DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I in the reply filed on 1/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 7-9, 13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The three information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 10/30/25, 7/11/25, 11/8/22, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
“first laser light” should read “first laser beam” claim 1 line 17
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Directions and optical axes within claims are interpreted to be in relation to the current orientation of the traveling beam (i.e. beam orientation change results in corresponding changes to directions and optical axes).
The following are interpreted as generic labels, not imparting any required order to elements:
“Third” and “fourth” power/non-power axis in claim 15 lines 2 + 6 (no preceding first/second power/non-power axes)
8th – 11th optical element in claim 16 lines 2 + 4 (no preceding 5th - 7th optical elements)
“thirteenth” optical element in claim 18 line 2 (no preceding 5th- 12th optical elements)
Fifth optical element introduced before third or fourth (claim 21 lines 8 + 10; claim 23 lines 8 + 10)
No correction required. Current labelling ideal for clarity and symmetry within claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 14, 16-17, 19-20, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Omori (US-20200244037-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Omori discloses a light source module (fig. 7a-c, 0068) comprising: a first semiconductor laser module (1st semi laser module left 10, 0056) including a first semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (first semi laser left 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”) and a first optical element on which a first laser beam emitted from the first semiconductor laser element is incident (fig. 7a first beam from left 12 incident on first optical element left 20, 0061); a second optical element on which the first laser beam having passed through the first optical element is incident (2nd optical element left FAC, 0042); a second semiconductor laser module (2nd semi laser module center 10) including a second semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (second semi laser center 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4)) and a third optical element on which a second laser beam emitted from the second semiconductor laser element is incident (fig. 7a second beam from center 12 incident on third optical element center 20); and a fourth optical element on which the second laser beam having passed through the third optical element is incident (4th optical element center FAC), wherein the first laser beam having passed through the second optical element and the second laser beam having passed through the fourth optical element are combined (left first beam through left FAC and center second beam through center FAC combined, 0069-0071), a traveling direction of the first laser beam along a first optical axis is defined as a first direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D1), the first optical axis being an optical axis from the first semiconductor laser element to the second optical element (annotated fig. 7a first optical axis from left 12 to left FAC), the first laser light has a second optical axis perpendicular to the first direction (annotated fig. 7a second optical axis F1 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D1), and a third optical axis perpendicular to the first direction and the second optical axis (annotated fig. 7a third optical axis S1 perp. to D1 and F1), the first optical element has power along the second optical axis greater than power along the third optical axis (annotated figs. 6 + 7a + 7c beam angle flipped in both F1 + S1 direction by left 20, F1 angle greater than S1 angle in fig. 2, therefore, F1 axis power greater than S1 axis power for left 20, 0044-0045), the first laser beam prior to reaching the first optical element has a first divergence angle thetafd1 and a second divergence angle thetasd1 (fig. 2 left beam prior to 20 has first divergence angle thetay0 and second thetax0, 0044), the first divergence angle thetafd1 being a divergence angle in a direction along the second optical axis (thetay0 along y-axis/F1 axis), the second divergence angle thetasd1 being a divergence angle in a direction along the third optical axis (thetax0 along x-axis/S1 axis), the first divergence angle thetafd1 and the second divergence angle thetasd1 satisfy 90>thetafd1>thetasd1> 0 (90 > thetay0 > thetax0 > 0, 0044), a third divergence angle thetafd12 decreases from the first divergence angle thetafd1 (annotated fig. 6 third divergence angle 3DIV in y direction after 20 decreases from first divergence angle 1DIV, third angle is negative of first angle), the third divergence angle thetafd12 being a divergence angle of the first laser beam exiting the first optical element in the direction along the second optical axis (annotated fig. 6 3DIV exits 20 along F1/y-axis, into/out of page in fig. 7a), the first laser beam is collimated in the direction along the second optical axis after the first laser beam exits the second optical element (first beam collimated along F1/y-axis after exiting FAC, 0047), a traveling direction of the second laser beam along a fourth optical axis is defined as a second direction (annotated fig. 7a second direction D2), the fourth optical axis being an optical axis from the second semiconductor laser element to the fourth optical element (annotated fig. 7a fourth optical axis from center 12 to center FAC), the second laser beam has a fifth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction (annotated fig. 7a fifth optical axis F2 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D2), and a sixth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction and the fifth optical axis (annotated fig. 