DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 03/20/2026. Presently, claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, and 20 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that the amended claims limitations are not met. However, in light of the amendments to the claims, new rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been presented, as discussed in detail below.
Applicant’s representative alleges the following:
In regards to REJECTIONS UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103, the cited portions of Dota 2 and Pokken do not describe such subject matter. (Page 10 of Remarks)
Regarding point (1), the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s representative argues that the examiner appears to take the position that the battle settlement information is provided after the battle, and not in response to trigger operation of selecting the second user account.
In response to the arguments above, the office action relies on a newly found prior art reference of Smite as evidenced by “CRAZIEST SMITE GAME OF ALL TIME! | Incon | Smite” (necessitated by applicant’s amendment) to teach features related to electronic clothing information. (See 103 rejection below).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, since they recite similar features to claim 1, they will be rejected with the newly found prior art as stated above. Furthermore, these claims and their associated dependent claims will also be rejected. Therefore, the rejection is maintained as present below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dota 2 as evidenced by "Dota 2 Post Game Summary" (hereinafter Dota) in view of Pokken as evidenced by "GOT WRECKED: Pokken Tournament - Online Ranked Matches" and "Pokkén Tournament - All Alternate Costumes (Mirror Battles)" (hereinafter Pokken and Pokken 2) in further view of Smite as evidenced by " CRAZIEST SMITE GAME OF ALL TIME! | Incon | Smite" (hereinafter Smite).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Dota discloses a battle settlement interface display method, performed by a computer device (inherent because Dota is played on a computer), the method comprising: displaying a battle settlement interface of a game battle (shown below; 0:13-0:15),
the battle settlement interface including battle settlement information of at least two user accounts participating in the game battle (there is battle settlement information of 10 users as shown below; 0:13-0:15),
the at least two user accounts comprising a first user account and a second user account (10 users shown on 0:13-0:15), a first model corresponding to the first user account being displayed in a model display region of the battle settlement interface (first model shown on the left side 0:38-0:40),
receiving a trigger operation of selecting the second user account (receiving a click; 1:24); and displaying a second model corresponding to the second user account in the model display region of the battle settlement interface in replacement of the first model corresponding to the first user account in response to receiving the trigger operation of selecting the second user account (when clicking on another user, their model will be displayed as shown below; 1:26-1:27)
For additional limitations of claim 8, Dota discloses a computer device (inherent because you NEED a computer to play the game), comprising one or more processors and memories (inherent to a computer), the one or more memories storing computer-readable instructions (inherent to a computer). For additional limitations of claim 15, Dota discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-readable instructions (inherent to using a computer to play games), the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing the computer-readable instructions (inherent to run the game in the computer), the computer-readable instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a computer device, causing the computer device to implement a battle settlement interface display method (inherent by the use of the computer), wherein the battle settlement information includes electronic clothing information of the second control character model (any of the control characters in Dota have clothing information on them because of the use of skins, players can inherently choose between their standard skin or any other premium types of skin).
Dota does not explicitly disclose wherein the first model comprises a first control character model and a first playing character model, the first control character model is a first virtual character controlled by the first user account in the game battle, the first playing character model is a second virtual character played by the first user account outside the game battle for controlling the first control character model in the game battle and the battle settlement information of the first control character model and the first playing character model is displayed in the model display region of the battle settlement interface; and wherein the second model comprises a second control character model and a second playing character model, the second control character model is a third virtual character controlled by the second user account in the game battle, and the second playing character model is a fourth virtual character played by the second user account outside the game battle for controlling the second control character model in the game battle and the battle settlement information of the second control character model and the second playing character model is displayed in the model display region of the battle settlement interface, wherein the battle settlement information includes electronic clothing information of the second playing character model and the second control character model and displaying the second model corresponding to the second user account in the model display region of the battle settlement interface includes displaying a skill for the second control character according to read electronic clothing information.
However, Pokken focuses on game with multiplayer capabilities where each player can have a playing character and a control character or characters inside the game battle, which relates to Dota because this is also a multiplayer game where the user represents a playing character with their icon and a control character inside the game battle. Pokken teaches wherein the first model comprises a first control character model and a first playing character model (first control character and first playing character shown; 6:55),
the first control character model is a first virtual character controlled by the first user account in the game battle (first control character being controlled by the first user account; 6:42 - 6:44), the first playing character model is a second virtual character played by the first user account outside the game battle for controlling the first control character model in the game battle (the first playing character model is outside the game battle represented by an icon on the bottom left side as shown below and it represents the user controlling the first control character; 6:44).
