Specification
The substitute specification filed 4/30/26 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: the statement as to a lack of new matter under 37 CFR 1.125(b) is missing – especially pertinent to added definition of “body fluid” in 0073.
Consequently, the amendment filed 4/30/26 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Additionally, the amended disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 18-19 and associated dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “measure an electrical response of perspiration … within a sampling window synchronized to the excitation signal” – it is unclear whether synchronization is to each pulse or pulse train, or if the sampling window overlaps with ON/OFF or both. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 2, “perspiration directly on skin of the user” – it is unclear if it’s perspiration on skin or directly received by electrode. Examiner suggests “configured to receive perspiration directly from skin of the user.”
Regarding claim 8, “one of: a wearable electronic device, integrated into a wearable electronic device, a handheld electronic device, and integrated into a handheld electronic device” is awkward with overlap of device integrated into another device. Examiner suggests clarifying the claim to “: a wearable electronic device, a handheld electronic device, or a component integrated into either”
Regarding claim 10, “embedded in or integrated with one or more of a wearable support, a body-worn article, a band, a strap, a garment, apparel, a sock, or a sleeve” – what is the difference between “apparel” and “garment” or other clothing items.
Regarding claim 18, it’s not clear whether 0 Hz means continuous DC, which would conflict with “pulse” language. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 19, “a temperature sensor for monitoring at least one of: core body temperature and skin temperature of the user and perform a temperature correction of the perspiration parameter” – it is not clear if it’s the system or sensor performing the correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Mirov”, US Publication 20170049352, in view of “Wang”, US Publication 20170325724.
Regarding claim 1, Mirov discloses a device comprising:
a sensor comprising at least one electrode [0051: wearable device 110… first, second, and third 130 electrical contacts];
a pulse-generation circuit arranged to provide an excitation signal to the at least one electrode, wherein the excitation signal comprises a low-frequency direct-current (LF-DC) pulse excitation signal [0028: applied voltage and/or current could be substantially constant (e.g., a DC voltage or current) during a specified period of time; 0029: capacitor could be charged… and subsequently discharged through the two electrical contacts];
a sensing circuit configured to measure an electrical response within a sampling window synchronized to the excitation signal [0081: detect a voltage across the capacitor 430 at one or more points in time as the capacitor discharges through the skin; 0024: impedance… could reduce over time due to accumulation of moisture (e.g., sweat or other fluids)];
wherein the device is configured to transmit the electrical property to a processor [0083: voltage sensor 447 could be operated by a microcontroller or other processor(s)].
However, Mirov does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing circuit is explicitly configured to measure an electrical response of perspiration of a user to determine at least a perspiration-dependent electrical property.
Wang discloses an analogous sensing circuit configured to measure an electrical response of perspiration of a user to determine at least a perspiration-dependent electrical property [0012: operable to detect the analyte in sweat in a local environment of the skin; 0158: measure transdermal alcohol concentration (TAC), because the person’s perspiration can contain traces of alcohol].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mirov with the teachings of Wang -- configuring the sensing circuit to explicitly measure the electrical response of perspiration to determine perspiration-dependent electrical properties, as taught by Wang, would enhance the base device of Mirov by providing more detailed and accurate physiological data [e.g., specific electrolyte levels or hydration metrics] rather than relying solely on a general skin impedance value.
Regarding claim 2, Mirov discloses wherein the at least one electrode is a skin-contacting electrode configured to receive perspiration directly on skin of the user [0024: accumulation of moisture (e.g., sweat or other fluids) from the skin beneath and/or proximate an electrical contact mounted to the skin].
Regarding claim 3, Mirov discloses wherein the perspiration-dependent electrical property is further calibrated with one or more of: a user-specific attribute and an electrode-specific attribute to obtain a calibrated perspiration-dependent electrical property; and wherein the device is configured for an initial calibration [0137: computer readable medium 870 could contain information related to such physiological parameter detection (e.g., sensor calibration information, physiological parameter baselines of a user)].
Regarding claim 4, Mirov discloses wherein the processor is disposed onboard the device and configured to compute a perspiration parameter from the calibrated perspiration-dependent electrical property, wherein the perspiration parameter comprises at least one of: a sodium concentration, a chloride concentration, a potassium concentration, osmolality, electrical conductivity, cumulative electrolyte loss, and a hydration index [0123: Controller 850 may be provided as a computing device that includes one or more processors 860; 0025: determine a physiological parameter, e.g., to determine a Galvanic skin response, a skin perfusion, a skin hydration level].
Regarding claim 5, Mirov discloses wherein the processor is disposed external to the device communicatively coupled to the device; wherein the processor is configured to compute a perspiration parameter [0117: transmit data via a communication interface 715 over one or more communication networks 720 to a remote server 730].
