DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply with the certified English translation filed 06/11/2026 for the instant application has been acknowledged. Therefore, the benefit accords to the foreign application, CN202111324873.4, with filing date 11/10/2021
Applicant’s corrections filed 06/11/2026 with respect to claim objections for claim(s) 1 made on 03/11/2026 have been considered and the objection to the claim is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 15, and 19-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument: On pg. 14, Applicant argues that “the claim is not directed merely to storing failure information, but rather to a conditional architecture in which the inclusion or exclusion of specific sub-information is determined by the nature of the triggering failure condition, and more specifically, by whether the triggering timer is one of a defined set of "target" timers (T300/T319) or a different timer associated with other failure conditions.” Regarding Jung et al. (US 2021/0321478 A1), Applicant argues on pg. 14 that “Jung does not disclose any scenario in which certain information is deliberately excluded from the failure information when a T300 or T319 timer expires, nor does Jung disclose an alternative scenario in which that same information is included when a different timer expires.” Regarding Kim et al. (US 2024/0365364 A1), Applicant argues on pg. 15 “Kim does not disclose or suggest a conditional framework in which such information is selectively included or excluded from a common failure report based on the type of timer that has expired.” Regarding the combination of Jung and Kim, Applicant argues on pg. 15 “the Examiner's combination of Jung and Kim is based on an impermissible reconstruction of Applicant's invention. Jung is directed to connection establishment or resume failure reporting, while Kim is directed to radio link failure reporting. These are distinct failure mechanisms governed by different protocol layers, different timers, and different reporting structures.”
Examiner’s response: First, based on Applicant’s response, it appears the inclusion and exclusion of first information in the failure information is performed actively by the UE. For example, the UE has or determines or obtains the first information, and actively includes or excludes the first information in the failure information based on the type of the timer. However, the current claim language does not recite an active step performed by a UE to include or exclude the first information. The claim language merely requires the UE is storing failure information, and that the failure information may or may not include first information based on the type of the timer. Whether the UE has or determined or obtains the first information and deliberately includes or deliberately excludes the information in the failure information is not claimed. Regarding the Jung reference, Examiner notes that Jung discloses in [0171] and [0177]-[0178]: “When the timer T300 expires, in operation 1 f-35, the UE 1 f-01 may perform the following action 1 and action 2 in order” where “The second operation for processing the connection failure may include at least one of the following operations. Also, a plurality of operations among the following operations may be performed sequentially or continuously regardless of an order. discard content included in VarConnEstFailReport except for numberOfConnFail (clear the content included in VarConnEstFailReport except for the numberOfConnFail, if any).” The discarding or clearing of content except for numberOfConnFail means that all information is excluded and only numberOfConnFail is included. This reads on a UE deliberately excluding first information, where first information is equated to any information except numberOfConnFail. Therefore, any information may include “the first information comprises first sub-information used to indicate a condition in a first condition set for determining that the RRC connection procedure has failed, and the first condition set comprises at least one of: a maximum number of Radio Link Control (RLC) retransmissions being reached, expiration of a T310 timer, a listen before talk (LBT) failure, a beam failure recovery (BFR) failure, or a random access failure.” Jung discloses similar features for timer T319 in [0217] and [0233].
Regarding the Kim reference, Examiner notes that Kim discloses different timers including T300, T301, T304, T310, T311, T312, and T319 in [0172] and [0176]. Kim also discloses unspecified types of timers in [0250] “expiry of a radio problem timer started after indication of radio problems” and [0251] “expiry of a timer started upon triggering a measurement report.” Based on explicit disclosure of T310 expiry, Kim discloses in [0232]-[0245] different conditions for setting the rlf-Cause including that “1>if the UE declares radio link failure due to T310 expiry: 2>set the rlf-Cause as t310-Expiry.” Kim is combined with Jung because Jung already teaches T300 and T319 expiry with exclusion of all information and inclusion of only numberOfConnFail, and Kim teaches at least the T310 expiry with inclusion of t310-Expiry set in rlf-Cause. Regarding the combination of Jung and Kim, Examiner notes that Jung discloses in [0180], [0189] the VarConnEstFailReport may include “perRAlnfoList to indicate random access failure information (set perRAlnfoList to indicate random access failure information).” Similarly, Kim discloses in [0232], [0239]: “the rlf_Cause in the VarRLF-Report” includes “randomAccessProblem.” Since both teach a similar reporting feature, one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the teachings of Jung with the teachings of Kim.
Therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejection under 103 based on Jung in view of Kim.
The Examiner also performed an updated search and notes that Fang et al. (US 2023/0171835 A1) is not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Fang teaches in [0023] “When a failure is detected by a UE upon initiating an INACTIVE data transmission or during an INACTIVE data transmission, various information types can be stored by the UE and reported to a network node after the UE goes to a CONNECTED state” and in [0024] “The information can include a failure cause for the INACTIVE data transmission, including at least one of: rlc-MaxNumRetx (max number of RLC re-transmission), t310-Expiry, beamFailureRecoveryFailure, randomAccessProblem with raPurpose of INACTIVE data transmission, CG based transmission failure, failure due to in OOC (out of coverage), expiration of T319 timer.” Fang explicitly teaches that t310-Expiry and expiration of T319 timer can be stored. It should be obvious that t310-Expiry is stored upon timer T310 is expired, and that the expiration of T319 timer is stored upon timer T319 is expired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10, 16, and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2021/0321478 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0365364 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Jung discloses A user equipment (UE), comprising and A method, comprising (Figs. 1F-G, L: UE):
a transmitter configured to (Fig. 1L, [0397]: baseband processor 1 l-20 and RF processor 1 l-10 may be referred to as a transmitter, a transceiver) transmit a request for a radio resource control (RRC) connection procedure in a first cell, wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the request when the UE is in a state other than an RRC_CONNECTED state, and wherein a first timer is started (Figs. 1F-G, [0169], [0215]: UE is in RRC_IDLE state in 1f-05 when initiating an RRC connection establishment procedure with a gNB and starts a timer T300 in 1 f-25 after selecting/reselecting a cell in 1f-15, 1f-20, or UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state in 1g-05 when initiating an RRC connection resume procedure with the gNB and starts a timer T319 in 1 g-25 after selecting/reselecting a cell in 1g-10, 1g-20), wherein:
the UE is configured to store failure information on a condition that the RRC connection procedure has failed (Figs. 1F-G, [0170]-[0171], [0177], [0180], [0216]-[0218], [0222], [0233]: when the timer expires, i.e., T300 in 1 f-30, or T319 in 1 g-30, UE performs action 2 for processing connection failure including storing connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 f-35, or resume connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 g-35), the failure information including a measurement result of the first cell ([0180], [0182], [0222], [0224]: the connection establishment failure information or the resume connection establishment failure information comprises a measResultFailedCell field including a RSRP and RSRQ of a failed cell based on available SSB measurements),
on a condition that the first timer has expired and the first timer is a T319 or T300 timer, the failure information does not include first information (Figs. 1F-G, [0171], [0176]-[0178], [0217], [0233]: when the timers expire, i.e., T300 in 1 f-30 and T319 in 1 g-30, UE performs action 2 related to VarConnEstFailReport including discarding content included in VarConnEstFailReport except for numberOfConnFail. Note: VarConnEstFailReport does not include first information because it only includes numberOfConnFail which is not mapped to first information),
Jung does not teach, but Kim teaches on a condition that the first timer is/has expired and the first timer is a timer other than the T319 or T300 timer, the failure information includes the first information ([0180], [0190]-[0191], [0214]-[0215]: based on T310 or T312 expiry, [0232]-[0243]: UE sets rlf-Cause (=first information) in VarRLF-Report (=failure information)),
the first information comprises first sub-information used to indicate a condition in a first condition set for determining that the RRC connection procedure has failed ([0169]: detection of physical layer problem in RRC_CONNECTED eventually leads to [0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to t310-Expiry, beamFailureRecoveryFailure, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, or IbtFailure (=first sub-information) to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, random access problem, beam failure recovery, reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, or consistent uplink LBT failures (=first condition), respectively), and
