Response to Amendment
Applicant’s reply filed June 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-7 remain pending in the application. No amendments to the claims were made in the June 18, 2026 submission.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that Boadway does not disclose the claimed electrical features, the claimed three-segment composite curved pipe section, the two centrosymmetric inlet pipes, or the claimed inlet-diameter relationship. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on Boadway alone to teach every limitation of claim 1. Boadway is relied upon for the base swirl-type separator architecture, including the cylindrical swirl chamber, tangential inlet, coaxial outlet/pipe structure, and composite transition structure. The remaining features are supplied or rendered obvious by the additional references as set forth in the rejection.
In particular, Applicant’s argument that Boadway lacks the electrical features is addressed by Sams. The rejection does not rely on Sams as disclosing the claimed overflow pipe itself. Rather, Boadway discloses the existing overflow pipe/coaxial internal conductive member within the swirl-type separator, and Sams teaches that an internal conductive member in a cylindrical oil-water separation vessel may be electrically insulated from a conductive vessel and energized relative to the vessel to form an electric field that promotes droplet coalescence and separation. Thus, the proposed modification is not to bodily incorporate Sams’ electrode or outlet into Boadway, but to configure Boadway’s existing conductive overflow pipe to perform the known electrical function taught by Sams, namely serving as an energized internal electrode relative to a grounded conductive chamber. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to make this modification because both references address separation of dispersed phases in fluid systems, and Sams teaches that applying an electric field to the emulsion promotes coalescence of dispersed droplets, which predictably improves separation efficiency.
Applicant argues that Sams does not disclose an overflow pipe and that the internal electrode of Sams is not a fluid conduit. This argument is not persuasive because it attacks Sams individually rather than the proposed combination. Boadway supplies the overflow pipe and the swirl-type separator structure. Sams is relied upon for teaching of electrically insulating and energizing an internal conductive member relative to a conductive vessel to form an electric field for electro-demulsification. The fact that Sams’ electrode is not itself an overflow pipe does not undermine the combination, because the issue is whether the prior art would have suggested configuring an internal conductive member within the separator to be electrically isolated and energized. Boadway already provides such an internal conductive pipe in the flow region, and Sams teaches the benefit of energizing such an internal conductive member relative to the surrounding conductive vessel.
Applicant also argues that Butler teaches an opposite-curvature sequence and therefore does not disclose the claimed concave arc, straight cone, and convex elliptical arc transition section. This argument is not persuasive because Butler is not relied upon to teach the claimed three-segment sequence in its entirety. Butler is relied upon for the teaching that smooth curved transition regions between cyclone sections reduce turbulence and improve flow stability. Ghodrat further teaches that cyclone performance is affected by conical and transition geometry, including shape, curvature, velocity distribution, pressure drop, and separation efficiency. These references are properly considered together with Boadway’s composite transition structure. The claimed sequence of concave, straight, and convex elliptical portions represents a particular selection of known smooth and tapered transition geometries for controlling flow behavior in a cyclone-type separator.
Applicant’s assertion that Butler’s curvature order is “opposite” does not constitute a teaching away. Butler does not criticize, discredit, or discourage using other smooth transition profiles or other curvature sequences. Instead, Butler supports the broader principle that smooth transitions at cyclone section junctions improve flow by reducing abrupt changes. Ghodrat likewise supports that changes in geometry and curvature affect cyclone performance. Accordingly, the prior art provides a reason to select and optimize the contour of the transition region, and the claimed use of a convex elliptical arc is a predictable selection from known smooth mathematical curve profiles used to provide gradual changes in cross-sectional geometry.
Applicant further argues that “well-known to exist” does not mean “obvious to select” with respect to the convex elliptical arc. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection does not rely merely on the existence of an ellipse. The reason to select a smooth mathematical curve profile, including an elliptical arc, is provided by the art’s recognition that cyclone transition geometry affects turbulence, flow stability, pressure drop and separation efficiency. A convex elliptical arc is one known smooth curve profile capable of providing gradual transition and controlled acceleration of fluid. Selecting such a profile to refine a known curved transition region is a predictable optimization of a known result-effective variable.