Regarding claim 6, Mirov discloses wherein the device transmits the calibrated perspiration-dependent electrical property to the processor and receives the perspiration parameter from the processor using one of: a wired link and a wireless link [0117: communication interface 715 includes a wireless transceiver for sending and receiving communications].
Regarding claim 7, Mirov discloses wherein the device further comprises an output interface configured to output the perspiration parameter [0135: controller module 882 can further include instructions for operating a user interface 820… displaying data collected].
Regarding claim 8, Mirov discloses wherein the device is one of: a wearable electronic device, integrated into a wearable electronic device, a handheld electronic device, and integrated into a handheld electronic device [0031: configured as other types of devices, e.g., handheld devices].
Regarding claim 9, Mirov discloses wherein the at least one electrode comprises a first electrode and a second electrode forming a pair of electrode, wherein the electrode-specific attribute comprises an area of the pair of electrode and a distance between the pair of electrode; and wherein the user-specific attribute comprises one or more of: age of the user and weight of the user [0037: related to the composition and/or configuration of the electrical contact(s)… similar size and geometry; 0118: information regarding a wearer’s overall medical history].
Regarding claim 10, Mirov discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one electrode is integrated with one or more of a wearable support, a body-worn article, a band, a strap… configured to maintain skin contact during use [0051: housing 120 mounted to the wrist of the first arm 105a by a mount 140 (e.g., a strap or band)].
However, Mirov does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electrode comprises a carbon-printed electrode disposed on a first side of a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate having, on a second side opposite the first side, an adhesive layer… and wherein the at least one electrode is configured for reusability.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one electrode comprises a carbon-printed electrode disposed on a first side of a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate having, on a second side opposite the first side, an adhesive layer [0126: Prussian blue conductive carbon… inks were patterned on the substrate; 0147: fabricated on a flexible 25 um thick polyimide, polyester or polyterephthalate sheets using a screen printer… printing a sequence of Ag/AgCl ink and Prussian Blue conductive carbon ink… applied to medical grade pressure sensitive adhesive membrane 702]; and wherein the at least one electrode is configured for reusability [0148+: flexible PCB electronics board is attached to the wearable patch via magnetic attraction, allowing the electronics to be reused with the patch].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mirov with the teachings of Wang -- utilizing carbon-printed electrode on a flexible substrate with an adhesive layer, as taught by Wang, would enhance the base device of Mirov by improving the conformability and elasticity of the electrode against the user’s skin, thereby ensuring optimal electrical contact during physical movement. Furthermore, configuring the electrode for reusability via magnetic contacts reduces long-term consumable costs for the user.
Regarding claim 11, Mirov discloses wherein the at least one electrode is disposed on, embedded, extending through, positioned adjacent to, or supported by a rear surface of a watch body, the rear surface being configured for skin contact during use [0050: configured in the form of a wristwatch or other wrist-mounted device -- i.e., having a central housing… mounted to the wrist by e.g., a strap or band].
Regarding claim 12, Mirov discloses a system comprising:
a sensor comprising at least one electrode, wherein the at least one electrode is a skin-contacting electrode configured to receive perspiration directly on skin of a user [0024, 0051];
a pulse-generation circuit arranged to provide an excitation signal to the at least one electrode, wherein the excitation signal comprises a low-frequency direct-current (LF-DC) pulse excitation signal [0028+];
a sensing circuit configured to measure an electrical response within a sampling window synchronized to the excitation signal [0081+];
a processor configured to receive the electrical property and calibrate based on at least an electrode-specific attribute to obtain a calibrated property and compute a parameter [0123, 0137]; and
a display to present the parameter to the user, wherein the parameter comprises at least one of: a hydration index [0104: visual display 542c to provide an indication of a status of the device… or an indication of any other measured physiological parameters; 0025: skin hydration level].
However, Mirov does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing circuit is explicitly configured to measure an electrical response of perspiration of a user to determine at least a perspiration-dependent electrical property.
Wang discloses a sensing circuit configured to measure an electrical response of perspiration of a user to determine at least a perspiration-dependent electrical property [0012, 0158].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mirov with the teachings of Wang -- configuring the sensing circuit to explicitly measure the electrical response of perspiration to determine perspiration-dependent electrical properties, as taught by Wang, would enhance the base device of Mirov by providing more detailed and accurate physiological data (such as specific electrolyte levels or hydration metrics) rather than relying solely on a general skin impedance value.
Regarding claim 13, Mirov discloses wherein the sensing circuit comprises: at least a first resistor; a capacitor electrically connected in series with the first resistor; at least a second resistor electrically connected in parallel with the at least one electrode; and a first node which is a reading node, electrically connected to the second resistor connected to a second node which is in parallel to the capacitor and the first resistor, wherein the reading node is configured to read an output signal from the sensor [FIG. 4 showing resistor 445 (first resistor), capacitor 430 in series, the skin acting as a second resistor in parallel with the electrical contacts 410, 415, and voltage sensor 447 acting as the reading node connected to read the output signal; 0078: capacitor 430… connected in series with an electronic switch 435… resistor 445… voltage sensor 447].
