DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to applicant’s submissions filed on 3/16/2026. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10 and 12-15 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 4/24/2026 has been reviewed and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that controlling charging is not new matter because the ultimate objective of battery conditioning is the "optimization of charging efficiency," therefore, initiating charging or adjusting charging speeds once the optimal temperature is reached is a natural functional extension of the conditioning control described (Applicant’s Remarks; p. 10), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 2 of the Applicant’s specification explicitly limits the field of the present disclosure to controlling and managing battery temperature before battery charging. Paragraphs 54-57 do not support controlling charging because they are directed to performing battery conditioning before arriving at the destination. Battery charging must not inherently follow the battery conditioning because there are myriad reasons why it may not be performed, such as no chargers being available at a particular destination or a driver making an unplanned stop. See rejection below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that issuing route update instructions is not new matter because performing a navigation route update in response to a path change is a well-known and inherent function of navigation systems in the field of the invention (Applicant’s Remarks; p. 10), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. A conventional navigation system is capable of presenting static route information, and navigation route updates are not inherently performed in response to a path change, and may even be undesirable, for example, when pulling off a road to refuel. See rejection below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Shaotran merely discloses the battery temperature following a baseline preconditioning temperature curve 187b in order to reach the preconditioning temperature 188 (Applicant’s Remarks; p. 11), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shaotran discloses, in figure 7, that the baseline preconditioning start time is modified based on a route characteristic. Shaotran further discloses, in paragraphs 78-80, that the route is segmented based on the time needed to pass through each segment in order to determine how much to modify the preconditioning start time, and that as the vehicle traverse the route, the preconditioning start time may be updated to account for new conditions such as traffic. Shaotran further discloses, in paragraph 8, determining the route-based preconditioning start time may include determining a route time along the route in which the projected route-based battery temperature has a value in which initiating a preconditioning operation for the battery at the route time is configured to increase a preconditioning intensity relative to a baseline preconditioning intensity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to dynamically adjust the battery conditioning timing and intensity based on a comparison of the travel time with the projected time required for performing the conditioning. See rejection below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Shaotran does not disclose comparing the traveling time to the destination with a preset time for increasing the battery temperature so as to determine whether the traveling time to the destination is shorter than a preset time for increasing the battery temperature (Applicant’s Remarks; p. 11), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., comparing the traveling time with a preset time) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Claim 1 merely requires “when … the traveling time to the destination is shorter than a preset time … a boost mode for increasing the battery temperature … is performed”. Shaotran clearly discloses, in figure 1B, that when the travel time to the destination is shorter than the preconditioning time, preconditioning is performed to raise the battery temperature. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See rejection below.
Specification
The amendments to the abstract and the specification were received on 3/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, lines 9-10, “the third level is selected, the controller determines the conditioning” should read “the third level is selected, and the controller determines the conditioning”. This appears to be a typographical error.
In claim 3, lines 10-11, the meaning of the phrase “determines the conditioning of battery response” is unclear because it does not use proper idiomatic English. It appears the phrase should read “determines the battery conditioning response”.
In claim 12, lines 10-11, “selects between available heating options” should read “selects between the available heating options” to make it clear that the heating options are using the waste heat or battery heater.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a charging control module” in claim 1, line 23. Paragraph 84 generally discloses a control module refers to a hardware device including a memory and a processor, therefore, a charging control module will be interpreted as a hardware device including a memory and a processor, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 23, the limitation “the controller is further configured to control a charging control module” appears to be new matter because there does not appear to be disclosure of controlling the charging process itself. Paragraphs 16, 18, 49 and 69 indicate the disclosed battery conditioning methods are performed before reaching a charging station. Paragraphs 54-57 disclose the controller is responsible for displaying information and selecting the modes for battery conditioning.
Regarding claim 14, line 9, the limitation “issue route update instructions” appears to be new matter because there does not appear to be explicit disclosure of modifying the vehicle’s route. Paragraph 74 discloses the driver selects a destination and the controller proposes a charging station as a stop on the path for traveling to the destination. Paragraph 79-81 further disclose proposing second and third charging stations that are farther from the current location of the vehicle, however, there does not appear to be disclosure of modifying the path of the vehicle. The disclosure appears to be limited to selecting from charging stations at different distances along a path to a given destination.
