DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/21/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2022 and 02/18/2025 were filed on or after the filing date of this application on 11/08/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite “a gain medium configured to acquire a gain of seed laser light by using the pump light.” This language is indefinite, because it is unclear if the gain medium is being seeded by a seed laser or if the gain medium is generating light that applicant is referring to as “seed laser light” based on the intended use of the light generated in the gain medium.
Claims 2-10, 12-15, 19, and 20 are indefinite at least based on their dependence from either claim 1 or 11.
For the purpose of this Office Action, the Office will interpret “seed laser light” as “laser light to be used as seed light”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (US5936981), hereafter Wada, in view of Johnson (US20050270631), hereafter Johnson, in further view of Wada et al. (JPH08139398), hereafter Wada JP.
Regarding claim 1, Wada discloses a laser device (Title) comprising: a pump light source configured to provide pump light (Fig. 2 element 32); a gain medium configured to acquire a gain of seed laser light by using the pump light (Fig. 2 element 18); a first curved mirror and a second curved mirror (Fig. 2 elements 14 and 16), which are provided at both sides of the gain medium to reflect the seed laser light into the gain medium (Fig. 2 element 14 and 16); an output mirror configured to transmit a portion of the seed laser light reflected by the second curved mirror and reflect another portion of the seed laser light to the gain medium (Fig. 2 element 10); a first acoustic wave generator configured to provide a first photoacoustic wave (Fig. 2 element 26). Wada does not explicitly disclose the first acoustic wave generator is connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a first photoacoustic wave in the gain medium; and a second acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave in the gain medium. However, Johnson discloses that multiple acoustic wave generators to provide multiple photoacoustic waves in modulators (Fig. 26 elements 70). In order to provide greater control over amplitude and frequency modulation (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wada with a second acoustic wave generator configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave as disclosed by Johnson in order to provide greater control over amplitude and frequency modulation. Wada in view of Johnson do not explicitly disclose the first acoustic wave generator and the second acoustic wave generator applied to the gain medium. However, Wada JP discloses the acoustic wave generators may be applied to either a modulator or the gain medium (Compare Fig. 2 providing an acoustic wave generator 22 on a modulator 16 with Fig. 3 providing an acoustic wave generator 22 on a gain medium 14). An advantage is to provide modulation with fewer cavity elements (Compare Figs. 2 and 3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wada in view of Johnson with the first acoustic wave generator and the second acoustic wave generator applied to the gain medium as suggested by Wada JP in order to provide modulation with fewer cavity elements.
Regarding claim 2, Johnson further discloses the acoustic material comprises vertical electrodes connected to the first acoustic wave generator (Fig. 26 elements 70Ay and 70By).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson further discloses the vertical electrodes comprise: a first vertical electrode disposed on a lower portion of the acoustic material (Fig. 26 element 70By); and a second vertical electrode disposed on an upper portion of the acoustic material, which faces the first vertical electrode (Fig. 26 element 70Ay).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson further discloses the acoustic medium further comprises horizontal electrodes connected to the second acoustic wave generator and disposed in a direction crossing the first and second vertical electrodes (Fig. 26 elements 70Ax and 70Bx).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson further discloses the horizontal electrodes comprise: a first horizontal electrode disposed on one sidewall of the acoustic medium (Fig. 26 element 70Ax); and a second horizontal electrode disposed on another sidewall of the acoustic medium (Fig. 26 element 70Bx).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Scifres (US5930030), hereafter Scifres.
Regarding claim 6, Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP do not explicitly disclose the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the first pump light; a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the second pump light; and a fourth laser diode configured to generate fourth pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the third pump light. However, Scifres discloses the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the first pump light; a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the second pump light; and a fourth laser diode configured to generate fourth pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the third pump light (Fig. 14 element 140; col. 18 ll. 43-62). An advantage is to allow for pumping of the gain medium over a wide range of operating temperatures (col. 1 ll. 40-44). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP with the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the first pump light; a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the second pump light; and a fourth laser diode configured to generate fourth pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the third pump light as disclosed by Scifres in order to allow for pumping of the gain medium over a wide range of operating temperatures.
Regarding claim 7, Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Scifres do not explicitly disclose the first pump light has a wavelength of about 450 nm, the second pump light has a wavelength of about 465 nm, the third pump light has a wavelength of about 490 nm, and the fourth pump light has a wavelength of about 520 nm. However, Scifres discloses that the wavelength of each source may be optimized based on the gain medium selected for the desired use of the device (col. 4 ll. 37 to col. 5 ll. 3; col. 5 ll. 61 to col. 6 ll. 17). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Scifres with the first pump light has a wavelength of about 450 nm, the second pump light has a wavelength of about 465 nm, the third pump light has a wavelength of about 490 nm, and the fourth pump light has a wavelength of about 520 nm, since Scifres discloses the wavelength of each source may be optimized based on the gain medium selected for the desired use of the device since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner et al. (US6363090B1), hereafter Wintner.
