DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed 11/7/22 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “air treatment components…” in claims 1 and 12, “a filtration component…” in claims 1 and 13, “a fan component…” in claims 1 and 13, “a power component…” in claims 1 and 12, “a nose plug component…” in claims 1 and 12, “a locking member…” in claims 4 and 14, “a germicidal irradiation component…” in claims 5 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “the filtration component” in line 1, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 3 recites “the air that is passed through the filtration component is moved to the nasal cavity through the nose plug component,” which appears to claim the nasal cavity.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 5, 7-8, 12-13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (2011/0126828).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1-4 Wu discloses an air purification apparatus for nasal application comprising (structure in fig. 3): a housing (11 and top portion that 15 fits into) to substantially enclose an interior space (Fig. 2); air treatment components (2 and 3) located within the interior space to at least partially purify air [0020] comprising: a filtration component 21 to remove impurities from the air [0020], and a fan component 3 to actively pass the air through the filtration component [0020]; a power component (172, 13, 131) located substantially within the interior space to provide electrical power to the air treatment components [0020]; and a nose plug component 152 operatively attached to the housing to be removably inserted into a nostril such to form an at least partial seal with a nasal cavity [0020].
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses that the power component further comprises: a battery 172 to reversibly store the electrical power; power delivery electronics to transmit the electrical power from the battery to the air treatment components (electronics must be provided to extend from the batteries 172 to 2 and 3 [0020]); and battery charging electronics 13 to receive external power from an external power source (13 receives power from the sun to charge batteries 172 [0020]), condition the external power to a charging power receivable by the battery (batteries 172 are charged by 13 [0020]), and store at least part of the charging power in the battery for use by the air treatment components as the electrical power ([0020] the power from 13 is stored in batteries 172 for use by 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses that the housing comprises: a top housing portion (top portion that 15 fits into, fig. 1), a bottom housing portion 11 removably attached (with enough force 11 is removable from the top portion, especially as they are fit together separately in fig. 1) to the top housing portion, and housing inlets 14 located on the bottom housing portion to permit the air to flow into the interior space [0020]; wherein the fan component 3 receives the air from the housing inlets to be passed through the filtration component (Fig. 2 [0020]); and wherein the air that is passed through the filtration component is moved to the nasal cavity through the nose plug component ([0020] Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses that the air treatment components further comprise: a germicidal irradiation component (ultraviolet lamp [0020]) to emit ultraviolet electromagnetic radiation that at least partially sterilizes pathogens from the air prior to entry into the nasal cavity (uv lamps are able to at least partially sterilize pathogens [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses that the filtration component comprises a high efficiency particulate absorbing (HEPA) filter [0020].
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses that the filtration component comprises activated carbon [0020].
Regarding claim 12, in fig. 1-4 Wu discloses an air purification apparatus for nasal application comprising (structure in fig. 3): a housing (11 and top portion that 15 fits into) to substantially enclose an interior space (Fig. 2); a nose plug component 152 operatively attached to the housing to be removably inserted into a nostril such to form an at least partial seal with a nasal cavity [0020], air treatment components (2 and 3) located within the interior space to at least partially purify air [0020] comprising: a germicidal irradiation component (ultraviolet lamp [0020]) to emit ultraviolet electromagnetic radiation that at least partially sterilizes pathogens from the air prior to entry into the nasal cavity (uv lamps are able to at least partially sterilize pathogens [0020]), and a power component (172, 13, 131) located substantially within the interior space to provide electrical power to the air treatment components [0020].
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses that the air treatment components further comprise: a filtration component 21 to remove impurities from the air [0020], and a fan component 3 to actively pass the air through the filtration component [0020].
