DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-26, 28-29 and 31-32 are currently pending, claims 1-26, 28-29 and 31-32 are currently amended.
Response To Arguments
Applicant’s amendments of claims 1-26, 28-29 and 31-32 overcome the previous objections. The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 15, Applicant argues that SHEN does not disclose an internal battery inside the door assembly, applicant further argues that SHEN teaches away from having a lock battery internally to the door assembly.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner explains that SORICE was relied upon to address the limitation that the rechargeable battery is placed inside the hollow door and the door lock (please see non final rejection).
The examiner explained that SORICE did not disclose the door lock battery is charged via an external battery. The examiner relied on SHEN to address the missing limitation. SHEN discloses a door lock comprising a rechargeable battery placed on the inside face of the door and battery charging contacts placed on the other side of the door and electrically connected to the rechargeable battery to allow the user to use the external terminals to charge the rechargeable battery using an external electronic device battery. The examiner provided a rationale for modifying SORICE with the teachings of SHEN by adding the external charging contacts for charging the lock battery for the benefit of allowing the user to charge the rechargeable battery in the absence of residential power and when the battery has insufficient charge such that the user can is able to unlock the door lock.
The rejections of claims 1-26, 28-29 and 31-32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-15 and 25-26, 28-29 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SORICE et al. (US 2021/0207420 A1, hereinafter SORICE) in view of SHEN (US 9,779,567 B1, hereinafter SHEN).
Regarding claims 1 and 15 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE discloses a door, comprising:
a door assembly (See Figs.1-2 and Par.22, disclose a door system 10, including a door slab 14), including a rectangular inner door frame (See Figs.1-2 and Par.22, disclose rectangular door frame 12) including at least one hollow cavity positioned within an interior of the door, the at least one hollow cavity housing a plurality of at least partially internal components, the components including plural direct current (DC) electrical devices (See Fig.3 and Pars.13 and 26, disclose the inner door frame 20 and the exterior and interior door skins 23 and 24 of the door slab 14 surround an interior cavity [Fig.3 discloses the door without the skins covering the interior cavity], Par.27, discloses the door system includes number of DC electric components mounted to the door including a door latch 30 to provide access control function or entry camera audio/video or video doorbell), including:
at least one internal rechargeable battery (See Fig.3 and Par.43, disclose a rechargeable battery 50); and
at least one device selected from the group comprising:
an electronic access control (See Par.27, discloses the door system includes number of DC electric components mounted to the door including a door latch 30 to provide access control function); a door state sensor; an entry camera with video; an audio communication unit; an audio or video doorbell; a digital camera; a light; a motion detector or sensor; a proximity sensor; a door opener; a door closer; HVAC controls; alarm sensor or controls; and lighting;
wherein the at least one internal rechargeable battery is configured to power the at least one device (See Par.43, discloses the door system 10 is powered and operated by the electrical power of the battery 50 as a secondary back-up electrical power source for the powered door latch 30 and the electric devices 36.sub.1-36.sub.4).
However, SORICE does not disclose wherein the at least one internal rechargeable battery is configured to be recharged by at least one further rechargeable battery that is attached to the door at a recharging location.
SHEN discloses a door system comprising an electronic access control (See Figs. 2 and 5 and Col. 6, lines 44-46, disclose a door 66 with a door lock 10),
the door comprising an internal rechargeable battery (See Fig.5, and Col.9, lines 22-31, disclose a main battery module 42 as the power source to the latch system 20),
wherein the internal rechargeable battery is configured to be recharged by at least one further rechargeable battery that is attached to the door at a recharging location (See Fig.5 and Col.9, lines 50-55, disclose the external battery module 54 of the electronic device 50 charges the internal rechargeable battery 42 via connection interfaces 56+32 and charging module 44).
SORICE and SHEN are analogous art since they both deal with door access systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE with the teachings of SHEN by providing a charging circuit and interface to receive power from an external battery for the benefit of allowing the lock latch to operate to unlock the latch even when the internal battery state of charge falls below a minimum threshold even in the absence of external residential power.
Regarding claim 2, SORICE and SHEN disclose a door in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the components further include a charging circuit operably connected to the at least one internal rechargeable battery and the at least one further rechargeable battery (See SHEN, Fig.5, discloses a charging module 44 between internal battery 42 and external battery 54. Claim 1 is rejected over SORICE in view of SHEN by adding the internal battery interface and charging circuit).
