DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, and 6-11 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 6 and 8-11 are amended.
Claims 2-5 and 12-13 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 26, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that dependent claims 6-11 are allowable based upon their base claim and the additional features therein, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1. Therefore for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1 the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20160092818 A) in view of Jeon (US 20200126325 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a communication system used in a form of being mounted on a vehicle, comprising: a processor ([0031] Referring to FIG. 3, a vehicle display device (100) may include…a processor (180)) and a camera capturing images of surroundings of the vehicle and an inside of a vehicle cabin of the vehicle ([0026] Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a vehicle (500) may include…a camera (522a) for capturing an image of the front of the vehicle. [0027] In addition, the vehicle (500) may include a camera (522b) that captures images inside the vehicle.), wherein the processor: performs a first communication via a first communication network with an external image management server ([0032] The communication unit (110) may include one or more modules that enable wireless communication between the vehicle display device (100)… and an external server (410) (image management server). [0033] The communication unit (110) may include a relief information transmission/reception module (112) which can [0034] transmit relief information to an external server. [0038] Here, the network may be a communication network formed for communication between multiple vehicle display devices (100) or vehicles (500) and an external server (410). (first communication via a first communication network)); performs communication via a second communication network with a mobile communication terminal used by a user who is aboard the vehicle ([0070] Meanwhile, the processor (180) can control a communication unit (110) to form a short-range communication network with a plurality of mobile terminals (200a, 200b, 200c) located in the vehicle. Paragraph [0039] lists the different communication technologies for the short-range communication (communication via a second communication network)) and performs a second communication for performing communication between the mobile communication terminal and an external information providing server by relaying the first communication network and the second communication network (In this case, the vehicle display device (100) can operate as an AP (Access Point). Additionally, the vehicle display device (100) can serve as a gateway and router. At least one mobile terminal (200a, 200b, 200c) connected to a short-range communication network can be connected to an external communication network via a vehicle display device (100).)
Kim does not teach the first communication is to transmit image data captured by the camera to the image management server; determines whether or not a predetermined event occurs in an installation environment of the camera based on the image data captured by the camera; controls, based on a result of the determination of whether or not the predetermined event occurs, a first communication volume which is a communication volume by the first communication and a second communication volume which is a communication volume by the second communication; and sets a ratio of the first communication volume to the second communication volume to a larger value when it is determined that the predetermined event occurred than when it is determined that the predetermined event did not occur.
Jeon, in the same fiend of endeavor of wireless communications systems, teaches the first communication is to transmit image data captured by the camera to the image management server ([0325] The vehicle information may be information transmitted by the electronic control unit 800. That is, the vehicle information is information that is generated by at least one of a plurality of electric devices provided in the vehicle. Information which is received by the communication unit 912 from the electronic control unit 800 is defined as the vehicle information. [0326] For example, the vehicle information may include images captured by cameras (image data) mounted on the vehicle. [0333] Next, the processor 914 preferentially transmits the selected vehicle information to the server 930 (image management server). [0338] This is to preferentially transmit information related to an accident vehicle to the server 930 so that processing related to the accident can be performed quickly in the server 930.); determines whether or not a predetermined event occurs in an installation environment of the camera based on the image data captured by the camera ([0254] In connection with the preset conditions, the processor 830 may detect an occurrence of an event in an electric device provided in the vehicle 100 and/or application, and determine whether the detected event meets a preset condition. At this time, the processor 830 may detect the occurrence of the event from information received through the communication unit 810. For example, the occurrence of the event may be an occurrence of forward collision warning, an occurrence of a blind spot detection, an occurrence of lane departure warning. [0262] When an occurred event satisfies a preset condition, the processor 830 may select at least one electric device information corresponding to the satisfied condition from among a plurality of electric device information received through the communication unit 810. [0267] The processor 830, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, selects the front image when the event occurs, namely, when a forward collision accident has occurred. As illustrated in FIG. 4B, when a rear-end collision accident has occurred as the event, the processor 830 selects the rear image.); controls, based on a result of the determination of whether or not the predetermined event occurs, a first communication volume which is a communication volume by the first communication and a second communication volume which is a communication volume by the second communication ([0297] Referring to FIG. 7, the processor 830 may divide an available bandwidth of the communication unit 810 into a first bandwidth (first communication volume) and a second bandwidth (second communication volume) (S1310). [0298] Next, selected electric device information (image data from the camera) is transmitted using the first bandwidth, and the remaining electric device information other than the selected electric device information (communication from the mobile devices in the vehicle) may be transmitted using the second bandwidth (S1330). By controlling the bandwidth allocated for each data, it is possible to transmit data according to priorities. [0305] The processor 830 can improve efficiency of data transmission by variably adjusting the first and second bandwidths according to an event (based on a result of the determination of whether or not the predetermined event occurs) or electric device information to be transmitted.); and sets a ratio of the first communication volume to the second communication volume to a larger value when it is determined that the predetermined event occurred than when it is determined that the predetermined event did not occur ([0301] As the first and second bandwidths are divided, a first electric device (camera) may be allocated to the first bandwidth, and a second electric device different from the first electric device may be allocated to the second bandwidth (mobile device in the vehicle). In this case, the first electric device may perform communication using the first bandwidth, and the second electric device may perform communication using the second bandwidth. [0300] The first bandwidth may be set to be larger than the second bandwidth. [0305] The processor 830 can improve efficiency of data transmission by variably adjusting the first and second bandwidths according to an event or electric device information to be transmitted. In an event determined by the image data captured by the camera, the first bandwidth can be assigned to the image data captured by the camera and be allocated a larger bandwidth, while the data from the mobile devices in the vehicle can be allocated the second bandwidth and be allocated a lower volume).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Kim to include the electronic control unit and communication device of Jeon to control two sets of communication volumes when a predetermined event occurs. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an electronic control unit and a communication device capable of efficiently using limited frequency resources and to control the communication unit, in response to an event occurrence, such that the selected electric device information is preferentially transmitted to a server. (Jeon [0012-0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the communication system according to claim 1 but does not teach wherein occurrence of the predetermined event that is determined by the processor is occurrence of a predetermined abnormal state in the installation environment where the camera is installed.
