DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remark, see pages 7-8, filed 10/14/2025, with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection incorporates a new interpretation of the claims that rely on the same reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record, and is considered to teach the newly amended language specifically challenged in the argument. Note, newly presented amendment to independent claims 1 and 14 is not sufficient to overcome Pav in its current form. Please see revised rejection of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Note, the last few lines in claims 1 and 14 introduce new matter that is not supported by the originally filed disclosure. Applicant is encouraged to show support for the term “height [of the baffle and opening portions]” in the originally filed disclosure or cancel this language from the claim(s). Claim 2-13 and 15-21 depend from claims 1 and 14, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reasons. Appropriate action necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pav 10,146,271.
Regarding claim 1, Pav discloses a tray (700, Fig 7H), provided for an electronic device (100, Fig 1), comprising: a base (600, Fig 7H) having a bottom surface (bottom surface of 600-not labeled, Fig 7H), a first sidewall (sidewall running length of 600-not labeled, Fig 7H) and a second sidewall (sidewall running width of 600, Fig 7H), wherein the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the bottom surface are connected to together to define a space (space formed where 302 occupies, for example, Fig 7H), and a plurality of opening portions are formed on the second sidewall (opening portions along second sidewall near where 312 locates-not labeled, Fig 7H or near 606, Figs 7B, 7G); and a baffle (302, Fig 7H) disposed in the space and rotatably connected to the first sidewall (see Fig 7E), wherein the baffle is rotatable between a first position substantially parallel to the bottom surface (as in Fig 7H) and a second position substantially parallel to the second sidewall (as in Fig 7B or 7E; note further, the term ‘substantially’ is considered merely a term of degree and does not necessitate reasonable certainty—if so intended). wherein, in the second position, a height of the baffle is smaller than a height of the opening portions (see annotated Fig below).
Regarding claim 2, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a bottom plate (400/402, Fig 6B) affixed to the bottom surface of the base (col 7 lines 35-38), wherein a recess (formed between 604s, Fig 6B) is formed on the bottom surface, when the baffle rotates to a parallel position and is parallel to the bottom plate (Fig 6B), the baffle matches the recess (Fig 7H).
Regarding claim 3, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 2, wherein a fastener (410, Fig 7G) is formed on the bottom surface of the base (col 7 lines 35-38), when the baffle is parallel to the bottom plate (Fig 7H), the fastener is affixed with the baffle in the parallel position (Fig 6B).
Regarding claim 4, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 3, wherein the fastener has a guiding surface (exterior surface of 410, Fig 7G), and the guiding surface is inclined to the bottom surface of the base (at least side surface of 410 vertically inclined, Fig 7G).
Regarding claim 5, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a connecting rod (316, Fig 7F) slidably disposed at the baffle (rotationally slidable, col 10 lines 40-45), wherein a plurality of slots are formed on the first sidewall (at 604a for example, Fig 7H), and the connecting rod of the baffle is positioned in one of the slots selectively (see Fig 7H).
Regarding claim 6, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 5, wherein the connecting rod has a protruding portion (314, Fig 7F), the protruding portion is accommodated in one of the slots (see Figs 7F with respect to Fig 7H).
Regarding claim 7, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a first elastic element (col 10, line 34) disposed in the baffle and connected to the connecting rod (Fig 7D), wherein the connecting rod is pushed toward the first sidewall via the first elastic element (Fig 7F).
Regarding claim 9, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 6, further comprising: a latch disposed on the baffle (col 8 line 32); and a hook rotatably disposed on the baffle (col 8 line 19), wherein the hook connects the latch and the connecting rod (col 8 lines 18-33), and the connecting rod is positioning via the hook selectively (Fig 7F).
Regarding claim 14, Pav discloses an electronic device (100, Fig 1), comprising: a chassis (116, Fig 1); a plurality of fans disposed in the chassis (col 7 lines 43-44); and a tray (700, col 9 line 55), removably disposed in the chassis (col 9 lines 55-56), comprising: a base (600, Fig 7H) having a bottom surface (bottom surface of 600-not labeled, Fig 7H), a first sidewall (sidewall running length of 600-not labeled, Fig 7H) and a second sidewall (sidewall running width of 600, Fig 7H), wherein the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the bottom surface are connected to together to define a space (space formed where 302 occupies, for example, Fig 7H), and a plurality of opening portions are formed on the second sidewall (opening portions along second sidewall where near where 312 locates-not labeled, Fig 7H or near 606, Figs 7B, 7G); and a baffle (302, Fig 7H) disposed in the space and rotatably connected to the first sidewall (see Fig 7E), wherein the baffle is rotatable between a first position substantially parallel to the bottom surface (as in Fig 7H) and a second position substantially parallel to the second sidewall (as in Fig 7B or 7E; note further, the term ‘substantially’ is considered merely a term of degree and does not necessitate reasonable certainty—if so intended), wherein, in the second position, a height of the baffle is smaller than a height of the opening portions (see annotated Fig above).
Regarding claim 19, Pav discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 14, further comprising a connecting rod (316, Fig 7F) slidably disposed at the baffle (rotationally slidable, col 10 lines 40-45), wherein a plurality of slots are formed on the first sidewall of the tray (at 604a for example, Fig 7H), and the connecting rod of the baffle is positioned in one of the slots selectively (see Fig 7H).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pav 10,146,271 in view of Braucht 9,482,385.
Regarding claim 8, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 6, except wherein a sliding hole is formed in the baffle, a tab is formed on the connecting rod, and the tab is slidably disposed in the sliding hole.