Regarding claims 13 and 25 (claim 13 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE and SHEN disclose a door in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery at the recharging location via at least one physical connector in the door and at least one slot or interference fit mount on the at least one further rechargeable battery (See SHEN, Fig.2, discloses the battery in the door is charged via physical connection between external device 50 comprising slot 56 and door connector 32).
Regarding claims 14 and 26 (claim 14 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE and SHEN disclose a door in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery at the recharging location via a door assembly mounted recharge connector (See SHEN, Fig.2, Item#32, discloses a recharge connector in the door assembly), with at least one physical connector in the door configured within at least one slot or on an interference fit mount on or within the door assembly (See Fig.2, Item#32).
Regarding claims 28 and 31 (claim 28 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE and SHEN a door in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the interior of the door includes plural hollow cavities. (See SORICE, Figs.1-3 and Pars.13 and 26, disclose the door frame 20, the exterior and interior door skins 23 and 24 of door 14 surround a hollow cavity housing. The disclosed cavity is divided by different components into a plurality of cavities).
The examiner explains that if the applicant intended meaning is that a solid door has a plurality of separate cavities separated by parts of the solid door. The examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the single hollow cavity taking the entire inside of the door with a plurality of cavities for the benefit of providing a solid door with increased strength with cavities in which the different components are installed.
Regarding claims 29 and 32 (claim 29 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes, SORICE and SHEN disclose a method in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the door assembly further comprises:
an inner door frame (See SORICE, Fig.s1-3 and Par.24, disclose door 14 including a rectangular inner door frame 20);
a first facing or skin secured to or formed on a first side of the inner door frame (See Figs.1-3 and Par.24, disclose an interior door skin 24);
a second facing or skin secured to or formed on a second, opposite side of the inner door frame (See SORICE, Figs.1-3 and Par.24, disclose an exterior skin 23);
at least one hinge portion or point of attachment configured to affix to a corresponding hinge portion or point of attachment on or within a separate outer door frame (See SORICE, Fig.2 and Par.23, disclose a hinge 16.sub.1 which attaches the door to a door jamb 12.sub.1. Fig.2, discloses hinges 16.sub.1, 16.sub.2 and 16.sub.3);
wherein the inner door frame includes the at least one hollow cavity housing the plurality of at least partially internal components (See SORICE, Fig.3, and Pars. 13 and 26, disclose the inner door frame 20, exterior door skin 23 and interior door skin 24 surround an interior cavity. Par.27 discloses a plurality of components such as a battery 50 and electric powered door latch 30 are provided in the cavity).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SORICE in view of SHEN and in further view of LEARMONTH et al. (US 2021/0193979 A1, hereinafter LEARMONTH).
Regarding claim 3, SORICE and SHEN disclose a door in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, However, SOICE and SHEN do not disclose wherein the door slab includes at least one user interface or low battery notification module.
LEARMONTH discloses a door comprising a battery, wherein the door slab includes at least one user interface or low battery notification module (See Fig.3A and Par.54, disclose a door battery comprising a LED power indicator 256 which communicates to the user the amount of power remaining in the battery).
SORICE, SHEN and LEARMONTH are analogous art since they all deal with door assemblies with electronic devices powered by battery units.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE and SHEN with the teachings of LEARMONTH by adding a battery status indicator for the benefit of alerting the user to the battery status.
Claim(s) 4-12 and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SORICE in view of SHEN and in further view of HAVSKJOLD et al. (US 2022/0045398 A1, hereinafter HAVSKJOLD).
Regarding claims 4 and 16 (claim 4 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE and SHEN disclose a door in accordance with claim 1 as discussed above, However, SORICE and SHEN do not disclose wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery via a magnetically mounted location, with at least one magnet positioned in the door and at least one corresponding magnet mounted in the at least one further rechargeable battery.
HAVSKJOLD discloses a wireless charging system comprising an external wireless battery pack which charges a wireless charging receiving target, wherein the external wireless battery pack is configured to charge the wireless charge receiving target via a magnetically mounted location, with at least one magnet positioned in the wireless charge receiving device and at least one corresponding magnet mounted in the at external wireless battery pack (See Pars.11 and 65 and Figs.1A-1B, disclose an external wireless battery pack 100 comprising an alignment magnet 120 corresponding to a wireless charging target 200 comprising a corresponding magnet).
SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD are analogous art since they all deal with power sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE and SHEN with the teachings of HAVSKJOLD by adding coupling magnets in the charging device and the wireless charge receiving device for the benefit of improving the charging by improving the connection/alignment between the charging device and the wireless charge receiving device.