Applicant also argues that Arterburn does not disclose the exact claimed formula Di = 0.00312Ds2 and that Arterburn’s inlet-area relationship differs from the claimed inlet-diameter relationship. This argument is not persuasive because Arterburn is not relied upon as teaching the exact claimed formula. Rather, Arterburn is relied upon to show that inlet sizing relative to cyclone body diameter was a known design parameter in hydrocyclone design. The prior art recognizes that inlet dimensions affect flow-capacity, pressure drop, and separation performance. The claimed equation represents a particular empirical expression of the known relationship between inlet size and chamber size. The selection of a specific formula for sizing the inlet pipes relative to the swirl chamber is therefore considered an optimization of a known result-effective variable.
Applicant’s argument that Arterburn discusses rectangular inlet area rather than circular inlet diameter does not overcome the rejection. The relevance of Arterburn is not limited to the precise shape of the inlet orifice. Arterburn demonstrates that the inlet opening is dimensioned as a function of cyclone diameter because inlet size affects cyclone operation. Once the art recognizes that inlet size relative to chamber diameter is a design variable affecting cyclone performance, selection of a particular numerical relationship for that variable would have been within the ordinary skill in the art absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claim. Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence that the coefficient 0.00312 or the claimed formula produces an unexpected result over the closest prior art across the scope of the claim.
Applicant further argues that Miller and Schubert do not render the dual inlet feature obvious because Miller is directed to reducing wear and Schubert does not teach the full claimed combination. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on Miller or Schubert to teach the full claimed invention individually. Miller teaches the known structure of dual, opposed inlet openings in a hydrocyclone. Schubert further supports the use of multiple inlets to improve vortex stability and flow distribution. These teachings provide a reason to employ two centrosymmetric inlet pipes in the swirl-type separator. The fact that Miller and Schubert do not also disclose the electric field features or the particular transition geometry does not defeat the rejection, because those features are supplied by other references in the combination.
Taken together, the references are all directed to fluid separation systems and to improving separation efficiency through known mechanisms, including droplet coalescence, controlled vortex flow, smooth transition geometry, and inlet sizing. The proposed combination applies known techniques to a known swirl-type separator to obtain predictable improvements in separation performance. Applicant’s arguments therefore do not overcome the rejection of claim 1. Claims 3-7 remain unpatentable for the reasons set forth below and because Applicant has not separately shown patentability of the dependent claims apart from the arguments direct to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boadway (US2849930) in view of Butler (CN87107366A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below), Miller (US4652363), Ghodrat "Numerical analysis of hydrocyclones with different conical section designs", and further in view of Schubert (US5667686), Arterburn: "The Sizing & Selection of Hydrocyclones", and further in view of Sams (US5575896A).
Regarding claim 1, Boadway discloses a swirl-type demulsification (Boadway col. 1 lines 19-20 separating solid particles from liquid suspensions" and col. 10 lines 71-72 maintaining the fibre in a dispersed condition) and dehydration device (Boadway col. 1 line 42 "reduction of the drying time") for an oil-water emulsion (Boadway col. 2 lines 67-68 "undesired particles from oil or water), comprising: a swirler (Boadway "inner vortex" #13 col. 4 line 12); wherein the swirler comprises a swirl chamber (Boadway col. 3 line 41 "vortex chamber") and an underflow pipe (Boadway "pipe" #38 Figs. 2, 8, 10); the swirl chamber is cylindrical (Boadway col. 8 lines 65-68), and the underflow pipe is coaxial with the swirl chamber (Boadway Fig. 2); the swirl chamber comprises a closed end and an open end (Boadway Fig 8 and Fig. 2); the closed end of the swirl chamber is connected with an inlet pipe (Boadway "pipe" #32 Fig. 8 is intake and is fluidically and by the outer cylindrical wall of the chamber, physically connected to the closed end) and an overflow pipe (Boadway pipe #35 col. 6 lines 45-60 describe how at least excess vapor are discharged through pipe 35, down through the pipe to mix with water and be discharged at #44 Fig. 2); the overflow pipe is coaxial with the swirl chamber (Boadway Fig. 11); the inlet pipe is tangent to a circumferential inner wall of the swirl chamber, and