DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 contains the limitation “wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane, are non-layered and integrally formed for transmission of an electrical signal across the electrical component.”
It is unclear what is meant by the three portions being non-layered since fig.7 of the instant application shows otherwise and whether the three portions are non-layered from one another from a side view with different lengths or if the applicant means the three portions are non-layered as in not overlapping each other and instead side by side to each other.
For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as non-layered meaning the three portions are not overlapping each other and instead side by side to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Mazellier (US 2011/0156055 A1).
Re claim 14: Mazellier teaches (fig.6) An electrical component (150) comprising:
a) at least a first portion (112) defined as an insulator (passivation layer, par.98);
b) at least a second portion (122) defined as a conductor (electrically conductive material par.107);
c) at least a third portion (108-104) defined as a semiconductor (par.83);
d) wherein the first portion (118), the second portion (122) and the third portion (104) are electrically connected, lie in a single plane (XY plane, par 99), are non-layered (components in plane XY do not overlap and are side by side, par. 34) and integrally formed for transmission (par.42) of an electrical signal across the electrical component (150).
Re claim 15: Mazellier teaches the electrical component according to claim 14 wherein the first portion (112), the second portion (122) and the third portion (108-104) are adjacent each other in the single plane (XY plane, par.99).
Re claim 16: Mazellier teaches the electrical component according to claim 14 wherein the first portion (112), the second portion (122) and the third portion (108-104) may be adjacent each other in the single plane (XY plane, par.99).
Re claim 17: Mazellier teaches the electrical component according to claim 14 wherein a metallic compound (par.107) is present in the second portion (122).
Re claim 18: Mazellier teaches the electrical component according to claim 14 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination (par. 96, CMOS sensor circuit) therein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,700,165 B2.
.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the reference claims as illustrated below and as directed to Figures 2-7 of both applications:
Instant Application
US 10,700,165 B2
1. An electrical component comprising:
a) at least a first portion formed from and composed of diamond, the first portion primarily defined as an insulator;
b) at least a second portion formed from and composed of doped diamond, the second portion primarily defined as a conductor; and,
c) wherein the first portion and the second portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane and are integrally formed for transmission of electricity across the electrical component, wherein the first portion and the second portion are non- layered.
9. An electrical component comprising:
a) at least a first portion formed from and composed of diamond, the first portion primarily defined as an insulator;
b) at least a second portion formed from and composed of doped diamond, the second portion primarily defined as a conductor; and,
c) wherein the first portion and the second portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane and are integrally formed by laser ablation for transmission of electricity across the electrical component, wherein the first portion and the second portion are non-layered.
2. The electrical component according to claim 1 wherein the electrical component is a resistor.
10. The electrical component according to claim 9 wherein the electrical component is a resistor.
3. The electrical component according to claim 1 wherein a third portion is formed from and composed of a doped diamond, the third portion primarily defined as a semiconductor and wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are non-layered, lie in a single plane, are integrally formed and electrically connected for transmission of electricity across the electrical component.
4. The electrical component according to 1 wherein a fourth portion is formed from and composed of metal, the fourth portion primarily defined as a conductor, wherein the fourth portion is electrically connected and integrally formed with the first, second and third portions, lies in the same plane as the first, second and third portions, and is non-layered in relation to the first, second and third portions for transmission of electricity across the electrical component.
11. The electrical component according to claim 9 herein a third portion is formed from and composed of a doped diamond, the third portion primarily defined as a semiconductor and wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are non-layered, lie in a single plane, are integrally formed and electrically connected for transmission of electricity across the electrical component.
12. The electrical component according to 9 wherein a fourth portion is formed from and composed of metal, the fourth portion primarily defined as a conductor, wherein the fourth portion is electrically connected and integrally formed with the first, second and third portions, lies in the same plane as the first, second and third portions, and is non-layered in relation to the first, second and third portions for transmission of electricity across the electrical component.
5. The electrical component according to claim 1 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
13. The electrical component according to claim 9 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
6. The electrical component according to claim 1 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein and a plurality of the electrical components are further assembled to form an integrated circuit.
14. The electrical component according to claim 9 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein and a plurality of the electrical components are further assembled to form an integrated circuit.
Claims 7-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,495,664 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the reference claims as illustrated below and as directed to Figures 2-7 of both applications:
Instant Application
US 11,495,664 B2
7. A confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component comprising:
a) placing an ablative coating between a transparent confinement layer and a backing plane, wherein the ablative coating is composed of graphite particles and a dopant material;
b) directing a laser beam through the transparent confinement layer to irradiate and ablate the ablative coating;
c) vaporizing the ablative coating into an oxidized plasma gas using the laser beam;
d) confining the vaporized ablative coating using the confinement layer to generate laser induced pressure between the confinement layer and the backing plane; and,
e) synthesizing a metaphase from the ablative coating using the laser induced pressure between the confinement layer and the backing plane forming an electrical component therein, the electrical component further comprising:
i. at least a first portion formed from and composed of diamond, the first portion primarily defined as an insulator;
ii. at least a second portion formed from and composed of graphite, the second portion primarily defined as a conductor;
iii. at least a third portion formed from and composed of a doped diamond, the third portion primarily defined as a semiconductor;
iv. wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane and are integrally formed for electricity transmission across the electrical component.