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications systems, teaches wherein occurrence of the predetermined event that is determined by the processor is occurrence of a predetermined abnormal state in the installation environment where the camera is installed ([0254] In connection with the preset conditions, the processor 830 may detect an occurrence of an event in an electric device provided in the vehicle 100 (such as a camera) and/or application, and determine whether the detected event meets a preset condition. [0263] For example, the event may be an event that a collision of a reference value or more occurs in the vehicle 100, and the electric device information selected by the processor 830 may vary depending on a collision attribute defined by the collision. [0287] As illustrated in FIG. 6, when a predetermined event occurs, regardless of a received order, the processor 830 may decide the data transmission order as “GPS information, front camera information, rear camera information, side camera information and others”, based on the predetermined event.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Kim to include the electronic control unit and communication device of Jeon to control two sets of communication volumes when a predetermined event occurs. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an electronic control unit and a communication device capable of efficiently using limited frequency resources and to control the communication unit, in response to an event occurrence, such that the selected electric device information is preferentially transmitted to a server. (Jeon [0012-0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon teaches wherein the abnormal state includes existence of a disaster, an accident, an emergency vehicle, and/or a suspicious person in the installation environment ([0263] For example, the event may be an event that a collision of a reference value or more occurs in the vehicle 100, and the electric device information selected by the processor 830 may vary depending on a collision attribute defined by the collision. [0330] The event may correspond to that an accident has occurred in the predetermined area, an emergency vehicle satisfying a reference condition enters the predetermined area, or a vehicle located within the predetermined area changes to the emergency vehicle satisfying the reference condition.)
Regarding claim 8 Kim teaches the communication system according to claim 1 wherein the processor further determines whether or not the event occurs, based on behavior of the vehicle on which the communication system is used ([0058] The processor (180) can receive first sensing data through the interface unit (170). Here, the first sensing data may be vehicle accident-related sensing data sensed by the sensing unit (530) of the vehicle (500). Specifically, the first sensing data may be data sensed by at least one sensor among a collision sensor (531), a gyro sensor (532), a geomagnetic sensor (533), a speed sensor (534), an acceleration sensor (535), a tilt sensor (536), and a temperature sensor (537) included in a sensing unit (530) of a vehicle (500). [0060] The processor (180) can determine whether a vehicle accident has occurred based on the first and second sensing data. [0061] For example, the processor (180) may determine that a vehicle accident has occurred if, among the first sensing data received, an instantaneous change in at least one of vehicle collision information, vehicle gyro information, vehicle geomagnetic information, vehicle speed information, vehicle acceleration information, and vehicle tilt information is greater than a reference value.)
Regarding claim 9 Kim teaches the communication system according to claim 8 wherein occurrence of the predetermined event that is determined by the processor is occurrence of a predetermined abnormal state of the behavior of the vehicle [0065] Meanwhile, the processor (180) can determine that there is a vehicle fire (predetermined event that is determined by the processor) if the vehicle temperature is higher than the reference temperature (occurrence of a predetermined abnormal state of the behavior of the vehicle) from the vehicle temperature information among the first sensing data received.
Regarding claim 10 Kim teaches the communication system according to claim 9 wherein the abnormal state includes abrupt steering, sudden braking, and/or a collision of the vehicle ([0105] The speed sensor (534) detects the speed of the vehicle. For example, the speed sensor (534) can detect a sudden change in the speed (sudden braking) of the vehicle in the event of a vehicle accident (collision of the vehicle).)
Regarding claim 11 Kim teaches the communication system according to claim 1 wherein when it is determined by the processor that the predetermined event occurs, the processor informs the mobile communication terminal of at least one of occurrence of the predetermined event ([0068] If it is determined that there is a vehicle accident, the processor (180) can transmit rescue information to at least one mobile terminal (200a, 200b, 200c) through the communication unit (110).)
Kim does not teach and limitation to a communication volume of the second communication.
Jeon, in the same fiend of endeavor of wireless communications systems, teaches and limitation to a communication volume of the second communication ([0297] Referring to FIG. 7, the processor 830 may divide an available bandwidth of the communication unit 810 into a first bandwidth (first communication volume) and a second bandwidth (second communication volume) (S1310). [0298] Next, selected electric device information (image data from the camera) is transmitted using the first bandwidth, and the remaining electric device information other than the selected electric device information (communication from the mobile devices in the vehicle) may be transmitted using the second bandwidth (S1330). By controlling the bandwidth allocated for each data, it is possible to transmit data according to priorities. [0305] The processor 830 can improve efficiency of data transmission by variably adjusting the first and second bandwidths according to an event. [0300] The first bandwidth may be set to be larger than the second bandwidth (limitation to a communication volume of the second communication).)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Kim to include the electronic control unit and communication device of Jeon to control two sets of communication volumes when a predetermined event occurs. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an electronic control unit and a communication device capable of efficiently using limited frequency resources and to control the communication unit, in response to an event occurrence, such that the selected electric device information is preferentially transmitted to a server. (Jeon [0012-0013]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465