7a sixth optical axis S2 perp. to D2 and F2), the third optical element has power along the fifth optical axis greater than power along the sixth optical axis (annotated figs. 6 + 7a + 7c beam angle flipped in both F2 + S2 direction by center 20, F2 angle greater than S2 angle in fig. 2, therefore, F2 axis power greater than S2 axis power for center 20, 0044-0045), the second laser beam prior to reaching the third optical element has a fourth divergence angle thetafd2 and a fifth divergence angle thetasd2 (fig. 2 center beam prior to 20 has fourth divergence angle thetay0 and fifth thetax0, 0044), the fourth divergence angle thetafd2 being a divergence angle in a direction along the fifth optical axis (thetay0 along y-axis/F2 axis), the fifth divergence angle thetasd2 being a divergence angle in a direction along the sixth optical axis (thetax0 along x-axis/S2 axis), the fourth divergence angle thetafd2 and the fifth divergence angle thetasd2 satisfy 90>thetafd2 >thetasd2 > 0 (90 > thetay0 > thetax0 > 0), a sixth divergence angle thetafd22 decreases from the fourth divergence angle thetafd2 annotated fig. 6 sixth divergence angle 6DIV in y direction after 20 decreases from fourth divergence angle 4DIV, sixth angle is negative of fourth angle), the sixth divergence angle thetafd22 being a divergence angle of the second laser beam exiting the third optical element in the direction along the fifth optical axis (annotated fig. 6 6DIV exits 20 along F2/y-axis, into/out of page in fig. 7a), and the second laser beam is collimated in the direction along the fifth optical axis after the second laser beam exits the fourth optical element (second beam collimated along F2/y-axis after exiting FAC, 0047).
Annotated fig. 7a
Annotated fig. 6
Regarding claim 2, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein with regard to the first laser beam and the second laser beam combined, the first direction coincides with the second direction, and the second optical axis coincides with the fifth optical axis.
After combining left and center beams such that they travel in the same direction (z-direction within 120 in fig. 7a), D1 will coincide with D2, F1 will coincide with F2 (0069-0071).
Regarding claim 3, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor laser module includes: a light-transmissive window through which the first laser beam passes to an outside of the first semiconductor laser module (fig. 4 window 14, 0056); a package including a plate-shaped bottom and a frame body in a center of which a first opening is provided (annotated fig. 4 package includes PSB + FB (minus 14) with first opening O in center); and a lid (annotated fig. 4 lid), the first semiconductor laser element is disposed in the first opening (12 disposed in O), the lid covers an upper portion of the first opening (lid covers all portions of O), and the first semiconductor laser element is hermetically sealed by the light-transmissive window, the package, and the lid (0056 “airtight”).
Annotated fig. 4
Regarding claim 4, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor laser module and the second semiconductor laser module are disposed next to each other in the direction along the third optical axis (annotated fig. 7a left 10 and center 10 next to each other in S1 direction).
Regarding claim 10, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first laser beam having passed through the first optical element converges in the direction along the second optical axis toward the second optical element, and the second laser beam having passed through the third optical element converges in the direction along the fifth optical axis toward the fourth optical element.
See annotated figs. 6 + 7a. First (left)/second (center) laser beam passes through first/third optical element 20 and converges in direction along second/fifth optical axis (y-axis) toward second /fourth optical element FAC within 3DIV/6DIV.
Regarding claim 14, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, further comprising: a fifth optical element on which the first laser beam having passed through the first optical element is incident (fig. 7a fifth optical element left SAC, 0042); and a sixth optical element on which the second laser beam having passed through the third optical element is incident (sixth optical element center SAC), wherein the first laser beam is collimated in the direction along the third optical axis after the first laser beam passes through the fifth optical element (fig. 3a + annotated 7a left beam collimated along S1 by left SAC, XZ plane), the second laser beam is collimated in the direction along the sixth optical axis after the second laser beam passes through the sixth optical element (center beam collimated along S2 by center SAC), and the first laser beam having passed through the fifth optical element and the second laser beam having passed through the sixth optical element are incident on an object (fig. 7a + 13, all beams optically coupled to optical fiber 220/”object” after passing through SACs, 0076).
Regarding claim 16, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first optical element includes at least an eighth optical element and a ninth optical element (fig. 7a left 20 includes left 24 (8th) and left 26 (9th) optical elements, 0061), and the third optical element includes at least a tenth optical element and an eleventh optical element (center 20 includes center 24 (10th) and center 26 (11th)).
Regarding claim 17, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first laser beam has a wavelength different from a wavelength of the second laser beam (fig. 13 lasers 12 within a single module 200 have different wavelengths, 0092).
Regarding claim 19, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor laser element is a nitride-based semiconductor laser element, and the second semiconductor laser element is a nitride-based semiconductor laser element.