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-10 and 12-15 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 23, the limitation “the controller is further configured to control a charging control module” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the charging process is controlled. Paragraphs 16, 18, 49 and 69 indicate the disclosed battery conditioning methods are performed before reaching a charging station. Paragraphs 54-57 disclose the controller is responsible for displaying information and selecting the modes for battery conditioning. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the controller includes software configured to enable different modes of battery conditioning.
Regarding claim 1, line 31, the limitation “as preset” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it is the time taken to charge, first SOC, or second SOC that is preset. Paragraph 42 of the specification discloses preset first and second SOC value, therefore, for the purposes of examination, both SOC values will be assumed to be predetermined.
Regarding claim 2, line 2, the limitation “the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if they are the same first, second, and third levels recited in claim 1, line 33. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same levels.
Regarding claim 3, lines 4 and 6-7, the limitations “a first preset setting time” and “a second preset setting time” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear how they are related to the preset time for increasing the battery temperature recited in claim 1, line 37. The preset time recited in claim 1 is used when the charging performance is the third level, whereas in claim 3 preset setting times are used to select the charging performance level, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that there are three preset setting times.
Regarding claim 3, lines 8-11, the limitation “when … the third level is selected, the controller determines the conditioning … for each level” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if selection of the third level is required for the controller to determine the conditioning of battery response for each level. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the controller determines the conditioning of battery response for each level regardless of whether the third level is selected.
Regarding claim 6, lines 3-4, the limitation “a time taken to charge the battery at the current battery temperature from the first SOC to the second SOC” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it is related to the charging time determined in claim 1, line 7. Paragraph 54 of the specification discloses the controller provides the charging time to the display, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same charging time.
Regarding claim 9, line 2, the limitation “the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if they are the same first, second, and third levels recited in claim 1, line 33. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same levels.
Regarding claim 9, lines 7 and 9-10, the limitations “a first preset setting time” and “a second preset setting time” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear how they are related to the preset time for increasing the battery temperature recited in claim 1, line 37. The preset time recited in claim 1 is used when the charging performance is the third level, whereas in claim 3 preset setting times are used to select the charging performance level, therefore, for the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that there are three preset setting times.
Regarding claim 9, line 3, the limitation “the controller executes battery thermal regulation functions” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the battery thermal regulation functions are related to the battery conditioning for controlling battery temperature recited in claim 1, line 19. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that both claims are directed to the same battery conditioning.
Regarding claim 10, line 5, the limitation “control switching between the modes based on a preset setting time” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the preset setting time is related to the preset time used in selecting the boost mode in claim 1, lines 35-40. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that both claims are directed to the same setting time.
Regarding claim 12, it is unclear which claim(s) it is dependent from because claim 7 is cancelled. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that claim 7 is a dependent of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, line 2, the limitation “the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if they are the same first, second, and third levels recited in claim 1, line 33. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same levels.
Regarding claim 12, lines 5-6, the limitation “when a level indicating the selected current battery charging performance is the third level” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is the same level selected by the controller in claim 1, line 10. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that both claims are directed to the same level.
Regarding claim 12, line 7, the limitation “shorter than a preset time” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it is related to the preset time for increasing the battery temperature recited in claim 1, line 37. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that both claims are directed to the same preset time.
Regarding claim 13, line 2, the limitation “determining … a charging station preset on the path” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it is related to the charging station identified on the display device in claim 1, lines 26-27. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same charging station.
Regarding claim 13, lines 5-6, the limitation “a selection is made to perform the battery conditioning” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is the same selection made in claim 8, line 6. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same selection.
Regarding claim 13, line 6, the limitation “a result of the selection is input” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is the same result of the selection recited in claim 8, lines 6-7. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same selection result.
Regarding claim 14, line 2, the limitation “the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if they are the same first, second, and third levels recited in claim 1, line 33. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims are directed to the same levels.
