DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This correspondence is responsive to the amendments filed June 27, 2025.
Claims 1-65 have been previously canceled.
Claims 66, 79, and 83 have been amended.
Claims 66-85 are currently pending and have been fully examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 66-78 and 83-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 66 and 83 each recite the step of “encode a message according to a protocol”. However, it is unclear whether the protocol refers to the messaging format, or a encoding/encryption protocol. Based on the context of the limitation, that the message comprises emergency type, occupant information, health information, vehicle information, and emergency contact information of the occupant, the protocol is being interpreted for the purposes of examination as referring to the format and content of the message itself and not how the message is to be transmitted. This interpretation is also consistent with claim 79; claim 79 also recites the “encode a message.. according to a protocol” limitation, but specifies that the protocol comprises a message header and a message content.
Claims 67-78, and 84-85 are dependent on claims 66 and 83 respectively and thus are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 66-85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within the statutory category of machines (claims 66, 79, and 83), which are recited as systems that perform the steps and/or functions of:
detect an emergency associated with an occupant in a vehicle based on one or more of an image captured by an image sensor, data captured from one or more sensors associated with the vehicle, and a press of an emergency button in the vehicle;
determine a severity of the emergency based on data captured from at least one of the one or more sensors associated with the vehicle and health and wellness data associated with the occupant;
encode a message according to a protocol comprising an emergency type, an occupant information, a health information, a vehicle information, and an emergency contact information of the occupant, wherein the emergency type comprises a health emergency and a severity related to the health emergency of the occupant;
establish a secured connection between the system and a central server; and
transmit the message in real-time via the communication module to an application installed in the central server, wherein the application is configured to facilitate receipt of the message from the central server to an entity.
Step 2A: Prong 1
When taken individually and as a whole, the steps corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts, such “certain methods of organizing human activity”, which are interactions between individuals that can include: fundamental economic principles or practices; commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The claim is directed to a system to perform the process of detecting an emergency, determine a severity of the emergency and notifying others, which is performed by the system performing the underlined steps of the claim above. This is certain methods of organizing human activity because it is providing rules or instructions for notifying someone of an emergency situation involving a vehicle.
Step 2A: Prong 2
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to be considered a practical application because the additional elements amount to: insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), generally linking the application of the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment (2106.05(h)), or mere instructions to apply it with a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), as discussed below.
Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity
The steps that would require receiving the information to detect the emergency are examples of mere data gathering (e.g., “collect a vital data of an occupant in a vehicle seat of a vehicle using one or more of a band attached to the occupant, a band attached to the vehicle seat, and one or more sensors associated with the vehicle seat”), which is an insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.5(g)).
The steps specifying the data used to detect the emergency as being, “based on one or more of an image captured by an image sensor, data captured from one or more sensors associated with the vehicle, and a press of an emergency button in the vehicle” and the steps specifying the encoded message including “an emergency type, an occupant information, a health information, a vehicle information, and an emergency contact information of the occupant” are examples of selecting by type or source the data to be manipulated, which is an extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The steps of “establish a secured connection between the system and a central server” and “transmit the message…via the communication module to an application installed in the central server, wherein the application is configured to facilitate receipt of the message from the central server to an entity” and “transmit the message via the communication module to an infotainment system of the vehicle; and display the message on the infotainment system of the vehicle” are examples of necessary data outputting. Necessary data outputting is an insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Insignificant extra-solution activities are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or cause the claim to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g))
Mere Instructions to Apply the Abstract Idea Using a Computer
The steps reciting the use of computer components, such as reciting the components of the system (modules, a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions) and limitations like “transmit the message via the communication module to an application installed in the central server, wherein the application is configured to facilitate receipt of the message from the central server to an entity”, serve as mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer. Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
The claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to be considered a significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements amount to: insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), mere instructions to apply it with a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), generally linking the application of the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)), or a well-understood, routine, and conventional limitation (MPEP 2106.05(d)), as discussed below.
The steps addressed above in Step 2A: Prong 2, when considered again under Step 2B are not considered to make the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because those steps, when considered additionally with regards to Step 2B, are still considered to be either insignificant extra-solution activity, mere instructions to apply an abstract idea with a computer, or generally linking the application of the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment, which are types of limitations that are not sufficient to make the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.I.A).