the first condition set comprises at least one of: a maximum number of Radio Link Control (RLC) retransmissions being reached, expiration of a T310 timer, a listen before talk (LBT) failure, a beam failure recovery (BFR) failure, or a random access failure ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, random access problem, beam failure recovery, reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, or consistent uplink LBT failures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, based on a radio link failure due to T310 or T312 expiry, to set rlf-Cause in VarRlf-Report to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, random access problem, beam failure recovery, reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, or consistent uplink LBT failures, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Jung discloses A base station, comprising and A method, comprising (Figs. 1F-G, M: gNB):
a receiver configured to (Fig. 1M, [0403]: baseband processor 1 m-20 and RF processor 1 m-10 may be referred to as a receiver, a transceiver) receive, from a UE in a state other than an RRC_CONNECTED state, a request for a radio resource control (RRC) connection procedure in a first cell, wherein a first timer is started (Figs. 1F-G, [0169], [0215]: UE is in RRC_IDLE state in 1f-05 when initiating an RRC connection establishment procedure with a gNB and starts a timer T300 in 1 f-25 after selecting/reselecting a cell in 1f-15, 1f-20, or UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state in 1g-05 when initiating an RRC connection resume procedure with the gNB and starts a timer T319 in 1 g-25 after selecting/reselecting a cell in 1g-10, 1g-20), and wherein:
failure information is stored on a condition that the RRC connection procedure has failed (Figs. 1F-G, [0170]-[0171], [0177], [0180], [0216]-[0218], [0222], [0233]: when the timer expires, i.e., T300 in 1 f-30, or T319 in 1 g-30, UE performs actions 1 and 2 for processing connection failure including storing connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 f-35, or resume connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 g-35), the failure information including a measurement result of the first cell ([0180], [0182], [0222], [0224]: the connection establishment failure information or the resume connection establishment failure information comprises a measResultFailedCell field including a RSRP and RSRQ of a failed cell based on available SSB measurements),
on a condition that the first timer has expired and the first timer is a T319 or T300 timer, the failure information does not include first information (Figs. 1F-G, [0171], [0176]-[0178], [0217], [0233]: when the timers expire, i.e., T300 in 1 f-30 and T319 in 1 g-30, UE performs action 2 related to VarConnEstFailReport including discarding content included in VarConnEstFailReport except for numberOfConnFail. Note: VarConnEstFailReport does not include first information because it only includes numberOfConnFail which is not mapped to first information)
Jung does not teach, but Kim teaches on a condition that the first timer has expired and the first timer is a timer other than the T319 or T300 timer, the failure information includes the first information ([0180], [0190]-[0191], [0214]-[0215]: based on T310 or T312 expiry, [0232]-[0243]: UE sets rlf-Cause (=first information) in VarRLF-Report (=failure information)),
the first information comprises first sub-information used to indicate a condition in a first condition set for determining that the RRC connection procedure has failed ([0169]: detection of physical layer problem in RRC_CONNECTED eventually leads to [0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to t310-Expiry, beamFailureRecoveryFailure, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, or IbtFailure (=first sub-information) to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, random access problem, beam failure recovery, reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, or consistent uplink LBT failures (=first condition), respectively), and
the first condition set comprises at least one of: a maximum number of Radio Link Control (RLC) retransmissions being reached, expiration of a T310 timer, a listen before talk (LBT) failure, a beam failure recovery (BFR) failure, or a random access failure ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, random access problem, beam failure recovery, reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, or consistent uplink LBT failures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, based on a radio link failure due to T310 or T312 expiry, to set rlf-Cause in VarRlf-Report to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, random access problem, beam failure recovery, reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, or consistent uplink LBT failures, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 16, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 15 as outlined above.