Regarding claim 14, Mirov discloses wherein the at least one electrode is disposed on… a rear surface of a watch body [0050: configured in the form of a wristwatch].
Regarding claim 15, Mirov discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the at least one electrode is integrated with one or more of a wearable support, a body-worn article, a band, a strap… configured to maintain skin contact during use [0051].
However, Mirov does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electrode comprises a carbon-printed electrode disposed on a first side of a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate having, on a second side opposite the first side, an adhesive layer… and wherein the at least one electrode is configured for reusability.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one electrode comprises a carbon-printed electrode disposed on a first side of a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate having, on a second side opposite the first side, an adhesive layer [0126, 0147]; and wherein the at least one electrode is configured for reusability [0148].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mirov with the teachings of Wang -- utilizing carbon-printed electrode on a flexible substrate with an adhesive layer, as taught by Wang, would enhance the base device of Mirov by improving the conformability and elasticity of the electrode against the user’s skin, thereby ensuring optimal electrical contact during physical movement. Furthermore, configuring the electrode for reusability via magnetic contacts reduces long-term consumable costs for the user.
Regarding claim 16, Mirov discloses the user-specific and electrode-specific attributes (Mirov, paragraph [0137, 0037, 0118].
Regarding claim 17, Mirov discloses wherein the reading node is configured to be electrically connected to a transmitter [0136: Communication interface(s) 840 may also be operated by instructions within the controller module 882, such as instructions for sending and/or receiving information via a wireless antenna].
Regarding claim 18, Mirov discloses wherein the low-frequency direct-current (LF-DC) pulse excitation signal is in a frequency range from 0 to 200 Hertz [0065: pass-band between approximately 0.05 Hertz and approximately 150 Hertz; 0028: DC voltage or current].
Regarding claim 19, Mirov discloses wherein the system further comprises a temperature sensor for monitoring at least one of: core body temperature and skin temperature of the user and perform a temperature correction of the perspiration parameter [0067: wearable device could include… thermometers; 0087: voltage source 441 could be temperature stabilized].
Regarding claim 20, Mirov discloses a wearable comprising:
a sensor comprising at least one electrode, wherein the at least one electrode is in direct contact with a user [0051];
a pulse-generation circuit arranged to provide an excitation signal to the at least one electrode, wherein the excitation signal comprises a low-frequency direct-current (LF-DC) pulse excitation signal [0028+, FIG. 4];
a sensing circuit configured to measure an electrical response within a sampling window synchronized to the excitation signal [0081];
wherein the sensor is configured to transmit the electrical property to a processor [0083].
However, Mirov does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor is on a flexible substrate comprising at least one electrode on one side and adhesive on other side; wherein the sensor is configured for reusability; wherein the sensing circuit explicitly measures an electrical response of perspiration to determine a perspiration-dependent electrical property; and wherein the sensor is removably attached to the band using the adhesive disposed on the flexible substrate.
Wang discloses wherein the sensor is on a flexible substrate comprising at least one electrode on one side and adhesive on other side [0126, 0147]; wherein the sensor is configured for reusability and removably attached to the band using the adhesive disposed on the flexible substrate [0148: flexible PCB electronics board is attached to the wearable patch via magnetic attraction; and wherein the sensing circuit explicitly measures an electrical response of perspiration to determine a perspiration-dependent electrical property [0012, 0158].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mirov with the teachings of Wang -- utilizing carbon-printed electrode on a flexible substrate with an adhesive layer, as taught by Wang, would enhance the base device of Mirov by improving the conformability and elasticity of the electrode against the user’s skin, thereby ensuring optimal electrical contact during physical movement. Furthermore, configuring the electrode for reusability via magnetic contacts reduces long-term consumable costs for the user, while explicitly measuring perspiration provides more accurate physiological data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 4/30/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is based on Mirov in view of Wang as discussed above. Generally, Mirov’s example of an “oscillating voltage at a specified frequency” only shows that one embodiment is AC-like. Mirov [0028-29] suggests a DC pulse-type excitation [0028’s broader discussion of pulse width / repetition frequency / DC voltage or current along with 0029’s capacitor charge/discharge disclosure can be characterized as a pulse-like stimulus because the discharge causes a non-constant current/voltage transient through the contacts; note also that “pulse width” and “pulse repetition frequency” implicitly encompass pulsed DC]. Mirov also discloses transmission / communication of sensor data in general, including wearable-device data and wireless communication as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2017/075402 also discloses DC pulsed operation and low-frequency repetition.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791