The steps recited as either being part of the abstract idea or insignificant extra-solution activity are all examples of at least one of: storing and retrieving data from a memory (accessing the data used to detect the emergency and encode the message), sending and receiving data over a network (receiving data from sensors remote to the processor and transmit the message), electronic recordkeeping, or performing repetitive calculations. All of those functions have been identified as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a generic computer that are not significantly more than the abstract idea when claimed broadly or as an extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d).II).
The recited computer components (e.g., a communication module, a processor, sensors, and a display) are all generically recited components (see specification, par. [0059]-[0078], [0145], [0155]-[0157], [0414]). Commercially available components, generic computer components, and specially-programmed computer components performing the functions of a generic computer are not considered to be amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
When considered as a whole, the components do not provide anything that is not present when the component parts are considered individually. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, the system as a whole is a system that makes a determination of an emergency event and provides notifications based on that detected event. This is a system of generic components performing the abstract idea and insignificant extra-solution activities through these generically described devices performing well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Dependent Claim Analysis
Claims 67-78 are ultimately dependent from Claim(s) 66 and includes all the limitations of Claim(s) 66. Therefore, claim(s) 67-78 recite the same abstract idea as claim 66.
Claims 67-78 all recite additional limitations that serve to select by type or source the data to be manipulated by limiting the analysis to either specific types of data or the types of sensors used to collect the data. Selecting by type or source of the data to be manipulated is an insignificant extra-solution activity that is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claims 80-82 are ultimately dependent from Claim(s) 79 and includes all the limitations of Claim(s) 79. Therefore, claim(s) 80-82 recite the same abstract idea as claim 79.
Claims 80-82 all recite additional limitations that serve to select by type or source the data to be manipulated by limiting the analysis to either specific types of data or the types/locations of sensors used to collect the data. Selecting by type or source the data to be manipulated is an insignificant extra-solution activity that is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claims 84-85 are ultimately dependent from Claim(s) 83 and includes all the limitations of Claim(s) 83. Therefore, claim(s) 84-85 recite the same abstract idea as claim 83.
Claims 84-85 all recite additional limitations that serve to select by type or source the data to be manipulated by limiting the analysis to either specific types of data or the types/locations of sensors used to collect the data. Selecting by type or source the data to be manipulated is an insignificant extra-solution activity that is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 66-67, 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334).
As per claim 66, Konrardy teaches a system comprising:
a communication module (paragraph 9); and
a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (paragraph 9):
detect an emergency associated with an occupant in a vehicle based on one or more of an image captured by an image sensor, data captured from one or more sensors associated with the vehicle, and a press of an emergency button in the vehicle (Figure 5, paragraphs 207-209: upon receiving an indication of an accident… receive sensor data and communication data);
determine a severity of the emergency based on data captured from at least one of the one or more sensors associated with the vehicle and health and wellness data associated with the occupant (paragraph 185: accident related information may be automatically gathered and/or transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident and indicate the severity and/or type of accident and whether everyone involved is alright or if immediate assistance is needed; paragraph 192: received sensor data may include information regarding the vehicle, the vehicle’s environment and/or the vehicle operator; paragraphs 207-209: upon receiving an indication of an accident… receive sensor data and communication data);
encode a message according to a protocol, wherein the message comprises an emergency type, an occupant information, a health information, a vehicle information, wherein the emergency type comprises a health emergency and the severity related to the health emergency of the occupant (paragraph 128: server receives information regarding the vehicle (e.g., type, make, model, year of production); paragraphs 184-185: accident related information may be automatically gathered and/or transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident and indicate the severity and/or type of accident and whether everyone involved is alright or if immediate assistance is needed and/or the number of persons injured);
establish a secured connection between the system and a central server (paragraph 185: accident related information may be.. automatically transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident); and
transmit the message in real-time via the communication module to an application installed in the central server, wherein the application is configured to facilitate receipt of the message from the central server to an entity (paragraphs 184-185: real-time monitoring and feedback… may be used to send a tow truck, claim representative, ambulance, fire truck, and/or police vehicle to the scene of an accident….. accident related information may be.. automatically transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident).
