sensation output causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation.”
Kanaoka further teaches wherein the force tactile sensation output is based on position information associated with the primary actuator and the secondary actuator ([0121]: “the master actuators Am1, Am2, and Am3 are provided at the joints of the master arm M, and generate a master driving force τm on the basis of the master displacements qm and xm and the master target displacements, whereby the master arm M is position-controlled”; [0120]: “The master target displacement calculating device 2 calculates master target displacements, which are target values for the master displacements qm and xm, on the basis of the measured slave displacements qs and xs”), and
wherein the force tactile sensation output causes positioning of the primary actuator to follow in accordance with the position information and a force output of the secondary actuator during the treatment operation ([0104]: “the slave actuator is adapted to generate the slave driving force on the basis of the slave target driving force, whereas the master actuator is adapted to generate the master driving force on the basis of the master target displacement and the master displacement,” where master target displacement is based on position information and slave driving force corresponds to a force output of the second actuator).
The reasons to combine Kanaoka into Mason are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason et al. (US 2021/0134458 A1), in view of Kanaoka et al. (US 2016/0279788 A1), and in view of Kanaya (US 2018/0254954 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Mason in view of Kanaoka teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 1.
While Mason teaches transmitting data from one or more slave sensors to a master device ([0116]: “At step 604, the slave processing device transmits the slave sensor data. The slave processing device may transmit, via the network 104, the slave sensor data to the master computing device 122”; FIG. 7 illustrates the communication links between secondary/slave and primary/master devices), Mason and Kanaoka do not explicitly teach “wherein the secondary apparatus includes multiple secondary apparatuses, and wherein the controller receives requests from the multiple secondary apparatuses and establishes communication links between the one primary apparatus and the multiple secondary apparatuses that make the requests.”
Kanaya, addressing the same problem of device-to-device connectivity, further teaches wherein the secondary apparatus includes multiple secondary apparatuses ([0061]: “A master apparatus and a slave apparatus are capable of performing wireless communication with each other, and a slave apparatus is capable of performing wireless communication with another slave apparatus via the master apparatus (or not via the master apparatus). FIG. 1 merely shows an example. The number of apparatuses included in the wireless communication system 1 may be three or more, or may be two”), and
wherein the controller receives requests from the multiple secondary apparatuses and establishes communication links between the one primary apparatus and the multiple secondary apparatuses that make the requests ([0072]: “Upon receiving the action frame transmitted from the master apparatus, the information processing apparatus 10b (slave apparatus 1) transmits a request for participation in the communication game to the master apparatus (S2). Upon receiving the participation request from the slave apparatus 1, the master apparatus gives an IP address to the slave apparatus 1 (S3). At this point in time, wireless connection is established between the master apparatus and the slave apparatus 1 (the slave apparatus 1 participates in the network of the communication game)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control system of Mason in view of Kanaoka to incorporate the teachings of Kanaya so as to include the controller receiving requests from the multiple secondary apparatuses and establishes communication links between the one primary apparatus and the multiple secondary apparatuses that make the requests. Doing so would allow devices to establish communication links as desired with the goal of reducing processing load by minimizing unnecessary traffic (Kanaya, [0003-0004]: “Conventionally, there is a wireless communication system in which a user of a slave apparatus, which has received beacons transmitted from master apparatuses, selects a master apparatus, the slave apparatus transmits a participation request to the selected master apparatus, and the slave apparatus is allowed to participate in a group when the master apparatus permits the participation request. In the conventional technique described above, however, the slave apparatus merely transmits the participation request to the master apparatus selected by the user. Therefore, there is room for improvement in controlling participation of apparatuses by inhibiting useless communication”).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason et al. (US 2021/0134458 A1), in view of Kanaoka et al. (US 2016/0279788 A1), in view of Kanaya (US 2018/0254954 A1), and in view of Tian et al. (US 2020/0121556 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Mason in view of Kanaoka and Kanaya teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 3.
While Mason teaches modifying a treatment operation based on user feedback ([0151]: “The processing device may control the operation of the device during a telemedicine session or at another desired time. The controlling of the at least one operation of the device can include causing the device to modify at least one of a volume, a pressure, a resistance, an angle, a speed, an angular or rotational velocity, and a time period”), Mason, Kanaoka, and Kanaya do not explicitly teach “wherein the controller transmits a third control parameter acquired by normalizing the treatment operation that is inputted into the primary apparatus.”
Tian further teaches wherein the controller transmits a third control parameter acquired by normalizing the treatment operation that is inputted into the primary apparatus ([0098]: “The computing device provides the additionally adjusted locations of the corresponding set of key physical points of the first three-dimensional human body template to the guidance device, wherein the additionally adjusted locations of the corresponding set of key physical points of the first three-dimensional human body template provides a modified basis for the treatment procedure that is performed during the treatment session,” where modifying a basis for a treatment procedure corresponds to normalizing a treatment operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control system of Mason in view of Kanaoka and Kanaya to incorporate the teachings of Tian so as to include the controller transmitting a third control parameter acquired by normalizing the treatment operation that is inputted into the primary apparatus. Doing so would allow multiple patients to be treated simultaneously with the aim increasing accessibility of expert treatment (Tian, [0010-0011]: “the remote expert can help monitor and guide the treatment of multiple patients respectively located at multiple different locations at the same time. The remote expert can be relieved from the physically demanding and strenuous tasks of manually administering the treatment, such that his/her experience, knowledge, and expertise can be utilized over a longer period of time within each day, and in the long term”).
Regarding claim 6, Mason in view of Kanaoka, Kanaya, and Tian teaches the position/force control system according to Claim 5.
While Mason teaches modifying a treatment operation based on user feedback ([0151]: “The processing device may control the operation of the device during a telemedicine session or at another desired time. The controlling of the at least one operation of the device can include causing the device to modify at least one of a volume, a pressure, a resistance, an angle, a speed, an angular or rotational velocity, and a time period”), Mason, Kanaoka, and Kanaya do not explicitly teach “wherein the multiple secondary apparatuses correct the third control parameter to suit the user and output a corresponding force tactile sensation.”
Tian further teaches wherein the multiple secondary apparatuses correct the third control parameter to suit the user and output a corresponding force tactile sensation ([0099]: “the remote expert's treatment procedure may set the treatment parameters within an acceptable range (e.g., a range of electric current, a range of pressure/force, a range of needle depth, etc.), and the central control computer sends commands to the robot the adjust the treatment parameter values actually used in the performance of the treatment procedure in real-time based on the sensor feedback data received from the patient”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0322629 A1: Actuators responsive to teleoperator for providing haptic feedback
US 6,364,888 B1: Master/slave telerobotic system
US 5,072,361 A: Master/slave actuator system using position and force information
US 5,004,391 A: Position and force feedback system in a telemanipulation robotic system
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117