Jung discloses wherein the failure information is a VarConnEstFailReport (Figs. 1F-G, [0170]-[0171], [0177], [0180], [0216]-[0218], [0222], [0233]: when the timer expires, i.e., T300 in 1 f-30, or T319 in 1 g-30, UE performs actions 1 and 2 for processing connection failure including storing connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 f-35, or resume connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 g-35).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung discloses wherein:
the transmitter is configured to, on a condition that the RRC connection procedure has failed, transmit a request for a second RRC connection procedure on a second cell, wherein a second timer is started (Figs. 1H-I, [0270], [0291], [0314], [0333]: Figs. H-I are similar to Figs. F-G but the UE may change the cell after a first timer expires, i.e., the UE changes from a previously camped-on cell to a currently camped-on cell. Then, the UE then initiates another RRC connection establishment procedure and starts a second timer T300 in 1 h-40 or 1 i-40 with the currently camped-on cell),
wherein:
on a condition that the second timer has expired, the second RRC connection procedure fails, on a condition that the second RRC connection procedure has failed, the UE is configured to clear at least a portion of the failure information and store second failure information (Figs. 1H-I do not show the second timer T300 expiring, but it would have been obvious that if they expire like in 1 h-30, the UE repeats the actions 1 and 2 in 1 h-35 for the currently camped-on cell. Fig. 1F, [0170]-[0171], [0177]-[0178], [0180]: when the timer expires, i.e., T300 in 1 f-30, UE performs actions 1 and 2 for processing connection failure including discarding content included in VarConnEstFailReport, and storing connection establishment failure information in VarConnEstFailReport in 1 f-35), and
the second failure information includes second measurement result associated with the second cell ([0180], [0182], [0222], [0224]: the connection establishment failure information comprises a measResultFailedCell field including a RSRP and RSRQ of a failed cell based on available SSB measurements).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung discloses wherein:
the transmitter is configured to transmit a third message indicating whether the failure information is stored (Figs. 1F-G, [0202], [0245]: UE transmits an RRCReconfigurationComlete message or an RRCRestablishmentComplete message with a connEstFailInfoAvailable indicator in 1 f-60 or 1 g-60),
the UE includes a receiver configured to receive a fourth message indicating a request for reporting the failure information (Figs. 1F-G, [0203], [0246]: UE receives a UEInformationRequest message with a connEstFailReportReq set to true in 1 f-65 or 1 g-65), and
the transmitter is configured to, on a condition that the UE receives the fourth message, transmit a fifth message including the failure information (Figs. 1F-G, [0204], [0247]: UE transmits UEInformationResponse message with the VarConnEstFailReport including the connection establishment failure information in 1 f-70 or 1 g-70).
