DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 17/983,339 filed on 11/8/2022. The amendment presented on 1/9/2026, which cancels claim 2 and amends claims 1 and 8, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 and 3-19 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amended limitation of device management information including input and output values of the device raises new issue and the narrowed limitation was taught by newly cited reference as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedady Moghadam Nanehkaran et al. (hereinafter Vedady)(US 2020/0403458) in view of Fujiwara et al. (hereinafter Fujiwara)(US 2015/0033304), and further in view of Ivanov et al. (hereinafter Ivanov)(US 2019/0250689).
Regarding claim 1, Vedady teaches as follows:
a display unit (interpreted as the graphical user interface 226 in figure 2) of a management system (interpreted as the wireless power network monitoring device 200 in figure 2) that manages energy (the wireless power network monitoring device 200 further comprises a graphical user interface 226. The graphical user interface 226 facilitates display of consolidated data to the user 210. The data displayed may include the instantaneous and average power consumption of each energy receiver connected to the energy transmitter within the wireless power network 100, the state-of-charge (SoC) of its storage unit, e.g., battery or super-capacitor, and the wireless power signal strength, see, ¶ [0034]),
wherein the display unit changes a display state of a screen that displays information about the management system, according to an operator of the screen (in step 724, the graphical user interface is updated with the corrective actions and the received state information. The information may be displayed as shown in FIG. 4 or one of FIGS. 5 and 6 depending on the type of energy receiver device, see, ¶ [0071])(therefore, the GUI displays the updated state information according to the operation).
Vedady does not explicitly teach changing a display state and operations according to an operation authority of an operator.
Fujiwara teaches as follows:
It is assumed that three people ("administrator", "maintenance personnel", and "operator") who have different ranges of operation authorities (usage authorities)(equivalent to applicant’s operation of displayed items) over the application are defined as users of the display apparatus. These ranges of operation authorities decrease in order from the administrator, the maintenance personnel, to the operator (see, ¶ [0093]);
FIG. 10A shows a user screen that is displayed if a user authenticated through facial authentication has been pre-registered as an administrator. FIG. 10B shows a user screen 532 for maintenance personnel. FIG. 10C shows a user screen 533 for an operator… In this way, the display apparatus displays a user screen corresponding to an operation authority based on the result of facial authentication (see, ¶ [0103]-[0107] and figure 10A-C); and
The above is an explanation of a configuration in which the display apparatus displays a screen corresponding to a user who has been authenticated through facial authentication. Specifically, the above is an explanation of a configuration in which the display apparatus displays a screen based on an operation authority of an authenticated user (an operation authority of an administrator, an operation authority of maintenance personnel, and an operation authority of an operator)(see, ¶ [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady with Fujiwara to include the programmable display apparatus displaying a user screen with available operations based on an operation authority as taught by Fujiwara in order to efficiently control access to the application of the management system.
Vedady in view of Fujiwara does not explicitly teach of displaying input and output values.
Ivanov teaches as follows:
Power consumption demands (equivalent to applicant’s output value of a device) are determined for the power consumers. As described earlier, a power consumer may transmit a power consumption demand in watts, voltage, current, and/or a charge capacity (or a combination thereof) in implementations (see, ¶ [0068]); and
user interface 400 may enable a user to input a power limit (equivalent to applicant’s input value of a device) that may be referenced by dynamic power allocator 204 in the event of the power delivery capability of an external power provider is not operating as expected or desired… User interface 400 may enable a user to input a maximum power providing capability for a device or category of devices. If the collective power consumption demand (output value of a device) is above this power level, dynamic power allocator 204 may reduce and/or terminate one or more consumers using techniques described herein (see, ¶ [0125] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara with Ivanov to include the user interface enabling users to enter input and output values as taught by Ivanov in order to enhance user’s management capability.
Regarding claim 3, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein an item that is settable by using the manual setting area changes according to the operator (in step 710, the graphical user interface 226 of the wireless power network monitoring device 200 receives a user input indicating storage and encryption options selected by the user, see, ¶ [0065] and figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the device management screen has an operation area that displays the device management information only for the item (examiner interpreted as a new item which is are the same as the item claimed in claim 3) set by using the manual setting area (in step 716, the nth energy receiver is selected. In step 718, state information of the nth energy receiver is requested from the energy transmitter 110 via the energy transmitter interface 222, see, ¶ [0068])(the energy receiver is a sensor device comprising a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor and a pressure sensor. The measurement histogram display 510 comprises a temperature histogram 512, a humidity histogram 514 and a pressure histogram 516 which show respective sensor readings over a time period, see, ¶ [0050] and figure 5)(therefore, displaying device managed information for the selected energy receivers).