Regarding claim 14, line 9, the limitation “issue route update instructions” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the route is updated. Paragraph 74 discloses the driver selects a destination and the controller proposes a charging station as a stop on the path for traveling to the destination. Paragraph 79-81 further disclose proposing second and third charging stations that are farther from the current location of the vehicle, however, there does not appear to be disclosure of modifying the path of the vehicle. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that a route update is merely proposing a charging station that is further along the path to the destination than the currently proposed charging station.
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-10 and 12-15 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinomura (US 2018/0111495) in view of Taguchi (US 2011/0032110), Shaotran (US 2023/0001824), Maleki et al. (US 2015/0155719), Huang et al. (US 10,647,218) and Carpenter et al. (US 2013/0269911), hereinafter Maleki, Huang and Carpenter, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Kinomura discloses a method of conditioning a battery of an electric vehicle, the method comprising: providing, to a controller (Kinomura; fig. 3: ECU 29), charging performance setting information as set by categorizing battery charging performance into a plurality of levels based on obtained information on charging time (Kinomura; fig 13: Kinomura discloses three levels where cost performance is below a first predetermined value, between first and second predetermined values, and above a second predetermined value. The cost performance is based on the stand use time [i.e., charging time] (para. 62) and the stand use time is predicted using the battery temperature (para. 64).); determining, by the controller, a charging time corresponding to a current battery temperature measured through a sensor, from the measured current battery temperature using information on the charging time varying with the battery temperature (Kinomura; para. 64: the ECU 29 is configured to predict the stand use time in accordance with the state (such as temperature or voltage) of the electrical storage device); selecting, by the controller, a level indicating current battery charging performance, among the plurality of levels, from the determined charging time corresponding to the current battery temperature using the charging performance setting information; and displaying, by the controller, the selected level on a display device of the vehicle in an identifiable manner (Kinomura; fig. 13: displaying warning screens S360 and S370); and wherein the controller interacts with a battery heater or coolant control unit to execute the conditioning (Kinomura; para. 51: the temperature regulation system 28 is configured to cool the electrical storage device 25 using the refrigerant circulating through the refrigerant circuit; para. 56: the ECU 29 cools the electrical storage device 25 by controlling the temperature regulation system 28 before the electrical storage device 25 starts to be charged), wherein the controller is further configured to control a charging control module or related circuitry based on the selected level to condition the battery in real-time to optimize charging efficiency (Kinomura; para. 56: in a case where … the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is equal to or higher than a first predetermined temperature, the ECU 29 cools the electrical storage device 25 by controlling the temperature regulation system 28 before the electrical storage device 25 starts to be charged), wherein in the charging performance setting information, the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels that result from the categorizing by the information on the charging time varying with the battery temperature (Kinomura; fig 13: Kinomura discloses three levels where cost performance is below a first predetermined value, between first and second predetermined values, and above a second predetermined value. The cost performance is based on the stand use time [i.e., charging time] (para. 62) and the stand use time is predicted using the battery temperature (para. 64).), and performing battery conditioning, when a condition that the level indicating the selected current battery charging performance is the third level (Kinomura; fig. 13: YES branch from S330).
Kinomura does not explicitly disclose obtaining, through testing, information on charging time of the battery varying with a temperature thereof, wherein the charging time is a time taken to charge the battery at each battery temperature from a first state of charge (SOC) to a second SOC as preset.
Maleki, in the same field of endeavor (battery charging), discloses obtaining, through testing, information on charging time of a battery varying with a temperature thereof (Maleki; para. 38-39: the method 300 obtains a plurality of charging time periods. In one embodiment, step 301 can include storing the plurality of charging time periods in a memory operable with the one or more processors … the plurality of charging time periods can be from experimental testing in a laboratory that characterizes the charge time versus temperature performance of the one or more cells in use), wherein the charging time is a time taken to charge the battery at each battery temperature from a first state of charge (SOC) to a second SOC as preset (Maleki; fig. 2: each data point in the chart is the time it takes to increase the state of charge from 3.0 to 4.35 volts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the stand use time prediction of Kinomura to use experimentally determined charging times with respect battery temperatures, as disclosed by Maleki, to yield the predictable result of accurately estimating charging times.