Further regarding (c), Konrardy does not explicitly teach a message that includes an emergency contact information of the occupant. However, Suthar teaches account profiles of each driver or each passenger that includes an emergency contact detail, and that an emergency message may be sent and identifying emergency contacts when a degree of severity of the emergency incident is high priority (paragraphs 40 and 45).
Both Konrardy and Suthar are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Suthar, specifically, the use of emergency contact information of occupants of a vehicle, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
As per claim 67, Konrardy teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the image sensor comprises at least one of a camera and an infra-red camera (paragraph 192: sensor data may include data from interior cameras).
As per claim 69, Konrardy teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the entity comprises at least one of an emergency care and an emergency service (paragraphs 184-185: real-time monitoring and feedback… may be used to send a tow truck… ambulance, fire truck, and/or police vehicle to the scene of an accident)
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Swan (US PGPub 20190047578).
As per claim 68, Konrardy teaches the system of claim 66, where sensor data is collected when an accident is detected, including data from interior cameras (paragraph 192) and that the sensor data from an accident is used in analysis (paragraphs 207-209)
However, Konrary and Suthar do not explicitly teach an image analysis of the one or more images associated with the occupant using an image processor comprising artificial intelligence algorithms. However, Swan teaches the use of artificial intelligence framework to automatically detect and/or predict emergency events in real time based on behavior data associated with one or more occupants of a vehicle, specifically movements of the occupants of the vehicle being identified by the artificial intelligence framework by analyzing captured image data obtained via one or more cameras of the vehicle (paragraph 82).
Both Konrardy and Swan are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Swan, specifically, applying AI to analyze images associated with the occupant, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Wilson (US PGPub 20190359056).
As per claim 71, although not taught by Konrary or Suthar, Wilson teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the health emergency comprises at least one of a choking, a fever, a cholic, an incessant crying, a skin color change, a rash, a vomiting, and a change in vital signs indicating a problem in physiological function of the occupant (paragraph 25: The vehicular medical assistant can use cognitive computing to identify a medical event (e.g., choking, heart attack, nausea, etc.) based on the data collected from the one or more sensors and compared with information in a medical data store; paragraphs 32-42: aural sensors can be sensors configured to detect sounds such as… choking sounds, retching sounds, coughing sounds, breathing level s (e.g., hyperventilation), groans, and so on…. Visual sensors can include video cameras capable of capturing… color variation (e.g., pale, flushed, etc.), perspiration (e.g., changes in facial reflectivity), pupil dilation…. the medical condition 124 “fever” could be associated with diagnostic data 122 of three consecutive thermometer measurements on a passenger's forehead above 100° Fahrenheit as measured by biometric sensors 106).
Both Konrardy and Wilson are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Wilson, specifically, health emergency types of an occupant including choking, fever, cholic, crying, skin color change, rash, vomiting, change in vital signs indicating a problem in physiological function, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Nagasawa (US PGPub 20220038881).
As per claim 72, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, Nagasawa teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the occupant information comprises a name of the occupant, an identification of the occupant; and a seating detail of the occupant inside the vehicle (paragraphs 63-65: Examples of the rich information include information on a riding status of the occupant in the automobile 10, information on conditions of the automobile 10, information on either one of the latest traveling point and time, and information on any one of a model, a color, and a feature of the automobile 10. The information on the riding status of the occupant may include the number of occupants and their seated positions, seatbelt statuses, sexes, and names).
Both Konrardy and Swan are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Nagasawa, specifically, the name and identify of the occupant along with where they are situated within the vehicle, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of McClellan (US PGPub 20080306996).
As per claim 73, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, McClellan teaches the system of claim 72, wherein the occupant information further comprises a height of the occupant, a weight of the occupant, an age of the occupant, and a gender of the occupant (paragraphs 21-22: monitoring device 101 detects when vehicle 102 is involved in an accident, crash or collision and provides automatic crash notification…. Monitoring system 101 may also determine and record occupant information, such as, for example, the height, weight, age, and sex of the occupants. Additional occupant information, such as their driver's license number, insurance information, medical history information (e.g. allergies, prior surgeries, primary doctor, emergency notification information, and donor information) may also be determined by the monitoring system.).
Both Konrardy and McClellan are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of McClellan, specifically, the height, weight, age and gender of occupant, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 74-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Satpathy (US PGPub 20120256769).