communicates with the swirl chamber (Boadway Fig. 8); the overflow pipe passes through the closed end of the swirl chamber and communicates with the swirl chamber (Boadway Fig. 8 and 10-11); a wall of the swirl chamber and the overflow pipe are made of an electrically conductive material (Boadway col. 7 line 44; col. 5, line 54; col. 11, line 63 describing cast and sheet metal construction); the open end of the swirl chamber faces towards the underflow pipe, and communicates with the underflow pipe through a composite curved pipe section (Boadway Fig. 2); and the composite curved pipe section is coaxial with the swirl chamber (Boadway Fig. 2 and Fig. 10 shows the sections which are coaxial with the swirl chamber); on an axial section of the swirl, an inner wall of the composite curved pipe section comprises a concave arc transition section, a straight cone transition section and a convex elliptical arc transition section connected sequentially (Boadway Fig. 10 and described in col. 11 lines 54-68); and a first end of the concave arc transition section is connected to the open end of the swirl chamber; an inner diameter of the first end of the concave arc transition section is equal to an inner diameter of the swirl chamber; a first end of the straight cone transition section is tangent to a second end of the concave arc transition section; a second end of the straight cone transition section is tangent to a first end of the convex elliptical arc transition section; a second end of the convex arc transition section is connected to the underflow pipe; the first end of the concave arc transition section is larger than the second end of the concave arc transition section in diameter; the first end of the straight cone transition section is larger than the second end of the straight cone transition section in diameter; the first end of the convex arc transition section is larger than the second end of the convex arc transition section in diameter; and an inner diameter of the second end of the convex arc transition section is equal to an inner diameter of the underflow pipe (Boadway Fig. 8 illustrates these transitions and described starting in col. 8 line 66 continuing to col. 9 line 41 with more discussions included following).
Boadway does not explicitly disclose that the overflow pipe is electrically isolated from the closed end of the swirl chamber, that the swirl chamber is grounded, that the overflow pipe is connected to a positive pole of a pulse power supply, or that an electric field is formable between the overflow pipe and the swirl chamber for electro-demulsification. Boadway also does not explicitly disclose that the convex arc transition is a convex elliptical arc transition, or wherein the number of the inlet pipe is two, two inlet pipes are centrosymmetric with respect to an axis of the swirl chamber, and a relationship between an inner diameter of each of the two inlet pipes and the inner diameter of the swirl chamber is expressed as follows: Di=0.00312Ds2; wherein Di represents the inner diameter of each of the two inlet pipes, and Ds represents the inner diameter of the swirl chamber.
Sams discloses an apparatus for separating oil-water emulsions using an applied electric field, comprising a cylindrical vessel having a conductive sidewall, a tangential inlet for introducing an emulsion, and at least one internal electrode disposed within the vessel and electrically insulated from the vessel (Sams col. 3-5; claim 1); wherein the vessel sidewall may be grounded and an internal electrode is connected to a power source such that an electrical potential difference is established between the electrode and the vessel (Sams claims 1 and 6); wherein the electrode is electrically insulated from the vessel (Sams claim 1 “means for insulating”); and wherein the applied electrical potential may be a pulsating DC voltage to promote coalescence of dispersed droplets (Sams claim 8). This teaches an arrangement in which a conductive chamber and an internal conductive member are electrically isolated and connected to a power supply to form an electric field within the fluid for demulsification. Sam is relied upon for teaching of electrically insulating and energizing an internal conductive member relative to a conductive vessel to form an electric field for promoting coalescence in an oil-water emulsion. Boadway supplies the overflow pipe and the swirl-type separator structure. It would have been obvious to configure Boadway’s existing overflow pipe, which is a conductive internal member extending into the separator, to be electrically isolated from the surrounding conductive chamber and connected to the positive pole of a pulse power supply, as taught by Sams, so that an electric field is formed between the overflow pipe and the swirl chamber. This modification would have predictably promoted droplet coalescence in the emulsion and improved separation efficiency while retaining Boadway’s swirl-type separation structure.
