DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to amendment filed on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12, 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0351866) in view of Shao (US Pub. No. 2022/0086832) in view of Alriksson et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0200773).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Park discloses a communications device (figure 18: UE), comprising:
a memory (paragraph 337) having a computer program (paragraph 337) stored thereon, and a processor (figure 18 controller 1810; paragraph 337), wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a method for processing a synchronous signal block, comprising:
detecting Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) signals sent by a base station at a preset frequency domain location to obtain a first SSB (see figure 5 and paragraphs 76-79, 80: SSB is transmitted at frequency band less than 3 GHz, 3 to 6 GHz, and/or 6 GHz or more. The UE monitors the SSB in frequency domain to receive the SSB. The SSB may be transmitted up to 64 times (repetition) for 5 ms…);
wherein the first SSB comprises a plurality of same SSBs, each having a Cyclic Prefix (CP) (Table 1 and paragraph 59), and the plurality of same SSBs result from an SSB having the CP being repeatedly sent by the base station (see figure 5 and paragraph 79: the SSB may be transmitted up to 64 times for 5 ms…); and
decoding the plurality of same SSBs each having the CP (figure 5 and paragraphs 78 and 82: the UE monitors the SSB in the time and frequency domain to receive the SSB; the UE may acquire an MIB over the PBCH of the SSB).
Park further teaches system operates in 5G-NR with ultra reliable and low latency communication (URLLC) (paragraphs 4, 41, 49, 61, and 151)
Park does not disclose SSB having a target Extended Cyclic Prefix.
In the same field of synchronization, Shao discloses SSB having a target Extended Cyclic Prefix (see figure 4 steps S209, S110, and S220; paragraphs 18 and 192) for URLLC service (paragraphs 5 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park SSB having a target Extended Cyclic Prefix.
The motivation would have been to meet latency and reliability requirements (paragraph 4).
Park and Shao do not disclose jointly decoding the plurality of same SSBs.
In the same field of endeavor, Alriksson discloses jointly decoding plurality of same SSBs repeatedly sent by a base station (paragraph 3: SSB burst set: soft combining/joint decoding to decode plurality of same SSBs (repetition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park and Shao jointly decoding the plurality of same SSBs.
The motivation would have been to accumulate energy from multiple SSBs transmission when UE is located at the edge of coverage area (paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, all limitations in claims 1 and 18 are disclosed above. Shao teaches target cyclic prefix of SSB comprises an ECP (paragraph 18).
Regarding claims 3, all limitations in claims 1 are disclosed above. Park further teaches the preset frequency domain location is one or more frequency domain locations in a synchronization raster (paragraph 81).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Park discloses a method for processing a synchronization block, a communication device comprising:
a memory (paragraph 337) having a computer program (paragraphs 337 and 338) stored thereon, and a processor (figure 19 controller 1910; paragraphs 337 and 338), wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a method for processing a synchronous signal block, comprising:
sending a first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) by a base station at a preset frequency domain location (see figure 5 and paragraphs 76-79, 80: SSB is transmitted at frequency band less than 3 GHz, 3 to 6 GHz, and/or 6 GHz or more. The UE monitors the SSB in frequency domain to receive the SSB. The SSB may be transmitted up to 64 times (repetition) for 5 ms…);
wherein the first SSB comprises a plurality of same SSBs, each having a Cyclic Prefix (CP) (Table 1 and paragraph 59), and the plurality of same SSBs result from an SSB having the CP being repeatedly sent by the base station (see figure 5 and paragraph 79: the SSB may be transmitted up to 64 times for 5 ms…); and
wherein the plurality of same SSBs each having the CP is decoded (figure 5 and paragraphs 78 and 82: the UE monitors the SSB in the time and frequency domain to receive the SSB; the UE may acquire an MIB over the PBCH of the SSB).
Park further teaches system operates in 5G-NR with ultra reliable and low latency communication (URLLC) (paragraphs 4, 41, 49, 61, and 151)
Park does not disclose SSB having a target Extended Cyclic Prefix.
In the same field of synchronization, Shao discloses SSB having a target Extended Cyclic Prefix (see figure 4 steps S209, S110, and S220; paragraphs 18 and 192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park SSB having a target Extended Cyclic Prefix.
The motivation would have been to meet latency and reliability requirements (paragraph 4).
Park and Shao do not disclose jointly decoding the plurality of same SSBs.
In the same field of endeavor, Alriksson discloses jointly decoding plurality of same SSBs repeatedly sent by a base station (paragraph 3: SSB burst set: soft combining/joint decoding to decode plurality of same SSBs (repetition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park and Shao jointly decoding the plurality of same SSBs.
The motivation would have been to accumulate energy from multiple SSBs transmission when UE is located at the edge of coverage area (paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 11, all limitations in claim 10 are disclosed above. Shao teaches target cyclic prefix of SSB comprises an ECP (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 12, all limitations in claims 1 are disclosed above. Park further teaches the preset frequency domain location is one or more frequency domain locations in a synchronization raster (paragraph 81).