Kinomura, as modified, does not explicitly disclose providing, by a navigation device, to the controller, destination information and information on a path for traveling to a destination, which are received from a driver, and information on a traveling time to the destination which is taken for the vehicle to travel from a current location to the destination, before the vehicle travels; and performing, by the controller, battery conditioning for controlling battery temperature based on the destination information and the information on the traveling time to the destination that are provided, while the vehicle travels.
Huang, in the same field of endeavor (vehicle battery charging), discloses providing, by a navigation device, to a controller, destination information and information on a path for traveling to a destination, which are received from a driver (Huang; col. 5, ll. 59-64: one or more icons 34 could represent one or more choices of different POIs, such as electric vehicle charging stations, to the operator of the vehicle 10. If the operator of the vehicle 10 selects one of these icons 34, the system 12 will determine a route to the selected POI), and information on a traveling time to the destination which is taken for a vehicle to travel from a current location to the destination, before the vehicle travels (Huang; fig. 4: step 54); and performing, by the controller, battery conditioning for controlling battery temperature based on the destination information and the information on the traveling time to the destination that are provided, while the vehicle travels (Huang; fig. 4: step 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the ECU of Kinomura, as modified, to perform battery conditioning based on the predicted state of the battery after traveling to a charging station selected by the driver, as disclosed by Huang, with the motivation of thermally conditioning the battery pack before the vehicle reaches the charging station, thereby decreasing charging time and extending the useful life of the battery (Huang; col. 8, ll. 40-44).
Kinomura, as modified, does not explicitly disclose a graphic display in the display device is identified corresponding to a priority level of a charging station, and the controller is configured to generate the graphic display dynamically in accordance with real-time operating status.
Taguchi, in the same field of endeavor (electric vehicle information displays), discloses a graphic display in a display device is identified corresponding to a priority level of a charging station, and a controller is configured to generate the graphic display dynamically in accordance with real-time operating status (Taguchi; para. 116: At step S18, the in-vehicle control unit 45 performs the priority display processing. For example, if "priority for charging station arrival time" is selected at step S14, the in-vehicle control unit 45 drives the output unit 43 to provide a display as shown in FIG. 16. The charging stations are listed from top to bottom in the order of A, B, C, D, based on the earliest order of the estimated station-arrival time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the display device of Kinomura, as modified, to display, for selection by the driver, upcoming charging stations on the route prioritized by arrival time, as disclosed by Taguchi, to yield the predictable result of informing the driver of potential charging locations.
Kinomura, as modified, does not explicitly disclose performing battery conditioning when a condition that the traveling time to the destination is shorter than a preset time for increasing the battery temperature is satisfied.
Shaotran, in the same field of endeavor (vehicle battery charging), discloses performing battery conditioning when a condition that a traveling time to a destination is shorter than a preset time for increasing a battery temperature is satisfied (Shaotran; para. 52: If the vehicle 120 initiates preconditioning at the baseline preconditioning time tb, the battery temperature may follow a baseline preconditioning temperature curve 187b in order to reach the preconditioning temperature 188. In part because the temperature of the battery is lower at time tb as compared to time tr, the curve 187b is both steeper and taller than the curve 187a, which indicates that preconditioning starting at time tb (and at its associated temperature) requires both a greater temperature change and a higher preconditioning intensity (i.e., higher power/energy expenditure) as compared to preconditioning starting at time tr.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the ECU of Kinomura, as modified, to execute different pre-charge heating strategies in response to the battery temperature with respect to the traveling time, as disclosed by Shaotran, with the motivation of decreasing charging time (Shaotran; para. 2) thereby increasing utility.
Although Kinomura, as modified, discloses increasing battery temperature using waste heat or battery heaters (Shaotran; para. 49 and 52), it is unclear if Kinomura, as modified, explicitly discloses among the modes for increasing the battery temperature, a boost mode for increasing the battery temperature in which waste heat of a power electronic component and heat of a battery heater are used at a same time to increase the battery temperature is performed.