Butler teaches forming transition regions between cylindrical and conical sections using smooth curved profiles in order to reduce turbulence and maintain stable flow through the separator (Butler Fig. 3 and associated description). Ghodrat further teaches that cyclone performance is directly influenced by the contour and curvature of the conical and transition sections, including that variations in curvature affect velocity distribution, pressure drop, and separation efficiency (Ghodrat section 3.2 and Fig. 7). These teachings establish that the specific shape of a curved transition region is a result-effective variable that may be selected to control flow characteristics. A convex elliptical arc transition represents one of a finite number of well-known smooth mathematical curve profiles (e.g., circular, parabolic, elliptical) used in fluid conduit design to provide gradual changes in cross-sectional geometry and reduce flow separation. Selecting an elliptical arc, as opposed to another smooth curve, would have been an obvious design choice within the ordinary skill in the art to achieve predictable flow smoothing and controlled acceleration of the fluid, particularly in view of the recognized importance of transition curvature in cyclone performance as taught by Ghodrat. The use of such a curve does not require a change in principle of operation, but merely refines the contour of a known transition region to obtain expected improvements in flow stability and separation efficiency. Applicant’s argument that Butler discloses a convex-concave sequence does not change the conclusion that Butler is not relied upon to teach the claimed sequence bodily or alone. Rather, Butler supports the known desirability of smooth curved transitions, while Ghodrat supports the recognized effect of transition geometry on cyclone performance. The claimed concave-straight-convex elliptical sequence represents a refinement of the known transition region to obtain predictable control of flow acceleration, pressure drop, and stability. The use of an elliptical arc is a particular smooth curve profile selected from known mathematical curve profiles suitable for gradual changes in cross-sectional geometry.
Miller discloses a hydrocyclone having two inlet openings that are diametrically opposed relative to the axis of the cyclone (Miller col. 2, lines 4-10 and Fig. 2), thereby teaching two inlet pipes that centrosymmetric with respect to the axis of the swirl chamber. Schubert further teaches that the use of multiple inlets improves vortex stability and flow distribution within the cyclone (Schubert col. 2), reinforcing the use of such symmetric inlet configurations.
Arterburn teaches that inlet size is selected as a function of cyclone diameter and that inlet dimensions are part of the standard geometric design of a hydrocyclone. Arterburn is not relied upon as expressly disclosing the exact formula Di = 0.00312Ds2. Rather, Arterburn establishes that inlet sizing relative to chamber diameter is a known result-effective variable in hydrocyclone design. The claimed relationship represents a particular empirical sizing relationship between inlet-pipe diameter and swirl-chamber diameter. In view of Arterburn’s teaching that inlet size is scaled relative to cyclone diameter, and in view of the known importance of inlet geometry to vortex formation and separation performance, selecting a specific numerical relationship for the inlet pipe diameter would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization. The fact that Arterburn discusses inlet area and a generally rectangular inlet nozzle does not defeat the rejection. Arterburn us used to show the design principle that inlet size is selected relative to cyclone body diameter to obtain desired flow characteristics. A person of ordinary skill in the art designing circular inlet pipes would have applied the same general design principle of sizing the inlet relative to the cyclone body, to the circular inlet geometry being used. The claimed formula is therefore treated as a particular selection within a known design space, absent persuasive evidence of criticality or unexpected results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the swirl-type separator of Boadway to include an electrically energized internal conductive member and grounded chamber as taught by Sams. Boadway and Sams are both directed to separation of dispersed phases in fluid systems and address the same general problem of improving separation efficiency. Sams teaches that applying an electric field between a conductive vessel and an internal electrode promotes coalescence of dispersed droplets, thereby facilitating phase separation. Because Boadway already includes a conductive internal overflow pipe positioned within a conductive swirl chamber, a person of ordinary skill would have had reason to electrically isolate and energize that internal pipe relative to the chamber in order to obtain the known coalescence-promoting effect taught by Sams. It would have further been obvious to modify the transition geometry between the swirl chamber and the underflow pipe using the teachings of Butler and Ghodrat. Butler teaches that smooth curved transitions reduce turbulence and improve flow stability at cyclone section junctions. Ghodrat teaches that cyclone performance is affected by conical and transition geometry, including shape and curvature. These teachings establish that transition contour is a result-effective variable. Selecting a transition profile having concave, straight, and convex portions, including a convex elliptical arc, represents a predictable optimization of the transition contour to control flow acceleration, reduce abrupt transitions, and improve separation performance. It also would have been obvious to provide two centrosymmetric inlet pipes based on Miller and Schubert. Miller teaches two opposed inlet openings in a hydrocyclone, and