As per claim 74, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, Satpathy teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the health information comprises a detail of a physiological parameter obtained in real time using a sensor (paragraph 192: The sensor data may include information regarding the physical or mental state of the vehicle operator using sensors… the sensor data may include data from.. physiological sensors (e.g., thermometer, microphone, thermal image capture device, electroencephalograph, galvanic skin response sensor, heart rate sensors, respiratory rate sensor, other biometric sensors, etc.).
Both Konrardy and Satpathy are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Satpathy, specifically, using sensors to obtain physiological parameters of vehicle occupants, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
As per claim 75, Konrardy teaches the system of claim 74, wherein the physiological parameter comprises at least one of a heart rate, a blood pressure, and a temperature; and wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a heart rate sensor, a blood pressure sensor, and a temperature sensor (paragraph 192: The sensor data may include information regarding the physical or mental state of the vehicle operator using sensors… the sensor data may include data from.. physiological sensors (e.g., thermometer, microphone, thermal image capture device, electroencephalograph, galvanic skin response sensor, heart rate sensors, respiratory rate sensor, other biometric sensors, etc.).
Claims 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Holla (US PGPub 20080021834).
As per claim 76, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, Holla teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the health information further comprises a detail providing access to a medical record of the occupant, wherein the detail providing access to the medical record of the occupant comprises a web link to the medical record (paragraphs 34: a hospital may post patient medical records on a website portal which may be accessed by registered physicians. Once a physician is paged or called for consultation, the physician may access the medical records over the World Wide Web (WWW) using a computer; paragraph 48: By way of the Ethernet/Internet 130 connection the message and data are sent to a message delivery server 130 where it is prepared for transmission to the physician's handheld device 150 via an available wireless network 140 linked to the mobile device. In a particular embodiment, the server 130 first sends an SMS message, via a cellular network SMS server 132, to the physician's handheld device 150 notifying the device that a data package is available for downloading. In response to the SMS message the handheld device 150 can send a download request back to the server 130 which then transmits the data via a server 131 (which may be optimized for communication to mobile devices, and hence sometimes referred to herein as a mobile web server), an e-mail server 133 or other wireless transmission facility; paragraph 60: An e-mail server 133 may be configured send e-mail messages to the physician's mobile device 150, directly or indirectly, as well as receive messages in e-mail format sent by the console 120, the SMS server 132 other locations, such as a referring physician's office; paragraph 83: the data server… may send an e-mail to the physician's mobile device 150, step 238. E-mail addresses of physicians may be available on the data server 131 or in the console 120, or may be manually included in the message by the user via data entry into the console 120. The data server 131 may be configured so that the e-mail transmitted to a mobile device 150 may carry the attached medical data or transmit the e-mail text without an attachment but with a hyperlink to a website from which the attachments may be retrieved).
Both Konrardy and Holla are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Holla, specifically, providing access to medical record of vehicle occupants via a weblink, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Kobayashi (US PGPub 20180272973).
As per claim 77, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the vehicle information comprises a vehicle identification number and a vehicle location, wherein the vehicle location comprises at least one of a current location and a pull over location (paragraph: The vehicle 1 is configured to acquire current location information (information about a current location of the vehicle 1) using a GPS satellite 5, and transmit the data regarding the current location information, vehicle identification information and others, via the established communication link to the emergency notification center 2).
Both Konrardy and Kobayashi are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Kobayashi, specifically, vehicle ID and location, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Zhao (US PGPub 20210097864).
As per claim 78, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, Zhao teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the emergency contact information comprises a contact name and a contact number (paragraph 44: transmitting accident information and emergency contact information to the traffic accident monitoring server…. the emergency contact information includes name and phone number of emergency contact).
Both Konrardy and Zhao are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Zhao, specifically, emergency contact name and number for vehicle occupants, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
Claims 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in further view of Maier (US PGPub 20170238129).
As per claim 70, although not taught by Konrardy or Suthar, Maier teaches the system of claim 66, wherein the protocol comprises a message header and a message content (paragraph 207: the plurality outbound signals include SIP messages with geo-location headers and/or message bodies with may include SDP messages).
Both Konrardy and Maier are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Maier, specifically, message header and message content, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing information in the necessary format so that it is compatible and usable across different users and service providers.