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses that the power component further comprises: a battery 172 to reversibly store the electrical power; power delivery electronics to transmit the electrical power from the battery to the air treatment components (electronics must be provided to extend from the batteries 172 to 2 and 3 [0020]); and battery charging electronics 13 to receive external power from an external power source (13 receives power from the sun to charge batteries 172 [0020]), condition the external power to a charging power receivable by the battery (batteries 172 are charged by 13 [0020]), and store at least part of the charging power in the battery for use by the air treatment components as the electrical power ([0020] the power from 13 is stored in batteries 172 for use by 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses that the filtration component comprises a high efficiency particulate absorbing (HEPA) filter [0020] and a carbon [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Clover (“How to Change an AirTag’s Battery” April 20, 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Wu is silent regarding that the housing further comprises: a locking interface comprising: a locking interface top portion operatively attached to the top housing portion, a locking interface bottom portion operatively attached to the bottom housing portion, a locking member provided by the locking interface top portion to receive at least part of a locking lip of the locking interface bottom portion, and a locking gap provided by the locking interface bottom portion having sufficient width to receive the locking member; wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in a locked position by rotating the locking member passed through the locking gap in a first locking direction to receive the locking lip; and wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in an unlocked position by rotating the locking member in a second locking direction to release the locking lip. However, in fig. 1-3 Clover teaches a housing (top and bottom housing portions of the AirTag) that comprises: a locking interface comprising: a locking interface top portion (portion of cover that contacts AirTag) operatively attached to the top housing portion (cover of AirTag), a locking interface bottom portion (portion of AirTag that contacts the cover) operatively attached to the bottom housing portion (AirTag), a locking member (three tabs on the cover) provided by the locking interface top portion to receive at least part of a locking lip (structure that forms slots of AirTag) of the locking interface bottom portion, and a locking gap (slot of AirTag) provided by the locking interface bottom portion having sufficient width to receive the locking member (the three tabs align with the slots upon rotation); wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in a locked position by rotating the locking member passed through the locking gap in a first locking direction to receive the locking lip (by clockwise rotation); and wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in an unlocked position by rotating the locking member in a second locking direction to release the locking lip (by counterclockwise rotation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s connection between the top and bottom housing portions with a locking interface, as taught by Clover, for the purpose of the replacement of parts as needed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Tran (2021/0381023).
Regarding claim 6, Wu is silent regarding that the air treatment components further comprise: an aroma component comprising an aroma reservoir to reversibly hold an aromatic material having an aroma; and wherein the aroma is at least partially transferred from the aromatic material into the air. However, Tran teaches an aroma component comprising an aroma reservoir (filter 17 acts as the reservoir to hold the aroma material that has an aroma [0020][0040]) to reversibly hold an aromatic material [0040] having an aroma; and wherein the aroma is at least partially transferred from the aromatic material into the air [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s air treatment components with the addition of an aroma reservoir, as taught by Tran, for the purpose of providing aromatherapy to a user.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 1 above, in further view of 3Palmeri (WO 2021/247411).
Regarding claim 9, Wu is silent regarding a case to receive at least part of the housing; and wherein the housing is removably stored by the case. However, in fig. 4A-4B 3Palmeri discloses a case 400 to receive at least part of the housing (structure housed within 400); and wherein the housing is removably stored by the case (Fig. 4A-4B [0040-0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s apparatus with the addition of a case, as taught by 3Palmeri, for the purpose of providing sterilization and wireless charging ([0041] 3Palmeri).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Wu discloses that the case comprises electrical contacts (on 406 [0041] 3Palmeri) to interface with the power component ([0041] 3Palmeri); and wherein the power component further comprises a battery to reversibly store the electrical power received from the case for use by the air treatment components ([0041] Palmeri, 172 Wu).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Sokol et al. (2020/0139165).
Regarding claim 11, Wu is silent regarding a monitoring component comprising a sensor to detect a condition of the air included by an environmental space adjacent to the sensor; and wherein the condition is reportable via a communicably connected display device. However, in fig. 1A and 4A Sokol teaches a monitoring component 114 comprising a sensor to detect a condition of the air included by an environmental space adjacent to the sensor [0083][0124]; and wherein the condition is reportable via a communicably connected display device [0083][0088]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s apparatus with the addition of a monitoring component, as taught by Sokol, for the purpose of determining is pollutants are near a user ([0083] Sokol).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Clover (“How to Change an AirTag’s Battery” April 20, 2021).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses a top housing portion (top portion that 15 fits into, fig. 1), a bottom housing portion 11 removably attached (with enough force 11 is removable from the top portion, especially as they are fit together separately in fig. 1) to the top housing portion, and housing inlets 14 located on the bottom housing portion to permit the air to flow into the interior space [0020]; but is silent regarding that the housing further comprises: a locking interface comprising: a locking interface top portion operatively attached to the top housing portion, a locking interface bottom portion operatively attached to the bottom housing portion, a locking member provided by the locking interface top portion to receive at least part of a locking lip of the locking interface bottom portion, and a locking gap provided by the locking interface bottom portion having sufficient width to receive the locking member; wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in a locked position by rotating the locking member passed through the locking gap in a first locking direction to receive the locking lip; and wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in an unlocked position by rotating the locking member in a second locking direction to release the locking lip. However, in fig. 1-3 Clover teaches a housing (top and bottom housing portions of the AirTag) that comprises: a locking interface comprising: a locking interface top portion (portion of cover that contacts AirTag) operatively attached to the top housing portion (cover of AirTag), a locking interface bottom portion (portion of AirTag that contacts the cover) operatively attached to the bottom housing portion (AirTag), a locking member (three tabs on the cover) provided by the locking interface top portion to receive at least part of a locking lip (structure that forms slots of AirTag) of the locking interface bottom portion, and a locking gap (slot of AirTag) provided by the locking interface bottom portion having sufficient width to receive the locking member (the three tabs align with the slots upon rotation); wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in a locked position by rotating the locking member passed through the locking gap in a first locking direction to receive the locking lip (by clockwise rotation); and wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in an unlocked position by rotating the locking member in a second locking direction to release the locking lip (by counterclockwise rotation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s connection between the top and bottom housing portions with a locking interface, as taught by Clover, for the purpose of the replacement of parts as needed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Tran (2021/0381023).
Regarding claim 16, Wu is silent regarding that the air treatment components further comprise: an aroma component comprising: an aroma reservoir to reversibly hold an aromatic material having an aroma that is at least partially diffused into the air. However, Tran teaches an aroma reservoir (filter 17 acts as the reservoir to hold the aroma material that has an aroma [0020][0040]) to reversibly hold an aromatic material [0040] having an aroma that is at least partially diffused into the air [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s air treatment components with the addition of an aroma reservoir, as taught by Tran, for the purpose of providing aromatherapy to a user.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 12 above, in further view of 3Palmeri (WO 2021/247411).
Regarding claim 18, Wu is silent regarding a case to receive at least part of the housing; and wherein the housing is removably stored by the case. However, in fig. 4A-4B 3Palmeri discloses a case 400 to receive at least part of the housing (structure housed within 400); and wherein the housing is removably stored by the case (Fig. 4A-4B [0040-0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s apparatus with the addition of a case, as taught by 3Palmeri, for the purpose of providing sterilization and wireless charging ([0041] 3Palmeri).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Wu discloses that the case comprises electrical contacts (on 406 [0041] 3Palmeri) to interface with the power component ([0041] 3Palmeri); and wherein the power component further comprises a battery to reversibly store the electrical power received from the case for use by the air treatment components ([0041] Palmeri, 172 Wu).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Sokol et al. (2020/0139165).