Braucht however teaches a similar structure (Fig 1B) wherein a sliding hole (120, Fig 1B) is formed in the baffle (see Fig 1B), a tab (116, Fig 3) is formed on a connecting rod (118, Fig 3), and the tab is slidably disposed in the sliding hole (pull to slide tab to change position, Figs 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Pav to include a sliding hole formed in the baffle as claimed, and, as taught by Braucht, in order to allow an operator to change position of the baffle incrementally, to insert or remove equipment, or perform any other suitable maintenance that may not be possible or easy to accomplish when the baffle is in a fully retracted position, thereby improving versatility and functionality.
Regarding claim 11, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 1, except wherein a plurality of slots are formed on the first sidewall, and the baffle has a positioning arm, the positioning arm has a bump, and the bump is selectively accommodated in one of the slots.
Braucht however teaches a similar structure (Fig 1A) wherein a plurality of slots (120, Fig 1A) are formed on a first sidewall (106, Fig 1A), and a baffle (108, Fig 1A) has a positioning arm (118, Fig 1A), the positioning arm has a bump (116, Fig 1A), and the bump is selectively accommodated in one of the slots (see Figs 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Pav to include a plurality of slots formed on the first sidewall as claimed, and, as taught by Braucht, in order to allow an operator to change position of the baffle incrementally, to insert or remove equipment, or perform any other suitable maintenance that may not be possible or easy to accomplish when the baffle is in a fully retracted position, thereby improving versatility and functionality.
Regarding claim 21, Pav discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 14, except wherein a plurality of slots are formed on the first sidewall, and the baffle has a positioning arm, the positioning arm has a bump, and the bump is selectively accommodated in one of the slots. Braucht however teaches a similar structure (Fig 1A) wherein a plurality of slots (120, Fig 1A) are formed on a first sidewall (106, Fig 1A), and a baffle (108, Fig 1A) has a positioning arm (118, Fig 1A), the positioning arm has a bump (116, Fig 1A), and the bump is selectively accommodated in one of the slots (see Figs 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Pav to include a plurality of slots formed on the first sidewall as claimed, and, as taught by Braucht, in order to allow an operator to change position of the baffle incrementally, to insert or remove equipment, or perform any other suitable maintenance that may not be possible or easy to accomplish when the baffle is in a fully retracted position, thereby improving versatility and functionality.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pav 10,146,271 in view of Peng 7,539,021.
Regarding claim 12, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a portion (410, Fig 7G) affixed onto the bottom surface of the base (see Fig 7G), wherein when the baffle rotates to the parallel position where the baffle is parallel to the bottom plate (as in Fig 7G), the portion is abutted against the baffle (via portion 306, Fig 7G).
Pav discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the portion being an elastic sheet.
Peng however teaches a similar structure (Fig 2) that includes a portion (200, Fig 2) including an elastic sheet (140 including 150; and/or 110, 120, 130, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portion of Pav to include an elastic sheet, as taught by Peng, in order to retain the baffle in place on the bottom surface without screws/bolts, providing quick release
mechanism for easy securement or detachment to reduce unwanted movement, thereby improving functionality.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pav 10,146,271 in view of Zhu 10,168,747.
Regarding claim 13, Pav discloses the tray as claimed in claim 1, except wherein the baffle has an elastic arm engaged with a hole of the second sidewall. Zhu, however, teaches a similar structure (Fig 2) wherein a baffle (30, Fig 2) has an elastic arm (50, Fig 2) engaged with a hole (hole space behind 60, Fig 4) of a second sidewall (where 60 locates, Fig 2) (see col 4 lines 15-25; also, Figs 2, 6B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Pav to include an elastic arm engaged with a hole of second sidewall, as taught by Zhu, in order to provide a holding mechanism for the baffle in upright position, this would facilitate ease of access for underside of the baffle during repair or maintenance, thereby improving accessibility and functionality.
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pav 10,146,271 in view of Chen 7,443,663.
Regarding claim 15, Pav discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 14, except for the device further comprising an extension base, wherein a plurality of fastening structures are formed on the extension base, and the base has a plurality of grooves, and each fastening structure is fastened into a respective groove selectively.
Chen however teaches a similar device structure (Fig 1) further comprising an extension base (10, Fig 1), wherein a plurality of fastening structures (122, 132, Fig 5; col 2 line 37) are formed on the extension base (Figs 5, 8), and a base (20, 21, Fig 2) has a plurality of grooves (121, 131, col 2 lines 36-37) and each fastening structure is fastened into a respective groove selectively (see Figs 1-2 with respect to Fig 5-8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the structure of Pav to include an extension base, as taught by Chen, in order to accommodate additional storage devices such as hard disk drives and other components, such additional space to accommodate additional components would improve functionality and capacity.
Regarding claim 16, Pav in view of Chen disclose the electronic device as claimed in claim 15, Chen teaches wherein the fastening structures are fastened to the bottom surface and the first sidewall of the base (see Figs 8, 9_Chen).
Regarding claim 17, Pav in view of Chen disclose the electronic device as claimed in claim 15, Chen teaches the device further comprising a carrier (12 and/or including 15, Fig 1) disposed on the base and the extension base (Figs 1, 8, 9), wherein an electronic component is accommodated on the carrier (such as storage devices, Field of Invention).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if 112 rejection is overcome and rewritten in independent for including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 10. The tray as claimed in claim 9, wherein the latch comprises a second elastic element, the latch is pushed via the second elastic element to move in a direction, and the direction is perpendicular to the rotation axis which the baffle rotates along.
Claim 18. The electronic device as claimed in claim 17, wherein the bottom surface of the base has a fastener, when the baffle is parallel to the bottom surface, the fastener is affixed with the baffle in a parallel position, and the carrier is disposed on the baffle.
Claim 20. The electronic device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the connecting rod has a protruding portion which is accommodated in one of the slots selectively; a latch disposed on the baffle and slidable in a direction; and a hook rotatably disposed on the baffle and connecting the connecting rod and the latch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841