Schubert supports that multiple inlets improve vortex stability and flow distribution. Thus, using two opposed, centrosymmetric inlets in Boadway’s swirl-type separator would have predictably produced a more balanced vortex and improved flow symmetry. Finally, selecting inlet dimensions relative to chamber diameter as taught by Arterburn would have been an obvious matter of routine engineering design, as Arterburn teaches that inlet size is scaled relative to cyclone diameter. The claimed formula represents a particular numerical expression of this known inlet/body sizing relationship. The combination of these teachings represents the application of known techniques to improve a known swirl-type separator, yielding predictable results including enhanced droplet coalescence, optimized flow geometry, and balanced inlet conditions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because each feature performs the same function it is known to perform in the prior art and no references teaches away from such a combination.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Boadway, Butler, Miller, Ghodrat, Schubert, Arterburn and Sams discloses the swirl-type demulsification and dehydration device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that a central angle corresponding to the concave arc transition section and an eccentric angle corresponding to the convex elliptical arc transition section are both less than 90°. However, Schubert teaches that the taper angle of the conical transition section in a cyclone separator is less than 90° (Schubert col. 8 line 55), which reflects the requirement for gradual convergence of flow to maintain vortex stability and avoid flow separation. Ghodrat further teaches that the cyclone performance depends on controlled geometry and gradual transitions, thereby reinforcing the use of non-abrupt angles. Accordingly, selecting transition angles less than 90° for the concave and convex transition regions would have been an obvious design choice to provide gradual convergence, avoid abrupt flow transitions, and maintain stable vortex flow, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Boadway, Butler, Miller, Ghodrat, Schubert, Arterburn and Sams discloses the swirl-type demulsification (Boadway col. 1 lines 19-20 separating solid particles from liquid suspensions" and col. 10 lines 71-72 maintaining the fibre in a dispersed condition) and dehydration device (Boadway col. 1 line 42 "reduction of the drying time") of claim 1.
Neither Boadway, Butler, Miller, Ghodrat, Schubert nor Arterburn explicitly disclose wherein with respect to a spatial rectangular coordinate system established at a center of an end of the underflow pipe with an extending direction of an axis of the underflow pipe towards the overflow pipe as a positive direction of z-axis, points on the convex elliptical arc transition section satisfy formula (2):
wherein x and z represent coordinates of a point on an inner wall of the swirler on the x-axis and z-axis, respectively; a represents to a major axis of an ellipse corresponding to the convex elliptical arc transition section, and the major axis is in the same direction with an axis of the swirler; b represents a minor axis of the ellipse corresponding to the convex elliptical arc transition section; Lu represents a length of the underflow pipe; Du represents the inner diameter of the underflow pipe; and Li represents a length of the convex elliptical arc transition section.
However, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Butler teaches the use of smooth curved transition regions to reduce turbulence (Butler Fig. 3), and Ghodrat teaches that cyclone performance depends on the curvature and contour of transition sections, including that such geometric parameters affect velocity distribution and separation efficiency (Ghodrat, Section 3.2 Fig. 7). These teachings establish that the specific mathematical form of the curved transition (e.g., circular, parabolic, or elliptical) is a result-effective variable. Accordingly, selecting an elliptical arc profile and defining it using known geometric relationships would have been an obvious design choice within the ordinary skill in the art to achieve predictable control over flow characteristics, such as reducing turbulence and improving separation efficiency. The recited formula merely defines the selected elliptical arc profile in mathematical form. Expressing a known geometric profile using coordinates and standard ellipse parameters does not render the underlying transition geometry non-obvious where, as here, the art provides a reason to optimize the transition contour to control flow behavior and improve separation efficiency.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boadway (US2849930) in view of Butler (CN87107366A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) Miller (US4652363), Ghodrat, Schubert (US5667686), Arterburn and Sams (US5575896A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Young (US5225082).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Boadway, Butler, Miller, Ghodrat, Schubert, Arterburn and Sams discloses the swirl-type demulsification and dehydration device of claim 4, wherein points on the straight cone transition section satisfy formula (3):
(Schubert col. 7 par. 3 describes “the decrease in diameter of the separation portion 40 is linear. Thus, the separation portion 40 is a single frustoconical tapered section that has a single taper angle throughout its length”).
None of the combined references disclose wherein K is a constant and satisfies formula (4):
wherein Ds represents the inner diameter of the swirl chamber; L2 represents a length of the straight cone transition section; L3 represents a length of the concave arc transition section; Ro represents a radius of a circle corresponding to the concave arc transition section; and Ls represents a length of the overflow pipe.