Regarding claim(s) 21, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the first sub-information indicates that the condition in the first condition set is the maximum number of RLC retransmissions being reached ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to rlc-MaxNumRetx (=first sub-information) to declare radio link failure based on reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC (=first condition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to set rlf-Cause to rlc-MaxNumRetx to declare radio link failure based on reaching a maximum number of retransmission from the MCG RLC, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 22, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the first sub-information indicates that the condition in the first condition set is the expiration of the T310 timer ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to t310-Expiry to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry (=first condition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to set rlf-Cause to t310-Expiry to declare radio link failure based on T310 expiry, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 23, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the first sub-information indicates that the condition in the first condition set is the LBT failure ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to IbtFailure (=first sub-information) to declare radio link failure based on consistent uplink LBT failures (=first condition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to set rlf-Cause to IbtFailure to declare radio link failure based on consistent uplink LBT failures, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 24, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the first sub-information indicates that the condition in the first condition set is the BFR failure ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to beamFailureRecoveryFailure (=first sub-information) to declare radio link failure based on beam failure recovery (=first condition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to set rlf-Cause to beamFailureRecoveryFailure to declare radio link failure based on beam failure recovery, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 25, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the first sub-information indicates that the condition in the first condition set is the random access failure ([0232]-[0243]: rlf-Cause is set to randomAccessProblem (=first sub-information) to declare radio link failure based on random access problem (=first condition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to set rlf-Cause to randomAccessProblem to declare radio link failure based on random access problem, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to report the cause for radio link failure in the VarRLF-Report (Kim: [0232]) to a network or to perform recovery procedure (Kim: [0008]).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2021/0321478 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0365364 A1) and Tseng et al. (US 2023/0088189 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 17, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 15 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Tseng discloses wherein the first information comprises second sub-information, and the second sub-information is used to determine whether a type of the first RRC connection procedure is a first type or a second type ([0256]: UE records a RLF event happens during CG-SDT / RA-SDT procedure. [0366]-[0367]: the SDT failure may happen after the UE transmits an RRCResumeRequest message or an RRCResumeRequest1 message, and the UE stores this SDT failure event. [0131], [0138]: the SDT procedure includes a CG-SDT or an RA-SDT procedure); if the type of the first RRC connection procedure is the first type, the first message is transmitted in a random access procedure; and if the type of the first RRC connection procedure is the second type, the first message is transmitted on pre-configured uplink resources ([0073]: the RRCResumeRequest message may be transmitted with UL data during a CG-SDT procedure or an RA-SDT procedure. [0102], [0104]-[0106]: the SDT procedure may be started while at least one of the events happens: RA-SDT procedure includes transmitting during RA procedure, and CG-SDT procedure includes accessing the UL configured grant, and transmitting RRCResumeRequest message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to record RLF event happens during CG-SDT or RA-SDT procedure, where the RRCResumeRequest may be transmitted with UL data during a CG-SDT procedure or an RA-SDT procedure, as taught by Tseng.
Doing so allows the UE to multiplex UL data with the RRCResumeRequest message during the SDT procedure and enables the serving RAN to identify the UE (Tseng: [0073]).
Regarding claim(s) 7, 18, Jung in view of Kim and Tseng discloses all features of claim(s) 5, 17 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Tseng discloses wherein whether the first failure information comprises second information is related to at least a former of the first condition and the type of the first RRC connection procedure; the second information is used to indicate random access information ([0249]: UE records failed random access procedure triggered for RA-SDT procedures in VarRA-Report. [0366]-[0367]: the SDT failure may happen after the UE transmits an RRCResumeRequest message or an RRCResumeRequest1 message, and the UE stores this SDT failure event. [0131], [0138]: the SDT procedure includes a CG-SDT or an RA-SDT procedure. [0102], [0104], [0106], [0109]: the SDT procedure may be started while at least one of the events happens: RA-SDT procedure includes transmitting during RA procedure, and transmitting RRCResumeRequest message, and SDT procedure may be terminated while at least one of the events happens: SDT failure detection timer expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to record failed random access procedure triggered for RA-SDT procedure in VarRA-report when SDT failure happens based on SDT failure detection timer expiring, as taught by Tseng.
Doing so allows the UE to report the VarRA-Report to the serving cell as requested during the SDT procedure (Tseng: [0228]-[0229], [0245], [0249]).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Jung in view of Kim discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Jung does not disclose, but Tseng discloses wherein the UE is configured to, on a condition that the RRC connection procedure is used for a small data transmission (SDT), resume a first bearer ([0166]: radio bearers are resumed in an SDT procedure. Fig. 4, [0319]: UE starts SDT session by transmitting encoded packets directly with the RRCResumeRequest message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Jung, to resume radio bearers, such as DRB(s), in an SDT procedure by transmitting encoding packets directly with the RRCResumeRequest message, as taught by Tseng.
Doing so allows only the pending data in these DRB(s) to be exchanged during the SDT procedure (Tseng: [0166]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov