DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1, 3-15 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-11, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the
rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the claims have been amended and the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically
challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0146521 A1), MATSUMOTO (JP2008200480A), and Amaral et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0177367A1).
Referring to Claim 1: Kim et al. teaches a robot vacuum (shown in Figs. 1-6) comprising: a main body (10 Figs. 1-4) including a suction part (leading lines shown in Fig. 3; Paragraph 0055) configured to suction dust; and a dust canister (100 Figs. 1 and 2), attachable to and detachable (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) from the main body (10 Figs. 1-4), to separate dust (Paragraph 0048) from air suctioned through the suction part and store the separated dust (“store the dust” Paragraph 0048), wherein the dust canister (100 Figs. 1 and 2) includes:
a first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) which is configured to separate dust from air introduced from the suction part (leading lines shown in Fig. 3) and store the separated dust (shown in Figs. 4 and 5), the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) including:
a first surface (FS Fig. 1-A inserted below) including an inlet (111 Figs. 4-6) through which the dust and the air suctioned through the suction part (leading lines shown in Fig. 3; Paragraph 0055) is introduced into the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5), and
a second surface (2S Fig. 1-A inserted below) opposite the inlet (111 Figs. 4-6)
and facing the first surface (FS Fig. 1-A inserted below), the second surface (2S Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the first surface (FS Fig. 1-A inserted below) being side surfaces (shown in Fig. 1-A) of the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5),
and including an inclined surface (IC Fig. 1-A inserted below) configured so that a lower area (LA Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) is narrower (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below) than an upper area (UA Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5),
and a second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) which includes a cyclone unit (130 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6), the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) being configured to separate dust from air introduced (“second chamber 120 may include a communication hole 121 connecting the first chamber 110” Paragraph 0061) from the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) and store the separated dust.
But is silent on a dust outlet in a lower surface of the first chamber to discharge dust stored in the first chamber;
wherein the first chamber further includes a rib formed along a portion of the second surface including the inclined surface, the rib configured to extend toward the first surface so that the inclined surface is open toward the lower area on either side of the rib, to facilitate discharge of dust along the lower area of the first chamber,
an upper side of the rib protrudes further toward the first surface than a lower side of the rib so that a distance between the rib and the first surface is substantially uniform between the upper side of the rib on the second surface and the lower side of the rib on the second surface,
the upper side of the rib and the lower side of the rib each terminate on the second surface, and the rib extends upward along the inclined surface from a lower end of the inclined surface.
MATSUMOTO in an analogous vacuum cleaner teaches wherein the first chamber (chamber of 19a Fig. 7) further includes a rib (30 Fig. 7) formed along a portion of the second surface (2S-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below) including the inclined surface (IC-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below), the rib (30 Fig. 7) configured to extend toward the first surface (FS-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below) so that the inclined surface (IC-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below) is open toward the lower area (shown in Fig. 3) on either side of the rib (30 Fig. 7),
an upper side (US Fig. 6-A inserted below) of the rib (30 Fig. 7) protrudes further toward the first surface (FS-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below) than a lower side (LS Fig. 6-A inserted below) of the rib so that a distance between the rib (30 Fig. 7) and the first surface is substantially uniform between the upper side (US Fig. 6-A inserted below) of the rib on the second surface (2S-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below) and the lower side (LS Fig. 6-A inserted below) of the rib on the second surface (2S-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below),
the upper side (US Fig. 6-A inserted below) of the rib and the lower side (LS Fig. 6-A inserted below) of the rib each terminate on the second surface (2S-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below), and the rib (30 Fig. 7) extends upward along the inclined surface (IC-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below) from a lower end of the inclined surface (IC-2 Fig. 6-A inserted below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust chamber of Kim et al. with the rib structure as taught by MATSUMOTO for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, to direct the air flow flowing into the dust chamber.
As a result of Kim et al. being modified with the fins of MATSUMOTO the fins facilitate the discharge of dust along the lower area of the first chamber.
Amaral et al. in an analogous robot vacuum (102 Figs. 1 and 2) teaches a dust outlet (dust outlet of 116 Figs. 3B and 5B) in a lower surface (lower surface of 116 which closes with 502) of the similar configuration first chamber (116 Figs. 3B and 5B) to discharge (shown in Figs. 5B and 7-A inserted below)dust stored in the similar configuration first chamber (116 Figs. 3B and 5B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust canister of Kim et al. as modified with the articulating cover as taught by Amaral et al. for the purpose of simplifying the cleaning/ removal of debris.
Referring to Claim 3: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 1, wherein the cyclone unit (130 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) includes a cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) configured to separate the dust from the air introduced from the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) using a centrifugal force of a vortex (“cyclone dust separator,” Paragraph 0006), and the cyclone separator includes: a cyclone inlet (CI Fig. 2-A inserted below) formed by a side surface (SS-B Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) to allow air to enter; a cyclone dust outlet (CDO Fig. 3-A inserted below) formed by a lower surface (LS-1 Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the cyclone separator to allow discharge of dust separated from air introduced through the cyclone inlet (CI Fig. 2-A inserted below): and a cyclone outlet (CO Fig. 3-A inserted below) formed by an upper surface (shown in Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the cyclone separator to allow discharge of the air introduced through the cyclone inlet (CI Fig. 2-A inserted below).
Referring to Claim 4: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 3 wherein: the cyclone unit (130 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) further includes a cyclone upper cover (UC Fig. 4-A inserted below) on an upper side (shown in Fig. 4-A inserted below) of the cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6): and the cyclone upper cover (UC Fig. 4-A inserted below) covers an upper portion (shown in Fig. 4-A inserted below) of an outer side of the cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) in the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6).
Referring to Claim 5: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 4. wherein: the dust canister further includes a cyclone holder (CH Fig. 5-A) coupleable to the cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) so that the cyclone separator is fixed inside (shown Fig. 5-A inserted below) the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6); and while the cyclone holder (CH Fig. 5-A inserted below) is coupled to the cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6), the cyclone holder (CH Fig. 5-A inserted below) forms a cyclone chamber (CC chamber which hold the separators Fig. 5-A inserted below) in the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6), together with the cyclone separator (131 and 132 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) and the cyclone upper cover (UC Fig. 4-A inserted above).
Referring to Claim 7: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 5, wherein the cyclone holder (CH Fig. 5-A inserted above) is positioned lower than the cyclone inlet (CI Fig. 2-A inserted above) and higher than the cyclone dust outlet (CDO Fig. 3-A inserted above).
Referring to Claim 9: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 5, wherein: the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) includes a dust chamber (122 Fig. 5) below the cyclone chamber (CC chamber which hold the separators Fig. 5-A inserted above) to store dust discharged through the cyclone dust outlet (CDO Fig. 3-A inserted above); and the dust chamber (122 Fig. 5) and the (CC chamber which hold the separators Fig. 5-A inserted above) are partitioned (partitioned via PC Fig. 5-A inserted above) to be separated from each other.
Referring to Claim 10: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 9, but is silent on wherein: the dust outlet is a first dust outlet; the second chamber further includes a second dust outlet in a lower surface of the dust chamber to discharge dust stored in the dust chamber; and the dust canister further includes an outlet cover to allow the first dust outlet and the second dust outlet to simultaneously open or close.
Amaral et al. in an analogous robot vacuum (102 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the dust outlet (dust outlet of 116 Figs. 3B and 5B) is a first dust outlet;
the similar configuration second chamber (SC-2 Fig. 7-A inserted below) further includes a second dust outlet (dust outlet of 128 Figs. 3B and 5B) in a lower surface (lower surface of 128 which closes with 502) of the similar configuration dust chamber (128 Figs. 3B and 5B) to discharge (shown in Figs. 5B and 7-A inserted below) dust stored in the dust chamber; and
the similar configuration dust canister (100 Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 5A, and 5B) further includes an outlet cover (502 Fig. 5B) to allow the first dust outlet and the second dust outlet (dust outlets of 116 and 128 Figs. 3B and 5B) to simultaneously (shown in Figs. 5B and 7-A inserted below) open or close.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust canister of Kim et al. as modified with the articulating cover as taught by Amaral et al. for the purpose of simplifying the cleaning/ removal of debris.