Young is in the same field of oil-water hydrocyclones with conical sections and teaches the explicit geometric parameterization of straight conical portions in terms of angles, lengths, and diameters from which the slope of the straight cone is directly computed (Young col. 2 “Notation” section). Given the definitions of cone angle, end diameters and section lengths a person of ordinary skill in the art would compute how much radius shrinks over how far you go along the axis to get the straight-cone slope K. In other words: K = (change in radius) / (axial length); for a cone with a half angle a, this equals tan(a).
Boadway teaches selecting and matching conical segment slopes to a target curved profile by assembling multiple truncated conical parts so the composite meets boundary conditions smoothly (Boadway col. 11 lines 58-63). This confirms routine practice of fixing the straight cone line (slope constant) to satisfy tangency at the joints and the end diameter/position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Boadway, Butler, Miller in further view of Ghodrat, Schubert, Arterburn and Sams that a straight frustoconical section has a linear radius-axis relationship with Young’s explicit angle/length/diameter parameterization (from which the slope constant K is immediately derived) and Boadway’s practice of selecting cone slopes to meet adjacent boundary conditions, because all three address routine geometric specification of hydrocyclone tapers aimed at the same performance goals of gradual acceleration, minimized losses and a stable core. Expressing the linear relationship of the straight cone section as an equation and defining the slope constant K in terms of known geometric parameters therefore represents a predictable mathematical formalization of a known geometric relationship, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Boadway, Butler, Miller, Ghodrat, Schubert, Arterburn, Sams and Young discloses the swirl-type demulsification and dehydration device of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose that points on the concave arc transition section satisfy formula (5):
wherein Lt=L1 +L2+L3.
However, Butler teaches forming transition regions as smooth curved junctions (Butler claim 3 (B)), and Boadway teaches forming composite curved profiles that are tangent between adjacent sections to achieve a “theoretically ideal curvature” (Boadway col. 11 lines 60-61). Schubert further teaches selecting geometric parameters to maintain continuity and match boundary conditions between sections (col. 8 line 41).
Young teaches expressing geometric relationships of conical and curved sections in terms of standard parameters such as lengths, diameters, and angles (Young col. 2), which allows the geometry of such sections to be defined analytically. Accordingly, expressing the concave arc transition section using a specific mathematical equation, including defining relationships among section lengths (e.g., Lt = L1 + L2 + L3), represents a routine mathematical description of a known curved transition designed to satisfy tangency and boundary conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success. The claimed equation is therefore considered a mathematical representation of a smooth concave transition profile selected to meet known boundary and tangency conditions, rather than a patentably distinct structural feature.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Boadway, Butler, Miller, Ghodrat, Schubert, Arterburn, Sams and Young discloses the swirl-type demulsification and dehydration device of claim 6, wherein a length Lz of the swirl chamber is 70-75 mm (Ghodrat p. 75 table 1 uses Lc=75mm for the cylindrical part in a small cyclone geometry); the length Lu of the underflow pipe is 390-420 mm (Ghodrat expresses this as Lco and provides ranges from 35-385 in Table 1 p. 75); Lt is 410-450 mm (values within the ranges disclosed in Ghodrat table 1 correspond within this range); and the inner diameter Du of the underflow pipe is 8-10 mm (Ghodrat Table 1 shows diameter of the inlet “Du” for a 75mm swirl chamber is 12.5mm confirming the order of magnitude and that apex diameter is a tunable result effective-variable).
Arterburn likewise teaches standard geometric sizing relationships for cyclone inlets/outlets as functions of body size (routine dimensional tuning within known ranges). Thus specific millimeter ranges recited are routine optimization of known cyclone dimensions. Supported by Schubert’s normalized length limits (Schubert col. 7-8), Young’s tail-section parameterization (Young Col. 2), Ghodrat’s absolute small-scale examples on Table 1 and Arterburn’s standard sizing practice yielding predictable performance. The selection of specific dimensional ranges within the broader ranges disclosed in Ghodrat and consistent with the scaling relationships taught by Arterburn represents routine optimization of known cyclone dimensions, which would have yielded predictable performance characteristics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.A.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779