Carpenter, in the same field of endeavor (vehicle battery conditioning), discloses among modes for increasing a battery temperature, a boost mode for increasing the battery temperature in which waste heat of a power electronic component and heat of a battery heater are used at a same time to increase the battery temperature is performed (Carpenter; para. 85: the controller 78 can use both the motor circuit 56 and the battery circuit heater 108 to heat the battery circuit thermal load 96 to an acceptable temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the ECU of Kinomura, as modified, to increase the battery temperature using waste heat and battery together, as disclosed by Carpenter, to yield the predictable result of increasing the battery temperature more quickly.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses in the charging performance setting information, the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels that result from the categorizing based on the information on the charging time varying with the battery temperature (Kinomura; fig 13: Kinomura discloses three levels where cost performance is below a second predetermined value, between second and first predetermined values, and above a first predetermined value (para. 108). The cost performance is based on the stand use time [i.e., charging time] (para. 62) and the stand use time is predicted using the battery temperature (para. 64).).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses in the selecting of the level indicating the current battery charging performance, when the charging time corresponding to the determined current battery temperature is shorter than a first preset setting time, the first level is selected (Kinomura; fig. 13: NO branch from S350), wherein when the charging time corresponding to the determined current battery temperature is equal to or longer than the preset first setting time and is shorter than a second preset setting time, the second level is selected (Kinomura; fig. 13: YES branch from S350), and wherein when the charging time corresponding to the determined current battery temperature is equal to or longer than the preset second setting time, the third level is selected (Kinomura; fig. 13: YES branch from S330), the controller determines the conditioning of the battery response for each level (Kinomura; paras. 130-131: The ECU 29C determines whether the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is equal to or higher than the first predetermined temperature by referring to the output of the sensor unit 26 (step S700). In a case where the ECU determines that the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is less than the first predetermined temperature (NO in step S700), the pre-charge cooling does not need to be performed, and thus the ECU 29C controls the charger 24 so as to execute the external charging (step S710). In a case where the ECU determines that the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is equal to or higher than the first predetermined temperature (YES in step S700), the ECU 29C controls the display device 23 so as to display the screen for selecting whether or not to execute the pre-charge cooling (FIG. 15) (step S720).).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses displaying, by the controller, on the display device guidance information indicating that whether or not the battery conditioning is performed needs to be selected and that a result of the selection needs to be input, after the displaying of the selected level in the identifiable manner (Kinomura; fig. 15), wherein the battery conditioning is performed in a case where, through an input device connected to the controller, a selection is made to perform the battery conditioning and where a result of the selection is input (Kinomura; fig. 16: YES branch from S740).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses in the charging performance setting information, the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels that result from the categorizing by the information on the charging time varying with the battery temperature (Kinomura; fig 13: Kinomura discloses three levels where cost performance is below a first predetermined value, between first and second predetermined values, and above a second predetermined value. The cost performance is based on the stand use time [i.e., charging time] (para. 62) and the stand use time is predicted using the battery temperature (para. 64).), wherein in the selecting of the level indicating the current battery charging performance, when the charging time corresponding to the determined current battery temperature is shorter than a preset first setting time, the first level is selected (Kinomura; fig. 13: NO branch from S350), wherein when the charging time corresponding to the determined current battery temperature is equal to or longer than the preset first setting time and is shorter than a preset second setting time, the second level is selected (Kinomura; fig. 13: YES branch from S350), and wherein when the charging time corresponding to the determined current battery temperature is equal to or longer than the preset second setting time, the third level is selected (Kinomura; fig. 13: YES branch from S330), and the controller executes battery thermal regulation functions corresponding to the selected level (Kinomura; paras. 130-131: The ECU 29C determines whether the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is equal to or higher than the first predetermined temperature by referring to the output of the sensor unit 26 (step S700). In a case where the ECU determines that the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is less than the first predetermined temperature (NO in step S700), the pre-charge cooling does not need to be performed, and thus the ECU 29C controls the charger 24 so as to execute the external charging (step S710). In a case where the ECU determines that the temperature of the electrical storage device 25 is equal to or higher than the first predetermined temperature (YES in step S700), the ECU 29C controls the display device 23 so as to display the screen for selecting whether or not to execute the pre-charge cooling (FIG. 15) (step S720).).