Referring to Claim 12: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 1, wherein: the dust canister (100 Figs. 1 and 2) further includes a grille portion (112 Figs. 2-5; “mesh; perforated plate ” [0060]) between the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) and the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6), the grille portion (112 Figs. 2-5; “mesh” [0060]) to filter dust (“separate relatively large dust” [0060]) from air introduced into the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5);
and the grille portion (112 Figs. 2-5) extends from one side surface of the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) to (“first filter 112 may be arranged to be inclined within a predetermined angle range with respect to the bottom surface” []0057) an upper surface of the first chamber.
Referring to Claim 14: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 1, wherein: the main body (10 Figs. 1-4) includes a pair of wheels (20 Fig. 3) to move the main body and configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (AR Fig. 8-A inserted below); and the dust canister (100 Figs. 1 and 2) is between the pair of wheels (20 Fig. 3) while mounted on the main body (10 Figs. 1-4).
Referring to Claim 15: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 14, wherein the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) and the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) are side by side (shown in Figs. 3 and 8-A inserted above) along a direction in which the axis of rotation (AR Fig. 8-A inserted above) extends.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0146521 A1), MATSUMOTO (JP2008200480A), and Amaral et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0177367A1), as applied above in claim 12, and in further view of Conrad (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0212104 A1).
Referring to Claim 13: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 12, but is silent on wherein the grille portion includes at least one bent portion to increase a surface area of the grille portion.
Conrad in an analogous cyclonic vacuum (10 Figs. 1-3) teaches a similar configuration grille portion (78 Fig. 3) includes at least one bent portion (“curved” [0067]) to increase a surface area (“to increase the surface area of the screen” [0067]) of the grille portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grille portion of Kim et al. as modified with the bent portion as taught by Conrad for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, maximizing the available space and efficiency of the dust catching material.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0146521 A1), MATSUMOTO (JP2008200480A), and Amaral et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0177367A1), as applied above in claim 4, and in further view of Nam et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,463,212 B2).
Referring to Claim 11: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 4, wherein: the dust canister further includes a filter (140 Fig. 6) to filter dust from air discharged through the cyclone outlet (CO Fig. 3-A inserted below) via the cyclone separator; but is silent on the filter is specifically disposed to face the cyclone upper cover.
Nam et al. in an analogous robot vacuum (100 Fig. 1) teaches the similar configuration filter (141F Fig. 21) is specifically disposed to face the similar configuration cyclone upper cover (141d Fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot vacuum of Kim et al. as modified with the upper cover facing filter as taught by Nam et al. for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, having and alternate filter configuration which catches the any dust/debris as they leave the cyclone.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0146521 A1), MATSUMOTO (JP2008200480A), and Amaral et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0177367A1).
Regarding claim 6: Kim et al. as modified teaches the robot vacuum of claim 5, wherein: the dust canister (100 Figs. 1 and 2) further includes a partition (PA Fig. 5-A inserted above) configured to partition the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5) and the second chamber (120 Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6) from each other and a protruding portion (PR Fig. 5-A inserted above) formed to protrude from the partition (PA Fig. 5-A inserted above) toward the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5).
But Kim et al., alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious on the protruding portion specifically including a plurality of cyclone holes to allow dust accumulated in the cyclone chamber to be discharged from the cyclone chamber to the first chamber.
Protruding portion (PR Fig. 5-A inserted above) specifically including a plurality of cyclone holes to allow dust accumulated in the cyclone chamber (CC chamber which hold the separators Fig. 5-A inserted above) to be discharged from the cyclone chamber (CC) to the first chamber (110 Figs. 2-5). There are no holes which reintroduce dust into the start chamber 110.
Such a reconstruction would be extensive and there is no motivation to do so. Thus, one would only arrive at the claimed invention by using improper hindsight reasoning knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant’s disclosure, and such a reconstruction would be improper.
Claim 8 would also be allowable because of its dependency to claim 6.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723