DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-16, 21-27 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0340869 (Syresin et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0013857 (Lupeau et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Syresin et al. discloses a system for determining flow rates of multiphase fluid comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-9, a well system (e.g. Figure 1) comprising a conduit 1 (e.g. flow line connected to a well; paragraph [0049]) configured to flow a multiphase fluid (e.g. multiphase fluids; paragraph [0049]) from a hydrocarbon production well (e.g. methane; paragraph [0049]) to, or on, a terranean surface; the multiphase fluid comprised of at least one of a liquid phase or a gas phase (e.g. water, methane gas; paragraph [0049]); an ultrasonic tomographic multiphase flow meter (UTMM) (e.g. ultrasonic flow meter having ultrasonic sensor; paragraphs [0102],[0054]) fluidly coupled to the conduit to receive the multiphase fluid there through such that the UTMM comprising at least one transducer pair 2 (e.g. set of sensors like ultrasonic sensors; paragraphs [0049,[0054],[0055],[0102]; observed in Figure 1); one or more fluid measurement sensors 4 (e.g. flow meter sensor; paragraphs [0051]) positioned to measure one or more properties of the multiphase fluid (e.g. flow rate, density of fluid; paragraph [0051],[0057]); a machine-learning (ML) control system 3 (e.g. computing module connected to each sensor designed to collect and process measurement results; paragraph [0049]) that comprises at least one hardware processor operable to execute instructions stored on a tangible, non-transitory memory to perform operations comprising (i) identifying one or more ultrasonic waveforms generated by the UTMM 2 from the multiphase fluid (e.g. paragraphs [0102],[0051] to [0055],[0049]); (ii) identifying measured properties of the multiphase fluid from the one or more fluid measurement sensors (e.g. paragraphs [0051] to [0055],[0049]); (iii) determining multiphase fractions (e.g. fraction; paragraph [0052]) of the multiphase fluid from the one or more ultrasonic waveforms with a first ML model 3 (e.g. a computing module is connected to each sensor; paragraphs [0047]-[0049],[0057]-[0058],[0063]-[0066],[0071]-[0077]); (iv) determining a total flow rate (e.g. total mass flow rate; paragraphs [0047],[0072]) of the multiphase fluid from the measured properties of the multiphase fluid with a second ML model 3 (e.g. a computing module is connected to each sensor; paragraphs [0047]-[0049],[0057]-[0058],[0063]-[0066],[0071]-[0077]); (v) determining a volumetric flow rate (e.g. volumetric flow rates; paragraph [0047]) of the at least one of the liquid phase or the gas phase based on the determined multiphase fraction and the determined total flow rate (e.g. paragraphs [0047]-[0049],[0057]-[0058],[0063]-[0066],[0071]-[0077] [0057],[0070] to [0073]). (See, paragraphs [0046] to [0105]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is Syresin et al. does not explicitly specify the one or more ultrasonic waveforms comprising first arrivals, first reflections, and second reflections.
Lupeau et al. discloses a multiphase flowmeter comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-6, a well system 2 (e.g. onshore hydrocarbon well equipment; paragraph [0028]) comprising a conduit 21 (e.g. pipe section; paragraph [0033]) configured to flow a multiphase fluid 13 (e.g. multiphase hydrocarbon fluid mixture; paragraph [0029]) from a hydrocarbon production well; an ultrasonic tomographic multiphase flow meter (UTMM) fluidly coupled to the conduct such that the UTMM comprising at least one transducer pair 361,362,363,364 (e.g. ultrasonic sensors; paragraph [0049]); identifying one or more ultrasonic waveforms 61,62,63 (e.g. acoustic signals; paragraph [0052]) generated by the UTMM such that the one or more ultrasonic waveforms comprising first arrivals, first reflections, and second reflections (e.g. these acoustic signals are transmitted acoustic signals and reflected acoustic signals; paragraphs [0049] to [0053]). (See, paragraphs [0028] to [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the one or more ultrasonic waveforms comprising first arrivals, first reflections, and second reflections as suggested by Lupeau et al. to the system of Syresin et al. to have the ability to process these acoustic signals and transition times are calculated for determining the thickness of metal material layer and the liquid material layer by using densities of each material and speed of ultrasonic signal in each material. (See, paragraph [0053] of Lupeau et al.).
With regards to claim 2, Syresin et al. further discloses the liquid phase comprises a water phase and an oil phase (e.g. water, oil; paragraph [0049]).
With regards to claim 3, Syresin et al. further discloses the second ML model 3 comprises a virtual flow meter model 4 (e.g. multiphase reference flow meter; paragraphs [0050] to [0054]).
With regards to claim 4, Syresin et al. further discloses the operation (iv) comprises predicting the total flow rate with the virtual flow meter model based on the measured properties of the multiphase fluid (e.g. paragraphs [0064],[0071],[0073],[0075],[0093]).