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses in the performing of the battery conditioning, the modes for increasing the battery temperature of the battery, which are differentiated according to the level indicating the selected current battery charging performance and to the information on the traveling time to the destination are performed and the controller controls switching between the modes based on a preset setting time (Shaotran; para. 51-52: the route r may be analyzed to determine a route-based preconditioning start time tr. The vehicle 120 may therefore precondition the battery along the route r before reaching the destination charging station 116 and based on the present/real-time (or substantially real-time) conditions of the battery … preconditioning starting at time tb can require the vehicle 120 to artificially generate heat in the battery that raises the temperature in a manner following curve 187b. By comparison, preconditioning starting at time tr can require the vehicle 120 to avoid generating that heat and to instead predictively use waste heat while traveling to cause the battery temperature to follow curve 187a).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses in the charging performance setting information, the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels that result from the categorizing by the information on the charging time varying with the battery temperature (Kinomura; fig 13: Kinomura discloses three levels where cost performance is below a first predetermined value, between first and second predetermined values, and above a second predetermined value. The cost performance is based on the stand use time [i.e., charging time] (para. 62) and the stand use time is predicted using the battery temperature (para. 64).), and wherein in the performing of the battery conditioning, when a level indicating the selected current battery charging performance is the third level or the traveling time to the destination is shorter than a preset time for increasing the battery temperature, among the modes for increasing the battery temperature, a basic mode for increasing the battery temperature is performed in which only waste heat of a power electronic component or heat of a battery heater is used to increase the battery temperature, and the controller selects between available heating options (Shaotran; fig. 1B: the traveling time to the destination is the interval between tr and tn, which is greater than the baseline preconditioning time interval tb to tn), among modes for increasing the battery temperature, a basic mode for increasing the battery temperature is performed in which only waste heat of power electronic component or heat of a battery heater is used to increase the battery temperature and the controller selects between available heating options (Shaotran; para. 52: preconditioning starting at time tr can require the vehicle 120 to avoid generating that heat and to instead predictively use waste heat while traveling to cause the battery temperature to follow curve 187a).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses determining, by the controller, a charging station present on the path for traveling, as a stop, based on the destination information and the information on the path for traveling to the destination that are provided (Huang; fig. 4: step 56) and displaying, by the controller, the determined charging station on the navigation device, when through the input device, a selection is made to perform the battery conditioning and where a result of the selection is input (Huang; col. 5; ll. 58-64: the device 30 displays one or more icons 34. These one or more icons 34 could represent one or more choices of different POIs, such as electric vehicle charging stations, to the operator of the vehicle 10. If the operator of the vehicle 10 selects one of these icons 34, the system 12 will determine a route to the selected POI).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses in the charging performance setting information, the plurality of levels include first, second, and third levels that result from the categorizing by the information on the charging time varying with the battery temperature (Kinomura; fig 13: Kinomura discloses three levels where cost performance is below a first predetermined value, between first and second predetermined values, and above a second predetermined value. The cost performance is based on the stand use time [i.e., charging time] (para. 62) and the stand use time is predicted using the battery temperature (para. 64).), and wherein when determining the charging station as the stop, if the level indicating the battery charging performance is able to switch to the first level within a time taken for the vehicle on the path for traveling to arrive at a charging station (Huang; col. 8, ll. 37-44: the thermal conditioning of the battery pack 14 occurs while the vehicle 10 is traveling to the charging station and not merely after the vehicle has already arrived at this charging station. By thermally conditioning the battery pack 14 before the vehicle 10 reaches the charging station, the battery pack 14 can be charged more quickly [i.e., the cost performance is reduced], and the useful life of the battery pack 14 can be extended) positioned closest to a current location of the vehicle (Taguchi; para. 116: if "priority for charging station arrival time" is selected at step