and the battle settlement information of the first control character model and the first playing character model is displayed in the model display region of the battle settlement interface (there is battle settlement information after the battle and displayed in the model display region of the battle results as the battle settlement interface; 6:55 – 7:00); and wherein the second model comprises a second control character model and a second playing character model (this is inherent Pokken because this is a multiplayer game and the other participating users also have their own battle results screen), the second control character model is a third virtual character controlled by the second user account in the game battle (second control character is the character the first control character is playing against as shown below; 6:40 to 6:44),
and the second playing character model is a fourth virtual character played by the second user account outside the game battle for controlling the second control character model in the game battle (the second playing character model is outside the game battle represented by an icon on the top right side as shown below and it represents another user controlling the second control character; 6:40 – 6:44)
and the battle settlement information of the second control character model and the second playing character model is displayed in the model display region of the battle settlement interface (this is inherent to Pokken because there is battle settlement information after the battle and is displayed in the model display region of the battle results as the battle settlement interface for each player), wherein the battle settlement information includes electronic clothing information of the second playing character model and the second control character model (shows both the control and playing characters with electronic clothing information in Pokken from 6:55-6:57, and we can see different electronic clothing for different control characters in Pokken 2 from 0:10-2:10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dota to implement the teachings of Pokken for the benefit of displaying both a control character and a playing character since Dota already displays the control character but only an icon of the playing character that represents the user. Pokken shows the control characters fighting each other while the playing characters are outside the game battle but still visible participants of the game.
Smite focuses on a similar type of moba game that also uses skins, just like Dota. Smite teaches displaying a skill for the second control character according to read electronic clothing information (control character using a dress as a skin for electronic clothing is shown using a skill; 58:24-58:31).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Dota discloses wherein the battle settlement interface further includes information display regions respectively corresponding to the at least two user accounts (information display regions for all 10 users as shown below; 0:13-0:15),
and the information display region corresponding to the second user account is used for displaying the battle settlement information of the second user account (information display regions for all 10 users; 0:13-0:15); and the receiving the trigger operation of selecting the second user account comprises: receiving the trigger operation on the information display region corresponding to the second user account (clicking on another user in the information display region; 1:36).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Dota discloses performing a distinguishable display on the information display region corresponding to the second user account in response to receiving the trigger operation (after clicking on the second user there is a distinguishable display; 1:25-1:27),
wherein the distinguishable display comprises at least one of highlighting the information display region, changing color of the information display region, displaying text in the information display region in bold, and displaying a check box in the information display region (shown below; 1:25-1:27).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, Dota discloses displaying chart battle settlement information of the second user account in response to receiving the trigger operation (when clicking on the graphs section you can see the charts; 2:18-2:19), wherein the chart battle settlement information comprises an economic trend chart, a scoring trend chart, a pie chart, or a radar chart generated according to data of a plurality of indicators of the second user account in the game battle (shown below; 2:41).
Dota displays these charts when receiving a trigger on the charts section, but not explicitly when receiving the trigger on the second user account. However, this is a design choice, which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art. The present invention is intended to display charts related to the performance throughout the game for the player or players, and be receiving a click on the charts section, the prior art fulfills this requirement.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dota because there are multiple ways for videogames to receive click triggers to perform an action. Therefore, whether the user clicks on a chart or a second user account, they will both lead to the same result.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Dota discloses wherein the battle settlement interface further includes information display regions respectively corresponding to the at least two user accounts (information display regions for 10 users as shown below; 0:13-0:15),
each information display region is used for displaying the battle settlement information of a corresponding user account (each information display region is shown in 0:13 to correspond to a specific user), and a display of the information display region in the battle settlement interface has an arrangement order (arrangement order from left to right as shown below; 1:46);
and the receiving a trigger operation of selecting the second user account comprises: receiving a switching operation on the model display region (a click; 1:19-1:20), wherein the switching operation is used for determining the second user account in combination with the arrangement order (second user account shown below after clicking; 1:20).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Dota discloses wherein before displaying the battle settlement interface of the game battle, the method further comprises: displaying a battle performance display interface of a master user account (the master user account will be the user logged in and controlling the display; 1:33),
wherein the master user account is a user account currently logged in on a client (inherent because the user controlling the display has to be logged in and is considered the master user), the battle performance display interface including performance information of the master user account in the game battle and a master model corresponding to the master user account (battle performance info and master model shown below; 1:33), and the master model is a third virtual character model corresponding to the master user account (The master model will be the model of the user that is logged in, for example if “Me” is logged in, he would be the master model; 1:33).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715