With regards to claim 5, Syresin et al. further discloses the virtual flow meter model 4 comprises an ML trained model from historical measured flow rates of the multiphase fluid and historical properties of the multiphase fluid measured by the one or more fluid measurement sensors (e.g. a computing module is connected to each sensor; paragraphs [0047]-[0050],[0057]-[0058],[0063]-[0066],[0071]-[0077])
With regards to claim 10, Syresin et al. further discloses the operations further comprise correcting an estimated volumetric flow rate of the liquid phase and an estimate of volumetric flow rate of the gas phase with a third ML model to determine the volumetric flow rate of the liquid phase and the gas phase. (See, paragraphs [0047],[0057],[0070]-[0076]).
With regards to claim 11, Syresin et al. further discloses the operation of correcting the estimated volumetric flow rate of the liquid phase and an estimate of volumetric flow rate of the gas phase comprises using the third ML model to correct the estimated volumetric flow rates based at least in part on a superficial velocity of the multiphase fluid. (See, [0052], [0047],[0057],[0070]-[0076]).
With regards to claims 12-16 and 21-22, the claims are directed to method claims and commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1-5,10-11 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claims 23-27 and 32-33, the claims are directed to non-transitory computer-readable media claims and commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1-5,10-11 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claims 6-9, 17-20 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0340869 (Syresin et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0013857 (Lupeau et al.), as applied to claim above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0341029 (Phillips et al.).
With regards to claim 6, Syresin et al. further discloses the operation (iii) comprises determining a liquid fraction (e.g. water fraction; paragraphs [0052],[0075]) of the liquid phase based at least in part on a sound velocity profile (e.g. velocity; paragraphs [0052],[0096]) of the multiphase fluid determined from the one or more ultrasonic waveforms with the first ML model.
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is operation (iii) determining a void fraction of the gas phase based at least in part on the one or more ultrasonic waveforms with the first ML model.
Phillips et al. discloses a hydrocarbon fluid flow monitoring system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-6, a conduit 4 (e.g. pipeline; paragraph [0038]) configured to flow a multiphase fluid (e.g. hydrocarbon fluids; paragraph [0038]) from a hydrocarbon production well to, or on, a terranean surface; the multiphase fluid comprised of at least one of a liquid phase or a gas phase (e.g. paragraph [0046]); an ultrasonic tomographic multiphase flow meter (UMM) 104 (e.g. ultrasonic transducer like bulk density sensor; paragraph [0044]) fluidly coupled to the conduit to receive the multiphase fluid there through; one or more fluid measurement sensors 106,110 (e.g. ultrasonic transducer like bulk density sensor, pressure sensor; paragraphs [0046],[0048]) positioned to measure one or more properties of the multiphase fluid; (i) identifying one or more ultrasonic waveforms generated by the UMM from the multiphase fluid (e.g. paragraph [0042]); (ii) identifying measured properties (e.g. pressure,density; paragraphs [0046],[0047]) of the multiphase fluid from the one or more fluid measurement sensors; (iii) determining multiphase fractions (e.g. phase fractions; paragraph [0048]) of the multiphase fluid from the one or more ultrasonic waveforms; (iv) determining a total flow rate (e.g. flow rate; paragraphs [0042],[0049] )of the multiphase fluid from the measured properties of the multiphase fluid; (v) determining a volumetric flow rate (e.g. volume of gas in pipeline; paragraph [0064]) of the at least one of the liquid phase or the gas phase based on the determined multiphase fraction and the determined total flow rate; the operation (iii) comprises determining a liquid fraction (e.g. water fraction; paragraphs [0052],[0075]) of the liquid phase based at least in part on a sound velocity profile (e.g. velocity; paragraphs [0052],[0096]) of the multiphase fluid determined from the one or more ultrasonic waveforms, and determining a void fraction (e.g. gas void by gas void fraction sensor 204; paragraph [0061]) of the gas phase based at least in part on the one or more ultrasonic waveforms (e.g. paragraphs [0061] to [0064]). (See, paragraphs [0036] to [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the sensor for determining a void fraction of the gas phase based at least in part on the one or more ultrasonic waveforms with the first ML model as suggested by Phillips et al. to the system of Syresin et al., as modified by Lupeau et al., to have the ability to measure the ratio of gas to liquid in the conduit without departing from the scope of the invention. (See, paragraph [0061] of Phillips et al.).
With regards to claim 7, Syresin et al., modified by Phillips et al. and Lupeau et al., further discloses the operation of determining the void fraction comprises predicting the void fraction based on a flow regime of the multiphase fluid with the first ML model 3 (e.g. paragraphs [0064],[0071],[0073], [0075],[0093] of Syresin et al; paragraphs [0061] to [0064] of Phillips et al.).
With regards to claim 8, Syresin et al., modified by Phillips et al. and Lupeau et al., further discloses the operations further comprise correlating the liquid fraction and the void fraction based on the flow regime of the multiphase fluid to correct the determined liquid and gas fractions (e.g. paragraphs [0064],[0071],[0073], [0075],[0093] of Syresin et al; paragraphs [0061] to [0064] of Phillips et al.).
With regards to claim 9, Syresin et al. further discloses the determined liquid fraction comprises a water cut (e.g. water cut; paragraph [0048],[0061],[0062],[0076],[0088]) of the multiphase fluid.
With regards to claims 17-20, the claims are directed to method claims and commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 6-9 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claims 28-31, the claims are directed to non-transitory computer-readable media claims and commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 6-9 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-33 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground (s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855