1. A confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component comprising:
a) placing an ablative coating between a transparent confinement layer and a backing plane, wherein the ablative coating is composed of graphite particles and a dopant material;
b) directing a laser beam through the transparent confinement layer to irradiate and ablate the ablative coating at generally ambient temperature and pressure;
c) vaporizing the ablative coating into an oxidized plasma gas using the laser beam;
d) confining the vaporized ablative coating using the confinement layer to generate laser induced pressure between the confinement layer and the backing plane; and,
e) synthesizing a metaphase from the ablative coating using the laser induced pressure between the confinement layer and the backing plane forming an electrical component therein, the electrical component further comprising:
i. at least a first portion formed from and composed of diamond, the first portion primarily defined as an insulator;
ii. at least a second portion formed from and composed of graphite, the second portion primarily defined as a conductor;
iii. at least a third portion formed from and composed of a doped diamond, the third portion primarily defined as a semiconductor;
iv. wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane and integrally formed for transmission of an electrical signal across the electrical component.
8. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 7 wherein a metallic compound is present in the second portion.
2. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 1 wherein a metallic compound is present in the second portion.
9. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 7 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
3. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 1 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
10. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 8 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
4. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 2 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
11. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 7 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein and a plurality of the electrical components are further assembled to form an integrated circuit.
5. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 1 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein and a plurality of the electrical components are further assembled to form an integrated circuit.
12. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 7, wherein the ablative coating includes metal.
6. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 1, wherein the ablative coating includes metal.
13. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 7, wherein the dopant material is selected from the selected from the group comprising: boron, aluminium, nitrogen, gallium, indium, phosphorus, phosphine gas, arsenic, antimony, bismuth, lithium, germanium, silicon, xenon, gold, platinum, gallium arsenide, tellurium, sulphur, tin, zinc, chromium, gallium phosphide, magnesium, cadmium telluride, chlorine, sodium, cadmium sulfide, iodine, fluorine, each acting alone or in combination with any of the preceding elements, in any formulation, to activate the reaction sought to produce a material useful in production of a doped semiconductor or a doped conductor suitable for the purpose of modulating the electrical, thermal or quantum properties of the material produced.
7. The confined pulsed laser deposition method for production of an electrical component according to claim 1, wherein the dopant material is selected from the selected from the group comprising: boron, aluminium, nitrogen, gallium, indium, phosphorus, phosphine gas, arsenic, antimony, bismuth, lithium, germanium, silicon, xenon, gold, platinum, gallium arsenide, tellurium, sulphur, tin, zinc, chromium, gallium phosphide, magnesium, cadmium telluride, chlorine, sodium, cadmium sulfide, iodine, fluorine, each acting alone or in combination with any of the preceding elements, in any formulation, to activate the reaction sought to produce a material useful in production of a doped semiconductor or a doped conductor suitable for the purpose of modulating the electrical, thermal or quantum properties of the material produced.
Claim 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,700,165 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the reference claims as illustrated below and as directed to Figures 2-7 of both applications:
Instant Application
US 10,700,165 B2.
14. An electrical component comprising:
a) at least a first portion defined as an insulator;
b) at least a second portion defined as a conductor;
c) at least a third portion defined as a semiconductor;
d) wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane, are non-layered and integrally formed for transmission of an electrical signal across the electrical component.
1. An electrical component comprising:
a. at least a first portion formed from and composed of diamond, the first portion primarily defined as an insulator;
b. at least a second portion formed from and composed of graphite, the second portion primarily defined as a conductor;
c. at least a third portion formed from and composed of a doped diamond, the third portion primarily defined as a semiconductor;
d. wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are electrically connected, lie in a single plane and are integrally formed by laser ablation for transmission of an electrical signal across the electrical component, wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are non-layered.
15. The electrical component according to claim 14 wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are adjacent each other in the single plane.
2. The electrical component according to claim 1 wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are adjacent each other in the single plane.
16.The electrical component according to claim 14 wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion may be adjacent each other in the single plane.
2. The electrical component according to claim 1 wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion are adjacent each other in the single plane.
17. The electrical component according to claim 14 wherein a metallic compound is present in the second portion.
3. The electrical component according to claim 1 wherein a metallic compound is present in the second portion.
18. The electrical component according to claim 14 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
5. The electrical component according to claim 1 formed as a resistor, a transistor, capacitor, inverter, an inductor or a diode or combination therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are otherwise patentable over prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, and would be in condition for allowance provided that the applicant filed a terminal disclaimer to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/RICKY VERDES/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898