Regarding claims 5 and 17 (claim 5 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a door in accordance with claim 4 as discussed above, However, SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 4 do not disclose wherein plural magnets are provided within the door assembly proximate a wireless recharging module in the door assembly.
HAVSKJOLD further discloses plural magnets in the receiver proximate a wireless recharging module (See HAVSKJOLD, Fig.2, discloses a magnetic element 120 [Par.65, discloses a magnet array] surrounding a charging coil 150. The receiving device comprising corresponding receiving coil and magnets [Fig.13]. The rejection of claim 4 over SORICE and SHEN as modified by HAVSKJOLD discloses replacing the charging contact with the wireless charging and magnetic coupling elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 4 with the further teachings of HAVSKJOLD by replacing the contact charging with wireless charging and coupling magnets for the benefit of providing a sealed receiver system that can be charged from an external power source.
Regarding claims 6, 8, 18 and 20 (claims 6 and 8 are considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a door in accordance with claim 4 as discussed above, However, SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 4 do not disclose wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery via a physical connection.
SHEN further discloses at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery via a physical connection (See Fig.5, Item#56, discloses second contact-type connection interface in external device 50 connected to door internal battery 42 via first contact-type connection interface. SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a physical recharging connection with magnetic coupling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 4 with the further teachings of SHEN by adding a physical connection to allow the external battery to charge the internal battery at high efficiency.
Regarding claims 7 and 19 (claim 7 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a door in accordance with claim 6 as discussed above, However, SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD do not disclose wherein the physical connection comprises plural pogo pins or spring contacts.
However, the examiner explains that replacing one connector type with another is an obvious design choice and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD by replacing the disclosed USB interface with pogo pins for the benefit of providing a highly durable physical connection.
Regarding claim 9-10 and 21-22 (claims 9-10 are considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a door in accordance with claim 4, However, SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 4 do not disclose wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to wireless recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery via an inductive or resonance charge system.
HAVSKJOLD further discloses wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to wireless recharge the at least one internal rechargeable battery via an inductive or resonance charge system. (See HAVSKJOLD, Fig.2, an inductive charging coil 150 for inductively charging a charge receiving device. Par.116 discloses charging is done inductively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 4 with the further teachings of HAVSKJOLD by replacing the contact charging with wireless inductive charging for the benefit of providing a sealed receiver system that can be charged from an external power source.
Regarding claims 11 and 23 (claim 11 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a door in accordance with claim 10 as discussed above, However, SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 10 do not disclose wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to magnetically attach to the door slab to recharge the at least one internal battery.
HAVSKJOLD further discloses plural magnets in the receiver proximate a wireless recharging module, wherein the at least one further rechargeable battery is configured to magnetically attach to the door slab to recharge the at least one internal battery (See HAVSKJOLD, Fig.2, discloses a magnetic element 120 [Par.65, discloses a magnet array] surrounding a charging coil 150. The receiving device comprising corresponding receiving coil and magnets [Fig.13]. The rejection of claim 4 over SORICE and SHEN as modified by HAVSKJOLD discloses replacing the charging contact with the wireless charging and magnetic coupling elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD as applied to claim 10 with the further teachings of HAVSKJOLD by replacing the contact charging with wireless charging and coupling magnets for the benefit of providing a sealed receiver system that can be charged from an external power source.
Regarding claims 12 and 24 (claim 12 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SORICE, SHEN and HAVSKJOLD disclose a door in accordance with claim 11, wherein the at least one rechargeable battery is configured to fit in a pre-configured recess in the door slab corresponding to the shape of at least one other door or facing shape (See SORICE, Fig.3, discloses a recess in which battery 50 configured to fit).
References considered but not relied upon:
BANTER et al. (US 2014/0347163 A1): discloses a door comprising an electronic lock powered by an internal rechargeable battery, the internal rechargeable battery is recharged via an external battery via interconnection (See Fig.5 and Pars.67 and 83, disclose an external power source 300 comprising a conventional battery or an electronic device [Par.67] and interconnection means 305 such as a plug [Par.67]).
HUDSPETH (US 6,035,676): discloses a door comprising an electronic lock and a rechargeable battery inside a hollow cavity in the door, the battery is removable and rechargeable via an external plug (See Figs.2 and 5A, Col.4, line 51 to Col.5, line 9 and Col.6, lines 1-27).
ALITNER et al. (US 2021/0324672 A1): discloses a door comprising a pet door lock powered by an internal rechargeable battery and rechargeable via a charging port (See Par.74 and Figs.4, 6, 7C, 7E).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED H OMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859