Regarding claim 5, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the device management screen has a current state display area that displays a current state of input or output of the device (the secondary tab 500 further comprises a current sensor readings display 550. The current sensor readings display 550 shows the current temperature reading 552, the current humidity reading 554 and the current pressure reading 556 measured by the sensors on the energy receiver, see, ¶ [0054] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Vedady teaches as follows:
the warning messages 432 are generated by the graphical user interface 226 of the wireless power network monitoring device 200 when certain criteria are met. For example, the warning messages display 430 may display a warning message then the battery level of one of the energy receivers falls below a threshold or when one of the operating parameters of one of the energy receivers is outside a normal operating range (see, ¶ [0046] and figure 4). The warning messages are generated based on current state information. Therefore, the warning messages are equivalent to applicant’s control reason display area.
Regarding claim 7, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the management system has a plurality of the devices (the wireless power network layout display 410 shows locations of an energy receiver 412, and a plurality of energy receivers 414 overlaid over a plan 416 of the area of the wireless power network, see, ¶ [0045] and figure 4), and
the device management screen is capable of displaying the device management information by switching for each of the devices (FIG. 5 shows a graphical user interface displaying a secondary tab for a sensor device according to an embodiment of the present invention. The secondary tab 500 comprises a measurement histogram display 510, see, ¶ [0050] and figure 5)(the secondary tab 500 further comprises a sensor performance and health metric display 520, see, ¶ [0051] and figure 5).
Therefore, Vedady inherently teaches selecting a sensor or an energy receiver from a plurality of energy receivers.
Regarding claim 8, Vedady teaches as follows:
a display unit of a management system that manages energy (the wireless power network monitoring device 200 further comprises a graphical user interface 226. The graphical user interface 226 facilitates display of consolidated data to the user 210. The data displayed may include the instantaneous and average power consumption of each energy receiver connected to the energy transmitter within the wireless power network 100, the state-of-charge (SoC) of its storage unit, e.g., battery or super-capacitor, and the wireless power signal strength, see, ¶ [0034]),
wherein the display unit displays a state monitoring screen that shows an operation state of a device of the management system (in step 724, the graphical user interface is updated with the corrective actions and the received state information. The information may be displayed as shown in FIG. 4 or one of FIGS. 5 and 6 depending on the type of energy receiver device, see, ¶ [0071])(therefore, the GUI displays the updated state information according to the operation), and
the state monitoring screen includes a device icon that shows the device (the wireless power network layout display 410 shows locations of an energy receiver 412, and a plurality of energy receivers 414 overlaid over a plan 416 of the area of the wireless power network, see, ¶ [0045] and figure 4).
Vedady does not explicitly teach changing a display state and operations according to an operation authority of an operator.
Fujiwara teaches as follows:
It is assumed that three people ("administrator", "maintenance personnel", and "operator") who have different ranges of operation authorities (usage authorities)(equivalent to applicant’s operation of displayed items) over the application are defined as users of the display apparatus. These ranges of operation authorities decrease in order from the administrator, the maintenance personnel, to the operator (see, ¶ [0093]);
FIG. 10A shows a user screen that is displayed if a user authenticated through facial authentication has been pre-registered as an administrator. FIG. 10B shows a user screen 532 for maintenance personnel. FIG. 10C shows a user screen 533 for an operator… In this way, the display apparatus displays a user screen corresponding to an operation authority based on the result of facial authentication (see, ¶ [0103]-[0107] and figure 10A-C); and
The above is an explanation of a configuration in which the display apparatus displays a screen corresponding to a user who has been authenticated through facial authentication. Specifically, the above is an explanation of a configuration in which the display apparatus displays a screen based on an operation authority of an authenticated user (an operation authority of an administrator, an operation authority of maintenance personnel, and an operation authority of an operator)(see, ¶ [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady with Fujiwara to include the programmable display apparatus displaying a user screen with available operations based on an operation authority as taught by Fujiwara in order to efficiently control access to the application of the management system.
Vedady in view of Fujiwara does not explicitly teach of displaying input and output values.
Ivanov teaches as follows:
Power consumption demands (equivalent to applicant’s output value of a device) are determined for the power consumers. As described earlier, a power consumer may transmit a power consumption demand in watts, voltage, current, and/or a charge capacity (or a combination thereof) in implementations (see, ¶ [0068]); and
user interface 400 may enable a user to input a power limit (equivalent to applicant’s input value of a device) that may be referenced by dynamic power allocator 204 in the event of the power delivery capability of an external power provider is not operating as expected or desired… User interface 400 may enable a user to input a maximum power providing capability for a device or category of devices. If the collective power consumption demand (output value of a device) is above this power level, dynamic power allocator 204 may reduce and/or terminate one or more consumers using techniques described herein (see, ¶ [0125] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara with Ivanov to include the user interface enabling users to enter input and output values as taught by Ivanov in order to enhance user’s management capability.