Claims 79-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Suthar (US PGPub 2021/0027334) in view of Maier (US PGPub 20170238129) in further view of Zumo (US PGPub 20100168527).
As per claim 79, Konrardy teaches system comprising:
a communication module (paragraph 9); and
a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (paragraph 9):
collect a vital data of an occupant in a vehicle seat of a vehicle using one or more of a band attached to the occupant, and one or more sensors associated with the vehicle seat (claim 23: monitoring, at one or more processors, physiological sensor data regarding a current state of a vehicle operator from one or more physiological sensors; paragraph 192: The sensor data may include information regarding the physical or mental state of the vehicle operator using sensors 120 disposed within the vehicle 108 or communicatively connected thereto (e.g., disposed within or communicatively connected to a mobile device 110, such as a smart phone, and/or a wearable computing device, such as a smart watch or smart glasses). This sensor data may include data from interior cameras, microphones, accelerometers, and/or physiological sensors (e.g., thermometer, microphone, thermal image capture device, electroencephalograph, galvanic skin response sensor, heart rate sensors, respiratory rate sensor, other biometric sensors, etc.));
detect an emergency associated with the occupant in a vehicle based on the collected vital data (Figure 5, paragraphs 207-209: upon receiving an indication of an accident… receive sensor data and communication data);
determine a severity of the emergency based on data captured from at least one of the one or more sensors and health and wellness data associated with the occupant (paragraph 185: accident related information may be automatically gathered and/or transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident and indicate the severity and/or type of accident and whether everyone involved is alright or if immediate assistance is needed; paragraph 192: received sensor data may include information regarding the vehicle, the vehicle’s environment and/or the vehicle operator; paragraphs 207-209: upon receiving an indication of an accident… receive sensor data and communication data);
encode a message, according to a protocol, wherein the message comprises comprising an emergency type, an occupant information, a health information, a vehicle information, and an emergency contact information of the occupant, wherein the emergency type comprises a health emergency and the severity related to the health emergency of the occupant (paragraph 128: server receives information regarding the vehicle (e.g., type, make, model, year of production); paragraphs 184-185: accident related information may be automatically gathered and/or transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident and indicate the severity and/or type of accident and whether everyone involved is alright or if immediate assistance is needed and/or the number of persons injured);
establish a secured connection between the system and a device (paragraph 185: Wireless communication with the driver or vehicle… Such accident related information may be automatically gathered by a smart vehicle and/or mobile device, and/or automatically transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident); and
transmit the message in real-time via the communication module to the device, wherein the device comprises a software application configured to receive the message (paragraph 67: Each server 140 may include one or more computer processors adapted and configured to execute various software applications and components of the autonomous vehicle insurance system 100, in addition to other software applications; paragraphs 184-185: real-time monitoring and feedback… may be used to send a tow truck, claim representative, ambulance, fire truck, and/or police vehicle to the scene of an accident….. accident related information may be.. automatically transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident).
As per (d), Konrardy does not explicitly teach a message that includes an emergency contact information of the occupant. However, Suthar teaches account profiles of each driver or each passenger that includes an emergency contact detail, and that an emergency message may be sent and identifying emergency contacts when a degree of severity of the emergency incident is high priority (paragraphs 40 and 45).
Both Konrardy and Suthar are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Suthar, specifically, the use of emergency contact information of occupants of a vehicle, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing additional information useful in facilitating an appropriate emergency response and would reduce the amount of information needed to be collected over the telephone, leading to a quicker response time for first responders, ambulances, police and the like (paragraph 185).
As per (g), Konrardy does not explicitly teach wherein the protocol comprises a message header and a message content. However, Maier teaches a message header and a message content (paragraph 207: the plurality outbound signals include SIP messages with geo-location headers and/or message bodies with may include SDP messages).
Both Konrardy and Maier are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Maier, specifically, message header and message content, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by providing information in the necessary format so that it is compatible and usable across different users and service providers.
As per (a), Konrardy does not teach a band attached to the vehicle seat. However, Zumo teaches a seat belt attachment wrapped around a seat belt (Figures 1-4, paragraph 71: In operation, one uses the seat belt in a normal manner but with the seat belt attachment 3 wrapped around and fastened around the seat belt, the user whether driver or passenger of the vehicle can, when desired record or transmit via sensors 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 autonomic physiologic data and distance vector locator respectively (FIG. 4 and 7)).
Both Konrardy and Zumo are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Zumo, specifically, using bands attached to a vehicle seat to collect vital data of vehicle occupants, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by increasing the amount of information and data gathered from vehicle occupants in assessing the proper medical and emergency response in case of accidents.
As per claim 80, Konrardy teaches the system of claim 79, wherein the system comprises a computer system of the vehicle comprising the processor; and the system is configured to be part of the vehicle (paragraph 33: A smart vehicle may maneuver itself without human intervention and/or include sensors, processors, computer instructions, and/or other components that may perform or direct certain actions conventionally performed by a human driver).
As per claim 81, Konrardy teaches the system of claim 79, wherein the band attached to the occupant is configured to sense the vital data associated with the occupant and transmit the vital data to the processor of the system; and wherein the band is a wearable (paragraph 192: the controller 204 may receive sensor data from the sensors 120…. The sensor data may include information regarding the physical or mental state of the vehicle operator using sensors 120….. communicatively connected to a mobile device 110, such as ….. a wearable computing device, such as a smart watch or smart glasses)).
As per claim 82, although not taught by Konrardy, Suthar or Maier, Zumo teaches the system of claim 79, wherein the band attached to the vehicle seat is configured to sense the vital data associated with the occupant and detect presence of the occupant in the vehicle seat; and wherein the band is a wearable (Figures 1-4, paragraph 71: In operation, one uses the seat belt in a normal manner but with the seat belt attachment 3 wrapped around and fastened around the seat belt, the user whether driver or passenger of the vehicle can, when desired record or transmit via sensors 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 autonomic physiologic data and distance vector locator respectively (FIG. 4 and 7)).
Both Konrardy and Zumo are directed towards collecting data of users and passengers of a vehicle using sensors to take action in case of an emergency; thus, they are considered to be analogous references as they are directed towards solving similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention to combine Konrardy with the teachings of Zumo, specifically, using bands attached to a vehicle seat to collect vital data of vehicle occupants and detect the presence of a vehicle occupant in a seat, because doing so would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by increasing the amount of information and data gathered from vehicle occupants in assessing the proper medical and emergency response in case of accidents.
Claims 83-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrardy (US PGPub 2021/0133871) in view of Ricci (US PGPub 20130145279).
As per claim 83, Konrardy teaches a system comprising:
a communication module (paragraph 9); and
a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (paragraph 9):
detect an emergency associated with an occupant in a vehicle based on one or more of an image captured by an image sensor, data captured by one or more sensors associated with the vehicle, and a press of an emergency button in the vehicle (Figure 5, paragraphs 207-209: upon receiving an indication of an accident… receive sensor data and communication data);
determine a severity of the emergency based on data captured from at least one of the one or more sensors associated with the vehicle and health and wellness data associated with the occupant (paragraph 185: accident related information may be automatically gathered and/or transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident and indicate the severity and/or type of accident and whether everyone involved is alright or if immediate assistance is needed; paragraph 192: received sensor data may include information regarding the vehicle, the vehicle’s environment and/or the vehicle operator; paragraphs 207-209: upon receiving an indication of an accident… receive sensor data and communication data);
encode a message according to a protocol, wherein the message comprises an emergency type, an occupant information, a health information of the occupant, a location of the vehicle, a vehicle information, wherein the emergency type comprises a health emergency and the severity related to the health emergency of the occupant, wherein the severity related to the health emergency is determined based on data captured from at least one of the one or more sensors associated with the vehicle and health and wellness data associated with the occupant (paragraph 128: server receives information regarding the vehicle (e.g., type, make, model, year of production); paragraphs 184-185: accident related information may be automatically gathered and/or transmitted to a remote server in the event of a vehicle accident and indicate the severity and/or type of accident and whether everyone involved is alright or if immediate assistance is needed and/or the number of persons injured; paragraph 43: From such remote monitoring, the present embodiments may remotely determine that a vehicle accident has occurred. As a result, emergency responders may be informed of the location of the vehicle accident; paragraph 96: When assistance is determined to be needed at block 432, the controller 204 or the server 140 may send a request for assistance at block 434. The request may include information regarding the vehicle 108, such as the vehicle's location,