Regarding claim 20, Wu is silent regarding a monitoring component comprising a sensor to detect a condition of the air included by an environmental space adjacent to the housing; and wherein the condition is reportable via a communicably connected display device. However, in fig. 1A and 4A Sokol teaches a monitoring component 114 comprising a sensor to detect a condition of the air included by an environmental space adjacent (near to) to the housing [0083][0124]; and wherein the condition is reportable via a communicably connected display device [0083][0088]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s apparatus with the addition of a monitoring component, as taught by Sokol, for the purpose of determining is pollutants are near a user ([0083] Sokol).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/994,293 in view of Wu et al. (2011/0126828). Copending claim 1 discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 1 except a nose plug component operatively attached to the housing to be removably inserted into a nostril such to form an at least partial seal with a nasal cavity. However, Wu teaches a nose plug component (151 and 152) operatively attached to the housing (portion of housing that 151 is attached to) to be removably (with enough force) inserted into a nostril such to form an at least partial seal with a nasal cavity (Fig. 3 Wu). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify copending claim 1 with the addition of a operatively attached to the housing to be removably inserted into a nostril such to form an at least partial seal with a nasal cavity, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing purified air to the nose of the user. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 2 is aligned with copending claim 2.
Claim 3 is aligned with copending claim 3.
Claim 4 is aligned with copending claim 4.
Claim 6 is aligned with copending claim 6.
Claim 7 is aligned with copending claim 7.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/994,293 in view of Wu et al. (2011/0126828), as applied to claim 1 above. The modified copending claim 1 discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 1 except a filtration component comprises activated carbon. However, Wu teaches the filtration component comprises activated carbon [0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified copending claim 1 with the addition of activated carbon [0020], as taught by Wu, for the purpose of providing purified air to the nose of the user. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 9 is aligned with copending claim 10.
Claim 10 is aligned with copending claim 10.
Claim 11 is aligned with copending claim 11.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 17/994,293. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 12 describes a case. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 13 is aligned with copending claim 13.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 17/994,293 in view of Clover (“How to Change an AirTag’s Battery” April 20, 2021), as applied to claim 12 above. Copending claim 14 discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 14 except a locking interface comprising: a locking interface top portion operatively attached to the top housing portion, a locking interface bottom portion operatively attached to the bottom housing portion, a locking member provided by the locking interface top portion to receive at least part of a locking lip of the locking interface bottom portion, and a locking gap provided by the locking interface bottom portion having sufficient width to receive the locking member; wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in a locked position by rotating the locking member passed through the locking gap in a first locking direction to receive the locking lip; and wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in an unlocked position by rotating the locking member in a second locking direction to release the locking lip. However, in fig. 1-3 Clover teaches a housing (top and bottom housing portions of the AirTag) that comprises: a locking interface comprising: a locking interface top portion (portion of cover that contacts AirTag) operatively attached to the top housing portion (cover of AirTag), a locking interface bottom portion (portion of AirTag that contacts the cover) operatively attached to the bottom housing portion (AirTag), a locking member (three tabs on the cover) provided by the locking interface top portion to receive at least part of a locking lip (structure that forms slots of AirTag) of the locking interface bottom portion, and a locking gap (slot of AirTag) provided by the locking interface bottom portion having sufficient width to receive the locking member (the three tabs align with the slots upon rotation); wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in a locked position by rotating the locking member passed through the locking gap in a first locking direction to receive the locking lip (by clockwise rotation); and wherein the locking interface is reversibly configured in an unlocked position by rotating the locking member in a second locking direction to release the locking lip (by counterclockwise rotation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify copending claim 14’s connection between the top and bottom housing portions with a locking interface, as taught by Clover, for the purpose of the replacement of parts as needed.
Claim 15 is aligned with copending claim 15.
Claim 16 is aligned with copending claim 16.
Claim 17 is aligned with copending claim 17.
Claim 18 is aligned with copending claim 18.
Claim 19 is aligned with copending claim 18.
Claim 20 is aligned with copending claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gray (20,987,527) directed towards a nasal air filtration device, Kenyon et al. (2022/0184335) directed towards a nasal respiratory therapy system, Taslagyan (2018/0064968) directed towards an air purifier, Al Wandy (2021/0001159) directed towards a smell eliminator and Jerasi (2020/0215281) directed towards a device for enhanced nostril breathing.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785