Claims 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0351866) in view of Shao (US Pub. No. 2022/0086832) in view of Alriksson et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0200773) in view of Lin et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0404601).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, all limitations in claims 1 and 18 are disclosed above. Park, Shao, and Alriksson do not teach but Lin discloses the preset frequency domain location is a plurality of frequency domain locations corresponding to a same time domain in a plurality of synchronization rasters (abstract, figures 9, 10 and 11; paragraphs 93 and 94, 96).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park, Shao, and Alriksson the preset frequency domain location is a plurality of frequency domain locations corresponding to a same time domain in a plurality of synchronization rasters.
The motivation would have been for SSB location.
Claims 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0351866) in view of Shao (US Pub. No. 2022/0086832) in view of Alriksson et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0200773) in view of Berliner et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0189175)
Regarding claims 5, all limitations in claim 1 are disclosed above. Park further discloses the preset frequency domain location is a frequency domain location corresponding to a first time domain location set (paragraph 80: one slot includes 2 SSBs).
Park, Shao, and Alriksson do not teach but Berliner discloses SSBs corresponding to the first time domain location set comprise SSBs whose indexes are consecutive (see figure 5 SSB 2 and SSB 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park, Shao, and Alriksson SSBs corresponding to the first time domain location set comprise SSBs whose indexes are consecutive for easier recognition and decoding.
Regarding claims 6, all limitations in claim 1 are disclosed above. Park, Shao, and Alriksson do not teach but Berliner discloses the SSBs whose time intervals meet the preset relationship comprise consecutive SSBs (see figure 5 slot 1 with SSB2 and SSB3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park, Shao, and Alriksson the SSBs whose time intervals meet the preset relationship comprise consecutive SSBs for easier recognition and decoding.
Regarding claims 7, all limitations in claim 1 are disclosed above. Park, Shao, and Alriksson do not teach but Berliner discloses the preset relationship is a predefined preset relationship (see figure 5 same slot same consecutive SSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park, Shao, and Alriksson the preset relationship is a predefined preset relationship for easier recognition and decoding.
Regarding claims 8, all limitations in claims 5 are disclosed above. Park further teaches the preset relationship is configured based on a Master System Information Block (MIB) (paragraph 82).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0351866) in view of Shao (US Pub. No. 2022/0086832) in view of Alriksson et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0200773) in view of Lin et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0404601).
Regarding claim 13, all limitations in claim 10 are disclosed above. Park and Shao and Alriksson do not teach but Lin discloses the preset frequency domain location is a plurality of frequency domain locations corresponding to a same time domain in a plurality of synchronization rasters (abstract, figures 9, 10 and 11; paragraphs 93 and 94, 96).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park and Shao and Alriksson the preset frequency domain location is a plurality of frequency domain locations corresponding to a same time domain in a plurality of synchronization rasters.
The motivation would have been for SSB location.
Claims 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0351866) in view of Shao (US Pub. No. 2022/0086832) in view of Alriksson et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0200773) in view of Berliner et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0189175)
Regarding claim 14, all limitations in claim 10 are disclosed above. Park further discloses the preset frequency domain location is a frequency domain location corresponding to a first time domain location set (paragraph 80: one slot includes 2 SSBs).
Park and Shao and Alriksson do not teach but Berliner discloses SSBs corresponding to the first time domain location set comprise SSBs whose indexes are consecutive (see figure 5 SSB 2 and SSB 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park and Shao and Alriksson SSBs corresponding to the first time domain location set comprise SSBs whose indexes are consecutive for easier recognition and decoding.
Regarding claim 15, all limitations in claim 1 are disclosed above. Park and Shao do not teach but Berliner discloses the SSBs whose time intervals meet the preset relationship comprise consecutive SSBs (see figure 5 slot 1 with SSB2 and SSB3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park and Shao and Alriksson the SSBs whose time intervals meet the preset relationship comprise consecutive SSBs for easier recognition and decoding.
Regarding claim 16, all limitations in claim 14 are disclosed above. Park and Shao and Alriksson do not teach but Berliner discloses the preset relationship is a predefined preset relationship (see figure 5 same slot same consecutive SSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Park and Shao and Alriksson the preset relationship is a predefined preset relationship for easier recognition and decoding.
Regarding claim 17, all limitations in claims 16 are disclosed above. Park further teaches the preset relationship is configured based on a Master System Information Block (MIB) (paragraph 82).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In page 8 of Remark, regarding independent claims, the Applicant argues that Park does not teach decoding the SSB. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Park’s paragraph 82 and corresponding figure 5 discloses SSB includes Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH). The PBCH contains a Master Information Block (MIB). In order to receive the MIB in the received PBCH/SSB as disclosed in paragraph 82, the terminal has to decode the SSB/PBCH. Thus, Park is determined to teach decoding the SSB.
In page 8 of Remark, the Applicant argues that Park and Shao do not teach “jointly decoding the plurality of same SSBs.” Examiner notes that a newly discovered reference, Alriksson, teaches the claimed limitation. Thus, the argument is moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TITO Q PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466