Both lasers are nitride-based (0056).
Regarding claim 20, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor laser element emits laser beams, and the second semiconductor laser element emits laser beams.
Both lasers emit laser beams (0087).
Regarding claim 23, Omori discloses a light source module (fig. 7a-c, 0068) comprising: a first semiconductor laser module (1st semi laser module left 10, 0056) including a first semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (first semi laser left 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”); a first optical element included in the first semiconductor laser module or a second optical element provided outside the first semiconductor laser module (second optical element left FAC outside left 10, 0042), the first optical element or the second optical element being each an optical element on which a first laser beam emitted from the first semiconductor laser element is incident (left laser beam from left 12 incident on left FAC); a fifth optical element on which the first laser beam having passed through the first optical element or the second optical element is incident (fifth optical element left SAC receives beam that passed through left FAC); a reflecting mirror that reflects the first laser beam having passed through the fifth optical element (left mirror M reflects left beam from left SAC, 0073); a second semiconductor laser module (2nd semi laser module center 10, 0056) including a second semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (second semi laser center 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”); a third optical element included in the second semiconductor laser module or a fourth optical element provided outside the second semiconductor laser module (fourth optical element center FAC outside center 10, 0042), the third optical element or the fourth optical element being each an optical element on which a second laser beam emitted from the second semiconductor laser element is incident (center laser beam from center 12 incident on center FAC); a sixth optical element on which the second laser beam having passed through the third optical element or the fourth optical element is incident (sixth optical element center SAC receives beam that passed through center FAC); an other reflecting mirror that is different from the reflecting mirror and reflects the second laser beam having passed through the sixth optical element (center mirror M reflects center beam from center SAC, 0073); and a multistep base including steps (fig. 7 multistep base 140 includes steps w/ different heights, 0072), wherein a traveling direction of the first laser beam along a first optical axis is defined as a first direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D1), the first optical axis being an optical axis from the first semiconductor laser element to the fifth optical element (annotated fig. 7a first optical axis from left 12 to left SAC), the first laser beam has a second optical axis perpendicular to the first direction (annotated fig. 7a second optical axis F1 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D1), and a third optical axis perpendicular to the first direction and the second optical axis (annotated fig. 7a third optical axis S1 perp. to D1 and F1), the first optical element or the second optical element has power along the second optical axis greater than power along the third optical axis (fig. 3a/b left FAC non-zero power along F1/yz plane and zero power along S1/xz plane), the fifth optical element has power along the third optical axis greater than power along the second optical axis (fig. 3a/b left SAC non-zero power along S1/xz plane and zero power along F1/yz plane), a traveling direction of the second laser beam along a fourth optical axis is defined as a second direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D2), the fourth optical axis being an optical axis from the second semiconductor laser element to the sixth optical element (annotated fig. 7a fourth optical axis from center 12 to center SAC), the second laser beam has a fifth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction (annotated fig. 7a fifth optical axis F2 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D2), and a sixth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction and the fifth optical axis (annotated fig. 7a sixth optical axis S2 perp. to D2 and F2), the third optical element or the fourth optical element has power along the fifth optical axis greater than power along the sixth optical axis (fig. 3a/b center FAC non-zero power along F2/yz plane and zero power along S2/xz plane), the sixth optical element has power along the sixth optical axis greater than power along the fifth optical axis (fig. 3a/b center SAC non-zero power along S2/xz plane and zero power along F2/yz plane), the first laser beam reflected by the reflecting mirror and the second laser beam reflected by the other reflecting mirror are combined (left and center beams combined after reflection by respective M, 0069-0071), the first semiconductor laser module, the first optical element or the second optical element, the fifth optical element, and the reflecting mirror are provided on one step among the steps (fig. 7a left 10, FAC, SAC, and M provided on bottom step in fig. 7b/c), and the second semiconductor laser module, the third optical element or the fourth optical element, the sixth optical element, and the other reflecting mirror are provided on an other step different from the one step among the steps (fig. 7a center 10, FAC, SAC, and M provided on middle step in fig. 7b/c), and the first semiconductor laser module includes: a package including a frame body in a center of which a first opening is provided (annotated fig. 4 package includes FB (minus 14) with first opening O in center); and a lid (annotated fig. 4 lid), the lid covers an upper portion of the first opening (lid covers entire opening), and a direction in which the upper portion is viewed from the first opening is a direction parallel to the second optical axis (entire opening O can be viewed from any direction since no viewing location is specified/required by claim, let the viewing direction be one parallel to second optical axis F1, annotated fig. 4 viewing direction VD parallel to F1 and plane of O, entire O can be viewed in VD at circled viewing location VL).
Annotated fig. 4
Regarding claim 24, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 23, the first laser beam is collimated in a direction along the third optical axis and in a direction along the second optical axis after the first laser beam passes through the fifth optical element (figs. 3 + 7 left beam collimated in both directions after passing through FAC and SAC (5th optical element located after FAC), the second laser beam is collimated in a direction along the sixth optical axis and in a direction along the fifth optical axis after the second laser beam passes through the sixth optical element (figs. 3 + 7 center beam collimated in both directions after passing through FAC and SAC (6th optical element located after FAC)).
Regarding claim 25, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 23, comprising: a light-transmissive window through which the first laser beam passes to an outside of the first semiconductor laser module (fig. 4 window 14, 0056), wherein the first semiconductor laser element is disposed in the first opening (12 disposed in O).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Motobayashi (US-20210181614-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1.
Omori does not disclose wherein the first semiconductor laser module includes a cathode extraction electrode, the second semiconductor laser module includes an anode extraction electrode, and the cathode extraction electrode of the first semiconductor laser module and the anode extraction electrode of the second semiconductor laser module are electrically connected by a metal wire.
Motobayashi discloses a light-emitting device and projection display apparatus wherein a first semiconductor laser module includes a cathode extraction electrode, a second semiconductor laser module includes an anode extraction electrode, and the cathode extraction electrode of the first semiconductor laser module and the anode extraction electrode of the second semiconductor laser module are electrically connected by a metal wire.
Fig. 8 shows pair of extraction electrodes (anode + cathode) 12E for one laser module. Fig. 9 shows extraction electrodes for adjacent laser modules electrically connected via metal wires. 0030, 0042, 0073- 0075
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first semiconductor laser module include a cathode extraction electrode, the second semiconductor laser module include an anode extraction electrode, and the cathode extraction electrode of the first semiconductor laser module and the anode extraction electrode of the second semiconductor laser module are electrically connected by a metal wire to facilitate electrical coupling between laser modules while minimizing number of wires (Motobayashi 0073-0075).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Sasao (US-20020001323-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1.
Omori does not disclose wherein at least a portion of the first optical element and at least a portion of the third optical element are each fixed by a bonding material comprising an inorganic material.
Sasao discloses a semiconductor laser unit with optical elements fixed by an inorganic adhesive (fig. 3 lens 23 and fiber 22 fixed by inorganic adhesive 17, 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a portion of the first optical element and at least a portion of the third optical element each fixed by a bonding material comprising an inorganic material to suppress occurrence of organic gases and unwanted changes in optical components, improving performance (Sasao 0013, 0028).
Claim(s) 11, 15, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Ishige (US-20220294174-A1).
Regarding claim 11, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 10, wherein the third divergence angle thetafd12 of the first laser beam having passed through the first optical element satisfies thetafc1 = -thetafd12> 0 as a first convergence angle thetafc1 (annotated fig. 6 + 7a left beam 1CON = -3DIV), the sixth divergence angle thetafd22 of the second laser beam having passed through the third optical element satisfies thetafc2 = -thetafd22 > 0 as a second convergence angle thetafc2 (annotated fig. 6 + 7a center beam 2CON = -6DIV).
Omori does not disclose the first divergence angle thetafd1, the first convergence angle thetafc1, the fourth divergence angle thetafd2, and the second convergence angle thetafc2 satisfy thetafd1>thetafc1> 0 and thetafd2 >thetafc2 > 0.
Ishige discloses a light emitting apparatus with a beam with a divergence angle greater than a convergence angle (fig. 1 div angle greater than con angle with respect to beam and optical element 41A, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first divergence angle thetafd1, the first convergence angle thetafc1, the fourth divergence angle thetafd2, and the second convergence angle thetafc2 satisfy thetafd1>thetafc1> 0 and thetafd2 >thetafc2 > 0 to increase the number of possible positions for the subsequent FAC and SAC due to longer beam path + reduce heating of FAC and SAC + improve signal to noise ratio.
Regarding claim 15, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first optical element includes a lens that has a third power axis (annotated fig. 6 + 7a left 20 includes lens 24 with third power axis parallel to F1 optical axis), and includes a convex or concave cylindrical face along the third power axis (24 convex along F1 optical/third power axes), the third power axis is parallel to the second optical axis (third power parallel to F1), the third optical element includes a lens that has a fourth power axis (annotated fig. 6 + 7a center 20 includes lens 24 with fourth power axis parallel to F2 optical axis), and includes a convex cylindrical face or a concave cylindrical face along the fourth power axis (24 convex along F2 optical/fourth power axes), and the fourth power axis is parallel to the fifth optical axis (fourth power parallel to F2).
Omori does not disclose a third non- power axis perpendicular to the third power axis and a fourth non-power axis perpendicular to the fourth power axis.
Ishige discloses a light emitting apparatus with a first convex optical element that has a power axis and a non-power axis (fig. 1 shows 41A power axis, fig. 2 shows non-power axis, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a third non- power axis perpendicular to the third power axis and a fourth non-power axis perpendicular to the fourth power axis to simplify beam path and related calculations (compared to 2 power axes + 0 non-power axes).
Regarding claim 21, Omori discloses a light source module (fig. 7a-c, 0068) comprising: a first semiconductor laser module (1st semi laser module left 10, 0056) including a first semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (first semi laser left 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”); a first optical element included in the first semiconductor laser module or a second optical element provided outside the first semiconductor laser module (second optical element left FAC outside left 10, 0042), the first optical element or the second optical element being each an optical element on which a first laser beam emitted from the first semiconductor laser element is incident (left laser beam from left 12 incident on left FAC); a fifth optical element on which the first laser beam having passed through the first optical element or the second optical element is incident (fifth optical element left SAC receives beam that passed through left FAC); a reflecting mirror that reflects the first laser beam having passed through the fifth optical element (left mirror M reflects left beam from left SAC, 0073); a second semiconductor laser module (2nd semi laser module center 10, 0056) including a second semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (second semi laser center 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”); a third optical element included in the second semiconductor laser module or a fourth optical element provided outside the second semiconductor laser module (fourth optical element center FAC outside center 10, 0042), the third optical element or the fourth optical element being each an optical element on which a second laser beam emitted from the second semiconductor laser element is incident (center laser beam from center 12 incident on center FAC); a sixth optical element on which the second laser beam having passed through the third optical element or the fourth optical element is incident (sixth optical element center SAC receives beam that passed through center FAC); an other reflecting mirror that is different from the reflecting mirror and reflects the second laser beam having passed through the sixth optical element (center mirror M reflects center beam from center SAC, 0073); and a multistep base that includes steps that are stair-like and have different heights (fig. 7 multistep base 140 includes steps w/ different heights, 0072), wherein a traveling direction of the first laser beam along a first optical axis is defined as a first direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D1), the first optical axis being an optical axis from the first semiconductor laser element to the fifth optical element (annotated fig. 7a first optical axis from left 12 to left SAC), the first laser beam has a second optical axis perpendicular to the first direction (annotated fig. 7a second optical axis F1 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D1), and a third optical axis perpendicular to the first direction and the second optical axis (annotated fig. 7a third optical axis S1 perp. to D1 and F1), the first optical element or the second optical element has power along the second optical axis greater than power along the third optical axis (fig. 3a/b left FAC non-zero power along F1/yz plane and zero power along S1/xz plane), the fifth optical element has power along the third optical axis greater than power along the second optical axis (fig. 3a/b left SAC non-zero power along S1/xz plane and zero power along F1/yz plane), a traveling direction of the second laser beam along a fourth optical axis is defined as a second direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D2), the fourth optical axis being an optical axis from the second semiconductor laser element to the sixth optical element (annotated fig. 7a fourth optical axis from center 12 to center SAC), the second laser beam has a fifth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction (annotated fig. 7a fifth optical axis F2 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D2), and a sixth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction and the fifth optical axis (annotated fig. 7a sixth optical axis S2 perp. to D2 and F2), the third optical element or the fourth optical element has power along the fifth optical axis greater than power along the sixth optical axis (fig. 3a/b center FAC non-zero power along F2/yz plane and zero power along S2/xz plane), the sixth optical element has power along the sixth optical axis greater than power along the fifth optical axis (fig. 3a/b center SAC non-zero power along S2/xz plane and zero power along F2/yz plane), the first laser beam reflected by the reflecting mirror and the second laser beam reflected by the other reflecting mirror are combined (left and center beams combined after reflection by respective M, 0069-0071), the first semiconductor laser module, the first optical element or the second optical element, the fifth optical element, and the reflecting mirror are provided on one step among the steps (fig. 7a left 10, FAC, SAC, and M provided on bottom step in fig. 7b/c), and the second semiconductor laser module, the third optical element or the fourth optical element, the sixth optical element, and the other reflecting mirror are provided on an other step different from the one step among the steps (fig. 7a center 10, FAC, SAC, and M provided on middle step in fig. 7b/c).
Omori does not disclose a separate base underneath the multistep base.
Ishige discloses a similar light emitting apparatus with a separate base supporting a multistep base (fig. 8 base 106 supports multistep base 101, 0081, 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a separate base underneath the multistep base to provide additional support to the device/prevent flexing.
Regarding claim 22, modified Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 21, wherein the first laser beam is collimated in a direction along the third optical axis and in a direction along the second optical axis after the first laser beam passes through the fifth optical element (figs. 3 + 7 left beam collimated in both directions after passing through FAC and SAC (5th optical element located after FAC), the second laser beam is collimated in a direction along the sixth optical axis and in a direction along the fifth optical axis after the second laser beam passes through the sixth optical element (figs. 3 + 7 center beam collimated in both directions after passing through FAC and SAC (6th optical element located after FAC)).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Horikawa (US-4986634-A).
Regarding claim 12, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 10, wherein the second optical element is a lens that has a first power axis and a first non-power axis perpendicular to the first power axis (annotated fig. 7a left FAC has first power axis parallel to F1 and first non-power parallel to S1 and perpendicular to first power), and includes a cylindrical face along the first power axis, the first power axis is parallel to the second optical axis (fig. 3b FAC has cylindrical face, first power axis parallel to F1), the fourth optical element is a lens that has a second power axis and a second non-power axis perpendicular to the second power axis (annotated fig. 7a center FAC has second power axis parallel to F2 and second non-power parallel to S2 and perpendicular to second power), and includes a cylindrical face along the second power axis, and the second power axis is parallel to the fifth optical axis (fig. 3b FAC has cylindrical face, first power axis parallel to F2).
Omori does not disclose the second and fourth optical elements including a concave cylindrical face along the second power axis.
Horikawa discloses a beam-combining device that uses a concave cylindrical collimating lens (fig. 2 concave lens 4A, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second and fourth optical elements include a concave cylindrical face along the second power axis instead of convex to obtain benefits of both concave lens (FAC) and the existing convex lens (SAC), rather than one type or the other (concave or convex).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Miura (US-20200083664-A1).
Regarding claim 18, Omori discloses the light source module according to claim 1.
Omori does not disclose further comprising: a thirteenth optical element between the first semiconductor laser element and the first optical element, wherein the thirteenth optical element is an upward-reflecting mirror.
Miura discloses a light emitting device with an upward reflecting mirror between a laser and a collimating lens (figs. 1 + 2 mirror 60 between laser 30 and collimating lenses 82, 0038-0039, 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange components + include a thirteenth optical element between the first semiconductor laser element and the first optical element, wherein the thirteenth optical element is an upward-reflecting mirror to allow for increased beam path length without increasing device footprint (Miura 0004).
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Dejima (US-20230031544-A1).
Regarding claim 26, Omori discloses a light source module comprising: a first semiconductor laser module (1st semi laser module left 10, 0056) including a first semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (first semi laser left 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”); an optical element for first laser beam on which a first laser beam emitted from the first semiconductor laser element is incident (fig. 7a first beam from left 12 incident on optical element left FAC, 0042); a different optical element for first laser beam on which the first laser beam having passed through the optical element for first laser beam is incident (different optical element left SAC after left FAC, 0042); a second semiconductor laser module (2nd semi laser module center 10) including a second semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (second semi laser center 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4)); an optical element for second laser beam on which a second laser beam emitted from the second semiconductor laser element is incident (fig. 7a second beam from center 12 incident on optical element center FAC); a different optical element for second laser beam on which the second laser beam having passed through the optical element for second laser beam is incident (different optical element center SAC after center FAC); a multistep base to which a plurality of steps that are stair-like are provided (fig. 7 multistep base 140 includes steps w/ different heights, 0072); and a plurality of reflecting mirrors on each of which a corresponding one of the first laser beam having passed through the different optical element for first laser beam and the second laser beam having passed through the different optical element for second laser beam is incident (left mirror M w/ incident left first beam and center mirror M w/ incident center second beam, both beams pass through respective SAC element, 0073), wherein a traveling direction of the first laser beam along a first optical axis is defined as a first direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D1), the first optical axis being an optical axis from the first semiconductor laser element to the optical element for first laser beam (annotated fig. 7a first optical axis from left 12 to left FAC), the first laser beam has a second optical axis perpendicular to the first direction (annotated fig. 7a second optical axis F1 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D1), and a third optical axis perpendicular to the first direction and the second optical axis (annotated fig. 7a third optical axis S1 perp. to D1 and F1), the optical element for first laser beam has power along the second optical axis greater than power along the third optical axis fig. (3a/b left FAC non-zero power along F1/yz plane and zero power along S1/xz plane, 0042), a component of the first laser beam is collimated in a direction along the third optical axis, the first laser beam having passed through the different optical element for first laser beam (fig. 3a + annotated 7a left beam collimated along S1 by left SAC, XZ plane), wherein a traveling direction of the second laser beam along a fourth optical axis is defined as a second direction (annotated fig. 7a second direction D2), the fourth optical axis being an optical axis from the second semiconductor laser element to the optical element for second laser beam (annotated fig. 7a fourth optical axis from center 12 to center FAC), the second laser beam has a fifth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction (annotated fig. 7a fifth optical axis F2 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D2), and a sixth optical axis perpendicular to the second direction and the fifth optical axis (annotated fig. 7a sixth optical axis S2 perp. to D2 and F2), the optical element for second laser beam has power along the fifth optical axis greater than power along the sixth optical axis (3a/b center FAC non-zero power along F2/yz plane and zero power along S2/xz plane, 0042), a component of the second laser beam is collimated in a direction along the sixth optical axis, the second laser beam having passed through the different optical element for second laser beam (fig. 3a + annotated 7a center beam collimated along S2 by center SAC, XZ plane), the first direction is coincident with the second direction (D1 coincident w/ D2 after beams combine after mirrors M), the first semiconductor laser module and the second semiconductor laser module are disposed on each of the plurality of steps of the multistep base (fig. 7a left 10 provided on bottom step and center 10 provided on middle step in fig. 7b/c), each of the plurality of reflecting mirrors is disposed on a corresponding one of the plurality of steps of the multistep base (left M disposed on bottom step and center M on middle step), the first laser beam and the second laser beam incident on each of the plurality of reflecting mirrors are spatially combined by being deflected at 90 degrees (fig. 7a beams deflected by 90 degrees by M), the first semiconductor laser module includes: a light-transmissive window through which the first laser beam passes to an outside of the first semiconductor laser module (fig. 4 window 14, 0056); a package including a plate-shaped bottom and a frame body in a center of which a first opening is provided (annotated fig. 4 package includes PSB + FB (minus 14) with first opening O in center); and a lid (annotated fig. 4 lid), the first semiconductor laser element is disposed in the first opening (12 disposed in O), the lid covers an upper portion of the first opening (lid covers all portions of O), and the first semiconductor laser element is hermetically sealed by the light-transmissive window, the package, and the lid (0056 “airtight”).
Omori does not disclose the frame body includes a ceramic.
Dejima disclose a laser light source with a ceramic mount/frame (fig. 2a device includes ceramic mount 20, 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the frame body include a ceramic to improve electrical insulation + thermal conductivity.
Note “first optical element” is now FAC, not element 20, for claim 27
Regarding claim 27, Omori discloses a semiconductor laser module (fig. 7a semi laser module left 10, 0056) comprising: a first semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (first semi laser left 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”) and a first optical element on which a first laser beam emitted from the first semiconductor laser element is incident (fig. 7a first beam from left 12 incident on first optical element left FAC, 0042, 0061), wherein a traveling direction of the first laser beam along a first optical axis is defined as a first direction (annotated fig. 7a first direction D1), the first optical axis being an optical axis from the first semiconductor laser element to the first optical element (annotated fig. 7a first optical axis from left 12 to left FAC), the first laser beam has a second optical axis perpendicular to the first direction (annotated fig. 7a second optical axis F1 (into/out of page) perpendicular to D1), and a third optical axis perpendicular to the first direction and the second optical axis (annotated fig. 7a third optical axis S1 perp. to D1 and F1), the first optical element has power along the second optical axis greater than power along the third optical axis (fig. 3a/b left FAC non-zero power along F1/yz plane and zero power along S1/xz plane, 0042), the semiconductor laser module comprises: a package including a plate-shaped bottom and a frame body in a center of which a first opening is provided (annotated fig. 4 package includes PSB + FB (minus 14) with first opening O in center); and a lid (annotated fig. 4 lid), the first semiconductor laser element is disposed in the first opening (12 disposed in O), the lid covers an upper portion of the first opening (lid covers entire O), and the first semiconductor laser element is hermetically sealed by the package and the lid (0056 “airtight”).
Omori does not disclose the frame body includes a ceramic.
Dejima disclose a laser light source with a ceramic mount/frame (fig. 2a device includes ceramic mount 20, 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the frame body include a ceramic to improve electrical insulation + thermal conductivity.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Takaguchi (US-20220077649-A1).
Regarding claim 28, Omori discloses a semiconductor laser module comprising: a first semiconductor laser element hermetically sealed (first semi laser left 12 sealed in 10 (see fig. 4), 0056, “airtight”); a package including a plate-shaped bottom and a frame body in a center of which a first opening is provided (annotated fig. 4 package includes PSB + FB (minus 14) with first opening O in center); and a lid (annotated fig. 4 lid), the first semiconductor laser element is disposed in the first opening (12 disposed in O), the lid covers an upper portion of the first opening (annotated fig. 4 lid covers entire O), and the first semiconductor laser element is hermetically sealed by the package and the lid (0056 “airtight”).
Omori does not disclose the frame body includes an anode electrode and a cathode electrode that electrically connect an inside of the first opening and an outside of the semiconductor laser module, at least a portion of the frame body includes an insulator, the anode electrode, the cathode electrode, and the plate-shaped bottom are electrically insulated from each other, the frame body includes: an anode extraction electrode that connects the anode electrode and the outside of the semiconductor laser module; and a cathode extraction electrode that connects the cathode electrode and the outside of the semiconductor laser module, the anode extraction electrode and the cathode extraction electrode are disposed on a top surface of the frame body, the frame body includes a first frame portion and a second frame portion, a metal film and a different metal film are provided on a top surface of the first frame portion, the metal film being included the anode electrode and the anode extraction electrode, the different metal film being included in the cathode electrode and the cathode extraction electrode, and the second frame portion is attached to a side closer to the metal film of the first frame portion and a side closer to the different metal film of the first frame portion to dispose the anode electrode and the cathode electrode inside the second frame portion and the anode extraction electrode and the cathode extraction electrode outside the second frame portion, and wherein the frame body includes a ceramic.
Takiguchi discloses a semiconductor light emitting device with a frame body includes an anode electrode and a cathode electrode that electrically connect an inside of the first opening and an outside of the semiconductor laser module (fig. 8+9 frame body (all elements except 11) includes anode electrode 143M2 and cathode electrode 143M1 connecting laser element inside to outside (14E1 cathode extraction electrode + 14E2 anode ex. el.), 0083), at least a portion of the frame body includes an insulator (fig. 8 submount 12 includes insulator, 0068), the anode electrode, the cathode electrode, and a plate-shaped bottom are electrically insulated from each other (143M2 + 143M1 and insulator portion of 12 insulated from each other), the frame body includes: an anode extraction electrode that connects the anode electrode and the outside of the semiconductor laser module (fig. 8 14E2 connects 143M2 and outside, 0083); and a cathode extraction electrode that connects the cathode electrode and the outside of the semiconductor laser module (14E1 connects 143M1 and outside, 0083), the anode extraction electrode and the cathode extraction electrode are disposed on a top surface of the frame body (14E1 + 14E2 on top surface of frame body), the frame body includes a first frame portion and a second frame portion (first frame portion 141 and second frame portion 143), a metal film and a different metal film are provided on a top surface of the first frame portion (metal film 143M2 + 14E2 and different film 143M1 + 14E1 indirectly on top surface of 141), the metal film being included the anode electrode and the anode extraction electrode (143M2 + 14E2 included in anode electrode + anode extraction electrode), the different metal film being included in the cathode electrode and the cathode extraction electrode (143M1 + 14E1 included in cathode electrode + cathode extraction electrode), and the second frame portion is attached to a side closer to the metal film of the first frame portion and a side closer to the different metal film of the first frame portion to dispose the anode electrode and the cathode electrode inside the second frame portion and the anode extraction electrode and the cathode extraction electrode outside the second frame portion (fig. 9 143 attached to side of 141 closer to metal film and different metal film (top side of 141) to dispose 143M2 and 143M1 within 143 and 14E2 and 14E1 outside 143). Frame body includes ceramic (0073).
def. on - used as a function word to indicate position in contact with and supported by the top surface of (Merriam-Webster def. 1a)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Omori by Takaguchi in the manner required by claim 28 to couple the semiconductor laser element with the outside of the device (Takaguchi 0102) and decrease size of device (0069)/consolidate space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-9484710-B2 Yoshino: Semiconductor laser device with beam shaping elements and angled mirror redirecting beams to optical fiber
US-11296481-B2 Magness: Discloses divergence/convergence beam shaping device with fast and slow axis elements.
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828