Regarding claim 11, Wada discloses a laser device (Title) comprising: a pump light source configured to provide pump light (Fig. 2 element 32); a gain medium configured to acquire a gain of seed laser light by using the pump light (Fig. 2 element 18); a first curved mirror and a second curved mirror (Fig. 2 elements 14 and 16), which are provided at both sides of the gain medium to reflect the seed laser light into the gain medium (Fig. 2 element 14 and 16); an output mirror configured to transmit a portion of the seed laser light reflected by the second curved mirror and reflect another portion of the seed laser light to the gain medium (Fig. 2 element 10); a first acoustic wave generator configured to provide a first photoacoustic wave (Fig. 2 element 26). Wada does not explicitly disclose the first acoustic wave generator is connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a first photoacoustic wave in the gain medium; and a second acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave in the gain medium. However, Johnson discloses that multiple acoustic wave generators to provide multiple photoacoustic waves in modulators (Fig. 26 elements 70). In order to provide greater control over amplitude and frequency modulation (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wada with a second acoustic wave generator configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave as disclosed by Johnson in order to provide greater control over amplitude and frequency modulation. Wada in view of Johnson do not explicitly disclose the first acoustic wave generator and the second acoustic wave generator applied to the gain medium. However, Wada JP discloses the acoustic wave generators may be applied to either a modulator or the gain medium (Compare Fig. 2 providing an acoustic wave generator 22 on a modulator 16 with Fig. 3 providing an acoustic wave generator 22 on a gain medium 14). An advantage is to provide modulation with fewer cavity elements (Compare Figs. 2 and 3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wada in view of Johnson with the first acoustic wave generator and the second acoustic wave generator applied to the gain medium as suggested by Wada JP in order to provide modulation with fewer cavity elements. Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP do not explicitly disclose an optical apparatus comprising: a source laser device configured to input seed laser light; an amplifying device configured to receive the input seed laser light; and a seed laser device configured to provide seed laser light into the amplifying device so as to generate output laser light. However, Wintner discloses an optical apparatus comprising: a source laser device configured to input seed laser light (Title); an amplifying device configured to receive the input seed laser light (Fig. 4); and a seed laser device configured to provide seed laser light into the amplifying device so as to generate output laser light (Fig. 5 element 27-30). An advantage is to help generate ultra short pulses with high energies (col. 1 ll. 51-56). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP with an optical apparatus comprising: a source laser device configured to input seed laser light; an amplifying device configured to receive the input seed laser light; and a seed laser device configured to provide seed laser light into the amplifying device so as to generate output laser light as disclosed by Wintner in order to help generate ultra short pulses with high energies.
Regarding claim 12, Wintner further discloses a first resonant mirror (Fig. 4 element 23); a second resonant mirror that faces the first resonant mirror (Fig. 4 element 27); and a second gain medium between the first resonant mirror and the second resonant mirror (Fig. 4 element 25).
Regarding claim 13, Wintner further discloses a first dichroic mirror configured to transmit the input laser light and reflect the output laser light (Fig. 4 element 18); and a second dichroic mirror provided between the first resonant mirror and the second gain medium (Fig. 4 element 21).
Regarding claim 14, Wintner further discloses a first polarizing plate between the first dichroic mirror and the second dichroic mirror (Fig. 4 element 20); and a second polarizing plate between the first resonant mirror and the second dichroic mirror (col. 55 l. 34-36).
Regarding claim 15, Wintner further discloses a Faraday rotator (Fig. 4 element 19); and a modulator between the second polarizing plate and the first resonant mirror (Fig. 4 element 22). Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner do not explicitly disclose the faraday rotator between the first polarizing plate and the second dichroic mirror. However, the Office takes Official Notice that rearranging elements of an amplifier is well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner with the faraday rotator between the first polarizing plate and the second dichroic mirror as is known in the art, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner, as applied to claim 11, in further view of Scifres.
Regarding claim 19, Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner do not explicitly disclose the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the first pump light; a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the second pump light; and a fourth laser diode configured to generate fourth pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the third pump light. However, Scifres discloses the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the first pump light; a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the second pump light; and a fourth laser diode configured to generate fourth pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the third pump light (Fig. 14 element 140; col. 18 ll. 43-62). An advantage is to allow for pumping of the gain medium over a wide range of operating temperatures (col. 1 ll. 40-44). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner with the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the first pump light; a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the second pump light; and a fourth laser diode configured to generate fourth pump light having a wavelength greater than that of the third pump light as disclosed by Scifres in order to allow for pumping of the gain medium over a wide range of operating temperatures.