S14, the in-vehicle control unit 45 drives the output unit 43 to provide a display as shown in FIG. 16. The charging stations are listed from top to bottom in the order of A, B, C, D, based on the earliest order of the estimated station-arrival time; fig. 15: charging station A is closes to the vehicle), the controller is configured to determine the charging station as the stop (Taguchi; para. 91: In the formal reservation processing, the in-vehicle control unit 45 drives the in-vehicle communications unit 41 to transmit the formal reservation signal for the charging station 2, which is actually selected by the user by way of the input unit 42. The user may select the charging station 2 for the formal reservation based on the list of the charging stations 2, which are acquired as a result of the charging station search processing and displayed on the output unit 43 with the availability information, the estimated station-arrival time, the charging start time, the estimated destination-arrival time, the total electric power consumption amount, the travel time to the charging station 2 and the like.) and issue route update instructions (Huang; col. 7, ll. 54-56: when selected by the operator of the vehicle 10, the system 12 then begins to route the vehicle 10 to the selected charging station).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses the controller is configured to cause the navigation device to display guidance information so that the driver is able to select the charging station determined as the stop (Taguchi; para. 116: At step S18, the in-vehicle control unit 45 performs the priority display processing. For example, if "priority for charging station arrival time" is selected at step S14, the in-vehicle control unit 45 drives the output unit 43 to provide a display as shown in FIG. 16. The charging stations are listed from top to bottom in the order of A, B, C, D, based on the earliest order of the estimated station-arrival time.), wherein when the driver does not select the displayed stop (Taguchi; para. 91: The user may select the charging station 2 for the formal reservation based on the list of the charging stations [i.e., the user may not select the nearest station (A)]), when the level indicating the battery charging performance is able to switch to the first level within the time taken for the vehicle on the path for traveling to arrive at a sub-optimal charging station (Huang; col. 8, ll. 37-44: the thermal conditioning of the battery pack 14 occurs while the vehicle 10 is traveling to the charging station and not merely after the vehicle has already arrived at this charging station. By thermally conditioning the battery pack 14 before the vehicle 10 reaches the charging station, the battery pack 14 can be charged more quickly [i.e., the cost performance is reduced], and the useful life of the battery pack 14 can be extended) positioned the second closest to the current location (Taguchi; fig. 15: station B), the controller is configured to determine the sub-optimal charging station as the stop (Taguchi; para. 91: The user may select the charging station 2 for the formal reservation based on the list of the charging stations [i.e., the user may select the second nearest station (B)]), and wherein the controller is configured to cause the navigation device to display guidance information so that the driver is able to select the determined sub-optimal charging station (Taguchi; para. 116: At step S18, the in-vehicle control unit 45 performs the priority display processing. For example, if "priority for charging station arrival time" is selected at step S14, the in-vehicle control unit 45 drives the output unit 43 to provide a display as shown in FIG. 16. The charging stations are listed from top to bottom in the order of A, B, C, D, based on the earliest order of the estimated station-arrival time.).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinomura in view of Taguchi, Shaotran, Maleki, Huang and Carpenter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nanbu et al. (US 2021/0309118), hereinafter Nanbu.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Kinomura, as modified, discloses a time taken to charge the battery at the current battery temperature from the first SOC to the second SOC at the current battery temperature (Maleki; fig. 2: each data point in the chart is the time it takes to increase the state of charge from 3.0 to 4.35 volts at a charging temperature), wherein the controller controls the display output based on SOC data and the current battery temperature (Kinomura; paras. 64-65: the ECU 29 is configured to predict the stand use time in accordance with the state (such as temperature or voltage) of the electrical storage device … The ECU 29 can predict the cost performance of the external charging by substituting the amount of charging power and the stand use time that are predicted and the charging fee per unit time into Expression (2).; fig. 13: displaying warning screens S360 and S370).
Kinomura, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the information displayed on the display device includes a time taken to charge the battery from the first SOC to the second SOC.
Nanbu, in the same field of endeavor (vehicle battery charging), discloses information displayed on a display device includes a time taken to charge a battery from a first SOC to a second SOC (Nanbu; para. 26: provides a notification of the predicted charging time by using, for example, a display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified, for the current battery temperature, the display of Kinomura, as modified, to display the predicted battery charging time, as disclosed by Nanbu, to yield the predictable result of notifying the driver how long charging will take.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665