Regarding claim 9, Vedady teaches as follows:
the wireless power network layout display 410 shows locations of an energy receiver 412, and a plurality of energy receivers 414 overlaid over a plan 416 of the area of the wireless power network (see, ¶ [0045] and figure 4); and
the information may be displayed as shown in FIG. 4 or one of FIGS. 5 and 6 depending on the type of energy receiver device (see, ¶ [0071]).
Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov does not explicitly teach of changing the device icon according to a type of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov to include changing device icon based on the type of devices in order to effectively present the type of different devices.
Regarding claim 10, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the state monitoring screen includes a numerical information area that shows the operation state in numerical value (the secondary tab 500 further comprises a current sensor readings display 550. The current sensor readings display 550 shows the current temperature reading 552, the current humidity reading 554 and the current pressure reading 556 measured by the sensors on the energy receiver, see, ¶ [0054] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov teaches all limitations as presented above except for including a letter information area on the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov to include displaying device name or type on the device icon in order to effectively present the name or type of different devices.
Regarding claim 14, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the state monitoring screen includes an energy state display icon that shows an energy state associated with an operation of the device (The primary tab overview 400 comprises a wireless power network performance and health display 420. The wireless power network performance and health display 420 comprises indications of the status 412, battery level 422 (equivalent to applicant’s energy state), average power consumption 423…the battery level 422 is displayed as a number of bars of power remaining, see, ¶ [0046] and figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Vedady teaches as follows:
the wireless power network layout display 410 shows locations of an energy receiver 412 (equivalent to applicant’s display position), and a plurality of energy receivers 414 overlaid over a plan 416 of the area of the wireless power network (see, ¶ [0045] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov to include changing the location or size of the devices in order to effectively distinguish one another in the position and the size.
Regarding claim 16, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the state monitoring screen includes a plurality of screens switchable according to a type of the device (the information may be displayed as shown in FIG. 4 or one of FIGS. 5 and 6 depending on the type of energy receiver device (see, ¶ [0071]).
Regarding claim 17, Vedady teaches as follows:
wherein the state monitoring screen includes a control state display area (interpreted as the wireless power network performance and health display 420 in figure 4) that shows a control state of the management system (the wireless power network performance and health display 420 comprises indications of the status 412, battery level 422, average power consumption 423, average data rate 424 and expected time remaining 425 for each of the energy receivers connected to the wireless power network, see, ¶ [0046] and figure 4).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Vedady teaches as follows:
the data storage and encryption display 450 displays user controllable switches (equivalent to applicant’s control button) comprising a local drive switch 452, a cloud platform switch 454 and an encryption switch 456. The user can control whether data from the energy receivers such as sensor data and information on the wireless power network performance and health is stored on the local storage device 242 or the cloud storage 244. Further, the user can control whether the data is encrypted by the encryption module 232 of the wireless power network monitoring device 200 before being stored (see, ¶ [0049] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov to include a separate control button in order to efficiently display the device control information only.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedady Moghadam Nanehkaran et al. (hereinafter Vedady)(US 2020/0403458) in view of Fujiwara et al. (hereinafter Fujiwara)(US 2015/0033304) and Ivanov et al. (hereinafter Ivanov)(US 2019/0250689), and further in view of Takezawa et al. (hereinafter Takezawa)(US 2016/0294981).
Regarding claims 12-13, Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov teaches all limitations as presented above except for displaying changeable connecting line.
Takezawa teaches as follows:
FIG. 1 is a diagram of a network topology displayed on a network-state displaying device according to an embodiment of the present invention. A network 100 corresponding to the network topology has a configuration in which communication devices 101 are connected to one another through a transmission path. The network-state displaying device collects information from each communication device 101 (see, ¶ [0022] and figure 1); and
FIG. 4A illustrates an example of a data structure of the information-element representing method table 206 which the network-state displaying device holds in a memory included in itself. Each entry in the information-element representing method table 206 holds, for each information element registered in “TYPE OF INFORMATION ELEMENT”, pieces of attribute information on a thickness, a color, and blinking/non-blinking of a link to be displayed in “THICKNESS OF LINK”, “COLOR OF LINK”, and “BLINKING/NON-BLINKING OF LINK”, respectively (see, ¶ [0048] and figure 4A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vedady in view of Fujiwara and Ivanov with Takezawa to include presenting network state information for each link as taught by Takezawa in order to efficiently indicate various link state information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEONG S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454
May 6, 2026