Regarding claim 20, Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner in further view of Scifres do not explicitly disclose the first pump light has a wavelength of about 450 nm, the second pump light has a wavelength of about 465 nm, the third pump light has a wavelength of about 490 nm, and the fourth pump light has a wavelength of about 520 nm. However, Scifres discloses that the wavelength of each source may be optimized based on the gain medium selected for the desired use of the device (col. 4 ll. 37 to col. 5 ll. 3; col. 5 ll. 61 to col. 6 ll. 17). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wada in view of Johnson in further view of Wada JP in further view of Wintner in further view of Scifres with the first pump light has a wavelength of about 450 nm, the second pump light has a wavelength of about 465 nm, the third pump light has a wavelength of about 490 nm, and the fourth pump light has a wavelength of about 520 nm, since Scifres discloses the wavelength of each source may be optimized based on the gain medium selected for the desired use of the device since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11695249 in view of US20050270631 in further view of JPH08139398 and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12003073 in view of US20050270631 in further view of JPH08139398.
This Application
U.S. Patent No. 11695249
U.S. Patent No. 12003073
1. A laser device comprising:
a pump light source configured to provide pump light;
a gain medium configured to acquire a gain of seed laser light by using the pump light;
a first curved mirror and a second curved mirror, which are provided at both sides of the gain medium to reflect the seed laser light into the gain medium;
an output mirror configured to transmit a portion of the seed laser light reflected by the second curved mirror and reflect another portion of the seed laser light to the gain medium;
a first acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a first photoacoustic wave in the gain medium; and
a second acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave in the gain medium.
1. A femtosecond pulse laser apparatus comprising:
a pump light source configured to provide a pump light;
a gain medium configured to obtain a gain of a laser light using the pump light;
a first curved mirror and a second curved mirror, which are provided at both sides of the gain medium to reflect the laser light into the gain medium;
an output mirror configured to transmit a portion of the laser light reflected by the second curved mirror and reflect the other portion of the laser light to the gain medium;
a mode locking portion configured to generate a femtosecond pulse using a locking mode of the laser light reflected by the first curved mirror; and
an acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide an acoustic wave into the gain medium so as to adjust a self-phase modulation of the laser light;
wherein the pump light source comprises: a first laser diode configured to generate first pump light; a second laser diode configured to generate second pump light having a wavelength shorter than that of the first pump light; and a third laser diode configured to generate third pump light having a wavelength shorter than that of the second pump light.
1. A femtosecond pulse laser apparatus comprising:
a pump light source configured to provide a pump light;
a gain medium configured to obtain a gain of a laser light using the pump light;
a first curved mirror and a second curved mirror, which are provided at both sides of the gain medium to reflect the laser light into the gain medium;
an output mirror configured to transmit a portion of the laser light reflected by the second curved mirror and reflect the other portion of the laser light to the gain medium;
a mode locking portion configured to generate a femtosecond pulse using a locking mode of the laser light reflected by the first curved mirror;
an acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide an acoustic wave into the gain medium so as to adjust a self-phase modulation of the laser light;
a wavefront sensor configured to detect a first wavefront of the laser light; an adaptive window provided between the pump light source and the first curved mirror and configured to partially adjust a second wavefront of the pump light; and a controller connected to the wavefront sensor and the adaptive window to distinguish the first wavefront of the laser light, the controller configured to adjust the second wavefront of the pump light in the adaptive window based on the first wavefront.
Accordingly, claim 1 of US11695249B2 and claim 1 of US12003073B2 contain all the limitations of claim 1 of this application except for “a second acoustic wave generator connected to the gain medium and configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave in the gain medium.” However, US20050270631 discloses that multiple acoustic wave generators to provide multiple photoacoustic waves in modulators (Fig. 26 elements 70). In order to provide greater control over amplitude and frequency modulation (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 1 of US11695249B2 or claim 1 of US12003073B2 with a second acoustic wave generator configured to provide a second photoacoustic wave as disclosed by US20050270631 in order to provide greater control over amplitude and frequency modulation. claim 1 of US11695249B2 or claim 1 of US12003073B2 as modified by US20050270631 do not explicitly disclose the second acoustic wave generator applied to the gain medium. However, JPH08139398 discloses the acoustic wave generators may be applied to either a modulator or the gain medium (Compare Fig. 2 providing an acoustic wave generator 22 on a modulator 16 with Fig. 3 providing an acoustic wave generator 22 on a gain medium 14). An advantage is to provide modulation with fewer cavity elements (Compare Figs. 2 and 3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify claim 1 of US11695249B2 or claim 1 of US12003073B2 as modified by US20050270631 with the second acoustic wave generator applied to the gain medium as suggested by JPH08139398 in order to provide modulation with fewer cavity elements.
Claims 2-15, 19, and 20 are rendered obvious by claims 2-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11695249 or claims 2-18 of US12003073B2. Any features which are not explicitly taught by the claims of US11165249 or US12003073 the Office takes Official Notice that those elements are merely well known conventional elements in the laser art which may be added or removed based on the intended use of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/Joshua King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 03/07/2026